(navigation image)
Home American Libraries | Canadian Libraries | Universal Library | Community Texts | Project Gutenberg | Children's Library | Biodiversity Heritage Library | Additional Collections
Search: Advanced Search
Anonymous User (login or join us)
Upload
See other formats

Full text of "History of the Presbytery of Washington : including a brief account of the planting of the Presbyterian church in Western Pennsylvania and parts adjacent, with sketches of pioneer ministers and ruling elders : also sketches of later ministers and ruling elders"



•■J^.^w^ 



. >?^ 



I ^.^ " 






*-.l^.' 



.^^^i-;4 



^^i^ 



" ^..JIS^^... -^ *^ 







^ ■- W^ 



.■'^•^-^ 






p^- 'ii^« 



;.-^ 



-^ ^"^^ 



b^W^' 






.^"^>^ 



v., -%, 



- if -»> 



^y=*. ^. 



5- **4,^ 






^.*^<-« ^ 






'-'r '■ :^> li 



v- 




Early Ministers, 



HISTORY 



OF THE 



Presbytery of Washington, 



INCI,UDING A BRIEF ACCOUNT OF THE PLANTING OF THE PRESBYTERIAN 

CHURCH IN WESTERN PENNSYLVANIA AND PARTS ADJACENT, 

WITH SKETCHES OF PIONEER MINISTERS AND 

RULING ELDERS ; ALSO SKETCHES OF 

LATER MINISTERS AND 

RULING ELDERS. 



PHILADELPHIA : 

JAS. B. RODGERS PRINTING CO., 54 N. SIXTH ST. 

1889. 



<N^ 



CONTKNXS. 



Page. 

I. Anteckdent History i 

By Rev. W. F. Hamilton, D.D. 

II. History of Organization and Procekdings of Presbytery, 

1819-88 41 

By Rev. Henry Wood.s, D.D. 

III. Tribute to Deceased Ministers who have been Members 

OF THE Presbytery 120 

By Rev. James I. Brownson, D.D. 

IV. Rei^ation of THE Presbytery to Education, with Sketches 

OF Educators 162 

By Rev. David A. Cunningham, D.D. 

V. Missionary History. The Rei^ation of the Presbytery to 
Missions, with Sketches of Missionaries 182 

By Rev. W. H. Lester, D.D. 

% 

VI. Deceased Ruling Elders 200 

By Rev. Smith F. Grier and others. 

VII. Sketches of Churches 249 

By the several Pastors and others. 

VIII. Appendix No. i. Statistics prior to 1819 37S 

Appendix No. 2. Biographical Sketches of Early Ministers . . 391 

By Rev. W. F. Hamilton, D.D. 

iii 



Illustrations. 



• Eari,y Ministers Frontispiece. 

Present Members, I ,. 41 

Present Members, II 70 

Present Members, III 99 

Deceased Ministers, 1 120 

Deceased Ministers, II i44 

Educators 162 

Missionaries, 1 182 

Missionaries, II 189 

Official Members in Presbyteriai, Missionary vSocieties ... 195 

Deceased Ruling Eeders 200 

Ruling Elders — Cross Creek 260 

Ruling Elders— Upper Buffalo 273 

Ruling Elders— West Alexander 277 

Ruling Elders — Washington, ist 306 

Ruling Elders— Claysville 31S 

Ruling Elders— Mount Prospect 322 

First Pastor and Ruling Elders— Burgettstown 359 



Prkfatory. 



A HISTORY of the Presbytery of Washington has long been felt by 
its members and by many others, to be an urgent want ; and 
more than once, action has been taken in Presbytery, looking 
to the preparation of such a history, but no individual member of Pres- 
bytery could, at any time be found, who felt himself sufficiently at leisure 
to undertake so onerous a task. 

Attention was recalled to the subject recently, by the action of the 
General Assembly, recommending to Churches and Presbyteries to put 
on record their respective histories, as one of the ways by which to honor 
the Centenary of the Assembly's organization. 

Acting under this recommendation, Presbytery arranged to hold a special 
memorial and historical service, and assigned to several of its senior mem- 
bers the preparation of papers relating to the various phases of the Pres- 
bytery's history, and also provided for the preparation of concise statistical 
histories of all its individual churches. 

At a meeting held in the church of Upper Buffalo, September 25-26, 
1888, this special service was observed : — Presbytery was opened with a 
sermon from Ecc. iii. i, by the Moderator, Rev. Joseph S. Pomeroy. In- 
terspersed with the reading of the historical papers which had been pre- 
pared, were addresses on cognate themes, by Rev. J. A. Douahey, Rev. 
W. H. Cooke, D.D., Rev. J. D. Moffat, D.D., who were under appoint- 
ment to this service, and by Rev. G. W. F. Birch, D.D., of New York 
City, a son of the Presbytery, who happened to be present. It was the 
mind of the Presbytery, to have these oral discourses, as well as the 
written papers, published, and a committee, consisting of Rev. Drs. Brown- 
son, Woods and Hamilton, Rev. J. H. Snowden and J. I. Brownsou, Esq., 
was appointed to carry the same into effect. This original purpose, how- 
ever, was afterwards modified by reason of an expressed preference on 
the part of those who had made addresses, to surrender all the space to 
the publishing of matter that was strictly historical. It was found, more- 
over, that the papers read were of such a character, and so related, that 
with certain emendations which the committee were empowered to make, 
they would constitute a well-connected history of the Presbytery, includ- 
ing the antecedent period during which its churches had belonged to 
previously existing Presbyteries. 

It is in this way that the present volume has come into existence. A 
growth, rather than a creation. 

The task performed by the committee has been a laborious one, in- 
volving in addition to the revision of manuscripts, and the conducting of 
the work through the press, a large amount of correspondence, prelimi- 



viii PREFATORY. 

uar}^ to and accompanying these details and also pertaining to the collect- 
ing and preparation of the distinctive class of illustrations which have 
been introduced. While in this correspondence and other work, all the 
members of the committee have shared somewhat, it is due to truth to 
state that upon two of the committee, Drs. Hamilton and Woods, has 
devolved, through force of circumstances, very much the largest part of 
this perplexing and exacting labor. 

That a work so long projected and so important in itself, has at length 
been accomplished is certainly a gratifying result, and is owing, not alone 
to the industry of those who prepared the various constituent parts of the 
historv, but scarcely less to the excellent spirit of co-operation which has 
actuated the members of Presbytery in general, and not a few, also, of 
the members of the individual churches. 

It is not claimed that this volume is all that could be desired. The 
plan under which it has come into existence, while conducive to variety 
of style and matter, and consequent interest, carries with it some disad- 
vantage. It is not favorable to unity of design, and involves tendencies 
to repetition and conflicting statement. 

Much care has been taken to overcome this disadvantage, and, it is 
hoped, not without success. 

The most serious fault likely to occur in a volume constructed as this 
has been, is inaccuracy of dates. On this point it may be stated, that 
to a large extent the dates have been taken from original records, and 
when this could not be done, have been verified as carefully as the cir- 
cumstances of the case permitted. Still, when it is remembered how num- 
erous are the dates which are given, and from how many sources gathered, 
and when to this are added the perils of transcription and t3'pography, it 
will not be thought strange if a numerical error is here and there detected. 
It is believed, however, that the number of these, if any, will be found 
fewer than usually happens in works of this kind. 

In the way of forestalling criticism on another point, it may as well be 
admitted that the main 'thing sought after, has not been a high degree 
of literary finish, which under the circumstances of the case did not seem 
practicable. The excellence aimed at has been of auother kind, namely, 
— fullness and accuracy of stati.stical and biographical information. In 
other words, it has been the object to furnish : — ist. A repository of facts 
and dates, which, unless thus gathered and preserved, would soon, to a 
great extent, be lost. 2d. A hand-book of reference for the use of min- 
isters and other students of history. 3d. A volume of interesting and 
profitable reading to go into the homes of the people, and keep alive in 
their hearts, a loving remembrance of those to whom they owe so much. 
An additional value, it is thought, is imparted to the book, by the life- 
likenesses it contains. These the committee have been able to have in- 
serted, only through the kind co-operation of the churches, and of in- 
dividuals. 

With this explanation of the origin and purpose of the volume, it is 
sent forth in the confident hope that its circulation will prove acceptable 
to very many, and will tend to endear to Presbyterians the church of their 
fathers, and what is most of all to be desired, will promote the glory of 
the church's Divine King and Head. 

Com. of Pub. 



THE 

PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON 



I. 

ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 

When the Presbytery of Washington was erected, in 1819, 
the churches included in it were, with few exceptions, churches 
which had been estabhshed in the latter part of the preceding 
century, co-eval with the gradual settling of the country, and had 
belonged in succession to two previously existing presbyteries. 

There is thus an antecedent period of well-nigh half a cen- 
tury, without some survey of which the earlier history of the 
Presbyterian Church on this field would be left out of sight. 
Such a survey cannot, therefore, be deemed an unsuitable intro- 
duction to the story of the church's later growth. 

And on the ground, too, of its intrinsic interest and im- 
portance as an epoch in history, this antecedent period merits 
some special consideration. Beyond all question, the planting 
of the Presbyterian Church in Southwestern Pennsylvania and 
parts of Virginia adjacent, was a great historic event. 

The settlement of the region of country lying at the Western 
base of the Allegheny Mountains was an entering wedge to the 
various other forward movements of civilization, which, more or 
less, closely followed. Among its more immediate results were 
the rapid increase of immigration to the Kentucky wilderness, 
the settlement at Marietta by the Massachusetts Colony, under 
Manasseh Cutler, the ill-starred settlement of the French Col- 

I 



2 THE PifESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

onists at GalHopolis, the occupation of the Virginia Reserve on 
the Scioto by General Massie, the settlement west of the Mus- 
kingum on grant made to Ebenezer Zane and the several set- 
tlements of New England on Connecticut Reserve. These all 
were events which had their historic importance, an importance 
which has been fully recognized — perhaps, in some instances, 
unduly magnified ; but it is quite plain that not one of them 
would have been practicable, had not prior occupation been 
made of the region situated on the head-waters of the Ohio. 
The real pioneers of Western civilization were the men who, at 
the first, scaled the Allegheny Mountains and settled in South- 
western Pennsylvania. Hence, we say the planting of the 
Presbyterian Church in this region was a great historic event, 
and the period in which it occurred was an historic epoch ; for 
the planting of the church and the settlement of the country 
were not simply contemporaneous events — they were really 
identical. They constituted one and the same great social 
movement. It is true, indeed, as to the few men who, first of 
all, crossed the mountains — the primitive settlers — the men who 
fished and hunted for subsistence, and served as guides and 
army scouts, it cannot be said that they made much religious 
profession of any kind. They were an exceedingly heteroge- 
neous class, and restive of the restraints of well ordered society. 
Yet, even among these, could be found here and there, a sturdy 
God-fearing Presbyterian family. But it was not until later 
that these Presbyterian families became sufficiently numerous to 
give character to the population. This was after the Penn 
proprietaries, in 1769, had opened their land office in Philadel- 
phia for acquiring titles to lands west of the mountains. From 
this time onward, and notably at the close of the Revolutionary 
War, and after the obstructions arising from conflict of jurisdic- 
tion between Virginia and Pennsylvania had been removed, a 
constant stream of Presbyterian, as well as other immigrants, 
iflowed into the country. They came, some of them, direct 
from across the Atlantic, a few from New Jersey and Virginia, 
much the larger part from Chester, York, Lancaster and Cum- 
berland Counties, in Pennsylvania, Cecil County, in Maryland 
and New Castle County, in Delaware. 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 3 

In racial descent, they were predominantly Scotch-Irish, and 
possessed the well-known traits of that historic people. This 
means that, taken collectively, they were of fervid temperament, 
quick intellect and ready speech, yet, at the same time, of re- 
flective habits, wary in judgment, and by no means lacking in 
self-control. It means also, that they had conspicuous energy 
and persistence of purpose and of achievement, and were ex- 
ceedingly firm, even obstinate, in their convictions, whether 
right or wrong ; in a word, that they were excellent types of 
rugged impetuous strength of character. Perhaps it should be 
added that they were naturally inclined to take part in public 
affairs, and were not averse to personal prominence. This 
much they owed to blood chiefly, though somewhat, also, to an- 
cestral training. In respect of moral and religious character, it 
cannot, of course, be claimed that they were, without exception, 
ideal Christians. Many of them, like their descendants, had 
more of Scotch-Irish vim than of divine grace, and there was 
much in the adversity of the times to tempt them ; but it is to 
be noted that even when they failed in practical piety, they were 
apt to remain loyal to gospel truth, and from this cause, not un- 
frequently trained up a generation to follow them, better than 
themselves ; and furthermore, there were always among them, 
not a few leading characters, who were eminently godly persons, 
and whose influence was sufficient to leaven, in a measure, the 
entire community, and thus give to it, as a whole, a distinc- 
tively exemplary character. 

Without disparagement, therefore, of what was done by other 
denominations of Christians, it may safely be said that the bulk 
of religious influence exerted in the West in that day, was what 
camie from the Presbyterian Church — using the term Presby- 
terian in its broader sense as inclusive of the Associate, the 
Associate Reformed and the Reformed Presbyterian bodies, as 
well as our own. Taking this view it cannot be questioned 
that this initial planting of the Presbyterian Church west of the 
mountains was an event of great consequence, viewed merely 
in its secular or political aspects — consequence to American So- 
ciety — to the American nation. 

But that which it concerns us much more to emphasize, was 



4 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

its importance to the cause of Christ. It was the first trans- 
montane movement on the part of the Eastern Church, and 
was thus, in the strictest sense, a new ecclesiastical departure. 
It was the beginning of the church's occupation of the great 
valley of the Mississippi. This resulted, necessarily, from the 
geographical position of the region occupied. It was the natural 
gateway to the west. It thus became in an ecclesiastical, as in 
a political sense, the key of empire. From it as a radiating 
point, the forms and much of the material of ecclesiastical or- 
ganization spread westward, initiating that great movement 
which has since extended over the vast domain included be- 
tween the Appalachian Range and the Pacific Ocean. 

When we turn then, as we are now to do, to trace the begin- 
nings of the church's occupation of this field, we may enter on 
it, with the assurance that we have struck an epoch deserving 
our careful and interested study. 

The period referred to as antedating the organization of 
Washington Presbytery divides itself into two minor periods 
— one of twelve years, during which the field was included in 
the Presbytery of Redstone — and one of twenty-six years, dur- 
ing which it was in the Presbytery of Ohio ; and it is a note- 
worthy fact that, in the case of each of these presbyteries, at its 
erection, the major part of the churches embraced in it, were 
churches now belonging to the Presbytery of Washington, and 
that each presbytery held its first meeting in one of these 
churches. It is obvious, therefore, that there can be no history 
of this part of the field which does not consist largely of de- 
tailed accounts of the doings of these two pre-existing presby- 
teries. If in attempting this, some things seemingly irrelevant 
should be introduced, let it be overlooked, as being almost, if 
not altogether, unavoidable. 

FIRST MINISTERS AND CHURCHES. 

^ Previous to the erection of any presbytery west of the 
mountains, four Presbyterian ministers had become resident on 

1 Nothing written in the present day could so well describe the conditions of pio- 
neer life in Western Pennsylvania as the following extract, from a letter penned in 
1848, by President Camahan, of Princeton College, whose residence here as a stu- 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 5 

the field, and had gathered, and were serving churches as fol- 
lows: 

Rev. James Power, who, having first visited the West in 
1774, had removed hither with his family in 1776, and after two 
or three years of evangelistic labor at Dunlap's Creek and vi- 
cinity, then Westmoreland (now Fayette County) had, in 1779, 

dent in Canonsburg Academy, and previously at a time when all the first ministers 
were still living, enabled him to speak as almost an eye and ear witness of the 
things which he relates. Referring to these first ministers he says : " To appreciate 
their labors and self-denial, it is necessary to keep in view the difficulties and dangers 
to which, in common with other pioneers, they were exposed. The journey over 
the mountains, not less than a hundred and twenty -miles, was not what it now is. 
There were no Macadamized roads, or canals, or railroads. A horse path over 
rocks, and precipices, and marshes, was the only way of access to what was signifi- 
cantly called ' The Back Woods.' Nor could the direct route through Chambers- 
burg and Bedford be taken with safety,' Parties of Indians hovered around, and 
murdered many families on their way to the West. On that road there are places 
whose names (such as ' the Burned Cabins,' ' Bloody Run,' &c.) to this day in- 
dicate the barbarous acts of that period. To avoid the tomahawk and scalping- 
knife, a southern route through Hagerstown, Hancock and Cumberland, in Mary- 
land, was usually taken, thence following Braddocks' road over the mountains. 
And this road was not suitable to wheel carriages. Many, like Father McMillan, 
passed through the ' Great Valley ' to Staunton, in Virginia, and thence over the 
mountains to Tygarts Valley. At present a journey to Missouri or Iowa can be per- 
formed in less time, and with less than half the labor and danger necessary, at that 
time, to reach the ' Back Woods.' When the mountains were passed, accommoda- 
tions, not very attractive, were found. In the whole county of Westmoreland, then 
covering more than twice the space it now does, there was not, in 1781, a single 
stone, or brick, or frame-house. All the inhabitants lived in log-cabins, more or less 
comfortable, according to the means of the occupants, 

" The difficulty of obtaining articles necessary in carrying on farming operations 
was very great. Iron, with which that country now abounds, had to be carried on 
pack-horses over the mountains ; and salt, which now may be purchased for twenty 
cents, could not, at that time, be had for less than five dollars per bushel. The want 
of mills to grind their bread was severely felt. In addition to these difficulties, and 
others, which I omit, the inhabitants were not safe from the incursions of the In- 
dians. 

" The accommodations for public worship were also as rare and unsightly as the 
private dwellings of the people. They did not wait until they were able to erect a 
stone or brick building, costing from two to ten thousand dollars ; nor did they send 
commissioners to ask aid from their wealthier brethren in the East. They took their 
axes, cut down trees, and, with their own hands, erected a log building, to protect 
them from the snow in winter, and from the rain in summer. Except in inclement 
weather, they worshipped in the open air, under the shade of the native forests. 



6 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

become pastor of the churches of Mount Pleasant and Se- 
wickly, Westmoreland County. 

Rev. John McMillan, who, having first visited the West in 
1775, and again in 1776, accepted in that year a call from the 
congregations of Pigeon Creek and Chartiers (now Washington 
County), and although deterred for two years from more than 
occasional visits to the field had, in 1778, removed hither with 
his family and become permanent pastor of the two churches 
named. 

Rev. ThaddEUS Dodd, who, having first visited the West in 
the winter of 1777-7^, came hither with his family in 1779, and 

" Posterity will find it difficult to conceive of the rudeness of these primitive 
churches. They were constructed entirely with the axe. No saw, or plane, or even 
hammer, to drive a nail, was used, for neither nails or iron in any other shape, were 
employed. The roof was of clap boards," kept in their places by logs laid upon 
them ; and the doors were also clap boards, fastened by wooden pins to cross bars, 
projecting sufficiently far, at one side, to form a part of the hinge. The windows 
were small openings, cut in two adjacent logs, and were glazed with oil paper or 
linen. The floors, when any they had, were cleft logs, smoothed by the axe. 
These churches were of different forms. The most simple and common were 
square or parallelogramic, having only four sides — a single log extending from 
corner to corner. But when the congregation was large, and timber of sufficient 
length could not be had to make a four-sided structure of suitable dimensions, the 
crucifonn was adopted, and there were twelve sides and twelve comers. In justice 
to these old-fashioned Presbyterians, it must be understood that the twelve sides and 
the twelve corners were not intended to represent the twelve apostles ; nor was the 
crucifonn adopted from a religious regard to the rules of ecclesiastical architecture, 
but to secure strength and convenience. And such buildings were both strong and 
convenient. The parts mutually supported each other, and one part of the transept 
was the preacher's stand, and the other part opposite, accommodated a portion of 
the congregation. 

" The people were chiefly the descendants of Scotch-Irish. Their forefathers had 
fled from Scotland to Ireland, and from Ireland to this country, to escape religious 
persecution. Educated under Presbyterian influence, and familiar with the doctrines 
of the Westminster Confession of Faith, they retained, in a good degree, the re- 
ligious customs of their ancestors. The ' Shorter Catechism ' was learned at school, 
and was recited every Sabbath evening at home, by young and old. The pastor, ac- 
companied by an elder, visited as he was able, the families belonging to his charge, 
prayed with them and gave them such advice as the case of each required. After 
he had gone from house to house, in a particular neighborhood, he appointed a gen- 
eral meeting, which all the families in the district were expected to attend. . . . 
Among these hardy Back Wood people you would find individuals much better in- 
structed in the great truths of the Bible than many at the present day placed in more 
favorable circumstances." 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 7 

was settled in what is now Washington County, at Ten Mile — 
at first one church with two places of worship, subsequently di- 
vided into Upper and Lower Ten Mile Churches. 

Rev. Joseph Smith, who, having first visited the West in 
April, 1779, was soon after called by the churches of Buffalo and 
Cross Creek, in what is now Washington County, and having 
accepted the same, removed hither the following year. 

At this time all the churches were within the territorial 
bounds of the Presbytery of Donegal, and subject to its juris- 
diction, though the ministers were variously connected. Power 
and Smith belonging to Presbytery of New Castle, McMillan to 
Presbytery of Donegal, and Dodd to Presbytery of New 
York. 

PRESBYTERY OF REDSTONE. 

The first Presbytery organized west of the mountains, the 
Presbytery of Redstone, consisted of the four ministers named 
and their churches. It was erected by the Synod of New York 
and Philadelphia in May, 1781, and remained connected with 
the same until 1788, when, at the division of the one Synod into 
four, and the organization of the General Assembly, it was at- 
tached to the new Synod of Virginia, with which it remained 
connected until 1802, when, by act of General Assembly, the 
Synod of Pittsburgh was erected, and it was included therein. 

The Presbytery of Redstone held its first meeting at Pigeon 
Creek September 19-20, 178 1. For the first twelve years of its 
existence it remained undivided. Without aiming here to give 
precise dates, which are given separately in tabulated form {zndc 
Appendix No. i), the successive steps in the Presbytery's 
growth may be indicated as follows : Next to the four original 
members came Rev. James Dunlap, who assumed charge of the 
churches of Dunlap's Creek and Laurel Hill, in what is now 
Fayette County. Shortly afterwards Rev. John Clark was re- 
ceived, and became pastor of Bethel and Lebanon (then Wash- 
ington), now Allegheny County. Next in order of time Rev. 
James Finley was received. Mr. Finley, as early as 1765, and at 
several subsequent times, had visited the West, primarily on 
business, but preaching also, and on one occasion, 1771, had 



8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

been appointed by Synod to perform missionary labor here. 
Now, in 1785, he locates permanently as pastor of Rehoboth 
and Round Hill, in the Forks of the Youghiogheny. Follow- 
ing Mr. Finley, came Rev. Samuel Barr, who, after a brief pas- 
torate at Pittsburgh and Pitt Township, characterized by mutual 
dissatisfactions and judicial prosecutions on the part of pas- 
tor and people, was, at his request, dismissed to another Presby- 
tery. Rev. Robert Finley was also received, and subsequently 
dismissed. Before further pursuing this line of statement, it 
should be remarked that, while each minister had his own spe- 
cial pastorate to care for, it would be a mistake to suppose that 
his labors were confined within this compass. At every meet- 
ing of Presbytery, to quote the humble, and withal, significant 
phraseology of that day, "supplications for supplies" were pre- 
sented, and responsive to these the ministers employed them- 
selves, as they were able, in laborious journeyings over the 
whole field, " strengthening the feeble hands," and " confirming 
the souls of the disciples." Perhaps from no source can a bet- 
ter idea be gained of the manifold labors of the ministers, and 
also of the feeble beginnings of the churches, than from these 
lists of supplies contained in the old records. An examination 
of them gives us, during this period from '81 to '93, a consider- 
able number of names of local interest, prominent among which 
are " Ohio Court House," same as "Short Creek," occurring 
just afterward, now West Liberty; "Wheeling," sarne as 
" Forks of Wheeling; '' "Jackson's Fork,'' which was on south 
fork of Ten Mile, now Green County; "Three Ridges," now 
" West Alexander ; " " Lower Buffalo ; " " King's Creek," after- 
wards, on account of removal of site, changed to Cross Roads ; 
" Mill Creek;" "Town of Washington;" "Heads of Buffalo," 
now East Buffalo ; " Three Springs ; " " Big Wheeling, " " Hol- 
iday's Cove ; " " Stone Coal Fork of Buffalo ; " " Campbell's 
Tent ; " " Mouth of Buffalo," the site of Charlestown Village, 
now Wellsburg, 

It should also be remarked, at this point, that a cherished 
purpose of these early ministers was to have raised upon the 
field fellow-helpers in the work of the ministry, and that in 
order to this they gave, as opportunity offered, instructions in 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. ■ 9 

the ancient languages, science and theology, and exerted them- 
selves in common for the establishment of classical schools. 
Accordingly, during the twelve years referred to, twelve persons 
trained on the field were licensed to preach, seven of whom 
were ordained and installed within the Presbytery, viz. : Joseph 
Patterson, at Raccoon, Washington County, and Montours, Al- 
legheny County ; John Brice, at Three Ridges, Washington 
County, and Forks of Wheeling, Ohio County, Va. ; James 
Hughes, at Lower Buffalo, Washington County, and Short 
Creek, Brook County, Va. The four others were all in West- 
moreland County, viz. : John McPherrin, at Unity and Salem ; 
Samuel Porter, at Congruity and Poke Run ; George Hill, at 
Fairfield and Donegal ; and William Swan, at Long Run and 
Sewickly; from which latter Mr. Powers had been released. 
Meanwhile Mr. Dunlap, having been released from Dunlap's 
Creek, Rev. Jacob Jennings, who had been received on certifi- 
cate from the Low Dutch Church, became pastor of Dunlap's 
Creek and Muddy Creek (now New Providence), Green County, 
and Rev. Joseph Smith and Rev. Thaddeus Dodd had been re- 
moved by death, while of the twelve licentiates, two, — James 
McGready and Robert Marshall, — had been dismissed to other 
Presbyteries, and three were still under care. Thus, at the end 
of these twelve years, the roll stood, Power, McMillan, Dunlap, 
Clark, Findley, Patterson, Brice, Hughes, McPherrin, Porter, 
Jennings, Hill and Swan, with David Smith, Thomas Marquis 
and Boyd Mercer, licentiates. 

During this same period of twelve years, the number of 
churches had increased in even greater proportion. The Pres- 
bytery reported to the General Assembly in '93, twenty-four 
vacant churches, and as an equal number were being served by 
the thirteen ministers named, the whole number at this date was 
not less than forty-eight. From Presbytery's record of supplies 
it also appears that, in addition to these, were not a few nuclei 
of what are known to have afterwards become fully organized 
churches, so that here and there, over a large field, extending 
from Fairfield and Donegal, east, to Forks of Wheeling, west, 
and from Bethel on Blacklick, north, to Tygart's Valley, south, 
were already enkindled and blazing, with more or less bright- 



lO THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ness, some threescore beacon-lights of Gospel Truth as formu- 
lated in the Presbyterian Confession. 

PRESBYTERY OF OHIO. 

After continuing for twelve years sole occupant of the field, 
the Presbytery of Redstone was at last compelled to accept the 
necessity for a division of its territory. Accordingly, by Pres- 
bytery's request, the Synod of Virginia in 1793 erected a new 
Presbytery, to be called the Presbytery of Ohio, and to consist 
of the ministers and churches west of the Monongahela River 
and of a line extending from the river's mouth north to Presque 
Isle, the point where the city of Erie now stands. The minis- 
ters were John McMillan, John Clark, Joseph Patterson, James 
Hughes and John Brice. The churches were Pigeon Creek, 
Chartiers, Ten Mile, Upper Buffalo, Cross Creek, Bethel, Leb- 
anon, Raccoon, Montours, Short Creek, Lower Buffalo, Three 
Ridges, Forks of Wheeling, Mingo Creek, Horseshoe, Pike 
Run, Muddy Creek, Mill Creek, King's Creek, Three Springs, 
with a few others in an inchoate condition. The disproportion 
in the number of churches and ministers was partly owing to 
the recent deaths of Rev. Messrs. Smith and Dodd, leaving Buf- 
falo, Cross Creek and Ten Mile vacant. This new Presbytery, 
it will be observed, had the two qualities of being strictly rural 
and strictly frontier. All its churches were country churches. 
The boundary line, as run, left the borough of Pittsburgh in Red- 
stone Presbytery, where, in common with all the churches that 
grew up on that side of the river, it continued nearly thirty 
years afterwards. The only towns of importance included were 
Washington and Wheeling-, in neither of which was a church 
yet formed. Its frontier character appears in that on the west 
side, it had no boundary, extending indefinitely into what was 
then called the Indian or Western Territory. How nobly this 
handful of country churches and ministers performed the great 
work laid upon them, will appear in the sequel. It augurs well 
for the future that at their first meeting, held at Upper Buffalo 
October 22, 1793, the following action was taken : " Presbytery, 
taking into serious consideration their great need of divine aid 
in order to a due discharge of the important trust committed to 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. H 

them, agreed to spend to-morrow in fasting and prayer, and 
supplicate Almighty God that he would take this infant Presby- 
tery into iiis special care, that he would preside in all their 
meetings, and enable them to act faithfully for God, and be zeal- 
ous for the promotion of Christ's Kingdom in the world, and 
that he would pour out his Spirit upon the congregations under 
their care, and raise up and qualify many for the important work 
of the gospel ministry." 

That the Presbytery judged rightly as to the importance of 
the trust committed to them, appears, in part at least, from the 
list of places mentioned, from time to time, in the minutes, as 
asking or receiving supplies. Some, from the long list of these, 
showing the extent of the field, are the following, viz. : Mcin- 
tosh (/. e., Beaver). Forks of Beaver, Mt. Pleasant, New Salem, Ma- 
honing, Conaquanessing, Shenango, Slippery Rock, Middlesex, 
Cool Spring, Sandy Creek, Meadville, Fair Grove, Bull Creek, 
Pymatuning, Presque Isle, Oil Creek, Colts, The Triangle, La 
Boeuf, Franklin, etc., all of which will be recognized as north of 
the river in Pennsylvania. Those westwardly in Virginia and 
the Indian Territory are the following, viz. : Grave Creek, Charles- 
town, Indian Short Creek, Richland (/. e., St. Clairsville), Island 
Creek, Steuben, Captina, Muskingum, Yellow Creek, Youngs- 
town, Long Run. "Vacant settlements on Muskingum, Hock- 
hocking, Scioto and the Miamis," Detroit, Chillicothe, " Beulah, 
Orangedale and Clear Creek on the Miami," Middleton {i. e., 
Athens), Beech Springs, Crab Apple, Forks of Yellow Creek 
(/. e., Richmond), Galliopolis, New Comerstovv^n, Scotch Settle- 
ment, Owl Creek (/. e., Mt. Vernon), Newark, Cadiz, Mesopota- 
mia, Scioto Salt Works, Pickaway Plains, Plainsville, Grand 
River, Hudson, Canton, Delaware, Round Hill, "Big Spring, 
New Hagerstown, etc. 

To the same effect is the fact that not less than twenty meet- 
ings of Presbytery, not general indeed, but mostly for the ordi- 
nation and installation of some pastor, were held here and there 
over the missionary field, including such points as Cool Spring, 
Meadville, Neshannock, Hopewell and Fairfield in Pennsylvania, 
and Crab Apple, Steuben, Waterford, New Lancaster, New Lis- 
bon, Two Ridges and Clinton in Ohio. 



12 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 



OCTOBER 22, 1793, TO MARCH 5, 1802. 

Tracing now from its beginning the Presbytery's growth, and 
omitting as before precise dates tabulated elsewhere, we find 
that in the first eight and one-half years of its existence, which 
was the period that elapsed before the first division of its terri- 
tory was made, Presbytery received from other bodies, 3 minis- 
ters, 7 licentiates, licensed 18 candidates and ordained 19 licen- 
tiates. 

Samuel Donnell was ordained as an evangelist, agreeably to 
" request from remote parts of Tennessee " and " liberty granted 
by the General Assembly." 

Installations were made on the field as follows : Thomas Mar- 
quis, at Cross Creek; Thomas Moore, at Ten Mile; Boyd Mer- 
cer, at Pigeon Creek and Pike Run ; Samuel Ralston, at Mingo 
and Horseshoe ; William Woods, at Bethel and Lebanon ; 
Thomas E. Hughes, at New Salem and Mt. Pleasant, which was 
the first north of the Ohio River; George Scott, at Mill Creek 
and The Flats, i. e., Fairview; Andrew Givin, at Pigeon Creek 
and Pike Run ; John Watson, at Miller's Run ; Joseph Ander- 
son, at Richland, Short Creek and Cross Roads, /. e., at St. 
Clairsville, Mt. Pleasant and Crab Apple, — the first installation 
by this Presbytery in what is now the State of Ohio : John 
McClain, at Montours ; Elisha McCurdy, at Cross Roads and 
Three Springs ; William Wick, at Hopewell and Neshannock, 
which latter was exchanged for Youngstown the year following ; 
Samuel Tait, at Upper Salem and Cool Spring ; James Snod- 
grass, at Steubenville and Island Creek ; Joseph Stockton, at 
Meadville and Sugar Creek ; Robert Lee, at Amity and Big 
Spring ; James Satterfield, at Moorfield and Upper Neshannock ; 
William Wylie, at Fairfield and Upper and Lower Sandy; Rev. 
Samuel Donnell was dismissed to Presbytery of Transylvania, 
Abraham Boyd, licentiate, to Presbytery of Redstone. Rev. John 
Clark and Smilie Hughes, licentiate, were removed by death. 

The time had now come when the erection of a new Presby- 
tery was an obvious necessity, and accordingly in compliance 
with action taken by the Synod of Virginia, the Presbytery of 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 1 3 

Ohio at a meeting held March 5, 1802, dismissed Thomas E. 
Hughes, WilHam Wick, Samuel Tait, Joseph Stockton, Robert 
Lee, James Satterfield and William Wylie to constitute the 
Presbytery of Erie. It was a timely and withal munificent gift 
of their devoted sons made by this handful of country churches 
south of the river, for the lifting up of Christ's standard in the 
newer region northward toward the lakes. 

The erection of the Presbytery of Erie, the third on the list, 
made it possible to have a Synod constituted in the West, and 
accordingly the necessary action to that end was taken by the 
General Assembly in 1802, and the Synod of Pittsburgh, the first 
in the West, held its first meeting September 29, 1802, in Pitts- 
burgh, — the parent Synod of Virginia having but two years pre- 
viously held its only meeting west of the mountains in the town 
of Washington. 

MARCH 5, 1802, TO OCTOBER 21, 1808. 

During the next six and one-half years, which was the period 
intervening before another division of territory took place, Pres- 
bytery received from other bodies 2 ministers, i licentiate, 
licensed 21 candidates, ordained 12 licentiates. Stephen Lindley, 
Cephas Dodd, Abraham Scott, Jonathan Lesley were ordained 
as evangelists. Installations were made as follows : John An- 
derson, at Upper Buffalo ; Jacob Lindley, at Waterford, O. ; 
John Rhea, at Crab Apple and Beech Springs, O. ; Matthew 
Brown, at Washington ; John Wright, at Hockhocking and 
Rush Creek, O. ; William McMillan, at Two Ridges and Yellow 
Creek, O. ; James Robinson, at Crooked Creek ; Clement Val- 
andingham, at New Lisbon and Long Run, O. ; Moses Allen, 
at New Providence and Jefferson ; James Scott, at Clinton, 
Frederick and Ebenezer, O. 

Rev. Thomas Moore was dismissed to Presbytery of Redstone. 
Licentiates William Woods, Robert Patterson, Alexander Cook, 
Robert Johnston, Nicholas Pittenger, Johnston Eaton, Cyrus 
Riggs, Reid Bracken, were dismissed to Presbytery of Erie ; 
Samuel Woods, to Presbytery of Washington in Synod of Ken- 
tucky. Rev. John Watson was removed by death. 

The second division of Presbytery's territory took place by 



14 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

act of Synod October 7, 1808, and accordingly Presbytery dis- 
missed, October 21, 1808, Stephen Lindley, Jacob Lindley, 
John Wright, James Robinson and James Scott, to constitute 
the Presbytery of Lancaster, and also dismissed Clement Valan- 
dingham to Presbytery of Hartford, erected by Synod at same 
time. 

OCTOBER 21, 1808, TO OCTOBER 8, 1819. 

During the remaining period of eleven years intervening be- 
fore the Presbyteries of Washington and Steubenville were 
simultaneously erected, Presbytery received from other bodies 
4 ministers, 3 licentiates, licensed 17 candidates, ordained 8 
licentiates. Thomas Hoge was ordained as an evangelist. 
Installations were made as follows : Joseph Stevenson, at Three 
Ridges and Forks of Wheeling ; Andrew McDonald, at White 
Oak Flats ; Thomas Clark, at Crab Apple, O. : Michael Law, at 
Montours ; Andrew Wylie, at Miller's Run ; James Hervey, at 
Wheelingtown and Forks of Wheeling ; Alexander Cook, at 
Bethany; Moses Allen, at Raccoon; Obadiah Jennings, at Steu- 
benville, O. ; J. Snodgrass, at Island Creek, O. ; Thomas Hunt, 
at Two Ridges and Richmond, O. 

Rev. Jonathan Lesley was dismissed to Presbytery of Hart- 
ford ; Rev. James Hughes, to Presbytery of Miami ; Rev. 
Thomas Hoge, to Presbytery of Redstone. Licentiates Thomas 
Hunt, William Johnston, John Reed, James Cunningham, George 
Vaneman, William Jones, Joseph S. Hughes, James Smith, John 
Matthews, Ira Condit, Ezekiel Glasgow, James Wright, Andrew 
Russell, were dismissed to various Presbyteries. Michaiah 
Fairfield had his license withdrawn ; Rev. John McClain was 
deposed ; Rev. John Brice was removed by death. 

Summing up, it is found that during the whole period of 
twenty-six years thus reviewed. Presbytery received from other 
bodies 9 ministers, 1 1 licentiates, of whom 7 were from Red- 
stone Presbytery; licensed 56 candidates, ordained 39 licen- 
tiates, installed 40 pastors, dismissed 19 ministers, 23 licentiates, 
struck from the roll i minister, i licentiate, and lost by death 3 
ministers and i licentiate. 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 1 5 

RULING ELDERS. 

No mention has been made thus far of Ruling Elders and the 
part they took in founding and building up the church in the 
West. This part of the subject has been kept back until now in 
order that the whole period, from 178 1 to 1 8 19, may, as to this, 
be viewed connectedly. It is to be regretted that the informa- 
tion we have concerning most of the early elders is so meagre. 
The Presbyterial and Synodical Records give the names of 
those who were in attendance at their successive meetings, but 
fail to designate to what church each elder belonged. The 
oldest sessional records extant do not supply this lack to any 
considerable extent. In nearly every case early sessional rec- 
ords, if ever kept, have been lost. Still the field is not all blank, 
and it is important that all that is certainl}^ authentic, be pre- 
served both as a means of testing traditions and as furnishing 
clues for additional research. After not a little of painstaking 
scrutiny, an approximation has been made toward the recon- 
struction, as it were, of the old sessions on this part of the field, 
on the basis of attendance at either Presbytery or Synod, the 
figures attached to each name indicating the date vv'hen such 
person first attended Presbytery or Synod. The result reached 
is as follows : 

Pigeon Creek, — Patrick Scott, 1781; Patrick McCullough, 
1783; William McCombs, 1783; Hugh Scott, 1788; William 
Ferguson, 1800; Hugh Cotton, 1802; John Stevenson, 1804; 
Joseph Vaughan, 1805 ; John Hosack, 1807; James Kerr, 1808; 
John Atkinson, 1814; Aaron Kerr, 1816. 

Ten Mile. — Demas Lindsley, 1781 ; Joseph Coe, 1784; Jacob 
Cook, 1785; William McFarland, 1785; Stephen Cook, 1785; 
Daniel Axtell, 1786; Stephen Saunders, 1796; Joseph Lindsley, 
1797; Abel McFarland, 1797; John Carmichael, 1798; John 
Smiley, 1798; Jonas Condit, 1807; Ziba Casterline, 18 10; 
Jacob Hathaway, 18 18. 

Upper Buffalo. — John Johnston, 1783; William Smiley, 1784; 
John Cowen, 1789; William McCullough, 1793; Robert Lyle,' 

^ Robert Lyle represented Cross Creek Church in 1793 and as late as 1815. 
May have represented Buffalo in 1S17 or later. 



1 6 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

; John McWilliams, 1793; James Brice/ ; James 



Dinsmore/ ; John Gilchrist, 1800; David McCombs, 180 1 ; 

William Hughes, 1802; William Wallace, 1803; John Flack, 
18 17; John Dinsmore, 1818; James McConaughey, 18 18. 

Cross Creek. — James Edgar, 1782; George Marquis, 1783; 
Joseph Patterson, 1785; Joseph Vance, 1789; Thomas Marquis, 
1789; Thomas Marshall, 1792; Robert Lyle, 1793; Kenry 
Graham, 1794; William Rea, 1795; Hugh Newell, 1795; Rob- 
ert McCready, 1796; John Morrison, 1798; Hugh Edgar, 1806; 
Samuel McKibben, 1807; John Wilkin, 1807; Thomas Smith, 
1 8 10; George Miller, 1818; Joseph Smith, 1818; Andrew Far- 
rar, 18 19. 

Three Ridges. — John McPherrin, 1792; Silas Coe, 1793; John 
Henry, 1794; William Scott, 1800; John Maxwell, 1801 ; Moses 
Hull, 1802; George Sutherland, 1802; George Lee, 1803; Wil- 
liam Gaston, 1805; Thomas Byers, 1812; James McCamant, 
1813. 

Forks of Wheeling. — James McConnell, 1791 ; John Baird, 

; John Faris, 1799; Adam Faris, 1802; William Maxwell, 

1814; Richard Campbell, 1815. 

Short Creek. — William Brown, 1792; John Wayt, 1794; Mat- 
thew Anderson, 1796; Nathaniel Coleman, 1797; William 
McKinley, 1800; William Faris, 1805; Thomas Yates, 18 18. 

Loiver Bjiffalo. — Arthur Scott, 1818; George Green, 1819. 

Mill Creek. — George McCullough, 1793 ; David Kerr, 1796; 
Alex. McCullough, 1800; John Thompson, 1801 ; James Ewing,* 
John McCullough, 1813; Joseph McCready, 1819. 

1 A James Brice represented Bethel Church in 1785. Either the same or another 
James Brice represented Upper Buffalo as early as 1793. A James Brice also repre- 
sented Washington as early as 1806. 

* James Dinsmore was present from 1784 to 1814. Represented Bethel Church 
until about 1795. After that represented Upper Buffalo. 

' John Baird represented Forks of Wheeling in Presbytery of Ohio in 1795. May 
have previously represented it in Redstone Presbytery probably 1 792. There was 
another John Baird in that Presbytery, Hon. John Baird, of M t. Pleasant, who was 
sole representative of Redstone Presbytery in first General Assembly. 

* There was a James Ewing present in Redstone as early as 1790. Supposed to 
be the one who afterwards represented Montours". The James Ewing from Mill 
Creek was about cotemporary with John Thompson of that church. 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 1 7 

The Flats. — John Edie, 1804; John Pittenger, 1816; John 
McMillan/ 

Cross Roads. — Miles Wilson, 1799; John McMillan, 1800; 
Philip Jackson, 1800; John Travis, 1801 ; John Riddle,^ James 
Proudfit, 1803; Samuel Fulton, 1804; John Duncan, 1805; 
Joseph Jackson, 1808; George Anderson, 1819. 

Three Springs. — Wm, Lee, 1800; John Orr, 1803; John 
Wylie, 1809. 

Washington. — Wm. McCombs,^ Joseph Wherry, 1798 ; Robt. 

Stockton, 1797; James Brice,* ; Josiah Scott,* ; Thos. 

Officer, 1806; Robt. Johnston, 1812; Obadiah Jennings, 1813; 
Thos. Fergus, 181 5; Hugh Wylie, 18 17; Thos. Stockton, 18 18; 
James Orr, 18 18; John Wishart, 18 18. 

Unity. — Jacob Rickey, 1814; Francis Braddock, 1816. 

East Buffalo. — Jos. Donahey, 18 19; Archibald Brownlee, 18 19. 

While the foregoing list is believed to be accurate, as far as it 
goes, it is confessedly incomplete. 

It can doubtless be extended by those better informed, each in 
his own locality. To further this, additional lists of names taken 
from the official records are appended. {Vid. Appendix No. i.) 

Some of the names in the foregoing list are not found in the 
Presbyterial records, but only in the records of Synod. Many 
of them occur but rarely. Both these facts strengthen the belief 
that there were not a i^v^ worthy persons holding this office 
whose names do not appear on any Presbyterial or Synodical 
record. John Stevenson, Sr., of Pigeon Creek ; David Rannels 
and Wm. Patterson, of Upper Buffalo; John Goodman Young, 
of Three Springs; Wm. Sherrard, of Washington ; Moses Dins- 
mon of Unity, are among those thus accredited by tradition or 
otherwise. No doubt there were many such. 

' Cross Roads and the Flats each had an elder of this name — possibly the same person. 

' The name John Riddle appears as early as 1793. Cross Roads and Raccoon 
each had an elder of this name, believed to be the same person. 

' A Wm. McCombs represented Pigeon Creek in 1783. Either the same or an- 
other person of this name was one of the first elders at Washington, and may have 
represented the Church any time after 1793. 

* See note on Upper Buftalo. 

* A Josiah Scott represented Chartiers in 1785. Either the same or another person 
of this name may have represented Washington after 1793. 

2 



1 8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

The records show some names conspicuous for frequency of at- 
tendance. Including both Presbyteries and the Synod, James Ed- 
gar has a record of 25 meetings ; Wm. Smiley, 25 ; James Dins- 
more, 21 ; Demas Lindsley, 18 ; Wm. Lee, 18 ; Wm. Rea, 16 ; Pat- 
rick McCullough, 13 ; many others not far short of these figures. 

It should here be added that, considering the difficulty of 
travel, the meetings of the General Assembly were fairly well at- 
tended by Elders. The list is as follows : 1794, James Edgar ; 
1795, Patrick Scott, Wm. Smiley ; 1798, Nathaniel Coleman; 
1802, Wm. McKinly; 1807, Wm. McKinly, Wm. Rea; 1809, 
Robt. Laughlin ; 18 1 3, Obadiah Jennings ; 1817, Wm. Rea; 
18 19, Wm. Rea. 

Taken as a class, the early elders were above the average of their 
contemporaries in intelligence and influence. Almost forgotten 
as they now are with the passing away of three or four genera- 
tions, most of them were, in their day, leaders in public affairs. 
One has but to glance at the early civil list to be convinced of 
this. Thus, looking only to that part of the field which lay in 
Washington County, embracing parts of the two Presbyteries of 
Washington and Pittsburgh, as now constituted, we find that pre- 
vious to 1790, when justices of the peace were, to some extent, 
associated as judges in the county court, the names of James 
Edgar, Wm. McFarland, Hugh Scott, William Smiley, William 
Scott, Henry Graham are on the list. Elsewhere as justices 
are the names of John Stephenson, Patrick McCullough, Alex. 
Wright, John Riddle, James Proudfit, Wm. Hughes, Wm. Rea, 
Robt. McCready, John Wilkins, George Craighead, Isaac Leon- 
ard, Jonas Condit, Andrew Swearingen, and perhaps others. 
James Edgar also held the position of a member of the Supreme 
Executive Council of the State. And under the Constitution of 
1790, two other Ruling Elders — James Allison and John Mc- 
Dowell — held the position of Associate Judge, Abel McFar- 
land was a member of the State Senate, and John McDowell, 
James Edgar, Alex. Wright, John P'lanikin, James Brice, Joseph 
Vance, James Kerr, Aaron Kerr, and, it may be, other elders 
were members of the House of Representatives, most of them 
for several terms. Indeed for the first thirty years, to call the 
roll of the members of Legislature for Washington County is 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 1 9 

very much like calling a roll of Scotch-Irish Elders of Presby- 
tery. Further references to the county records show that elders 
Demas Lindsley, Wm. McComb, James Bradford, Thos. Mar- 
quis, Thos. Byers, Thos. Officer, together with many of those 
already named, held other responsible positions on the civil list. 
These statements, it will be noted, are limited to elders. Should 
this limit be passed, so as to take in church members in general, 
it would be still more apparent that the Presbyterian Church 
in that day did not fail to contribute largely of her best material 
to the service of the State.^ 

STATISTICS. 

It would be interesting to note the progress of the early church 
by reference to its statistics, if we were able to do so. But this 
is not possible to any great extent. We here find ourselves in 
much the position of an investigator in the field of science, who 
has for his data only here and there a fossil frond, or shell, or 
disjointed bone. But in the one case, as in the other, even these 
fragments are not to be undervalued. If there be any exception 
to this paucity of data in the ecclesiastical field, it is in the one 
particular of congregational settlements. Here the find is large 
but not valuable. An ill-shaped specimen marked delinquency 
is everywhere abundant. It is clearly defined, being notated in 
£. s. and d. 

It is remarkably persistent, too. Scarce any indication of de- 
cadence appearing until 1802, when Upper Buffalo — perhaps put 
somewhat upon its mettle by remembering that Francis Herron, 
four years before, had declined their call, and left them subsist- 
ing on that thin diet called supplies — now with another man, 
not quite so young, but equally good, John Anderson, 
just installed as pastor — reports salary paid in full. Thence- 
forward, under this lead, there is gradual accession over the 
whole field, to this new type of church-life, though not with- 
out frequent recurrence to the old. But let us not be unjust 
here to the memory of perhaps better men than ourselves. 
Let us not forget that ^^150, /. e. ^730, or even i^i20 was in 

1 Of the early members of Congress, three, at least, — ^John Hamilton, Aaron Lyle 
and Thos. Patterson — were conspicuously active members of the Presbyterian Church. 



20 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

that day a largesum of money. May it not be that the fault of 
the dear old fathers was, that in the goodness of their hearts 
they promised too much. To will was present with them, but 
how to perform they found not. Let us not sit in judgment, 
then, for we know not in what straitnesses they were. Above 
all, let not their example be misapplied by their descendants, 
to whom God has given so much — oh, so much more wealth! 

It is gratifying to find, moreover, that the fathers, in all their 
straitnesses, were not disobedient to the divine law of giving 
for the good of others. Thus, as early as 1790, a Minute ap- 
pears in the records of the old mother Presbytery of Red- 
stone, as follows : " The Presbytery find that the order of 
Synod for raising contributions for the support of missiona- 
ries has been, in part, complied with, and that the sum re- 
ceived is ;^22. 14.S. T,d." 

The year following contributions for the same are acknowl- 
edged, among which are these : " From Mr. Smith's congrega- 
tions, ^ly. ys. From Mr. Hughes, £^. 6s. 6d. In '92 from Mr. 
Hughes, ^^"3. In '93 from Pigeon Creek, £^. 33;.'' 

In the same line, under the new Presbytery of Ohio, among 
the sums reported are these : In 1795, from Mr. Hughes' congre- 
gations, ;^5. io.f. ; from Mr, Marquis', £4. los. In '96, from Mr. 
Brice's, £2,- gs. 2^d. ; from Mr. Hughes, £j. 6s. ^d. ; from Mr. 
Marquis', ^15, gs. 3^. 

A little later contributions were made for Education as well 
as Missions. 

It is worth while, also, to note that in the Minutes of the 
General Assembly for 18 16, acknowledgment is made of contri- 
butions for the Seminary at Princeton, as follows : Lower Buf- 
falo, ;$ 12.50 ; Forks of Wheeling, ;^ 1 7,50 ; West Liberty, ^50 ; 
Cross Creek ^88; Upper Buffalo, ^48; Pigeon Creek, $yo; 
Washington, ^130 ; Wheeling, ^55. 

As to numerical strength, the earliest record that has been 
found gives this fragment : " Ap., 1794, Pigeon Creek, 130 fam- 
ilies, 140 communicants; Short Creek, 47 families, 50 communi- 
cants ; Lower Buffalo, 44 families, 46 communicants. 

In 1806 these items appear: West Liberty and Lower Buffalo, 
134 communicants, 20 infants baptized; Three Ridges and 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 



21 



Wheeling, no report ; Cross Creek, no report ; Mill Creek and 
Flats, 137 communicants, 17 infants baptized; Upper Buffalo, 
235 communicants, 35 infants baptized, 2 adults baptized; Pigeon 
Creek and Pike Run, no report ; Cross Roads and Three Springs, 
214 communicants, 35 infants baptized, 2 adults baptized; 

Washington, communicants, 25 infants baptized, 3 adults 

baptized; Ten Mile, 192 communicants, 16 infants baptized. 

As an exhibit of church growth, and an evidence, also, of in- 
creased attention to statistics, we here subjoin the Statistical 
Report of the Presbytery of Ohio for the spring of 18 19, being 
the last before its dimensions were curtailed by the erection of 
Washington and Steubenville Presbyteries. With the names of 
the churches added, it is as follows: 



ministers' names. 



John McMillan, D.D 
Joseph Patterson . 
Thomas Marquis . 
Boyd Mercer . . . 
Samuel Ralston. . 
William Woods. . 
George Scott . . . 
John Anderson . . 
Matthew Brown. . 
Joseph Anderson . 
Elisha Macurdy . 
James Snodgrass . 
Alexander Cook . 
Cephas Dodd. . . 
John Rea .... 
William McMillan 
Thomas Hunt, P. E 
Lyman Potter . . 
Moses Allen . . . 
Joseph Stevenson . 
Andrew McDonald 
Thomas B. Clark . 
Abraham Scott . . 
Michael Law. . . 
Andrew Wylie . . 
James Hervey . . 
Thomas Hoge . . 
Obadiah Jennings. 

Total . . 



NAMES OF CHURCHES. 



Chartiers 

Without pastoral charge . . . 

Cross Creek 

Without pastoral charge . . . 
Mingo Creek and Williamsport 

Bethel and Lebanon 

Mill Creek and Flats . . , . 

Upper Buffalo 

Washington 

Richlands 

Cross Roads and Three Springs 

Island Creek 

Bethany 

Without pastoral charge , . . 

Beech Springs 

Miller's Run 

Two Ridges and Richmond. . 
Without pastoral charge . . . 
Raccoon 



Three Ridges 

VVhiteOakFlats&Flaherty'sRuu 
Without pastoral charge . . . 
Without pastoral charge . . . 

Montour's Run 

Without pastoral charge . . . 
Forks of Wheeling and Wheelingtown 
Stated Supply, East Buffalo. . 
Steubenville 



Missionary 
Fund. 



^64 70 

48 00 

99 00 
61 31 

52 72 

124 15 

32 00 



36 75 
II 00 



6i 99 

32 00 
5 00 

172 75 

^1006 57 






$2, 50 
5 00 

1 60 

4 50 

4 00 

5 00 
10 00 

6 25 

2 41 
4 00 



4 00 
I 50 



2 00 

3 00 
8 50 

5o 26 



7 

15 
23 

312 



242 
246 

250 
246 
.248 
196 
160 
359 

99 

259 



180 

137 
98 



227 

"3 

39 
90 

3"7 



14 



14 

25 
23 
16 

359 



22 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Any sketch of the early church, however hurried, would be 
incomplete without a reference to some particulars showing the 
spirit of its members and their general build of Christian char- 
acter. 

Here we may mention first of all their 

PATRIOTISM AND LOYALTY. 

It is related that at a gloomy crisis in the Revolution General 
Washington, being asked what he would do under certain con- 
tingencies, replied : " Should it come to the v/orst, I will fall 
back into the mountain region of Pennsylvania, and make my 
stand among the Scotch-Irish Presbyterians." Whether this be 
authentic or not, it is certain that the Presbyterian forefathers 
were strong and sturdy patriots. A great company of them 
evinced this as officers and soldiers in the Revolution. No one 
point occurs more frequently in the fragmentary biographical 
reminiscences we have than this : " He was a soldier of the 
Revolution, and at the close of the war came west." Cases 
could be cited where more than one of the same family were 
thus enlisted. One of the present members of this Presbytery * 
is a descendant, on the maternal side, of one of four brothers 
who were in the Continental army, and, on the paternal side, his 
grandfather and a grand-uncle, who afterwards became a Pres- 
byterian minister, fought with the Poes in repelling the incur- 
sions of the Indians — (and yet our good brother is a very 
peaceable man despite it all). No doubt one main reason why 
so many of them made their homes on the new lands of the 
West was because they had, by military service, earned liberal 
grants of land, and in the same way acquired a vigor and force 
of character fitting them well for pioneer life. 

THE WESTERN INSURRECTION. 

Nor can it be alleged that this spirit of patriotism and loyalty 
waned, even in that trying crisis which followed shortly after 
the Revolution, when the method of raising revenue adopted by 
the Federal Government excited so much of violent opposition 

1 Rev. J. S. Marquis. 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 23 

in the western country. For while, no doubt, the ministers and 
members of the Presbyterian Church shared with others in their 
judgment of the revenue law as unjust and oppressive, it is yet 
clear that taken collectively, not excepting even those who 
seemed to act to a certain extent with the insurgents, they 
were, as a whole, the steadfast and most efficient friends of law 
and order and the real conservators of the public peace. 

That the ministers, at least, were thoroughly loyal is fully 
proved by the following action adopted in 1795 by both Presby- 
teries : '^Resolved, That if any of those persons who, during the 
late disturbances, had an active hand in burning property, rob- 
bing the mail and destroying official papers of the officers of 
government, shall apply for distinguishing privileges in our 
church, they shall not be admitted until they give satisfactory 
evidence of their repentance. The Presbytery also did, and do 
hereby, declare their hearty disapprobation of all riotous, illegal 
and unconstitutional combinations against the government, the 
laws or offices of government, and do, in the most earnest and 
importunate manner, recommend and enjoin it upon the people 
under their care to be subject to all magistrates in lawful 
authority." 

THE WAR OF 1812. 

That the spirit of patriotism and loyalty continued still active 
in later years appears from the following adopted by the Pres- 
bytery of Ohio in October, , 1813 : "Presbytery, taking into 
serious consideration the apparent gracious interposition of 
Divine Providence in favor of our northwestern frontiers, on 
motion. Resolved, That it be recommended to each member to 
offer up special praise and thanksgiving to Almighty God, in 
their respective congregations on the next Lord's day, for the 
late signal and very remarkable victories, under the Divine aus- 
pices, gained by our northwestern armies, both on the lake and 
on land, and, humbly acknowledging our sins and unworthiness, 
to implore the continuation of the divine favor in behalf of our 
beloved country." If there was any opposition in Presbytery to 
this action on the ground that it related to secular affairs and 
would be damaging to the Church's spirituality, the fact does 



24 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

not appear on the records. The good fathers seem to have 
thought that they were quite free to acknowledge God's favor 
in Providence as well as in grace. 

RIGID ORTHODOXY. 

And yet it could not be charged against them that they hon- 
ored any standard of faith and practice other than the written 
word. Their exaltation of the Scriptures was a distinguishing 
trait. Hence they were sternly orthodox. Whatever weak- 
nesses they may have had, latitudinarianism was not one of 
them. They were sound in doctrine, and, par excellence, were 
steadfastly so. In this, at least, Scotch blood and Divine grace 
wrought together. With unswerving tenacity they held fast 
the form of sound words. Specimen sermons yet extant show 
clearly what was the style of preaching which prevailed. It 
was not ornate ; it was not moralistic, nor was it " sound and 
fury signifying nothing." On the other hand it was plain, per- 
spicuous, direct. It was also largely didactic and doctrinal, and 
on this basis developed into something tremendously searching 
and practical. That the ministers of that day were sensitively 
jealous of their good name in this respect appears from several 
items. Thus December 25, 1800: " Presbytery being informed 
that it has been reported in some of our vacancies that the 
Presbyterian body have wholly rejected the Book of Psalms, 
together with the five books of Moses, we do hereby declare 
the above a groundless slander, and that we always have con- 
sidered these books equally sacred with the other books of the 
Old and New Testaments." 

Another instance is in 1808, when Presbytery initiated a cor- 
respondence with another ecclesiastical body, continuing for 
several years, and covering many pages, the ground of which 
was an alleged statement by a minister of that body to the 
effect that "some of the Presbyterian ministers were Arminians 
and Socinians," the objective end of the correspondence being, 
apparently, to expurgate themselves of this reproach by per- 
suading or compelling the slanderer to confess and repent of 
his sin. 

Nor was the zeal for sound doctrine evinced by the ministers 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 



25 



at all unsavory to the church at large. Catechetical examina- 
tions, looking to the indoctrination of the people, were so much 
a matter of course that in the case of vacant congregations 
ministers were appointed to catechize with the same formality 
that they were appointed to preach. Thus, — "October, 1794, 
Rev. Joseph Patterson appointed to catechize the congregation 
of Bethel on the first Sabbath of March." "October, 1795, Rev. 
James Hughes appointed to catechize at Mill Creek. Rev. 
Thomas Marquis appointed to catechize at Kings' Creek." 

An inkling of the proficiency to which the people thus at- 
tained in matters of doctrine may be gathered from a record in 
1808, where some of the members of a little church in Ohio 
preferred charges against their pastor for unscriptural teaching 
on the subject of the Covenants. From the testimony in the 
case, which is fully recorded, it would appear that some, at 
least, of those early elders were thoroughly versed in matters 
of doctrine, having at their tongue's end the various differentia 
of the Covenant of Grace and the Covenant of Redemption, and 
discoursing of them with a fluency that would be quite paraly- 
zing to the young theologians of the present day, not to say 
anything of some of the doctors of djivinity. 

PRACTICAL MORALITY. 

Coupled with their attachment to sound doctrine was a cor- 
responding regard for practical morality. They, by no means, 
ignored the ethical side of Christianity. They did not leave 
themselves open to the reproach which the enemies of truth 
are ever so forward to hurl against its friends, the reproach of 
dead orthodoxy. With the church to which they belonged 
they held that " truth is in order to goodness," and that " the 
great touchstone of truth is its tendency to promote holiness." 

One proof of this was their zeal in the 

MAINTENANCE OF CHURCH DISCIPLINE. 

This they enforced alike in the case of ministers and others. 
To show how watchful they were for the purity of the minis- 
try it may, without noting repeated cases of judicial process 
rigidly enforced, be stated that on a certain occasion, when one 



26 THE PRESBYTERY OE WASHINGTON. 

of their number received an appointment to the office of Asso- 
ciate Judge, in the County Court, although he pleaded some- 
what of physical infirmity as his reason for accepting it, they 
would not let the matter pass until they had overtured the Gen- 
eral Assembly as follows ; " May a man hold the office of the 
gospel ministry and the office of an Associate Judge at the 
same time ? or, Is it expedient for Presbytery to continue a 
person in the office of the Gospel Ministry in such circum- 
stances?" The extent to which judicial cases in those days 
occupied the attention of church courts might at first blush, 
awaken the suspicion that either derelictions were more fre- 
quept than now, or else the fathers were rather fond than 
otherwise of wielding the potestas diakritike. But another 
view, more charitable to them, and less flattering to us, is 
that the conscience of the church responded to the sense of 
obligation in respect of discipline more promptly then than 
it does now. That they, the coctus presbyterorum, as they 
claimed to be, did not affect judicial process for its own sake is 
well illustrated in a certain case in 1794, which it is worth while 
to recite as a model of judicial discreetness and fidelity. Pres- . 
bytery having previously appointed a committee to examine 
witnesses, etc., adopted the committee's report as follows : " The 
parties, with the advice and consent of the Committee, consid- 
ering the darkness and obscurity in which this matter has all 
along been involved, and the impossibility of any judicatory 
ever being able to bring it to a certain just issue; and knowing 
that God can, and will, one day bring these hidden things to 
light, either in time or at the final judgment, do cordially agree 
to lay aside all heats, animosities, railings and prosecutions in 
this case, referring the whole to the omniscient and just Judge 
of the Universe, at the same time promising from henceforth to 
cultivate peace and harmony, and to do all in their power to- 
ward healing the present wounds, and preventing the giving of 
any others." 

In this way reconciliation was effected, and both parties re- 
stored to church privileges. 

Another way in which care for practical morality was exer- 
cised, was in promptly and explicitly testifying against prevailing 
evils. 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 27 

One instance of this, already cited, was the matter of re- 
sistance to lawful authority.^ 

HORSE-RACING. 

In the same line, the presbytery, in 1806, testified against 
horse-racing as a prevailing evil, and enacted that " church 
members offending in this respect should be subject to censure." 

SPIRITUOUS LIQUORS. 

In 181 3 the following action was taken : " Presbytery viewing 
with anxious concern the pernicious consequences attending the 
frequent use of spirituous liquors, 

Resolved, That every member inform his people that the 
Presbytery are of opinion that the use of ardent spirits in 
harvest, and at public meetings, is highly improper and preju- 

^ On the subject of negro slavery, nothing is found in the Presbyterial records. 
The first presbytery in the West was not organized until the year after gradual 
abolition was enacted. Public sentiment sustained this measure ; and that the 
Christian conscience was not asleep appears from occasional instances of voluntary 
manumission. Rev. John Clark, by his will made in 1793, set free a mulatto ser- 
vant. Judge Edgar, ruling elder at Cross Creek, manumited, in 1796, a slave girl 
belonging to him. The instrument of writing effecting this, which is in the " Wash- 
ington County Records," has a specific historic value. It is as follows : " Know all 
men by these presents that whereas I, James Edgar, of Smith's Township, Washing- 
ton County, Pa., being on the 26th day of November, a.d., 1782, in the township 
and county aforesaid, possessed of a negro girl as a slave, and then of the age of 
five years, did register the said girl, being of the name of Hannah, on the said day, 
and so described in the office of the Clerk of the Sessions of the said county accord- 
ing to the Act of Assembly of Pennsylvania for the gi-adual abolition of slavery, 
whereby the said Negroe girl, Hannah, remained a slave to the said James Edgar, 
and whereas I am, under a serious conviction, that involuntary servitude beyond a 
just compensation for maintenance and education is incompatible with a sense of 
duty to God and my fellow-creatures ; I, the said James Edgar, do hereby release 
and forever quit claim to the said Hannah, all my right or claim, or all right and 
claim which any may derive under me to the time or service of the said Hannah 
after she shall have arrived at the age of twenty-seven years, and do hereby declare 
that the said negroe woman, Hannah, as soon as she shall arrive at the age of twenty- 
seven years, shall be, and thereafter remain, entirely free. In witness whereof I 
have hereto set my hand and seal, this sixth day of January, in the year of our Lord, 
one thousand seven hundred and ninety-six. James Edgar. 

"Acknowledged before me 6th January, 1796. 

" Alex. Addison. 

" Recorded 7th January, 1796. Book I., L. 703." 



28 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

dicial, both to the bodies and souls of men, and that they rec- 
ommend to all under their care to desist from the same, at such 
times, especially." If to any, the tone of this should seem 
moderate, it should be remembered that it is, by no means, so 
short of public sentiment in the present day, as it was in ad- 
vance of it then. 

Three years afterward the Synod testified, even more de- 
cidedly to the effect that " the habitual use of ardent spirits in 
families and by laborers, is training up thousands for poverty, 
disgrace, the prison, the gallows and eternal misery ; " and 
" that ardent spirits ought never to be used except as a medi- 
cine." (See also action in 1817 and subsequently.) 

The same body recorded its testimony against other breaches 
of public morality. 

SABBATH DESECRATION. 

In 1 8 10 Synod appointed a committee "to draft a petition to 
Congress, praying them to revise and alter the law respecting 
Post-office establishments, so that the Sabbath day may not be 
violated by the mail being carried, and Postmasters opening 
their offices on that sacred day." This was followed up by a 
series of corresponding measures in this direction continued for 
several years. 

NON-CHRISTIAN AMUSEMENTS. 

In 18 17 Synod testified against "the conduct of church mem- 
bers given to attendance upon balls, dances, routs, theatrical ex- 
hibitions and other places of fashionable amusement." And ad- 
dressing the conscience of such added : " We warn you with 
earnestness and affection, to conform to your holy callings ; 
come out from the fashions which defile with sin and seduce 
from God. We pray that none of our dear flocks may be 
found when the Lord cometh, among the enemies of our Sav- 
iour; frustrating by their opinions and practices, the labors of 
his ministers, weakening their hands and promoting the cause 
of the god of this world, instead of coming forth to the help 
of the Lord against the mighty." 

But let us turn to note, now, some things most directly relat- 
insf to the furtherance of the Redeemer's kino-dom. 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 



ZEAI, FOR EDUCATION. 



29 



One of these, which has already been hinted at, was their 
zeal for education. On the part of the ministers, this is only 
what was to be expected from their own attainments. They 
were, in this respect,' not ordinary men. They did not belong 
to that type of the pioneer minister, most frequently conceived 
in the popular mind — the man of rude and unlettered character, 
contemning colleges and advanced scholarship. Those who 
came from the East were all well educated men, nearly all of 
them graduates of Princeton College. Those trained on the 
field were, as far as opportunity made it possible, trained ac- 
cording to the same high standard. With rare exceptions, they 
were men of fairly good classical and theological attainments, 
and comparatively cultivated tastes. This is fully established 
by what they have left behind them in the way of diary, auto- 
biography, sermons, controversial tracts, books, letters and 
other writings. And, as all their learning was sanctified by 
deep spiritual experience, and wielded with apostolic fervor and 
zeal, it is not to be wondered at that both as educators and as 
Evangelists, they exerted, through the power of the Holy 
Ghost, an efficient agency in moulding society. 

" From the outset," attests an early writer, " they established 
little grammar schools at their own houses, or in their immedi- 
ate neighborhoods." It was not long until these developed into 
academies at Washington and at Canonsburg, both mainly un- 
der the control of the ministers and elders of the Presbyterian 
Church — the latter, moreover, under the special sanction and 
aid of the Synod of Virginia and the Presbytery of Redstone. 
The ecclesiastical records of that day abound with proofs of the 
deep interest felt on the subject of education. The Presbytery 
of Ohio, at its first meeting, voted to " co-operate with the 
Presbytery of Redstone in carrying out the purpose of Synod," 
and members were enjoined to " use their best endeavors to ob- 
tain contributions, etc." Subsequently, for several years, action 
is taken repeatedly on the same subject, and progress is re- 
ported. Record is made also of the presbytery meeting from 



30 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

year to year, to examine the students, and of commissioners 
from the Presbytery of Redstone being present to assist in the 
same — the names of David Smith, John McPherin, James Dun- 
lop, James Power and Samuel Porter occurring in this connec- 
tion. 

Nor was this watchful interest confined to this one department 
of education. That it reached to that which was still higher 
appears not alone from the fact that several of the early minis- 
ters were competent and painstaking teachers of theology, but 
also from the further fact that the Presbytery as early as 1810 
took action in favor of the establishment of permanent theologi- 
cal schools, pursuant to overture from General Assembly. And 
that, on the other hand, this care reached down to primary 
grades of schools appears from the following adopted October 
29, 1794: "Presbytery taking into serious consideration the 
importance of the education of children, and the danger of con- 
tracting early habits of vice and immorality, think it their duty 
to recommend it to their several congregations to be particu- 
larly careful not to employ masters, of immoral conduct or un- 
sound principles, but to discourage such ; and do their utmost 
in their different neighborhoods, to encourage masters of good 
morals and orthodox principles in matters of religion." Possi- 
bly it might not be amiss to have this minute re-enacted in our 
own day. However this may be, there can be no question that 
the zeal of that generation in seeking to secure to themselves 
and their posterity ample opportunities for intellectual training 
and culture under safe religious control, furnishes an example to 
the present generation that should be in the highest degree 
stimulating. To establish institutions of learning in that day, 
was a great undertaking. It required of ministers and people 
alike, both great effort and great self-denial. Foundation stones 
had to be laid and walls reared from scanty resources laboriously 
earned. It is to the honor of the fathers that they were not 
wanting to the exigencies of the occasion. They did what they 
could. If they could not give pounds, they gave shillings and 
pence. If they could not do better, they gave their few bushels 
of rye or wheat, or their few yards of linen. This is not pic- 
torial representation. It is historic truth. Among the frag- 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 3 1 

ments of the olden time which have escaped destruction, is a 
choice one found among the papers of Rev. Joseph Patterson, 
being a Hst of subscriptions taken by him in his congregation in 
1794, for the building of the academy at Canonsburg, No 
doubt a fair specimen of what was done generally by the pastors 
and churches at that day. How queer it reads. 

James Ewing ... 5 bushels of wheat at 2 shillings 

William Flanagan I bushel 

Robert Moore 2 bushels 

John Logan 2 bushels 

James Laird 4 bushels 

Samuel Riddle (in money) 'js. 6d. 

John McMillan, cash #1.00 

Joseph Patterson, cash ^6.00 

Mrs. Valandingham 6 yards of linen 

Mrs. Lienor Thompson 3 yards of linen 

John Kelso 4 bushels of wheat 

John Thompson 4 bushels of wheat 

James McBride 3 bushels of rye 

Hugh McCoy 4 bushels of rye 

Alex. McCandless 2 bushels of wheat 

John Cardike (a pious negro) . 2 bushels of wheat 

George Valandingham, cash 7^. 6d. 

Mrs. Nesbit 3 yards of linen 

Widow Riddle 3 yards of linen 

Her daughter Mary ... .... 3 yards of linen 

Is any one tempted to smile at this recital ? Let him do it, 
but let his smile be followed also by a reverent spirit of thank- 
fulness that God put it into the hearts of these dear old people, 
to thus help as they could to do foundation work for the great 
future. 

It is due also to the memory of that generation to note that 
somewhat later this same cause was honored on a larger scale, 
particularly by some testamentary gifts. In Smith's " History 
of Jefferson College " incidental allusion is made in various 
places to bequests by John McDowell, Esq., Rev. Mr. Clark, 
John Baird, Esq., Ezekiel Hannah, of Indiana County, Pa. ; 
Mrs. Margaret Clark and John McPherrin. Concerning some 
of these persons and the amounts given no information has been 
procured. It is known that John Baird, Esq., was an elder in 
Mt. Pleasant Church, Redstone Presbytery, as early as 1790. 



32 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

A prominent man, and the only representative for Western 
Pennsylvania in the First General Assembly, Hon. John 
McDowell was one of the first elders at Chartiers, who died in 
1809, leaving a small bequest to the college. An investigation 
of official records has brought to light the following facts worthy 
to be preserved : Rev. John Clark, who was first pastor of 
Bethel and Lebanon, by his will probated in Allegheny County, 
1797, and Margaret Clark, his widow, by her will probated as 
above, in 1807, made bequests, from which was realized the sum 
of ^4685, part of it in trust for the education of candidates for 
the ministry and the balance in fee simple to the college. John 
McPherrin, who was a first elder at Three Ridges, by his will, 
probated in Washington County 181 5, made bequest, pursuant 
to which his executor, Thomas Byers, afterward paid to the 
treasurer of the college ^2033.25, the interest to be applied in 
aid of candidates, together with accrued interest ;^I25. 

MISSIONARY ZEAIv. 

Another thing which greatly distinguished the fathers was 
their missionary zeal. No impulse feebler than this could have' 
prompted the pioneer ministers to venture across the mountains 
into the wilderness ; and they seem to have imparted a similar 
zeal to all who rallied to their aid. We have seen how this zeal 
was exhibited in the supply of vacant churches and in minister- 
ing to neighborhoods destitute of religious ordinances. Also 
how the new fields that were opened up by the westward move- 
ment of population were successively occupied. We have had 
a partial view also of what was done in the way of contributions 
to the Missionary Fund. The records of Ohio Presbytery show 
repeated efforts to enlist the interest of the church in general, 
followed in 1800 by a recommendation that "the several con- 
gregations or sessions of said congregations form themselves 
into Missionary Societies ; or adopt and mature such other 
measures as may appear most effectual for raising a fund for the 
purpose of spreading the gospel — instructing the heathen and 
the black people — and that each congregation make report," etc. 
In one instance it is ordered that subscriptions be made payable 
in " money, wheat or linen." In 1801 Rev. Messrs. Marquis, 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 33 

J. Hughes, T. E. Hughes, McCurdy, Brice, McMillan and Pat- 
terson each made a missionary tour north or west of the Ohio. 
The worthy record thus begun was not dishonored in the years 
following. In 1802 the Synod of Pittsburgh was erected. 
Standing alone, west of the Alleghenies, first born of many 
sisters, an infant in age, a giant in moral strength, it signalized 
its first meeting by enacting a series of resolutions, of which the 
first was in these significant and far-reaching words. ^^ Resolved^ 
That the Synod of Pittsburgh shall be styled the Western Mis- 
sionary Society " — Synod thus transmuting, and at the same 
time grandly conserving itself The second set forth the two- 
fold object of this action as being to propagate the gospel among 
" the inhabitants of the new settlements " and to evangelize " the 
Indian tribes " — the Synod thus foreshadowing the two grand 
lines of all missionary effort — the home and the foreign. The 
tJiird and succeeding resolutions created a Board of Trust, to 
carry out the object proposed. How well this 5th of October, 
1802, deserves to be accounted a historic day in the annals of 
the Presbyterian Church, would be more apparent if the his- 
tory of subsequent events were to be traced. It would in this 
way be seen that the action of Synod was no unimportant factor 
in leading the General Assembly to concentrate its scattered 
energies by erecting, in 18 16, its Board of Home Missions, 
through which channel the Synod thenceforth worked with 
undiminished zeal. It would also be seen, that the Western 
Missionary Society, which was the name and shape into which 
the Synod's child ultimately grew, after this curtailment of its 
functions, was the direct and acknowledged parent of our present 
honored Board of Foreign Missions. But this carries beyond 
the period under review. All that needs now to be emphasized 
is the fact, that away back here at the very beginning of the 
century, warm and vital in the heart of the young church, and 
practically developed were these two great germinal principles — 
the idea of Home Missions and the idea of Foreign Missions, 
and correlate to these the further idea that the work on both 
these lines is the work most directly and immediately, not of 
temporary agencies or organisms, but of the church itself as 
such. 

3 



34 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

To further the movement thus set afoot, Synod at the same 
meeting voted to estabHsh a monthly missionary magazine for 
general circulation, appointing twelve of its members as editors 
in general, with three of their number as managing elders. To 
the same end it was ordered that a missionary meeting be 
preached at each meeting of Synod. A member of Synod, fur- 
thermore, was appointed to act as secretary of the society to 
conduct its correspondence, etc. From this time mission work 
was prosecuted with not less of zeal and with more of system and 
efficiency. The records of the three Presbyteries and of the 
Synod, and of the General Assembly also, are largely a record 
of mission work. Scarcely a minister or licentiate was then on 
the Presbyterial rolls, the most aged only excepted, who was 
not appointed to labor for a period of from one to four months 
in the new settlements, or among the Indian tribes — the Wyan- 
dotts, Senecas, Ottawas and others. Many were thus appointed 
annually for several successive years. 

That the ministers and churches on those parts of the field 
now included in Washington Presbytery did their full share in 
this work is abundantly apparent. No names appear more con- 
spicuously as active missionaries in the western territories than 
the names of James Hughes, Elisha Macurdy and George Scott. 
The names of Thomas Marquis and James Edgar, elders of 
Cross Creek, are in the first Board of Trust and William 
McKinley, elder of Short Creek, is its treasurer. Rev. Messrs. 
Thomas Moore, John Anderson, James Hughes and George 
Scott are editors — the two former managing editors of the, 
monthly, to which is given the name Western Missionary Maga- 
zine. It is published at Washington, Pa., and the first number 
was issued February, 1803. Rev. James Hughes acted for 
many years as corresponding secretary of the society. And as 
early as 1806, for some reason not stated, possibly the necessity 
for closer inter-communication, the Board of Trust became cen- 
tralized on this part of the field, the election for members result- 
ing in the choice of James Hughes, Thomas Marquis, John 
Anderson and Elisha Macurdy, ministers, and William Rhea, 
William Lee and John Duncan, elders. And thus with slight 
changes, the Board remained constituted of ministers and elders 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 35 

on this part of the field, for nearly a decade of years until God 
raised up such younger men, north of the river, as Francis 
Herron and Elisha P. Swift to take their places. Facts of this 
kind are not unworthy to be stated, as showing the abundant 
reason which the older churches of Presbytery have to revere 
the memory of their former pastors. It should be an inspiration 
to present duty in behalf of missions, to merely recite such 
names as those of James Hughes, Thomas Marquis, John An- 
derson, Elisha McCurdy, George Scott, Joseph Stevenson and 
others of kindred spirit. 

REVIVALS. 

If the question were asked, what is the explanation of that 
ardent zeal which animated the fathers in behalf of missions and 
also of education, but one answer could be given. Most plainly 
it was the direct result of that special and glorious ministration 
of God's Spirit which characterized the times in which they 
lived. The story of those wonderful revivals, which is by far 
the most important and interesting chapter of the early history, 
cannot now be given. It is too vast and many-sided. Fortu- 
nately there is little or no need for this. If there is any one 
feature of early history with which the popular mind is familiar 
it is this. The knowledge of it has been derived from ample 
and authentic sources. In a volume published in 1802, entitled 
" Surprising Accounts of Revivals of Religion in the United 
States," etc., may be found a letter which had been addressed in 
1799 to a friend in Philadelphia, by a gentleman residing in 
Washington County, giving a full account up to that day. In 
the Western Missionary Magazine for 1803 is a fuller and later 
account, prepared and published by order of the Presbytery of 
Ohio. From these and other original sources full histories are 
given in Elliott's " Life of Macurdy " and in Smith's " Old Red- 
stone." More recently in the " Centenary Memorial " is a chap- 
ter by Rev. A. Williams, D.D., on the " Religious History of 
the Western Church." And still later is a tractate on " The 
Great Revival of 1800," written by Rev. W. Speer, D.D., and 
published by the Presbyterian Board. Nor is it by the written 
page alone that this knowledge has come down to us, but on 



36 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

the wings of tradition as well. One generation has declared to 
another God's mighty acts. We have heard with our ears, our 
fathers have told us this wonderful story of the Lord's doings in 
the days of old. Little need, indeed, would there be to rehearse 
it here among the ministers laboring on this very field, among 
the members of these century-old churches, — the places where 
these scenes transpired. Your own thoughts would outstrip the 
speaker's words, would anticipate each detail. They would 
carry you back swiftly to these historic scenes, these memorable 
events. You would think of the first prayer-meetings in Vance's 
Fort and the beginnings of revival almost co-incident with 
church organization, not at Cross Creek and Buffalo alone, but 
at Pigeon Creek, and Chartiers, and Ten Mile, and Bethel, — 
wherever indeed churches had been established. And then 
later, of the more abundant outpourings, not passing by these 
indeed, but taking in also the newer churches of Three Ridges 
and Forks of Wheeling and Short Creek and Lower Buffalo ; 
and then your thoughts would hurry on to the still greater 
work, a decade later, when not at these places only, but at Three 
Springs, and Cross Roads, and Mill Creek, and The Flats, and 
Raccoon, and Montours, and east of the riv^er in the old mother 
Presbytery, and at the one only place north of the Ohio where a 
church existed — in a word, all over the field God so marvellously 
displayed his power and grace. And you would think of the re- 
markable incidents and accompaniments of these events, you 
would think of McCurdy's famous "War Sermon " and Thomas 
Hunt's singing, and the wrestling prayers of the fathers and 
mothers in Israel, Philip Jackson and Robert McCready and a 
great many more, and the intense earnestness of the preaching, 
the vast concourses of people, the overwhelming convictions 
and deep distress of awakened sinners, the extraordinary play of 
sympathetic emotion evincing itself so often in that strange 
phenomenon, the falling exercise ; and yet with all that was 
human and weak, God's converting grace so illustriously dis- 
played, and such joy and blessedness begotten in new-born 
souls, and so many consecrated lives laid on Christ's altar, and 
the kingdom of God's dear Son so manifestly promoted. Ah, 
yes, brethren, it was a glorious way that God had of ringing out 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 37 

the old century and ringing in the new, and now standing here 
to-day on ground hallowed by such memories, how can we 
escape from them ? Do we not seem to feel in our souls the 
very touch of that long vanished past ? See again those vast 
concourses of people — breathe again the atmosphere of those 
sweetly solemn sacramental Sabbaths, hear again the thrilling 
tones of those devoted servants of God who then guided men's 
feet in the way of salvation. Yes, brethren, that long vanished 
past comes back to us again to-day. We must needs greet its 
presence with reverential regard. We may not even seem to 
forget its voice, so eloquent of God's love and grace. Its mem- 
ories are a precious heritage. Let us not thrust it from us. 
Let us be faithful in conserving it as a gift bestowed by God. 

In closing permit me to add a word of tribute to the religious 
character and experience of these early Christians, — not so much 
of the ministers, for their record is not obscure, but of the ruling 
elders who held up their hands, and of the general Christian 
community. On this point there is sometimes evinced a certain 
amount of doubt and incredulity in the present day. So that 
such word of tribute will not be amiss. 

What I wish to say, however, is not in the form of elaborate 
testimony, but is simply a reference to a very remarkable histor- 
ical paper, which, like a floating fragment on the bosom of a 
stormy sea, has come down to us, preserved from the general 
wreckage. 

This paper, very well known to a few, but never heard of by 
the many, is in the shape of " A Religious Agreement," entered 
into in 1782, and its special historical value consists in the fact 
that it did not originate with any of the very few ministers then 
in the West, but was conceived in the mind and indited in the 
handwriting of a ruling elder, Hon, James Edgar, of Cross 
Creek, and was numerously signed by the members of that and 
the neighboring churches. Let us look at this remarkable 
paper. What a voice it is, coming down to us from the wilder- 
ness of a hundred years ago ! " We, and each of us, whose 
names are underwritten, being chiefly the inhabitants of the 
western frontiers of Washington County, considering the many 
abounding evils in our own hearts and lives, as also the open 



38 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

and secret violation of the holy law of God, which dishonors 
His name, and defiles and ruins our country ^ (Here follows a 
long enumeration of prevailing iniquities), " which,'' concludes 
the paper, " we desire to acknowledge with shame and sorrow of 
heart before God, solemnly promise to engage against, both in 
ourselves and others, as Providence shall give us opportunity 
and prudence direct." 

Then, several years afterward, a supplementary clause is 
added, giving us this second voice : 

" We desire to acknowledge the goodness of God, who hath 
continued his precious gospel with us in purity, and especially 
for his late gracious outpourings of divine influence on many 
parts of the land, and especially here, where we were so much 
in carnal security and worldly-mindedness, floating along with 
the flood of vanity. And we desire to lament our barrenness 
and leanness under these gracious favors, and we do now, in the 
strength of God, relying on his grace, resolve that we will seek 
the Lord for help, . . . and that we will be careful and 
watchful to perform the duties required by Christian rules in the 
families we belong to, as we stand related, severally, as parents 
and children, husbands and wives, masters or mistresses and 
servants." 

To these papers are attached in all, of men and women, one 
hundred and fourteen names,^ — names which, almost without 

' " Such as ignorance, unbelief, hardness of heart, contempt of God and his ordi- 
nances, law and gospel (in particular in setting our hearts upon the creature, in one 
line or another, more than upon God), breach of His Sabbaths, disobedience to par- 
ents, backbitings, entertaining bad thoughts, and receiving groundless evil reports of 
others, unfaithfulness to God for His mercies, profaning His name, uncleanness, las- 
civious songs, filthy discourse, promiscuous dancing, drunkenness, defraud, deceit, 
over-reaching in bargains, gaming, horse-racing, cock-fighting, shooting for prizes, 
lying, covetousness, discontent, fretting against the dispensations of God's provi- 
dence, unfaithfulness for God (in suffering sin to remain on our neighbor unreproved), 
denying God in the neglect of family and secret worship, catechising and instruction 
of our children and servants or slaves, vexatious wranglings and law-suits, together 
with innumerable evils, provoking God to send down heavy judgments on our 
land and to withdraw His gracious presence, and unfit our souls for enjoying any 
solid happiness." 

'Signed February, 1782. — Robert McCready, William Vance, John Stone, James 
Edgar, William McCandless, Robert Dunbar, John Robinson, John Donahey, Mat- 
thew Hilles, Benjamin Bearkus, John McMillen, Samuel Hindman, George McCul- 



ANTECEDENT HISTORY. 39 

exception, show Scotch-Irish lineage, — and which, down to the 
present day, are proudly borne by a great number of worthy 
descendants in the several churches to which the original signers 
belonged, and by a still greater number, — even a multitudinous 
host, — dispersed in multiplying generations throughout the 
great West. How much more convincing than any mere gen- 
eralities of laudation is this simple record of the former day ! 

Standing on the basis of all the evidence adduced respecting 
the real character of the early fathers, we may confidently affirm 
that, however the fact may have sometimes failed of recognition, 
and little, comparatively, as it has been emphasised, it is yet 
none the less a fact of indisputable certainty, and a fact which 
will some day stand in its proper light upon the page of history, 
that the settlement of West Pennsylvania and parts adjacent, by 
the Scotch-Irish Presbyterians, was one of the really greatest 
events that ever occurred in the history of American Christian- 
ity, and of the American nation. All honor, under God, to 
these worthy sires. They were of the excellent of the earth, 
God's sifted grain. They were mighty men, valiant for the 
truth, and for the glory of God. If their blood courses in our 

lough, John Ekin, Moses Wallace, David Thompson, Henry McBride, John Dodds, 
John Strain, James Barr, Thomas Hanna, James Dobbin, Thomas Strain, Samuel 
Jeffery, Alex. McCandless, Samuel Deeper, James Matthews, William Smith, Thomas 
Bay, Ebenezer Smith, John Cowen, Thomas Barton, Hugh Sherer, Hugh Newel, 
Arthur Campbell, John Stephenson, Samuel Johnston, James Loop, John Hustein, 
William Thompson, William Reno, William Rannells, Henry Graham, William 
Hughes, William Campbell, Patrick McCormick, John Singer, Joseph Patterson, 
Daniel C. McCoy, David Kerr, John Morrison, John Stone, William Park, William 
Smiley, George Marquiss, William Wallace, Samuel Reed, James Marshall, Elias 
Newkirk, John Cooper, William McCullough, Alex. WVight, James Jackson, Agness 
Jackson, Mary Cowen, Sr., Mary Cowen, Jr., Martha Dunbar, Prudence Matthews, 
Elizabeth E. Hughes, Janet McCandless, Anne Vance, David Rannells, Elizabeth 
McCullough, Ruth Rannells, Anne Park, Mary Johnston, Martha Edgar, Mary Gra- 
ham, John Hughes, Gabriel Walker, Alex. Kidd, Jean Patterson. — 86. 

Signed 1786. — Angus Sunderland, Jane Sunderland, Thomas Bay, Elizabeth Bay, 
Mary Patterson, Sarah Vance, Jean Marquis, Martha Rannells, Robert Morgan, 
Margaret Marshall, Susannah Patterson, Robert Marshall, Elizabeth Thompson, Ta- 
bitha Kirk, Sarah Marquis, Susannah Parke. — 16. 

Signed May 31, 1787. — Thomas Hays, Joseph Colville Vance, William Huston, 
John M. Cloan, Joseph Wiley, Catharine Edgar, Catharine Phillis, John Sanders, 
Andrew Ferguson, Elizabeth McMillen, Mary Edgar, Sr., Hannah Huston. — 12. 



40 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

veins' we may well be proud of it. We may not forget what 
chosen vessels they were, providentially fitted to accomplish 
God's purpose. We may not forget their unbending religious 
faith, and actual fidelity in Christian service. We may not for- 
get the circumstances of hardship and peril and isolation and 
poverty of earthly comforts and all the conditions of many- 
sided trial in which they were placed, while being made the in- 
struments in God's hands — ministers and people together — 
of sowing those seeds of gospel truth and love, the fruits of 
which, in all their plenitude and v/orth, in all their comfort and 
joy and blessedness we now possess, undeserving though we be 
of such a heritage. Honor to their memory ! Let their names 
be in everlastiagf remejnbraace !. 




'U.lr ,, ,., .nM^'* 



Present Members, 1, 



II. 



HISTORY OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEED- 
INGS OF PRESBYTERY, 1819-88. 

ORGANIZATION. 

The Presbytery of Washington was formed by an act of the 
Synod of Pittsburgh passed at the meeting held in Washington 
in October, 18 19. An overture had been sent up by the Pres- 
bytery of Ohio asking for a division of that body and the erec- 
tion of a new Presbytery out of a part of its territory. The 
request was referred to a committee, by whom a report was 
brought in containing the following recommendation : "That so 
much of said Presbytery as lies between the river Ohio and 
the road leading from Georgetown to Washington, thence to 
Waynesburgh, and thence south to the boundary of the Synod, 
including the Rev. Messrs. Thomas Marquis, George M. Scott, 
Elisha Macurdy, John Anderson, Cephas Dodd, Joseph Steven- 
son, Andrew Wylie, James Hervey and Thomas Hoge, with 
their respective charges, be formed into a separate Presbytery, 
to be known by the name of the Presbytery of Washington." 
In accordance with the direction of Synod, the Presbytery of 
Washington met at Three Ridges (now West Alexander), Octo- 
ber 19th, 18 19, and was opened with a sermon by the Rev. 
Thomas Marquis from Romans i : 16. The nine ministers 
named above were present, with ruling elders from four of the 
pastoral charges belonging to the new organization. They were 
John Henry, from Cross Creek; John Flack, from Upper Buf- 
falo; Joseph Donahey, from East Buffalo, and John Maxwell, 
from Three Ridges. Representatives appeared from three va- 
cant congregations, who were admitted as members, viz. : Wil- 
liam Brown, from Short Creek (now West Liberty) ; David 
Gray, from Unity, and Ziba Casterline, from Upper Ten Mile. 

41 



42 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

It was provided that the borough and congregation of Wash- 
ington should be considered as belonging to the Presbytery of 
Ohio, and the college of Washington to the new Presbytery. 
The territory embraced within the limits assigned to the Pres- 
bytery covered more than six thousand square miles. There 
were nineteen congregations within its bounds, though several 
of them were not completely organized according to Presbyte- 
rian order. As reported to the General Assembly of 1820, they 
were, — Cross Creek, Mill Creek, Flats, Cross Roads, Three 
Springs, Upper Buffalo, Lower Buffalo, Upper Ten Mile, Lower 
Ten Mile, Three Ridges, Short Creek, Forks of Wheeling, 
Wheeling, East Buffalo, Wolf Run, Unity, Wellsburgh, Waynes- 
burgh and Crab Apple. The church of Crab Apple was within 
the boundaries of the Presbytery of Steubenville, and no reason 
has been discovered why it was regarded for a time as under 
the jurisdiction of this Presbytery. Wheeling, Wellsburgh, 
Waynesburgh and Claysville were points at which services were 
held with more or less regularity up to this date. Churches 
were formally organized at these places subsequently. 

The first statistical report of the churches was made to the 
Presbytery in session at Upper Buffalo in April, 1821. The 
whole number of communicants, as then given, was 1,659; the 
number added on examination was 115. The amount contrib- 
uted to missionary objects was ;^56o.83. Allowing for the non- 
reporting churches, it is safe to conclude that the membership 
of the churches under the care of the Presbytery at its organiza- 
tion was 1700. 

By the action of the higher courts, the boundaries of the 
Presbytery have been changed several times. The Synod of 
Pittsburgh, in October, 1824, set over to the Presbytery of 
Washington Rev. Obadiah Jennings and the church of Wash- 
ington, of which he was pastor. In like manner the churches 
of Pigeon Creek and Mt. Nebo were transferred, December 20, 
183 1, from the Presbytery of Ohio to the care of this Presby- 
tery. The General Assembly of 1863 ordered that the southern 
boundary of the Presbytery should be changed so as to run 
directly with the southern line of Pennsylvania extended to the 
Ohio River. The effect was to throw the churches of Sisters- 



HISTORY OV ORGANIZATION AND PROCEEDINGS. 43 

ville, Hughes River, Pennsboro' and Bethel into the Presbytery 
of West Virginia. In 1868 the church of Bethlehem was trans- 
ferred to the jurisdiction of this Presbytery from that of Ohio, 
and so remained until 1883, when it was set over to the Presby- 
tery of Allegheny in order to secure the pastoral services of a 
member of that body in connection with one of their churches. 
By the terms of the agreement it came again under the care of 
this Presbytery, when the pastoral relation was dissolved April 
12, 1887. After the reunion of the Old and New School 
branches of the Presbyterian Church, happily consummated in 
1869, a reconstruction of Synods and Presbyteries became ne- 
cessary. The action of the Synod of Pittsburgh touching this 
Presbytery, by which the order of the General Assembly of 
1870 was carried into effect, was as follows: "The Presbytery 
of Washington shall consist of all the churches and ministers 
within the territory bounded by a line beginning on the Ohio 
River at the mouth of Raccoon Creek, running along the east 
fork of said creek to Hickory, thence by the road from George- 
town to Washington, including South Strabane and Somerset 
Townships in Washington County, thence by the National Road 
to Beallsville, thence by the south line of the Presbytery of 
Redstone to the State line, thence by the State line and Mason's 
and Dixon's line extended to the Ohio River, and thence by 
said river to the place of beginning." 

The synodical relations of the Washington Presbytery have 
been changed three times. From its origin until the formation 
of the Synod of Wheeling by the General Assembly of 1 841, it 
was a part of the Synod of Pittsburgh. During the twenty-nine 
years that the Synod of Wheeling was in existence this Presby- 
tery was under its jurisdiction. From 1870 to 1882 it was 
again within the bounds of the Synod of Pittsburgh, The Gen- 
eral Assembly of 1882 reconstructed the Synods on the princi- 
ple of making them conform to State lines, and by this arrange- 
ment our territory was included in the Synod of Pennsylvania. 

At its first meeting, October 19, 18 19, Rev. Thomas Hoge 
was elected stated clerk, and held the office until he severed 
his connection with the Presbytery, October 5, 1825. He was 
succeeded by Rev. Andrew Wylie, President of Washington 



44 THE PRESBYTKRY OF WASHINGTON. 

College. His resignation was accepted October 8, 1828. The 
next incumbent was Rev. John Stockton, who continued in 
office a little more than six years. At the close of Mr. Stock- 
ton's term, December 24, 1834, Rev. Dr. David Elliott was 
appointed his successor. He served until the next stated meet- 
ing in April, 1835, when Rev. William C. Anderson was elected. 
When Dr. Anderson resigned, December 27, 1836, Rev. Wil- 
liam P. Alrich was elected and filled the office for three years. 
Rev. John Eagleson was appointed January, 1840. He was 
succeeded in October, 1849, by Rev. Cyrus Dickson, who con- 
tinued to act until dismissed from the Presbytery, October 22, 
1856. The vacancy was filled by the appointment of Rev. 
Edgar Woods, who in April, 1857, took his dismission to the 
Presbytery of Columbus. Rev. James I. Brownson was ap- 
pointed April 22, 1857, and resigned April 24, 1861. The next 
in the succession was Rev. Alexander McCarrell, who for a 
period of fifteen years kept the records of Presbytery with ex- 
emplary fidelity. Owing to feeble health, he laid down the 
work September 27, 1876, nearly five years before his final dis- 
charge from the responsibilities of a long and fruitful ministry. 
Rev. William F. Hamilton was elected September 27, 1876, and 
served eleven years. His resignation was offered September 
13, 1887, and, being pressed upon the ground of impaired 
health, was reluctantly accepted. Upon the report of a commit- 
tee appointed to nominate a clerk. Rev. Henry Woods was 
elected in his place. 

A few items of business transacted at the earlier meetings of 
the Presbytery will reveal the spirit in which the members 
entered upon the work set for them to do. 

A resolution was passed to this effect : " That we spend part 
of a day at our winter meetings in prayer to God, especially for 
his blessing on us, and the people under our care, and for di- 
rection in all our duties." Much attention was given to the 
destitute regions embraced within the Presbyterial bounds, and 
to the care of weak and vacant churches. The pastors were 
appointed to preach a part of their time to the vacant churches, 
and at such points as congregations could be gathered. As an 
illustration of their unselfishness and zeal for the extension of 



HISTORY OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEEDINGS. 45 

Christ's kingdom, it was enacted that monies received by stated 
pastors for preaching in vacant churches should be appropriated 
to the Western Foreign Missionary Society. 

The elders were called on annually to report as to the fidelity 
of their ministers in the discharge of their duties. This cus- 
tom was observed until the year 1846, when, at the meeting 
in October, a motion was passed to discontinue it. Another 
particular in which the methods of procedure were different 
from those now pursued, has reference to the manner in which 
the Narrative of the State of Religion was prepared. At the 
stated spring meeting Presbytery would enter upon a free con- 
versation on the state of religion within its bounds. A mem- 
ber, or, in some cases, two members, were appointed to take 
notes and prepare a condensed narrative, to be forwarded to the 
General Assembly and Synod. The disadvantages of this 
method were no doubt felt, but the change to a better way was 
not the result of formal action by the Presbytery. A committee 
was appointed October 3, 1832, to prepare a narrative for the 
Synod, and the members were enjoined severally to furnish them 
at the next meeting of Presbytery a written report on the state 
of religion in their congregations. Gradually this plan came to 
be pursued, which is substantially that now in use. Another 
particular in which the practice of church courts now is different 
from that of this earlier period (whether the change is for the 
better or otherwise need not now be considered) will appear 
from the following action taken at the first meeting of this Pres- 
bytery: "On motion resolved, that it be enjoined on all church 
sessions under our care, to exercise discipline on baptized mem- 
bers who may be guilty of immorality, and that this Minute be 
read in each congregation." 

A call was presented to the Presbytery at its first meeting, 
from the church of Lower Buffalo, for one-half of the minis- 
terial labors of Mr. Jacob Cozad, a licentiate of the Presbytery of 
Ohio, who had been placed, by the action of the Synod, under 
the care of this Presbytery. An application was made at the 
same time for one-half of his services as stated supply by the 
church of Short Creek. An adjourned meeting was held at 
Lower Buffalo, January 4, 1820, for the purpose of ordaining Mr. 



46 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Cozad and installing him as pastor. At this meeting Mr. An- 
drew O. Patterson was received as a candidate for the ministry 
from the Presbytery of New Brunswick. Subjects for a lecture 
and a popular sermon were assigned to Mr. Patterson as parts of 
trial for licensure. His certificate stated that he had been exam- 
amined upon languages and sciences and didactic theology by 
the Presbytery of New Brunswick, and had presented a Latin 
exegesis and critical exercise. Having passed satisfactorily the 
several parts of trial Mr. Patterson was, on the 5th day of Janu- 
ary, 1820, licensed as a probationer for the gospel ministry. He 
was dismissed January 12, 1821, to the Presbytery of Redstone, 
and became widely known during a long and useful ministry in 
Western Pennsylvania and Ohio. 

A report was submitted by a committee consisting of Dr. 
Andrew Wylie and Rev. Thomas Hoge, appointed at the previous 
meeting, to prepare a constitution for an education society, agree- 
ably to the action of the General Assembly. Its object is set forth 
with clearness in the first resolution, which is as ioWo-ws:" Resolved, 
that the Presbytery will resolve itself into a society auxiliary to 
the Education Society of the Presbyterian Church in the United 
States, under the care of the General Assembly, will take measures 
to raise funds and report the amount obtained for the education of 
poor and pious youth for the gospel ministry, with the number of 
youth actually supported in whole or in part by the Presbytery, 
together with such other information as may be calculated to 
assist the efforts or direct the labors of that society." This 
record is quite significant, as showing the interest taken by the 
fathers of the Presbytery in the cause of theological education. 
In the same line were measures adopted for the formation of a 
theological library, to be under the control of Presbytery. The 
object in view seems to have been more especially to meet the 
wants of young men studying for the ministry. Books of refer- 
ence were scarce and expensive, and as theological seminaries 
had not been established west of the mountains, and but recently 
in the older States on the Atlantic border, some device was con- 
sidered important by which students of theology, pursuing their 
studies under pastors engaged in arduous and self-denying labors, 
could be supplied with books. Members of Presbytery and 



HISTORY OF ORGANIZATION AND PROCEEDINGS. 47 

students under its care were exclusively to have the use of the 
books, and in -all cases the latter were to have the preference. 
To what extent the undertaking^ was successful, or how long it 
was kept up, has not been recorded. Perhaps the founding of 
the Western Theological Seminary at Allegheny so soon after, 
in which the members of the Washington Presbytery took a 
deep interest and co-operated effectively, led to its abandonment, 
Its brief history is worthy of preservation as an indication of 
their purpose to provide the best facilities for training the future 
ministry. 

The Presbytery of Washington has ordained ninety-three men 
to the work of the gospel ministry. Eight of these have gone 
out as foreign missionaries. The number of licensures to the 
end of the year 1888 has been one hundred and ninety-nine. 
Two hundred and seventy eight young men have been taken 
under the care of Presbytery as candidates for the ministry. 
Two hundred and twenty eight ministers have been enrolled 
since the organization of the Presbytery, including those set 
over to it by the Synod. The number of ministers now on the roll 
is thirty-nine, and the number of churches is thirty-eight. At 
the beginning, in 18 19, there were upon our territory nine min- 
isters and nineteen churches. The whole number of communi- 
cants, according to the first statistical report, was approximately 
1700. We reported to the last General Assembly 7143. The 
number added to the churches on examination, as reported in 
1 82 1, was 115 In 1888 we reported 408. The amount con- 
tributed to missionary objects at the former date was ^560. 
Last year our churches gave to home missions $^060, and to 
foreign missions ;$9I72, making for both causes an aggregate 
of ;^I4,232. The histories of the churches will show that the 
labors of our ministers have been attended with frequent and 
plentiful outpourings of the Holy Spirit, the fruits of which 
have appeared in large additions to the rolls of communicants, 
and in the dedication of many young persons to the service of 
God as ministers and missionaries. The influence exercised by 
these churches and ministers, through the sons they have sent 
forth as laborers into both the home and foreign field, and the 
members and officers they have furnished to churches in the 



48 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

great West, can never be fully known. The following roll of 
ministers, licentiates and candidates will exhibit, in a form con- 
venient for reference, the ecclesiastical changes from 1819 to 
1888: 

MINISTERS, I.ICENTIATES AND CANDIDATES. 
BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 

No. I. Thomas Marquis. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Cross Creek Church. Released October 3, 1826. Died Sep- 
tember 27, 1827. 

No. 2. George M. Scott. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Mill Creek and Flats Churches. Released from Flats April 18, 
1826. Released from Mill Creek December 26, 1837. Died 
August 15, 1847. 

No. 3. Elisha Macurdy. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Three Springs and Cross Roads Churches. Released from 
Three Springs October 6, 1824. Released from Cross Roads 
October 7, 1835. Dismissed April 19, 1836, Presbytery of 
Ohio. Died July 22, 1845. 

No. 4. John Anderson, D.D. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Upper Buffalo Church. Released June 18, 1833. Died Janu- 
ary 31, 1835. 

No. 5. Cephas Dodd, M.D. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Lower Ten Mile Church. Stated supply until 1856. Died 
January 16, 1858. 

No. 6. Joseph Stevenson. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Three Ridges Church. Released October 6, 1824. Presbytery 
of Columbus April 19, 1825. 

No. 7. Andrew Wylie, D.D. Received October 19, 1819. 
President of Washington College, Presbytery of Wabash, Oc- 
tober 6, 1829. Stated Clerk 1825-28. 

No. 8. Thomas Hoge. Received October 19, 1819. In- 
stalled at East Buffalo and Claysville June 27, 1821. Released 
October 5, 1825. Dismissed to Presbytery of Baltimore Octo- 
ber 5, 1825. Stated Clerk 1819-25. Received from Presbytery 
of Ohio December 8, 1829. Installed at Claysville April 20, 
1830. Released December 29, 1835. To Presbytery of Phila- 
delphia March 29, 1836. 



BIOGRAPHICAIv REGISTER. 49 

No. 9. James HervEY, D.D. Received October 19, 18 19, 
Forks of Wheeling Church. Installed Wheeling (2d) May 
14, 1830. Released October 4, 1831. Installed at West 
Union May, 1832. Released April 22, 1840. Died September 
13, 1859. 

No. 10. Jacob Cozad. Transferred from Presbytery of 
Ohio October 19, 18 19, Ordained and installed at Lower Buf- 
falo January 5, 1820. Released April 19, 1827. Installed at 
Centre August 26, 1823. To Presbytery of Steubenville April 
19, 1827. 

No. II. Andrew O. Patterson, D.D. Received as a 
candidate from Presbytery of New Brunswick January 4, 1820. 
Licensed January 5, 1820. To Presbytery of Redstone Janu- 
ary 12, 1821. Ordained April 18, 182 1. Pastor Mount 
Pleasant and Sewickley Churches 1821-34. Agent Board 
Domestic Missions 1834-36. Pastor Beaver 1837-39. New 
Lisbon, O., 1840-51. Stated supply and pastor Bethel 1852- 
57. Died December 14, 1868. 

No. 12. William McLain. From Associate Presbytery 
of Chester and Morristown October 18, 1820. To Presbytery of 
Hartford October 9, 1823. 

No. 13. ICHABOD L. Skinner. From Hartford Associa- 
tion of Connecticut January 10, 1822. To Presbytery of Dis- 
trict of Columbia April 19, 1825. 

No. 14. LUDOVICUS ROBBINS. From Association of Hart- 
ford North, April 15, 1823. To Presbytery of Huron October 
22, 1824. 

No. 15. William WyliE, D.D. From Presbytery of Red- 
stone October 9, 1823. Installed May 15, 1830, Wheeling First 
Church. Released April 20, 183 1. To Presbytery of Lancas- 
ter October 20, 1832. 

No. 16. Obadiah Jennings, D.D. From Presbytery of 
Ohio December 28, 1824, Washington Church. Released March 
25, 1828. To Presbytery of West Tennessee March 25, 1828. 
Moderator General Assembly 1822. Died January 12, 1832. 

No. 17. William J. Frazier. Received as a candidate 
April 21, 1824. Licensed October 6, 1824, To Presbytery of 
Ohio December 28, 1824. 
4 



50 THE) PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 1 8. Richard Brown, D.D. Received as a candidate 
from Presbytery of New Brunswick December 28, 1824. Li- 
censed December 29, 1824. Ordained October 3, 1827. To 
Presbytery of Richland December 30, 1828. From Presbytery 
of Richland October 19, 1832. Installed November 13, 1832, 
Three Springs Church. Released October 7, 1835. To Pres- 
bytery of Steubenville April 20, 1836. 

No. 19. Samuel McFerran, D.D. Received as a can- 
didate April 21, 1824. Licensed January 29, 1825. To Pres- 
bytery of Redstone June 20, 1827. Ordained 1827, Presbytery 
Blairsville. Pastor Congruity, Pa., 1827-69. Died August 
I, 1870. 

No. 20. Hugh Koontz. Received as a candidate April 
21, 1824. Licensed January 29, 1825. To Presbytery of Hud- 
son November 28, 1826. 

No, 21. Ebenezer Churchhill. P'rom the Tolland As- 
sociation of Connecticut as a licentiate April 19, 1825. To 
Presbytery of Lancaster October 8, 1828. 

No. 22. David Colmery. Received as a candidate April 
21, 1824. Licensed April 20, 1825. 

No. 23. John Hawkins. Received as a candidate April 
21, 1824. Licensed April 20, 1825. Ordained December 28, 
1830. To Presbytery of Redstone 1837. 

No. 24. James ArbuThnot. Received as a candidate 
June 16, 1824. Licensed April 20, 1825. To Presbytery of 
Lancaster October 3, 1826. 

No. 25. Samuel Reed. Received as a candidate from 
Presbytery of Baltimore June 16, 1824. Licensed April 20, 
1825. To Presbytery of Ohio October 4, 1825. From Pres- 
bytery of Ohio October 4, 1826. Installed at Three Springs 
and Flats Churches November 2, 1826. Released October 6, 
1829. Name dropped June 21, 1831, owing to mental derange- 
ment. 

No. 26. John Stockton, D.D. Received as a candidate 
April 21, 1824. Licensed April 20, 1825. Ordained June 20, 
,1827. Installed June 20, 1827, Cross Creek Church. Released 
June 20, 1877. Stated Clerk 1828-34. Died May 5, 1882. 

No. 27. Samuel C. Jennings, D.D. Received as a can- 



BIOGRAPHICAIy REGISTER. 5 1 

didate October 5, 1825. To Presbytery of New Brunswick 
April 18, 1826. Ordained June 14, 1829, Presbytery Ohio. 
Pastor Sharon, Pa., 1829-79. Editor Christian Herald 
1829-32. Presbyterian Preacher 1832-37. Prin. Female 
Seminary 1837-40. Stated supply Mount Pisgah 1831-48. 
Temperanceville 1842-48. Pastor Long Island 1848-57. Val- 
ley Church 1857-68. Stated supply Riverdale 1880. Died 
October 10, 1885. 

No. 28. Abner Leonard. Received as a candidate April 
18, 1826. Licensed October 3, 1827. To Presbytery of Col- 
umbus June 16, 1829. 

No. 29. David Hervey. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 4, 1827. Licensed December 13, 1827. Ordained Decem- 
ber 31, 1828. Installed December 31, 1828, Mount Prospect 
Church. Released April 22, 1835. Installed at Lower Buffalo 
June, 1835. Released October 3, 1849. Died June 19, 1881. 

No. 30. Henry Hervey, D.D. Received as a candidate 
October 4, 1826. Licensed October 3, 1827. To Presby- 
tery of Richland October 7, 1829. Died Martinsburgh, O., 
February 17, 1872. 

No. 31. Richard Campbell. Received as a licentiate 
from Presbytery of Ohio April 19, 1827. Ordained June 23, 
1830. To Presbytery of Steubenville October 18, 1833. 

No. 32. Cornelius Laughran. From Presbytery of 
Carlisle October 2, 1827, Installed December 13, 1827, LTpper 
Ten Mile Church. Released October 7, 1829. Joined Cumber- 
land Presbyterian Church. Name dropped October 4, 183 1. 

No. 33. John McCluskey, D.D. Received as licentiate 
from Presbytery of Philadelphia June 24, 1828. Ordained Oc- 
tober 8, 1828. Installed October 8, 1828, West Alexander 
Church. Released April 19, 1854. To Presbytery of Philadel- 
phia Second April 17, 1855. Died March 31, 1881. 

No. 34. Jacob Lindle;y, D.D. From Presbytery of Cin- 
cinnati December 8, 1829. Joined Cumberland Presbyterian 
Church. Name dropped June 10, 1832. 

No. 35. David Elliot, D.D., LL.D. From Presbytery of 
Carlisle December 8, 1829. Installed Washington Church 
January 8, 1830. Released June 22, 1836. To Presbytery of 



52 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Ohio October 5, 1836. Licensed September 26, 181 1, Presby- 
tery of Carlisle. Ordained October, 1812. Pastor Mercers- 
burg 1812-29. Professor Allegheny Theological Seminary 
1836-74. Moderator General Assembly 1837. Died March 
18, 1874. 

No. 36. William C. Anderson, D.D. Received as a 
candidate December 11, 1826. Licensed December 13, 1827. 
Ordained October 5, 1830. Installed Pigeon Creek Church 
April 17, 1832. Released July 16, 1836. To Presbytery of Sa- 
lem March 21, 1838. From Presbytery of Madison April 15, 
1845. To Presbytery of Miami April 21, 1846. Pastor 
Dayton, O., 1S46-48. President Miami University 1849-54. 
Pastor First Church San Francisco, Cal., 1855-63. Stated 
supply New Albany, Ind. Died August 28, 1870. 

No. -i^j. James Anderson. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 2, 1827, from Presbytery of Hartford. Licensed October 
8, 1828. 

No. 38. James W. McKennan, D.D. Received as a can- 
didate October 2, 1827. Licensed October 8, 1828. Ordained 
December 9, 1829. Installed Short Creek and Lower Buffalo 
Churches December 9, 1829. Released December 24, 1834. 
To Presbytery of Indianapolis December 24, 1834. From 
Presbytery of Indianapolis January 7, 1840. Installed April 
23, 1840, Cross Roads Church. Released June 22, 1841. Died 
July 18, 1861. 

No. 39. John W. Scott, D.D. Received as a candidate 
April 16, 1828. Dismissed April 21, 1829, to Presbytery of 
Cincinnati. 

No. 40. James Smith. Received as a candidate April 16, 
1828. Licensed April 22, 1829. Ordained October 5, 1831. 
To Presbytery of Steubenville October 21, 1831. 

No. 41. Charles Stewart. Received as a candidate 
April 22, 1829. Dismissed as a candidate June 17, 1829, to 
Presbytery of West Lexington. 

No. 42. Thomas Cratty. Received as a candidate April 
22, 1829. Licensed April 22, 1 830. To Presbytery of Colum- 
bus April 20, 1 83 1. 

No. 43. Thomas M. Chestnut. Received as a candidate 



BIOGRAPHICAIv REGISTER. 53 

April 22, 1829. Licensed June 22, 1831. To Presbytery of 
Steubenville April 18, 1832. 

No. 44. George Marshall. Received as a candidate 
October 6, 1830. Licensed April 19, 1832. To Presbytery of 
Ohio March 27, 1833. Ordained June 17, 1833. Pastor 
Bethel Church 1833-72. Died April 30, 1872. 

No. 45. John Mitchell. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 6, 1830. Dismissed June 20, 1832, to Presbytery of Win- 
chester. Returned his dismission October i, 1839. Licensed 
October 2, 1839, To Presbytery of Oxford October 5, 1841. 

No. 47. John Hales. Received from Methodist Episcopal 
Church December 28, 1830. Installed May 15, 1832, Flats 
Church. Released April 19, 1837. 

No. 48. J. Holmes Agnew, D.D. From Presbytery of 
Redstone April 19, 1831. Professor of Washington College 
1831-32. To Presbytery of Carlisle October 3, 1832. Ordained 
1827 Presbytery of Redstone. Pastor Uniontown 1827-31. 
Professor and Editor. Died October 12, 1865. 

No. 49. Samuel Moody. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 6, 183 1. Licensed October 3, 1833. To Presbytery of 
Steubenville April 20, 1836. Ordained 1837. Stated supply 
and Pastor Big Springs 1834-43. Pastor Hopewell and 
Orange 1843-56. Died April 24, 1856. 

No. 50. William P. Alrich, D.D. Received as a licen- 
tiate December 20, 1831, from Presbytery of New Castle. Or- 
dained April 17, 1832. Stated Clerk 1836-1840. Stated supply 
East Buffalo Church 1832-64. Died December 31, 1869. 

No. 5 1 . David McConaughey, D. D. , LL. D. From Pres- 
bytery of Carlisle June 19, 1832. President of Washington Col- 
lege 1832-49. Died January 29, 1852. Ordained October 8, 
1800, Presbytery of Carlisle. Pastor Gettysburg and Upper 
Conewago 1800-32. 

No. 52. William D. Smith. Received as a candidate 
from the Presbytery of Erie April 21, 1830. Licensed April 20, 
1831. Ordained June 19, 1832. To Presbytery of Beaver De- 
cember 24, 1834. 

No. 53. Thomas Magill. Received as a candidate Api-il 
I7» i^SS* Licensed April 22, 1835. To Presbytery of Steu- 



54 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

benville March 21, 1837. Ordained 1838. Pastor Island Creek 
1838-41 ; Wellsville 1841-45. Stated supply Urbana, O., 
1847-52. Died September 24, 1852. 

No. 54. Henry R. Weed, D.D. From Presbytery of Albany- 
October 2, 1833. Installed Wheeling Church June 16, 1835. 
Ordained January 4, 18 16, Presbytery of New York. Pastor 
Jamaica, L. I., 1816-22 ; First Church, Albany, 1822-29; Agent 
1830-32. Stated supply and Pastor Wheeling, Va., 1832-70. 
Died December 14, 1870. 

No. 55. William Orr. Received as a candidate October 
1, 1833. Licensed October 5, 1836. To Presbytery of Beaver 
June 27, 1837. 

No. 56. Benjamin Sawhill. Received as a candidate 
October i, 1833. Name dropped June, 1835. 

No. 57. Nathaniel M. Crane. Received as a candidate 
April 16, 1834. Dismissed as a candidate December 29, 1835, 
to Presbytery of Cayuga. Licensed April 13, 1836. Ordained 
July 6, 1836. Foreign Missionary to India 1836-44. New 
Jersey 1845-47. Sugar Grove and Irvine, Pa., 1848-54. Beth- 
esda. New Bethlehem and Middle Creek, Pa., 1854-57. In- 
diantov/n, la., 1858-59. Died September 21, 1859. 

No. 58. John Eagleson, D.D. Received as a licentiate 
from Presbytery of Beaver October 12, 1834. Ordained De- 
cember 24, 1834. Installed December 24, 1834, Upper Buffalo 
Church. Stated clerk i84a-49. Died January 23, 1873. 

No. 59. John Knox. Received as a candidate from Pres- 
bytery of New York April 21, 1835. Licensed April 20, 1836. 
Ordained December 27, 1837. Installed January 11, 1838, Eliz- 
abethtown and Wolf Run Churches. Released October 19, 
1838. To Presbytery of Steubenville December 18, 1838. 
Stated supply Hopewell and Middlesex 1843. Died July 6, 
1857. 

No. 60. James Boggs. Received as a candidate January 
22, 1836. Licensed December 29, 1836. To Presbytery ol 
Marion December 26, 1837. 

No. 61. W. D. McCartney. Received as a candidate 
April 17, 1833. Licensed April 23, 1835. Ordained June 22, 
1836. Installed June 22, 1836, West Liberty Church. Re- 



BIOGRAPHICAIv REGISTER. 55 

leased June 27, 1837. To Presbytery of Steubenville April 18, 
1838. Died July 29, 1863. 

No. 62. Peter Hassinger. From Presbytery of Erie 
October 4, 1836. Installed June 22, 1836, Claysville Church. 
Released April 16, 1839. To Presbytery of Redstone October 
18, 1839. 

No. 63. Daniel DerueLLE. From Presbytery of Ohio. Oc- 
tober 5, 1836. Installed November 28, 1837, Washington 
Church. Released October 6, 1840. To Presbytery of New- 
Brunswick April 18, 1843. 

No. 64. James Sloan, D.D. Received as a candidate 
June 19, 1833. Licensed April 22, 1835. Ordained December 
28, 1836. Installed December 28, 1836, Frankfort Church. 
Released April 17, 1844. Installed December, 1844, Pigeon 
Creek Church, Released October 8, 1862. Died March 11, 
1871. 

No. 65. William McCombs. Received as a candidate 
April 16, 1834. Licensed April 20, 1836, Ordained as For- 
eign Missionary January 25, 1837. 

No. 66. John Kerr. Received as a candidate October 4, 
1836. Licensed October 3, 1838. To the Presbytery of Ohio 
January 7, 1840. 

No. 67. John Carothers. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 4, 1836. Licensed April 18, 1839. To the Presbytery of 
Blairsville April 21, 1840. 

No. 6S. Joseph TempleTON. Received as a candidate 
October 5, 1836. Dismissed as a candidate to Presbytery of 
Hopewell April 18, 1838. 

No. 69. John McClinTOCK. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1837. Licensed April 19, 1838. To Presbytery of 
Redstone October 2, 1839. 

No. 70. John Hattery, D.D. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1837. Licensed June 26, 1839. To Presbytery of 
St. Clairsville October 3, 1843. 

No. 71. Robert Fulton. Received as a candidate June 
27, 1837. Licensed June 26, 1839. To Presbytery of Rich- 
land June 22, 1840. 

No. 72. John Moore. From Presbytery of Allegheny 



56 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

June 28, 1837. Installed October 4, 1837, Mt Prospect Church. 
Released April 17, 1845. To Presbytery of New Lisbon April 
21, 1846. 

No. y-^. Samuel Hair. P>om Presbytery of Portage Oc- 
tober 4, 1837. To Presbytery of Richland December 26, 1837. 
From Presbytery of Lancaster April 19, 1843. To Presbytery 
of Beaver April 17, 1844. 

No. 74. William Burton. From Presbytery of Athens 
December 26, 1837. Installed January 19, 1838, Cross Roads 
Church. Released January 23, 1839. To Presbytery of Ohio 
April 16, 1839. 

No. 75. Robert M. White. Received as a licentiate 
from Presbytery of New Castle December 26, 1837. Ordained 
December 27, 1837. Installed December 27, 1837, Three 
Springs and Flats Churches. Released from Three Springs 
April 28, 1842. From Flats or Fairview September 5, 1848. 
To Presbytery of Ohio September 5, 1848. 

No. 76. Ebenezer S. Graham. Received as a candidate 
December 10, 1833. Licensed December 29, 1836. Ordained 
December 27, 1837. Installed January 9, 1838, Pigeon Creek 
Church. Released October 5, 1842. Died April 27, 1844. 

No. yy. James M. Smith. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 6, 1835. Licensed April 19, 1838. Ordained December 
19, 1838. Installed December 19, 1838, Upper Ten Mile Church. 
Released October 4, 1843. To Presbytery of Allegheny April 

16. 1844. 

No. yZ. John B. McCoy. Received as a candidate June 
27, 1837. Dismissed as a candidate to Presbytery of Philadel- 
phia October 5, 1837. From Presbytery of Philadelphia April 

17, 1839. Ordained June 26, 1839. Installed August 12, 1839, 
Elizabethtown Church. Released April 22, 1840. Installed 
November 14, 1840, Mill Creek Church. 

No. 79. James Fleming. Received as a candidate Janu- 
ary 22, 1836. Licensed April 27, 1838. Ordained June 26, 
1839. Installed June 24, 1840, West Union Church. Released 
October 8, 1856. Installed May 20, 1858, Lower Buffalo 
Church. Released April 28, 1869. To Presbytery of Peoria 
September 28, 1869. Died November 16, 1886. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 57^ 

No. 80. Nathan ShoTwELL. From Presbytery of Ohio 
October 3, 1839. Installed May 22, 1840, West Liberty Church. 
Released October 4, 1854. To Presbytery of Huntingdon Oc- 
tober 4, 1854. 

No. 81. Samuel Fulton. Received as a candidate June 
27, 1837. Licensed June 26, 1839. Ordained October 7, 1840. 
To Presbytery of Richland October 5, 1842. Pastor 4th Church, 
Pittsburgh, 1843-60. Great Valley Church, Presbytery of 
Chester, 1872-81. 

No. 82. David S; McCombs. Received as a candidate 
December 26, 1837. Dismissed as a candidate October i, 1839, 
to Presbytery of Blairsville. 

No. 83. Levi M. Graves. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 4, 1837. Licensed April 19, 1838. To the Presbytery of 
Blairsville April 22, 1840. Ordained May, 1840. Pastor 
Boiling Spring 1840-41. Crooked Creek 1841-46 and 1850-52. 
Rosston 1862-73. Died January i, 1881. 

No. 84. Samuel M. TemplETON. Received as a candi- 
date April 19, 1838. Licensed April 20, 1842. To Presbytery 
of Coshocton October 7, 1843. 

No. 85. Andrew M. Hershey. Received as a candidate 
June 26, 1838. Licensed June 26, 1839 To Presbytery of 
Kaskaskia June 24, 1840. Ordained August, 1840. Pastor 
Carmi, 111., 1840-43. Teacher, Washington, D. C.,and Hagers- 
town, Md., 1843-49. Chaplain Hospital, Richmond, Va. 
1862-68. 

No. 86. Christopher Bombarger. Received as a can- 
didate June 27, 1838. 

No. 87. William RicharT. Received as a candidate June 
27, 1838. 

No. 88. Samuel P. Bollman. Received as a candidate 
October 2, 1838. Licensed April i, 185 1, Presbytery Blairs- 
ville. Ordained October, 185 i. 'Pastor Washington and Centre, 
Pa., 1860-67. Superintendent Common Schools. 

No. 89. John M. Paris. Received as a candidate October 
3, 1838. Licensed April 22. 1840. To Presbytery of Lancas- 
ter June 22, 1841. Ordained April 22, 1842. Pastor Barlow, 
O., 1842-44. Fredericktown 1844-55. Agent Col. En. Synod 



^8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

of Wheeling 1855-57. Pastor Rockford, III., 1858-62. Agent 
Westm. Col. Mo. 1869-73. Agent N. W. Sem. 1873-81. Stated 
supply Dongola, 111., 1881-83. Ev. 1884. 

No. 90. James D. Mason. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 3, 1S38. Licensed April 22, 1841. To Presbytery of 
Blairsville October 19, 1842. Ordained June 17, 1843. Pastor 
Rural Valley and Glade Run 1843-48. Stated supply Ft. Mad- 
ison, Iowa, 1848-49. Pastor Davenport 1849-59. District 
Missionary 1859-64. Stated supply Summit and Eldridge 
1864-69. Red Oak Grove 1869-74. 2d Church, Davenport, 
1874-76. Ev. 1877. 

No. 91. James P. Thompson. Received as a candidate 
December 13, 1838. Died March 4, 1841. 

No. 92. James Grier Ralston, D.D. Received as a 
candidate April 17, 1839. Dismissed April 21, 1840, to Presby- 
tery of New Castle. Ordained December 17, 1845, Presbytery 
of New Castle. Principal Oxford Female Seminary 1841-45. 
P^emale Seminary Norristown, Pa., 1845-74 and 1877-80. Died 
November 10, 1880. 

No. 93. Thomas E. Smith. Received as a candidate 
April 17, 1840. Licensed October 8, 1840. To Presbytery of 
Richland October 5, 1841. 

No. 94. James McAfee. Received as a candidate April 
17, 1839. 

No. 95. Craig R. Van Em an. Received as a candidate 
October 3, 1849. To Presbytery of Transylvania October 2, 
i860. Ordained 1865, Presbytery of Des Moines. Entered C. 
P. Church 1878. 

No. 96. George W. ShaiFFER. Received as a candidate 
October 2, 1839. Licensed April 22, 1847. Ordained June 20, 

1848, Presbytery of . Pastor Hopewell, Pa., 1847-52. 

Fairmount 1852-55. Shirleysburg 1855-65. Saxton Lick Run 
1865-66 Armagh and Centreville 1867-73. From Presbytery 
of Blairsville October 18, 1873. Stated supply Hookstown 
1873-74. To Presbytery of Pittsburgh April 28, 1875. 

No. 97. Thomas Dinsmore. Received as a candidate 
October 2, 1839 Dismissed as a candidate October 6, 1846, to 
Presbytery of New Brunswick. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 59 

No. 98. John Moore, D.D. Received as a candidate October 
7, 1840. Licensed April 17, 1845. To Presbytery of Erie Octo- 
ber 16, 1846. Ordained June, 1847, Presbytery of Allegheny. 
Preached at Harrisville, Clinton and other places in Pennsylva- 
nia, 1847-63. Teacher Mantua and Pottstown 1863-75. Pastor 
and Professor at Galesville, Wis., 1876-80. Pastor Ripon, Wis., 
1880-82. Died at Chatfield, Minn., 1888. 

No. 99. John G. Riheldaffer, D.D. Received as a can- 
didate October 7. 1840. Dismissed as a candidate April 21, 
1 84 1, to Presbytery of Raritan. 

No. 100. James H. Dinsmore, D.D. Received as a candi- 
date October 7, 1840. Dismissed as a candidate December 28, 

1 84 1, to Presbytery of Lexington. 

No. loi. Thomas M. Finney. Received as a candidate 
October 7, 1840. Licensed October 6, 1841. To Presbytery of 
Wooster October 4, 1842. 

No. 102. John Miller. Received as a candidate October 
7, 1840, Licensed October 4, 1843. To Presbytery of Allegheny 
April 16, 185 1. 

No. 103. John D. Whitham. Received as a licentiate from 
Presbytery of Philadelphia June 22, 1841. Ordained October 
10, 1841. Installed October 10, 1841, Unity and Wolf Run 
Churches. Released April 18, 1843. To Presbytery of Wooster 
October 3, 1843. 

No. 104. James Smith, D.D. From Second New York 
Presbytery December 28, 1841. Installed December 28, 1841, 
Washington Church. Released April 17, 1844. To Presbytery 
of Free Church of Scotland April 17, 1844. 

No. 105. David Robinson. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 4, 1837. Licensed October 6, 1841. Ordained April 19, 

1842. Installed April 19, 1842, at Mill Creek Church. Re- 
leased October 4, 1854. To Presbytery of New Lisbon June 
12, 1855. Long's Run, 1856-58. Died March 17, 1861. 

No. 106. William M. Hall. From Presbytery of Car- 
lisle October 4, 1842. To Presbytery of Huntingdon April 18, 

1843. 

No. 107. William Wright. From Presbytery of Phila- 
delphia, Second, October 19, 1842. To Presbytery of Philadel- 
phia October 4, 1843. 



6o THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 1 08. William Bonar. Received as a candidate April 
22, 1840. Licensed April 22, 1841. Ordained April 19, 1843. 
Stated supply Sistersville Church, 1843-51. To Presbytery of 
Fort Wayne October 8, 185 i. 

No. 109. James C. Carson. Received as a candidate June 
22, 1841. Licensed April 19, 1843. To Presbytery of Ohio 
October 3, 1843. 

No. 1 10. Obadiah J. Campbell. Received as a candidate 
June 22, 1 841. Died September 12, 1842. 

No. III. John RowE. Received as a candidate October 6, 
1841. Dismissed as a candidate October 22, 1845, to Presby- 
tery of Steubenville. 

No. 112. Joseph Gordon. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 6, 1841. Licensed April 19, 1843. To Presbytery of Cosh- 
octon April 17, 1845. 

No. 113. James Stephenson. Received as a candidate 
October 6, 1841. Licensed October 4, 1843. Died 1845. 

No. 114. John M.Hastings, D.D. Received as a candidate 
October 6, 1841. Licensed April 19, 1843. ■ To Presbytery of 
Blairsville April 21, 1846. 

No. 115. John Marquis. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 6, 1841. Licensed April 22, 1846. To Presbytery of Miami 
April 20, 1847. 

No. 116. William P. Harsha. Received as a candidate 
December 28, 1841. Licensed April 17, 1844. To Presbytery 
of Redstone April 15, 1845. 

No. 1 1 7. William C. Mason. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1842. Licensed April 19, 1849. To Presbytery of 
Cedar April 16, 185 1. 

No. 118. Thomas Todd. Received as a candidate April 
19,1842. 

No. 119. William Smith. Received as a candidate Octo- 
ber 19, 1842. 

No. 1 20. Joel StonEROAD. From Presbytery of Red- 
stone February 15, 1843. Installed February 15, 1843, Cross- 
Roads Church. Released April 16, 1850. To Presbytery of 
Redstone April 16, 1850. Ordained December 14, 1831, Pres- 
bytery of Redstone. Pastor Uniontown 1831-42. Laurel 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 6 1 

Hill and Tyrone Churches 1850-61. Laurel Hill 1850-77. 
Died August 11, 1884. 

No. 121. Gilbert M. Hair. From Presbytery of St. 
Clairsville April 19, 1843. To Presbytery of Ebenezer October 
22, 1845. 

No. 122. MiLO TemplETON. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1843. Licensed October 8, 1845. To Presbytery of 
Sydney April 21,1 846. 

No. 123. James E. Marquis. Received as a candidate 
October 3, 1843. Licensed October 5, 1847. To Presbytery of 
Sydney October 18, 1848. Ordained 1848. Kenton 1848-54. 
Home Missionary, 111., 1858-59. Brunswick and Elmwood, 
1859-63. Died February 22, 1863. 

No. 124. William R. Vincent. Received as a candidate 
October 3, 1843. Licensed April 21, 1852. To Presbytery of 
St. Clairsville April 19, 1853. Ordained June 21, 1853, Presby- 
tery of St. Clairsville. Pastor Crab-Apple, O., 1853-66- 
Island Creek 1866-74. Dell Roy and New Cumberland 
1874-82. 

No. 125. Joseph Braddock. Received as a candidate 
October 3, 1843. Dismissed as a candidate October 7, 1846, to 
Presbytery of West Lexington. 

No. 1 26. Robert S. Dinsmore. Received as a candidate 
October 4, 1843. Licensed April 19, 1849. To Presbytery of 
Iowa October 3, 1849. 

No. 127. Joseph H. Reynolds. Received as a candidate 
April 18, 1844. 

No. 128. Robert C. Crisswell. Received as a candi- 
date October 7, 1846. Dismissed as a candidate April 16, 1850, 
to Presbytery of Philadelphia. 

No. 129. George Gordon. Received as a candidate 
April 17, 1833. Licensed April 22, 1835. To Presbytery of 
Wooster December 2"], 1836. From Presbytery of Coshocton 
April 17, 1845. Installed September 28, 1846, Three Springs 
and Frankfort Churches. Withdrew from Presbyterian Church 
and name dropped April 17, 1850. 

No. 130. Nicholas Murray. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1838. Licensed October 2, 1839. Ordained April 



62 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

17, 1845. Stated supply Upper Ten Mile Church, and Profes- 
sor in Washington College 1844-53. Died March 16, 1853. 

No. 131. Alexander McCarreLL, D.D. Received as a candi- 
date October 6, 1841, Licensed April 17, 1844. Ordained 
April 17,1845. Installed December 16, 1852, Claysville Church. 
Stated clerk 1861-76. Died April 18, 1881. 

No. 132. Irwin Carson. From Presbytery of Winchester 
as a licentiate October 19, 1842. Ordained June 10, 1845. 
Installed June 10, 1845, Elizabethtown Church. Released April 
22, 1847. To Presbytery of Chillicothe April 17, 1849. 

No. 133. Francis Braddock. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1842. Licensed April 17, 1845. Ordained October 
8, 1845. Installed June 3, 1848, Bethel, Hughes' River and 
Pennsboro' Churches. Died August 24, 1850. 

No. 134. William Ewing, Ph.D. Received as a candidate 
October 8, 1845. Licensed April 18, 1850. To Presbytery of 
Ohio September 15, 185 i. Ordained January 14, 1852. Pastor 
Chartiers 1852-70. Principal Jefferson Academy 1871-84. 
Stated supply Miller's Run, 1879- . 

No. 135. Robert Herron, D.D. Received as a candidate" 
October 8, 1845. Licensed October 5, 1847. To Presbytery of 
Steubenville October 19, 1848. Ordained December 13, 1848. 
Pastor Ridge 1848-63. Missionary 1863-84. Died June 17, 
1884. 

No. 136. John B. Pinney, D.D. From Presbytery of 
Philadelphia April 20, 1847. Installed June i, 1847, Washing- 
ton Church. Released April 20, 1848. To Presbytery of New 
York April 17, 1849. 

No. 137. David Irwin. Received as a candidate April 21, 
1847. Licensed April 19, 1848. To Presbytery of St. Clairs- 
ville, June 7, 1850. 

No. 138. William M. Ferguson. Received as a candi- 
date April 21, 1847. Licensed April 19, 1849. To Presbytery 
of Zanesville August ii, 1849. 

No. 139. Cyrus Dickson, D.D. From Presbytery of Erie 
April 19, 1848. Installed May 12, 1848, Second Church, 
Wheeling. Released October 22, 1856. To Presbytery of Bal- 
timore October 22, 1856. Stated clerk 1849-56 Licensed Oc- 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 63 

tober 15, 1839, Presbytery of Erie. Ordained June 24, 1840. 
Pastor Franklin 1840-48. Westminster Church, Baltimore, 
1856-70. Corresponding Secretary Board Domestic Missions, 
1870-81. Died September 11, 1881. 

No. 140. Thomas M. Newell. Received as a candidate 
June 26, 1839. Licensed April 17, 1844. Ordained April 19, 

1848. Installed April 19, 1848, Wellsburg and Cove Churches. 
Released October 17, 185 1. To Presbytery of Sangamon, Octo- 
ber 5, 1853. Died 1864. 

No. 141. James H. CallEN, D.D. Received as candidate 
from Presbytery of Allegheny April 19, 1848. Licensed April 
19, 1848. Ordained October 5, 1848, Presbytery of Erie. 
Pastor Greenville 1848-52. Uniontown 1852-55. Stated 
supply Tamaqua 1856-59. Morrisville 1860-62. Kingston, 
N. J., 1862-64. City Missionary, Brooklyn, N. Y., 1864-86. 
Died March 10, 1886. 

No. 142. John Work Scott, D.D. From Presbytery of Steu- 
benville October 17, 1848. Principal Lindsley Institute 1847- 
53. President Washington College 1853-65. To Presbytery of 
West Virginia November 20, 1865. Ordained April 3, 1834, 
Presbytery of Hartford. Pastor Poland, O., 1834-36. Wood- 
burn Female Seminary 1865-67. Vice-President and Professor 
West Virginia University 1867-77. Died July 25, 1879. 

No. 143. James L Brownson. 

No. 144. David F. McFarland. Received as a candidate 
April 17, 1849. Licensed October 8, 1851. To Presbytery of 
Peoria February 4, 1853. Ordained July 8, 1853, Presbytery 
of Peoria. Pastor Brunswick and Salem, 111., 1853-54. French 
Grove 1854-59. Mattoon Female Seminary 1861-66. Mis- 
sionary at Santa Fe, N. M. 1866-73. Teacher 'at San Diego, 
Cal., 1873-75. Missionary to Nez Perces Indians 1875-76. 
Died May 13, 1876. 

No. 145. Robert Bell. Received as a candidate April 17, 

1849. Licensed April 17, 185 i. To Presbytery of Vincennes 
September 2, 1852. Ordained 1853, Presbytery of Logans- 
port. 

No. 146. Joseph S. Pomeroy. 

No. 147. Alfred Paull. Received as a candidate October 



64 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

19, 1839. Dismissed as a candidate October 5, 1 841, to Presby- 
tery of New Brunswick. Received as licentiate October 17, 

1849, from Presbytery of St. Clairsville. Ordained April 17, 

1850. Installed November 27, 1853, Fourth Church of Wheel- 
ing. Released April 25, 1865. To Presbytery of Philadelphia 
April 24, 1866. Pastor Hestonville, 1867-71. Died Novem- 
ber, 1872. 

No. 148. John B. Stewart, D. D. Received as a candidate 
April 16, 1850. To Presbytery of Ohio as a candidate April 
16, 1 85 1. Ordained June 5, 1854, Presbytery of Wooster. 
Preached Wooster 1854-56. Missionary 1856-62. Pastor 
Fifth Church, Cincinnati, 1862-70. Calvary Church, Milwaukee, 
1871-81. Des Moines, Iowa, 1881-87. 

No. 149. Hugh O. Roseborough. Received as a candi- 
date April 16, 1850. Licensed April 20, 1853. To Presbytery 
of Redstone April 24, 1854. Ordained June 5, 1855, Presbytery 
of Redstone. Pastor George's Creek and Spring Hill Furnace 
1855-87. 

No. 150. Josiah MlLLiGAN. Received as a candidate from 
Presbytery of New Brunswick April 16, 1850. Licensed Octo- 
ber 2, 1850. To Presbytery of Zanesville September 20, 1851. 

No. 151. John KellEY. Received as a candidate October 

1, 1850. Licensed June 28, 1854. Ordained with a view to 
mission work in Africa, June 28, 1864. To Presbytery of Zanes- 
ville March 26, 1856. Pastor Salt Creek and Duncan's Falls 
1856-63. McConnellsville 1863-70. Central Church, Lima, 
1870-72. Savannah, 1874. 

No. 152. James H. Hamilton. Received as a candidate 
October 2, 1850. Dismissed as a candidate August 26, 1851, to 
Presbytery of Cincinnati. 

No. 153. John Y. Calhoun. Received as a candidate 
October 8, 1845. Licensed April 19, 1848. Ordained October 

2, 1850. Installed April 18, 1854, Three Springs Church. Re- 
leased October 9, 1861. Installed August 14, 1854, Cove 
Church. Released April 21, 1858. 

No. 154. James P. Fulton. From Presbytery of Ohio, as 
a licentiate, October i, 1850. Ordained October 2, 1850. In- 
stalled October 2, 1850, Burgettstown Church. Released April 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 65 

22, 1857. To Presbytery of Blairsville September 25, 1857. 
Licensed April, 1849, Presbytery of Ohio. Pastor Salem 
1857-66. Pulaski and Hopewell, 1866-69. McClellandtown 
and Dunlap's Creek 1869-78. Home Missionary 1879-85. 

No. 155. David R. Campbell, D. D. Received as a candidate 
October 3, 1843. Licensed April 22, 1846. To Presbytery of 
St. Clairsville April 20, 1847. Ordained 1847, Presbytery of 
St. Clairsville. From Presbytery of St. Clairsville October 2, 
1850. Installed May, 185 I, Mount Prospect Church. Released 
November 13, 1855. To Presbytery of Steubenville April 17, 
1856. Died February 25, 1873. 

No. 156. John M. Dinsmore. Received as a candidate 
December 28, 1841. Licensed April 19, 1848. To Presbytery 
of Steubenville June 16, 1849. Ordained 1850, Presbytery of 
Steubenville. From Presbytery of Steubenville October 2, 1850. 
To Presbytery of Richland September 12, 185 1. Pastor Utica 
1852-55.* Mount Pleasant 1855-58. Bladensburg 1855-61. 

No. 157. James Clark, D.D. From Presbytery of Newton 
April 15, 185 1. President of Washington College 1850-52. 
To Presbytery of Northumberland October 5, 1852. Pastor 
Lewisburgh 1852-57. Ordained November 8, 1837, Presbytery 
of New Brunswick. 

No. 158. Joseph S. WyliE. Received as a candidate De- 
cember 28, 1830. Licensed June 20, 1832. To Presbytery of 
Richland March 27, 1833. From Presbytery of Coshocton 
April 16, 185 1. Died February 10, 1852. 

No. 159. William R. Fulton. Received as a candidate 
October 2, 1844. Licensed April 22, 1847. Ordained October 
8, 185 1. Installed October 8, 1851, Frankfort Church. Re- 
leased April 21, 1852. To Presbytery of Upper Missouri 
April 20, 1853. Oregon, Mo., 1852-60. Greenfield 1860-79. 
Ash Grove and Pleasant Valley 1879-81. Died January 10, 
1881. 

No. 160. Robert J. Fulton. Received as a candidate 
April 16, 185 1. Licensed April 20, 1853. To Presbytery of 
Zanesville October 5, 1853. Ordained 1853, Presbytery of 
Zanesville. Pastor Buffalo 1853-55. Died January 28, 1855. 

No. 161. Cyrus G. Braddock. Received as a candidate 
5 



66 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

October 7, 185 1. Licensed June 15, 1853. Ordained Octo- 
ber 4, 1854. To Presbytery of Ohio October 3, 1855. Pastor 
Bethany Church 1856-74. Died June 29, 1874. 

No. 162. John S. Marquis. 

No. 163. McKiNLEY Hervey. Received as a candidate 
October 7, 185 1. Died August 7, 1852. 

No. 164. Samuei. H. Jeffery. Received as a candidate 
October 7, 1851. Licensed October 5, 1853. Ordained April 
1.8, 1855. Stated supply Waynesburgh Church 1854-59. Died 
November 12, 1859. 

No. 165. Edgar Woods, Ph. D, Received as a candidate 
June 15, 1852. Licensed June 16, 1852. Ordained October 5, 

1853. Installed , 1853, Wheeling (3d) Church. Released 

June 9, 1857. To Presbytery of Columbus June 9, 1857. Pas- 
tor First Church Columbus 1857-62. Charlottesville, Va., 
1866-77. 

No. 166. Alexander L. Blackford, D.D. "Received 
as a candidate June 15, 1852. Licensed April 21, 1858. Or- 
dained to go as Foreign Missionary to Brazil April 20, 1859. 

No. 167. James R. Moore. Received as a candidate from 
Presbytery of Philadelphia June 15, 1852. Licensed. June 16, 
1852. To Presbytery of Redstone June 15, 1853. Principal of 
Monongalia Academy, Morgantown, West Virginia, 1852-63. 
Principal of Woodburn Female Seminary 1858-64. Died De- 
cember 12, 1864. 

No. 1 63. George C. Crowe. Received as a licentiate 
April 20, 1852, from Presbytery of Eastern Shore. To Presby- 
tery of Upper Missouri August 31, 1853. 

No. 169. Edwin L. Belden. Received as a candidate 
June 15, 1852. Licensed April 17, 1856. To Presbytery of 
Iowa February 6, 1858. Ordained 1858, Presbytery of Cedar. 
Pastor Muscatine 1858-65. Teacher and stated supply Mount 
Pleasant and New London 1865-71. Died August 22, 1871. 

No. 170. Charles P. French. Received as a candidate 
June 15, 1852. Licensed April 21, 1859. Ordained April 24, 
1 86 1. To Presbytery of Cincinnati April 23, 1862. From 
Presbytery of West Virginia October 13, 1866. To Presbytery 
of Bloomington April 29, 1868. Died February 8, 1870. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 67 

No. 171, George B. NewELIv. Received as a candidate 
October 5, 1852. Licensed October 8, 1856. To Presbytery 
of Bloomington, April 17, i860. 

No. 172. Smith F. Grier. 

No. 173. John W. HazlETT. From Presbytery of Beaver 
October 6, 1852. To Presbytery of Ohio December 30, 1853. 
Licensed 1846, Presbytery Huntingdon. Ordained 1848, Pres- 
bytery Beaver. Pastor North Branch 1848-52. Bethlehem 
1848-54. Concord 1854-61. Teacher 1861-71. Evangelist 
1871-81. Died May 21, 1882. 

No. 174. OUPHANT M. Todd. From Presbytery of Syd- 
ney November 9, 1852. Ordained November 9, 1852. Installed 
November 9, 1852, Cross Roads Church. Released January 27, 
1859. To Presbytery of New Lisbon January 27, 1859. Li- 
censed 1849, Presbytery Redstone. Pastor New Lisbon, Ohio, 
1859-67. Muncie, Ind., 1867-71. Stated supply Union au 
Serna 1872-73. Jonesboro' 1873-79. Kaskaskia, 111., 1879. 
Pearson and Dalton, 1884. 

No. 175. Robert F. Bunting, D.D. Received as a candi- 
date October 2, 1849. Dismissed as a candidate October 2, 1850, 
to Presbytery of New Brunswick. From Presbytery of New 
Brunswick October 6, 1852. Ordained November 9, 1852. To 
Presbytery of Brazos November 9, 1852. Stated supply La- 
grange and Columbus, Texas, 1853-56. Stated supply First 
Church San Antonio, 1856-61. Chaplain C. S. A., 1861-65. 
Stated supply and Pastor First Church, Nashville, Tenn., 
1865-68. Pastor First Church, Galveston, 1868-82. 

No. 176. John R. Duncan. From Presbytery of Steuben- 
ville October 8, 185 1. Ordained April 20, 1853. Installed 
April 20, 1853, Elizabethtown Church, and April 26, 1853, 
Allen Grove Church. Released October 20, 1857. To Presby- 
tery of Zanesville March 17, 1858. Died 1864? 

No. 177. EzEKlElv OuiLLAN. From Presbytery of Redstone 
April 20, 1853. Stated supply Wellsburg 1852-58. To Pres- 
bytery of Schuyler February 25, 1859. Ordained October, 1838. 
Pastor Clarksburg 1838-52. Stated supply Ipava, 111., 185 8-. 

No. 178. W1I.LIAM CivEMENS. Received as a candidate 
April 18, 1849. Licensed June 15, 1853. Ordained June 15, 



68 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

1853, to go as Foreign Missionary to Africa. Died June 24, 
1862. 

No. 179. Samuel H. Holliday. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1853. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of 
Clarion April 28, 1863. Ordained June 16, 1863, Presbytery 
Clarion. Pastor Brookville 1863-68. Brady's Bend, 1868-75. 
Belleview, 1875-87. 

No. 180. Samuel J. Wilson, D.D., LL.D. Received as a 
candidate June 14, 1853. Licensed April 18, 1855. Ordained 
October 20, 1857. To Presbytery of Ohio October 2, 1866. Pro- 
fessor Western Theological Seminary 1857-83. Moderator Gen- 
eral Assembly 1874. Died August 17, 1883. 

No. 181. Robert McMillan. Received as a candidate 
October 5, 1853. Licensed April 17, 1856. To Presbytery of 
Saltzburgh June 14, 1857. Ordained August 25, 1857, Pastor 
Warren and Pine Run 1857-64. Died August i, 1864. 

No. 182. Alexander R- Hamilton. Received as a can- 
didate October 5, 1853. Licensed October 5, 1854. Ordained 
October 16, 1856, Presbytery Zanesville. Pastor Uniontown and. 
Brownsville, Ohio, 1856-59. Muskingum and Madison, 1862-65. 
Died August 30, 1865. 

No. 183. George McDonald. 

No. 184. William H. Lester. 

No. 185. E. C. Wines, D.D. From Presbytery of Long Island 
April 17, 1855. Professor in Washington College and Stated 
Supply Upper Ten Mile Church 1855-59. To Presbytery of St. 
Louis September 20, 1859. 

No. 186. R. S. Morton. From Presbytery of Blairsville 
April 17, 1855. Installed June 12, 1855, Mill Creek and Hooks- 
town Churches. Released April 26, 1865. To Presbytery of 
Beaver October 4, 1865. From Presbytery of Beaver June 15, 
1869. Installed June 28, 1869, East Buffalo Church. Released 
December 26, 1870. To Presbytery of Pittsburgh December 
26, 1870. From Presbytery of Shenango September 12, 1882. 
Stated supply Hookstown Church, 1882. Died January 12, 
1885. 

No. 187. W. P. Harvison. From Presbytery of Zanes- 
ville April 15, 1856. Installed April 26, 1856, Lower Ten 



BIOGRAPHICAI. REGISTER. 69 

Mile Church. Released April 5, 1861. To Presbytery of Al- 
legheny April 28, 1863. Died August 15, 1870. 

No. 188. Samuel G. McFarland, D.D. Received as a 
candidate April 18, 1854. Licensed April 21, 1859. Ordained 
April, i860, to go as missionary to Siam. To Presbytery of 
Siam October 2, i860. 

No. 189. R. Humes Holliday. Received as a candidate 
April 18, 1854. Name dropped at his request April 16, 1856. 

No. 190. Martin Armstrong. Received as a candidate 
April 19, 1854. Western Theological Seminary 1860-61. Died 
October 4, 1863. 

No. 191. John W. Heagen. Received as a candidate 
June 27, 1854. Name stricken from list of candidates October 
2, i860 

No. 192. Alexander Reed, D.D. Received as a candi- 
date April 17, 1855. Licensed April 17, 1856. To Presbytery 
of New Castle September 12, 1857. Ordained October 8, 1857. 
Pastor Upper Octorara 1857-64. Central Church, Philadel- 
phia, 1864-73. Second Church, Brooklyn, 1873-75. Central 
Church, Denver, 1876-78. Died November 18, 1878. 

No. 193. Robert A. Blackford. Received as a candi- 
date April 17, 1854. Dismissed as a candidate April 19, i860, 
to Presbytery of Charleston. Licensed April, 1862, Presbytery 
of Allegheny City. Ordained April 20, 1864, Presbytery of 
West Virginia. Stated supply and pastor Clarksburg 1864-73. 
Croton Falls, N. Y., 1874-80. Pastor White Lake 1880-. 

No. 194. Charles N. Collins. Received as a candidate 
October 2, 1855. 

No. 195. George K. Scott. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 2, 1855. Licensed April 21, 1858. Ordained April 20, 
1859. To Presbytery of Western Texas June 24, 1859. To 
Presbytery of Wooster October 10, 1861. Pastor Lockhart, 
Texas, i860. Stated supply Wayne and Chester, O., 1861-62. 
Virginia, 111., 1863-65. Appleby Manor, Pa., 1866-71. Harri- 
son City 1871-73. Sevvickley 1873-75. Clarksburg 1875-77, 
Stated supply Hughes River and Pennsboro' 1877-81. Schells- 
burgh, Pa., i88z).. Died January 10, 1889. 

No. 196. John C. McCombs. Received as a candidate Oc- 



yo THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

tobcr 2, 1855. Licensed April 25, 1 86 1. License revoked Oc- 
tober 8, 1862. Attorney-at-law and ruling elder. 

No. 197 Alanson R. Day. Received as a candidate April 
16, 1856. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of Highland 
April 19, 1862. Ordained September, 1862, Presbytery High- 
land. Denver, Col., 1862-65 and 1867-73. Brodhead, Wis., 
1865-67 and 1873-76. Near Waukeshaw, 1876-80. Marshall- 
town, Iowa, 1880-84. 

No. 198. Bernard W. SlaglE. Received^as a candidate 
April 16, 1856. Licensed April 21, 1858. To Presbytery of 
Palmyra September 2, 1858. Stated supply Monticello and 
Canton, Mo., 1859-61. Pastor Defiance, Ohio, 1862-. 

No. 199. David H. LaveRTy. Received as a candidate 
October 7, 1856. Licensed April 24, 1862. Ordained June 16, 
1863. Installed June 16, 1863, Frankford Church, and June 22, 
1863, Three Springs Church. Released June 6, 1865. To 
Presbytery of St. Clairsville June 6, 1865. Rock Hill, Ohio, 
1865-67. Evangelist, 1867-74. Barnesville, 1872-74 Enon 
and Palestine, 1874-81. Crestline, 1881-83. 

No. 200. George Scott. Received as a candidate October 
21, 1856. Licensed April 21, 1859. To Presbytery of Erie 
April, i860. Ordained Presbytery of Erie June 27, i860. Died 
July 28, 1883. 

No. 201. Richard V Dodge. From Presbytery of San- 
gamon October 6, 1857. Installed Second Church, Wheeling, 
October 19, 1857. Released October 20, 1862. Installed No- 
vember 6, 1864, Washington, Second Church, Released April 
29, 1868. To Presbytery of Dane March 30, 1869. Madison, 
Wis., 1869-72. First Church, San Francisco, 1872-74. San 
Diego, 1879-. Died February 26, 1885. 

No. 202. John Moore. From Presbytery of New Lisbon 
October 23, 1857. To Presbytery of Coshocton April 17, i860. 

No. 203. INlARCUS WiSHART. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 7, 1857. Licensed April 21, 1859. Ordained April 24, 
1861. To Presbytery of Allegheny City October 2, 1866. Stated 
supply Third Church, Wheeling, 1861-62. First Church, Mead- 
ville, 1863-64. Pastor Tarentum 1868-70. Rehoboth, 1874-77. 
Waterford, 1877-. 





'■"lIAM SPRS*' 




'■'..M H. C."^>^*- 



■'"»EPH A. P'''' 






''""RY r,. Bl>''' 



Present Members, II. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 7 1 

No. 204. James S. Ramsay, D.D. Received as a candidate 
October 7, 1857. Licensed April 27, 1864. To Presbytery of 
Carlisle July 27, 1864. Ordained 1864, Presbytery of Carlisle. 
Pastor Perry County, Pa, 1864-67. Baltimore, 1867-71. Har- 
lem, N. Y., 1872-. 

No. 205. William J. Alexander. From Presbytery of 
Erie April 20, 1858. Installed June 3, 1858, West Union Church. 
Released October 7, 1868. Licensed January 18, 1854. Or- 
dained December 17, 1855. Pastor Concord and Deerfield, 
1855-57. Died January 20, 1869. 

No. 206. William Aiken. From Presbytery of Zanesville 
April 20, 1858. Installed June 3, 1858, West Liberty Church. 
Released October 5, 1859. To Presbytery of Potomac October 
3, 1865. Licensed 1832, Presbytery Steubenville. Ordained 
May, 1836. Pastor McConnellsville, Ohio, 1856. Chaplain 
United States Army 1861-64. Stated supply Pleasant Forest, 
Tenn., 1868-70. Died May 3, 1886. 

No. 207. William B. Keeling. From Presbytery of Ohio 
April 20, 1858. Ordained October 6, 1858. Installed October 
6, 1858, Mt. Prospect Church. Released October 7, 1863. To 
Presbytery of Cedar April 25, 1865. Licensed April, 1857, Pres- 
bytery Ohio. Stated supply Crow Meadow, 111., 1863-75. We- 
nona, 1875-78. Died April 29, 1878. 

No. 208. James T. Fredericks. From Presbytery of 
Richland April 20, 1858. Ordained October 26, 1858. Installed 
October 26, 1858, Burgettstown Church. Licensed 1857, Pres- 
bytery Richland. Died July 21, 1886. 

No. 209. Joseph Waugh, Ph.D. Received as a candidate 
April 20, 1858. Licensed April 21, 1859. To Presbytery of Mis- 
sissippi October 2, i860. Ordained November, 1 860, Presbytery 
of Mississippi. Pastor Carmel, Miss., 1859-61. From Presby- 
tery of Mississippi April 23, 1862. Professor Washington Col- 
lege 1861-63. Steubenville Female Seminary 1864-66. Prin- 
cipal Hollidaysburgh Female Seminary 1866-77. To Presbytery 
of Huntingdon April 24, 1866. 

No. 210. John P. P. Stockton. Received as a candidate 
April 21, 1858. Licensed April 21, 1859. To Presbytery of 
Maumee December 12, 1862. Ordained April 29, 1863, Presby- 



72 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

tery of Maumee Stated supply Defiance 1860-62. Pastor 
West Unity and Mt. Salem 1862-. 

No. 211. Benjamin F. PoweLSON. Received as a candi- 
date April 21, 1858. Licensed April 24, 1862. United States 
Army 1362-65. To Presbytery of West Missouri October i, 
1867. Stated supply Deep Water and Little Osage 1867-71. 
Ordained September 9, 1868, Presbytery of Southwest Missouri. 
Stated supply Montrose 1870-74. Neosho 1874-77. Ebenezer 
and Ozark Park 1880-82. Lyons, Kan., 1882-. 

No. 212. W. S. Van ClEVE. Received as a candidate 
April 21, 1858. Licensed April 27, 1864. Ordained October 
3, 1865. Installed September 25, 1867, Frankfort Church. Re- 
leased February 9, 1869. To Presbytery of Carlisle February 
9, 1869. Pastor Lower Marsh Creek 1869. Gettysburgh, 1889. 

No. 213. Joseph Vance, D.D. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 5, 1858. Licensed April 19, i860. To Presbytery of Win- 
nebago April 23, 1862. Ordained June, 1862, Presbytery of Win- 
nebago. Stated supply Beaver Dam 1861-65. Pastor Second 
Church, Vincennes, 1865-74. First Church, Carlisle, Pa., 1874-86. 
Second Church, Chester, 1886-. 

No. 214. William B. Faris. Received as a candidate 
October 5, 1858. Licensed April 19, i860. To Presbytery of 
Marion July 19, 1861. Ordained 1862, Presbytery of Marion. 
Pastor Mt. Gilead 1862-64. Marshall, 111., 1864-68. Neoga, 
1868-71. Died November 5, 1871. 

No. 215. George W.F. Birch, D.D. Received as a candidate 
October 5, 1858. Licensed July 19, i860. To Presbytery of 
Sangamon December 11, 1861. Ordained January 17, 1862, 
Presbytery of Sangamon. Pastor Third Church, Springfield, 
1861-69. Second Church, Lexington, Ky., 1870-73. Third 
Church, Indianapolis, 1873-76. Bethany, New York City, 1878-. 

No. 216. Nathaniel B. Lyon. From Presbytery of New 
Lisbon April 20, 1859. Installed June 2, 1859. Upper Ten 
Mile Church. Released January 30, 1868. To Presbytery of 
Ohio January 30, 1868. Died May 19, 1868. Licensed April 
12, 1855, Presbytery Redstone. Ordained 1856, Presbytery 
New Lisbon. Pastor Hubbard, Liberty 'and Brookfield, Ohio, 
1856-59. 



BIOGRAPHICAI. REGISTER. 73 

No. 217. James W. Alexander, D.D. From Presbytery 
of St. Clairsville October 19, 1859. Installed October, 1859, Allen 
Grove and Wolf Run Churches, Released October 3, 1866. 
Stated supply Moundsville 1867-77. Died July 26, 1879. 

No. 218. E. V. CampbEI.i<. Received as a candidate April 
20, 1859. Licensed April 27, 1864. To Presbytery of St. Paul 
April 25, 1865. Ordained December, 1866, Presbytery of St. 
Paul. Pastor St. Cloud 1866-75. Butler, Mo., 1875-77. St. 
Cloud, 1877-. 

No. 219. William A. Kerr. Received as a candidate 
April 20, 1859. Licensed April 12, 1866,. Presbytery of Car- 
lisle. Ordained November 19, 1867, Presbytery of Philadelphia, 
Second. Pastor First Church, Easton, 1867-70. First Church, 
Williamsport, 1870-73. Suspended 1873. 

No. 220. John F. Magill, D.D. Received as candidate Octo- 
ber 4, 1859. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of Peoria 
May 27, 1862. Ordained 1862, Presbytery of Peoria. Pastor 
Lewistown 1862-83. From Presbytery of Peoria September 
12, 1883. Installed October 7, 1883, Second Church, Washing- 
ton, Released March 4, 1886. To Presbytery of Iowa March 
4, 1886. 

No. 221. E. R. DoNEHOO. Received as a candidate October 
4, 1859. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of Redstone 
October 7, 1862. Ordained October 15, 1869, Presbytery of 
Ohio. Pastor Eighth Church, Pittsburgh, 1869-, 

No. 222, Robert B. Farrar. Received as a candidate 
October 4, 1859. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of 
Toledo October 7, 1862. Ordained April, 1863, Presbytery of 
Toledo. Stated supply Montezuma and Deep River, Iowa, 
1862-68. From Presbytery of Vinton June 15, 1869, Installed 
June 15, 1869, West Union Church. Released April 26, 1876, 
Stated supply Cameron and Unity, 1876-81. To Presbytery of 
Southern Dakota. Died January 14, 1888. 

No. 223. Charles B. Magill. Received as a candidate 
October 4, 1859, Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of 
Fairfield March 16, 1864. Ordained May 13, 1864, Presbytery 
of Fairfield. Pastor Birmingham, Iowa, 1864. Died August 
27, 1864. 



74 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 224. James H. Smith. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 4, 1859. Dismissed as a candidate October 24, 1863, to 
Presbytery of Chicago. Licensed April 16, 1864. Ordained 
September, 1864, Presbytery of Peoria. Pastor Elmwood, 111., 
1864-66. Yates City, 1867-70. French Grove, 1871-73. Died 
November 15, 1873. 

No. 225. Jameses. Davis. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 4, 1859. Western Theological Seminary, 1861-63. Health 
failed. 

No. 226. James S. Praigg. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 4, 1859. Name dropped Aprir24, 1862. 

No. 227. J, P. Caldwell. From Presbytery of Richland, 
April 17, i860. Installed April 26, i860, Cross Roads Church. 
Released October 15, 1864. To Presbytery of St. Clairsville, 
October 15, 1864. Licensed June 16, 1848, Presbytery St. 
Clairsville. Ordained 1849, Presbytery Zanesville. Pastor Salt 
Creek and Blue Rock, 1849-53. Olive and Bristol, 1853-57. 
Fredericktown, 1857-60. Beech Spring, 1865-66. Barnesville, 
1865-69. Crab Apple, 1869-72. Died January 31, 1872. 

No. 228. John M. Smith. From Presbytery of Ohio, Oc- 
tober 19, 1859. Ordained April 18, i860. Installed April 18, 
i860, Wellsburgh Church. Released October 2, i860. To 
Presbytery of Allegheny City, October 2, i860. Pastor Sharps- 
burgh, Pa., 1861-67. St. Charles, Mo., 1867-70. Highlands, 
1871-74. Central Church, Pittsburgh, 1874-76. Cannonsburgh, 
1876-88. Marshfield, Wis., 1888-. 

No. 229. Joseph P. Moore. Received as a candidate April 
19, 1848. Licensed October 2, 1850. Ordained October 3, i860. 
Principal East Liberty Collegiate Institute, 1851-65. Stated 
supply. Swan, Hopewell and Albion, Ind., 1865-84. Runny- 
mede, Kans., 1884-. 

No. 230. J. A. EwiNG. From Presbytery of Clarion, Octo- 
ber 3, i860. To Presbytery of West Virginia. Licensed Jan- 
uary, 1858, Presbytery Saltsburgh. Ordained December, 1858, 
Presbytery Clarion. 

No. 231. Watson Russell. From Presbytery of Red- 
stone, October 18, i860. To Presbytery of Zanesville, April 
23, 1861. 



BIOGRAPHICAI, REGISTER. 



75 



No. 232. John C. Caldwell, D.D. Received as a candidate 
April 17, i860. Dismissed as a candidate to Presbytery of Rich- 
land April 28, 1863. Licensed May 3, 1864, Presbytery of Rich- 
land. From Presbytery of Richland November 3, 1864. Or- 
dained November 4, 1864. Installed November 4, 1864, Mount 
Prospect Church. Released July 23, 1868. Installed August 
3, 1868, Second Church, Washington. Released December 27, 
1869. To Presbytery of Northumberland. Pastor Lycoming, 
Newberry, 1870-74. Central Church, Chambersburg, 1874-83. 
First Church, West Chester, 1884-. 

No. 233. Joseph H. Wherry. Received as a candidate 
April 17, i860. 

No. 234. John Jordan. Received as a candidate April 17, 
i860. Name dropped at his own request, on account of ill- 
health, October 7, 1868. 

No. 235. Frederick R, Wotring. Received as a candi- 
date April 18, i860. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery 
of Winnebago September 26, 1863. Ordained October 26, 1863. 
Pastor Portage City, Wis., 1863-66. Stated supply, Van Wert, 
Ohio, 1866-68. Pastor Mansfield, Pa., 1868-78. Knoxville 
and Ninth Church, Pittsburgh, 1878-80. Wenona, 111., 1880-85. 
Plum Creek, Kans., 1885-. 

No. 236. John W. Dinsmore, D.D, Received as a candidate 
April 18, i860. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of 
Winnebago, April 28, 1863. Ordained June 28, 1863, Presby- 
tery of Winnebago. Pastor Prairie du Sac, 1863-70. Bloom- 
ington. III, 1870-. 

No. 237. Paris Brown. Received as a candidate April 
18, i860. Licensed April 25, 1861. To Presbytery of Ebenezer 
April 23, 1862. Ordained April, 1863, Presbytery of Ebenezer. 
Pastor Greenupsburg and Greenup Union, Ky., 1863-66. Stated 
supply, Muskingum, Ohio, 1866-75. Pastor Norwich and New 
Concord, 1875-. 

No. 238. Andrew F. Ross. Received as a candidate April 
18, i860. Name dropped October 3, 1865. 

No. 239. John B. Reed. Received as a candidate October 
3, i860. Licensed April 24, 1862. To Presbytery of West Vir- 
ginia March 16, 1864. Ordained April, 1864, Presbytery of West 



'^d THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Virginia. Stated supply and Pastor Parkersburgh, 1862-71. 
Sistersville, 1871-82. Fairmount, 1882-88. Laurel Hill, Pa., 
1 888-. 

No. 240. Henry G. Blayney. 

No. 241. J. McClusky Blayney, D.D. Received as a can- 
didate October 3, i860. Licensed April 24, 1862. To Presbytery 
of West Virginia, August 26, 1864. Ordained 1864. Stated 
supply, Charleston, West Virginia, 1864-68. Stated supply 
and Pastor, First Church, Albany, N. Y., 1868-80. First Church, 
Frankfort, Ky., 1880-. 

No. 242. James Black, D.D., LL.D. From Presbytery of 
Redstone, March 12, 1861. Professor in Washington College and 
Professor and Vice-President in Washington and Jefferson Col- 
lege, 1859-68. Licensed April 3, 1852, Presbytery of Redstone. 
Ordained June, 1853. Stated supply and Pastor, Connellsville, 
1852-58. Stated supply, Lower Ten Mile Church, 1860-64. 
East Buffalo, 1864-68. To Presbytery of Cedar, October 6, 
1868. President State University, Iowa, 1868-70. President 
Pennsylvania Female Seminary, 1870-75. Professor Wooster 
University and Vice-President, 1875-. 

No. 243. Laverty Grier. 

No. 244. Daniel W. Fisher, D.D. From Presbytery of 
New Orleans December 10, 1861. Installed January 5, 1862, 
First Church, Wheeling. Released April 26, 1876. To Pres- 
bytery of New Albany September 25, 1878. Licensed April, 
1859, Presbytery of Huntingdon. Ordained April, i860. 
Stated supply Thalia St. Church, New Orleans, 1860-61. 2d 
Church, Madison, Ind., 1876-79. Prest. Hanover College 1879. 

No. 245. Robert H. Fulton, D.D. Received as a can- 
didate April 24, 1 86 1. Dismissed as a candidate October 19, 
1868, to Presbytery of Redstone. Licensed April, 1871. Or- 
dained June, 1872, Presbytery of Baltimore. Pastor 2d 
Church, Baltimore, 1872-83. North Minster Church, Philadel- 
phia, 1883. 

No. 246. P. J. CUMMINGS. Received as a candidate April 
24, t86j. Licensed April 26, 1866. To Presbytery of Ohio 
October 2, 1866. Ordained 1867. Pastor Mount Carmel 
1857-78. North Branch 1867-74. Evangelist 1878-80. Stated 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 77 

supply Mount Carmel and North Branch 1881-83. Pastor 
Industry and Bethlehem 1883-88. 

No. 247. George M. McFarland. Received as a candi- 
date April 24, 1 86 1. Licensed April 25, 1867. License re- 
voked October 16, 1869. 

No. 248. William S. EaglESON. Received as a candi- 
date April 24, 1 861. Licensed April 29, 1863. To Presbytery of 
Richland October 5, 1863. Ordained May 5, 1864. Stated sup- 
ply and pastor Fredericktown, O., 1863-76. Mount Gilead 1876-. 

No. 249. William A. F. Stockton. Received as a can- 
didate April 24, 1 86 1. Licensed April 24, 1863. United States 
Army 1862-65. License returned October 7, 1868. 

No. 250. Martin L. Todd. Received as a candidate 
April 24, 1 86 1. Licensed April 24, 1863. To Presbytery of 
West Virginia October 4, 1864. Stated supply Point Pleasant 
and West Columbia, W. Va. ; Vernon, Ind. ; Richmond, Ky. 
Died August 14, 1870. 

No. 251. John T. OxTOBY, D.D. Received as a candidate 
October 21, 1861. Dismissed as a candidate November 20, 
1865, to Presbytery of Allegheny. Licensed April, 1866, Pres- 
bytery of Butler. Ordained July i, 1867, Presbytery of Erie. 
Pastor Petroleum Center, 1867-70. North-East 1870-79. East 
Saginaw, Mich., 1880-. 

No. 252. William Hanna. From the C. P. Church April 
23, 1862. Stated supply Unity Church 1862-64. Fo Presby- 
tery of Ohio October 4, 1 864. 

No. 253. William M. Robinson. From Presbytery of 
Zanesville October 7, 1862. Stated supply Wellsburgh 1862- 
64. To Presbytery of Erie April 26, 1864. Licensed June 19, 
1844, Presbytery of Blairsville. Missionary in Ohio 1844-54. 
Ordained January 14, 1846, Presbytery of Zanesville. Pastor 
1st Church, Newark, 1855-62. 2d Church, Mercer, Pa., 1864- 
72. Providence Church, Allegheny, 1872-. 

No. 254. John Moffat. From Presbytery of St. Clairs- 
ville April 28, 1863. Installed September 27, 1863, 2d Church, 
Wheeling. Licensed June, 1847, Presbytery of New Lisbon. 
Ordained Juiie, 1848. Pastor St. Clairsville 1848-61. Bel- 
laire 1861-63. Died December 27, 1875. 



y8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 255. James D. Kerr. Received as a candidate April 
23, 1862. Licensed April 27, 1864. To Presbytery of Sanga- 
mon September 2, 1864. Ordained June 15, 1865. Pastor 
Farmington 1865-70. Nebraska City 1870-78. Denver 1878- 
81. Chestnut Street Church, Erie, Pa., 1881-83. Kearney, 
Neb., 1 883-. 

No. 256. J. Boyd Stevenson. Received as a candidate 
April 22, 1862. Licensed April 29, 1863. To Presbytery of 
Steubenville April 18, 1870 Ordained June 16, 1870, Presby- 
tery of Steubenville. Stated supply Linton and Evans' Creek 
1870-71. From Presbytery of Zanesville April 2, 1874. 

No. 257. William M, White. Received as a candidate 
April 22, 1862. Licensed April 27, 1864. Ordained May i, 
1866. Installed May i, 1866, Hookstown Church. Released 
April 27, 1870. Suspended April 27, 1870. To Presbytery of 
Pittsburgh as a suspended member October 21, 1873. 

No. 258. David Brown. Received as a candidate October 
7, 1862. Died July 8, 1863. 

No. 259. SamueIv P. Linn. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 7, 1862. Licensed April 26, 1865. To Presbytery of 
Western Reserve April 24, 1866. Ordained May, 1866. West- 
minster Church, Cleveland, 1866-67. Wayne, Pa., 1870-71. 
Shamokin 1872-73. Baton Rouge, La., 1877-78. Lincoln 
Park, Cincinnati, 1879-80. First Avenue Church, Evansville, 
Ind., 1884. Died July, 1887. 

No. 260. John C. Hervey. Received as a candidate Oc- 
tober 8, 1862. Name dropped from list of candidates October 
3, 1866. 

No. 261. Henry L. DooutTLE. From Presbytery of 
Northumberland October 6, 1863. To Presbytery of Rochester 
City October 4, 1864. Ordained June 17, 1846, Presbytery of 
Wyoming. Pastor Scottsville, N. Y., 1846-53. Troy, Pa., 
1854-56 Bald Eagle 1856-60. Stated supply Groveland, N. 
Y., 1864-67. York 1867-69. 2d Church, Wolcott, 1869-70. 
Huron 1870-71. Died September 5, 1871. 

No. 262. Samuee M. Henderson. From Presbytery of 
Steubenville October 7, 1863. Ordained November 4, 1863. 
Installed November 4, 1863, Pigeon Creek Church. Released 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 79 

April 24, 1867. To Presbytery of Blairsville October 12, 1867. 
Pastor Wilkinsburgh 1867-78. Prof. Biddle Institute 1878- 
79. Licensed April, 1862, Presbytery of Steubenville. Died 
April 2, 1879. 

No. 263. Thomas R. Laird. Received as a candidate 
June 16, 1863. Entered business 1865. 

No. 264. John M. Mealey, D, D. Received as a candi- 
date April 25, 1865. Licensed April 26, 1866. To Presbytery 
of Beaver April 28, 1867. Ordained October 25, 1867. Pastor 
Neshannock 1867-. 

No. 265.' James Reed. Received as a candidate October 
4, 1864. Licensed October 3, 1866. To Presbytery of Rich- 
land April 27, 1869. Stated supply Millwood 1867-70. Or- 
dained April 5, 1872, Presbytery of Palmyra. Stated supply 
La Clede. Mo., 1871-82. Avalon and Dawn 1882-. 

No. 266. William H. McCuskey. Received as a candi- 
date October 4, 1864. Dismissed as a candidate to the Presby- 
tery of Chicago September 28, 1869. 

No. 267. George W. RigglE. Received as a candidate 
October 5, 1864. Licensed October 3, 1866. To Presbytery 
of New Lisbon April 24, 1867. Ordained October, 1867. 
Pastor East Liverpool 1867-75. Teacher and stated supply 
Santa Fe, N. M., 1876-80. In ill health 1880-83. Stated sup- 
ply Silver City, N. M., 1883-. 

No. 268. James H. Spillman. From Presbytery of Erie 
April 26, 1864. To Presbytery of West Jersey May 7, 1866. 

No. 269. John A. Brown. From Presbytery of Wooster 
April 27, 1864. Installed July 3, 1865, West Liberty Church. 
Released September 28, 1875. Installed November 12, 1877, 
Limestone, Wolf Run and Allen Grove Churches. Released 
April 26, 1 88 1. To Presbytery of Red River April 26, 1881. 

No. 270. William I. Brugh, D.D. From Presbytery of 
Richland October 6, 1864. Professor in W. C. 1863-65. 
Stated supply Lower Ten Mile 1864-65. To Presbytery of 
Butler 1865. From Presbytery of Steubenville April 22, 1879. 
Teacher and stated supply Three Springs 1879-87. To Presby- 
tery of East Hanover April 12, 1887. Ordained May 17, 1849, 
Presbytery of Philadelphia. Pastor Bensalem and Centre- 



8o THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ville, Pa., 1849-50. Corinth, O., 1850-60. Stated supply Fred- 
ericktown 1860-61. Bladensburg 1861-63. Principal Butler 
1865-71. Pastor Butler 1868-71. Principal Hayesville, O., 
1871-76. Pres. Richmond College O. 1887-88. 

No. 271. Andrew W. Boyd. From Presbytery of Beaver 
April 25, 1865. Installed June 6, 1865, Cross Roads Church. 
Released October 3, 1865. To Presbytery of Allegheny March 
27,1866. Licensed 1859, Presbytery of Steubenville. Ordained 
i860, Presbytery of Beaver. Stated supply Darlington 1860-65. 
Pastor Leesburgh 1867-69. Died June 18, 1869. 

No. 272. J. R. Hamilton. From Presbytery of Erie Oc- 
tober 13, 1865. P. E. 4th Church, Wheeling, 1865-66. To 
Presbytery of New Castle October 2, 1866. Licensed 1857, 
Presbytery of Blairsville. Ordained 1858. Pastor Fairview and 
Girard 1858-63. Chaplain United States Army 1863-65. 
Pastor Newark, Del., 1866-70. Red Bank, N. J., 1870. Died 
January 12, 1876. 

No. 273. Samuel Graham. 

No. 274. John B. Graham. From Presbytery of St. 
Clairsville April 25, 1866. Installed May 8, 1866, Three 
Springs and Cove Churches. Released from Three Springs 
September 25, 1878. Released from Cove September 12, 1883. 
To Presbytery of Mahoning April 22, 1884. Licensed October 
I, 1833, and ordained 1838, Presbytery of New Lisbon. Pastor 
Bethel, O., 1838-50. Bible agent 1851-58. Pastor Morris- 
town and Fairview 1858-65. 

No 275. Jesse W. Hamilton. From Presbytery of Steu- 
benville June 19, 1866. Stated supply Lower Ten Mile 1866- 
70. To Presbytery of Butler September 28, 1870. Licensed 
1857 s"*^ ordained i860, Presbytery of Steubenville. Teacher 
New Hagerstown Academy 1862-65. Stated supply Water- 
ford and Belleville 1860-62 Witherspoon Institute, Pa., 1870- 
73. Sharpsville 1873-75. Stated supply Mingo, O., 1875-80. 
Pastor East Springfield and Bacon Ridge 1882-. 

No. 276. John W. Gilmore. From Presbytery of Red- 
stone June 19, 1866. Ordained June 19, 1866. P. E. Mounds- 
viUe 1866-67. To Presbytery of New Lisbon April 23, 1867. 
Licensed 1864, Presbytery of Redstone. Pastor Columbiana, 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 8 1 

O., 1867-69. Andrew and Farmer's Creek, Iowa, 1869-71. 
Beileview 1871-76. Hanover, 111. Elizabeth, 1878. 

No. 277. Daniel W. WyliE. Received as a candidate 
October 19, 1878. Name dropped, at his request, April 26, 
1882. 

No. 278. Robert T. Price. From Presbytery of Beaver 
April 25, 1866. Ordained and installed Wellsburgh Church, 
June 19, 1866. Released October 16, 1868. Installed June 16, 
1869, Mt. Prospect Church. Released February 4, 1873. To 
Presbytery of Allegheny February 4, 1873. Licensed April 28, 
1864, Presbytery of Steubenville. Pastor Beileview 1873-75. 
Dunbar 1875-84. Shreve and Hopewell, O., 1884-. 

No. 279. J. A. McInTyre. From Presbytery of Columbus 
October 3, 1866. To Presbytery of Clarion April 28, 1867. 
Licensed June 16, 1857, Presbytery of Allegheny. Ordained 
January, i860. Presbytery of Fort Wayne. Pastor Decatur, 
Ind., i860. Sugar Grove, Pa., 1866. Callensburg 1868. Per- 
rysville 1870. Died August 15, 1872. 

No. 280. Jonathan Cross. From Presbytery of Balti- 
more November 6, 1866. Installed December 16, 1866, Wheel- 
ing 3d Church. Released February 4, 1873. To Presbytery of 
Zanesville September 23, 1874. Died December 18, 1876. 

No. 281. James D. Moffat. 

No. 282. Joseph P. Graham. Received as a candidate 
April 26, 1866. Licensed April 26, 1871. Ordained June 14, 
1872, to go as a Foreign Missionary to India. 

No. 283. William H. Hartzell. Received as a candi- 
date April 26, 1866. Licensed April 24, 1873. To Presbytery 
of Baltimore June 6, 1876. Stated supply and pastor Deer 
Creek, Harmony Church, 1875-83. Evangelist 1884. St. 
Peter, Minn., 1885. Worthington, Minn., 1886.- 

No. 284. Edward G. McKinlEY. Received as a candidate 
April 26, 1866. Licensed April 26, 1871. To Presbytery of 
Blairsville September 25, 1872. Ordained October 29, 1872, 
Presbytery of Blairsville. Pastor Pleasant Grove 1872-81. 
Ligonier 1872-. 

No. 285. David B. Fleming. Received as a candidate 
April 26, 1866. Licensed April 26, 1870. To Presbytery of 
6 



82 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Missouri River April 23,1872. Ordained September 3, 1872. 
Stated supply Deer Creek, 111., 1871-72. Fairmount, Neb., 
1872-74. Andover, 111., 1874-76. Kingsbury 1876-83. Unity, 
Ind., 1884. 

No. 286. David M. Miller. From Presbytery of New 
Lisbon August 28, 1867. Installed September 25. 1867, Cross 
Roads Church. Released September 26, 187 1. To Presbytery 
of Northumberland September 26, 1871. Licensed April 10, 
1 86 1, Presbytery of New Lisbon. Ordained June 18, 1862. 
Pastor Alliance, O., 1862-67. Lock Haven, Pa., 1871-74. 
Johnsto\^n 1874-83. Ev. 1883-. 

No. 287. Perrine Baker. Received as a candidate April 
24, 1867. Licensed April 29, 1874. To Presbytery of Kittan- 
ning April 27, 1875. Ordained May 11, 1875. Pastor Boil- 
ing Spring 1875-78. Appleby Manor and Crooked Creek 
J 875-84. Bellevernon 1884-. 

No. 288. John L. Fulton, D.D. From the U. P. Church 
April 28, 1868. Installed December 16, 1868, Mill Creek. Re- 
leased March 4, 1873. To Presbytery of Baltimore March 4, 1873. 

No. 289. Henry Woods. 

No. 290. William A. McCarrell. Received as a candi- 
date October 6, 1868. Licensed April 26, 1870. To Presbytery of 
Erie April 26, 1871. Ordained September, 1871. Pastor Cam- 
bridge and Gravel Run 1871-75. Shippensburgh 1875-. 

No. 291. McNary Forsythe. Received as a candidate 
October 6, 1868. Licensed April 26, 1870. To Presbytery of 
Allegheny April 23, 1872. Ordained June, 1872. Pastor and 
stated supply Millvale 1870-74. Died JVlarch 28, 1874. 

No. 292. Otho M. Hartzell. Received as a candidate 
October 6, 1868. Name dropped April 27, 1870. 

No. 293. Abner O. Rockwell. 

No. 294. Robert R. Moore. From Presbytery of Tran- 
sylvania October 16, 1869. Installed November 27, 1869, 
Wellsburgh Church. Released May 8, 1873. To Presbytery 
of Pittsburgh May 8, 1873. Licensed 1858, Presbytery of 
Beaver. Ordained April 15, 1859, Presbytery of Richland. 
Pastor Sixth Church, Pittsburgh, 1873-79. Newark, O., 1879 
-83. Urichsville 1884-85. Conneautville 1885-. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 83 

No. 295. Joseph E. Andrews. Received as a candidate 
September 28, 1869. Dismissed as a candidate to Presbytery of 
Steubenville , . Licensed May i, 1873, Pres- 
bytery of Steubenville. Ordained June 3, 1874. Pastor 
Waynesburg, O., 1874-77. Seventh Church, Pittsburgh, 1877- 
79. West EHzabeth 1879-. 

No. 296. BeIvVILLE Roberts. From Presbytery of Rock 
River April 27, 1870. P. E. Fourth Church, Wheeling, 1870- 
71. To Presbytery of Philadelphia North April 25, 1871. 

No, 297. SamuEIv T. Davis. From Presbytery of Schuy- 
ler October 14, 1870. Ordained November 15, 1870. Installed 
November 15, 1870, Lower Buffalo and Pine Grove Churches. 
Released April 24, 1872. To Presbytery of Chicago April 24, 
1872. 

No, 298, Martin L. Donahey, Received as a candidate 
April 27, 1870. Licensed April 26, 1871. To Presbytery of 
Zanesville. Ordained 1872. Pastor Duncan's Falls, O., 1872- 
74. Stated supply Weston 1874-81. Napoleon 188 1-. 

No. 299. John P, Inman. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 28, 1870. Name dropped April 26, 1876. 

No, 300. Jesse C. Bruce. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 28, 1870. Licensed April 28, 1875. To Presbytery of 
Pittsburgh April 25, 1876. Ordained June 13, 1876. Pastor 
Oakdale 1876-78. First Church, Peoria, III, 1878-86. Frank- 
lin, Pa, 1 887-. 

No. 301. William E. McCrEA. Received as a candidate 
September 28, 1870. Licensed April 24, 1872. Ordained Sep- 
tember 24, 1873. Installed November i, 1873, Lower Buffalo 
Church. Released March 26, 1874. To Presbytery of Pitts- 
burgh, March 26, 1874. Pastor West Elizabeth, 1875-80. 
Homestead 1880-85. Greensburgh, Kansas, 1888. 

No. 302. John C. Hench. From the Presbytery of 
Cleveland April 25, 1871. Installed June 17, 1871, Lower Ten 
Mile Church. Released June 5, 1873. To Presbytery of 
Clarion April 28, 1874. Licensed April 26, 1865, Presbytery of 
Redstone. Ordained September, 1866, Stated supply Bull 
Creek, Pa., 1865-66.. Pastor Trent 1866-67. Springfield, O., 
1867-70. 



84 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 303. George P. Hays, D.D., LL.D. From Presby- 
tery of Allegheny April 26, 1871. President Washington and 
Jefferson College, and Stated supply Second Church, Washing- 
ton, 1870-81. To Presbytery of Colorado August 23, 1881, 
Licensed April, 1859, Presbytery of Ohio. Ordained March 
5, 1861, Presbytery of Baltimore. Pastor Second Church, Balti- 
more, 1861-68. Fiscal Secretary Wooster University 1868-69. 
Pastor Central Church, Allegheny, 1869-70. Pastor Central 
Church, Denver, 1881-85. Moderator of General Assembly 
1884. Pastor Second Church, Cincinnati, 1885-88. Pastor 
Second Church, Kansas City, Mo., 1888- 

No. 304. James L. Reed. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 26, 1 87 1. Licensed April 24, 1872. Ordained Decem- 
ber 15, 1874. Installed January 15, 1875, Lower Buffalo 
Church. Released April 25, 1883. To Presbytery of Pueblo 
December 12, 1883. Stated supply South Pueblo, Col., 1883- 
84. Pastor Barnesville, O., 1 885-. 

No. 305. James S. Fleming. Received as a candidate 
September 27, 1871. Licensed April 25, 1878. To Presbytery 
of Larned April 27, 1880. Ordained April 2, 1880. From 
Presbytery of Larned August 23, 1881. 

No. 306. Lewis J. Able. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 27, 1 88 1. 

No. 307. Amos S. Van Buskirk. Received as a candi- 
date September 27, 1871. Dismissed as a candidate April 24, 

No. 308. John T. Lloyd. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 27, 1871. Dismissed as a candidate April 24, 1873. 

No. 309. Samuel M. Glenn. From Presbytery of Pitts- 
burgh April 23, 1872. Installed June 7, 1872, Upper Ten Mile 
Church. Released August 23, 1878. To Presbytery of Erie 
August 23, 1878. Licensed January, 1866, Presbytery of Erie. 
Ordained November 14, 1866, Presbytery of Columbus. Pas- 
tor Lithopolis, O., 1866-69. Sandy Lake, Pa., 1878-79. 
Clintonville 1879-84. Mount Zion and High Hill, O., 1885-88. 
Principal Female Seminary, Putnam, 1888-. 

No. 310. Alonzo Linn, LL.D. Enrolled as a licentiate 
January 14, 1872, under action of General Assembly of 1870. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 85 

Licensed May 3, 1854, Presbytery of Redstone. Professor La- 
fayette College 1854-57. Jefferson College, 1857-65. Wash- 
ington and Jefferson College, 1865-. 

No. 311. Daniel Williams. From Presbytery of Maho- 
ning September 25, 1872. Installed November 14, 1872, Wheel- 
ing, Fourth Church. Released October 21, 1876. Licensed 
1855, Presbytery of New Lisbon. Ordained 1855, Presbytery 
of Redstone. Pastor West Newton 1855-57. Mineral Ridge, 
Ohio, 1868-72. Died December 28, 1880. 

No. 312. Yates Hickey. From Presbytery of Lackawanna 
October 19, 1872. Financial Agent Washington and Jefferson 
College 1872-75. To Presbytery of Philadelphia North Sep- 
tember 28, 1875. 

No. 313. William C. Smith. From Presbytery of Maho- 
ning October 22, 1872. Stated supply Limestone and Allen 
Grove 1873-74. To Presbytery of St. Clairsville April 28, 1875. 

No. 314. Alexander G. EaglESON. From Presbytery of 
Marion April 22, 1873. Installed October 9, 1873, Wheeling, 
Third Church. Released April 27, 1875. To Presbytery of St. 
Clairsville April 27, 1875. From Presbytery of St. Clairsville 
January 17, 1882. Installed January 17, 1882, West Union 
Church. Released April 25, 1884. To Presbytery of St. Clairs- 
ville April 13, 1887. Licensed April, 1869, Presbytery of Ma- 
rion. Ordained October, 1870. Stated supply Oshkosh, Wis., 
1870-72. Pastor Washington, Ohio, 1875-79. Stated supply 
Freeport and West Chester, Ohio, 1887. Pastor elect. New Ha- 
gerstown, 1888-. 

No. 315. Joseph A. Donahey. 

No. 316. J.J. McCarrell. Received as a candidate April 
24, 1872. Licensed April 24, 1873. To Presbytery of Louis- 
ville, July 20, 1874. Ordained October, 1874. Pastor First 
Church, Shelbyville, Ky., 1874-82. Martin's Ferry, O., 1882-84. 
McKeesport, Pa., 1884-. 

No. 317. Samuel T. Henderson. Received as a candi- 
date April 24, 1872. Died February 18, 1880. 

No. 318. Charles M. McNulTy. Received as a candidate 
June 14, 1872. Dismissed as a candidate September 22, 1877, 
to Presbytery of Cayuga. , 



86 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 319. Joseph H. Ralston. Received as a candidate 
September 25, 1872. Licensed April 25, 1878. To Presbytery 
of Emporia September 23, 1879. Ordained November 5, 1879. 
Stated supply and Pastor Burlington, Kan., 1879-83. Belle Plain, 
1883-84. McPherson, Kan., 1885. Worcester, Mass., 1886-. 

No. 320. George Frazer, D.D. From Presbytery of Alton 
April 22, 1873. Professor Washington and Jefferson College 
1872-75. Stated supply Second Church, Washington, 1872-74. 
Waynesburgh, 1875-81. To Presbytery of Columbus Septem- 
ber 24, 1 88 1. 

No. 321. Samuee F'orbES. From Presbytery of Athens 
April 22, 1873. Installed June 4, 1873, Cross Roads Church. 
Released April 26, 1876. To Presbytery of Steubenville August 
22, 1876. Licensed October 14, 1865, Presbytery of St. Clairs- 
ville. Ordained October i, 1867. Pastor Grand View, Ohio, 
1867-71. Stated supply Bethel and Beech Grove 1871-73. 
Island Creek and Sorento, Ohio, 1876-79. Potter Chapel and 
Bloomfield, 1879-. 

No. 322. Edward P. Lewis. From Presbytery of Red- 
stone May 8, 1872. Installed May 16, 1873, Waynesburgh 
Church. Released April 28, 1875. To Presbytery of Allegheny 
City April 28, 1875. Licensed April, 1864, Presbytery of 
Blairsville. Ordained April, 1865, Presbytery of Highland, 
Pastor Atchison, Kan., 1864-68. Stated supply Brownsville, 
Pa., 1868-72. Rochester, 1875-78. Fairfield, 111., 1880-85. 
Mt. Vernon, 1885-. 

No. 323. Thomas R. Alexander. 

No. 324. Joseph H. Stevenson. From Presbytery of Co- 
lumbus September 23, 1873. Installed June 25, 1874, Fairview 
Church. Released June 16, 1875. To Presbytery Redstone 
April 26, 1876. Licensed April 16, 1876, Presbytery of Sidney. 
Ordained October 14, 1864, Presbytery of Redstone. Pastor 
Brownsville, 1864-68. Birmingham, 1868-69. Evangelist, 1869-70. 
Groveport, Ohio, 1870-73. Scottdale, 1875-82. Nashville, 111., 
1882-. 

No. 325. Daniel McFiE. From Presbytery of Edinburgh, 
Scotland, September 23, 1873. To Presbytery of Carlisle Janu- 
ary II, 1875. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 87 

No. 326. Silas Cooke. Received as a candidate April 23, 
1873. Licensed April 24, 1873. To Presbytery of Athens 
January 27, 1875. Ordained May 12, 1875. Stated supply and 
Pastor Nelsonville, 1875-78. Prospect Church, Dunlap, 111., 
1 878-. 

No, 327. John H. TrusseLL. Received as a candidate 
April 24, 1873. Licensed and ordained June i, 1880. To Pres- 
bytery of Neosho June I, 1880. 

No. 328. Duncan R. Crocket. Received as a candidate 
May 8, 1873. 

No. 329. James E. Leyda. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 23, 1874. Licensed April 25, 1877. To Presbytery of 
Clarion June 20. 1877. Ordained November 7, 1877, Presbytery 
of Clarion. Pastor Perry and Worth ville 1877-80. Worthing- 
ton and West Glade Run 1880-84. Stated supply Ellsworth, 
Kan., 1884. 

No. 330. J. D. Walkinshaw. From Presbytery of Zanes- 
ville April 28, 1874. Installed May 22, 1874, Upper Buffalo 
Church. Released September 13, 1882. Installed December 
13, 1882, Wellsburgh Church. Released September 14, 1886. 
To Presbytery of Wooster September 14, 1886. 

No 331. John S. Atkinson. From Presbytery of Woos- 
ter September 23, 1874. Installed October 4, 1874, Lower Ten 
Mile Church. Released September 8, 1880. To Presbytery of 
Butler April 26, 1881. Licensed April 16, 1863, Presbytery of 
Marion. Ordained October 18, 1866, Presbytery of Wooster. 
Pastor Wayne and Chester 1866-74. Pastor Buffalo and West- 
minster, Pa., 1880-. 

No. 332. John C. Ely. Received as a candidate Septem- 
ber 23, 1874. Licensed April 27, 1876. To Presbytery Pitts- 
burgh April 24, 1877. Ordained June 6, 1877. Pastor Birming- 
ham, Pittsburgh, 1877-80. Piqua, Ohio, 1880-85. Superin- 
tendent Mission Dallas, Texas, 1885-86. Pastor Xenia, Ohio, 
1887-. 

No. 333. Frank P. Britt. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 23, 1874. Licensed April 27, 1876. To Presbytery of 
Clarion June 20, 1877. Ordained August 24, 1877. Pastor 
Pisgah 1877. Shiloh, 1878-8L Greenville and Rehoboth, 1881-. 



8S THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 334. JosiAH F. Curtis. From Presbytery of West 
Virginia April 25, 1876. Dismissed to Reformed Episcopal 
Church June 20, 1877. 

No. 335. David L- Dickey. From Presbytery Blairsville 
April 26, 1876. Installed May 25, 1876, Hookstovvn and Beth- 
lehem Churches, Released Dec. 14, 1881. To Presbytery Alle- 
gheny December 12, 1882. Licensed April 13, 1864, Presbytery 
of Blairsville. Ordained September, 1866, Presbytery of Beaver. 
Stated supply and Pastor, New Salem, Pa., 1865-67. Pastor 
Mahoning, 1867-70. Irwin, 1871-73. Stated supply Armagh 
and Centreville, 1873-76. Evangelist, 1882-. 

No. 336. .William F. Hamilton. 

No. 337. William T. Gibson. From Presbytery of Zanes- 
ville April 26, 1876. To Presbytery Nebraska City April 25, 
1877. Licensed April, 1871, Presbytery Allegheny. Ordained 
1872, Presbytery St. Clairsville. Pastor Woodsfield 1872-74. 
Stated supply Goshen, Neb., 1878. Summit, 1880. Pastor 
Short Creek, Ohio, 1882-84. 

No. 338. William A. Mackey. From Presbytery Blairs- 
ville April 26, 1876. Installed June 6, 1876, Wellsburgh 
Church. Released April 26, 1882. To Presbytery Pueblo De- 
cember 12, 1882. Licensed April 28, 1875. Stated supply 
Mesa Church, Pueblo, 1882-86. Pastor First Church, Tacoma, 
W. T., 1 887-. 

No. 339. Robert B. Porter. From Presbytery St. Clairs- 
ville June 6, 1876. Installed June 29, 1876, Fairview. Released 
April 23, 1879. To Presbytery of Allegheny April 23, 1879. 

No. 340. David A. Cunningham. 

No. 341. Samuel E. Elliott. From Presbytery Shenango 
October 21, 1876. Ordained November 21, 1876. Installed 
November 21, 1876, Frankford Church. Released September 
24, 1878. To Presbytery Kittanning June i, 1880. Licensed 
April, 1876, Presbytery Shenango. Pastor Apollo 1880-. 

No. 342. Charles P. Blayney. Received as a candidate 
April 27, 1876 Licensed September 26, 1877. To Presbytery 
Osage September 25, 1878. Ordained December 5, 1878, Pres- 
bytery Osage. Pastor Olive Branch and Austin, Mo., 1878-84. 
Raymore, 1884-. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 89 

No. 343. William E. OllER. Received as a candidate 
April 27, 1876. Licensed April 25, 1877. To Presbytery Alle- 
gheny April 24, 1878. Ordained September 10, 1878. Pastor 
Tarentum 1878-82. Pastor Butler 1882-. 

No. 3/^4. John N. Hayes. Received as a candidate April 
27, 1876. Dismissed as a candidate April 25, 1882, to Presby- 
tery of Columbia. 

No. 345. John H. Aughey. From Presbytery Steuben- 
ville April 24, 1877. Installed May 22, 1877, West Union 
Church. Released July 5, 1881. To Presbytery Pittsburgh 
July 5, 1881. 

No. 346. Ross Stevenson. 

No. 347. David B. Rogers. From Presbytery Redstone 
April 25, 1S77. Installed May 15, 1877, West Liberty Church. 
Released October 9, 1878. To Presbytery of Muncie September 
23, 1879. Licensed April, 1873, Presbytery of Steubenville. 
Ordained June 12, 1874, Presbytery Redstone. Pastor Tent 
1874-76. Hartford City, Ind., 1878-82. Dunbar, Pa., 1882-86. 
Portland, Pa., 1887-. 

No. 348. William H. McCaughey. From Presbytery of 
Logansport October 22, 1877. Ordained October 31, 1877. 
Installed October 31, 1877, Cross Creek Church. Released 
April 29, 1885. To Presbytery Philadelphia Central December 
30, 1885. Pastor Mantua Second Church 1886-. Licensed 
April 12, 1876, Presbytery Logansport. 

No. 349. Joseph K. Alexander. Received as a candidate 
April 25, 1877. Licensed April 25, 1878. To Presbytery 
Mankato June 10, 1879. 

No. 350. James V- Milligan. Received as a candidate 
April 25, 1877. Licensed April 25, 1878. Ordained June 10, 
1879. To Presbytery Oregon June 10, 1879. Stated supply 
Astoria, Oregon, 1879-84. Ashland, 1884-87. St. John's 
Church, Portland, 1888-. 

No. 351. Zachary B. Taylor. Received as a candidate 
April 25, 1877. Licensed April 27, 1882. To Presbytery Clar- 
ion May II, 1884. Ordained June 24, 1884. Pastor Reynolds- 
ville 1 884-. 

No. 352. John B. Pomeroy. Received as a candidate July 



90 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

6, 1877. Licensed June 10, 1879. Ordained June i, 1880. To 
Presbytery Fort Dodge June i, 1880. 

No. 353. Thomas C. McCarrell- Received as a candi- 
date September 27, 1877. Licensed April 23, 1879. To Pres- 
bytery of Carlisle June i, 1880. Ordained July 21, 1880. Pas- 
tor Waynesboro', Pa., 1880-. 

No. 354. James M. Stitt. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 27, 1877. Licensed April 23, 1879. To Presbytery 
Erie April 27, 1880. Ordained June, 1881. Pastor Coolspring 
and Fredonia 1880-84. Died May 2, 1884. 

No. 355. William H. Hunter. From Presbytery Pitts- 
burgh April 24, 1878. Ordained June 4, 1878. Installed June 
4, 1878, Mill Creek Church, and June 5 Mt. Olivet. Released 
April 29, 1885. To Presbytery Pembina December 9, 1885. 
Stated supply Knox and Forest River 1886-. 

No. 356. William Speer. 

No. 357. John H. Sherrard. From Presbytery Bellefon- 
taine October 19, 1878. Stated supply Upper Ten Mile Church 
1878-82. To Presbytery Lima October 23, 1882. Licensed 
April, i860, Presbytery Steubenville. Ordained September, 1861, 
Presbytery of Clarion. Pastor Bethesda, Oak Grove and Middle 
Creek, 1861-67. Bucyrus, Ohio, 1867-68. Delphos, 1882-88. 
Rockville, Ind., 1888-. 

No. 358. Walter L. Alexander. Received as a candi- 
date April 24, 1878. Licensed June 10, 1879. Ordained Septem- 
ber 13, 1882. To Presbytery Southern Dakota April 24, 1883. 

No. 359. George P. Wilson. Received as a candidate 
April 24, 1878. Licensed April 23, 1879. To Presbytery of 
Ebenezer September 8, 1880. Ordained October 14, 1880. 
Pastor Lexington, Ky., 1880-84. Lafayette Park Church, St. 
Louis, Mo., 1 884-. 

No. 360. George W. McCollum. Received as a candi- 
date April 24, 1878. Name dropped April 26, 1881, having 
joined the Methodist Church. 

No. 361. James Hickling. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 25, 1878. Licensed April 28, 1880. To Presbytery of 
Clarion April 26, 1881. Ordained August 21, 1881. Pastor 
Tionesta, Tylersburgh and Scotch Hill, 1881-. 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 9 1 

No. 362. Marcus A. Brownson, Received as a candi- 
date September 25, 1878. Licensed April c8, 1880. To Pres- 
bytery of Philadelphia Central October 14, 1881. Ordained 
April 29, 1883, Presbytery of New Castle. Stated supply He- 
bron Memorial Chapel, Philadelphia, 1881-83. Assistant pas- 
tor Central Church, Wilmington, Del., 1883-84. Pastor First 
Church, Camden, N. J., 1884-89. Detroit First Church, 1889-. 

No. 363. Joseph G. LylE. From Presbytery of Pitts- 
burgh October 18, 1879. Installed November 11, 1879, Wheel- 
ing Third Church. Licensed 1872, Presbytery of St. Clairs- 
ville. Ordained December i, 1874, Presbytery of Pittsburgh. 
Stated supply Gardiner, 111.. 1872-73. Pastor Homestead, Pa., 
1874-79. Died April 11, 1884. 

No. 364. James P. LylE. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 23, 1879. Licensed April 27, 1881. Ordained April 
26, 1882. To Presbytery of Austin April 27, 18.82. Pastor 
Taylor, Texas, 1882-. 

No. 365. George W. Pollock. Received as a candidate 
September 23, 1879. Licensed April 28, 1880. Ordained Au- 
gust 24, 1 88 1. To Presbytery of Allahabad August 24, 1881. 
Foreign Missionary, India, 1881-87. 

No. 366. Obadiah T. LaugFITT. Received as a candidate 
September 23, 1879. Licensed April 27, 1881. To Presbytery 
of Fort Dodge April 25, 1882. Ordained July 12, 1882. 
Stated supply Storm Lake 1882-84. West Liberty 1884-. 

No. 367. Henry C. MinTon. Received as a candidate 
September 23, 1879. Licensed April 27, 1881. To Presbytery 
of St. Paul April 25, 1882. Ordained June 15, 1882. Pastor 
Duluth 18S2-83. P. E. Second Church, Baltimore, 1883-84. 
Stated supply and pastor San Jose,Cal., 1884-. 

No. 368. George A. Duncan. Received as a candidate 
September 23, 1879. Licensed April 27, 1881. Died January 
II, 1882. 

No. 369. Arthur V. Bryan. Received as a candidate 
September 23, 1879. Licensed April 28, 1880. Ordained 
April 26, 1882. To Presbytery of Monmouth September 12, 
1882. Foreign Missionary, Tokio, Japan, 1882- 

No. 370. John Chadwick. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 25, 1879. 



92 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 371. Adam Torrance. From Presbytery of Palmyra 
April 27, 1880. Licensed October 7, 1830, Presbytery of Red- 
stone. Ordained June 6, 1833, Presbytery of Richland. Pastor 
Lexington and Pleasant Hill, O., 1833-37. New Alexandria, 
Pa., 1837-67. Died October 18, 1881. 

No. 372. Ebenezer H. Jenkins. From Reformed Epis- 
copal Church April 27, 1880. To Presbytery of Boston April 
25, 1882. 

No. 373. WiNFiELD E. Hill. 

No. 374. Thomas F. Boyd. From Presbytery of Bloom- 
ington April 28, 1880. Installed May 31, 1880, West Liberty 
Church. Released September 23, 1882. To Presbytery of 
Nebraska City April 25, 1883. 

No. 375.. Henry S. Childs. From Wesleyan Methodist 
Church June i, 1880. To Presbytery of Pittsburgh April 24, 
1883. 

No. 376. Andrew C. Brown. Received as candidate 
from Presbytery of New York April 27, 1880. Licensed April 
28, 1880. To Presbytery of Cedar Rapids April 28, 1880. 

No. 377. William G. Pollock. Received as a candidate 
April 28, 1880. Licensed June i, 1880. To Presbytery of 
Montana July 5, 1881. From Presbytery of Austin April 23, 
1884. To Presbytery of Los Angeles September 9, 1885. 

No 378. Aaron M. Buchanan. Received as a candi- 
date April 28, 1880. Licensed April 27, 1881. To Presbytery 
of Pittsburgh September 13, 1882. Ordained October 4, 1882. 
Pastor Clinton, Pa., 1882-86. Morgantown, W V., 1886-. 

No. 379. Benj. G. Van ClevE. Received as a candidate 
April 28, 1880. Dismissed as a candidate April 28, 1886, to 
Presbytery of Genesee Valley. 

No. 380. James C. Garver. 

No. 381. Joseph H. Bausman. Received as a candidate 
from Presbytery of Clarion December 14, 1880. Licensed 
April 27, 1882. Ordained April 26, 1883. To Presbytery of 
Kittanning October 22, 1883. Stated supply and pastor Homer 
and Bethel 1883-87. Pastor Freedom and Rochester 1887-. 

No. 382. George M. Hickman. Received as a candidate 
December 4, 1880. Licensed April 25, 1883. To Presbytery 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 93 

of Westminster April 22, 1884. Pastor Marietta, Pa., 1884-88. 
First Church, Wilmington, Del., 1888-. 

No. 383. W. W. Morton, From Presbytery of Pueblo 
September 24, 1881. Stated supply Limestone, Allen Grove 
and Wolf Run 1881-84. Installed February 20, 1885, Upper 
Buffalo Church. Released September 13, 1887. To Presbytery 
of Hastings September 13, 1887. Licensed April 25, 1874, 
Presbytery of Pittsburgh. Ordained July 6, 1875, Presbytery 
of Allegheny. Pastor Highlands 1875-80. Missionary in 
Colorado 1880-81. Pastor Blue Hill, Neb., 1887-. 

No. 384. Lewis W. Barr. 

No. 385. Alexander S. Hunter. Received as a candi- 
date April 27, 1 88 1. Licensed December 9, 1884. To Presby- 
tery of Redstone April 28, 1886. 

No. 386. Robert A. Hunter. Received as a candidate 
April 27, 1 88 1. Licensed April 27, 1882. To Presbytery of 
Clarion April 11, 1884. Ordained June 25, 1884. Pastor 
Beech woods 1884-. 

No. 387. Eugene A. Field. Received as a candidate 
April 27, 1 88 1. 

No. 388. Marian Moore. Received as a candidate 
August 23, 1 88 1. Licensed April 11, 1888. 

No. 389. William M. Paden. Received as a candidate 
August 24, 1881. Licensed September 13, 1882. To Presby- 
tery of Philadelphia October 22, 1883. Ordained November 
20, 1884. Pastor HoUond Memorial Church, Philadelphia, 
1 884-. 

No. 390. William A. Jones. Received as a candidate 
September 27, 1881. Licensed April ii, 1888. 

No. 391. William H. Cooke. 

No. 392. John G. Cowden. From Presbytery of Cedar 
Rapids, April 26, 1882. Pastor-elect Second Church, Washing- 
ton, 1882. To Presbytery of Denver December 13, 18S2. 

No. 393. James L. LeEpER. From Presbytery of New 
Brunswick April 26, 1882. Ordained September 13, 1882. 
Installed September 13, 1882, Claysville Church. Released 
March 4, 1886. To Presbytery of Lehigh March 4, 1886. 
Pastor First Church, Reading, 1886-. 



94 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 394. Edgar W. Day. Received as a licentiate from 
the Cumberland Presbyterian Church April 26, 1882. To Pres- 
bytery of Red River September 12, 1882. Licensed April, 1880. 
Ordained October 8, 1882, Presbytery of Red River. Stated 
supply Lisbon, Dak., 1882-. 

No. 395. George M. Fisher. Received as a candidate 
from Presbytery of Chartiers, United Presbyterian Church, Sep- 
tember 13, 1882. Licensed September 13, 1882. To Presby- 
tery of Denver October 23, 1882. 

No. 396. Mark A. Denman. Received as a candidate 
September 13, 1882. Dismissed as a candidate to Presbytery 
West Jersey, September 10, 1884. 

No. 397. James B. Lyle. 

No. 398. Robert W. Ely. Received as a candidate De- 
cember 15, 1882. Licensed April 23, 1884. To Presbytery 
Northern Pacific, April 28, 1885. Ordained May, 1885. La 
Moure, Dak., 1885-88. 

No. 399. George S. Hays. Received as a candidate De- 
cember 15, 1882. Licensed April 23, 1884. To Presbytery 
of Mahoning, April 28, 1885. Ordained June 30, 1885. For- 
eign Missionary to China, 1886— 

No. 400. Salmon C. Faris. From Presbytery Wooster, 
April 24, 1883. Installed June i, 1883, Frankfort Church. Re- 
leased December 10, 1884. To Presbytery Steubenville, April 

29, 1885- 

No. 401. John J. Graham. From Presbytery Cairo, April 
25,1883. P. E. West Liberty, 1883-86. To Presbytery Alle- 
gheny, September 14, 1886. Licensed Jane, 1874, Presbytery 
Allegheny. Ordained June, 1875, Presbytery Mahoning. Pas- 
tor Mineral Ridge, Ohio, 1875-78. Mt. Vernon, TIL, 1878-82. 

No. 402. Adolphus F. Alexander. 

No. 403. William M. Eaton. From Presbytery Steuben- 
ville, September 12, 1883. Principal Preparatory Department 
Washington and Jefferson College, 1883-87. To Presbytery of 
St. Clairsville, September 14, 1887. Licensed May i, 1873, 
Presbytery Steubenville. Ordained June 3, 1874. Stated sup- 
ply and Pastor East Springfield, Bacon Ridge, and Still Fork, 
1874-83. Pastor Second Church, Bellaire, Ohio, 1887-. 

No. 404, Daniel E. Long. Received as a candidate from 



BIOGRAPHICAL REGISTER. 



95 



Presbytery of Steubenville, September 12, 1883. Dismissed as 
a candidate to Presbytery Madison, April 10, 1888. 

No. 405. Thomas A. Anderson. 

No. 406. Frank E. Armstrong. Received as a candidate 
September 10, 1884. Licensed April 28, 1886. To Presbytery 
St. Louis, December 13, 1887. 

No. 407. Howard. N. CampbeIvL. Received as a candidate 
September 10, 1884, Licensed April 28, 1886. To Presbytery 
St. Clairsville, April 10, 1888. Ordained 1888. Pastor Mar- 
tin's Ferry, Ohio. 1888-. 

No. 408. John K. GarveR. Received as a candidate from 
Presbytery Carlisle, April 23, 1884. Dismissed as a candidate 
April 30, 1885, to Presbytery of Lehigh. 

No. 409. Samuel G. Hair. From Presbytery Mahoning, 
April 29, 1885. P. E. Third Church, Wheeling, 1885-86. 
Licensed May 16, 1861, Presbytery Chicago. Ordained Oc- 
tober, 1868, Presbytery Rock River. Stated supply Franklin 
Grove, 1861-64. Teacher, 1864-65. New Boston, 1866-71. 
Pastor Sigourney, Iowa, 1871-79. Belmont Avenue Church, 
Youngstown, Ohio. 1879-84. To Presbytery South Florida, 
May 7, 1886. 

No. 410. Loyal Young. 

No. 411. William B. Hamilton. Received as a candi- 
date April 29, 1885. Licensed April 28, 1886. Ordained Sep- 
tember 16, 1888. To Presbytery of Shantung, September 16, 
1888. Foreign Missionary, China, 1888. 

No. 412. J. Morris Irwin. Received as a candidate April 
29, 1885. Dismissed as a candidate September 14, 1886, to 
Presbytery of Winona. Licensed 1887, Presbytery Winona. 

No. 413. Elden' O. Sawhill. Received as a candidate 
September 8, 1885. Licensed April 13, 1887. To Presbytery 
Shenango, April 10, 1888. Ordained September, 1888. Pastor 
Enon, 1888. 

No. 414. Warren S. Welsh. Received as a candidate 
September 8, 1885. Name dropped April 28, 1886. 

No. 415. William J. Fredericks. Received as a candi- 
date September 8, 1885. Name dropped April 12, 1887. 

No. 416. James E. Irvine. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 8, 1885. Licensed April 28, 1886. To Presbytery of 



96 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Erie December 13, 1887. Ordained April 10, 1888. Pastor 
Fredonia and Cool Spring, 1888. 

No. 417. Ulysses L. Lyle. Received as a candidate Sep- 
tember 9, 1885. Licensed April 10, 1889. 

No. 418. A. J. Alexander. 

No. 419. Frank Fish. 

No. 420. J. Philander Anderson. 

No. 421. Abram B. Lowes. 

No. 422. James H. Snowden. 

No. 423. John ly. Roemer. Received as a candidate 
September 14, 1886. 

No. 424. George W. Fulton. Received as a candidate 
September 14, 1886. Licensed April 10, 1889. Ordained April 
24, 1889. Under appointment as missionary to Japan. 

No. 425. Edwin S. BrownlEE. Received as a candidate 
September 14, 1886. Licensed April ii, 1888. 

No. 426. William F. Plummer. Received as a candi- 
date September 14, 1886. Licensed April 11, 1888. 

No. 427. William Farmer. Received as a candidate 
December 15, 1886. 

No. 428. Joseph h. Weaver. 

No. 429. Benjamin F. Myers. 

No. 430. Robert M. Brown. 

No. 431. John A. Marquis. Received as a candidate 
June 28, 1887. Licensed April 10, 1889. 

No. 432. Edwin K. Johnston. Received as a candidate 
June 28, 1887. Licensed April 10, 1889. 

No. 433. James Palmer. Received as a candidate June 
28, 1887. Student of Theology, 1889. 

No. 434. Joseph H. Sutherland. Received as a candi- 
date June 28, 1887. Licensed April 10, 1889. 

No. 439. James D. Spriggs. 

No. 440. Andrew J. Montgomery. Received as a can- 
didate December 14, 1887. Student of Theology, 1889. 

No. 441. John C. Pickens. 

No. 442. Harry O. Gilson. 

No. 443. Thomas Reynolds. Received as a candidate 
April II, 1888. 



PRESENT MEMBERS. 97 

No. 444. Eugene C. Ai^EXANDER. Received as a candi- 
date September 26, 1888. 

No. 445. W. J. A. Atkinson. Received as a candidate 
September 26, 1888. 

No. 446. John A. Crawford. Received as a candidate 
September 25, 1888. 

No. 447. David M. Skilling. Received as a candidate 
September 26, 1888. Student of Theology, 1889. 

PRESENT MEMBERS. 

No. 143. James Irwin Brownson, son of Major John 
and Sarah (Smith) Brownson, was born at Mercersburg, Pa., 
March 14, 18 17. Communicant church of Mercersburg 1832. 
Washington College 1836. Western Theological Seminary 
1838-40. Licensed October, 1840, Presbytery of Carlisle. 
Ordained November, 1841, Presbytery of Redstone. Pastor 
Greensburg and Mount Pleasant 1841-49. Received from 
Presbytery of Redstone April 17, 1849. Installed First Church, 
Washington, May i, 1849. Moderator Synod of Wheeling 
1859. Synod of Pittsburgh 1871. D.D. Lafayette College 
1858. President pro tevi. Washington College 1852-53. 
Washington and Jefferson College 1870. President Board of 
Trustees Washington and Jefferson College. Vice-president Di- 
rectors of Western Theological Seminary. Married, March 14, 
1843, Sarah Ellen Maclay, of Shippensburg ; January 9, 1855, 
Eleanor Acheson, of Washington, Pa. 

No. 146. Joseph S. Pomeroy, son of John and Jane 
(Porter) Pomeroy, was born in Lawrence County, Pa., 1823, 
Communicant church of Neshannock 1841. Jefferson College 
1846. Western Theological Seminary 1846-49. Licensed 
April, 1849, Presbytery of Beaver. Received from Presbytery 
of Beaver October 2, 1849. Ordained and installed at Fair- 
view April 17, 1850. Released April 26, 1871. Installed July 
20, 1877, Moundsville Church. Released September 15, 1886. 
Stated supply Cameron 1878-88. Married, October 26, 1849, 
Isabella Griffith, of Mercer, Pa. 

No. 172. Smith F. Grier, son of Rev. R. S. and Eliza- 
beth (Laverty) Grier, was born in Adams County, Pa., August 

7 



98 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

31, 1819. Communicant church of Cannonsburg 1838. Jef- 
ferson College 1839. Princeton Seminary 1841-42. Licensed 
April, 1842, Presbytery of New Castle. Ordained Presbytery 
Ohio April 19, 1843. Pastor Valley Church, Pa., 1843-52. 
Received from Presbytery of Ohio October 6, 1852. Installed 
December 14, 1852, New Cumberland and Frankfort Churches. 
Released from Frankfort October 7, 1857. Moderator Synod 
of Wheeling 1863. Synod of Pittsburgh, 1881. Married, Oc- 
tober 25, 1842, Jane Connelly, of Washington County, Pa. ; Oc- 
tober II, 1853, Eveline Miller, of Allegheny County, Pa.; De- 
cember I, 1 88 1, M. B. Snodgrass, of Pittsburgh. 

No. 184. WiivUAM Havens IvESTER, son of Richard and 
Sarah F, (Havens) Lester, was born at Bridgehampton, N. Y., 
December 4, 1825. Communicant church of Bri"dgehampton 
1843. Amherst College 1849. Princeton Seminary 1850-52. 
Licensed January 11, 1854, Presbytery of Albany. Received 
from Presbytery of Albany June 27, 1854. Ordained and in- 
stalled at West Alexander October 4, 1854. D.D. Washing- 
ton and Jefferson College 1887. Married, August 31, 1854, Ju- 
lia Elizabeth Hand, of Bridgehampton, N. Y. 

No. 243. IvAVERTY GriER, son of Rev. Robert S. and 
Elizabeth (Laverty) Grier, was born in Adams County, Pa., 
June 4, 1823. Communicant church of Cannonsburg 1845. 
Jefferson College 1847. Western Theological Seminary 1847- 
49. Licensed April, 1849, Presbytery of Carlisle. Ordained 
January, 1851, Presbytery of Clarion. Rimersburg, Bethlehem 
and Mill Creek, Pa., 1850-53. Bacon Ridge and East Spring- 
field, O., 1853-61. Received from Presbytery of Steubenville 
April 23, 1861. Installed June, 1861, Forks of Wheeling 
Church. Married, April 30, 185 i, to Margaret Jeffery, of Alle- 
gheny, Pa. 

No. 162. John S. Marquis, son of Robert and Mary 
(Stevenson) Marquis, was born near Cross Creek, Pa., May 19, 
1825. Communicant church of Cross Creek 1850. Washing- 
ton College 1848. Western Theological Seminary 1851-53. 
Candidate October 7, 185 i. Licensed April 20, 1853. Ordained 
April 18, 1855. Stated supply Sistersville 1853-57. Dismissed 
to Presbytery of Steubenville September 2, 1858. Stated sup- 




■^-^iVES B- ^" 



Present Members, III, 



PRESENT MEMBERS. 99 

ply Big Spring, New Cumberland and Fairmount, O., 1857-61. 
Pastor Richmond, Bacon Ridge and East Springfield 1862-65. 
Received from Presbytery of Steubenville April 28, 1868. 
Installed June 5, 1868, Pigeon Creek Church. Released Sep- 
tember 10, 1884. Stated supply Lower Ten Mile 1886. 
Teacher and Principal Jefferson Academy 1885-. Married June 
8, 1853, to Margaretta B. McConaughey, of Cross Creek, Pa, 

No. 289. Henry Woods, son of Andrew and Rebecca 
(Brison) Woods, was born in Marion County, Mo., July 2, 1838. 
Communicant church of Morgantown, Va., 1853. Washington 
College 1857. Western Theological Seminary 1859-62. Li- 
censed April II, 1 86 1, Presbytery of Baltimore. Ordained Oc- 
tober 22, 1862, Presbytery of Steubenville. Pastor First 
Church, Steubenville, O., 1862-67. Received from Presbytery 
of Steubenville May 19, 1868. Professor Washington and Jef- 
ferson College 1867. Stated supply Upper Ten Mile 1868-70. 
P. E. Second Church, Washington, 1870. Stated supply East 
Buffalo 1 87 1. D.D. Westminster College 1879. Stated Clerk, 
Synod of Pittsburgh, 1880-82. Stated Clerk of Presbytery 
1 887- Married, January 15, 1863, Mary L. Ewing, of Washing- 
ton, Pa. 

No. 281. James David Moffat, son of Rev. John and 
Mary A. (McNeelan) Moffat, was born in New Lisbon, O., 
March 15, 1846. Communicant Second Church of Wheeling, 
W. Va., 1864. Washington and Jefferson College 1869. Prince- 
ton Seminary 1869-71. Candidate April 26, 1866. Licensed 
April 26, 1867. Stated supply Second Church, Wheeling, 1871 
-j-^. Ordained and installed as co pastor May 8, 1873, Wheel- 
ing Second Church. Released December 14, 1881. President 
Washington and Jefferson College 1882-. D.D. 1882, Han- 
over College and Princeton College. Married, September 6, 
1876, Elizabeth D. Crangle, of Wheeling, W. Va. 

No. 323. Thomas Rush Alexander, son of Silas and 
Rachel (Longwell) Alexander, was born in Mifflin County, Pa., 
March 10, 1844. Communicant church of West Kishacoquil- 
las 1870. Washington and Jefferson College 1868. Western 
Theological Seminary 1870-73, Licensed April 10, 1872, 
Presbytery of Huntingdon. Received from Presbytery of 



lOO THE PRESBYTERY OP WASHINGTON. 

Huntingdon September 23, 1873. Ordained September 24, 
1873. Installed October 10, 1873, Mount Prospect Church. 
Married March 12, 1884, Elizabeth E. McNabb, of Lancaster, 
Pa. 

No. 256. James Boyd Stevenson, son of William and 
Eliza (Boyd) Stevenson, was born in Cross Creek, Pa., January 
22, 1828. Communicant church of Cross Creek 1845. Cross 

Creek Academy . Western Theological Seminary 1861- 

64. Candidate April 22, 1862. Licensed April 29, 1863. 
Dismissed to Presbytery of Steubenville April 18, 1870. Or- 
dained June 16, 1870, Presbytery of Steubenville. Stated sup- 
ply Linton and Evans' Creek 1870-71. Middle Sandy, O., 1871- 
73. Received from Presbytery of Zanesville April 2, 1874. 
Unity and Wolf Run 1873-75. Married, October 12, 1870, 
Sadie E. Beall, of West Lafayette, O. 

No. 336. William Ferguson Hamilton, son of Joseph 
and Margaret (Ferguson) Hamilton, was born in Monongahela 
City, Pa., March 24, 1824. Communicant church of Monon- 
gahela City 1843. Washington College 1844. Western Theo- 
logical Seminary 1846-49. Licensed April 18, 1849, Presbytery 
of Ohio. Ordained October 16, 1850, Presbytery of Ohio. 
Pastor Centre Church, Pa., 1852-55. Uniontown, Pa., 1855- 
66. Salem and Livermore 1868-75. Moderator Synod of 
Pittsburgh 1873. Received from Presbytery of Blairsville 
April 26, 1876. Stated supply Mount Pleasant Church 1875- 
8y. Adjunct professor Washington and Jefferson College 1876 
-80. Stated Clerk of Presbytery 1876-87. D.D. Wash- 
ington and Jefferson College 1882. Married, January 28, 1858, 
L. Louisa Beeson, of Mount Braddock, Fayette County, Pa. 

No. 340. David Ayres Cunningham, son of Thomas 
and Mary (Ayres) Cunningham, was born near Wooster, O. 
Communicant church of Mount Hope, O., at sixteen years of 
age. Jefferson College 1854. Western Theological Seminary 
1854-57. Licensed September, 1856, Presbytery of Wooster. 
Ordained October, 1857, Presbytery of Allegheny City. Pastor 
Bridgewater, Pa., 1857-64. Scot's Church, Philadelphia, 1864- 
66. Spring Garden Church, Philadelphia, 1866-76. Received 
from Presbytery of Philadelphia Central September 26, 1876. 



PRESENT MEMBERS. lOI 

Installed October 6, 1876, Wheeling First Church. Moderator 
Synod of Pennsylvania 1885. D.D. Washington and Jef- 
ferson College 1873. Married, August 26, 1858, Annie C. 
Sinclair, of Pittsburgh, Pa. 

No. 346. Ross Stevenson, son of William and Nancy 
(Patterson) Stevenson, was born in Strabane, Ireland. Commu- 
nicant church of Douglas about 1834. Franklin College 1840. 
Western Theological Seminary 1840-44. Licensed June, 1843, 
Presbytery of Ohio. Ordained June, 1844, Presbytery of Red- 
stone. Pastor Connellsville, Pa., 1844-52. Johnstown, Pa., 
1852-57. Stated supply Armagh and Centreville, Pa., 1857-60. 
Pastor Ligonier and Pleasant Grove 1860-71. Pastor Pisgah 
and Troy 1872-76. Received from Presbytery of Clarion 
April 25, 1877.' Installed July 6, 1877, Cross Roads Church. 
Released September 13, 1882. Installed December 12, 1882, 
Lower Ten Mile Church. Released April 29, 1886. Stated 
supply Mount Pleasant 1888. D.D. Franklin College 1878. 
Married, December 12, 1848, to Margaret Taylor, of Fay- 
ette County, Pa.; October 14, 1852, Elizabeth Hurst, of West- 
moreland County, Pa. ; January 30, 1855, Martha Ann Har- 
bison, of Indiana County, Pa. 

No. 356. William SpEER, son of Dr. James R. and 
Hetty (Morrow) Speer, was born in New Alexandria, Pa., April 
24, 1822. Communicant First Church, Pittsburgh, 1842. 
Kenyon College 1840. Studied medicine 1840-43. Western 
Theological Seminary 1843-46. Licensed April 21, 1846, 
Presbytery of Ohio. Ordained June 16, 1846, Presbytery of 
Ohio. Foreign Missionary Canton, China, 1846-50. Chinese 
in California 1852-57. Home Missionary Wisconsin and Minne- 
sota 1858-65. Corresponding Secretary Board of Education 
1865-76. China and Japan 1876-77. Received from Presby- 
tery of Philadelphia Central September 25, 1878. Evangelist 
1 877- D.D. Centre College 1866. Married, May 7, 1846, 
Cornelia Brackenridge, of Pittsburgh. Pa.; April 20, 1852, 
Elizabeth B. Ewing, of Washington, Pa. 

No. 373. WiNFiELD Euclid Hill, son of Sanford C. and 
Sarah (Leech) Hill, was born in East Liverpool, O., June 2, 
1842. Communicant church of Cannonsburg 1864. Jefferson 



f 
I02 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

College 1864. Western Theological Seminary 1865-68. Li- 
censed April 29, 1868, Presbytery of New Lisbon. Ordained 
May II, 1875, Presbytery of Lima. Stated supply Gettysburg 
and Fletcher, O., 1869-72. Wapakoneta 1872-76. Ottawa 
1876-79. Received from Presbytery of Lima April 28, 1880. 
Installed June 10, 1880, Fairview Church. Married, September 
27, 1870, Nannie Horner, of Gettysburg, O. 

No. 305. James Samuel Fleming, son of David Glerm 
and Martha (Steele) Fleming, was born in Washington County, 
Pa., August I, 1847. Communicant church of West Union 

1865. Washington and Jefferson College 1876. Western 
Theological Seminary 1876-79. Candidate September 27, 1871. 
Licensed April 25, 1878. Dismissed to Presbytery of Larned 
April, 1880. Ordained April 2, 1880, Presbytery of Larned. 
Received from Presbytery of Larned August 23, 1881. 

No. 391. William Henry Cooke, son of John and Sarah 
(Brown) Cooke, was born in Baltimore, Md., December 3, 1839. 
Communicant Central Church, Baltimore, 1855. Baltimore 

City College . Danville Theo. Seminary . Licensed 

April, 1 86 1, Presbytery of Transylvania. Ordained June 10, 
1862, Presbytery of New Castle. Pastor Port Deposit, Md., 
1862-65. P. E. Canal Street Church, New Orleans, and Broad- 
way Church, Baltimore, 1865-67. Pastor Havre de Grace, 
Md., 1867-82. Received from Presbytery of Baltimore April 
26, 1882. Installed October 29, 1882, Wheeling Second 

Church. D.D. Centre College . Married, June 30, 1868, 

Mary Melinda Hitchcock, of Havre de Grace, Md. 

No. 315. Joseph Alexander Donahey, son of William 
and Mary (Ely) Donahey, was born in Washington County, Pa., 
February 6, 1850. Communicant First Church of Washington 

1866. Washington and Jefferson College 1871. Western 
Theological Seminary 1871-74. Licensed April 24, 1873. 
Dismissed to Presbytery of Waterloo September 28, 1875. 
Ordained October 6, 1875, Presbytery of Waterloo. La Porte 
City, Iowa, 1875-78. Boone 1878-81, Received from Pres- 
bytery of Fort Dodge September 13, 1882. Stated supply 
Waynesburg 1882-. Married, July 13, 1876, Lizzie R. Mc- 
Clees, of Taylorstown, Washington County, Pa. 



PRESENT MEMBERS. IO3 

No. 183. George McDonald, son of John and Margaret 
(Byers) McDonald, was born near West Alexander, Washington 
County, Pa., February 25, 1825. Communicant church of 
West Alexander 1846. Studied rtieology under Rev. John 
McCluskey, D.D. Candidate October 5, 1853. Licensed 
April 23, 1857. Dismissed to Presbytery of St. Clairsville Oc- 
tober, 1858. Ordained April, i860, Presbytery of St. Clairs- 
ville. Stated supply and pastor Beallsville, O., 1859-83. 
Stated supply Powhatan 1860-82. Received from Presbytery 
of St. Clairsville April 25, 1883. Installed October 12, 1883, 
Upper Ten Mile Church. Married, May 20/1858, Martha S. 
Blayney, of West Alexander, Pa. 

No. 402. Adolphus Franklin Alexander, son of Cy- 
rus and Mary (Brown) Alexander, was born in Mifflin County, 
Pa., November 7, 1844. Communicant church of Milroy 1873. 
Western Theological Seminary 1875-78. Licensed April, 
1878, Presbytery of Pittsburgh. Ordained June, 1880, Presby- 
tery of Rock River. Stated supply and pastor Pre-emption and 
Beulah, 111., 1879-82. Received from Presbytery of Rock 
River April 25, 1883. Installed June 5, 1883, Cross Roads 
Church. Married, March 11, 1886, Flora A. Conn, of Florence, 
Washington County, Pa. 

No. 240. Henry Giles Blayney, son of Charles and 
Nancy (Faris) Blayney, was born in Ohio County, Va., March 
5, 1839. Communicant First Church of Washington '1858. 
Washington College i860. Wester^ Theological Seminary 
1860-62. Candidate October 3, i860. Licensed April 24, 
1862. United States Army 1862-65. Western Theological 
Seminary 1865-66. Dismissed to Presbytery of Zanesville 
October 12, 1867. Ordained April 28, 1869, Presbytery of 
St. Clairsville. Stated supply Mount Gilead, O., 1866-67. 
Madison 1867-68. Graysville 1868-69. Pastor Martinsville 
1869-72. Stated supply in Presbytery of West Virginia 1873— 
84. Received from Presbytery of West Virginia June 10, 1884, 
and installed same date Lower Buffalo Church. Married, Sep- 
tember 25, 1867, Carrie M. Todd, of Ohio County, West Vir- 
ginia; August 5, 1885, Esther Auld, of Iberia, O. 

No. 410, Loyal Young, son of Robert and Lydia (Gould) 



I04 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Young, was born in Charlemont, Mass., July i, 1806. Commu- 
nicant church of French Creek, Va., 1824. Jefferson College, 
1828. Western Theological Seminary, 1829-31. Licensed June 
21, 1832, Presbytery Ohio. ' Ordained December 4, 1833, Pres- 
bytery Allegheny. Pastor Butler, Pa., 1833-67. French Creek 
and Buckhannon, W. Va., 1868-75. Parkersburg, 1875-80. 
Stated supply Winfield, Point Pleasant and Pleasant Flats, 1880- 
85. Received from Presbytery West Virginia, December 9, 

1885. Moderator Synod of Allegheny, 1857. Moderator Synod 
of Pittsburgh, 1845 and 1872. D.D., Washington College, 1858. 
Married, October 25, 1832, Margaret Porter Johnston, daughter 
of Rev. Robert Johnston, of Rostraver, Westmoreland County, 
Pennsylvania. 

No. 418. Athelbert James Alexander, son of John 
and Nancy (Eagleson) Alexander, was born in Belmont County, 
Ohio, February 11, 1840. Communicant church of Martin's 
Ferry, O., 1859. Cincinnati College of Medicine, 1864. Western 
Theological Seminary, 1867-68. Licensed June 18, 1867, Pres- 
bytery St. Clairsville. Ordained October 26, 1869, Presbytery 
St. Clairsville. Pastor Scotch Ridge, O., 1867-85. Practiced 
medicine in connection with ministry. Received from Presbytery 
St. Clairsville, April 28, 1886. Installed June 5, 1886, West 
Union Church. Married, December 14, 1864, Louisa A. Pickens, 
of Belmont County, O. 

No: 419. pRANfi Fish, son of William and Margaret P. 
(Matthews) Fish, was borfi in Allegheny City, Pa., April 8, 1862, 
Communicant Third Church, Pittsburgh, 1874. Western Uni- 
versity, Pa., 1883. Western Theological Seminary, 1883-86. 
Licensed April 28, 1885, Presbytery Pittsburgh. Received from 
Presbytery Pittsburgh. April 28, 1886. Ordained April 29, 

1886. Installed May 29, 1886, Claysville Church. 

No. 420. J. Philander Anderson, son of James W. and 
Belinda A. (Moore) Anderson, was born in Lawrence County, 
Pa., March 13, 1856. Communicant church of Hopewell, Pa., 
1873. Washington and Jefferson College, 1883. Western Theo- 
logical Seminary, 1883-86. Licensed April 29, 1885, Presbytery 
Shenango. Received from Presbytery Shenango, April 28, 1886. 
Ordained April 29, 1886. Installed May 15, 1886, Cross Creek 



PRESENT MEMBERS. IO5 

Church. Married, September 8, 1886, to Teresa A. Burns, of 
Imperial, Allegheny Co., Pa. 

No. 421. Abraham BroweR Lowes, son of John and 
Mary Ann (Brovver) Lowes, was born in Warren County, Ohio, 
March 9, 1836. Communicant church of Somerset, O., about 
1850. Miami University, i860. Western Theological Semi- 
nary, 1860-61. United States Army, 1861-64. Western Theo- 
logical Seminary, 1864-66. Licensed September 6, 1865, Pres- 
bytery Cincinnati. Ordained June 6, 1867, Presbytery Fort 
Wayne. Pastor, Decatur, Indiana, 1867-68. Stated supply, 
Tidioute, Pa., 1869-70. Pastor, Mason, Ohio, 1871-74. Pastor, 
Belle Vernon, Pa., 1874-82. Teacher, Cannonsburg, Pa., 1882- 
84. Stated supply. Cool Spring and Fredonia, 1884-86. Re- 
ceived from Presbytery of Pittsburgh, September 15, 1886. Stated 
supply, West Liberty, 1886-88. Cove and Three Springs, 1888. 
Married, January 17, 1866, Mary Belle Elliott, daughter of Rev. 
David Elliott, D.D., of Allegheny, Pa. 

No. 422. James Henry Snowden, son of William and 
Violetta (Thayer) Snowden, was born in Hookstown, Pa., Octo- 
ber 18, 1852. Communicant church of Wellsville, Ohio, 1866. 
Washington and Jefferson College, 1875. Western Theological 
Seminary, 1875-78. Licensed April 24, 1877, Presbytery Steu- 
benville. Ordained May 6, 1879, Presbytery Huron. Pastor, 
Huron, Ohio, 1879-83. Stated supply, Plymouth, 1883. Sharon, 
Pa., 1883-86. Received from Presbytery Shenango, December 
15, 1886. Installed March 6, 1887, Washington, Second Church. 
Married, August i, 1878, Mary A. Ross, of Wellsville, O. 

No. 384. Lewis William Barr, son of John and Jane 
(Durbin) Barr, was born in West Liberty, W. Va., January 15, 
1857. Communicant church of West Liberty, 1876. Waynes- 
burg College, 188 1. Western Theological Seminary, 1881-84. 
Candidate April 26, 1881. Licensed April 25, 1883, Dismissed 
to Presbytery of Clarion April 11, 1884. Ordained April 24, 
1884, Presbytery of Clarion. Pastor, Leatherwood and Bethle- 
hem, 1884-86. Received from Presbytery of Clarion December 
15, 1886. Installed July 17, 1887, Wheeling, Third Church. 
Married, April 17, 1889, Margaret B. Hicks, of Moundsville, 
West Virginia. 



Io6 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

No. 428. Joseph Lawrence Weaver, son of John G. and 
Margaret A. (Alter) Weaver, was born in Freeport, Pa., June 20, 
1855. Communicant church of Shrader Grove, 1870, Wash- 
ington and Jefferson College, 1880. Western Theological Semi- 
nary, 1880-83. Licensed June, 1882, Presbytery of Kittanning. 
Ordained November 6, 1883, Presbytery of St. Clairsville. Pas- 
tor, Morristown and West Brooklyn, O., 1883-87. Received 
from Presbytery of St. Clairsville, April 12, 1887. Installed May 

10, 1887, Burgettstown Church. Married, October 21, 1884, 
Flora A. Grimes, of Uniontovvn, O. 

No. 429. Benjamin Franklyn Myers, son of Benjamin 
and Mary (Carothers) Myers, was born in Cumberland County, 
Pa. .January 28, 1833. Communicant church of Big Spring, 
Pa. , 1 85 1. Jefferson College, 1854. Teacher. 1854-56. Western 
Theological Seminary, 1856-59. Licensed. January, 1859, Pres- 
bytery of Allegheny. Ordained June, 1859, Presbytery of Red- 
stone. Pastor, Somerset and Jenner, 1859-60. Stated supply, 
Chestnut Grove, Md., 1861-70. Pastor, Bethel, 1864-71. Snow 
Hill, Md., 1872-77. New Loudon, Pa., 1877-79. Darby, 1879- 
82. Slatington, 1882-83. Teacher, 1883-84. Received from 
Presbytery of Chester, April 13, 1887. P. E., Moundsville, 1887. 
Married, December 26, 1861, Virginia Bull, of Baltimore, Md. 

No. 430. Robert Madison Brown, * son of William and 
Eliza (Warner) Brown, was born in Beaver County, Pa., August 

11, 1839. Communicant First Church, Allegheny City, 1854. 
Jefferson College, 1864. Western Theological Seminary, 1864- 
67. Licensed April 10, 1866, Presbytery of Allegheny City. 
Ordained October 6, 1868, Presbytery of Beaver. Pastor, West 
Middlesex, 1868-71. Rouseville, 1871-73. Irwin, 1873-77. 
Emsworth, Pa., 1877-80. Bellaire, Ohio, 1881-87. Received 
from Presbytery of St. Clairsville, June 28, 1887, and installed 
Wellsburg Church. D.D., Washington and Jefferson College, 
1886. Married, October 8, 1868, Katherine J. Blaine, of Bridge- 
water, Pa. 

No. 439. James Donehoo Spriggs, son of Joseph and 
Margaret (Donehoo) Spriggs, was born in Washington, Pa., 
March 16, 1856. Communicant M. E. Church, Washington, 

* Died at Wellsburgh, West Virginia, April 19, 1889. 



PRESENT MEMBERS. I07 

1874. Washington and Jefferson College, 1878. Boston U. 
School of Theology, 1881. Licensed and ordained, 1881, New 
York Conference. Peekskill, N. Y., 1881-83. Housatonic, 1883- 
85. Received by Presbytery of Pittsburgh, 1885. Western 
Theological Seminary, 1885. Received from Presbytery of Pitts- 
burgh, September 13, 1887. Stated supply. Cove, 1887-88. 
Married, May 24, 1883, Annie Y. Wilson, of Washington, Pa. 

No. 273. Samuel Graham, son of James and Elizabeth 
(Miller) Graham, was born in Armstrong (now Clarion) County, 
Pa.', January 15, 1830. Communicant church of Concord, 1849. 
Washington College, i860. Western Theological Seminary, 
1860-63. Licensed April, 1862, Presbytery of Clarion. Re- 
ceived from Presbytery of Clarion, October 13, 1865. Ordained 
and installed November 20, 1865, Mill Creek Church. Released 
October 3, 1866. Installed November 13, 1867, Wolf Run and 
Allen Grove Churches. Released October 16, 1868. Stated 
supply Unity and teacher, 1869-72, Dismissed to Presbytery 
of West Virginia, October 21, 1872. Newburg and Kingwood, 
1873-88. Received from Presbytery of West Virginia, April 10, 
1888. Stated supply. Unity, 1888. Married, May 28, 1862, 
Nancy Jane Jolly, of Venango County, Pa. ; November 7, 1870, 
Melinda J. Archer, of Prosperity, Pa. 

No. 380. James Clayton Garver, son of John B. and 
Ann Maria (Wolf) Garver, was born in Franklin County, Pa., 
October 21, 1850. Communicant church of Green Hill, 1870. 
Waynesburg College, 1880. Candidate April 28, 1880. Western 
Theological Seminary, 1880-83. Licensed April 27, 1882. Or- 
dained April 26, 1883. Dismissed to Presbytery of Carlisle, 
September 12, 1883. Stated supply, Landisburg and Shermans- 
dale, Pa., 1882-83. Pastor, Pennfield and Winterburn, 1884-87. 
Received from Presbytery of Huntingdon April 11, 1888. Mar- 
ried, June 13, i88»3, Margaret A. White, of Moundsville, 
West Va. 

No. 405. Thomas Alexander Anderson, son of John 

R. and Sarah A. (White) Anderson, was born in Claysville, Pa., 

September lu, i860. Communicant church of West Alexander, 

'1874. Washington and Jefferson College, 1884. Western 

Theological Seminary, 1884-86. Union Seminary, 1886-87. 



Io8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Candidate September lo, 1884. Licensed April 28, il 
Ordained April 11, 1888. Installed May 8, 1888, Upper Buf- 
falo Church. 

No. 442. Harry O. Gilson, son of David R. and Beulah 
A. (Hoffstat) Gilson, was born in West Point, O., October 25, 
1859. Communicant Madison Church, 1874. Wooster Uni- 
versity, 1885. Western Theological Seminary, 1885-88. Licensed 
April 27, 1887, Presbytery Steubenville. Received from Pres- 
bytery of Steubenville April ii, 1888. Ordained April 11, 1888. 
Installed June 7, 1888, Pigeon Creek Church. Married, June 5, 
1888, Nannie Pryse, of Wooster, O. 

No. 397. James B. LylE, son of William and Sarah J. (Rob- 
ertson) Lyle, was born in Cross Creek, Pa., July 6, i860. Com- 
municant church of Cross Creek, 1879. Washington and 
Jefferson College, 1885. Western Theological Seminary, 1885- 
88. Candidate December 15, 1882. Licensed April 13, 1887. 
Ordained April 11, 1888. Installed June 7, 1888, Mill Creek 
Church, and June 8, 1888, Mount Olivet Church. Married, May 
15, 1888, Elizabeth Rachel Marquis, of Cross Creek, Pa. 

No. 441. John Caldwell Pickens, son of William and 
Jane (Caldwell) Pickens, was born in Martin's Ferry, O., August 
31, 1859. Communicant church of Scotch Ridge, 1874. Wash- 
ington and Jefferson College, 1885. Western Theological Sem- 
inary, 1885-88. Licensed 1887, Presbytery of St. Clairsville. 
Received from Presbytery of St. Clairsville April 10, 1888. 
Ordained April ii, 1888. Installed June 19, 1888, Frankfort 
Church. Married, May 15, 1888, Ida Newcome, of New Bethle- 
hem, Pa. 

No. 293. Abner Otis Rockwell, son of Zerah and Phebe 
(Carter) Rockwell, was born in Cambridge, Pa., May 10, 1819. 
Jefferson College, 1843. Western Theological Seminary, 1843- 
45. Licensed September 6, 1845. Ordained January 15, 1848, 
Presbytery of New Lisbon. Stated supply, Middlesex and 
Sharon, 1845-47. Pastor, Hubbard and Coitsville, O. , 1847-52. 
Bethlehem and North Branch, 1852-55. Pastor, Mingo, 1856- 
58. Lebanon, 1859-69. Received from Presbytery of Ohio, 
September 28, 1869. Installed December 21, 1869, Frankfort 
Church. Released October 16, 1875. Dismissed to Pittsburgh 



INDEX. 



109 



October 19, 1877. Received from * U. P. Presbytery Septem- 
ber 25, 1888. Married, January 15, 1846, Sarah Ives, of . 



INDEX. 

No. 



Able, Lewis J 306 

Agnew, J. Holmes 48 

Aiken, William 206 

Alexander, A. F 402 

Alexander, A. J 418 

Alexander, E. C 444 

Alexander, J. K 349 

Alexander, J. W 217 

Alexander, T. R 323 

Alexander, W. J 205 

Alexander, W. L 358 

Alrich, W. P 50 

Anderson, James 37 

Anderson, John 4 

Anderson, J. P 420 

Anderson, Thomas A 405 

Anderson, W. C 36 

Andrews, J. E 295 

Arbuthnot, James 24 

Armstrong, F. E 406 

Armstrong, Martin I90 

Atkinson, J. S 331 

Atkinson, W. J. A 445 

Aughey, J. H 345 

Baker, Perrine 287 

Barr, L. W 384 

Bausman, J. H 381 

Belden, E. L 169 

Bell, Robert 145 

Birch, G. W. F 215 

Black, James 242 

Blackford, A. L 166 

Blackford, R. A 193 

Blayney, C. P. . . ; 342 

Blayney, H. G 240 

Blayney, J. M 241 

Boggs, James 60 

Bollman, S. P 88 

Bombarger, C 86 

Bonar, William 108 

Boyd, A. W, . . 271 



No. 

Boyd, T. F 374 

Braddock, Cyrus 161 

Braddock, Francis 133 

Braddock, Joseph 125 

Britt, F. P 333 

Brown, A. C 376 

Brown, David 258 

Brown, Faris 237 

Brown, J. A 269 

Brown, Richard 18 

Brown, R. M 430 

Brownlee, E. S 425* 

Brownson, James 1 143 

Brownson, M. A 362 

Bruce, J. C 300 

Brugh, W. 1 270 

Bryan, A. V 369 

Buchanan, A. M. 378 

Bunting, R. F 175 

Burton, William 74 

Caldwell, J. C 232 

Caldwell, J. P 227 

Calhoun, J. Y 153 

Callen, J. H 141 

Campbell, D. R 155 

Campbell, E. V 218 

Campbell, O. J IIO 

Campbell, H. N 407 

Campbell, Richard 31 

Carothers, John 67 

Carson, Irwin , . 132 

Carson, J. C 109 

Chadwick, John 370 

Chestnut, Thomas , 43 

Childs, H. S 375 

Churchhill, E 21 

Clark, James 157 

Clemens, William 178 

Collins, C. N 194 

Colmery, David ........ 22 

Cooke, Silas 326 



* U. P. is for United Presbyterian. 



no 



THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 



No. 

Cooke, W. H ... 391 

Cowden, J. G 392 

Cozad, Jacob 10 

Crane, N. M 57 

Cratty, Thomas 42 

Crawford, J. A 446 

Criswell, R. C 128 

Crocket, D. R 328 

Cross, Jonathan 280 

Crowe, George C 168 

Cummings, P. J 246 

Cunningham, D. A 340 

Curtis, J. F 334 

.Davis, J. S 225 

Davis, S. T 297 

Day, A. R 197 

Day, E. W 394 

Denman, M. A 396 

Deruelle, Daniel 63 

Dickey, D. L 335 

Dickson, Cyrus 139 

Dinsmore, J. H 100 

Dinsmore, J. M 156 

Dinsmore, J. W 236 

Dinsmore, R. S 126 

Dinsmore, Thomas 97 

Dodd, Cephas 5 

Dodge, R. V 201 

Donahey, J. A 31c 

Donah ey, M. L 298 

Donehoo, E. R. ........ 221 

Doolittle, H. L 261 

Duncan, George A. ..... . 368 

Duncan, J. R 176 

Eagleson, A. G 314 

Eagleson, John 58 

Eagleson, W. S 248 

Eaton, W. M 403 

Elliott, David. 35 

Elliott, S. E 341 

Ely, J. C 332 

Ely, R. W 398 

Ewing, J. A 230 

Ewing, William 134 



No. 

Paris, John M 89 

Paris, S. C 400 

Paris, W. B 214 

Parmer, William 427 

Farrar, R. B 222 

Ferguson, W. M 138 

Field, E. A 387 

Finney, T. M loi 

Fish, Frank 419 

Fisher, D. W 244 

Fisher, George M 395 

Fleming, D. B 285 

Fleming, James 79 

Fleming, J. S 305 

Forbes, Samuel 321 

Forsythe, McNary 291 

Prazer, George 320 

Frazier, W. J 17 

Fredericks, J. T 208 

Fredericks, W. J 415 

French, C. P 170 

Pulton, George W 424 

Pulton, J. P 154 

Fulton, J. L 288 

Pulton, Robert 71 

Fulton, R. H 245 

Fulton, R. J 160 

Pulton, Samuel 81 

Fulton, W. R 159 

Garver, J. C 380 

Carver, J. K , . 408 

Gibson, W. T 337 

Gilmore, J. W 276 

Gilson, H. 442 

Glenn, S. M 309 

Gordon, George 129 

Gordon, Joseph 112 

Graham, E. S 76 

Graham, J. B 274 

Graham, J. J 401 

Graham, J. P 282 

Graham, Samuel 273 

Graves, L. M 83 

Grier, Laverty 243 

Grier, S. P. 172 



INDEX. 



Ill 



No. 

Hair, G, M 121 

Hair, Samuel 73 

Hair, S. G 409 

Hales, John 47 

Hall, W. M 106 

Hamilton, A. R 182 

Hamilton, J. H 152 

Hamilton, J. R 272 

Hamilton, J. W 275 

Hamilton, W. B 411 

Hamilton, W. F 336 

Hanna, William 252 

Harsha, W. P 116 

Hartzell, O. M 292 

Hartzell, W. H 283 

Harvison, W. P 187 

Hassinger, Peter 62 

Hastings, J. M 114 

Hattery, John . 70 

Hawkins, John 23 

Hays, George P 303 

Hays, George S 399 

Hayes, J. N 344 

Hazlett, J. M 173 

Heagen, J. W . . 191 

Hench, J. C 302 

Henderson, S. M 262 

Henderson, S. T 317 

Herron, Robert 135 

Hervey, David 29 

Hervey, Henry 30 

Hervey, James 9 

Hervey, McKinley 163 

Hervey, J. C 260 

Hershey, A. M 85 

Hickey, Yates 312 

Hickhng, James 361 

Hickman, George M 382 

Hill, W. E 373 

Hoge, Thomas . 8 

Holliday, R. H 189 

Holliday, S. H 179 

Hunter, A. S 385 

Hunter, R. A 386 

Hunter, W. H 355 

Inman, J. P 299 



No. 

Irvine, J. E 416 

Irwin, David 137 

Irwin, J. M 412 

Jeffery, S. H. 164 

Jenkins, E. H. 372 

Jennings, Obadiah 16 

Jennings, S. C 27 

Jordan, John 234 

Keeling, W. B 207 

Kelley, John 151 

Kerr, J. D 255 

Kerr, John 66 

Kerr, W. A 219 

Knox, John eg 

Koontz, Hugh 20 

Laird, T. R 263 

Langfit, O. T 366 

Laughran, Cornelius 32 

Laverty, D. H 199 

Deeper, J. L 393 

Leonard, Abner 28 

Lester, W. H 184 

Lewis, E. P 322 

Leyda, J. E 329 

Lindley, Jacob 34 

Linn, Alonzo 310 

Linn, S. P 259 

Lloyd, J. T 308 

Long, D. E 404 

Lowes, A. B. . . , 421 

Lyon, N. B 216 

Lyle, J. B 397 

Lyle, J. G 363 

Lyle, J. P 364 

Lyle, U. L 417 

Mackey, W. A 338 

Macurdy, Elisha 3 

Magill, C. B 223 

Magill, J. F 220 

Magill, Thomas 53 

Marquis, James E 123 

Marquis, John 115 

Marquis, John A 43 1 



112 



THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 



Marquis, John S. ...... . 162 

Marquis, Thomas I 

Marshall, George 44 

Mason, J. D 90 

Mason, W. C 117 

McAfee, James 94 

McCarrell, Alexander ..... 1 31 

McCarrell, J. J 316 

McCarrell, T. C 353 

McCarrell, W. A 290 

McCartney, W. D 61 

McCaughey, W. H 348 

McClintock, John 69 

McCluskey, John ^^ 

McCollum, George 360 

McCombs, J. C 196 

McCombs, William 65 

McConaughey, David 51 

McCoy, John B. ........ . 78 

McCrea, W. E 301 

McCuskey, W. H 266 

McDonald, George 183 

McFarland, D. F 144 

McFarland, George M 247 

McFarland, S. G 188 

McFaiTen, S 19 

McFie, Daniel 325 

Mclntyre, J. A 279 

McLain, William 12 

McKennan, J. W 38 

McKinley, E. G 284 

McMillan, Robert 181 

McNulty, CM 318 

Mealy, John M 264 

Miller, D. M 286 

Miller, John 102 

Milligan, Josiah 150 

Milligan, J. V 350 

Minton, H. C 367 

Mitchell, John 45 

Moffat, James D 281 

Moffat, John 254 

Montgomery, A. J 440 

Moody, Samuel 49 

Moore, J. R 167 

Moore, John 72 

Moore, John 98 



No. 

Moore, John 202 

Moore, Joseph P 229 

Moore, Marion 388 

Moore, R. R 294 

Morton, R. S 186 

Morton, W. W 383 

Murray, N 130 

Myers, B. F 429 

Newell, George B 171 

Newell, Thomas M 140 

Oiler, W. E 343 

Orr, William 55 

Oxtoby, John T 251 

Paden, W. M 389 

Palmer, James 433 

Patterson, A. O II 

PauU, Alfred 147 

Pickens, John C 441 

Pinney, J. B 136 

Plummer, W. F 426 

Pollock, George W 365 

Pollock, W. G 377 

Pomeroy, J. B 352 

Pomeroy, J. S 146 

Porter, R. B 339 

Powelson, B. F 211 

Praig, James S 226 

Price, Robert T 278 

Quillan, Ezekiel 177 

Ralston, J. H 319 

Ralston, J. G. 92 

Ramsay, James S 204 

Reed, Alexander 192 

Reed, James 265 

Reed, John B 239 

Reed, J. L 304 

Reed, Samuel 25 

Reynolds, J. H. , 127 

Reynolds, Thomas 443 

Riheldaffer, J. G 99 

Richart, W 87 

Riggle, George W 267 



INDEX. 



113 



No. 

Robbins, Ludovicus 14 

Rockwell, A. 293 

Roberts, Belville 296 

Robinson, David 105 

Robinson, W. M 253 

Roemer, J. L 423 

Rogers, D. B 347 

Rossborough, H. 149 

Ross, A. F 238 

Rowe, John Ml 

Russell, Watson 231 

Sawhill, B 56 

Sawhill, E. 413 

Scott, George 200 

Scott, George K 1 95 

Scott, George M 2 

Scott, J. W 39 

Scott, J. W 142 

Shaiffer, G. W 96 

Sherrard, J. H 357 

Shotwell, Nathan 80 

Skilling, D. M 447 

Skinner, I. L 13 

Slagle, B. W 198 

Sloan, James 64 

Smith, James 40 

Smith, James 104 

Smith, James H 224 

Smith, James M 77 

Smith, John M 228 

Smith, Thomas E 93 

Smith, WiUiam 1 19 

Smith, W. C 313 

Smith, W.D 52 

Snowden, J. H 422 

Speer, William 356 

Spillman, J. H 268 

Spriggs, J. D 439 

Stephenson, James 113 

Stevenson, Joseph 6 

Stevenson, J. B 256 

Stevenson, J, H 324 

Stevenson, Ross 346 

Stewart, Charles 41 

Stewart, J. B 14S 

Stitt, J. M 354 

8 



No. 

Stockton, John 26 

Stockton, J. P. P 210 

Stockton, W. A. F 249 

Stoneroad, Joel 120 

Sutherland, J. H 434 

Taylor, Z. B 35 1 

Templeton, Joseph 68 

Templeton, Milo 1 22 

Templeton, S. M 84 

Thompson, J. P 9 1 

Todd, M. L 250 

Todd, O. M 174 

Todd, Thomas n8 

Torrance, Adam 371 

Trussell, J. H 327 

Vance, Joseph 213 

Van Buskirk, A. S 307 

Van Cleve, B. G 379 

Van Cleve, W. S 212 

Van Eman, C. R 95 

Vincent, W. R. . . 124 

Walkinshaw, J. D 330 

Waugh, Joseph 209 

Weaver, J. L 428 

Weed, H. R 54 

Wherry, J. H 233 

Welsh, W. S 414 

White, R. M 75 

White, W. M 257 

Whitham, J. D 103 

Williams, D 311 

Wilson, George P 359 

Wilson, S. J 180 

Wines, E. C 185 

Wishart, Marcus 203 

Woods, Edgar 165 

Woods, Henry 289 

Wotring, F. R. , . 235 

Wright, William 107 

Wylie, Andrew 7 

Wyhe, D. W 277 

Wylie, Joseph S 158 

Wylie, William 15 

Young, Loyal 410 



114 



THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 



COMMISSIONERS TO THE GENERAI. ASSEMBLY. 

1820. Rev. Andrew Wylie. 

1821. Rev. Andrew Wylie. 

1822. Rev. Thomas Hoge. 

1823. Rev. James Hervey. 

1824. Rev. Andrew Wylie. 

1825. Rev. Andrew Wylie and Rev. Obadiah Jennings. 

1826. Rev. John Anderson and Rev. Obadiah Jennings. 

1827. Rev. Andrew Wylie. 

1828. Rev. John Stockton. 

1829. Rev. Andrew Wylie. 

1830. Rev. David Elliott and Rev. John McCluskey. 

1831. Rev. William Wylie and Rev. Wm. C. Anderson; 
Ruling Elders, John Elliott * and Walter Craig.* 

1832. Rev. James Hervey and Rev. John McCluskey ; Elders, 
Redick McKee and J. McFarren. 

1833. Rev. John Stockton and Rev. David Elliott;* Elders, 
Jacob Slagle and Sterling C. Cuthbert.* 

1834. Rev. James W. McKennan and Elder James McFarren. 

1835. Rev. David Elliott and Elder Walter Craig. 

1836. Rev. William P. Alrich and Elder James McFarren. 

1837. Rev. James Hervey and Elder Jacob Slagle. 

1838. Rev. John Stockton and Elder James Lee, 

1839. Rev. Daniel Deruelle and Elder James McFarren. 

1840. Rev. Robert M. White and Elder Thomas Orr. 

1841. Rev. E. S. Graham and Elder David Riddle. 

1842. Rev. John McCluskey and Elder Francis Braddock. 
i8zi3. Rev. James Sloan and Rev. John Eagleson ; Elders, 

Robert Patterson and Russell Moore. 

1844. Rev. John Stockton and Elder Jacob Slagle. 

1845. Rev. Henry R. Weed and Elder Thomas Thompson. 

1846. Rev. R. M. White and Elder James Moody. 

1847. Rev. James Fleming and Elder Matthew Glass.* 

Note. — Those marked with a * did not attend. The following served as alter- 
nates : 1833, Rev. David Hervey; 1847, Elder James McFarren ; 1853, Elder Wm. 
Mercer; 1872, Elder Noel K. Shattuck ; 1881, Elder Wm. G. Pollock, 



COMMISSIONERS TO GENERAL ASSEMBLY. II 5 

1848. Rev. John McCluskey and Rev. David Robinson ; El- 
ders, William Ewing and David Riddle. 

1849. Rev. James Hervey and Rev. Francis Braddock ; * 
Elders, James Lee and Robert Crangle. 

1850. Rev. David Hervey and Rev. Thomas M. Newell ; El- 
ders, Samuel Ott * and Thomas Elder. 

1851. Rev. John Stockton and Rev. Alexander McCarrell ; 
Elders, Jacob Slagle and James Dinsmore. 

1852. Rev. Nicholas Murray and Rev. Nathan Shotwell ; 
Elders, R. R. Reed * and James Lee. 

1853. Rev. D. R. Campbell and Rev. Cyrus Dickson; El- 
ders, John Duncan * and Samuel Ott* 

1854. Rev. James L Brownson and Rev. J. S. Pomeroy; El- 
ders, Joseph Henderson and Robert Crangle. 

1855. Rev. E. C. Wines and James P. Fulton; Elders, 
George Baird and William Cunningham, 

1856. Rev. Alfred Paull and Rev. James Fleming; Elders, 
Zachariah Jacobs and James Jamieson. 

1857. Rev. James Sloan and Rev. James W. McKennan ; 
Elders, Greer Mcllvaine and James Campbell. 

1858. Rev. John Eagleson and Elder Edward H. Fitzhugh. 

1859. Rev. Samuel J. Wilson and Rev. Smith F. Grier ; El- 
ders, R. R. Reed and Matthew Dill. 

i860. Rev. R. V. Dodge and Rev. R. S. Morton; Elders, 
Samuel Vance and Parker Reed. 

1861. Rev. W. P. Alrich and Rev. John Stockton ; Elders, 
John McDonald and Stephen L. Blatchly. 

1862. Rev. John W.Scott and Rev. James Sloan; Elders, 
John Duncan and A. K. Craig. 

1863. Rev. James L Brownson and Rev. Wm. B. Keeling; 
Elders, Thomas McKennan and Joseph Vance. 

1864. Rev. W. H. Lester and Rev. Alexander McCarrell; 
Elders, William Mercer and James Rankin. 

1865. Rev. David Hervey and Rev. W. J. Alexander; El- 
ders, Samuel McClain and Samuel N. Orr. 

1866. Rev. James Fleming and Rev. D. W. Fisher; Elders, 
Wm. Ming NicoU and Thomas McKean. 



Il6 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

1867. Rev. James I. Brownson and Rev. J. S. Pomeroy; 
Elders, Geo. G. Orr and Montgomery Walker. 

1868. Rev. John Eagleson and Rev. J. T. Fredericks; El- 
ders, William Lee and John H. Atkinson. 

1869. Rev. John Moffat and Rev. S. F. Grier; Elders, John 
C. Hervey and James L. Patterson. 

1870. Rev. John Stockton and Rev. James Alexander; El- 
ders, James Paull and Thomas Hanna. 

187 1. Rev. Laverty Grier and Rev. John A. Brown; Elders, 
Thomas R. Laird and Joseph Scott. 

1872. Rev. Robert T. Price and Rev. John B. Graham; El- 
ders, William Donahey and W. M. Campbell.* 

1873. Rev. David Hervey and Rev. Alexander McCarrell ; 
Elders, William L Cool and Thomas S. Irwin. 

1874. Rev. W. H. Lester and Rev. D. W. Fisher; Elders, 
James Todd and Geo. W. Campbell. 

1875. Rev. James I. Brownson and Rev. J. S. Pomeroy; El- 
ders, John W. Brown * and Samuel Braden, 

1876. Rev. John S. Marquis and Rev. Henry Woods; El- 
ders, John W. Brown and James Walker. 

1877. Rev. J. T. Fredericks and Rev. A, O. P.ockwill ; El- 
ders, W. M. Campbell and D. M. Pry. 

1878. Rev. S. F. Grier and Rev. R. B. Farrar; Elders, James 
H. Braddock and David Kerr. 

1879. Rev. John Stockton and Rev. Daniel Williams; El- 
ders, Alexander Bone and H. H. Clark. 

1880. Rev. J. D. Moffat and Rev. John A. Brown; Elders, 
John C. Messenger and Samuel D. White. 

1 881. Rev. John B. Graham and Rev. George Eraser; El- 
ders, S. D. Lockhart * and R. A. McConnell. 

1882. Rev. J. D. Walkinshaw and Rev. T. R. Alexander; 
Elders, Gibson L. Cranmer and John Reed. 

1883. Rev. W. F. Hamilton and Rev. James L. Reed; El- 
ders, M, Wilson McClane and A. F. Hervey. 

1884. Rev. W. H. Lester and D. A. Cunningham; Elders, 
Stephen L. Blatchly and J. R. McLain. 

1885. Rev. James L Brownson and Rev. J. S. Pomeroy; El- 
ders, A. Ridgley Jacobs and A. S. Eagleson. 



RULING ELDERS. 



117 



1886. Rev. John S. Marquis and Elder Alex. McFlanegan. 

1887. Rev. Henry Woods and Elder John Aiken. 

1888. Rev. James I. Brownson and Rev, Laverty Grier; El- 
ders, Robert White and Berridge L. Crow. 

RULING ELDERS. 

The records of Presbytery for the first twenty years of its ex- 
istence contain the names of 183 ruling elders as present, but 
without naming the churches to which they severally belonged. 
In the case of many of them, there had been frequent attend- 
ance at the meetings of Ohio Presbytery. Others continued to 
attend in Presbytery of Washington long after the expiration of 
this period of twenty years. We give the whole list, arranged 
according to the year of first enrollment in the Presbytery of 
Washington. The figures appended to the names show how 
often each elder was present within the period named. 

1819. William Brown, I ; Ziba Casterline, i ; Joseph Dona- 
hey, 1 1 ; John Flack, 1 1 ; David Gray, i ; John Henry, i ; John 
Maxwell, 3. 

1820. Thomas Atkinson, 2; John Amspoker, 5; Archibald 
Brownlee, 12; Adam Paris, 17; John Fans, 9 ; Aaron Kerr, 2; 
George Lee, i; George Miller, 11; James McConaughey, 4; 
John Marquis, i; John McCullough, i; David McComb, 4; 
Samuel Maxwell, 5 ; Arthur Scott, 8 ; John Wylie, 2 ; Thomas 
Yates, 9. 

1 82 1. George Anderson, i; Samuel Axtell, 2; Thomas 
Byers, 3 ; Richard Campbell, 2 ; James Ewing, i ; James Flem- 
ing, 2 ; John Gilchrist, 9; Henry Giles, 15; John McWilliams, 
3; Samuel McKibben, 4; John McMillan, 4; James Proudfit, 
10; Hugh Sprowls, 10. 

1822. Barnet Bonar, 10; Jacob Hathaway, 1 1 ; Wm. Hughes, 
i; * James Kerr, 15; Hugh Lee, 15; James McCammant, 2 ; 
Jacob Rickey, i ; Wm. Rea, i. 

1823. John Baird, i ; Thomas Harsha, i ; John Jackson, i ; 
John Lindley, 4; Wm. McKinley, 3; James Reed, 6; Thomas 
Stewart, 9. 

* There were two of this name — one in Pigeon Creek and one in Cross Roads. 



Il8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

1824. Zenas Condit, 3 ; John Cowan, i; Robert Lyle, i ; 
Robert McCready, 3 ; Alex. McCullough, i ; Robert Ramsey, 
4; Thomas Thompson, 6; John Thornburg, 2, 

1825. Thomas Cameron, 5 ; John Harshey, 2; Samuel Meeks, 
3; John Orr, 10 ; George Sutherland, 9 ; Thomas Stockton, 6 ; 
Wm. Wallace, 7 ; Hugh Wylie, 1 ; Robert Withrow, 3. 

1826. * John Duncan, 9; Peter W. Gale, i ; John Miller, 7; 
Joseph McFerran, 2. 

1827. Ephraim Cooper, 3; Wm. Murray, 2; Redick McKee, 
4; Joseph Vance, 2; Adam Weir, 5. 

1828. Nathan Axtell, 4; Wm. Cochrane, 4; Wm. Clark, i ; 
John Elliott, 4 ; Thomas Fergus, 2 ; Andrew Farrar, 2 ; James 
Orr, 3 ; Jacob Slagle, 7 ; James Wallace, 2. 

1829. Wm. Archer, i ; John Dinsmore, 11 ; Wm. Ewing, 6; 
Charles Hawkins. 7 ; Lewis Kerr, lO" Robert McConaughey, 
8 ; Samuel Oldham, 5 ; Robert Officer, 4 ; John Pollock, 5 ; 
Alex. Ramsey, i ; Wm. Simpson, 8. 

1830. Simeon Brooks, 2 ; John Edie, i ; Andrew Henderson, 
3; Joseph McCready, 3; George Newell, 7; Thomas Orr, 6; 
Hugh Pugh, 2. 

1 83 1. Sylvanus Cooper, 1 ; Walter Craig, 5; Wm. Cowan, 
6; Israel Day, i; Robert Miller, 2; John Sharp, 6; Daniel 
Stewart, 4; John Wolf, i ; Jacob White, 10. 

1832. Thomas Axtell, i; Robert Colmery, 3; Martin Ely, 
6; John Laughlin, 5; James McFarrcn, 6; Hugh McCon- 
aughey, 5; John Pittenger, 2; Robert Patterson, 5; James 
Smith, 2 ; Nath. W. Smith, i ; John Thompson, 3 ; Andrew 
Yates, 2. 

1833. Jonas Condit, 3; Stirling C. Cuthbert, 2; Samuel 
Moore, 10; Wm. McLain, 4; John McDonald, 3; Hugh Max- 
well, I ; Ebenezer Smith, 3. 

1834. John Atkinson, 4; John C. Bayliss, 2 ; Lewis Dille, 
3 ; Alex. D. Gunn, 3 ; Wm. Hervey, i ; Samuel Vance, 2 ; 
James Thompson, 4. 

1835. Francis Braddock, 12; Wm. Carothers, 2; John Horack, 
I ; Zachariah Jacob, 4 ; James Kady, i. 

1836. Robert Caldwell, 3; John Cunningham, i; Boyd 

* Two of this name, father and son, both in Cross Roads. 



RUIvING ELDERS. 



119 



Emery, i ; Hugh Fergus, 2; Wm. Kerr, 3; Hugh Milligan, 3; 
David McConaughey, i ; James Moody, 3 ; Samuel Thompson, 2. 

1837. Daniel Agnew, 2; James Campbell, i; James Dins- 
more, 2 ; Wm. Hammond, i ; Elijah Klegg, 2 ; James Lee, 2 ; 
Robert McFarland, 2 ; Abraham Rickey, i. 

1838. Luther Axtell, 2 ; James Braden, 2; John Bucking- 
ham, I ; Abraham Barbour, i ; Henry Cowan, i ; Samuel Gam- 
ble, i; Henry Hervey, i; Wm. Hair, i; Russel Moore, 2; Robert 
McComb, I ; David Riddle, 2 ; Thomas Steele, 2 ; Wm. Smiley, 
2 ; Robert Wylie, i. 

1839. John Brice, i; Thomas Dinsmore, i; Thomas McFar- 
land, I ; Andrew Mitchell, i ; James McFarland, i ; Joseph 
Scott, I ; Reuben Sanders, i ; Obadiah Van Cleve, i. 



III. 

TRIBUTE TO THE DECEASED MINISTERS 

WHO HAVE BEEN MEMBERS OF THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

It is not merely an inference of fitness, but an apostolic injunc- 
tion, which says " Obey them that have the rule over you, and 
submit yourselves : for they watch for your souls, as they that 
must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with 
grief" But in the very context of this solemn charge to the 
church concerning her living ministry and preceding it, there is 
another, as sacred, which brings home to her heart the memory 
of the departed heralds of the ^ame salvation : " Remember 
them that had the rule over you, which spake unto you the 
word of God ; and considering the issue of their life, imitate 
their faith " (Hebrews 13: 7. Revised edition). These are but 
counterparts of the same divine law of remembrance, and re- 
flecting each other's light, they stand together in mutual strength. 
The honor of the king is here upon the " ambassadors," who 
stand " in Christ's stead," beseeching their fellow-men to be 
" reconciled to God." But blessed in the temple of glory are 
the sainted dead, whose lips no more utter the message on 
earth, but whose " works do follow them," and whose words 
will never die ; their " everlasting remembrance " is assured ; and 
the generations that will follow them, as they followed Christ, 
will rise to the rapture of their song. 

It is under the power of such a call as this that we hold a 
place of honor among the memories of this great occasion for 
the fathers and brethren who, having under God fashioned and 
conducted the work of the church in our Presbyterial bounds, 
have gone to their reward, leaving the sowing and reaping of 
the inheritance to us, their successors. We have listened with 
delight to the history of the antecedent preparation for the for- 
120 




'«*••« r M \vfl^"''' 



Deceased Ministers, I, 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 121 

mation of the Washington Presbytery in 1819, covering a period 
one-half as extended as the Presbyterial history itself. With 
like skill has our excellent stated clerk led us down along the 
way of ecclesiastical descent, until our organic life as a presby- 
tery almost touches the line of threescore years and ten. Our 
educational and missionary history have, in like manner, com- 
manded our interest. I ask you now to come with me, for a lit- 
tle season, into communion of memory with the redeemed men, 
great and good, whom the Lord chose to bring down alike his 
work and his honor to our day in the ministry of reconcilia- 
tion. 

The presbytery, at its organization, in October, 18 19, in- 
cluded the following ministerial merribership, viz. : the Rev. 
Messrs. Thomas Marquis, pastor at Cross Creek ; George M. 
Scott, at Mill Creek and Flats ; John Anderson, at Buffalo ; 
Elisha McCurdy, at Cross Roads and Three Ridges ; Cephas 
Dodd, at Lower Ten Mile ; Joseph Stevenson, at Three Ridges 
(West Alexander) ; James Hervey, at Forks of Wheeling and 
" Wheelingtown ; " Andrew Wylie, president of Washington 
College ; Thomas Hoge, an evangelist, with Jacob Cozad, a li- 
centiate. 

The churches of Upper Ten Mile, West Liberty, Unity, 
Charlestown and Waynesburg were vacant. 

THE REV. THOMAS MARQUIS, 

Pastor of the Church of Cross Creek, during the years 1794- 

1826, first demands attention. His largest service was rendered 
in the antecedent period, but he presided at the organization in 
1 8 19. and continued an active member for seven years longer. 
He died in the year following his resignation, September 27, 

1827, while on a visit to his son-in-law, the Rev. Joseph Steven- 
son, at Bellefontaine, Ohio. He came from his Virginia birth- 
place to Cross Creek in 1775, shortly after his marriage to Jane 
Park. Both of them, together with many others, were subjects 
of the first revival of the West in Vance's Fort, in 1778, con- 
ducted without a minister, amidst the thickest terrors of Indian 
warfare. 

The fruits of that wonderful work were gathered into church 



122 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

communion a little later, by the Rev. James Power, D.D., of 
Mount Pleasant, Westmoreland County, Pa., who preached the 
first sermons of that region, held the first sacramental service 
and baptized the first child, the eldest of the family of Mr. 
Marquis (and herself afterwards the wife of a Presbyterian min- 
ister and mother of John M. Stevenson, D.D., now secretary of 
the American Tract Society). At the organization of the Cross 
Creek Church, in 1779, Mr. Marquis was made one of its ruling 
elders, and later, upon the discernment of his gifts by God's 
people, he was led by a divine impulse, though under the bur- 
den of a family, at the age of thirty-six years, to seek prepara- 
tion for the ministry. Some classical instruction under his pas- 
tor, the Rev. Joseph Smith, a course in the Cannonsburg Acade- 
my and subsequent theological training at the hands of Dr. 
John McMillan, and all joined with the most rigid and neces- 
sary self-denial, constituted his opportunities. But acute intel- 
lect, strong emotions, pleasing address, thrilling eloquence and 
a consecrated spirit, combined to make him a powerful pleader 
for Christ and an honored winner of souls. Though most 
earnestly sought in other directions, he became a prophet of ex- 
ceptional honor " in his own country and among his own kin- 
dred," and such he continued to be throughout an average gen- 
eration. His first four years of service were shared by the 
church of Upper Buffalo. Richly crowned with spiritual fruits 
in his own pastoral work, he was known far and wide as " the 
silver-tongued orator " of the Western pulpit. Small in stature 
and features, the lines of thought were on his face, and there 
was power in his presence. 

THE REV. GEORGE M. SCOTT 
Was born at Neshaminy, Bucks County, Pa., November 9, 1759, 
but removed, with his father, shortly before the American Revo- 
lution, to Northampton County, on the Delaware, nearly oppo- 
site to Belvidere, New Jersey. After adequate preparation he 
became a student in the University of Pennsylvania (at Phila- 
delphia), and was graduated from it in the class of 1793, under 
the presidency of the distinguished Dr. John Ewing. After 
graduation he spent three or four years in teaching, the last 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 33 

two in the Preparatory Department of Princeton College, and, 
at the same time, pursued his theological studies under the no 
less distinguished Rev. Samuel Stanhope Smith, D.D., then 
president of the college. He was licensed to preach by the 
Presbytery of New Brunswick, May 31, 1797, and ordained by 
the same body in the autumn of 1798, having, on the 17th of 
the previous May, been married to Anna, daughter of Col. 
Samuel Rea, of Mount Bethel, Pa. Under order of the Synod 
of New York and New Jersey, he fulfilled a missionary tour of 
six months in the frontier settlements of Western New York, 
shortly after which, in 1799, he visited Western Pennsylvania, 
and soon accepted calls to the associated churches of Mill 
Creek, in Beaver County, Pa., and Flats (now Fairview), in 
Brooke County, Virginia, and some two months later was in- 
stalled as their pastor. 

The former of these churches Mr. Scott served with great 
fidelity, until 1837, though he resigned the latter in 1826. Af- 
ter his retirement from pastoral work, at the age of seventy-six 
years, he still devoted the remnant of his life to such general 
labor for the Master as his increasing infirmities might permit, 
and so for ten more years he delighted to press the claims of the 
gospel upon the attention of sinful men. His last sermon, 
founded upon Matthew 5 : 6, was marked with special holy ar- 
dor and power, and was followed with two funeral services dur- 
ing the ensuing week. But on the next Sabbath, August 15, 
1847, under a sudden attack of cholera morbus, he exchanged 
earth for heaven, in the fullness of gospel peace, at the vener- 
able age of eighty-eight years. 

Mr. Scott's life-work of nearly a half century in the ministry 
of the Gospel, was deeply marked with the spirit of consecration. 
He came to his western charge just in time to reap the harvest 
of a religious awakening, under the labors of the Rev. Thomas 
E. Hughes, then a licentiate, and, under this impulse, to rise into 
full sympathy with the matchless revival of 1802, which covered 
this whole region with a baptism of divine power, and still remains 
a most sacred record in the hearts of the generations which until 
now have shared its blessings. Often afterwards, but especially 
in 1 8 16 and 1822, the seal of Heaven was put upon the labors of 



124 '^^^ PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

this faithful servant — in the latter instance, the ingathering of 
souls, to the number of two hundred, continuing for full five 
years. Nor was this all. He performed two missionary services 
of three months each — one among the destitutions of Northern 
Ohio, then a wilderness, in 1803, and another among the Indians 
about Detroit and Sandusky. Both these services were rendered 
under the direction of the Missionary Board of the Synod of 
Pittsburgh, not long after its formation. In his earlier and more 
active years, he also conducted a small classical academy, in 
which a considerable number of young men were prepared for 
entrance into Washington and Jefferson Colleges, with a view to 
the ministry. As, in part, the outgrowth of his home work, at 
least, within its territory, the churches of Bethlehem, Hookstown, 
New Cumberland and Frankfort, still carry down the stream of 
blessings from the fountain opened in the wilderness, almost a 
century ago. 

The facts of this sketch have been derived from various pub- 
lished sources, including especially the Life of Elisha McCurdy, 
by Dr. Elliott. But I am greatly indebted, also, for much of the 
material to my valued friend, the Rev. John W. Scott, D.D., a 
son of this venerable man. This honored son, after a long and 
eminent, as well as useful, service as both minister of the Gospel 
and educator, abides in wonderful preservation and not in idle- 
ness, at the nation's capitol, having entered with unabated spirit 
into his ninetieth year. The shadows of life's evening gather 
gently over his head, whilst faith's sunshine beckons him to 
brighter skies, and to "a. city whose builder and maker is God.* 

Very prominent for his works' sake, if not indeed accounted 
a leader of his brethren in intellectual culture, stands the sainted 

ELISHA McCURDY, 
the story of whose life, so admirably written by the late Dr. 

* Since the preparation and delivery of this historical address, and before its pub- 
lication, Dr. John W. Scott has been permitted to see his distinguished son-in-law, 
General Benjamin Harrison, of the State of Indiana, elected and inaugurated President 
of the United States. Without expecting any distinctive political advantage therefrom, 
the Presbyterian Church may well be pardoned for a just satisfaction in the elevation 
to the headship of the nation " at such a time as this," of one of her best sons, and 
most prominent ruling elders. 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 25 

David Elliott, renders needless any more than brief mention here. 
He, too, like Marquis, without early education, passed through 
the academy at Cannonsburg, and was, also, one of the one hun- 
dred instructed in theology by Dr. John McMillan, after which 
he was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, June 20, 1799, and 
the following November ordained and installed as pastor of the 
churches of Cross Roads and Three Springs. That pastorate, 
covering a period of thirty-seven years, included the stated min- 
isterial service of his consecrated life. Resigning then his official 
responsibilities to younger hands, in advance of the wishes of his 
people, he spent life's last decade in Allegheny City, and died, 
July 22, 1845, in heavenly peace, at the venerable age of eighty- 
six years. 

Father McCurdy's name will ever come up in hallowed asso- 
ciation with the wonderful revivals of religion which swept, as 
the breath of God, over this and other regions of our land, con- 
secrating the early years of the present century, and redeeming 
this whole region from the divided dominion of popery and 
infidelity. In these he took a prominent and effective part. Nor 
was he less active in the missionary efforts among the destitute 
settlements West of the Ohio, and notably among the Indian 
tribes which, largely under his leadership, engaged the early 
Western church, and which greatly influenced the whole Presby- 
terian Church towards the movements shortly afterwards con- 
summated in the Home and Foreign Boards of Missions. A 
friend he was, also, of liberal education, and the founder of an 
academy in his parish, which gave a long list of its worthy sons 
to the ministry of the Gospel. But highest of all rose the flame 
of his zeal in the evangelical preaching and the wrestling prayer, 
the memory of which is still an inspiration to his successors in 
the Lord's work. 

THE. REV. JOHN ANDERSON, D.D., 

pastor of the church of Upper Buffalo during the years 1802- 
1833, was one of the most distinguished, though most retiring, 
of these early fathers. Born in Guilford, North Carolina, April 
10, 1767, he received both his classical and theological training 
under the eminent Rev. David Caldwell. He was brought to 



126 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Christ through the preaching of the Rev. James McGready, a 
pupil and spiritual son of the Rev. Joseph Smith at Buffalo, who 
had meanwhile gone South. Here, perhaps, we have the cord 
which drew Mr. Anderson to the scene of his life-work. Having 
been licensed, and shortly afterward ordained, by the Presbytery 
of Orange, at a date not later than 1793, and having, partly for 
health's sake, spent several years of itinerant labor in the Caro- 
linas, Tennessee and Kentucky, he finally reached Pennsylvania, 
and here settled permanently. He was received into the Presby- 
tery of Ohio January 19, 1802, and installed pastor of Upper 
Buffalo Church in the spring following. Dr. Anderson's preach- 
ing was plain, direct, terse, scriptural, practical, discriminating 
and pungent, insomuch that " the screw-auger " was the sobriquet 
by which he was widely known. His pastorate began amidst 
the glow of the great spiritual baptism of the opening century, 
and some of its most striking manifestations were in his own 
church. His ministry, thus sanctified, was both edifying and 
fruitful, whilst the wisdom that stamped it brought him without 
his seeking, quiet but powerful leadership in ecclesiastical affairs, 
as well as in all enterprises in behalf of education, missions, 
temperance and the like. The prominence of Dr. Anderson may 
be inferred from his presidency of the Board of Trustees of 
Washington College from the time of the charter in 1806 until 
1833. The degree of D.D. was conferred upon him by this 
institution in 1821. Theological pupils resorted to him for 
instruction in unwonted numbers, especially after, by reason of 
age, Dr. McMillan had been compelled to give up that great 
work for the church. Among the pupils of Dr. Anderson was 
his own son, the Rev. William C. Anderson, D.D., one of our 
most popular preachers in his day. His other son, yet living, 
John B. Anderson, LL.D., has been a distinguished educator and 
engineer, as well as elder of the church. The venerable father 
fell asleep in Jesus February 8th, 1835, having borne his witness 
of the grace of God until his last breath. 

THE REV. JOSEPH STEVENSON 

Had been pastor for ten years of the church of Three Ridges 
(West Alexander) when the Presbytery of Washington was 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 137 

formed. During the first three of those years his charge had 
also included Forks of Wheeling. He was born near Hagers- 
town, Maryland, March 25, 1779. His spiritual birth and his 
preparation for college both came through the instrumentality of 
the Rev. Thomas E. Hughes, so long and eminently useful both 
as pastor and as principal of the log-cabin academy, at Greers- 
burg, now Darlington, Beaver County, Pa. Mr. Stevenson was 
one of fifteen candidates for the ministry at one time students in 
that institution, all but four of whom became very efficient 
preachers. After a course of three years in Jefferson College, 
he was graduated in the class of 1807. He received his pro- 
fessional training at the hands of his father-in-law, the Rev. 
Thomas Marquis, and was licensed October 29, 1808, by the 
Presbytery of Ohio. June 21, 1809, he was ordained and in- 
stalled by that body as pastor. Upon his resignation in 1825, 
he removed to a farm near Bellefontaine, O., where the remainder 
of his life was spent in the character of " a voluntary and self- 
sustaining home missionary." He was released from life's con- 
flicts by a happy death in February, 1865, sixteen years after he 
had laid down his devoted wife to her rest in the grave. They 
are still nobly represented by their son, the Rev. Dr. John M. 
Stevenson, already referred to. 

THE REV. CEPHAS DODD, M.D., 

Was born at Ten Mile, Washington County, Pa., October 12, 
1779, and was a son of Thaddeus Dodd, one of the four eminent 
fathers of Presbyterianism in the West, or the original members 
of the Presbytery of Redstone at its organization, in 1781. Like 
so many others of that period, he, too, was a son of the Academy 
at Cannonsburg, and a theological pupil of Dr. McMillan. His 
natural life extended to the year 1858, when, on the verge of 
fourscore years, he ceased from his labors. For sixteen years, 
commencing in 1801, he was the successor of his father as pastor 
of the united churches of Upper and Lower Ten Mile, and of the 
latter for thirty-four years longer. If less brilliant and scholarly 
than his honored father, he was wise, constant, evangelical and 
faithful. During most of this service his meagre salary was sup- 
plemented by his practice as a physician. In both relations he 



128 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

enjoyed the affectionate confidence of his people, and among 
their descendants his name is held in reverence unto this day. 

THE REV. JAMES HERVEY, D.D., 

Is still remembered by a few of us for the wisdom and goodness 
of his character, as well as for his fatherly gentleness. He was 
the honored pastor of the Forks of Wheeling Church, from his 
ordination, in 1814, until the Lord took him as a ripe saint to the 
upper glory, September 13, 1859, at the venerable age of seventy- 
seven years. 

Dr. Hervey was born in Brooke County, West Virginia, Aug, 
13, 1782, being the eldest of three ministerial sons of Henry 
Hervey, who, as an emigrant from the North of Ireland, landed 
in Philadelphia in 1770, and five years later established his home 
— still held by his descendants under a patent signed by Patrick 
Henry, then Governor of Virginia. The qualities of the enter- 
prising pioneer and elder of the church of Lower Buffalo from its 
formation, and of his energetic wife, descended to their son. He 
was graduated from Jefferson College in 18 10, under the admin- 
istration of Dr. James Dunlap, its second President. He was 
one of the one hundred theological sons of Dr. John McMillan. 
At the time of his settlement as pastor of the Forks of Wheeling 
Church, and for thirteen and a half years thereafter, the congre- 
gation, still passing under the name " Wheeling," embraced the 
then small town five miles from the mother church, which has 
since risen into the important city of Wheeling, the largest and 
wealthiest in the State of West Virginia, with four Presbyterian 
Churches. Even then it was an attractive outpost where the 
young pastor bestowed much labor. It is claimed that he was 
the first minister of any denomination to hold regular services at 
that place, and that at the first he found only one male and three 
female members of any church resident there. When he ceased 
he left an organization strong enough to employ a pastor for his 
entire time. Upon retiring from that part of his field he took 
charge, instead, for several years, of the young church of West 
Union, at Dallas, West Virginia, which was chiefly a growth 
from the planting and nurture of his own diligent hand, cheer- 
fully resigning it to other care when it came to be self-sustaining. 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 29 

Thenceforward, until his death, September 13, 1859, he con- 
tinued to serve as the v/ise, faithful and efficient pastor of the 
church which had honored him with confidence and gratitude 
for almost a half century. 

The fine record of Mr. Hervey is abiding. His people, old and 
young, ever held him in high reverence, alike for his character 
and his work. His ministerial brethren, also, gave him their 
affectionate confidence, and were much influenced by his opinions. 
In recognition of his scholarship Washington College conferred 
upon him the degree of D.D. in 1847. As a preacher he was at 
once instructive and evangelical. As a theologian he was clear, 
acute, sound and well informed. As an ecclesiastic he was judi- 
cious, conscientious and firm. As a pastor he lived, labored 
and watched for the edification of the church, and for the salva- 
tion of souls. For almost an average human generation his 
flesh has slept among the congregation of the dead, whose steps 
in life he led heavenward, in blessed hope of the glorious resur- 
rection when they shall together rise and be satisfied in the like- 
ness of their Lord. 

THE REV. THOMAS HOGE, 

A native of Ireland, came to this country as a licentiate of the 
Presbytery of Tyrone, and for some years resided in Greensburg, 
Pa., without charge, and engaged in merchandise. He afterward 
transferred his residence and occupation to Washington, where 
he resided until 1836, when, shortly before his death, he re- 
moved to Philadelphia. But while connected with this Presby- 
tery he did much valuable service, with little earthly reward, in 
supplying vacant churches, and in forming and fostering new or- 
ganizations. The warm gratitude of the survivors from among 
the people he so generously saved, still keeps his memory fresh. 
The churches of East Buffalo, Claysville and Mt. Nebo, were all 
debtors for their existence chiefly to his laborious zeal. He was 
pastor of East Buffalo and Claysville during the years 1821-25, 
and again of Claysville in 1830-35. He also served the Presby- 
tery for a considerable time as its select clerk. 



130 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

THE REV. ANDREW WYLIE, D.D., 

Was undoubtedly one of the most talented, scholarly and influ- 
ential of the original members of the Washington Presbytery. 
As, however, he was primarily an educator, the arrangements 
of this occasion assign the chief notice of him to Dr. Cunning- 
ham, In that capacity, though circumstances embarrassed his 
work with peculiar difficulty, the twelve years of his administra- 
tion as President of Washington College were marked with 
able service, and as much success as could have been expected. 
His decision and energy of character gathered around him ar- 
dent friends both in and out of the college, though indeed the 
same traits rallied more or less of opposition in his way. Both 
the devotion of friends and the antagonism of opponents were 
intensified by the bitter controversy to which his transfer, in 
18 16, from the Presidency of Jefferson College, after four years 
of service, to that of Washington, gave development. But until 
this day the college cherishes his memory with pride, and 
takes honor from his name. He resigned in 1828 to become 
President of the University of Indiana, at Bloomington, where 
he died November ii, 185 i, in the sixty-third year of his age. 

Dr. Wylie held a high place, both in the Presbytery and be- 
fore the public, alike as a preacher and an ecclesiastic. His 
judgment and advocacy had much weight in local church af- 
fairs, and also in the movements of the church at large. 
Though without a pastoral charge, he was called to preach 
widely through the churches during the first half of his resi- 
dence at Washington, but during the years 1822-28, he had 
charge of the church of Pigeon Creek — one of our most his- 
toric churches — as stated supply. His able and attractive 
preaching and his personal wisdom and power were greatly 
blessed in healing the distractions of that people, and turning 
the bitterness of strife into solid unity and peace. He like- 
wise prepared the way for the large ingatherings of converts 
which sealed the labors of his successors. Even the lapse of 
sixty years has not obliterated the memory of his great work 
from the cherished traditions of that venerable church. 

It was a source of regret to many that Dr. Wylie, in his life, 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 13I 

felt constrained to transfer his relations to the Protestant Episco- 
pal Church. One of his sons, however, Rev. A. McElroy 
Wylie, of Brooklyn, N. Y., honorably represents him in the min- 
istry of the church of his fathers. 

THE REV. JACOB COSAD, 

A licentiate at the formation of the Presbytery, was ordained and 
installed January 5, 1820, as pastor of the church of Lower Buf- 
falo, but also served the Centre Church, of the Presbytery of 
Steubenville, one-half of his time. His relation to Lower Buf- 
falo was dissolved April 19, 1827, at which time he was dis- 
missed to the Presbytery of Steubenville. The traces of his life- 
work are not sufficiently at our command to enable us to do jus- 
tice to his memory, but will doubtless appear in the history of 
the Presbytery to which he was transferred. 

Here, under formal limits, would end our sketches of the 
original members of the Presbytery. But justice to the truth of 
history demands the introduction of another name not second to 
any other in the work and influence which have served to make 
the Presbytery of Washington what it is. 

THE REV. MATTHEW BROWN, D.D. LL.D., 

Was not ecclesiastically a member of the Presbytery of Washing- 
ton. For special reasons of expediency, and according to his 
own desire, he was at the organization, retained in the Presby- 
tery of Ohio, as was also the Church of Washington for his sake. 
Upon his acceptance, however, of the call to the Presidency of 
Jefferson College, in 1822, and the settlement of his successor, 
Dr. Jennings, the boundary line was changed, and both the pas- 
tor and the church were embraced in the Presbytery of Wash- 
ington, as originally designed. 

Dr. Brown was a power in the early religious and educational 
history of Western Pennsylvania. For what he was, and what 
he accomplished, as the first President of Washington College, 
from December 13, 1806, until December 16, 18 16, and as 
President of Jefferson College in the 1822-45, it is enough to re- 
fer to the excellent paper of Dr. Cunningham, in another part of 
this volume. But primarily he was settled at Washington as a 
pastor, and as such he is here presented. 



132 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Of Scotch-Irish descent, born in 1776 in Northumberland 
County, Pa., graduated from Dickinson College, Carlisle, Pa., in 
the class of 1795, having for his theological instructors succes- 
sively the Rev. James Snodgrass, Dr. Charles Nisbet, President 
of his alma mater, and Dr. John King, a distinguished pastor at 
Mercersburg, Pa., and the fourth moderator of the General As- 
sembly, he was licensed to preach by the Presbytery of Carlisle, 
October 3, 1799. In the spring of 1805, he was transferred from 
his first charge over the united congregations of Mifflin and 
Lost Creek, in the Presbytery of Huntingdon, to Washington, 
Pa., as the first pastor of the Presbyterian Church there, and 
also as principal of the Washington Academy, which a year 
later — and largely through his influence — was chartered as 
Washington College. For the ten following years he served in 
the double character of President of the college and pastor of 
the church, but, resigning then the former, he continued in the 
pastorate until his election, September 25, 1822, to the Presi- 
dency of Jefferson College, a position which he held with great 
success and usefulness until the annual commencement of 1845,- 
when he retired, because of the infirmities of age, nearly eight 
years before his death. 

Dr. Brown was a very pungent and effective preacher. His 
mind was vigorous and his heart was warm. His nervous tem- 
porament betJayed him at times into eccentricities which gave 
offense, but the ardor of his piety and the reactions of generosity 
in his disposition ordinarily repaired the injury and turned 
enemies into warm friends. Encountering the free manners of 
early western life at the outset, his persevering zeal gained for 
him great ascendency over the public mind, and he left the deep 
impress of an evangelical spirit on the church he so faithfully 
served. Having a strong taste for metaphysics, his sermons 
were nevertheless peculiarly marked with scriptural proof and 
illustration to enforce the saving truth of the gospel. Alike 
in prayer and exhortation also, he often rose to the highest 
fervor. His ministry was largely blessed with revivals of re- 
ligion and the ingathering of converts into the communion of 
the church. But widest and most abiding of all was his influ- 



DECEASED MINISTERS. ' 1 33 

ence over students under his care, in winning them in large 
numbers to Christ and into the church and the ministry. 

The mantle of Dr. Brown fell gracefully upon his no less dis- 
tinguished son, the Rev. Alexander B. Brown, D.D., a noble 
Christian gentleman, one of the best preachers in the church, 
and for nine years an honored successor of his father in the 
presidency of Jefferson College. Another successor was his 
son-in-law, the Rev. David H. Riddle, D.D., LL.D., widely 
known and respected for his pulpit eloquence and Christian 
character, alike in Pennsylvania and his native Virginia. A 
grandson, the Rev. Matthew Brown Riddle, D.D., holding a 
foremost rank among the Greek scholars of our church and 
country, is now the professor of New Testament exegesis and 
literature in the Western Theological Seminary at Allegheny, Pa. 

We turn now from the original members of Presbytery to fol- 
low the long line of succession of seventy years, which carries 
us from 18 19 to the present time. 

Propriety as well as express limitation will forbid the open- 
ing to view of the men yet living, who have preached the gospel 
from these pulpits, and who, as under-shepherds, have led the 
several bands of Christ's flock into the " green pastures " and 
" beside the still waters " of gracious instrumentality. Let their 
history be written when they shall have " fallen asleep." Nor 
would it be possible, if even desirable, to outline in the present 
form the life-work of all the heralds of salvation who, within 
these seventy years, have come into this blessed work in this 
territory, and have been called from toil to reward and glory. 
Happily every one of them has a just place in the condensed 
personal record of our stated clerk. We must of stern necessity 
limit ourselves chiefly to memories of such brethren of this long 
and deserving list, as, by time and efficiency of service combined, 
have made their history more or less inseparable from the his- 
tory of the Presbytery itself. 

No worthier name could head this list than that of 

THE REV. OBADIAH JENNINGS, D.D. 

He was born December 12, 1778, at Basking Ridge, N. J., 
and was the fourth son of Jacob Jennings, a physician, who, at 



134 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

the age of forty years, became a minister, and settled as pastor 
of the Dunlap's Creek Church, in the Presbytery of Redstone. 
After a course in the Cannonsburg Academy, Mr. Jennings 
studied law in the office of John Simonton, Esq., of Washington, 
Pa., and commenced legal practice in 1800, at Steubenville, 
Ohio. At the end of eleven years of brilliant success, he re- 
turned to Washington and opened an office there, having, one 
year before, entered the communion of the Presbyterian Church. 
He continued the practice of his profession se^'eral years more, 
with the highest esteem of the bar and people alike for his 
ability and his Christian consistency, having meanwhile been 
made a ruling elder in the church of Washington. But the 
realized call of the Master, enforced by the convictions of his 
brethren, led to his consecration to the ministry, followed by his 
licensure to preach, in 18 16, and his settlement the next spring 
as pastor at Steubenville. At the end of six j^ears, however, 
upon the vacancy made in the Washington Church, by the call 
of the Rev. Matthew Brown, D.D., to the presidency of Jeffer- 
son College, he accepted a call to that church, and so was trans-- 
ferred to the other sphere of his former legal practice. The 
noble tribute thus twice paid to his Christian character by peo- 
ple familiar with his conduct amidst the conflicts of courts, can 
well be appreciated. His removal from Washington, in 1828, 
after five years of the happiest union, to become pastor of the 
First Church of Nashville, Tenn., was a tearing of the heart- 
strings of his people, as well as an agony to himself, tolerable 
only under a sense of mingled duty and pastoral despondency. 
And yet the decision of change had scarcely been announced, 
when a powerful revival of religion set in at Washington, and 
continued for a year under the ministrations of his nephew, the 
late Dr. Samuel C. Jennings, then a licentiate, when souls were 
gathered in scores, as precious fruits of the very labors which, 
to Dr. Jennings' own mind, had been covered with discourage- 
ment. His preaching is indeed said to have fallen in eloquence 
below his freer manner at the bar, but a full compensation was 
found in its richness of truth and experience, whilst his daily 
life was a continual sermon. In general influence, both in the 
church and the community, he was not excelled. In discussion 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 35 

upon the floor of ecclesiastical bodies, not excepting the General 
Assembly, he was equal to the strongest. He presided over 
the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1826 as Moderator. In 1832 he was 
Moderator of the General Assembly. His death, January 12, 
1832, at the age of fifty-four years, amidst the rapid growth of 
his reputation, and of the affections of his people for him, 
brought tears of lamentation in many parts of the land. 

THE REV. JOHN STOCKTON, D D., • 

Was for many years one of the leading and influential members 
of the Washington Presbytery. He was born near Washington, 
Pa., November 18, 1803; was graduated from Washington Col- 
lege October 3, 1820; studied theology under the instruction of 
Dr. John Anderson, and Hebrew and church history under Dr. 
Andrew Wylie ; was licensed by the Presbytery of Washington 
April 20, 1825 ; after a supplementary year at Princeton Semi- 
nary, was ordained and installed as pastor of the Church of 
Cross Creek June 20, 1827 ; and, at his own requeet, was re- 
leased from his charge June 20, 1877, the fiftieth anniversary of 
his settlement. Jefferson College had done double honor, to 
herself and to him, in the degree of D.D. conferred upon him in 
1846. He died at his home May 5, 1882, and two days later, 
after solemn funeral exercises in the church hallowed by his 
impassioned and eloquent proclamations of the gospel, his body 
was borne in reverent silence to the company of sleepers whom 
he had guided and helped heavenward. 

The handsome volume issued on the occasion of Dr. Stock- 
ton's retirement from pastoral work five years before his death, 
to commemorate his " Half Century Pastorate," is so largely in 
circulation as to render needless, on this occasion, the repetition 
of his honorable and useful history. Scholarship consecrated 
at the Lord's altar, animated and pungent words loaded with 
saving truth; assiduous vigilance and labor to win souls ; wis- 
dom, prudence, consistent example and tender sympathy among 
the people — these were the leading characteristics of his long 
ministr}^. Powerful revivals put the seal of heaven upon his 
work; more than fifteen hundred souls were led to the cross by 
his gentle hand ; two-score ministers of the gospel were debtors 



136 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

to him for the instrumentaHty of their consecration ; and not 
less than one hundred ruling elders scattered among the churches 
learned of him, first how to serve and then how to govern in the 
house of God. He was eminently a friend of liberal education. 
Few if any names will occupy a more conspicuous place in the 
annals of our Presbytery. 

"THE REV. JOHN McCLUSKEY, D.D. 
Was, for a full quarter of a century and more, the active and suc- 
cessful pastor of the church of West Alexander. He came to it 
a licentiate from the Presbytery of Philadelphia, at thirty-three 
years of age, and was ordained by this Presbytery as pastor 
October 8, 1828. Chester County, Pa., claims the honor of his 
birth, June 17, 1795, though the discipline of his youth came 
from Washington County, the future sphere of his chief labors. 
Jefferson College sent him forth in the class of 1822, adorned 
with her culture, and better still as a new man in the purpose of 
his life; for while an undergraduate he made his confession of 
Christ in the Chartiers Church, then under the pastoral care, 
of Dr. John McMillan. Not a little of his mental development, 
before and after his collegiate training, came through his own 
efforts as a teacher, and the habit thus acquired increased and 
widened his influence throughout his pastoral work. He re- 
ceived his theological training partly under the instruction of 
Dr. Ezra Stiles Ely, of Philadelphia, and, for one year, in the 
Princeton Seminary. 

Dr. McCluskey, though far from deficient, was more a man of 
action than of severe study. His preaching was plain, scrip- 
tural, sound and spiritual, abounding in illustrations from daily 
life. It was attended with steady ingathering to the commu- 
nion of the church, and often with special revivals. He was 
pre-eminently a man of affairs, ever taking the temporal as well 
as spiritual interests of his people into his care. Thus, under 
his influence, the general advancement of society around him 
kept pace with the progress of the church. He was a special 
friend of liberal education. He established the West Alexander 
Academy, and conducted it with much success and reputation 
during most of his pastorate, sending forth from its walls about 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 137 

fifty students who became ministers, besides many candidates 
for the other professions. Like Dr. Stockton, he was also an 
active trustee of Washington College. 

Dr. McCluskey's resignation of his charge, April 15, 1854, in 
the fifty-ninth year of his age, was not for the purpose of in- 
glorious ease, but rather for a change of work. After a year 
spent in the service of the Board of Education, he supplied the 
pulpit of the church of Neshaminy, Pa., and afterwards that of 
Smyrna, Del., through a period of five years. In 1859 ^^ 
founded a church-school in West Philadelphia. In 1864 he es- 
tablished an institution at Hightstown, N. J., for the free tuition 
of the children of ministers, and especially of missionaries. 
Returning to Philadelphia in 1870, he acted for a time as asso- 
ciate principal of the Mantua Academy. The evening of his 
declining life was spent among friends at Wooster, Ohio. On 
March 31, 1880, in the eighty-fifth year of his age, his life- 
work came to its end in Philadelphia, and he ascended to the 
upper skies. . 

Tender memories spring up at the mention of the name of 

THE REV. JAMES WILSON McKENNAN, D.D. 

He was born in Washington, Pa. He was the youngest son of 
Col. William McKennan, an officer of the Revolution, and a 
brother of the Hon. Thomas M. T. McKennan. After gradua- 
tion from Washington College, in the class of 1822, he pursued 
the study of law, and practiced his profession for a little season 
at Millersburg, O., but grace took possession of his heart, and 
he dedicated himself to the ministry, when he placed himself 
under the care of Dr. John Anderson, of Buffalo, along with 
John Stockton, Samuel McFarren, William C. Anderson, John 
L. Hawkins and H. M. Koontz, all candidates for the sacred of- 
fice. Licensed October 8, 1828, and ordained and installed De- 
cember 9, 1829, by the Presbytery of Washington, he labored, 
for five years, as pastor of the churches of Lower Buffalo and 
Short Creek (West Liberty). Afterwards, with an interval of 
prostrate health, during which he spent two years in the South- 
ern States and Cuba, he had charge successively of the First 
Church of Indianapolis and the churches of Circleville, O., 



138 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

and later of Florence, Lower Ten Mile and Frankfort, in this 
presbytery. He also engaged for a time in teaching, in 
Wheeling, later at Moundsville and for several years as rector 
of the Preparatory Department, and Adjunct Professor of Lan- 
guages in Washington College. That institution gave him the 
honorary degree of D.D. in i860. 

Advancing disease suspended the service of Dr. McKennan 
for the last year of his life. It was during a visit to a relative, 
Mrs. Charles Neave, at Clifton, a suburb of Cincinnati, that he 
came to a peaceful and triumphant death, July 19, 1861, in the 
fifty-seventh year of his age. His body was brought home, and 
laid with kindred dust in the Washington Cemetery, to await 
the resurrection. " Devout men carried him to his burial, and 
made great lamentation over him." Our beloved brother was a 
model of candor, meekness and benevolence, as well as of faith, 
fervor and zeal. His sermons were without pretension to learn- 
ing or eloquence, yet, in evangelical truth, directness, earnest- 
ness and pathos, they were powerful and effective. He espe- 
cially excelled in exhortation. Common sense, fired with affec- 
tion, was the secret of his force. Careless of his worldly interests 
to a fault, he was unsurpassed in generosity. Ever ready to 
occupy a subordinate position, none rejoiced more than he in 
the promotion of his brethren. We remember him as "an Is- 
raelite, indeed, in whom was no guile." He left no earthly 
possessions ; he cared not for fame ; but his memory abides in 
the church as that of a beloved disciple. 

THE REV. DAVID HERVEY, 

A junior brother of Dr. James Hervey, and class-mate of another 
honored brother, the Rev. Henry Hervey, D.D. , a leading pastor 
and educator at Martinsburg, Ohio, spent nearly his whole min- 
isterial life in connection with our Presbytery. He was born 
October 29, 1794. He commenced business life as a farmer, 
and in 18 18 was married to Dorothea, daughter of Adam Faris, 
of Ohio County, (West) Virginia. But realizing the Lord's 
call to the ministry, he entered Jefferson College as a student in 
1820 and was graduated as a member of the class of 1825. His 
theological studies were pursued under the instruction of his 



DECEASED MINISTERS. j^g 

brother, Dr. James Hervey, and he was licensed to preach, by 
the Presbytery of Washington, December 13, 1827, One year 
later, viz., December 21, 1828, he was ordained and installed by 
the same body as the first pastor of the newly formed church of 
Mount Prospect. In this field he labored with great acceptance 
and usefulness until June, 1835, when pursuant to a call, dated 
March 2, of that year, he was installed as pastor of his native 
church of Lower Buffalo, devoting, however, one-third of his 
time to Wellsburg, where, in 1839, he organized a church com- 
posed of twenty members. Meanwhile he had resigned his 
charge in October, 1838, to accept a call to the church of Crab 
Apple, in Ohio, but resumed it in the following spring, and 
ceasing to preach at Wellsburg in 1840, he contined in active 
service at Lower Buffalo until October 3, 1849, when he was re- 
leased for chosen retirement. He shortly afterward^, however, 
spent a couple of years in missionary labor in Illinois and organ- 
ized several churches. 

Mr. Hervey spent the remainder of his life on his farm near 
Wellsburg, but found great delight in preaching the gospel in 
vacant churches and destitute places, as well as in assisting his 
brethren at their call. To the end of his life he sustained his 
well earned reputation as a heroic defender and zealous pro- 
claimer of the truth and grace of God, as found in the inspired 
word, and embodied in the standards of the Presbyterian Church. 
He was also a vigilant and useful member of the courts of the 
Church. His peaceful death occurred June 19, 1881. His un- 
broken record illustrates the courage of deep conviction, whether 
called forth in the peaceful work of the church, or in her stormy 
conflicts with error and sin. Nor was he a less pronounced 
patriot when through the bloody strife of Civil War, the flag of 
the nation was dishonored and its integrity was sought to be 
overthrown. ^'T/ie memory of the Just is blessed.'' 

THE REV. JOHN EAGLESON, D.D., 

Next claims our notice. The mention of his name recalls the 
sacred memories of thirty-nine years of able and successful la- 
bor as the pastor of the venerable church of Upper Buffalo, and 
of active membership in the Presbytery of Washington. Ohio 



140 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

claims the honor of his birth, on the 12th of February, 1809; 
Jefferson College numbered him among her honored Alumni of 
the class of 1829, and in 1859 added the degree of Doctor of 
Divinity; the Allegheny Seminary gave him, in part, his theo- 
logical training ; the Presbytery of Steubenville sent him forth 
January 8, 1833, as a licentiate, to make trial of his gifts; but 
his life-work had its beginning and end just lierc. He was or- 
dained and installed December 24, 1834, about a year and a 
half after the retirement of Dr. John Anderson, on account of 
the infirmities of age, and only a month before the latter's 
decease ; and on this Mount Zion, he stood in his lot, until 
called to his seat in glory, January 23, 1873, in the sixty- 
fonrth year of his age. Six hundred and twenty-three members 
were added to this church during his pastorate, making an an- 
nual average of sixteen. 

The older members of the presbytery readily unite with the 
fathers and mothers of this congregation in honoring the mem- 
ory of Dr. Eagleson as among our best ministers and presby- 
ters. Earnest in piety and exemplary in conduct, he was stu- 
dious in preparation for his work and constant in its execution. 
His sermons, if not oratorical, were rich in Biblical material, 
lucid and compact in style and solemn and fervid in utterance. 
At his hands the people were habitually fed with truth, and 
stimulated with motives drawn from Christ and eternity. In 
their homes, also, they were wont to receive the kind personal 
attentions of a true under-shepherd and friend. He was wise in 
counsel, careful in speech, faithful in service, and now his works 
do follow him. 

It is among the tender memories of Dr. Eagleson's close of 
life that the first use of this excellent building, upon the erec- 
tion of which he had so much set his heart, was the funeral 
service of song and prayer and the study and application of the 
lessons of his death, ere we bore his cold body to its resting- 
place, in the company of his honored predecessors, Smith and 
Anderson, and of the generations of saints, whom they and he 
had been permitted to lead and help in their heavenward way. 
Let the shadow of God's temple still fall gently upon their 
graves, and the songs of other generations continue to swell up- 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 14I 

ward to the throne from beside the silent city of their waiting, 
until the trumpet peal of the resurrection glory shall summon 
the whole church of the redeemed to the joy of their Lord. 
Though he speaks not with audible voice, he is represented by 
two sons in the work of the ministry. 

THE REV. DAVID ELLIOTT, D.D., LL.D., 

Spent seven years of his most active service as pastor of the 
First Church of Washington, having come to it in the autumn 
of 1829, from a pastorate of seventeen years, at Mercersburg, 
Pa. In the midst of the highest esteem of his people, he was 
called by the voice of the General Assembly of 1836, to a chair 
in the Western Theological Seminary, a position which he held 
with distinguished success and the entire confidence of the 
church until his death, March 18, 1874, in the eighty-eighth 
year of his age. During his happy pastorate at Washington he 
reorganized Washington College in 1831, which had been sus- 
pended in 1829, and for eighteen months acted as its president 
and Professor of Moral Philosophy. From his resignation un- 
til 1865 he was president of the College Board of Trustees. 
His degree of Doctor of Divinity came from Jefferson College 
in 1835, and that of LL.D. from Washington College, just 
twelve years later. The same qualities of talent, piety, wisdom 
and conscientiousness which so distinguished him as a seminary 
professor, were as conspicuous in his pastoral service and 
general work as a minister. He was also an eminent leader in 
the several courts of the church, and was Moderator of the 
General Assembly of 1837. Those who desire a full account 
of his life and service, are referred to the memorial volume, 
published at his death, by the authorities of the seminary, which 
he had served so long and well. 

Dr. Elliott was succeeded in the pastorate at Washington dur- 
ing the years 1836-48, by four excellent brethren, all esteemed, 
useful and honorably remembered, but each of whom, for good 
reasons of his own, resigned after a short term of service. The 
first was the Rev. Daniel Deruelle, who closed an earnest and 
fruitful work of three years in 1840, to become an agent of the 
Board of Home Missions. He died suddenly, of apoplexy, at 



142 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Rockingham, N. C. March 4, 1858, in the sixty-second year of 
his age. He was followed by the Rev. James Smith, D.D., a 
Scotchman of decided ability as a preacher, and attractive as a 
man, who was compelled by advancing disease to return, at the 
end of three years, to his native land, that he might die, soothed 
by the tender ministrations of his mother and sisters. Next in 
order came the Rev. William C. Anderson, D.D., who served 
this church for a year, ending in 1846, but who will be more 
properly noticed later as pastor of the church of Pigeon Creek. 
The last in this rapid succession at Washington was the Rev. 
John B. Pinney, LL.D., whose pastorate commenced in 1847, 
and continued one year. Commencing his work as a missionary 
to Africa, he was soon called back to his country by broken 
health, and, with the exception of his brief pastorate at Wash- 
ington, devoted his subsequent life to the cause of African 
colonization. The entire four thus grouped were men of high 
character and ability, and carried with them the esteem of the 
brethren of the presbytery and of the church they had served 
briefly but well. 

THE REV. HENRY R. WEED, D.D., 

held for many years the highest place of honor among the mem- 
bers of the Presbytery, alike for his talents, wisdom and piety. 
He was born in Ballston, N. Y., July 20, 1787; graduated from 
Union College in 181 2; was a member of the first class in 
Princeton Seminary; was licensed in 181 5; and, shortly after- 
wards, settled as pastor in Jamaica, Long Island. At the end 
of four years he accepted a call to the First Church of Albany, 
as successor to the distinguished and eloquent Dr. Nott, and 
there he remained in success for six years, until failing health 
constrained him to accept an agency for the Board of Education, 
a cause ever dear to his heart. It was in this work that he was 
providentially brought to Wheeling in 183.2. The congregation 
there, hitherto divided, gave him a unanimous call, February 5, 
^^33, which, however, he did not accept for two years; waiting 
doubtless to see how far the blendings of the people would open 
his way. But he was installed June 16, 1835, and so began his 
long and useful service. In 1838 the Doctorate in Divinity was 
conferred upon him by Washington College. 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 43 

By the blessing of God upon his great wisdom and zeal the 
church soon forgot its old controversies, and came into unity 
and power, insomuch that ultimately his one church multiplied 
itself into four. And there he continued for thirty years, with 
growing reputation and usefulness, ever instructive and eloquent, 
until advancing years came to demand retirement from active 
labor. But the people who had so long in reverence and love 
sat at his feet, would not consent to his release, but called the 
Rev. Daniel W. Fisher, a brother beloved, now Dr. Fisher, the 
president of Hanover College, as co-pastor, to bear the chief 
burden of the work. 

It was shortly after the death of his beloved wife, August 22, 
1 86 1, terminating a happy union of forty years, that the vener- 
able doctor sought the entire repose suited to life's evening. 
Removing first to Norristown, Pa., and thence to West Phila- 
delphia, he lingered, loved and prayed until December 14, 1870, 
when the Lord came and took him to himself His body was 
biought to the church of his long service at Wheeling, where 
tender and impressive funeral services were held, and then, in 
accordance with his own choice, was conveyed, for interment, 
to the " old stone church " (Forks of Wheeling), and laid to rest 
beside the remains of his wife. Tenderly we placed him in the 
narrow house, joyful in his triumph and only sorrowing that we 
should see his face no more. 

When Dr. Weed was taken from us we all felt that a great 
man had fallen in Israel. His powerful and cultured intellect, 
his paternal tenderness, his enlarged field of study, his profound 
argument, often crowned with eloquent application, his evangeli- 
cal spirit, his wise and wholesome influence in the courts of the 
church, and his sanctified walk all warrant the great honor con- 
ferred on. him in life, and remain a precious treasure of memory, 
and withal a precious pledge of heavenly fellowship and song. 
Realizing that in person he was gone from our sight, we felt like 
joining in Elisha's cry: "My father, my father, the chariot of 
Israel and the horsemen thereof!' 

In connection with these memories of Dr. Weed it is not unfit 
that, for a little while, we should again suspend the order of 
dates in favor of that of association m place and zvork. 



144 '^'^'^ PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

THE REV. ALFRED PAULL, 

A son-in-law of Dr. Weed, was an alumnus of "Washington Col- 
lege of the class of 1838, having been born in 1815. After a 
full course in Princeton Seminary he was licensed by this Pres- 
bytery in 1843, and labored for two years in missionary fields 
on both sides of the Ohio River, after which he was ordained as 
evangelist April 17, 1850. He then preached, chiefly at his 
own expense, in the suburbs of Wheeling through an aggregate 
of fifteen years, and was the chief instrument in the organization 
of the Third and Fourth Churches of that city. His last and 
most useful service was at Hestonville, Philadelphia, during the 
four years ending eighteen months before his lamented death, 
November 18, 1872. In bodily health he was feeble; but in 
spirit he was one of the most consecrated of men — a marvel of 
self-abnegation, a centre of love. His worthy son preaches the 
same glorious gospel of which he was a devoted witness. 

THE REV. CYRUS DICKSON, D.D., 

Was a co-laborer with Dr. Weed in Wheeling. He came into 
the Presbytery in the thirty-second year of his age, under a call 
to become the pastor of the Second Church of Wheeling, at its 
organization in 1848, to which service he gave eight years 
among the most active of his life-work. He had labored in his 
first pastorate, at Franklin, Pa., just the same length of time, 
greatly endearing himself to the people there. He had received 
both licensure and ordination from the Presbytery of Erie, 
within whose territory he was born, having been graduated from 
Jefferson College in the class of 1837, and pursued his theologi- 
cal studies chiefly at Princeton His call to the Westminster 
Church, of Baltimore, in 1856, lifted him into a higher and 
broader sphere, and still further opened the way of preparation 
for his crowning work, as a representative servant of the whole 
church as secretary. 

Upon the happy reunion of the old and new school branches 
of the Presbyterian Church in 1870, Dr. Dickson was elected 
permanent clerk of the General Assembly and soon afterwards 
chosen secretary of the Board of Home Missions, both of which 




Deceased Ministers, II. 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 45 

offices he filled to the admiration of the church, but the latter 
especially with an energy too great for his strength. Alike in office 
work, extensive traveling, able and eloquent addresses before 
Synods and the General Assembly, and all other forms of ac- 
tivity he was a model secretary, and the impulse of his efforts is 
still an abiding power. A year of rest was compelled by the 
strain of overwork, but it came too late and was scarcely ended 
before the Lord's call, September 11,1881, opened to him the 
rest and glory of the upper church. 

All of us who were associated with Brother Dickson, as 
members of this Presbytery, can bear cordial witness to his 
genial temperament, his evangelical spirit, his excellence as a 
presbyter, his great power as a preacher and pastor, and to the 
marked success of his church under the divine blessing upon 
his labors, insomuch that in eight years from a nucleus of four- 
teen members, it came to be one of the largest and most influ- 
ential of our pastoral charges. 

For a full account of Dr. Dickson's life, work and character 
we may well refer to the admirable biography of him prepared 
and published by the Rev. S. J. M. Eaton, D.D. The general 
impression left behind him in our region for talent and culture 
is attested by the title of Doctor of Divinity fitly conferred upon 
him by the Trustees of Washington College in 1858, two years 
after he left us. Along with the whole church we hold in 
grateful remembrance alike his character and his great service. 

REV. RICHARD VARICK DODGE 

Succeeded Dr. Dickson in the Second Church, of Wheeling, in 
1857, and continued in that service about five years, after which, 
for a time, he preached to the Fourth Church as stated supply, 
and was principal of the Lindsley Institute, but in 1864 he ac- 
cepted a call to the Second Church of Washington as its first 
pastor, and conducted it with vigor and success until 1868. Mr. 
Dodge was born at Kaskaskia, Illinois, August 4, 1821, was an 
alumnus of Yale College of the class of 1840, and after a brief 
study of law passed into Princeton Seminary, and there finished 
his preparation for the ministry. After laboring for brief periods 
in Princeton, Vincennes and Terre Haute, Indiana, and for eight 
10 



146 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

years in Springfield, Illinois, he came to Wheeling, and became 
a member of this Presbytery in 1857, and so continued until 
his acceptance of a call, in 1869, to Madison, Wisconsin. He 
subsequently served the First Church of San Francisco and the 
church of San Diego, California, and died February 26, 1885, in 
the sixty-fourth year of his age. 

Mr. Dodge was a man of excellent scholarship, a sprightly 
and earnest preacher, a gifted teacher, and a very active and 
efficient presbyter. He left warm friends in his several pastor- 
ates, and in all of them spiritual fruits were gathered, especially 
at Washington, where an extensive revival of religion attended 

his ministry. 

THE REV. JOHN MOFFAT 

Was another pastor of the Second Church of Wheeling, well 
deservino; of a notice in these memorial sketches. He was 
born at Westerhall, Scotland, January i. 18 16. After his mar- 
riage he came to this country without capital to push his for- 
tune, yet with the force of great energy and indomitable will. 
It was a kind providence which led him to New Lisbon, Ohio,- 
and brought him under the pastoral influence of the late Dr. 
Andrew O. Patterson, who, as his spiritual father, discerned his 
gifts and opened his way toward the ministry, directing both his 
classical and theological studies, except during the year 1846, 
which he spent in the Western Theological Seminary. He re- 
ceived both licensure and ordination from the Presbytery of 
New Lisbon. The pastoral service of his life was divided 
among three charges, as follows, viz.: St. Clairsville, O., 1848- 
61 ; Bellaire, O., 1861-63 ; Wheeling, West Va., 1863-75. His 
death occurred at the last of these places, December 27, 1875, 
on the verge of sixty years of age, preceded by several years of 
declining health, during which he was relieved by the service, 
as co-pastor, of his son, then at the beginning of his ministry, 
and now our honored brother, the Rev. James D. Moffat, D.D., 
president of Washington and Jefferson College. 

Mr. Moffat's labors in the gospel were exceedingly popular 
among his own people and elsewhere. He had a clear and dis- 
criminating perception of the truth, together with a natural 
power of oratory which, sanctified by grace, made his preaching 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 47 

exceedingly evangelical and effective, and by a blessing upon 
his touching appeals many souls were added to the Lord. The 
twelve years of his connection with this Presbytery have left 
their own deep impress upon the hearts of his co-presbyters 
who still honor his memory as they respected and loved himself. 
Before we return to the succession of time let us set forth one 
more group associated by their relations to one place. 

THE REV. WILLIAM C. ANDERSON 

Was the first settled pastor of the church of Pigeon Creek after 
the organization of the Presbytery. The first pastorate of the 
West, under the venerable John McMillan, had embraced this 
church along with Chartiers. He was followed by the Rev. 
Boyd Mercer and the Rev. Andrew Gwinn as pastors, and by 
Dr. Andrew Wylie, President of Washington College, as stated 
supply during the years 1822-1829. The service of this last- 
named eminent man was blessed, as we have seen, in the resto- 
ration of peace after a bitter strife. The Rev. William P. Alrich 
then supplied the church acceptably for one year, but declined 
a call as pastor, to accept a professorship at Washington. 

Mr. Anderson was the son of Dr. John Anderson, of Buffalo, 
a graduate of Washington College in the class of 1824, a theolo- 
gical pupil of his father and a licentiate of the Presbytery of 
Washington. He was ordained as pastor at Pigeon Creek April 
17, 1832, after a year of service as stated supply immediately fol- 
lowing his licensure, and resigned July 15, 1836. He was, at 
different times later, the very popular pastor of prominent 
churches in New Albany, Ind., Washington, Pa., San Francisco, 
Cal., Dayton and Cincinnati, Ohio, besides serving as Professor 
of Hanover College and President of Miami University. He 
died lamented at the home of his son, the Rev. John A. Ander- 
son, in Junction City, Kansas, August 28, 1870, aged about 
sixty-six years. A tasteful monument marks the resting-place 
of himself and his wife, at the place of his death. 

THE REV. EBENEZER S. GRAHAM 
Was the equally popular successor of Dr. Anderson. He was 
a spiritual son of the church of Cross Creek, an alumnus of 



148 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Washington College in the class of 1834, a pupil in theology of 
his pastor, Dr. John Stockton, and a licentiate of this Presby- 
tery. He was ordained and installed at Pigeon Creek in 1837, 
and both faithfully and successfully fulfilled the duties of the 
pastorate for five years, when in broken health he was com- 
pelled to seek release, and soon afterwards was called to his 

rest, 

THE REV. JAMES SLOAN, D.D., 

Was the next pastor of that venerable church. He also was a 
son of this Presbytery, having been born September 16, 1807, 
and n^ared in the congregation of Upper Buffalo. He was 
graduated from Jefferson College in the class of 1830. His 
theological studies were pursued under the direction of his ven- 
erable pastor, Dr. John Anderson, to whose able teaching so 
many ministers were indebted for their power as preachers of 
the word. For a period including his licensure by the Presby- 
tery of Washington in 1834 he was a teacher in the academy at 
Florence, then at the height of its prosperity and usefulness. 
Soon afterwards, receiving a call from the church of Frankfort, 
he was ordained and installed as its pastor, and, through the 
nine years of his service as such, was greatly blessed in the 
results of his labors. During a portion of this time he con- 
ducted an academy in connection with his pastoral work. 

Dr. Sloan was called to the pastorate of the church of Pigeon 
Creek April 8th, 1844, and was regularly installed in December 
following. This relation continued for eighteen years and six 
months, until 1862. He ever looked back upon that as the 
period of his chief life-work. He was strongly and tenderly 
bound to his people, ever bearing their burdens and ministering 
to their spiritual wants, " both publicly and from house to 
house." The church flourished under his care ; God's people 
were edified by his evangelical discourses, and sinners were 
converted unto the Lord. After his resignation of this charge 
Dr. Sloan served the church of Waynesburg with great accept- 
ance and benefit as a stated supply until ill health compelled 
his relinquishment of labor. He died in holy peace at Monon- 
gahela City, March 11, 1871, at the age of sixty-three years. As 
many of us as were associated with him in presbyterial relations 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 49 

and co-operative work cannot fail to recall his assiduous faith- 
fulness to duty. We also affectionately remember him as a true 
servant of the Lord. 

Besides his direct ministerial work, Dr. Sloan devoted much 
attention to the social, educational and moral elevation of the 
community in which he lived. He was, for twenty years, a 
trustee of Jefferson College, and then also of the united college 
from the union of 1865 until his death. 

THE REV. SAMUEL McF. HENDERSON, 

Born at New Hagerstown, Ohio, December 24, 1839, ^^ alum- 
nus of Washington College of the class of i860 and of the 
Western Theological Seminary in 1863, and licensed in 1862 by 
the Presbytery of Steubenville, was ordained as pastor at Pigeon 
Creek by this Presbytery November 4, 1863, and served that 
church with ability and faithfulness for four years, when he ac- 
cepted a call to Wilkinsburg, where he labored for eleven years 
more. He was a fine scholar as well as an earnest minister. 
Whilst pastor at Wilkinsburg he temporarily conducted the 
studies of a chair in the Allegheny Seminary, and the last year 
of his life was spent as a professor in Biddle Institute, North 
Carolina. He died April 2, 1879. 

After this group of names joined by the relation of place, let 
us come back once more to the succession of time. 

THE REV. ROBERT McCREA WHITE 

Was born at Fagg's Manor, Chester County, Pa., March 2, 181 5. 
He was a son of the Rev. Robert White, and on the maternal 
side a grandson of the Rev. Nathaniel Grier. He became a 
graduate of Amherst College in 1834. He was a student for 
one year in the Princeton Seminary, but made the rest of his 
special preparation for the ministry under private instruction. 
Having come into our bounds as a licentiate of the Presbytery 
of New Castle, he was ordained by this body December 27, 
1837, and at the same time installed as pastor of the church of 
Fairview. That pastorate of eleven years proved to be most 
happy and fruitful. It was marked with strong mutual attach- 
ment, and sealed with every token of growth and prosperity. 



150 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Mr. White, if not a cultured orator in the ordinary sense, was a 
powerful preacher of the truth and eloquent in pressing it home 
to the conscience and heart. His services were much in demand 
in surrounding churches, and few were more frequently called 
to occupy the pulpit at meetings of Presbytery and Synod. But 
for the depression of health and spirits coming forth from a 
brain diseased, it was thought, by undue mental stress in minis- 
terial study and work, he would have seemed to have a long 
and bright future of usefulness. 

But sad to his devoted people was his announcement early in 
1848 of his purpose to accept a call to the church of Chartiers, 
near Cannonsburg, for the sake of lighter labor. Upon his re- 
moval the trustees of Jefferson College were quick to tender 
him a professorship in connection with his pastorate. But the 
relief of change came too late. He returned to his former home 
broken in spirit, to die under a cloud, December 14, 1848. But 
none who knew him doubted that above that cloud was the 
sunlight of his Father's love. 

THE REV. JAMES FLEMING 

Was the quietest, yet one of the most trustworthy members of 
the Presbytery of Washington in his day. He was born August 
5th, 1806, in the bounds of the congregation of Cross Creek, 
and from the date of his majority enjoyed the educational as 
well as spiritual oversight of his pastor, the Rev. Dr. John 
Stockton. His graduation from Washington College was in the 
class of 1833. His licensure by this Presbytery in 1838 fol- 
lowed a year of study in the Western Theological Seminary, 
which had been preceded by a course of professional instruction 
at the hands of his pastor. He was ordained and installed as 
pastor of the church of West Union, West Virginia, in 1839, ^7 
his mother Presbytery. That relation of usefulness and mutual 
confidence was severed by his own wish in 1856, and two years 
later he was installed in charge of the church cf Lower Buffalo, 
where he labored faithfully until his removal to Mansfield, Illi- 
nois, in 1869. Seven years later we find his name in the statis- 
tical records of the General Assembly marked " H. R.," i. e., 
honorably retired on account of the infirmities of age, having 



DECEASED MINISTERS. I5I 

reached the boundary line of three-score years and ten. He 
was a member of this Presbytery thirty years, and twenty-eight 
years one of its pastors. The necrological record of the Gene- 
ral Assembly of 1887 has his name among the deceased of the 
preceding year at the venerable age of eighty years. He is and 
will be remembered by our older ministers and people for his 
gentle spirit, his consistent life, the singleness of his devotion to 
the work of the gospel and the spiritual blessings which came 
down upon the church through his ministry. His son, the 
Rev. David B. Fleming, pastor of the church of Unity, Indiana, 
a son also of this Presbytery, nobly represents him in the work 

of the gospel. 

THE REV. JOEIv STONEROAD 

Spent by far the largest part of his ministerial life in the Pres- 
bytery of Redstone, but the eight years of faithful work in our 
connection (1842-50), as pastor of the church of Cross Roads, 
entitle him to a place in these memorial records. His charac- 
teristic and habitual activity carried him beyond the limits of his 
own charge, in preaching and other labor, and was stamped with 
the divine blessing. He was especially a chief agent in preparing 
the way for the organization of the church of Burgettstown, now 
one of our strong and prosperous churches. To survivors asso- 
ciated with him, his name is still precious. 

Mr. Stoneroad was born at Derry, Mifflin County, Pa., Janu- 
ary 2, 1806; was graduated from Jefferson College in 1827, and 
from Princeton Seminary in 1830; was pastor at Uniontown 
1831-42, and, returning to Redstone Presbytery in 1850, labored 
in charge of the churches of Laurel Hill and Tyrone for eleven 
years, and of the former until 1877, when he retired, to spend 
life's evening of infirmity in preparation for his crown and joy. 
He died August 11, 1884, in his seventy-ninth year. 

THE REV. JAMES ALEXANDER, D.D., 

Departed this life, in peace with God and honor among men, 
July 26, 1879, at "the venerable age of fourscore years. From 
i860 until his death he was a valued member of this Presbytery, 
and with the earnestness of his earlier years, through this period 
of his ripening for celestial glory, he gave to several of our 
churches the benefit of his matured wisdom and faithful labors. 



152 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Dr. Alexander was born near Mercer, Pa., September 25, 1798. 
He was graduated from Jefferson College in 1826, a classmate 
of Drs. A. T. McGill, Aaron Williams, William C. Matthews, 
John W. Scott, and others of more or less distinction. His 
licensure by the Presbytery of Erie, April 9, 1828, was followed, 
October 13th of the same year, by his ordination and settlement 
at Greenville and Big Bend, in the same Presbytery. He was 
subsequently pastor, at different periods, of the churches of Hope- 
well, Allegheny County, Pa. ; St. Clairsville, and afterwards 
Martin's Ferry, in Ohio. In i860 he took charge of the churches 
of Allen Grove and Wolf Run, W. Va., which led to the transfer 
of his name to our roll. From 1867 until near his death, he was 
pastor of the church of Moundsville. His mortal remains were, 
with impressive ceremonies, laid down to rest July 28, 1879, in 
the Walnut Grove Cemetery, Martin's Ferry, Ohio. 

Dr. Alexander was made a Trustee of Jefferson College in 
1856, and so continued until the union of the colleges in 1865, 
after which he served as a member of the Board of Washington 
and Jefferson College until his death. For a number of years, 
also, he was a Director of the Western Theological Seminary. 
He was ever held in high regard by his ministerial brethren, as 
well as by the people whom he served in the gospel, and has 
left behind him the memory of a useful life. He is now repre- 
sented by two sons in the ministry, viz. : Rev. J. Kirkwood Alex- 
ander, of Keokuk, Iowa, and Rev. Walter L. Alexander, of 
Beallsville, Ohio. 

THE REV. ALEXANDER McCARRELL, D.D., 

Was the earnest and beloved spiritual leader of the church of 
Claysville for the continuous period of thirty-five years. For 
six of these years he was a stated supply, but was installed as 
pastor in 1852, and so remained, in the bonds of love, until his 
death, April 18, 1881. He was born, September 22, 18 17, at 
Cross Creek, and was reared under the ministry of Dr. John 
Stockton, who baptized him, received him into the communion 
of the church, guided his academical studies, instructed him in 
theology, after his graduation from Washington College in the 
class of 1841, took part in his licensure, April 17, 1845, ^^^^ or- 



DBCEASED MINISTERS. 1 53 

dination, just two years later, and ever afterwards, while they 
both lived, was his fatherly co-presbyter. 

Dr. McCarrell was highly esteemed by his brethren, as well 
as by his people. Besides the work of his own church, he was 
a vigilant member of the various ecclesiastical courts, and, for 
many years preceding his death, was the efficient Stated Clerk 
of the Presbytery. But his best success and reputation were 
achieved as a pastor. His triumphs were spiritual. His good- 
ness was his greatness. He attempted no philosophical elabo- 
rations, indulged in no flights of fancy, resorted to no clap-trap, 
coveted no sensational notoriety, but simply aimed to " preach 
the gospel with the Holy Ghost sent down from heaven." His 
mind, led by his heart, ever turned to the central themes which 
bring the sinner and the Saviour together. He spoke the truth 
in love, yet commended himself to every man's conscience in 
the sight of God. He convinced men by " the word of God," 
whilst he won them by " the meekness and gentleness of Christ." 
Through him the body of Christ was edified and souls were con- 
verted to God. He died lamented, but his record is in many 
human hearts. 

Three sons honorably represent him in the living ministry, 
and the only other is an active and leading ruling elder. 

THE REV. DAVID ROBINSON 

Was born at Cross Creek, June 15, 1809. He was graduated 
from Washington College in 1837, pursued his theological stu- 
dies partly under Dr. John Stockton, and for one year in the 
Western Seminary; was licensed October 6, 1841, by this Pres- 
bytery, and ordained as pastor of the church of Mill Creek, 
April 20, 1842. He ministered to that church twelve years, 
after which his membership was transferred to the Presbytery 
of New Lisbon, and for several years he had charge of the 
church of Long's Run, in its bounds. He died at Hookstown, 
Pa., March 17, 1861. It was in 1853, during his pastorate at 
Mill Creek, that a very extensive work of grace pervaded that 
church, during which he was assisted by Professor Nicholas 
Murray, of Washington College, when about one hundred per- 
sons made profession of their faith in Christ, and were added to 
the church. 



154 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON, 

THE REV. JAMES TURNER FREDERICKS 

Was continuously the pastor of the Burgettstown church from 
his ordination by the Presbytery of Washington, in 1858, until 
his lamented death, July 21, 1886, in his sixtieth year. At the 
age of twenty-eight years he received his bachelor's degree from 
Jefferson College, in 1855 ; after which he took a full course in 
the Western Theological Seminary, and was licensed by the 
Presbytery of Richland in 1857. 

The pastorate of Mr. Fredericks was one of general and cred- 
itable success. He was a vigilant, energetic and constant 
worker. The church was built up into strength, and year by 
year steady additions were made to its membership in gratifying 
proportion, whilst a number of special revival seasons brought 
large numbers of the young into the fold. A large and hand- 
some house of worship was erected in the latter years of his 
ministry, which has already added much to the stability and 
progress of the congregation ; and we may well hope that it 
will in future years be a hallowed temple of Zion, where saints 
shall still be built up in the faith and sinners converted to God. 

When our brother Fredericks was called from his earthly 
work, quite a number of his Presbyterial brethren and other 
ministers came together to bear their witness of the unfailing 
comforts of the gospel to his bereaved family and his afflicted 
church, and to look together into his open grave, sorrowful that 
he was gone from their sight, and devoutly praying that the 
lessons of his life and death might be made profitable to them- 
selves. The good seed of the kingdom which he abundantly 
cast is yet growing, and the full harvest is assured. 

For several years preceding his death, Mr. Fredericks was, by 
the selection of Presbytery, an active and efficient member of 
the Presbyterian Board of Colportage located at Pittsburgh. 

THE REV. NATHANIEL BARR LYONS 

Spent the last nine years of his earthly life, almost to its close, 
in the membership of this Presbytery, and in pastoral charge 
of the church of Upper Ten Mile. He was born in Ireland, 
November 5, 1822 ; graduated from Washington College in 1853, 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 55 

and the Western Theological Seminary in 1856, having been 
licensed the previous year by the Presbytery of Redstone; and 
ordained, in 1856, by the Presbytery of New Lisbon, as pastor 
of the churches of Hubbard, Liberty and Brookfield, Ohio. He 
was married. May 8, 1856, to Miss Mary Jane Sample, of Wash- 
ington, who survives him. In 1859 he became pastor of the 
church of Upper Ten Mile, in this Presbytery, and so continued 
until January, 1868, when he was dismissed to unite with the 
Presbytery of Ohio (now Pittsburgh), and take charge of the 
church of West Elizabeth. He had been laboring in this new 
field for about two months in advance of installation, when he 
returned to his former charge for a communion season, imme- 
diately after which he took his bed, never more to leave it alive. 
The services of his funeral were held in the church in which he 
had preached for nine years ; after which his body was borne to 
the Washington Cemetery, there to await the resurrection. His 
ministry was repeatedly blessed with revival, and his spiritual 
exercises, during the weeks of his last sickness, were marked 
with peculiar resignation, faith and joy. 

THE REV. ROBERT SLEMMONS MORTON 

Spent three distinct periods of his ministry of thirty-seven years 
as a member of this Presbytery. He was pastor of the churches 
of Mill Creek and Hookstown, 1855-65 ; of East Buffalo, 1869- 
70; and again of Hookstown, 1882-85 ; where he died January 
12, 1885, in the sixty-ninth year of his age, He was born Sep- 
tember 29, 1 8 16, in Lawrence County, Pa.; was graduated from 
Jefferson College in the Class of 1845, and from the Western 
Theological Seminary in 1848; was licensed in June, 1847, by 
the Presbytery of Beaver, and ordained by the same in June, 
1848. His ministry, though marked with frequent changes of 
location, was one of continual labor. He was a good and faith- 
ful minister of the word, and in each of the ten places where he 
preached he left precious fruits of his labors. Both as pastor 
and presbyter, he so acquitted himself as to command the re- 
spect of his co-laborere in the sacred office, and of the people 
whom he faithfully served. 



156 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

THE REV. WILLIAM BUTLER KEELING 

Was pastor of the church of Mount Prospect during the years 
1858-63. He was born in Pittsburgh May 4, 1828. and was 
graduated from Jefferson College in the Class of 1855, after 
which he took the full course of three years in the Allegheny 
Seminary, receiving license to preach in April, 1857, at the end 
of his second seminary year, by the Presbytery of Ohio. 

He possessed very decided ability and force as a preacher, but 
his tendency to controversy and stricture alienated a portion of 
his people from him. During his last year at Mount Prospect 
he represented the Presbytery in the General Assembly at 
Peoria, Illinois. His subsequent ministry was spent in several 
fields of labor in the west. He died at Winona, Illinois, April 
29, 1878. During the whole course of his education and public 
work his superior talents and scholarship were freely acknow- 
ledged. 

THE REV. DAVID R. CAMPBELL, D.D., 

Was a son both of Washington County and of the Washington 
Presbytery. He was born March 20, 1820, was an alumnus of. 
Jefferson College of the Class of 1842, completed his course of 
preparation for the ministry at the Allegheny Seminary in 1846, 
and was shortly afterwards licensed to preach the gospel, and 
ordained the year following by the Presbytery of St. Clairsville. 
After three years of pastoral service in Ohio, he was called to 
the church of Mt. Prospect in 1850, and there labored with force 
and acceptance for five years among a people who were famil- 
iar with his childhood and youth. After this, returning to 
Ohio, he labored for five years as pastor of the churches of 
Cross Creek and Two Ridges, a like period as pastor at St. 
Clairsville, and the same number of years as pastor of the Second 
Church of Steubenville. After this declining health demanded 
cessation of work. He died at Steubenville February 25, 1873, 
amidst the sympathy and sorrow of a church which had learned 
to appreciate his decided pulpit ability, his evangelical spirit, and 
his uniform faithfulness. 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 57 

THE REV. WILLIAM J- ALEXANDER, 

A licentiate of the Presbytery of Erie, after serving the churches 
of Concord and Deerfield in its bounds for two years, took 
charge of the church of West Union in 1858, when he became a 
member of this Presbytery, He was pastor of that church for 
ten years. For the first part of that term his labors were accept- 
able as well as profitable ; but during the Civil War which pre- 
vailed in the land through the years 1861-65, the great questions 
pertaining to which pressed heavily upon the people of West 
Virginia, strifes arose, and ultimately the pastoral relation was 
dissolved on Mr. Alexander's application. He accepted a call, 
however, at that time (1868) to the church of East Buffalo, where 
he was met not only with conditions of peace, but by a people 
longing for spiritual blessings. The baptism of a powerful 
revival came upon his opening work, and many were added to 
the Lord. But ere the cloud of mercy had passed away, the 
overworked pastor was called to cease from his labors on earth 
and enter into the joy of his Lord, 

THE REV. JONATHAN CROSS 

Was, for about six years, a member of our Presbytery. He was 
born in the year 1802, in Beaver County, Pa. At the age of 
twenty years he became a Christian, and afterwards was made a 
ruling elder. His burning zeal led him to enter the service of 
the American Tract Society, in which capacity he labored for 
many years, chiefly in West Virginia, in the double work of 
distributing evangelical literature and of winning souls by per- 
sonal appeal and prayer. It was his great success in this line of 
service that led him to his entrance into the ministry late in life. 
In 1866, at the solicitation of that godly man, Samuel Ott, Esq., 
he came to his only pastoral charge, the Third Church of 
Wheeling, when that church was at the point of disbanding ; 
but great success and increase marked his work until 1872, 
when ill health compelled him to retire. He died at Newark, 
Ohio, December 18, 1876, aged about seventy-four years. In 
many places he is remembered as an earnest evangelist. 



158 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

THE REV. DANIEL WILLIAMS, M.D., 

Was born at Merthyr-Tydvil, Wales, March 31, 1826, but came, 
as a young man, to this country. After a course in Western 
Reserve College, he entered the Western Theological Seminary 
in 1852, and was graduated from that institution in 1855, and 
licensed to preach by the Presbytery of New Lisbon in the same 
year. Very soon after he was ordained and installed by the Pres- 
bytery of Redstone as pastor of the chuech of West Newton, Pa., 
a relation which continued for two years, and was followed in 
1857 by a year of like service at Schellsburg, Pa. In i860, he 
became the head of a Female Seminary, and having meanwhile 
studied medicine and received his degree from the University of 
Pennsylvania in 1865, he practiced as a physician for two years. 
Returning to the ministerial work, he was pastor of the church' 
of Mineral Ridge, Ohio, for four years, ending in 1872. At 
that time he entered upon his last charge in the Third and 
Fourth churches of Wheeling, West Virginia, as a home mis- 
sionary, and successfully conducted it for two years, ending in 
1874. He continued to preach as opportunity offered in vacant 
churches and destitute places, and for a time, during such ser- 
vice, he resorted to the seminary of his early training at Alle- 
gheny, Pa., for certain lines of special and advanced study. 
While thus engaged, he received a very sudden call to the 
triumphant church, December 28, 1880, leaving a record of ex- 
cellent ministerial character, of earnest work, and of many 
tokens of heavenly blessing. The members of this Presbytery 
hold him in fraternal remembrance. 

Dr. Williams was twice married; first, in 1849, ^^ Miss 
Jemima Evans, and, in 1859, ^o ^^s. Caroline L. Williams. 
The latter survives him, having not only sustained him nobly in 
his work, but since his death having taken a zealous part in 
both foreign and home missionary work, along with her sisters 
in the church, who honor her with their confidence, and feel 
themselves strengthened by her co-operation. 

THE REV. JOSEPH G. LYLE • 

Was born in Belmont county, Ohio, January 2, 1843. He made 
his confession of Christ in the Church of Crabapple, August 25, 



DECEASED MINISTERS. 1 59 

1889, under the pastorate of the Rev. Wm, R. Vincent. His 
collegiate training was received partly in Washington and Jeffer- 
son College, but finished in Vermilion Institute ; after which he 
was graduated from the Western Theological Seminary in 1873, 
having been licensed in 1872 by the Presbytery of St. Clairsville. 
He was ordained December i, 1874, by the Presbytery of Pitts- 
burgh, and settled as pastor of the church of Homestead, and, 
in 1879, he accepted a call to the Third church at Wheeling, W. 
Va., where he labored faithfully until his death, April 11, 1884. 

Mr. Lyle was a very evangelical and earnest minister of the 
word, both in and out of the pulpit. His labors at Gardner, 
Illinois, as a licentiate, and subsequently at Homestead and 
Wheeling as a pastor, were crowned with the divine blessing. 
Sound judgment and burning zeal combined in his incessant 
work, which was also supplemented and sustained by the earnest 
co-operation of his wife, Mrs. L. J. (Wotring) Lyle, who survives 
him. Especially was his adaptation to his last charge so largely 
missionary in its character, manifest in his possession of the con- 
fidence of its members and its outside well-wishers, as well as 
in his peculiar power over the operatives in the manufacturing 
establishments which abound in that part of the city. Many 
souls were brought to Christ through his instrumentality, and 
every interest was promoted by his influence. His ministerial 
work was conducted under the difficulties of chronic disease 
induced by service in the army during the Civil War of 1861-65. 
But he was as true as a soldier of the cross as he had been for his 
country's flag. Great was the lamentation of all classes of per- 
sons at his decease, and still his bereaved people carry him in 
their hearts, rejoicing gratefully in the abiding blessings of his 
labor in the Lord. 

THE REV. SAMUEL H. JEFFERY 

Was born near Imperial, Allegheny county, Pa., August 19, 1815. 
In early life he united by profession of his faith with the church 
of Montours, of which his parents were members. Soon after- 
ward he simultaneously taught a graded school at Hookstown, 
Beaver county, Pa., and pursued classical study, partly alone and 
partly under the guidance of his future father-in-law, the Rev. 



l6o THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

George M. Scott, one of the original members of the Presbytery 
of Washington. He was married October 15, 1839, to Miss 
Jane Scott, who still survives him. 

Mr. Jeffery was received by this Presbytery as a candidate for 
the ministry at the October meeting of 185 i ; licensed to preach 
just one year later, and ordained April 18, 1855. He served the 
churches of Unity and Waynesburg, in Greene county, Pa., from 
October, 1854, until his much lamented death, November 12, 
1859. Of the former he was stated supply during this whole 
period, and of the latter also until November 5, 1855, when, by 
installation, he became its first pastor. By his own people and 
also by other churches to which he occasionally ministered, he 
was regarded as an able, studious, earnest, consistent, and godly 
man, as well as an edifying and useful preacher. The lamenta- 
tions of the community, at his death, were general and deep, 
and many who had been wont to hear Christ through his voice, 
" sorrowed most of all" " that they should see his face no more." 
The session of the Waynesburg church placed on their records 
the following emphatic testimony, viz. : "His faithfulness as a 
pastor and friend has endeared him to us to such a degree, that 
we feel that indeed our loss has been great, and would seem 
almost irreparable." And further : " He was a true servant of 
the Lord, who never failed to declare the whole truth, and who 
ever kept himself out of view, whilst he held up Christ and his 
cross as the only way of salvation to a perishing world. After 
the lapse of thirty years, the name of Jeffery is still a precious 
memory, and the echoes of his spiritual messages still linger in 
the hearts of surviving hearers. 

CONCLUSION. 

All of these and other honored and beloved men once here, 
though dead yet speak. Each of them, in his measure, was 
instrumental in the Lord's hand, in shaping and executing the 
work of the gospel along the line of this history. Their ability 
and fidelity, their maintenance and propagation of the truth, 
their consistency and zeal, their work and prayers, all have an 
abiding record in the churches which they served and the people 
whose characters they had so much to do in forming. Their 



DECEASED MINISTERS. l6l 

presbyterial consultations, decisions and co-operative influence 
have made an abiding record. Their names will go down to 
other generations. We and those who shall come after us, 
walking in their footsteps may ever learn from their example, 
and profit by their faithfulness. 

" We gather up with pious care 

What happy saints have left behind ; 
Their writings in our memory bear, 

Their sayings on our faithful mind. 
Their works, which traced them to the skies 

For patterns to ourselves we take, 
And dearly love, and highly prize 

The mantle for the wearer's sake," 

II 



IV. 

RELATION OF THE PRESBYTERY TO 
EDUCATION, 

WITH SKETCHES OF EDUCATORS. 

I. Presbyterianism, by its concise and comprehensive sys- 
tem of doctrine, by its prevalent type of experience and charac- 
ter, and by its polity and administration, holds vital relations 
with liberal and thorough education. No branch of Protest- 
antism has done more, struggled more, sacrificed more, to give 
to all men everywhere the inestimable blessing of a sound edu- 
cation. In 1558, John Knox, writing from Geneva his " Brief 
Exhortation to England," affirmed that, " for the preservation 
of religion, it is most expedient that schools be universally 
erected in all cities and chief towns, the oversight whereof to be" 
committed to the magistrates and learned men of the said cities 
and towns ; that, of the youth godly instructed among them, a 
seed may be reserved and continued for the profit of Christ's 
Church in all ages." We hold ourselves as Presbyterians pre- 
eminently bound to utilize and diffuse useful knowledge, to foster 
true science, to sympathize with the best culture, and by all just 
means to widen and exalt the thoughts of men, doing faithfully 
what we may to lift humanity more and more resolutely up to 
the largest attainable measure of intellectual as well as spiritual 
life. The genius of Presbyterianism is such that it instinctively 
demands the education of the people. It must do this in order 
to live and propagate itself It teaches that intelligence is neces- 
sary for the attainment of the highest Christian life, and that 
man's intellectual and spiritual nature must be developed in 
harmony. 

Our national historian, Bancroft, writes : " He who will not 
honor the memory and respect the influence of Calvin, knows 
162 




Educators. 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 63 

but little of the origin of American liberty;" and he further 
states, " that John Calvin was the father of popular education, 
and the inventor of the system of free schools ;" and there is no 
more glorious leaf in the annals of American Presbyterianism 
than that on which is written the history of her educational 
institutions. 

The late Rev. Dr. Curry, an able leader in the Methodist 
Episcopal Church in America, has written of the Westminster 
Confession that it " is the clearest and most comprehensive sys- 
tem of doctrine ever framed. It is not only a wonderful monu- 
ment of the intellectual greatness of its framers, but also a com- 
prehensive embodiment of nearly all the precious truths of the 
gospel." " We concede," he says, " to the Calvinistic churches 
the honor of having all along directed the best thinking of the 
country." 

Dr. A. A. Hodge said, in an address which I heard him deliver 
in the Presbyterian Council in Edinburgh, in 1877, that "it is an 
historical fact, acknowledged by such impartial witnesses as 
Sir James Mackintosh, Froude, and Bancroft, that these Presby- 
terian principles revolutionized Western Europe and her popu- 
lations, and inaugurated modern history. As to their influence 
upon civil as well as religious liberty, and upon national educa- 
tion, it is only necessary to cite the post-reformation history of 
Geneva, Holland, the history of the Huguenots of France, the 
Puritans of England, the Presbyterians of Scotland, and the 
founders of the American Republic, where, for the first two 
hundred years of its history, almost every college and seminary 
of learning, and almost every academy and common school, was 
built and sustained by Calvinists." 

How far the Presbyterian Church in this country has been 
identified with the cause of education, is manifest alike by the 
action of its chief judicatories, by the story of its practical effort, 
and by the growth of institutions originating with it, and still 
standing as monuments of its zeal and consecration. Such eccle- 
siastical action, taking note of the intellectual as well as the 
spiritual condition of the poor, especially in more destitute 
regions, encouraging the establishment of both parochial and 
common schools, favoring the founding of academies and semi- 



164 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

naries for both sexes, furthering the planting and endowment 
of colleges and universities, and directly assisting in the organiz- 
ation and control of institutions for the special training of young 
men for the ministry. Such action may be found everywhere in 
the annals of American Presbyterianism, not only committing 
its various branches to the support of education in the broadest 
sense, but also indicating a zeal, an energy, a devotion to that 
great task nowhere surpassed. 

From the early days when men, who were Calvinists in belief, 
and largely Presbyterian in their conception of the Church, 
founded the first colleges of New England, through the subse- 
quent period when the famous Log College and other like insti- 
tutions on the Atlantic coast rose into form under Presbyterian 
oversight, down to our own time when colleges and seminaries 
are springing up by natural consequence in every State and 
Territory where the Presbyterian Church has been introduced, 
that history is one worthy of the name. 

2. The way is now prepared to consider the question, IV/iai 
coniiLXtion has our Presbytery had with education and prominent 
educators ? The connection has been most intimate, ever since 
the organization of the Presbytery in 18 19. Even years before 
the organization had taken place, the work of education had vig- 
orously commenced on this territory, by the early settlers and 
the first ministers. " From the outset," says Doddridge, in his 
" Notes," " they prudently resolved to create a ministry in the 
country, and accordingly established little grammar schools at 
their own houses, or in their immediate neighborhoods." With 
a wise forecast, and in a most catholic spirit, the fathers made 
provision for the future of the Church, in the founding of schools, 
academies, colleges and seminaries. Literary institutions were 
born within " the sound of the Indian's war-whoop, and within 
sight of the smoke of the Indian's wigwam." Thus the founda- 
tions of our strength and greatness were laid by the pioneer 
fathers in the wilderness, upon the word of God and a liberal 
Christian education. 

As early as 1782, the Rev. Thaddeus Dodd had a suitable 
house erected on his own farm, and commenced in it a classical 
and mathematical school, three years after his settlement as 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 65 

pastor of Ten Mile. That academy continued in successful 
operation for three years apd a half, until, for some reason, the 
farm was sold. The students were transferred to a school 
opened in the " study" at Buffalo, in 1785, by the Rev. Joseph 
Smith. That school was successful for a few years, and it was 
claimed by the author of " Old Redstone," the grandson of Mr. 
Smith, to be " the first school opened with exclusive reference to 
the training of young men for the ministry." 

Contemporary, in a general sense with these, was another 
school, established by Rev. John McMillan, whose pastoral 
charge was partly on the field now included in the Presbytery of 
Washington, and whose school, though located just outside of 
this territorial limit, dispensed its advantages equally in every 
direction. 

To these three men — Thaddeus Dodd, Joseph Smith and 
John McMillan — of whom biographical sketches will be found 
elsewhere in this volume, belongs the honorable distinction of 
having been the pioneers of education no less than religion in 
Western Pennsylvania. Dodd was a fine classical and mathe- 
matical scholar. " His life was gentle, his preaching earnest, 
persuasive, and particularly attractive to the young." Smith was 
a most devout man, mighty in prayer, and, as related by his 
biographer, would frequently rise in the night hours to hold 
communion with God. McMillan was a man of Pauline zeal as 
well as doctrine, and, surviving the other two some forty years, 
did a grand work in his day, particularly in the instruction of the 
rising ministry. 

These devoted men, together with others, who carried the 
gospel west of the mountains, convinced of the importance of an 
educated as well as a pious ministry, did not hurry ignorant, 
uncultivated young men into the sacred office, on. the ground 
that laborers were greatly needed. They required their candi- 
dates to be able to read the Sacred Scriptures in the original 
tongues, and they provided the best means in their power to 
give a good education to all who sought it. 

A few ministers in Morris County, New Jersey, separated 
from their Presbytery and formed an independent Presbytery, 
not because they differed in doctrine, but because so {^.v^ men 



l66 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

of education offered themselves as candidates for the gospel 
ministry, they thought it necessary to license as preachers men 
who had very little education or knowledge of theology. Sev- 
eral such were licensed, and remained unemployed. A friend in 
Morris County wrote to Thaddeus Dodd, who was from that 
place, inquiring whether or not some of those young men could 
not be usefully employed in Western Pennsylvania. Mr. Dodd 
replied to this effect : " That Western Pennsylvania was a very 
rough, hilly country, and that the roots of trees still green 
required a very strong, well-trained team to break up the ground, 
and he did not think that two-year old steers would answer!" 

Following the three private schools which have been men- 
tioned, two incorporated academies quickly succeeded, both of 
which soon grew into colleges. 

The history of Cannonsburg Academy and its successor, 
Jefferson College, is an exceedingly interesting one. Their 
influence was most direct and potent in moulding the religious 
life of the whole Western Church. The tracing out of this 
influence, and putting on record the history of the two institu- 
tions, would constitute an attractive labor. This, however, may 
most appropriately be remitted to the sister Presbytery in whose 
bounds their site was embraced. 

THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY 

Was chartered by an act of the Legislature of Pennsylvania, 
September 24, 1787 ; but it was not until 1789 that it was opened 
for students under the Rev. Thaddeus Dodd, who was chosen 
principal on account of his scholarly qualifications. He remained 
but a year and three months at the head of the institution, and 
on account of the burning of the court-house, in which the 
classes recited, the school was suspended in 1791- ; but the sus- 
pension did not long continue, for we learn that soon afterwards it 
was re-opened, and carried on with greater or less success until the 
spring of 1 805 , under James Dobbins and Benjamin Mills. Then a 
brighter era dawned upon it, in the call of Rev. Matthew Browh 
to its management and instruction, who had also been chosen as 
the first pastor of the Presbyterian Church of Washington. The 
academy prospered under the able principalship and administra- 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 67 

tion of the gifted and skillful educator, and on March 28, 1806, 
received an act of incorporation as a college. 

The foundations of the college were firmly laid, alike in 
scholarship and administration, and a presidential reputation was 
made of which the alumni of both colleges, Washington and 
Jefferson, are justly proud. 

DR. MATTHEW BROWN, 

As the first President of Washington College, during an admin- 
istration of ten years, and afterwards the President of Jefferson 
College for twenty years, will be recognized in history as a 
prominent and successful educator. He was a graduate of Dick- 
inson College in 1794. The Rev. Robert Baird, D.D., who was 
one of his students writes thus concerning him : — " He was an 
excellent Latin scholar. In Rhetoric, Logic, Moral Philosophy, 
and Metaphysics, especially the latter, he was admirable. He 
was not only well versed in these several branches, but he pos- 
sessed in an uncommon degree the power of communicating to 
others what he knew; and in this, quite as much as in his 
scholarship, lay the secret of his success as a teacher." He was 
an able and effective preacher. He died after a brief illness at 
the house of his son-in-law, the Rev. Dr. Riddle, of Pittsburgh, 
on the 29th of July, 1853, aged seventy-seven. I heard him 
make his last public address at the Communion table in Cannons- 
burgh, a few weeks before his death ; it was spoken with great 
fervor and tenderness and made a deep impression upon the minds 
of all the students and others who heard him. His body was 
taken to Cannonsburgh, where a funeral discourse was preached 
by Rev. Dr. Elisha P. Swift of Allegheny. It was then removed 
to Washington for interment. Both at Cannonsburgh and Wash- 
ington, there was every demonstration of affectionate respect. 
The next prominent educator of that early day was, the 

REV. ANDREW WYUE. 

He was born in Washington County, Pennnsylvania, on the 
1 2th of April, 1789. He had been a pupil of Dr. Matthew 
Brown, in the Washington Academy, but graduated in the class 
of 18 10, in Jefferson College. He was a young man of fine 



1 68 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

talents and scholarship and address, and possessed great energy. 
At the early age of twenty-two years, and only eighteen months 
after his reception of a diploma, he was elected to the presidency 
of Jefferson College, where he continued for five years. In 
1816, he was transferred by election from the presidency of 
Jefferson to that of Washington, where he continued for twelve 
years ; so that he was noted in the administration of both the 
colleges, and also in their controversies at that time, concerning 
which I shall not speak. He retired in 1828 to take charge of 
the Indiana State University, at Bloomington, where he was dis- 
tinguished as an educator, and died November 11, 185 1, having 
passed three-score years. 

A prominent figure in our picture gallery of educators, was 

the 

REV. DAVID McCONAUGHY, D.D., LIv.D. 

He was born in Adams County, Pa., September 29, 1775, and 
was an alumnus of Dickinson College, graduating in 1795 ; he 
was called from the pastorate at Gettysburg, Pa., in the spring 
of 1832, to the presidency of Washington College. During his 
whole administration, which embraced a period of seventeen 
years and six months, three hundred and eighty-eight young 
men received the honors of the institution. The college, during 
the whole period, enjoyed a constantly increasing prosperity. 
His resignation, in September 1849, was followed by his peace- 
ful death at his home in Washington, January 29, 1852, " in the 
seventy-seventh year of his life, and fiftieth of his ministry." 
His friend, Rev. Dr. David Elliott, has written concerning him 
in the following language: — " His commanding talents, his ex- 
tensive and commanding scholarship, his unswerving integrity, 
his purity of motive, his paternal care and affectionate regard 
for his pupils, the uniform dignity of his deportment, and the 
captivating benevolence of his disposition — in a word, the con- 
centrated force of the many rare qualities which constituted his 
character, gave him a power and control over the public mind, 
and over the hearts of the young men, against which any few 
incidental defects in the management of the college, which 
might perhaps be justly imputed to him, presented but slight re- 
sistance. The history of the college during his administration 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 69 

is a sufficient certificate to the ability and fidelity with which he 
presided over it." 

The next educator whom I shall bring to your view, is 

NICHOLAS MURRAY. 

He was born in Brooke County, Va., on the fifth of February, 
1809. He served an apprenticeship of two or three years at the 
saddler's trade, in Steubenville, Ohio. He began to feel a strong 
desire for a liberal education, after he had commenced business 
for himself in West Liberty, Ohio County, Va. At this time 
Rev. Dr. John McCluskey was pastor of the West Alexander 
Presbyterian Church. He says, " I first met young Murray at a 
Bible class within the bounds of my congregation, and my atten- 
tion was drawn to him by the deep interest which he manifested, 
especially in the explanations which were given of the more 
difficult points. On inquiry I learned soniething of his previous 
history, and also his strong desire to obtain a liberal education, 
in connection with the untoward circumstances which seemed 
to forbid the hope of it. The next morning I sent a request to 
him that he would call at my house ; he did so, and the follow- 
ing is the substance of the conversation that passed between 
us : — 

" ' Mr. Murray, I have learned that you desire a liberal educa- 
tion.' ' I do, sir, but have no hope of getting it' ' Give candid 
and full answers to the questions I am about to propose, and I 
will tell you whether you can get an education or not.' 

" I. ' Have you any engagements, in love matters, with any 
lady ?' ' No, sir.' 

" 2. ' Have you any money ?' ' Not a dollar.' 

" 3. ' Are you in debt ?' 'About thirty dollars.' 

" 4. * Have you any friends who would aid you ?' ' I know ot 
no one who would give me a farthing.' 

" 5. ' Have you any better clothes than those you have on?' 
(Not only threadbare but rent.) * No, sir ; these are the best I 
have.' 

" ' Well, my young friend, it is a hard case, but if you will 
closely follow my directions, I will, under God, secure you a 
liberal education. Come here next Monday, and I will tell you.' 



170 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

In the meantime I visited a few families of my congregation, 
and obtained for him a small English school. On Monday he 
came. The plan was submitted. It was as follows : — 

" I. ' You will go with me to the store, and, on my credit, get 
yourself a suit of clothes. I intend that you shall pay for them 
as soon as you are able.' 

" 2. ' You are to teach a small English school, and recite two 
lessons per week of your academic studies to me, in my study. 
I will furnish you books and tuition gratis.' 

" 3. 'The iirst money you earn must be used in payment of 
your debt of thirty dollars. So much of the plan I tell you 
now.' He seemed much pleased. I gave him a Latin grammar 
and he went to work. He gave entire satisfaction in his school, 
and recited his lessons to me with remarkable accuracy, — though 
he taught six hours per day he advanced in his studies more 
rapidly than any of the thirty pupils under my care in regular 
attendance at the Academy. He was admitted, on an examina- 
tion, to the full privileges of the church in West Alexander, on 
the 29th of April, 1832." 

Mr. Murray entered Washington College in 1832, and very 
soon obtained a tutorship in the college, at the same time reci- 
ting in the regular classes. During his whole collegiate course 
his standing for talent, scholarship and deportment was unusually 
high, and he graduated with the first honors of his class in 1834. 

He studied Hebrew and theology under Dr. McCluskey, and 
was licensed to preach by the Presbytery of Washington on the 
2d of October, 1839. He resumed his employment as a teacher 
and was for some years at the head of a classical school of a 
very high order in Wheeling, Virginia. In 1844 he was unani- 
mously appointed Professor of Ancient Languages in the col- 
lege where he had graduated, and immediately entered upon the 
duties of his new office. 

As a teacher he was most accurate and thorough, laying 
deep and broad the grammatical basis of each language in the 
minds of his classes, and exploring the profoundest depths of 
its philosophy. 

He was ordained as an Evangelist at Wellsburgh, Va., on the 
i6th of April, 1845. 



EDUCATlONAIv HISTORY. 17I 

Soon after his removal to Washington he accepted a call 
from the neighboring church of Ten Mile. His labors, both as 
a professor and a pastor, were highly appreciated and emi- 
nently useful. In the early part of his ministry he was not so 
spiritual and unctional in his preaching, but afterwards he was 
the subject of remarkable spiritual exercises, which resulted in 
a most striking change of the whole man. When he preached, 
" it appeared that his mind was so absorbed with the person, 
office and mediatorial glory of the Redeemer, that his soul was 
literally on fire." During the whole winter of 1852-53 his la- 
bors in different places were abundant, and were characterized 
by a zeal that seemed almost superhuman. After the most in- 
tense and uninterrupted labor at the church of Mill Creek, 
night and day, for nearly a week, he left for Washington, a dis- 
tance of nearly forty miles, and rode on horseback, exposed to 
a cold, violent March storm. He was completely prostrated 
when he reached home, and after a few days, died on the 23d 
of March, 1853, in the forty-fifth year of his age and in the 
very prime of his manhood, 

REV. WIIvI/IAM P. ALRICH, D.D., 

Was born and brought up at Wilmington, Del. ; his preparatory 
studies were pursued at the Bucks County Academy, which was 
located in Newtown, Pa. He was an alumnus of Princeton Col- 
lege, and graduated with highest honors, being the valedic- 
torian of his class. He studied theology in the Princeton 
Theological Seminary. 

In 1830 he was made professor of mathematics, astronomy 
and chemistry in Washington College, and so continued until 
i860, when he resigned for rest. During all the time of his 
connection with the college he fulfilled the active duties of a 
minister, preaching for a time as supply at Pigeon Creek, but 
for the most part of the time at East Buffalo. He was a man 
of great kindness and integrity. His preaching was peculiar in 
style, but pithy and popular. Not a few were brought to the 
Saviour under his ministry. He was a man of decided convic- 
tions, conservative spirit, very conscientious, plain in manners, 
even old-fashioned, and was a warm true friend. He left a 



172 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

" good name." He died in Winterset, Iowa, at the residence of 
his son-in-law, Mr. C. Ballard, December 31, 1869, in the sev- 
enty-second year of his age. 

Among the names to be mentioned on this occasion is that of 

REV. JOHN W. SCOTT, D.D.. 
Of the Jefferson Class of 1827. He was a fine scholar, espe- 
cially in the Latin, and a thorough instructor. He conducted 
an academy in Steubenville, O., and afterwards in Wheeling, 
Va. He was called to the presidency of Washington College 
in 1853, and continued in the office until 1865. The twelve 
years of his administration were not surpassed by any like 
period in thorough scholarship. Two hundred and sixteen 
were added to the alumni, of whom one hundred and eighteen 
became ministers of the Gospel, including six Foreign Mission- 
aries. During this period several revivals of religion extended 
their influence into the college, as others had done before. A 
brief notice of the revival in Washington College was published 
in the Home and Foreign Record oi May, 1858, in which there 
is the following statement: "The session just closed was the 
most pleasant we have had. It is admitted by gentlemen here,' 
who have the best opportunity of knowing, that in discipline, 
good order, industry, morals and religious influence, and also 
in the standard of scholarship maintained and required, the col- 
lege is far in advance of any former times." It is recorded 
concerning President Scott, that in his voluntary retirement, 
preparatory to the union of Washington and Jefferson Colleges, 
he " carried with him the high esteem of all connected with the 
institution." He afterwards did efficient service in the cause of 
education, as vice-president and professor in the University of 
West Virginia, at Morgantown, and died July 25, 1879, after 
many years of great usefulness as an educator. 

THE REV. E. C. WINES, D.D., 

Was a professor for about five years in Washington College. 
Afterwards, for some years, he was president of the City Uni- 
versity, of St. Louis. He was a scholarly and literary man, 
and wrote some valuable books. Among the number was one 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 73 

on " The Laws of the Ancient Hebrews " and one on " Regen- 
eration." He afterwards did splendid service in prison reform, 
writing and lecturing upon the subject, and traveling in Europe 
to obtain information by visiting the prisons of various coun- 
tries. He became an authority on Prison Reform, and was 
counted a leader among Christian philanthropists in the 
amelioration of the physical and moral condition of prisoners 
throughout civilized countries. He died at Cambridge, Mass., 
December, 1879, while revising the proof sheets of his book, 
entitled " The State of Prisons," But there is another man who 
has a legitimate right by inheritance to a place in this record of 
the century. His name is 

SAMUEL JENNINGS WILSON. 

He was in every sense a son of the Presbytery of Washington. 
He was born in Washington County, Pa., July 19, 1828. He 
was awakened and brought to the Saviour under the ministry of 
Rev. James I. Brownson, D.D., and united with the First Pres- 
byterian Church of Washington while a student of the college, 
in 1849. He was graduated in the class of 1852, and from the 
Western Theological Seminary in 1855 ; '^^^ licensed to preach 
the gospel by the Presbytery of Washington April 18, 1855, at 
a meeting held in Wheeling, and was ordained by the same Oc- 
tober 20, 1857, in the same city. He was chosen instructor in 
the Western Theological Seminary in 1855, just after graduat- 
ing ; for six months he was stated supply for the Second Church 
of Wheeling, and received a call June 15, 1857, to become pas- 
tor of that church, which he declined, as he had been elected 
professor by the General Assembly of 1857, and was inaugu- 
rated April 18, 1858. At his own request he was dismissed to 
the Presbytery of Ohio (now Pittsburgh) October 2, 1866, and 
in addition to his duties as professor was the pastor of the 
Sixth Church of Pittsburgh for a number of years. In 1874 he 
was chosen to be the Moderator of the General Assembly, 
which met in St. Louis, Mo. Under the new arrangement of 
Synods by the General Assembly, he was elected the first Mod- 
erator of the Synod of Pennsylvania, which met in Harrisburgh, 
October, 1882. He was a member of the preliminary "Gen- 



174 THE PRESBYTERY 01'' WASHINGTON. 

eral Council of the Presbyterian Alliance," which met in Lon- 
don, July 21, 1875, and was also a member of the Second Gen- 
eral Council, which met in Philadelphia in 1880, before which 
he read an able paper on the " Distinctive Principles of Presby- 
terianism." The General Assembly, in 1883, appointed him to 
be a delegate to the General Council, to meet in Belfast, Ireland, 
July, 1884. But the Lord had other purposes concerning His 
servant ; after a brief severe attack of typhoid fever, he " fell 
asleep in Jesus," August 17, 1883, in the fifty-sixth year of his 
age, and after twenty-five years of faithful service as professor 
in the Western Theological Seminary. He was interred in Al- 
legheny Cemetery, August 20, 1883. Professor Wilson was a 
remarkably modest man, as free from arrogance, and presump- 
tion, as humble in the estimate of his own importance, as one 
can be well conceived to be in this world of sin. And yet he 
was as brave a man as ever lived. He was a successful and 
accomplished professor in the Theological Seminary, and an 
eloquent preacher. He was a thorough Presbyterian in his 
views of doctrine and order. He was not merely acquainted 
with the doctrines of the gospel, but they so imbued his whole 
train of thought that they came forth in his teaching without" 
effort or labor in all their native majesty and grace. He united 
in his own person a remarkable assemblage of those qualities 
which fit a man for discharging his high trust as a professor. 
He possessed, in a high degree, that dignity that commands re- 
spect, the accuracy that inspires confidence, the ardor that kin- 
dles animation, the kindness that wins affection. On the whole, 
if a bright intellect, unaffected simplicity of manners, staunch 
integrity of heart, unswerving fidelity in friendship, the gentle- 
ness of the lamb and the boldness of the lion — and all those 
qualities, consecrated by a piety, the most ardent and sincere 
on the high altar of devotion, have any claim to respect, the 
memory of Dr. Samuel J. Wilson will long be cherished with 
tears of admiration by those who knew him. " The righteous 
shall be in everlasting remembrance." (Ps. 112 : 6.) 

PROF. SAMUEL JONES 

Is here entitled to mention among our noted educators. He was 
born in Ireland, and educated in the University of Dublin. He 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 75 

came to this country and took charge of the Academy in Beaver, 
Pa., where he soon attracted attention as a successful teacher 
and a gifted scholar. In 1853 he was elected by the trustees of 
Jefferson College to the chair of Natural Sciences in that institu- 
tion, which he accepted and filled with great satisfaction until 
the union of Washington and Jefferson ; he was then transferred 
to the same chair in the united College, and continued in this 
position until failing health and the infirmity of years compelled 
him to retire from active service. He died May 22, 1885, after 
an honored and useful life. He was an earnest Christian, simple 
in his habits of life, and had the utmost contempt for shams and 
lofty pretensions. He was a genius in his line of study, and 
possessed mechanical skill, as was evidenced by the fact that he 
manufactured many of the instruments which he used in his 
laboratory. He was a popular teacher, and won the affection of 
his pupils, and always retained their highest esteem and respect. 
In the class-room he was always ready to answer a proper ques- 
tion ; but if a student put one out of mere curiosity, or for the 
purpose of puzzling the teacher, almost as quick as the lightning 
the Irish wit or sarcasm would flash forth, to the complete dis- 
comfiture of the venturesome student. Many of the witty say- 
ings of Prof Samuel Jones have been transmitted from one class 
to another, and will live for years to come in the college history. 
He was an humble Christian and a firm believer in the Word of 
God and in the atoning merits of the Lord Jesus Christ. His 
teachings of natural science were always in harmony with the 
teachings of the Holy Scriptures. In his will he left a consid- 
erable legacy to the College which he loved and for which he 
had so faithfully labored. When he died, he was buried in the 
beautiful cemetery of Washington, where so many rest who had 
been faithful Christian educators. 

To this list of successful educators, now deceased, may be 
added others whose term of service was more brief, but whose 
names should not pass unrecorded. 

In 181 5 John Reed was Professor of Languages in Wash- 
ington College. He was a graduate of Jefferson College, stand- 
ing high in the class of 18 10, of which Andrew Wylie and Wm. 



176 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Hendricks were members. He afterwards entered the ministry, 
and died in 1840, in Indiana, Pa. 

At a later date Andrew K. Russell was Professor of Lan- 
guages, and subsequently entered the ministry. 

In 1 83 1 Rev. David Elliott, D.D., was president /r^ tern, of 
Washington College. 

In 1831-32 Rev. J. Holmes Agnew was Professor of Lan- 
guages. {Vide Presbyterian Encyclopedia^ p. 16.) 

He was succeeded by Robert Fulton, who afterward entered 
the ministry. 

At a later date Rev. James W. McKennan, at two several 
times, rendered efficient service. 

It is deemed sufficient to merely mention here the names of 
these servants of God. Their fuller record may be found else- 
where in this volume, in the personal sketches which it contains. 

Other names of deceased persons who were educators in another 
sense than that of giving instruction, may here be introduced. 

The late Rev. Charles C. Beatty, D.D., LL. D., of Steuben- 
ville, O., will never be forgotten as the most generous benefactor of 
Washington and Jefferson College, up to this point in the history. 

Nor will the friends of this institution ever let die the name 
of Dr. Francis Julius Lemoyne, whose timely and liberal dona- 
tions have added so largely to its endowments. 

We also find connected with the early history of education on 
this field, in the responsible office of trustee, many familiar and 
honorable names. Prominent among these at a very early date 
were Dr. Absalom Baird, Alexander Reed, Andrew Swea- 
ringen, Esq., James Brice. Hon. James Allison, ^Vlex, Wright, 
Esq. , and Col. Wm. McKennan. A little later are the sons 
instead of the fathers — George Baird, Hon. Thos. H. Baird, 
Wm. Baird, Esq., Hon. T. M. T. McKennan, Hon. Joseph Rit- 
ner, Hon. R. R. Reed, John K. Wilson, John L. Gow, Esq., 
Hon. John H. Ewing, Colin M. Reed, and not a few others, 
who, as members or adherents of the Presbyterian Church, were 
faithful guardians of their trust, and zealous promoters of the 
cause of sanctified learning. 

Thus far, it is only the honored dead of whom mention has 
been made. But this record would be plainly defective if no 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 77 

reference were made to those who are still among the living, 
particularly those who rendered service as instructors. 

From 1824 to 1828* John W. Scott served as Professor of 

* Although the following letter was not written for publication, the privilege of 
inserting it has been obtained. It will be read with an interest not a little enhanced 
by the writer's venerable age and also his relationship to the Chief Magistrate of the 
Nation. — Com. of Pub. 

" Washington, D. C, Feb. 25, '89. 
" Rev. Henry Woods, D.D. : 
" Rev. and Dear Bro : 

9 "I have received yours of 2d inst., and I am obliged to answer it very 

briefly. I was received as a candidate for the gospel ministry by the Washington 
Presbytery — I believe it had then the same name — at its meeting in October, 1828, 
at West Alexander, and had my first two trial exercises assigned me for the next 
stated meeting. In the mean time I was dismissed to put myself under the care of 
the Presbytery of Cincinnati, which I did in the spring of 1829. ^ ^^^ licensed the 
spring of 1830, by the Presbytery of Oxford at its first meeting, after being stricken 
off from the mother Presbytery of Cincinnati, and ordained, sine titulo, in the fall of 
the same year. I served as a professor in Washington College, Pa., from the spring 
of ^824 till the fall of 1828, 4j^ years; in the Miami University from the fall of 1828 
till the spring of 1845, 16^ years; in Farmers, now called Belmont College, which 
I aided Dr. Bishop and Mr. Cary in founding, from the spring of 1845 tiH that of 
1849, 4 years; in the Oxford Female College from 1849 ^"^ ^^59' 'O years; in Han- 
over College from i860 till 1868, 8 years; in the commencement for the establish- 
ment of a Presbyterial Academy for the old Presbytery of Sangamon, at Springfield, 
111., from 1868 till 1870, 2 years; in Monongahela College, Pa., from 1874 till 1S81, 
7 years; — in all 52 years. I feel that it is due to myself in this compendious i-eview 
of my educational life, to say, I am perhaps the oldest living educator in the land. 
I commenced at sixteen years of age, having been prepared under the instruction of 
my father so as to be able to enter as a junior in Washington or Jefferson College of 
that day. I taught, before going to College, two years of common English school ; 
one of English and classical and scientific school mixed, under the patronage of 
Father Macurdy at Florence, Washington county, the origin and nucleus of the Flor- 
ence Academy, which existed and flourished for a number of years after, but is now 
I believe extinct ; and one year and a half as principal of the old Beaver Academy — 
making my whole educational career 56 j^ years. 

" In regard to my gospel ministry, I never was strictly a pastor of any church. My 
preaching was in the College Hall, with which I was connected, or in neighboring 
vacancies; of which latter I did a great deal, and, indeed, in some of them much 
pastoral duty, especially during college vacations. The School of Camden, in the 
Old Oxford, now Dayton Presbytery, where I was the first to break ground for and 
organize a Presbyterian church, I supplied again and again at different tihies, when 
they became vacant, sometimes for months at a time, while I was a professor in Miami 
University. I did the same for the Church of College Corner, but not so repeatedly 
or so long terms. The churches of Harmony, Reilly, Somerville, CoUinsville and 
(Rossville, now e.xtinct), I supplied a good deal when vacant during the years I lived 
at Oxford. While I was at Farmers or Belmont, I supplied regularly for two or three 
12 



178 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Mathematics in Washington College. He soon afterward entered 
the ministry, and has given to the Master some sixty years of 
active service as preacher and teacher. Dr. Scott is a son of 
Rev. George M. Scott, first pastor of Mill Creek and the Flats, 
in the Presbytery of Washington. {Vide, sketch elsewhere in 
this volume.) Dr. Scott, now full of years and honors, is spend- 
ing the evening of life in Washington, D. C. 

REV. JAMES CIvARK, D.D., 

Was President of Washington College for two years, being the* 
successor of Dr. McConaughy; he resigned in July 1852, and is 
still living and residing in Philadelphia. Dr. J. I. Brownson, the 
able and beloved pastor of the First Church of Washington, in 
addition to his pastorate and at the urgent solicitation of the 
Trustees of the College, presided over the institution from July 
15th, 1852, and carried it most satisfactorily to the annual com- 
mencement in September, 1853. In like manner he acted ^as 
President of Washington and Jefferson for the year ending with 
the commencement of 1870. As President of the present Board 
of Trustees of Washington and Jefferson College, and also of 
the Female Seminary of Washington, and First Vice-President • 
of the Board of Directors of the Western Theological Semi- 
nary; as author of the educational history of colleges, acade- 
mies and female seminaries, in Western Pennsylvania and parts 
adjacent ; and also author of " The History of the Western Theo- 
logical Seminary," Dr. J. I. Brownson will stand pre-eminent in 
our history as a wise and liberal promoter of sound education. 

Rev. James Black was made Professor of Greek in Washing- 
years the Church of Cheviot in the Presbytery of Cincinnati. I was called to Hanover 
College, with the express understanding that I should supply Hanover Church as a 
quasi pastor, and thereby obtain half my salary — which I did for 8 years. 

" In regard to the middle letter of my name, it was assumed after I became a resi- 
dent of your good little city, as distinctive, there being three or four other John Scotts 
who received their mail at the Washington office — with the approval of my father, 
who personally knew and greatly admired old Dr. Witherspoon while a student of 
theolog)' under his son in-law. Dr. Stanhope Smith, at Princeton — assumed in honor 
of him. ' 

" I have thus answered all your inquiries, in course ; though not as briefly as I 
intended. I remain, dear Bro., yours, very truly, 

"J. W. Scott." 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. 1 79 

ton College in 1859, and in 1865 had added to this the official 
dignity of Vice-President of Washington and Jefferson College, 
which position he continued to hold until 1868, when he re- 
signed it to assume the Presidency of Iowa State University. 
After two years of service in this position, he accepted the Prin- 
cipalship of Pennsylvania Female College at Pittsburgh, Pa., 
which he held until 1875. Since that time he has been Professor of 
Greek in University of Wooster, and since 1 877, Vice-President of 
the same. He bears the double titular honor of D.D. and LL.D. 

Rev. Wm. I. Bkugh, D.D. was Professor in Washington College 
from 1863 to 1865. The names of Rev. Edsall Ferrier, D.D., Prof. 
Edwin H. Twining and Prof. Geo. Vose, occur also at this point. 

Rev. Geo. P. Hays, D.D., pastor of the Central Presbyterian 
Church of Allegheny, Pa., and alumnus of the Jefferson class of 
1857, was elected President of the united and re-organized col- 
leges, and inaugurated September 21, 1870, in the presence of a 
large assembly, composed of the trustees, faculty, students, citi- 
zens and strangers. His administration was a successful one, 
and continued for eleven years ; the classes grew in numbers and 
strength ; a new college building was erected and dedicated, 
which in beauty and adaptation, was in striking contrast with the 
succession of old structures in previous use. Dr. Hays was Moder- 
ator of the General Assembly in 1 884, and a member of the Pres- 
byterian Alliance which met in Belfast, Ireland, the same summer. 

Rev. James D. Moffat, D.D., the pastor of the Second 
Presbyterian Church of Wheeling, West Va., was chosen to 
succeed Dr. Hays. Since his inauguration in 1882, he has ren- 
dered most acceptable service as President of the college, and is 
ably supported in his work by a faculty who are one with him, 
alike in advanced scholarship and in religious faith. 

During the incumbencies of Drs. Hays and Moffat, several 
persons have filled various positions in the College Faculty, who 
are not now connected with it. Their names are Col. W. H. 
Adney, Rev. Geo. Fraser, D.D., Rev. W. F. Hamilton, D.D., 
Prof. James A. Lyon, Rev. Wm. Eaton, Prof T. A. Anderson, 
Prof Thad. C. Noble, all whom are now either ministers or mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian Church. The present faculty are as 
follows, not including subsidiary teachers : 



I So THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

REV. JAMES D. MOFFAT, D.D., President. 

Professor of Metaphysics, Political Philosophy and Evidences of Christianity. 



ALONZO LINN, LL-D., Vice-President. 

Stetihenville Professor of Greek and the Philosophy of Languages* 



REV. HENRY WOODS, D.D. 

Memorial Professor of Latin.* 



JAMES S. SIMONTON, A.M. 

Professor of French Languages and Literature. 



DUNLAP J. M'ADAM, A.M. 
Le Moyne Professor of Applied Mathematics. 



EDWIN LINTON, A.M. 

Le Moyne Professor of Agriculture and Corielative Branches, 



JAMES F. RAY, M.S. 

Professor of Physics and Chemistry. 



WILLIAM C. M'CLELLAND, A.M. 
Professor of English Language and Literature. 



J. ADOLPH SCHMITZ, A.M. 

Professor of German Language and Literature. 



JOHN L. LOWES, A.B. 

Adjunct Professor of Mathematics. 

* Endowed by the late C. C. Beatty, D.D., LL.D. 



EDUCATIONAL HISTORY. l8l 

But alongside of the college has grown up like a " fruitful 
vine," the Female Seminary, presided over gracefully for many 
years by the late Mrs. Hanna, and now with so much efficiency 
and fidelity by Miss N. Sherrard. In this institution multitudes 
of the daughters of the Presbytery and the surrounding regions 
have been educated, and not a few have gone out into the great mis- 
sion fields of the world, where they are winning souls for Christ. 

We have had within our territory, at different periods, a num- 
ber of academies chiefly under Presbyterian control, namely, — 
West Alexander, Cross Creek, Linsley Institute, in Wheeling, 
and West Liberty Academy. These primary institutions have 
been the doors by which many of the youth have found their 
way to the colleges, and ultimately into the various learned pro- 
fessions. We can never fully estimate what blessings these 
smaller institutions have been in the great field of education. 
The men who taught in them did foundation work. 

Finally, eternity alone can disclose how far-reaching have 
been the blessed influences of our Presbyterian teaching. We 
possess a " goodly heritage." Our fathers laid the foundations 
in faith and prayer. They brought with them the Word of God, 
and " The Shorter Catechism." In the school and in the home 
they taught the children and youth, that " man's chief end was to 
glorify God and to enjoy Him forever." They ever insisted that 
no divorce should be wrought between education and religion. 
They ever claimed that the great and primary principles of re- 
ligion should be revered and inculcated in some form in every 
place where the young are being trained for the responsibilities 
of maturer life. And we rejoice that our college, planted by 
the care and sacrifice of our Presbyterian fathers, is not like 
some old universities, a harboring place for doubt, or a citadel 
of unbelief, but that it is a fountain sending forth pure and 
healthful streams. Between three and four thousand alumni 
have gone forth, and by their noble achievements in the service 
of patriotism, humanity and religion, have blessed the world. 
Many of these have been in the front ranks of educators, in this 
and other lands. May we be true to our trust, so that the re- 
ligion of Christ and a Scriptural education may go hand in hand 
for the redemption of our race. 



V. 

MISSIONARY HISTORY. 

THE REI.ATION OF THE PRESBYTERY TO MISSIONS, WITH 
SKETCHES OF MISSIONARIES. 

The work of the church of Christ is twofold — to hold what 
it already has, and to gain what it does not possess, The early 
settlers of Pennsylvania realizing this, having planted the home 
and the church together, at the same time carried the gospel 
into the regions beyond. At the close of the last, and the be- 
ginning of the present century, living in the then unsettled 
State of Ohio, and on the head-waters of the Allegheny River, 
in Pennsylvania and New York, were several native tribes, 
speaking their own language and worshipping according to the 
custom of their ancestors. These untutored Indians had souls 
to save, and were not beyond the reach of the gospel. Acting 
on this conviction, the pioneer church went into the wilderness, 
carrying " the bread of life " to these perishing children of the 
forest. This Presbytery was not then organized, but ministers 
living within its present bounds engaged in this missionary 
work. 

The Synod of Pittsburgh covering the ground of this Pres- 
bytery was organized in 1802. At that meeting the following 
action was taken in reference to missionary work : " The Synod 
of Pittsburgh shall be styled the Western Missionary Society. 
The object of this society is to diffuse the knowledge of the 
gospel among the inhabitants of the new settlements and the 
Indian tribes." Their field of labor was among the Wyandotts 
of Sandusky, the Senecas of New York, the Ottawas of Mau- 
mee and the Cornplanter Indians in Pennsylvania and New 
York. They opened schools, taught the arts of agriculture 
and preached the gospel. 

The Rev. George M. Scott, pastor of the church of Mill 
182 




Missionaries, 1, 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 83 

Creek and Fairview, one of the earliest ministers in this region, 
a man of deep and ardent piety, went out into the wilderness to 
do this work. He is said to have been a man fearless in danger, 
patient in hardships and ready for duty. He labored at San- 
dusky in 1803-04. On his return he made the report of his 
labors to Synod, which entered on its minutes : " the approval 
of the diligence, fidelity and prudence of its missionary," 

Rev. Elisha McCurdy, a man of Apostolic spirit, whose 
praise is yet in the churches, was conspicuous for his interest in 
and labors among the Indians. Before and after he became the 
pastor of the church of Cross Roads, he spent a considerable 
time planning for their welfare and preaching the gospel among 
them. 

Under the Synod, between the years 1805-10, Samuel Old- 
ham and his wife, members of the church of Three Ridges (now 
West Alexander), lived nearly three years among the Corn- 
planter Indians, imparting religious instruction and teaching 
them the useful works of home life. Many others, besides 
their pastoral labors, did similar service among these tribes. 
The way to their fields lay through the pathless forest. They 
could have no communication with their homes and friends ; it 
was only toil and self-denial, yet moved by the constraining 
love of Christ they " counted not their lives dear to them," so 
they might bring these lost ones into the fold of the Saviour. 

Before Samuel J. Mills, Gordon Hall and James Richards, 
on the banks of the Hoosac, under the hay-stack near Wil- 
liamstown, Mass., prayed into existence the embryo of Foreign 
Missions in the East, these consecrated men had already be- 
gun this work in the West. In 18 10 The American Board of 
Foreign Missions was organized at Boston. In 1802, at Pitts- 
burgh, the work of converting the world, at home and abroad, 
took definite shape. The missionary zeal of those fathers may 
be inferred from the sermons preached at the annual meetings 
of Synod. In 1805 Rev, Thomas Marquis, of the church of 
Cross Creek, preached from Sol. Song 8 : 5. '^ What shall we 
do for our sister in the day when she shall be spoken for ? " 
1806 Rev. James Hughes, of the churches of Lower Buffalo and 
Short Creek, preached from Isa, 49 : 16. " Behold, I have graven 



184 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

thee on the palms of my hands, thy walls are continually before 
me." 1809 Elisha McCurdy, of the churches of Cross Roads 
and Three Springs, preached from Mark 16: 15. "And He 
said unto them, go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel 
to every creature." The first sermon preached before the Gen- 
eral Assembly of our church on Foreign Missions was at Pitts- 
burgh, in 1833, by Rev. Joseph Stevenson, of the church of 
West Alexander. 

These sermons, in the interest of missions, breathed the spirit 
of the last command of our Lord to His disciples "to preach 
the gospel to every creature." They were the seed-sowing 
from which has grown the abundant harvest of Christian work- 
ers in heathen lands. 

With the removal or extinction of the Indian tribes the 
church turned to a wider field. Looking from these hill-tops 
they saw the far off nations sitting in " darkness and in the 
shadow of death." They felt increased responsibilities were 
laid upon them, and a closer union for more united effort was 
necessary. Hence, in 1831, there sprung from the bosom of the 
Synod of Pittsburgh the " Western Foreign Missionary So- 
ciety." The directors of this society from this Presbytery were 
Rev. David Elliot, D.D., of the church of Washington and 
James McFarren, Esq., elder of the church of Cross Roads. 
It was " the day of small things," but the beginning of larger. 
The principle that animated these fathers was the " constraining 
love of Christ," the mightiest power ever wrought upon the hu- 
man heart. 

We read from an early report the platform on which they 
stood and worked. " We believe the Presbyterian Church owes 
it as a sacred duty to her glorified Head, to yield a far more ex- 
emplary obedience to His command, ' go ye into all the world, 
and preach the gospel to every creature.' 

" We believe it to be among the causes of the frowns of the 
Master which are now resting on our beloved Zion, in the de- 
clensions of vital piety, in the divisions that distract us, that we 
have done so little to send the gospel to the heathen, the Jews 
and the Mohammedans." 

This clear statement insists the church was designed, adap- 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 85 

ted, and is bound to give " the bread of life " to a spiritually 
lost race. 

After the division in 1837, the energies and benevolence of the 
church were concentrated, and the " Western Foreign Mission- 
ary Society in Pittsburgh was reorganized in Baltimore into the 
Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions in the United States," 
with New York as the seat of its operations, and the Hon. Wal- 
ter Lowrie its corresponding secretary. 

Fifty-one years have passed since the foundation of the For- 
eign Board. "What hath God wrought ? " Ministers, teachers 
(male and female), schools, colleges, converts and churches have 
increased more than " an hundred fold," and God's people are 
coming into sympathy with her glorified Head. O that this 
sympathy were a thousandfold greater and stronger than it is ! 

Only a brief notice can be given of those who have gone from 
this Presbytery to do the Lord's work. To, outline the lives and 
work of those who have labored under the Home Board, would 
be a difficult task. A large part, perhaps a majority, of all who 
have been licensed and ordained by the Presbytery, have, for a 
time at least, gone to the weak and destitute places in our own 
land. The self-denial exercised, the hardships endured and 
labors done have been much the same, whether in the Home or 
Foreign fields. 

Only those, therefore, who have gone to the Foreign work 
will have a place in this paper. Owing to the difficulty of obtain- 
ing information concerning them, in some instances only the 
name can be given. 

Rev. William McCombs was born in Pittsburgh, Pa., in 1803. 
Graduated at Washington College, Pa., in 1833, and at the 
Western Theological Seminary in 1836. Licensed by the Pres- 
bytery of Washington in 1836. Ordained by the same in 1837. 
Married, in 1837, Miss Mary B. Morgan, a member of the Pres- 
byterian Church of Washington. His life was spent in pastoral 
work in this country. Died in 1854. 

Rev. John McClintock was born in Washington, Pa., in 1808. 
Graduated at Washington College in 1836, and at the Western 
Theological Seminary in 1837. Licensed by the Presbytery of 
Washington in 1838. Ordained in 1840. Married, in 1832, 



1 86 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Miss Mary Orr. Blessed in his work and beloved by all, he 
will, if spared, soon complete fifty years of pastoral service in the 
Presbyterian Church of New Providence, Greene County, Pa. 

These brethren and their wives gave themselves to the Foreign 
work, and were under appointment of the Presbyterian Board to 
Smyrna. Owing to difficulties on the field, the mission was 
abandoned and they were not sent out. It was the disappoint- 
ment of their lives. For more than a year they waited, prepared 
for their departure at the shortest notice. Providence closed the 
door to their going abroad, and they gave themselves to the 
work at home. 

Rev. John Cloud* was born in 1801 in Cross Creek, Pa. 
Graduated at Jefferson College in 1830, and at the Western 
Theological Seminary in 1833. Ordained by the Presbytery of 
New York, with a view to the Foreign work. He sailed for 
Africa in November, 1833. Soon after his arrival at Monrovia, 
he was prostrated by the African fever. Having partially re- 
covered, he was taken with the dysentery, and died in April, 
1834. He was a man of genial manners and warm affections. 
The love of Christ and of perishing souls took him to that land, 
but the Master had need of him, and he was called early to the 
service above. 

Miss Julia N. McGiffen, member of the church of Washing- 
ton, was married to the Rev. William Hamilton in 1837. They 
went, under the Foreign Board, to the Indian tribes in the West. 
She died in 1867. She was honored with thirty years of mis- 
sionary labor for the Master in the field. Hers was a life of pa- 
tient, faithful, blessed service, and was crowned with " so an 
entrance shall be ministered unto you abundantly into the ever- 
lasting kingdom of the Lord Jesus Christ." 

Miss Theresa Dennis, member of the Presbyterian Church 
of Washington, Pa., was married to the Rev. Edmund McKinney. 
They were missionaries, under the Presbyterian Board, to the 
Creek, Otoe and Choctaw Indians, from 1844 to 1856, and 
among the Freedmen from 1865 to 187 1. 

Rev. William Clemens was born in Wheeling, West Va., in 

* The facts of Mr. Cloud's early life are obscure. His father was a member 
of Cross Creek Church early in the century. At a later date he belonged at Raccoon. 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 87 

1825. Graduated at Washington College, Pa., in 1850, and at 
Princeton Theological Seminary in 1853. Ordained by the Pres- 
bytery of Washington, and was missionary, under the Presbyte- 
rian Board of Foreign Missions, to Africa, from 1853 to 1862. 
Broken in health, he was on his return to this country, and died 
on shipboard, June 24, 1862. " He was a man of great devoted- 
ness and efficiency. His labors were useful to no ordinary 
degree." A life was concentrated and poured out in those nine 
years of service for Christ. 

Miss Flora Lee, a daughter of Professor R. H. Lee, and 
member of the Presbyterian Church of Washington, was sent 
out by the Foreign Board, in 1855. to the tribes in the Indian 
Territory, and there labored till 1861, when the breaking out of 
the war compelled her to give up the work to which she had 
devoted her life, and for which she was well qualified. 

Rev. John Kelly, member of the church. of P^orks of Wheel- 
ing. Graduate of Washington College in 1 851, and Princeton 
Theological Seminary in 1854. Ordained in June, 1854, by the 
Presbytery of Washington, under appointment of Foreign Board, 
to go to Corisco, Africa. Owing to infirm health, he was not 
sent out. He has been engaged in successful pastoral work in 
this country. 

Miss Mary McKean, a member of the church of Washington, 
graduate of the Washington Female Seminary, went out under 
the Presbyterian Board to the Creek Indians. Her labors ex- 
tended from 1856-60. She died in 1861. She is said to have 
had remarkable qualifications for her work — a gifted mind, con- 
secrated spirit and blessed in winning souls to Christ. The 
tribute paid to her worth by one of the secretaries of the board 
was : " She was one of the best missionaries in the Presby- 
terian Church." 

Alexander L. Blackford, D.D., was born in Jefferson 
County, O., in 1829. Graduated at Washington College, Pa., in 
1856, and at the Western Theological Seminary in 1859. Li- 
censed by this presbytery in 1858, and ordained by the same in 
1859. He went under the Foreign Board in i860, to Rio de 
Janeiro, Brazil ; has continued, and is now in the church's work 
in the same country.. He is a man of good mind and scholar- 



1 88 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ship, industrious and persevering in labors. He has been 
greatly blessed, in preaching the word, organizing churches and 
estabHshing schools. The foundation of a grand and perma- 
nent work has been laid in that Roman Catholic country, 
largely by him. He has helped gather in the first fruits, the 
promise of an abundant harvest. 

Samuel G. McFarland, D.D., was born in Washington 
County, Pa., in 1830, a member of the church of Burgettstown, 
Graduate of Washington College, Pa., in 1857, and at the West- 
ern Theological Seminary in i860. Licensed by Presbytery of 
Washington, 1859, ordained by same in i860. He went the same 
year, under the Presbyterian Board, to Siam. For a number of 
years he was engaged successfully in the regular missionary 
work. In 1878 he became " Superintendent of English educa- 
tion for the Government of Siam." This educational work 
seemed to be the opening for an enlarged usefulness in the 
Master's cause, hence the transfer from the Board's to the Gov- 
ernment's service. In addition to his other labors he has pub- 
lished " Evidences of Christianity," " Compend of Church His- 
tory,'' and has translated " the Pentateuch, Minor Prophets anci 
Confession of Faith " into the Siamese language. 

Mrs. Jane Hays McFarland, his wife, is a native of Wash- 
ington County, and was a member of the church of Miller's 
Run, and subsequently of the First Church of Washington. A 
graduate in 1853 of Washington Female Seminary. She is an 
enthusiastic and devoted laborer. No one can see and hear her 
without feeling her heart and life is devoted to Siam. In every- 
thing she seems to say : Siam is my country, its people are my 
people, and their salvation is the work of my life. 

Mrs. Elizabeth Ewing Speer, wife of Rev. Wm. Speer, D.D., 
and daughter of Hon. J. H. Ewing, was a member of the 
church of Washington. Owing to Dr. Speer's feeble health, he 
did not return to China, where he had labored several years un- 
der the Presbyterian Board. They engaged in the first mission- 
ary labors of the church among the Chinese in California, for 
which Dr. Speer was fitted by his knowledge of the language. 
After this they were in the Home Missionary work in Minneso- 
ta until he was called to the secretaryship of the Board of Edu- 





INDIA. 










s^/^'^W^ 



■■•H/,, /,.„„„„ .T.^^ 







U. S. OF COLUMBIA. 



' '" f-M'lLVAlS''' 




--"-■^ (UNTO.N-)^^'' 



:i£SIONAPvIES, IL 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 89 

cation. Her heart and life are devoted to the cause and to 
stimulating others to its furtherance. 

Rev. Joseph P. Graham, son of Rev. John B. Graham, was 
born in 1847. Graduate of Washington and Jefferson College 
in 1869. Studied theology at Princeton, N. J., 1869-72. Was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Washington and ordained as an 
Evangelist in 1872. Went out the same year under the Pres- 
byterian Board to Kolapoor, India. 

He is a man of excellent scholarship, sprightly mind, patient 
in labors and devoted to the work. The words of Henry Mar- 
tyn, the sainted missionary, spoken of himself are not inappro- 
priate to him. " I take whatever of learning, talents and time 
I have, and twining them in one wreath, lay it at the cross of 
my Saviour." 

It may be stated in this connection that most of those who 
have gone from this presbytery to the missionary field ranked 
high as scholars in their college and seminary studies. Places 
of honor and usefulness opened to them in this country, but the 
Martyn- the Christ-spirit constrained them, and they chose 
the front of the battle for the Master's sake. 

Mrs. Rachel Kerr Johnson, daughter of Mr. David Kerr, 
was born in Hookstown, Pa., in 1837, a member of the Presby- 
terian Church of Hookstown and graduate of Steubenville Fe- 
male Seminary in 1857. She married Rev. Wm. F. Johnson, 
D.D., in i860, and died in June, 1888. In i860, under the 
Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, they sailed for North- 
ern India. With the exception of a short time in this country, 
they continued in the field till 1884. Pending arrangements for 
the education of their children in the United States, they en- 
gaged in the Freedmen's work, having charge of the Biddle 
University, North Carolina, and were thus employed at the time 
of her death. The results of her life toils cannot be measured. 
Her faithful, tender and unselfish spirit was carried into the 
schools and Zenanas of India. She drew the women and chil- 
dren to herself only that she might lead them to Christ. She 
did her work well " as a good steward of the manifold grace of 
God.'' In her visits to this land, before Female Missionary So- 
cieties and public assemblies, she was an effective pleader for 



190 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

missions. Her memory is treasured in many hearts at home 
and abroad. If she needed any proof of her abiding in her 
Saviour she had it in her death, which was occasioned by falling 
from a carriage. Though suffering great bodily pain, she was 
in full possession of her faculties, and gave precious testimony 
of her undoubting and peaceful trust in her Lord. " She 
rests." 

Her eldest daughter, Miss Mary Johnson, at the time of her 
mother's death, was under appointment of the Foreign Board 
to labor in India, her native land. 

Rev. David F. McFarland was born in this county, in 1820. 
A member of the church of Cross Creek. Graduated at Wash- 
ington College in 1849, and at the Western Theological Semi- 
nary in 185 1. Licensed by this presbytery in 185 i. He was a 
pastor in the home work till 1866. That year he went as mis- 
sionary to the Spanish-speaking people of Santa Fe, N. M., 
where he labored with great self-denial and usefulness till called 
from the service of earth to that of heaven. 

After his decease his widow, Mrs. Amanda Reed McFarland, 
went under the Home Board to the Indian tribes in the terri- 
tory of Alaska. Encountering great difficulties and discourage-' 
ments, she has made the beginning of a Christian civilized so- 
ciety, in opening schools and organizing churches. She has 
realized the truth of " Forasmuch as ye know that your labor is 
not in vain in the Lord." 

Miss Eliza Dare was born in Wheeling; resident of Wash- 
ington, Pa., and member of First Presbyterian Church. She was 
married to the Rev. Edward Cornes in 1868. They were sent 
out by the Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions to Yoko- 
hama, Japan, " where they labored with marked ability and 
gratifying success." Their prospects of usefulness were unu- 
sually bright, but " the Lord had need of them." They, together- 
with their eldest child, were killed, August, 1870, by the explo- 
sion of a boiler on the steamer " City of Jeddo." An infant son, 
three months old, was saved, who is now with his grand-parents 
Cornes in this country. 

Mrs. Julia (Dodge) Carothers, daughter of the Rev. Richard 
V. Dodge, D.D., pastor for many years of the Second Presbyte- 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. I9I 

rian Church of Wheeling and the Second Presbyterian Church 
of Washington, Pa., went with her husband, Rev. Christopher 
Carothers, under the Foreign Board, to Japan, several years 
since. Owing to her failing health, they soon returned to this 
country. She is the gifted author of several books on Japanese 
manners, customs and religion. Her attractive and instructing 
writings have greatly aided to inform our people on the pros- 
pects and wants of a nation, lately unknown, now rising into 
prominence. 

Mrs. Lucinda (Crouch) Leaman was born near Independence, 
Pa., within the bounds of Lower Buffalo Church. While attend- 
ing the P'emale Seminary at Washington, Pa., she was received 
on profession of faith into the First Presbyterian Church of that 
place. Soon afterward she gave herself to the Lord in the work 
of Foreign Missions, and, having completed her education at 
Wooster University, O., she went out under the care of the 
Foreign Board, in 1874, to China (unmarried). For many years 
she was a teacher in the Mission Schools in Canton. Zealous, 
wise and faithful, she won the confidence of the native children 
and women, and it may be said of her, few have done better or 
more successful work than she. After her marriage to the 
Rev. CharLes Leaman, she was transferred to Nankin, her 
husband's field, where she now labors with the same fidelity 
and success. 

Miss Belle Caldwell, member of the First Presbyterian 
Church of Wheeling, went out, under the Foreign Board, to 
Bankok, Siam, in 1879. She married the Rev. John N. Culbert- 
son, of the same mission. After two years of faithful service, 
owing to failing health, she returned, and is now in this 
country. 

Mrs. Jennie (Sherrard) Ewing, daughter of Rev. John H. 
Sherrard, pastor of the church of Upper Ten Mile, a graduate of 
Washington Female Seminary, went out with her husband, Rev. 
J. C. R. Ewing, D.D., to India, in 1879, under the care of the 
Foreign Board. She is a real missionary. Teaching the chil- 
dren the knowledge of books, the women true home ways, in 
everything teaching Christ, she has brought light and joy to 
many hearts and lives. It is said of a celebrated English singer : 



192 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

" She preached in her singing, and by her singing led many to 
the cross." The same may be said of Mrs. Ewing. Her sweet, 
persuasive voice, full of the tenderness of the gospel, has given a 
charm and blessing to her missionary work and life. 

Rev. George W. Pollock was born within the bounds of the 
church of West Alexander. Graduated at Washington and Jef- 
ferson College in 1878 and at the Western Theological Seminary 
in 1 88 1. Licensed by the Presbytery of Washington in 1880. 
Ordained by the same in 1881. Married Miss Mary W. Ewing, 
member of the Second Presbyterian Church of Washington, in 
1 88 1, and went to India, under the Foreign Board, the same 
year. Returned to this country in 1887. Just as they were 
getting fully prepared for their work, "the first fruits" already 
gathered, failing health compelled Mr. Pollock to return to this 
country. He is now in Colorado, under the Home Board. 
Their co-laborers bear testimony to their faithful and self-deny- 
ing labors. 

Rev. Arthur Vernon Bryan, son of Rev. Edward D. and 
Sarah (Conger) Bryan, was born at Rye, Westchester County, 
N. Y., May 11, 1856. Graduated at the New Jersey College in 
1878 and at the Western Theological Seminary in 1881. Licensed' 
by the Presbytery of Washington in April, 1880, arud ordained 
by the same April 26, 1882. Married, October 11, 1882, Mary 
M., daughter of Rev. A. H. Dashiell, at Lakewood, N. J. He 
went out under the Foreign Board, in November, 1882, to 
Japan, where he has continued to the present time, stationed at 
Hiroshima. 

Rev. William H. Lester, Jr., was born in 1856. Member 
of the church of West Alexander. Graduate of Amherst College, 
Mass., in 1878, and of Auburn Theological Seminary in 1 881. 
Licensed by the Presbytery of Cayuga April 14, 1881, and 
ordained by the same April 12, 1882. Married Miss Sarah M. 
Anderson, member of the Presbyterian Church of Claysville, 
Pa., a graduate of Steubenville Female Seminary in 1881 ; and 
immediately following his ordination, went, under the Foreign 
Board, to Chili, South America, and is pastor of the Spanish 
Protestant Church in Santiago, Chili. Mrs. Sarah M. Lester 
died in July, 1884. She had just learned the language, and was 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 93 

full of enthusiasm for the work. The prospect of usefulness was 
bright ; her hands were full of seed for the sowing, when she 
was called, " Come up hither." With the words, 

" Jesus, lover of my soul, 

Let me to Thy bosom fly," 

she went to be "forever with the Lord.'" 

Edward Alexander, M.D., a member of the church of the 
Forks of Wheeling, went out under the Foreign Board as Medi- 
cal Missionary to Persia, in 1882. He married, the same year, 
Miss Gertrude Faris, daughter of the Rev. William B. Faris, 
deceased, who was licensed by the Presbytery of Washington. 
Their labors in hospital and school have been abundant and 
blessed. 

Rev. George S. Hays was born in Washington County in 
1 86 1. Graduated at Washington and Jefferson College in 1882 
and at the Western Theological Seminary in 1885. Licensed by 
the Presbytery of Washington in 1884. Ordained by the Pres- 
bytery of Mahoning in 1885. Holding a call to the pastorate 
of the Presbyterian Church of East Palestine, O., he became con- 
vinced his work for Christ was in heathen lands. He married 
Miss Fannie C. Corbett, daughter of the Rev. Hunter Corbett, 
D.D., in 1886, and went the same year, under the Foreign Board, 
to North China, where they are engaged in missionary work. 
Mrs. Hays was a graduate, in the class of 1885, of the Washing- 
ton Female Seminary. 

Miss Lillie White, member of the Second Presbyterian 
Church of Washington. Married, in 1886, Rev. J. G. Touzeau, 
and went out the same year, under the Foreign Board, to Bogota, 
South America, where they now labor. 

Miss Ellen Florence McIlvaine, a member of the Presbyte- 
rian Church of Pigeon Creek, daughter of Ruling Elder R. 
Campbell McIlvaine, and granddaughter of Rev. James Sloan, 
D.D., deceased. Married, in 1887, Rev. J. C. Mechlin, and went 
out the same year, under the Foreign Board, to missionary work 
in Persia. Mrs. Mechlin was a graduate of Washington Female 
Seminary, in the class of 1884, 

Rev. William B. Hamilton was born in 1864. Graduate of 
13 



194 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Washington and Jefferson College in 1883, and of Allegheny and 
Princeton Theological Seminaries 1884-88. Licensed by the 
Presbytery of Washington in 1886. Ordained by the same in 
1888, as an Evangelist for mission work in China. Married, 
May, 1888, Miss Clara Linton,* of Bellevernon, Pa., a graduate 
of Washington Female Seminary in 1885, who, during her semi- 
nary course, was received on profession of faith into the First 
Church of Washington, Their station is Chinanfu, capital of the 
province of Shantung, where they arrived in November, 1888. 

Thus " the succession" continues. Some have fallen, ceased 
from their toils, while others have taken up their " mantles" and 
entered into their labors. Could the lives of these men and 
women and their struggles and victories on heathen soil be 
written, it would make one of the bright pages in Christian his- 
tory and arouse a stronger missionary spirit in all our churches. 

Others may have gone to the foreign work from the bounds of 
this Presbytery whose names we have not been able to learn. Not 
a few names occur, also, of persons now foreign missionaries, 
who, during their college course at Washington, were identified 
with one or the other of the two churches there as transient 
communicants, Sunday-school teachers and constant worship- 
pers. Of such in more recent years are held in pleasant remem- 
brance Ewing and McCombs of India, Gault, Good and Robinson 
of Africa, Touzeau of South America, Boyce of Mexico, Aiken 
and Dunlap of Siam, and Mechlin of Persia. Those who have 
labored in the destitute places in this land, and have gone to the 
Freedmen in the South far outnumber those who went to the 

* Mrs. Hamilton died at Chinanfu, January lo, 18S9. Though her previous con- 
dition of health from childhood had been good, and she was fully approved by com- 
petent physicians as a suitable person to engage in missionary work, she was stricken 
down by acute pulmonary disease only six weeks after arriving at the station assigned 
them in the interior of China. She seemed fitted for service, and eager to engage in 
it. She was bright, cheerful, intelligent and of a most saintly life. Her qualities of 
mind and heart bespoke for her a useful career. But the Master accepted the pur- 
pose, without requiring more. Her death was quiet and painless, and she was happy 
and contented, remarking, " I shall soon be perfect. Oh, I am so glad." She ex- 
horted her husband to be more earnest than ever, and told him he " must do two 
people's work now. Her own and his." Mrs. Hamilton was a daughter of Mr. 
Robert J. Linton, a ruling elder of Bellevernon Church. She was a granddaughter 
of Rev. Giles Doolittle, an early member of the Synod of Pittsburgh. 




S. B. Sf** 




'"-'■■ V «Nft^- 




'*-.VOR ». ««" 




F. CU*"'"' 





F 




OFFICIAL MEMBERS 

IN 

Presbyterial Missionary Societies. 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. I95 

foreign field. The true self-denying missionary spirit belongs to 
them. Their difficulties and discouragements equal those who 
went " into all the world," and in honor they deserve a place 
beside those who went to heathen lands. Owing to the difficulty 
of tracing their life-work, it has not been attempted in this 
sketch. 

This is only an imperfect glance of those who went forth in 
obedience to their Lord's command. Unlike the Crusaders, 
they did not go to recover the empty tomb of a risen Saviour 
from the spoiler, but to carry a living Christ and His gospel to 
the lost. 



The marked feature in missions of this Centennial Anniversary 
is " Woman's work for Womenr There have always been godly 
women in the Cliurch. Paul mentions such by name, and com- 
mends their devotion and work for Christ. But since the begin- 
ning of the present century there has been developed an interest, 
a zeal and faith that has united Christian women in giving the 
Gospel to their benighted and suffering sisters in heathen lands, 
such as no hundred years since the days of Christ have wit- 
nessed. 

This Presbytery has given her choicest daughters to the mis- 
sion work; and those who remained at home have been in heart 
and labors no less missionaries than those who went out. 

In 1874, according to the recommendation of Presbyter}^, a 
committee met in reference to Presbyterial organization, but 
nothing definite was done till 1877. In May of that year these 
women met in the First Presbyterian Church of Wheeling and 
were regularly organized for work. They have met annually, 
often semi-annually, for prayer and conference how they might 
best advance Christ's kingdom in the world. Interest in missions 
has been awakened, increased efforts have been put forth, and 
success has attended their labors of love. 

At the organization in 1877 three missionaries, nine scholar- 
ships and two Bible readers were supported by the bands and 
societies of the churches. The missionaries were Mrs. Z. P. 
Ea.ston in Persia, Mrs. Mary Shaw in China, and Mrs. Rees 
Thackwell in India. 



196 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

After eleven years of devoted and blessed labor, Mrs. Shaw 
returned to this country, and owing to feeble health did not 
go back. 

In 1887 six missionaries, thirteen scholarships, two Bible 
readers, and one native teacher were supported by the auxiliaries 
of the society. 

The missionaries were, Mrs. Rees Thackwell, Mrs. J. C. R. 
Ewing and Miss J. R. Carleton, M.D., in India; Mrs. B. Labaree 
in Persia, Mrs. Fannie Corbett Hays in China, and Mrs. F. A. 
March in Syria. 

Miss Dr. Carleton was educated in the Female Medical Col- 
lege in Philadelphia by the society. She is now their missionary 
in the hospitals and Zenanas, devoting herself to the spiritual 
and bodily needs of her sex in the land of her nativity. 

At its organization the society was composed of twenty-three 
auxiliaries and about twenty "circles" and bands. It has an 
enrolled membership of 1974. 

In the offerings of the society to the funds of the Board of 
Foreign Missions there has been a gradual increase from the 
beginning. 

At the annual meeting April 1878, ^$1788. 57 were reported; 
April 1888, ^5572.38 were the society's contributions for foreign 
missionary work. In ten years ending 1888, $^^,661.2^ have 
been paid into the treasury of the Lord. 

It is no exaggeration to say " it is a powerful and beneficent 
agency, pouring its multiplied and collected rills" in a swelling 
tide of blessing all over our missionary field. I quote from one 
of its reports : " There is scarcely a mission field or any form of 
labor on mission fields in which this society has not had a share. 
Itinerary work in China, Zenana visiting in India, medical and 
hospital work in Siam, Laos, Persia, Korea, and India have been 
done through their efforts and contributions." Their faith looks 
to the salvation of the world, and their works lie along the line 
of their faith. 



We notice " Woman's Work FOR Women " in the Home Field, 
No country presents a more important field for missionary 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 97 

work than our own. The wide regions of the West filling up 
with marvellous rapidity, with settlers from the old States and 
immigrants from Europe, make this work imperative and press- 
ing. The Macedonian cry from these destitute regions called 
into existence the Woman's Presbyterial Home Missionary So- 
ciety. It was organized March, 1883, in Washington, Pa. 
Though much younger than the society for Foreign Missions, 
it has all the machinery, of officers, auxiliaries and agencies for 
effective service of its older sister. 

At its formation, in 1883, there were seven church societies. 

In 1888 there were sixteen societies and thirteen circles and 
bands. 

The women of many churches not organized into societies 
contribute to its funds. 

1883. Money contributed through the treasurer of this so- 
ciety for home work was ^135.22 ; in 1887, $1520.70; since the 
organization, ;^49i2.22; value of boxes sent to missionaries 
in 1884 was ;$ 126.00; in 1888 value of boxes sent to Missionaries 
and Freedmen was $602.50; value of boxes from 1883 to 1888 
was $1712.40. 

The money has gone to the support of schools and teachers 
in Alaska, New Mexico, Utah and the Freedmen in the South. 

The society has no missionaries or teachers directly under its 
own care. Its funds are sent to the Women's Home Board, 
in New York. There have gone from this presbytery Mrs. 
Anna (McKean) White, a member of the First Church in 
Washington, Pa., who taught one year in Utah. 

Miss Annie Ralston, a member of the church of West 
Alexander, went under the Freedmen's Board to the South in 
1884. She has continued in this laborious, self-denying and 
loving service for Christ, and is now teaching in Virginia. At 
an earlier date. Miss Florence Bausman, of the First Church of 
Washington, rendered similar service. 

The interest grows, and plans are enlarged year by year, to 
rescue the young in the South and West from ignorance, de- 
gradation and vice. A thankful feature of this centennial is 
" Woman's Work for Women " at home and abroad. Like the 
branches of a river, their waters unite, and flow in one stream, 



198 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

"to make glad the city of our God." They give promise of a 
bright future. 

The growth of the missionary spirit is, in a measure, indi- 
cated by the increase of the church's offerings to advance the 
Master's cause in the world. Before the organization of the 
Presbyterian Foreign Board, all money collected in the Presby- 
tery was placed in one column in the minutes of the assembly, 
under the head of " Missionary Fund." 

The average contributions of the churches, as far as can be 
learned, before 1840, were about ;$i88o to the home and foreign 
work. 

Beginning with 1840 the average annual contribution for ten 
years for the foreign work was, from 1840-50, ;^995 ; from 1850 
-60,^1766; from 1860-70,^2330; from 1870-80,14525; from 
1880-88,^7140. This includes the collections in the churches, 
Sabbath-schools, societies, bands and partly bequests of de- 
ceased- members The great increase has been since 1870, or 
since the formation of the " Presbyterial Foreign Missionary 
Society," and is a clear indication the church is bringing into 
line all her force to promote the Master's cause in the earth. 
Let the Divine command " Bring ye all the tithes into the store- 
house, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me 
now herewith " be obeyed fully, and the promise " I will open 
you the windows of Heaven and pour you out a blessing that 
there shall not be room enough to receive it " will be per- 
formed. 

The one hundred years just closing are the marvel age in the 
world's history. 

This country, at the beginning, extended but little beyond 
the Ohio River, now it reaches to the Pacific Ocean. It was 
then an infant among the nations ; it is now the stalwart man. 
Discoveries have been made, inventions, educational and re- 
ligious facilities, everything that conduces to the true comfort 
and advancement of the people have developed without parallel 
— but in nothing has there been so great progress as in the 
spirit and work of missions. In 1800 there was no evangelical 
denomination in the entire land organized for and engaged in 
foreign mission work. Under the impulse of the last com- 



MISSIONARY HISTORY. 1 99 

mand, "Go ye into all the world and preach the gospel to every 
creature," every church is girding herself for the salvation of 
the world. The world for Christ is the watchword. Let this 
be our prayer and labor, so before another one hundred years 
shall have passed, " the kingdoms of this world are become 
the kingdom of our Lord and of His Christ, and He shall reign 
forever and ever." 

" And this I know, though trouble-bound, 
No people need despair, 
Behind whom, on God's roll are found 
A Jiuodred years of prayer." 



VI. 

DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 

BY REV. S. F. GRIER, REV. W. F. HAMILTON AND REV. A. B. LOWES. 

Prefatory Note. — In compliance with the wish of Rev. S. F. Grier, to whose 
patient industry and painstaking care Presbytery is indebted for most of the following 
sketches, but whose duties as pastor of a large church did not, in his judgment, allow 
him to devote to such labors all the time which they requ red, Messrs. Hamilton 
and Lowes were associated with him as assistants in this work, and the result of their 
joint endeavors is here put in connected form. The task executed by them has been 
one of great difficulty, owing to the scanty sources of information accessible. The 
great number of persons, also, who have served as elders in so many churches, and 
through so long a period, has increased the difficulty. In the nature of the case, this 
chapter in the Church's history could not be otherwise than fragmentary and incom- 
plete. A few names only are emphasized, while many others, no doubt equally 
worthy, are not. Whatever disappointment may be felt by any on this account is 
fully appreciated. Those who have labored at these sketches desire to have it said 
that, with all that has been accomplished by their joint endeavors, they feel them- 
selves to have but touched here and there on a vast field, which, if it had been taken 
in hand soon enough, would have been fruitful in interest, but the thorough explora- 
tion of which is now impossible. — Com. of Pub. 

This record of those who once hved and labored in the Church 
on earth, and are now reigning with Christ in heaven, is made 
with three purposes in view: 1st. To perpetuate their memory; 
2d. To preserve the history of the Church ; and 3d. For our 
own personal benefit. These consecrated and devoted men 
whom God called not only into the Church, but to places of 
authority and power in the Church, whom he made rulers in His 
house, should not and must not be forgotten. Their memory 
should be cherished as one of the most precious legacies to be 
sacredly kept, and to be handed down to the latest generations 
of those who shall succeed us. 

And the history of their lives of labor and self-sacrifice, of 
self denial and prayers is identified with the history of the Church 
in this Presbytery. In fact they are one ; they cannot be sepa- 
200 








WHEELING 1st, 



Deceased Elders. 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 20I 

rated. Take away these godly men and those associated with 
them, leave them out of the history of the Church in this region, 
and there is no Church whose history we may record. 

They were not only a part of the Church : but were also the 
instruments in the hand of God in establishing and strengthen- 
ing these churches, and making them what they are to-day. 
And will there not be an inspiration to us in the very names of 
these godly men as they may be mentioned in the progress of 
this record, in their devoted spirit and consecrated lives, and 
especially as we look around us and see what God has wrought 
through their labors and prayers, in connection with our own, in 
all these churches. In the hope that these ends may be secured, 

we make our feeble effort to perform the task assigned us. 

• ■ 

PIGEON CREEK. 

Patrick Scott was one of the three elders present at the first 
meeting of Redstone Presbytery in 1781. He is mentioned in 
McMillan's journal. The young pioneer preacher lodged with 
him August, 1775, on the occasion of his preaching his first 
sermon in the bounds of Pigeon Creek, Patrick Scott was born 
in Ireland in 1734. His parents were William and Margaret 
Scott of County Tyrone. He was married, in 1763, to Lettice 
Denny, of County Derry. They came west in 1772, and settled 
in the bounds of what is now Pigeon Creek Church, One son, 
William, was an elder in Ohio ; he afterwards joined the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church. Another son, James, studied law, and 
became a Supreme Judge in Indiana. He was an exemplary 
Christian, and to the end of his life a firm Presbyterian. A 
daughter, Margaret, was married to David McCombs, an elder 
in Upper Buffalo Church. Rev. David Scott McCombs of Iowa, 
lately deceased, and his son. Rev. James M. McCombs, of the 
Lodiana Mission, India, are descendants. Patrick Scott died 
February 19, 1820, aged eighty-six. 

Hugh Scott was born, 1726, near to where Gettysburg now 
stands, then Chester County. He was married to Janet Agnew. 
They came west in 1772, and settled in the bounds of Pigeon 
Creek Church, He was one of the first bench of elders, and 
represented it in Presbytery in 1788. In the same year he was 



202 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

commissioned Justice of the Peace. He had previously, in 1781, 
acted with James Edgar and others as commissioners to purchase 
the site and erect a court-house and jail. He died October 11, 
1 8 19, aged ninety-three. He was a brother of Josiah Scott, 
elder in Chartiers Church. His descendants are numerous. 
Rev. Geo. K. Scott, of Texas, recently deceased, was a great- 
grandson. (Vide " History of Washington County," p. 883.) 

Patrick McCullough was present at the third meeting of 
Presbytery in 1783. Plis gravestone in the Pigeon Creek bury- 
ing-ground fixes the date of his decease January 8, 181 1, aged 
76. He was the grandfather of the late James McCullough, 
Esq., ruling elder in the Church of Cannonsburg. Rev. D. H. 
Barron, D.D., of Hollidaysburg, Pa., and Rev. R. F. Wilson, of 
Lewistown, Pa., being sons-in-law of the latter, their wives are 
great-granddaughters of Patrick McCullough. 

Hugh Cotton was of Puritan ancestry. He was a bachelor, 
and lived on a farm two miles east of the town of Washington, 
now owned by John Vance, elder in the First Church of Wash- 
ington, and previously owned by his father, Samuel Vance, also 
an elder in the same church. Mr. Cotton's sister Mary was the 
mother of Samuel Vance, Mr. Cotton was a good man, and 
faithful as an elder. He lived to a full age. 

William Ferguson came from near Chambersburg, and in 
1796 purchased a farm in the bounds of Pigeon Creek Church. 
Had been married before coming West to Sarah Liggett. Was 
a man of fine personal appearance and more than average intel- 
ligence. He died 1833, aged 87. A few years before his death 
he entrusted his farm to the care of two sons, and removed to 
Williamsport, now Monongahela City, where the remains of 
himself and wife lie buried. One son, Matthew, was an elder 
for nearly half a century in Ohio. Three daughters were mar- 
ried to Presbyterian ministers. Martha to Rev. Michael Law; 
Rachel to Rev. Samuel Ralston, D.D.,and Isabella to Rev. John 
Reed. Many elders and wives of ministers are descendants. 
One grandson, James Ralston, died just after completing his 
preparations for the ministry at Allegheny Seminary. Rev. Wm. 
F. Hamilton, D.D., of Washington, Pa., and his son, Rev. Wm. 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 203 

B. Hamilton, missionary in China, are respectively grandson and 
great-grandson. • 

John Stevenson, Jr., was a son of John Stevenson, Esq., Sr., 
who, it is held by those best informed, was one of the first bench 
of elders, though no written record of the fact has been found. 
It was in his house, according to tradition, that the first meeting 
of the Presbytery of Redstone was held. He was a native of 
England; came to Pigeon Creek about 1780, and at once took a 
leading position. Was commissioned justice of the peace in 1782, 
and was representative to the State Legislature, at Philadelphia, 
1783-85. On his way home died, of smallpox, at Hagerstown, 
Md., March, 1785, aged about 50. 

One of his sons became a Presbyterian minister. Rev. Joseph 
Stevenson. {Vide Sketches of Deceased Ministers.) 

John Stevenson, Jr., the son, ruling elder at Pigeon Creek, 
was born in 1771 ; was married about 1792 to Elizabeth Steven- 
son. They had born to them eleven children, the youngest of 
whom, Rev. James E. Stevenson, died June 29, 1844, at Talla- 
hassee, Florida, and having been but two years in the min- 
istry. 

John Stevenson's name first appears on the records of Presby- 
tery in 1804. He was for nearly or quite half a century an 
acceptable elder in the Pigeon Creek Session. One who knew 
him sixty years ago writes : " He is remembered as a plain, but 
exceedingly intelligent farmer, with a spice of humor in his 
nature, which made his home a pleasant resort. With his four 
interesting daughters, two sons, and quiet and sweet-faced wife, 
the house was a charming Christian home." He died March 
1852, aged 81. 

James Kerr was a cutler, and resided on the Mingo Creek 
side of the congregation. His name first appears on the roll of 
Presbytery in 1808. He represented Washington county in the 
State Legislature ten terms, at various times, from 1801 to 18 17. 
He was one of the original members of the Board of Trustees 
of Jefferson College named in its charter, 1802, and served until 
his death. He died September 7, 1834, aged 75. 

Mr. Kerr's wife was a daughter of Rev. James Power, D.D. 
He had a brother, John Kerr, vv'ho was also married to a daugh- 



204 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ter of Dr. Power, and a sister who was the wife of Rev. John 
Brice. {Vide Old Redstone, p. 344) • 

The late William Kerr, elder in Pigeon Creek Church, was a 
son of James Kerr. 

Aaron Kerr was born in Sussex County, N. J., June 4, 1776. 
He seems to have been a very prominent man both in civil and 
religious affairs. He was three times elected to the Legislature 
of his native State. In 1809 he removed to Washington county. 
Pa., and located on Pigeon Creek, in what is now Somerset 
township. He was elected to the Legislature of Pennsylvania 
in 1824, and re-elected in 1825-26-27 and 28. He was chosen 
a member of the Constitutional Convention in 1836, and again 
chosen to the Assembly in 1840. He held the office of ruling 
elder in four different churches within whose bounds he lived. 
He was first elected and ordained to this office in Hardwick 
Church, near Hackettstown, N. J., when only twenty-one years of 
age. During his residence on Pigeon Creek he was elected an 
elder in that church. Subsequently he resided at Sparta, and 
was an elder in Upper Ten-Mile Church. In 183 1 he removed 
to Monongahela City, where he was soon after chosen an elder 
in the church in that place. In April, 1845, he removed to Cross- 
Creek Village, where he died May i, 1854, in the 78th year of 
his age. 

His wife was the daughter of Rev. Francis Peppard, pastor 
of Hardwick Church, N. J. He had two sons who entered the 
ministry, both of whom still live, viz. : Rev. Joseph Kerr, once a 
missionary among the Indians and now residing at Fairfield, 
Iowa, at an advanced age, and Rev. A. H. Kerr, of Rochester, 
Minnesota. Rev. O. M.Todd, of Evansville, Ind., is a grandson. 

William Smith, youngest son of William and Mary (Caldwell) 
Smith, was born in Nottingham Township, Washington Co., Pa , 
June 28, 1804. Was ordained an elder in 1856. He discharged 
with much fidelity the duties of his office until his death, which 
occurred September 29, 1882. Andrew Wylie Smith, a member 
of the present session, is a son. A daughter, Sarah Jane, is the 
wife of Rev. Andrew N. Haggerty of the United Presbyterian 
Church, Kansas City, Mo. 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 205 

UPPER AND LOWER TEN MILE. 

These two churches constituted but one organization up to 
1817. Of the elders during this early period we particularize 
as follows : 

Demas Lindsley was one of the three elders present at the 
first meeting of the Presbytery of Redstone in 1781. He was a 
leading man in the colony which in 1773 came from Morris 
Co., N. J., and located in Washington Co., Pa., on Ten Mile 
Creek. The fort erected by these first settlers to defend them- 
selves against the Indians took its name, Fort Lindsley, from 
him. He had been an elder for many years in New Jersey, and 
a foremost position of respect and influence was freely accorded 
to him. His name is of frequent occurrence in the early civil 
records of the county. His greatest influence was in the church. 
But few of the early elders were more frequently in attendance 
at Presbytery. 

As appears from the inscription on his gravestone at Ten Mile, 
he died January 22, 1818, in the eighty-fifth year of his age and 
sixtieth year of his eldership. 

It is stated in " Blake's Biographical Dictionary," that all the 
Morris County Lindsleys, or Lindleys — the same name modi- 
fied by taste or accident — were descendants from Col. Francis 
Lindsley, who came from England in 1685. It is further stated 
that the family has been an honored one in America, many ob- 
taining high civil distinction, and many others becoming minis- 
ters of the gospel. Among these are enumerated the descend- 
ants of Demas Lindsley of Ten Mile, along with Rev. Phillip 
Lindsley, D.D., a former professor in New Albany Theological 
Seminary, and his son Rev. John Berrian Lindsley, who suc- 
ceeded his father as Chancellor of Nashville University. Of the 
sons of Demas Lindsley, one, Joseph, became an elder at Ten 
Mile while his father was yet living. Another entered the min- 
istry. Rev. Jacob Lindsley, D.D., who was the father of Rev. 
David Lindsley, for more than thirty years a missionary among 
the Zulus in South Africa ( Vide sketch of Rev. Jacob Lmdsley 
in list of early ministers). 

William McFarland, Esq., was the son of Col. Daniel 



2o6 the; presbytery of Washington. 

McFarland, an officer in the Revolutionary War, and was, it is 
believed, born in New Jersey in 1756. He and his father both 
made a profession of their faith in Christ on the third Sabbath 
of May, 1783, which it is said was the first administration of the 
Lord's Supper in this region. He died June 2, 1823. 

Jonas Condit, Esq., died July 17, 1850, in the eighty-second 
year of .his age, having held the office of elder for forty-five 
years. His second wife was a daughter of Rev. Thaddeus Dodd. 
It is said of him that none were more faithful or more highly 
esteemed. A man of good judgment and equal temperament. 
In him anxious souls found a wise counsellor and judicious 
guide. 

Other elders of this period whose memory is revered as men 
of marked zeal and influence were, — Jacob Cook, Joseph Coe, 
Daniel Axtell and Abel McFarland. The last named repre- 
sented the county several times in each branch of the Legisla- 
ture. Daniel Axtell was an active man of business, dealing 
largely in real estate. Two others of the same name, Nathan 
and Luther, were elders at a subsequent period. The Coes 
were a prominent family. Three of that name, — Joseph, at Ten 
Mile, Moses, at Chartiers, and Silas, at Three Ridges, were elders 
in the last centur}'. The wife of Aaron Williams, elder at 
Mingo, was a Coe. So also was the mother of Rev. Moses 
Allen. Jacob Cook was one of the first settlers at Ten Mile. 
He was to the Lower Settlement what Demas Lindsley was to 
the Upper. 

LOWER TEN MILE. 

James McFarland, son of William McFarland, was born in 
Washington County, Pa. He was chosen to the eldership in the 
year 1837, and served the church faithfully for twenty-eight 
years. He was eminently a man of prayer. His grandson who 
was a member of his family bears this testimony. " He prayed 
more than any man I ever knew. When a boy in working with 
him on the farm, and we would reach a secluded spot, he would 
.says, ' this is a good place to pray,' and then we would kneel 
down and he would offer a short prayer." He died February 
26, 1863. in the eighty-third year of his age. 

Thaddeus Dodd, M.D., was the son of Rev. Cephas Dodd. 



DECEASED RUIvING ELDERS. 207 

He was elected to the eldership December 9, 1868, and died 
August 9, 1877. It is said of him by one who knew him : " He 
was a good physician, a man of few words but of much thought. 
His religious convictions were based on a very extensive and 
thorough acquaintance with the word of God and the doctrinal 
standards of our church." And in the Minutes of Session we 
have this record, — " We delight to bear testimony to the beauti- 
ful Christian character of our deceased brother. It is Math 
pleasure we look back upon our intercourse with him in the 
Session. He was prudent in counsel, fervent in prayer, and ever 
sought the purity and peace of the Church." 

UPPER TEN MILE. 

Lewis Dille was installed April, 1795, and died April 30, 
1885, in the eighty-ninth year of his age. For fifty-four years 
he was a faithful officer, and until disabled by the infirmities of 
age was always at his post. The Sabbath- school and the 
sanctuary were his delight. 

John A. Black was installed May 2, 1875, and died May 8, 
1880. His career was short, but marked by wonderful conse- 
cration. He was untiring in his labors, both as an officer and 
member of the church, and many still refer to him as a model 
of Christian character and life, and mourn his early death, 

John McFarland had previously served as an elder in 
Lower Ten Mile Church, and was installed in this church No- 
vember 26, 1870. He died February 18, 1878. It is testified 
of him that he walked humbly and faithfully before God. 

CROSS CREEK. 

Judge James Edgar was born in York County, Pa., Novem- 
ber 15, 1744. When but eight years old he began to be con- 
cerned about his soul, which continued causing great anxiety 
until his sixteenth year, when he saw the light, and gave his 
heart to Jesus. He was elected an elder before he was twenty- 
three years of age, and became an elder in this church in 1779. 
About 1778 he came from York County, and settled near 
Cross Creek, and became one of the first elders in this church, 
and prosecuted the call for Rev. Joseph Smith before the Pres- 



2o8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

bytery of New Castle, at Carlisle. In Crumrine's " History of 
Washington County," it is said of him : " In the numerous 
lists of distinguished men who have been residents of Wash- 
ington County there are found none who bore a higher charac- 
ter, or were more universally beloved and trusted than was 
Judge James Edgar." Judge Edgar served both the State and 
the county, as well as the church. He was a member from 
York County, Pa., of the Provincial Council, which met in 
Carpenters' Hall, Philadelphia, June i8, 1775; also a delegate 
from that county to the convention which framed the constitu- 
tion of 1776, and a member from that county of the Council of 
Safety in 1777. In 1788 he was one of the Board of Censors 
for Washington Count)^ and September 30, 1788, was commis- 
sioned as associate judge, and held that office until his death. 
In 1794 he was prominent in the " Whiskey Insurrection," on 
the side of law and order. He died June 8, 18 14. 

Robert McCready, Esq., was born in Scotland in 1752. 
He came to America in 1772, and taught school in York 
County, Pa.; went out with a company of volunteers from 
Harford County, Md., and served his country in the War of the 
Revolution. From the hospital at Trenton, N. J., he returned 
to York County, and thence to Pittsburgh, and joined a com- 
pany of friends on Montours Run. He came to Cross Creek 
about 1777. He and two companions held meetings at their 
homes, and were soon joined by other neighbors; and this is 
known as the Irish Ridge Society in the history of the congre- 
gation. He was elected an elder near the close of the pastor- 
ate of Rev. Joseph Smith. Mr. McCready was noted for his 
piety, benevolence and eminent Christian life. He was power- 
ful in prayer, and is spoken of as " the praying McCready." In 
the minutes of session we find this record : " He descended to 
the grave loved, respected and lamented by the whole congre- 
gation." He died August 10, 1846. 

Henry Graham came from Chester County, Pa., in 1776. 
Was active in the organization of Cross Creek Church, and do- 
nated the land on which the church edifice was erected. He 
was commissioned justice of the peace in 1790. He was the 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 209 

grandfather of Rev. Ebenezer Graham, deceased. He died 
January 31, 1827, aged eighty-seven years. 

William Rea, Esq., came from Northampton County, Pa., 
in 1789. He was one of the strong pillars in the church. He 
was a member of the Synod's Board of Trust, and was a 
member of the Board of Trustees of Jefferson College from 
1805 to 1827. He represented the presbytery in the General 
Assembly in 1809, 1817 and 18 19, and was commissioned jus- 
tice of the peace in 1823. He died in 1835, aged seventy-two 
years. 

Robert Lyle came from Northampton County, Pa., in 1784. 
He was an elder, at different periods, in Cross Creek, Upper 
Buffalo and Mount Prospect Churches. His name first appears 
on the roll of Ohio Presbytery, in 1793. He was a brother of 
Hon. Aaron Lyle, who represented the district in Congress 
from 1808 to 1 8 16. Robert Lyle died November 25, 1843. 
He was an elder over half a century. 

The late Rev. Joseph G. Lyle, of the Third Church of 
Wheeling, and Rev. David D. Allen, of Rockford, Washington 
Territory, are great-grandsons. The wife of David A. Newell, 
of Dalton, O. — nee — Elizabeth Reed, is a granddaughter. 

Hugh Newell was a native of Connecticut. He settled in 
Cross Creek not later than 1781. He died -in 1810. His farm 
passed to his son, George Newell, who was made an elder in 
18 18, and held the office until his death, in 1840. 

George Newell was married to a daughter of Rev. Thomas 
Marquis. Two sons, Thomas M. and George B became minis- 
ters. 

Hugh Lee was the son of Hugh and Mary Lee, who emi- 
grated from Ireland in 1790. He was born in 1793. His pa- 
rents located near Cross Creek, on the farm now owned by his 
great-grandson, W. C. Lee. He was elected an elder in 1818, 
and of him Dr. Stockton says : " He was one of the most influ- 
ential of all the elders God bestowed on that congregation." 
The minutes of the session say : " He was a brother much be- 
loved in the session, a father who had much influence in the 
congregation, and died beloved and lamented by the whole 
community." He was noted as a peacemaker. He died April 
14 



2IO THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

24, 1837, at the house of William McLain, while attending a 
meeting of the presbytery at Claysville. 

Walter Craig was born in Donegal, Ireland, December i, 
1786. He came to America about 1793, and settled near West 
Middletown, Washington County, Pa. He received a good 
English education, and became a surveyor. In early life he was 
a river trader. In 181 5 he was elected commissioner, and re- 
signed in 1816. He was a member of the Legislature in 1818- 
18 19, a member of the State Constitutional Convention in 1837 
-38 and a member of the State Senate in 1843, '44 and '45. 
The history of Washington County says that his character for 
incorruptible integrity was not excelled by any of his com- 
peers. In 1828 he united with the church, and in 183 1 was 
elected an elder, which office he held until his death. He was 
a firm and faithful reprover of wrong-doing, a wise counselor 
and remarkably attentive to the ordinances of divine worship ; 
and ever ready to sacrifice his time, labor and money to pro- 
mote the cause of Christ. He died February 10, 1875, and his 
dust rests in the cemetery at Cross Creek. 

Two of Cross Creek's earliest elders, viz., Joseph Patterson 
and Thomas Marquis, became ministers of the gospel. Mar- 
quis was the second pastor of Cross Creek Church, and was 
known as " the silver-tongued Marquis." Patterson was for 
many years the faithful, beloved and successful pastor of Rac- 
coon Church, Presbytery of Pittsburgh. 

UPPER BUFFALO. 

William Smiley, Sr., who came from York County, Pa., was 
one of the first elders of this church, and it was he who took 
the flour to New Orleans, to sell, in order to pay the salary of 
Rev. Joseph Smith. In " Old Redstone," page seventy-eight, 
we have this description of him : " He was a Scotchman, of a 
strong mind, very shrewd and extremely pious. His manners 
were somewhat blunt; and he had an integrity and honesty 
about him which would not allow him to connive at anything 
which he thought wrong. He disliked everything which in 
any way set aside the claims of religion, and did not give it its 
proper place in the business of life or the enjoyment of the so- 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 211 

cial circle. He was sixty-four years old when the flour was 
taken to New Orleans. He died November 21, 18 13, aged 
eighty-two years." 

William Hughes was a son of Rowland Hughes and a bro- 
ther of Rev. James Hughes {q.v.), and of Rev. Thomas E. and 
Smily Hughes. Their father's second wife was Elizabeth Smily, 
who, after her husband's death, removed with her family to the 
West, and settled in what is now Washington County, Mount 
Pleasant Township. William had been a soldier in the war of 
the Revolution. He was a tanner by trade, as his father had 
been, and built a tannery on his place, which he carried on for 
many years. His name first appears on the roll of Presbytery 
in 1802. He was a member of the Board of Trustees of Jefferson 
College at its incorporation, in 1802, and served until 18 17. Was 
elected a member of Synod's Board of Trust for Missionary 
Work in 1808, and annually thereafter for several years. Was 
recognized as a man of eminent piety and influence. About the 
year 1825 he joined with others in securing the organization of 
Mount Prospect Church, and was made one of its first Board 
of Elders, and continued to serve until his death, April 17, 1831, 
He had a son (James Hughes) who became an Elder in the same 
church, and was for a long time a justice of the peace. 

James Dinsmore came from Ireland and settled, not later than 
1784, on Miller's Run, Allegheny County. About 1795 he 
removed to Washington County, in the bounds of Upper Buffalo 
Church. He had, while in Allegheny County, been an Elder in 
Bethel Church. He served in the same office in Buffalo Church 
until his death, at an advanced age. He is spoken of as a burn- 
ing and shining light, a man wonderfully full of the spirit of 
prayer. A son (John Dinsmore) was an Elder at Buffalo for a 
long period. Among the grandsons may be named Rev. James 
D. Mason, Davenport, Iowa ; Rev. W. C. Mason, deceased, and 
Rev. James H, Dinsmore, D.D., who, after a long and faithful 
ministry in Kentucky, is now spending the evening of his life in 
Washington, Pa. Rev. J. W. Dinsmore, D.D., of Bloomin^ton, 
111., is a great-grandson. 

John McWilliams came from Ireland, and settled in the 
bounds of Upper Buffalo Church at an early period, locating 



212 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

lands granted him under a Virginia certificate and surveyed in 
1785. His name first appears on the roll of Presbytery in 1793. 
From this until 18 17 he was present at eleven meetings. His 
descendants are very numerous, and to a large extent are thrifty, 
church-going people. One son (General Wallace McWilliams) 
was among the foremost men of the county in public affairs, and 
represented the county several times in the State Legislature. 

William Wallace was enrolled as an Elder attending meet- 
ings of Ohio Presbytery in 1803. His name appears frequently 
in records of Ohio and Washington Presbyteries up to a short 
time before his death, which occurred November 23, 1845. In 
his last will and testament, after making bequests to relatives, he 
states : " Because, in the good providence of Almighty God, all 
my sisters and near kindred are abundantly supplied with the 
good things of this present life, I will and direct that all the 
remainder of my property, real and personal, at my decease, be 
sold by my executors, and by them disposed of as herein 
directed, that it may be for the extension of the kingdom and 
glory of our blessed Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ." The 
bequests made were as follows : Western Theological Seminary, 
^500; Foreign Missions (Assembly's Board), ,$500; Board of 
Missions for Support of Gospel in this country, ;$4oo; American 
Tract Society, ^400 ; Board of Education, $400 ; American Bible 
Society, ^400 ; " Support of Gospel in American Colonies on 
Western coast of Africa," ^400. Balance to be divided equally 
between Washington and Jefferson Colleges, to educate persons 
for the ministry. Elder William Wallace, of Chartiers Township, 
is not to be confounded with William Wallace who represented 
the county several times in the Legislature. The latter lived in 
Somerset Township. 

Samuel Donahey, son of Joseph and Mary (Alexander) Don- 
ahey, was born in county Tyrone, Ireland, May 17, 1787, and 
brought by his parents to this country August, 1790. He was 
married in early manhood to Anna, daughter of William Reed, 
Esq., and sister of Rev. Messrs. John, Samuel and William Reed ; 
was ordained a Ruling Elder in 1840, and died December 25th 
of the same year. He was a man of integrity and enjoyed the 
confidence of his fellow-citizens. 



dec£;ased ruling elders. 213 

John Dinsmore, Sr,, was born July 14, 1779, at Miller's Run, 
Allegheny County, Pa. ; died July 7, 1858, on the farm where he 
lived and served his generation sixty-four years. He was an 
Elder forty-one years, and was a man of good mind, well- versed 
in the Scriptures and practical divinity ; of great force and 
strength of character, thoroughly faithful to his pastor and his 
church. Judicious and punctual as an office-bearer, systematic 
and conscientious in his benevolence, and much given to prayer 
and devout meditation. 

James Taggart was born in 1782; died July 13, 1863, in the 
eighty-first year of his age and the twenty-fourth of his Elder- 
ship. He was a man of blameless life, unpretentious, never put- 
ting himself forward ; was a great reader, very intelligent in the 
Scriptures, and was devoutly faithful in the discharge of his 
official duties. 

Andrew Herron. Born in 1781 ; died, November 20, 1869, 
aged eighty-eight years ; served thirty years as an Elder. He was 
a guileless man, of strict integrity and uprightness of character. 
A lover of Jesus, of His church and of His people, he died as he 
lived, a Christian's death. He was the father of Rev. Robert 
Herron, D.D., deceased. 

Parker Reed. Born in 18 10; died March 27, 1871, in the 
sixty-first year of his age ; was a native of Washington County, 
Pa. He made a profession of religion in early life, under the 
ministry of Dr. Anderson ; and was an Elder thirty-one years. 
" He was a man of great integrity of character, and performed the 
duties of his sphere, whether as a citizen, a professed Christian, 
or an officer in the church, with remarkable fidelity.'' His end 
was peace. 

William Donahev, son of Samuel and Anna (Reed) Donahey, 
was born near Taylorstown, Washington County, Pa., January 
17, 1816; was married, December, 1843, to Mary, daughter of 
Martin Ely, Elder in East Buffalo Church ; was ordained an 
Elder in Upper Buffalo Church in 1853, and served until his 
death, August 14, 1884, in his sixty-ninth year. Mr. Donahey 
was a devout and exemplary follower of Christ, honoring God in 
his household and faithful as a Ruling Elder. Two of his sons 



214 ^HE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

(Rev. Martin L., of Ohio, and Rev. Joseph A., of Waynesburg, 
Pa.) are Presbyterian ministers. 

WEST ALEXANDER (THREE RIDGES). 

John McPherrin was one of the first bench of elders at Three 
Ridges, and represented that church in Presbytery more fre- 
quently than any of that first session ; was present six times from 
1792 to 1807, Mr. McPherrin died about the year 181 5, having 
made bequest of over ;^2000 to the Trustees of Jefferson College, 
the interest to be applied in aid of candidates for the gospel 
ministry. 

George Lee was at Presbytery in 1803, and as late as 18 18. 
The characteristics of this elder were spiritual-mindedness and 
an all-absorbing desire for the salvation of others. It was a rule 
of his life never to be in the company of others without speaking 
to them personally on the subject of religion. It was never done 
obtrusively or offensively, but so wisely and tenderly that he 
never gave offence. At that time the country was almost an 
unbroken forest, and on Sabbath morning, on his way to church, 
he would turn aside into a thicket for a season of prayer ; and 
as his voice, broken with sobs, went out in cries for the influence 
of the Spirit on the preacher, the preaching, and the people, 
many a one would stop to receive an impression that fitted him 
for the house of God and led to a blessing. 

George Sutherland was at Presbytery eight times from 1802 
to 1818. He was generally called " little George Sutherland," to 
distinguish him from another man of the same name. He was 
quick, always ready, the theologian and Bible student of the 
Session. It is said he could express himself with the clearness 
and force of a theological professor. His creed was summed up 
in the " Five points of Calvinism," and if his pastor or any one 
else occupying the pulpit seemed to deviate from this straightest 
of rules, he was duly informed of it before he left the church, 
and set right. 

John McDonald was born March 15, 1788, and died Decem- 
ber II, 1868, in the eighty-first year of his age; was married 
in 1 8 17, to Margaret Byers. He was elected an elder in 
1828, and served in this office for forty years. He was also 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 315 

Superintendent of the Sabbath-school for more than twenty years. 
" His special gift was that of prayer. His godly life was an orna- 
ment to religion. He loved the Saviour and the church ; but in 
prayer he excelled. He would take the congregation in the 
arms of his faith and lay them down at the mercy-seat for a 
blessing. His words were so simple and scriptural ; his tones 
so simple, childlike and tender, it could only have been the 
Spirit making intercession. Deeply moved himself, he as deeply 
moved others. He was pre-eminently a man of prayer," He 
has two sons in the ministry of the Presbyterian Church — Rev. 
George McDonald, of Upper Ten-Mile, and Rev, John McC. 
McDonald, Ulysses, Kansas. 

FORKS OP WHEELING, 

John Faris was the eldest son of William Faris [q. v.). He 
was brought from Ireland in childhood.. He came to the 
West from Berkley County, Va.,«at a very early date. His 
name was first enrolled in presbytery in 1799. His wife was 
Agnes Stewart, daughter of Robert Stewart, of Covenanter de- 
scent. Their home was near Roney's Point. Mr, Faris died 
in 1838. Several of his sons became elders in the Western 
States. Among his descendants are the following ministers : 
Rev. John M. Faris, of Anna, 111,, Rev. W. W. Faris, D.D., of 
Anna, III., who has a son now studying for the ministry, Rev. 
W. B. Faris, deceased, whose daughter is the wife of Dr. E. W. 
Alexander, missionary in Hamadan, Persia, and Rev. S, C. 
Faris, of Richmond, O. Three of these are grandsons. Rev. 
Dr. W. W. Faris, son of Rev. J. M. a great-grandson. 

Adam Faris, son of William Faris, was born near Martins- 
burg, Va., November 6, 1763. He was married to Mary Find- 
iay, January 7, 1794. He was a farmer and on coming west 
purchased lands on Wheeling Creek, Ohio County, Va. He was 
made an elder in Forks of Wheeling Church not later than 1802. 
He represented his district several terms in the Virginia House 
of Representatives, traveling to and from Richmond on horse 
back. In 1829 he was Vice-President of a temperance society 
of which his pastor, Dr, Hervey, was President. A son, David, 
was made an elder in Forks of Wheeling Church in 1838. A 



2l6 THK PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

daughter, Mary, was married to Josiah Brown, also made an 
elder in the same church in 1838. Another daughter, Dorothea, 
became the wife of Rev. David Hervey. The last years of Mr. 
Faris' life were spent with these at their home in Brooke County. 
He died July 6, 1841, in his seventy-eighth year and was buried 
at Forks of Wheeling Church. Mr. A. Faris Hervey ruling 
elder in the church of Wellsburg, is a grandson. 

WEST LIBERTY, FORMERLY SHORT CREEK. 

John Wayt. This name appears on the roll of Presbytery 
in 1794. Tradition assigns him to both the Forks of Wheeling 
and Short Creek. The" History of the Panhandle" published in 
1879, contains the following concerning him : " John Wayt emi- 
grated to Ohio County, Va., near the year 1780, at the age of 
twenty-five. He was accompanied by two brothers and two 
sisters. Mr. Wayt was educated for a priest in the Catholic 
Church of England, and upon his rejection of their creed was 
compelled to flee. He became here a member of the Presby- 
terian Church and subsequently .an elder. He was married soon 
after his arrival to Mary Peyatt. He became a leading man 
among the early settlers. He died in 1822, and his remains 
were interred in the cemetery of the Stone Church near Elm 
Grove." 

Matthew Anderson was present as a ruling elder in the 
Presbytery of Ohio as early as 1796. In 1807 he removed to St. 
Clairsville, Ohio, where he resided until his death. His wife was 
Isabella Hughes, sister of Rev. James Hughes, pastor of Short 
Creek and Lower Buffalo. She survived her husband and died 
in the period between 1846-52. Two of their sons entered the 
ministry of the Presbyterian Church, — Rev. James H. Anderson 
who died after a brief service in North Western Ohio, and Rev. 
David S. Anderson of the Presbytery of Maumee, who died 
April 2, 1886. Rev. Oscar A. Hills, D.D., of Wooster, Ohio, 
is a grandson of Matthew Anderson, by his daughter Sarah 
Anderson, who was born at Short Creek July i, 1805. 

William Faris was born in Ireland, from which he emigrated 
to Virginia not later than 1770. He was an elder in Back 
Creek Church, Berkley County, Va., of which Rev. Hugh Vance 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 21/ 

was pastor. Not long after the Revolutionary War closed, he 
removed to Ohio County, Virginia, settling on Magraw's Run, 
in the bounds of Short Creek Church. His farm is still held by 
some of his descendants. He had two sons, John and Adam, 
who were elders in Forks of Wheeling Church. His descend- 
ants to the fourth and fifth generation have been numerous and 
have mostly held to the ancestral faith. One of them writes, 
" I think it safe to presume that of the descendants of Elder 
Wm. Faris, not less than forty persons have been either minis- 
ters or elders, or wives of ministers or elders in the Presbyter- 
ian Church. Among the descendants I can recall, are Blayneys, 
Yates, Potters, Gastons, Maxwells, Finleys, Herveys, etc., in 
all of which have appeared elders and in several of them minis- 
ters." Mr. Faris died in i8i8,aged eighty-four. He was buried 
at Forks of Wheeling. 

William McKinley was one of the first Board of Elders in 
Short Creek Church. His name first appears on the roll of Pres- 
bytery in 1800. He was chosen Treasurer of the Board of Trust 
at its erection by the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1802. Mr. McKin- 
ley is spoken of as one of the noblest of men, a man to pattern 
after. Of many things spoken of, his conduct under calamity 
was most frequently dwelt upon. Having become liable for the 
debts of others, his property was brought under the Sheriff's 
hammer, and on the day of sale when it was seen that the goods 
levied upon would not meet his liabilities, he took his watch 
from his pocket when he might have legally retained it, and 
manifested no regret. But when there was still a balance against 
him, and " Scott's Commentaries " must go to meet it he was 
seen to iveep ; this book having been such a source of comfort to 
himself and a help in comforting others in various ways. Mr. 
McKinley represented his Presbytery in the General Assembly 
in 1793 and in 1797, 1802 and in 1807. He also frequently re- 
presented his county in the Legislature of Virginia. One of his 
daughters was the wife of Rev. James Hervey. Rev. Edward 
G. McKinley of Ligonier, Pa., is a grandson. Wm. McKinley 
died May 20, 1838, aged seventy-five years. 

Thomas Yates began attending Presbytery in 18 19. Is be- 
lieved to have been an elder much earlier, probably 1807. He 



2l8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

transferred his membership to Three Ridges, where he was also 
elected an elder. He died September 7, 1*855. I"^'-'' son, Andrew 
Yates, was elected an elder September 6, 1828. Died Decem- 
ber 19, 1876. Byers T. Yates, a son of Andrew, was elected an 
elder December 12, 1853, and is still serving. They were 
Scotch-Irish Presbyterians of the most orthodox stamp. Their 
descendants are very numerous 'and are largely represented in 
the ministry and eldership of the Presbyterian Church. 

LOWER BUFFALO. 

Arthur Scott was born in Lancaster County, Pa., in 1760. 
Came west at the close of the Revolutionary War and settled in 
the eastern part of Washington County, near Ginger Hill. In 
1786, in connection with his brother Samuel, purchased land in 
Hopewell Township. He was married in 1789, to Ann Hamil- 
ton, sister of David Hamilton, Esq., of Ginger Hill. They were, 
it is believed, original members of the Church of Lower Buffalo, 
and Mr. Scott became an elder at an early date. Tradition says 
that he was faithful in his family, in the church, and in all the 
relations of life : a good and useful man. He died on his farm 
four miles south of Independence July 24, 1843, aged eighty- 
three years. 

Arthur Scott was the father of Col. Joseph Scott, who has 
been an elder in Lower Buffalo Church, and a teacher in its 
Sabbath-school for more than fifty years. 

CROSS ROADS (KINGS CREEK). 

David Philip Jackson was the oldest of four brothers who 
came with their parents from Maryland about 1779, and settled 
at the Cross Roads. Under the preaching of Rev. Joseph Smith 
at Cross Creek, he was converted and united with that church. 
When Kings Creek was organized in 1785, he transfered his 
membership to it and was elected ruling-elder. In 1798 the 
location of the church was changed to Cross Roads, and here in 
1800 the call for the first pastor. Rev. Elisha McCurdy, was 
signed by him in connection with Miles Wilson and John 
McMillan, and carried by him to the Presbytery of Ohio. In 
the great revival which followed the settlement of Mr. McCurdy, 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 219 

Philip Jackson was ever active and watchful for souls. He had 
great power in prayer and was known as the praying elder. He 
loved the church and daily plead her cause at the throne of 
grace. During the progress of this revival, when but fifty-three 
years of age, he was called home to receive his reward. He 
died February 13, 1803. He had a brother, Joseph Jackson, who 
became an elder 1807, and died 1824. Marion Jackson, an 
elder, who died June 24, 1888, was a grandson. 

John Travis came from Wales when quite young. He was a 
soldier in the war of the Revolution. He was commissioned a 
sub-lieutenant of York County, Pa., in 1778, by Supreme Ex- 
ecutive Council, Thomas Wharton, Jr. , President, signing the 
commission. He was married early in life to Rebecca St. Clair. 
On first coming to the west he settled in Fayette County, Pa. 
He was an elder in Laurel Hill Church in 1793. He repre- 
sented Cross Roads Church in the Presbytery of Ohio in 1801. 
His last residence was near New Lisbon, Ohio. He was an 
elder there under Rev. C. Vallandigham. For several years 
before his death, September 26, 1827, he had been entirely blind. 
His preceding life had also been shadowed with affliction. While 
resident in Fayette County, he wa% subject for a time to mental 
derangement. Subsequently through misplaced confidence he 
lost his worldly estate. Despite all, by faith in God, he held fast 
his integrity, and in ripe age went down to the grave in peace. 
He was a strong temperance man, much in advance of the time 
in which he lived ; was powerful in prayer, a comforter of those 
in trouble, a man greatly honored and beloved. 

Of Mr. Travis' descendants several have been ruling elders 
and. two at least Presbyterian ministers. Rev. Wm. Travis of 
Grand Fork, Dakota, is a grandson by his second son William, 
who was married to Alice, daughter of Philip Jackson, and was 
an elder at Wellsville and Salem, Ohio, and has a son Israel T., 
an elder at Youngstown, Ohio. Rev. M. Moore Travis, Super- 
intendent in the United States Indian Service, Pima Agency, 
Sacaton, Arizona, is also a grandson by his youngest son Robert, 
who was long an elder of Bethel Church in Steubenville Presby- 
tery, and has a son John, now an elder in New Lisbon, Ohio. 
The oldest son of Mr. Travis was married to a daughter of 



220 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Miles Wilson. Their son John T. is an elder. Several others 
of the descendants are elders. 

James Proudfit, Sr., was born about 1760. He signed the 
call for the first pastor. He was elected an elder in 1803, led 
the music during the great revival of 1802, and was also a teacher 
in the Sabbath-school. He died in 1856, aged ninety-six years. 
His last words were, " Come, Saviour, and take me home." 

Samuel Fulton was a soldier of the Revolution. He had 
the rank of captain, and served to the close of the war. He re- 
ceived a gunshot wound in the cap of his knee which rendered 
him slightly lame for life. He declined to receive a pension, 
saying that he was amply compensated in the deliverance of his 
country from British oppression. After the war he resided in 
Baltimore, where he was married to Catherine Smith, a relative 
of Rev. Joseph Smith of Cross Creek. Removing to Washing- 
ton County, Pa., he purchased a farm within the bounds of Cross 
Roads Church, in which he became an elder in 1803, in the time 
of Father McCurdy. A grandson, Rev. Samuel Fulton, whose 
home was with him from childhood until he went to college, 
writes thus concerning him : " He was a regular attender of 
church and prayer-meetings, cold or hot, rain or sunshine. He 
was liberal and prompt in both the spiritual and temporal affairs 
of the church, ahvays paying his subscriptions and pew-rent the 
day they zvere due. 

" He was a strict observer of the Sabbath, and always ceased 
work on the farm, with all his hired men, at three or four o'clock 
on Saturday to rest and prepare for the Sabbath, and on that day 
he never engaged in worldly conversation. He was a ' living 
epistle known and read of all,' in the community where he 
lived." 

Mr. Fulton died about the year 18 19, leaving a family of five 
sons and three daughters, all of whom were members of the 
church. One son, Robert, entered the ministry. He was a 
graduate of Washington College in 1833, where he served for a 
time as tutor in the Latin and Greek languages. He afterwards 
taught at Florence, Pa., and Ashland, O., where he also preached 
until his death. Mr. Fulton had, likewise, three grandsons who 
became ministers : Rev. William Fulton, who preached in Iowa, 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 221 

where he died ; Rev. Robert J. Fulton, who was pastor for a few 
years, until his death, of the church of Buffalo in the Zanesville 
Presbytery ; and Rev. Samuel Fulton, for many years a pastor 
in Pittsburgh, now spending the evening of his life in West- 
chester, Pa. 

Four great-grandsons also of Mr. Fulton have become preachers 
of the gospel : Rev. John M. Fulton, of Fort Wayne, Ind. ; Rev. 
Wm. P. Fulton, of Huntingdon Valley, Pa. ; Rev. Albert A. 
Fulton, missionary at Canton, China (whose sister. Miss M. H. 
Fulton, M.D., is a member of the same mission); and Geo. W. 
Fulton, a licentiate, who has offered his service to the Presbyte- 
rian Board of Foreign Missions. 

John Duncan, Sr., was elected an elder in 1803 ; he was also 
a teacher in the Sabbath-school, and a zealous worker in his Mas- 
ter's cause. He was for several years a member of Synod's 
Board of Trust. He died March 28, 1850, aged eighty-two. 
He had a son, John Duncan, Jr., who was elected elder in 183 1. 
He died February 17, 187,6, aged seventy-six. Rev. Jesse C. 
Bruce, of Franklin, Pa., is married to the youngest daughter of 
John Duncan, Jr. 

James Kerr, father of Rev. John Kerr, for a number of years 
pastor of the church of Monongahela City, and now residing at 
Parnassus, Pa., was ordained an elder in 181 5, and died in 1847. 

George Anderson was ordained in 181 5. He was first super- 
tendent of the Sabbath-school in 1818. He was married to Miss 
Katie McCloud, of Florence. About the year 1820 he removed 
to St. Clairsville, O., where he died. Mr. Anderson was a brother 
of Rev. John Anderson, D.D., pastor of Upper Buffalo. 

James McFarren, Esq., a brother of Rev. Samuel McFarren, 
D.D., was born at Northampton, on the Delaware, June 12, 1786. 
He came west with his father's family in 1807, and settled on a 
farm near Florence, where he afterwards lived for fifty-three 
years. In 1820 he was chosen superintendent of the Sabbath- 
school, which office he held until i860. He was also a teacher 
in the Sabbath-school and tru.stee of the church, and was elected 
an elder in 1831. In 1842 he was elected a member of the 
Legislature of Pennsylvania from Washington County, and also 
was a Justice of the Peace for several years. In all these rela- 



222 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

tions, both to the church and the State, Mr. McFarren acted the 
part of an upright man and sincere Christian. He died Novem- 
ber 3, 1866, and sleeps in the cemetery of the church of Cross 
Roads. 

John McConnell, Sr., was born December 19, 1784, and was 
elected ruling elder February 20, 1853; he was also a trustee, 
and a teacher in the Sabbath-school for many years. He died 
April II, 1879, ^"cl his wife died March 9, 1888, aged one hun- 
dred years, eight months and eleven days, having been a mem- 
ber of the church for eighty-five years. 

James Wallace was ordained and installed an elder in 1820, 
and died October, 1863. 

William Mercer was elected an elder February 20, 1850, and 
died June 13, 1876. 

David Culbertson was born near Cross Creek ; was elected 
an elder September 23, 1867, and died August, 1886. His gifts 
to the church and Sabbath-school were many and liberal. 

William J. Cool .was a tailor by trade ; he was also Postmas- 
ter for many years. He was elected and ordained an elder 
December 27, 1855. He was also a trustee of the church, a 
teacher in the Sabbath-school, and its superintendent from i860 
until 1879. He died in Carrollton, O., September 8, 1880. 

THREE SPRINGS. 

William Lee was one of the first bench of elders, a strong 
pillar in the church. He represented it in presbytery fifteen 
times from 1800 to 18 18. He was one of three elders chosen as 
members of Synod's Board of Trust in 1805. He died August 
27, 18 19. 

John Orr was born July 5, 1765, and came into the bounds 
of Three Springs Church from the vicinity of Carlisle, Pa., 
about 1795. His name first appears on the roll of presbytery 
in 1803. He was married August ii, 1788, to Mary Gilson. 
A second wife was a Mrs. Hindman. He died March i, 1843. 
His only son, Thomas, became an elder in the Holliday's Cove 
Church at its organization, in 1846, having previously been an 
elder in the Three Springs Church. Four grandsons, sons of 
Thomas Orr, viz.: Thomas S., George G., Samuel H. and 



DECEASED RUIvING ELDERS. 223 

James C. Orr, became elders. The last-named alone survives, 
serving in the Second Church of Wheeling. Two great grand- 
sons are elders. On the female side, the facts are similarly re- 
markable, nearly, if not quite all, the daughters and grand- 
daughters of John Orr having become wives of elders. 

Samuel Maxwell was born near Carlisle, Pa. When a 
young man he came West, and settled on a farm, in what is now 
Hancock County, W. Va. He was, it is believed, one of the 
converts of the great revival at Three Springs in 1802. 

It is certain that he was an attendant on those meetings, and 
often, in his advanced years, dwelt in conversation on the inci- 
dents and scenes connected with that wonderful work of grace, 
which seems to have made a most vivid impression upon his 
mind. About the year 1808, or possibly a few years later, he 
was ordained by Mr, McCurdy one of the elders of Three 
Springs Church. It was a source of great. sorrow to him when 
about the year 1854, the old stone church was abandoned, and 
the congregation became two, one branch worshipping at Holli- 
day's Cove and the other at Paris. He never ceased to think 
regretfully of the old consecrated place of worship, about which 
had gathered, for him, so many hallowed associations and 
blessed memories. In the fall of 1865, at the age of eighty- 
nine years, he died, and was laid to rest in the burial ground of 
the church he so dearly loved. 

He was a truly godly man. One who knew him well testifies 
that his love of prayer (family, public and private), of reading 
the Scriptures (in connection with the annotations of Scott the 
commentator), of attending upon the preaching of the word, and 
of religious conversation, so absorbed his mind that he con- 
stantly seemed to live in the world as one who was not at all of 
it. 

Mr. Maxwell was twice married. From a daughter by his 
first wife was born Rev. Josiah Welsh, the founder, and until 
his death, in 1877, the pastor of the First Pre-sbyterian Church, 
Salt Lake City. 

The second wife was Mrs. Jane Fulton (widow of John Ful- 
ton, of Florence), whose maiden name was Jane McCluskey, 
sister of Rev. John McCluskey, D.D. 



224 ^^^ PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Rev. James M. Maxwell, D.D., of Monongahela City, Pa., is 
a child of this second marriage. 

Mrs. Maxwell, by her first husband, was the mother of Rev. 
Robert John Fulton, who was licensed by the Presbytery of 
Washington, and died at Cumberland, Guernsey County, O., 
in 1855, shortly after his installation as pastor of the then large 
and flourishing church of Buffalo. 

Enoch Hays was born December i, 1802, near Burgettstown, 
Washington County, Pa., and received. in early life into the com- 
munion of the church of Raccoon, during the pastorate of Rev. 
Moses Allen. He became an elder in Three Springs Church 
about the year 1862 or '63, having previously been ordained to 
the office at the organization of the Pine Grove Church, from 
which he took his dismission to Three Springs, in 1862. 

Mr. Hays was a consistent and exemplary follower of Christ, 
and faithfully discharged the duties of his office as elder. 
Having lived forty-one years on his farm in Brook County, 
W. Va., he entered into rest February 13, 1872, aged three-score 
and ten. His summons was a very sudden one. " He walked 
with God, and was not, for God took him." 

Mllviv CREEK. 

Alexander McCullough was one of the first elders in this 
church. His name first appears on the roll of Presbytery in 
1800. He was, in both lineage and character, a pronounced 
Scotchman — (" Auld Sawney " he familiarly called himself). He 
was noted for his fidelity in reproving sin, yet doing it so judi- 
ciously as not to give offence. He was seldom absent from 
church, was active in keeping up the prayer meeting, and in 
every respect was an earnest, zealous worker. He. died about 
the year 1830, full of years, and of faith, and good works. 

George McCullough was a brother of Alexander McCul- 
lough, and said to have been younger, though his name appears 
on the roll of Redstone Presbytery in 1793, seven years earlier. 
The tradition is, that he was an able and efficient officer in the 
church. He died in 181 2. 

David Kerr came from Ireland when a young man. His 
wife's name was Cornelia Chamberlain. He was owner of a 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 225 

large farm one mile east of Hookstown. As an elder he was 
faithful and earnest in efforts to promote Christ's kingdom. He 
took delight in training the young. He had them come to his 
home to " say their questions." At other times he met them 
for the same purpose at the home of Andrew Poe. Mr. Kerr 
was an elder for about thirty years, and died in 1824. 

Joseph McCready was born July 9, 1786, and died October 
3, 1862, having served as an elder about fifty years. In early 
life he married Elizabeth Ewing. A second wife was Mrs. 
Elizabeth Calhoun. Father McCready, as he was commonly 
called in his later years, was eminent for his piety, efficiency and 
usefulness. His personal appearance was made especially ven- 
erable by gray locks reaching to his shoulders and a healthy 
countenance that beamed forth the spirit of Christian love. He 
was remarkably endowed Avith the spirit of prayer and exhorta- 
tion. He had a deep voice, somewhat tremulous in its opening 
utterances. He often spoke with tears rolling down his cheeks 
and words of entreaty flowing from his heart. In the great re- 
vival of 1853 he was a most efficient helper in leading anxious 
souls to the Saviour. Mr. McCready was also particularly 
zealous for the temperance cause, both in word and deed. His 
lamented death was the result of a lamp explosion. But the 
call, though unexpected, did not overtake him unready. It was 
the Master's voice which he heard, and he entered into rest. 

James Moody was born April 6, 1793, near Easton, Pa. He 
came to the Mill Creek neighborhood with his parents, in 18 19, 
and was made an elder in 1833, serving nearly forty years, until 
his death, December 30, 1872. He was an earnest friend of the 
temperance cause, and being a man of intelligence and ready 
utterance, he did effective work as a speaker at temperance 
meetings. He was also very active in securing the acceptance 
of the free school system. 

In his later years he gave exemplary proof of his interest in 
Mill Creek by compiling from the written records then extant, 
and from reliable tradition and personal knowledge, a history of 
this venerable church from its organization down till near the 
time of his death. Mr. Moody was a brother of Rev. Samuel 
Moody, who died in 1856, aged fifty-five years. 
15 



226 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Matthew Glass was elected an elder in 1840, and was a 
faithful laborer, always diligent and active. He organized and 
maintained a prayer-meeting in Hookstown for many years ; 
was very zealous in the temperance cause. He died in 1851, 
aged fifty-four years. 

James McKinley was elected an elder in 1840, and was a 
good man, of strict integrity and sound in the faith. He was 
born in Ireland, and brought to this country by his parents, in 
infancy. He died in 1856. 

FAIRVIEW— (THE FLATS). 

Henry Pittenger was one of the original elders of this 
church in connection with John Eadie and John McMillan. He 
was born February 25, 1735, and was elected an elder at the 
organization of the church ; and continued in office until his 
death, in 1825. A son, Nicholas, entered the ministry. John 
Pittenger, another son of Henry, was born January 20, 1771, 
and was elected an elder in this church before 181 2, and exer- 
cised this office for half a century, or until his death, in i860. 
Four of his sons became ruling elders in different churches, 
three of whom are now dead. 

Abraham, one of his sons, is now an elder in this church, thus 
presenting this interesting and remarkable fact — three genera- 
tions from one family represented in the eldership of one church 
in an unbroken succession covering nearly a century of time. 

Joseph W. Allison was born March 31, 1830, and died De- 
cember 30, 1883. Was elected elder in 1858, and served the 
church in this office faithfull}- until his death. He was a man of 
large intelligence, well informed on all the leading questions of 
the day, and represented his county in the House of Delegates 
of the State of West Virginia. He was large-hearted and benev- 
olent, always contributing liberally to the boards of the church, 
and the cause of humanity. He loved God's Word and his 
house and his people ; and his place in the sanctuary was rarely 
unoccupied ; and for two years previous to his last sickness it 
was not marked by a single absence. His end was peace, and 
his memory is blessed. 



DECEASED RUIvING ElvDERS. 22/ 

WASHINGTON FIRST. 

The original elders in this church ordained and installed at its 
organization 1793, were four, viz. : Andrew Swearingen, Joseph 
Wherry, Robert Stockton, and William McCombs. Since that 
time, including the present session, 37 have been ordained and 
installed. Of these, 26 have gone to wear their crowns and share 
the glory promised to those who are faithful unto death. 

Robert Stockton came, in 1784, from near Chambersburg, Pa., 
where most of his children were born. He purchased a farm in 
Franklin township, near Washington, on which he resided until 
his death in 1824. He was the father of Rev. Joseph Stockton, 
{q. v.). Another son, Thomas, became an elder in the church of 
Washington while the father was yet living. A daughter, Eliza- 
beth, was married to Rev. James Cunningham. Another daugh- 
ter, Jane, was the second wife of Rev, John Brice. 

Joseph Wherry was born near Wilmington, Del. ; came to 
Washington county about 1 790, with wife and oldest child. 
Died May 5, 1826, aged 74. 

Andrew Swearingen was a brother of Van Swearingen, first 
sheriff of Washington county. They were sons of John Swea- 
ringen, who came from Berkeley county, Va., before the Revo- 
lution, and settled in Springhill township, Fayette county. Pa. 
Both sons were captains in the Revolutionary war. Andrew 
was justice of the peace, first in Yohogania, and then in Wash- 
ington county. Also served as treasurer of Washington county. 
He was an extensive landholder, and lived on one of his tracts 
in Chartiers township. He served as an elder until his death, 
which took place June 26, 1824, in his 78th year. 

William McCombs. — He held the office of coroner in Wash- 
ington county in 1784. Had lands in Strabane, Somerset and 
Canton townships. He sold the Somerset farm to his brother 
Robert in 1792. Previous to this he served as elder in Pigeon 
Creek Church. His name appears repeatedly in the records of 
both Redstone and Ohio Presbyteries. He died on his farm in 
Canton township in 1807. 

William Sherrard was an early resident of Washington, 
Pa. ; an elder of unblemished reputation, and died with unsha- 
ken confidence in his Redeemer, Dec. 17th, 18 18, aged 75. 



228 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Thomas Stockton, son of Robert, was descended from a pious 
and godly ancestry. His grandfather as well as father was an 
elder in the Presbyterian Church. He was elected to the same 
office during the pastorate of Dr. Matthew Brown, somewhere 
between 1805 and 1822, and died in 1849 much respected and 
beloved and lamented in his death. He was the father of Rev. 
John Stockton, D.D., for fifty years the pastor of Cross Creek in 
this Presbytery. 

James Orr was born in Penns Valley, Centre County, Pa., in 
1775. His boyhood was spent in Franklin county, Pa. He was 
married in 1797 to Miss Margaret Hawkins, of .Chambersburg, 
Pa., and came at that time to reside in Washington. He was a 
carpenter by trade. Thirteen children were the fruits of his 
marriage, and four of his daughters became the wives of minis- 
ters. Rev. Albert O. Johnson, one of the martyred missionaries 
in India during the Sepoy rebellion, and Rev. VV. F. Johnson, 
D.D., for 25 years a missionary in India, and now president of 
Biddle University, N. C, were his grandsons. Three of his 
daughters were married to Presbyterian ministers. He seems 
to have enjoyed the confidence of his neighbors, and was called 
by them to several responsible positions — among them were 
magistrate and bank director. As a member of Session he was 
wise and faithful, and as a Christian eminent and consistent. He 
died in peace, January 31, 1858.' 

George Baird, Esq., was the son of Dr. Absalom Baird, sur- 
geon in the Revolutionary army. He was born in Kennett 
Square, Chester county, Pa., in 1785, and was brought to Wash- 
ington by his parents at the age of five years. He was educated 
in Washington Academy, now Washington College, and for some 
time taught the classics in that institution. He held the offices 
of magistrate and sheriff of Washington county, and was also 
elected a member of the Legislature of Pennsylvania. He made 
a profession of religion in 18 12, under the ministry of Dr. Brown, 
and was elected to the eldership in 1847. He was a member, 
from this Presbytery, of the General Assembly which met in 
Nashville, Tenn., in 1855. He was a very conscientious man, 
warm-hearted, a liberal giver, and a man of prayer. 

Hon. R. R, Reed, M.D., was born in Washington, March 12, 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 229 

1807, and was the son of Alexander Reed, a pronninent mer- 
chant of that place. He graduated at Washington College in 
1825, and also graduated in medicine at the University of Penn- 
sylvania, in Philadelphia, in 1828. He was converted and made 
a profession of religion in the same year, during a quiet revival 
of religion in the church of Washington. He was elected to the 
office of ruling elder in 1847, and held the office until his death. 
Two of his sons entered the ministry, viz., Rev. Alexander Reed, 
D.D., who died at Denver, Colorado, November 18, 1878, and 
Rev. William B. Reed, who is still living. 

Dr. Reed was elected a Representative from Washington 
County to the Legislature of Pennsylvania, and was also a 
member of Congress, in both of which offices he commanded the 
hisfhest regard, both as a o;entleman and a Christian. He was 
frequently a mem.ber of Synod, and also represented this Pres- 
bytery in the General Assembly. He was especially interested 
in the work of the Sabbath-school, and was the beloved and effi- 
cient Superintendent of the Sabbath-school in this church for 
twenty-six years previous to his death. He was a very intelli- 
gent and godly man, of great warmth of affection and sympathy, 
very active in all Christian work, very efficient and reliable, "the 
pastor's friend." He died December 14, 1864, in the fifty-eighth 
year of his age. 

Charles Hawkins was born in Baltimore, November 27, 1773. 
Spent most of his early life in Chambersburg, Pa., and from 1817 
until his death lived in Washington. His ancestors were Cove- 
nanters, of which church he was also a member until 181 1, when 
he united with the Presbyterian Church, under the ministry of 
Dr. Matthew Brown, and was elected an elder in 1827. His 
pastor says of him : "A man of holy dedication, great power in 
prayer, and carrying with him the confidence and sympathy of 
God's people in a remarkable degree." He mentions this inci- 
dent : " Dr. Matthew Brown, my predecessor, was present in 
my prayer-meeting shortly after I came here. Before beginning 
his lecture, he turned to me and asked, ' Is Charles Hawkins 
here? Call on him to pray. I must hear him pray once more 
before I die. I can't speak until I am lifted up to God by one 
of his prayers." He died February 25, 1864, in the ninety-first 



230 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

year of his age. He was the father of Rev, John L. Hawkins, 
of Melrose, Kansas. 

Jacob Slagle, the son of Christian Slagle, who came from 
Germany, was born in Baltimore, Md. His father died in 1794, 
and in 1804 Mr. Slagle came to Washington, as an apprentice to 
the saddlery business. He united with the church of Washington 
in 1824, during the pastorate of Rev. Obadiah Jennings, and was 
elected an elder in 1S29, which office he held for forty-five years, 
or until his death, which occurred June 7, 1872, in the eighty- 
fourth year of his age. He was several times a representative 
of this Presbytery in the General Assembly. He held the office 
of School Director, Trustee of the Female Seminary, and Asso- 
ciate Judge of the courts of Washington County, and was often 
chosen as counselor in business and church difficulties. He is 
said to have been remarkable for straightforward truthfulness and 
candor, very judicious, kindly and sympathetic. He was the 
father of Rev. B. W. Slagle, of Defiance, Ohio; of Judge J. F. 
Slagle, of Pittsburgh, and also of John S. Slagle, an elder in the- 
First Church of Allegheny, Pa. 

Joseph Henderson was born in Accomac County, Va., and 
came to Washington in 1816. He was Sheriff of Washington 
County, member of the Legislature of Pennsylvania, Postmaster 
in Washington during the administration of John Quincy Adams, 
Deputy Surveyor of the Land Office of Pennsylvania under Gov- 
ernor Ritner, and also Adjutant-General. He studied law in 
Harrisburg, and opened an office in Washington in 1839; was 
not much of a pleader, but an excellent counselor, and was held 
in the highest esteem for honesty, integrity and kindness. He 
made a profession of religion in 1826; was elected an elder in 
1847, and was always a consistent Christian and faithful Sabbath- 
school teacher until his death. He represented this Presbytery 
in the General Assembly at Buffalo, N. Y., in 1854. He died 
September 19, 1872, aged seventy-five years. 

Samuel Vance was born in Somerset Township, Washington 
County, Pa., March 13, 1791, and died February 25, 1874. For 
forty years, until his death, he was a ruling elder in the First 
Church of Washington, having been inducted in 1834, under the 
ministry of the Rev. David Elliott, D.D. He was the last on 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 23 1 

earth of the eleven venerable members of Session who welcomed 
the present pastor, Dr. Brownson, in 1849. He represented the 
Presbytery as a Commissioner to the General Assembly of i860, 
which met in Rochester, N. Y. He left the record of a consistent 
life and a faithful officer of the church. At the end he rested, 
without doubt or fear, upon the one atoning sacrifice, only long- 
ing for the vision of the Lamb. The Rev. Joseph Vance, D.D., 
pastor of the Second Presbyterian Church of Chester, Pa., is his 
son. A son (John Vance) and son-in-law (William Paul) are 
members of the same Session in which his wise counsels were 

so long given. 

UNITY. 

Francis Braddock, Sr., was a principal founder and supporter 
of this church. He settled in the neighborhood about the year 
1805. Served as elder from the church's organization until his 
death, a period of forty-two years ; he died March 25, 1856, aged 
seventy-seven years, and bequeathed to the church a valuable 
legacy, a portion of which was used in purchasing a house and 
lot. He often visited the sick and sorrow-stricken; his place in 
the house of God was seldom vacant ; and his last Sabbath on 
earth was spent in leading the prayer-meeting in the church. 
Three of his sons — Francis, Cyrus and Joseph — became minis- 
ters. The late Rev. W. P. Braddock, of Pittsburgh, was a 
grandson. 

Moses Dinsmore settled in the neighborhood in 18 12. He 
was one of the first bench of elders ordained August 27, 1 8 14. 
He died April 3, 1836, aged fifty-three years. Being dead he 
yet speaketh. One of the ways in which his influence has been 
wonderfully perpetuated is through his descendants. Six sons 
studied for the ministry. Their names are Robert S., Francis 
B., Thomas H., John, Moses and William. Most of these have 
entered into rest. 

Abraham Rickey was born August 26, 1804, in New Jersey, 
and removed with his parents to Green County, Pa., about the 
year 18 10. He served as elder for thirty-three years and was 
faithful and conscientious in the discharge of the duties of his 
office. He was ever ready to uphold the hands of his pastor in 
every good work. He died July 28, 1880. 



232 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

EAST BUFFALO. 

Joseph Donahey, Sr., came from County Tyrone, Ireland, fn 
1790, bringing with him a certificate of church membership of 
himself and wife Mary (Alexander) Donahey, signed by Robert 
Nelson, minister of Parish of Omagh. He had become a fol- 
lower of Christ in early life, and was made an elder of East 
Buffalo at its orgaization about the year 1818. He became the 
founder of an extensive family whose influence for good in the 
Presbyterian Church continues to the present day. 

Martin Ely was born in 1790, in Buffalo, then Donegal 
Township, Washington County, Pa., and died 1871, in his eighty- 
first year, on the farm where he was born. Mr. Ely was of 
German descent, and first worshiped in the Lutheran Church 
which stood where the East Buffalo Church now stands. He 
was married to Ann Jolly about the year 181 1. Their children 
were five sons and two daughters, all of tvhom are yet living. 
He was made an elder in East Buffalo Church, if not at its or- 
ganization in 1818, not a great while afterward. He lived a de- 
vout exemplary life. Elisha Ely of the present Session of East 
Buffalo is a son. Rev. J. C. Ely of Xenia, Ohio, Rev. R. W. 
Ely of La Moure, Dakota, Rev. Martin L. Donahey of Napoleon, 
Ohio, and Rev. Joseph A. Donahey of Waynesburg, Pa., are 
grandsons. 

Joseph Donahey, Jr., son of Joseph and Mary (Alexander) 
Donahey, was born October 18, 1792. He held the office of 
ruling elder first in the church of East Buffalo and subsequently 
in Claysville Church. He died suddenly in the town of Wash- 
ington, March 28, 1859, in the sixty-eighth year of his age. It 
was written of him at the time that, " He loved the house of 
God and rarely was his seat in the sanctuary vacant. To the 
poor, he was kind and charitable ; to the benevolent enterprises 
of the church his purse was always and liberally opened. To 
his home the ministers of Christ were always welcome, and 
often were his pastor's heart and home made glad by his private 
gifts. He trusted in the Lord Jesus Christ alone for salvation, 
and through a long life gave evidence that he walked with God." 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 233 

CLAYSVILLE. 

William McLain was born near Cannonsburg, Washington 
County. Pa., June 23, 1779. He settled in Claysville in 1830, 
and remained there until his death March 2, 1872, aged ninety- 
three years. Was ordained and installed an elder February 5, 
1832, and served in this office faithfully for over forty years. 
His life as a follower of Christ extending over sixty years was 
full of worthy helpful deeds, and he was permitted to see all his 
children, to whom his memory is a precious legacy, members of 
the church which he had loved and served so well. One son, 
Samuel A., entered the ministy in 1835. Two, John and Joseph 
R., are elders in the church of Claysville. A. K. Craig of the 
same Session is a son-in-law. A daughter, Martha, was married 
to Rev. Alex. McCarrell, D.D. Three of her sons, Joseph J., 
William A. and Thomas C, are Presbyter.ian ministers. An- 
other son, S.J. McCarrell, Esq., is an elder in the Market Square 
Church, Harrisburg, Pa. 

George McConahey was born in 1 801, was installed about 
1845, died January 19, 1866. Was a very useful elder, and for 
many years precentor in the church. 

Hugh Craig was born March 3, 1795. He united with the 
church February 4, 1832. He was ordained and installed an 
elder March 17, 1850. He served in several civil stations, — 
School Director, Justice of the Peace, County Commissioner, and 
Member of the Legislature of Pennsylvania. He was very faith- 
ful in his attendance on public ordinances, always in the prayer- 
meeting. He died November 18, 1854. A. K. Craig of the 
present Session, and Hugh K. Craig, Baptist minister, are sons. 

Joseph Donahey. Jr., was born in 1792. He was installed as 
a ruling elder in this church June 4, 1857. He died March 28, 
1859. He was a spiritual man and noted for his benevolence in 
everything connected with the interests of the church. (Vide 
East Buffalo.) 

Hugh McClelland was born December 13, 1789. He was a 
ruling elder in the United Presbyterian Church of South Buffalo, 
and also in the Second Presbyterian Church of Washington. He 
was installed in this church June 27, 1869, and died January 5, 1885. 



234 '^HE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Thomas S. Irwin was an elder in the Claysville Church for a 
quarter of a century. He was generally known as " Major " 
Irwin, having been from 1837 to 1845, ^ major in the State 
Militia. In his time he was a Brigade Inspector, Justice of the 
Peace, a local Census Taker, and for twelve years Post Master of 
Claysville. In religion, morals, politics, or any question with which 
he became identified, he was always a man of strong convictions. 

John Sawhill was intelligent, kindly and public-spirited. 
Though a quiet, humble man, he nevertheless exerted consider- 
able influence in the church and community. He has one son 
in the ministry, Rev. Eldon O. SaM^iill of Enon Valley, Pa. 

MOUNT PROSPECT. 

William Hughes (See Upper Buffalo). Of the first Bench - 
of Elders, consisting of Wm. Hughes, John Cowan, and Wm. 
Simpson, it is testified that they were men of strong minds, de- 
termined purpose and devoted piety. They carried upon their 
hearts the interests of the newly organized church, and impressed 
upon it their characters, which will likely remain as long as the 
church has an existence. 

Charles Campbell was born on what is known as the Mason' 
Campbell farm in Cross Creek Township, Washington County, 
Pa., October 31, 1786. He was married February 22, 18 10, to 
Esther Mason, and was ordained and installed an elder in 1828. 
He died a comparatively young man, having only spent about 
five years in office. He was a man of marked integrity, with 
good wisdom, and a good spirit. His name is connected with 
the history of the church and the Sabbath-school from the very 
beginning. He died June 4, 1832. 

Robert Lyle.— (See Cross Creek). 

Hugh McConaughey. — This name is one deservedly held in 
great respect by the people of this church and community. He 
was unobtrusive and modest to a marked degree, but an earnest, 
faithful, and fervent Christian man. There was no interest of the 
cause of Christ which he did not make his personal interest. He 
was wise in his counsels, faithful in his works, and sincere and 
honest in his friendships, a man to whose influence all were 
ready to yield. 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 235 

He was a native of Washington County, and married Isabel 
Walker (a sister of John Walker, Sen., who was well known in 
Washington County), then of Fulton County, Pa. He became 
an elder in 1828, and died in the fall of 1874, having filled the 
office of elder with great acceptance for forty-six years. 

James Hughes. — This is another honored name. He was a 
child of this church, and a son of one of its first elders. He was 
a very capable business man, and as such was widely known. 
He served a long time as Justice of the Peace, and in that capa- 
city he retained the confidence and esteem generally of those 
who had business with him. He was a man of peace, and his 
first and chief endeavor was to bring about a peaceable settle- 
ment of all differences which came before him ; and in his en- 
deavors he generally succeeded. He was a man of most excel- 
lent Christian spirit, and most exemplary in all his deportment. 
His own spiritual interests, and the interests of his Redeemer's 
kingdom were paramount with him, and so, as a man and a 
Christian, he was one of the most influential in his community. 
He was ordained an elder in 1844, and died in 1872. 

James Lee was another man of extended influence. He was 
perhaps more widely known than other elders in this church 
either before or since his day. 

He was a capable man, and quite influential, although not so 
eminent for his spirituality as some of his associates, yet he de- 
servedly bears the name of a very good man. He is remembered 
as a very liberal and a very useful man. He was born in Cross 
Creek Township, on the farm now occupied by Mr. W. Craig 
Lee, in 1794," was installed an elder in February, 185 1, and died 
June 12, 1867. 

James Rankin was a man of very decided character. He had 
strong convictions, and he tried to carry them out. His judg- 
ment was good, and his perseverance and energy remarkable. 
His whole life through he was a very active man, and one who 
won and retained, in a very good degree, the respect and confi- 
dence of his community. As a Christian he was very humble, 
but very sincere. The cause of Christ and His Church was 
very dear to him, and those who knew him best knew him as a 
warm-hearted Christian man. 



236 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

As an elder he was both influential and useful. As a friend 
he was faithful and devoted, and in every relation he was true. 
He was ordained an elder in March, 1859; married Martha Ste- 
venson. He removed to Burgettstown in 1883, and died in 
1887. 

Andrew Donaldson is another name well remembered in the 
church and community. His earlier church life was spent in 
other congregations. He came to this church a mature Chris- 
tian man, past the middle of his life. He was a very modest 
and unassuming man, retiring in his disposition, but firm and 
earnest, and sincere in his religious convictions. He was a man 
of good spirit and faithful as an elder. He has left a name 
worthy of the high esteem in which it is held. He was born 
July 10, 1802 ; married Ellen Wilson February i, 1840; ordained 
an elder January 25, 1867; died July 12, 1880. 

WHEELING FIRST. 

Andrew Woods was one of the first bench of elders. He 
came from Botetourt County, Va., and was a brother of Colonel 
Archie Woods, also of Wheeling. Andrew married the widow 
of Major McCulloch, who made the famous horseback leap at 
Wheeling Creek in escaping from Indian pursuers. Mr. Woods' 
eldest daughter, Jane, was married to Rev. Dr. James Hoge, of 
Columbus, O. Rev. Moses A. Hoge, D.D., of Zanesville, O., is 
a grandson. Rev. Dr. Hall, of Mobile, Ala., married a grand- 
daughter, two of whose sons are ministers of the Southern Pres- 
byterian Church. Rev. Henry Woods, D.D., of Washington, 
Pa , and Rev. Francis M. Woods, of Martinsburg, W. Va., are 
grandsons. 

Redick McKee, a son of John and Sarah (Redick) McKee, 
was born at McKeesport, Pa., December 7, 1800; was received 
into the First Presbyterian Church of Pittsburgh in 18 17, and 
the year following removed to Wheeling, where he resided for 
thirty years as a dealer in merchandise. He was active in the 
organization of the First Presbyterian Church, and was made an 
elder in 1826. Mr. McKee subsequently resided at San Fran- 
cisco, and Washington, D. C, filling various responsible posi- 
tions in both civil and ecclesiastical affairs. He died September 



DECEASED RUIyING ELDERS. 237 

13, 1886, in his eighty-sixth year. ( FzV/^ " Presbyterian Ency- 
clopedia," page 500). 

John Laughlin, was ordained and installed as an elder in this 
church April 11, 1832, and died in 1856. He is said to have 
been a plain man ; but a thorough Christian, ever exemplifying 
the principles of the gospel in his daily life. 

Zachariah Jacob was ordained and installed October 10, 1835. 

Jacob Senseney, January 7, 1843. 

John Robertson, February 20, 1850. 

J. Gamble Baker, Alexander Bone, and James Paull Jan- 
uary, 1857. 

In a sermon preached by Dr. Fisher in memory of Judge 
James Paull, he thus speaks of several of these brethren : " I 
remember him (Judge Paull) as the sixth of the ruling elders 
who have actively served this church during my pastorate, and 
who have now gone to join the General Assembly and Church 
of the first born. The first was John Robertson, who went to 
heaven soon after I came to this City. He was a good man. 
The next was that sweet-spirited, upright man, Jacob Senseney. 
The next was Zachariah Jacob, a man of sterner mould, but one 
who lived and labored for Christ and who died in the faith. The 
fourth was J. Gamble Baker ; he, too, was a man of God. In 
the other world he has a higher place. This world was not 
worthy of him. The fifth was Joseph A. Metcalf The term ot 
his official service was not long, but it was sufficient greatly to 
endear him to many for his kindness and peaceable disposition. 
And now James Paull is with these brethren; and Dr. Weed, and 
Mr. Wylie, ^nd that godly company who from this church have 
ascended to glory." 

Mr. Paull, whose remote ancestors were among the early set- 
tlers in Western Pennsylvania, was a son of George and Elizabeth 
Paull, and was born near St. Clairsville, Ohio, in 18 18. He 
graduated at Washington College, Pa., 1835, and having studied 
law, located in Wheeling, Va. At the time of his death he was 
Judge of the Supreme Court of West Virginia. He died at 
Wheeling, May 11, 1875, and was buried at the Stone Church, 
Forks of Wheeling. Mr. Paull was first married to Jane A., 
daughter of Judge Fry. His second wife was Eliza J., daughter 



238 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

of Samuel Ott. Two sons are elders — Alfred, in the First Church 
of Wheeling, and James, in the Church of Wellsburg. 

Alexander Bone was born on the Clyde, near Glasgow, Scot- 
land, and came to this country when he was a young man. He 
won the esteem and confidence of the business community and 
was one of the most accurate accountants in the City. He was 
a great Bible student and mighty in prayer. He will be long 
remembered by those who knew and loved him here. He died 
May 6, 1884. 

William Riheldaffer was a very modest and unassuming 
man , but had great spirituality and unction in prayer. He died 
June 8, 1883. 

WEST UNION. 

Alexander Gunn. Ordained September 23, 183 1 ; died May 
8, 1848, in his 80th year. 

David Stewart. Ordained September 23, 1831 ; died Feb- 
ruary 2, 1852. 

Thomas Steele, Sr., Ordained September 23, 1831; died 
October 2, 1838. 

John McCracken. Ordained July, 1839; died January 28, 
1882. 

David G. Fleming. Ordained September i, 1854; died July 
12, 1882. 

Thomas Steele, Jr., Ordained March 28, 1867; died March 
26, 1886. 

BETHLEHEM. 

John Potter was mainly instrumental in bringing about the 
organization of Bethlehem Church, and was its first elder. He 
was born December 15, 1803, in Allegheny county, Pa. At the 
age of twenty-one was ordained an elder in Mingo Church by 
its pastor, Rev. Dr. Ralston. Was married by the same to Eliza, 
daughter of James Hair, elder in the Church of Williamsport, 
and the father of Revs. Messrs. S. M. and Gilbert Hair. Mr. 
Potter settled in Beaver county, Pa., in 1830. It was a neigh- 
borhood where wickedness had greatly abounded, and the 
organization of the church was productive of the most blessed 
results. Mr. Potter was a very zealous Christian, and for some 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 239 

twenty-five years was in the employ of the American Tract 
Society, first as a colporteur and then as a general agent. 

For the last eight years of his life he was employed as a City 
missionary in Philadelphia, under the auspices of Rev. Dr. 
Breed's church. The memory of his devoted and useful life is 
preserved in a small volume written by Dr. Breed and published 
by the Presbyterian Board, the title of which is, " John Potter, 
the Model Christian Worker." 

He was taken to his rest August 28, 1878, very suddenly, at 
Darlington, Pa., in his 75th year, and was buried at Pine Creek, 
Pa. Four of his sons, James H., John N., Gilbert M. and Henry 
N. entered the ministry of the Pres'byterian Church. 

Jonathan Cross was one of the first bench of elders, ordained 
September 2, 1832. Became widely known as a colporteur of 
the American Tract Society. Subsequently entered the ministy. 
( Vide Presbyterial Record. ) 

William Rambo was one of the first bench of elders and for 
many years a pillar in the Bethlehem Church. Was a cheerful, 
happy Christian. 

He removed to Iowa, and died there December 13, 1871. Not 
long before this he wrote : " Now I go the way of all flesh, lean- 
ing on the arm of the Beloved. I think I love the Lord Jesus. 
I love the Church, and the worship of God. I love the saints 
of the Lord. I love to talk about the doctrines of redemption. 
I love to commune with Jesus in secret. I love to commune 
with him in his public ordinances. I love to tell sinners about 
Jesus and the love of the Father in sending His Son into this 
world to save sinners." 

FRANKFORT. 

Russel Moore was born in 1795, and was ordained and in- 
stalled an elder in this church February 5, 1838. He was natur- 
ally diffident and retiring, and yet he enjoyed the confidence of 
all who knew him. As an elder he was faithful in the discharg-e 
of every duty, always manifesting the deepest interest in the 
welfare of the Church. He loved the sanctuary; and his place 
in the house of God, until prevented t^ the infirmities of ad- 
vanced years, was seldom vacant. He was the father of Rev. J. 



240 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Paden Moore, of the Presbytery of Fort Wayne. He died July 
4, 1880, in the 85th year of his age. 

Samuel Moore was ordained and installed an elder in 1845, 
and died February 1876 — thus serving the Church in this office 
about thirty years. 

He was a man of most amiable and lovely spirit, an eminent 
and devoted Christian, and one in whom all had the most perfect 
confidence. He had great power in prayer, and his prayers were 
especially marked by earnestness and simplicity. He seemed to 
talk with God as a man talketh with his friend; and to plead 
with him as a child pleadeth with a parent. His end was peace. 

John Stevenson was ordained an elder in this church April 

]/, 1858, and died July i, 1878. His natural diffidence kept him 

from as great activity as many others ; but his constant effort 

was to do his duty. As a man he was upright and conscientious; 

as a Christian, earnest and sincere, and as an elder judicious and 

faithful. He died in the full hope of eternal life through Jesus 

Christ, 

WELLSBURG. 

William C. Kirker, M.D., was received in membership with 
this church by profession of his faith, February 5, 1868. 

He v/as elected and ordained a ruling elder about 1872, and 
died January 25, 1883. He was a man of deep piety, a con- 
sistent Christian, and a faithful officer of the Lord's house. He 
was possessed of large executive ability. Dr. Kirker was the 
only elder of this church who died while connected with this 

session. 

WAYNESBURG. 

Obadiah Vancleve was born in Franklin County, Pa., near 
McConnellsburg, January 30, 1798; came to Greene County 
about 1823. Was made an elder in Unity Church in 1837, and 
when the church of Waynesburg was organized, in 1842, he be- 
came an elder there, and continued to serve until his death, 
February 22, 1873. He was faithful in his office as elder, and 
by his exemplary character, as well as his Christian zeal, did 
much to promote Christ's kingdom in the community where he 
lived. 

Mr, Vancleve filled with acceptability the office of County 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 24 1 

Treasurer. Rev. W. S. Vancleve, pastor of the Presbyterian 
Church of Gettysburg, Pa., is his youngest son. 

COVE. 

Thomas Orr was an original member of session in this church, 
and was perhaps better known than any elder in the Presbytery 
at the time he lived. He was prominent in all matters pertaining 
to the interest of the church, both in temporal and spiritual 
affairs. As Justice of the Peace and Presiding Justice of the 
Court, as they were then constituted in Virginia, he occupied a 
prominent and influential position. It may be said to his honor 
that on the question of licensing the sale of intoxicating liquors, 
his opinions were far in advance of public sentiment at that time. 
He was firm and decided in his opposition to it, and lived to see 
his position sustained by all the members of the court. He was 
an only son of John Orr, elder at Three Springs. Was born 
March 8, 1789, and died April 2, 1852. 

James Campbell, the other original elder, was naturally diffi- 
dent, but always faithful to his vows, both as a professed Christian 
and as an officer in the church. Died May 24, 1882. 

George G. and Samuel N. Orr were brothers, and sons of 
Thomas Orr. The date of their election cannot be definitely 
ascertained, in consequence of the loss of the records of the 
church ; perhaps it was about 1858. They both died in the same 
year. George died June 27 and Samuel February 5, 1882. They 
exercised their office about twenty-four years. Thomas E. Orr, 
eldest son of Samuel N., is a ruling elder in the Park Avenue 
Church, Pittsburgh, Pa. 

John C. Crawford was elected an elder in 1858, and died 
November 21, 1885. He was a most influential and useful man, 
both in the church and his community, one whom all respected 
and loved, and died universally lamented. His son, William 
A., succeeds him as a member of the same session, having been 
elected elder August 21, 1886. 

WHEELING, SECOND. 

Samuel Ott was born at Woodstock, Va., September 4, 1799, 
where he united with the Presbyterian Church while a young 
16 



242 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

man. He came to Wheeling in 1837, and became a member of 
the First Church, the only Presbyterian organization at that time 
in the city; and was there ordained as an elder, May 22, 1842. 
On February 18, 1848, he assisted in the organization of the 
Second Church, as one of its founders. On the same day he was 
elected and installed an elder in the newly-organized church. 
The Second Church is very largely indebted to his Christian 
character, his prudence and generosity, for her early support and 
prosperity. He was dismissed by letter on June 11, 1854, to 
unite with the Third Presbyterian Church, that he might be to 
it, in its establishment and early history, what he had been to the 
Second Church. He died at Wheeling, August 2, 1868. A man 
faithful to his convictions of right ; righteous in his life, pious 
toward God, and devoted to his church. No layman by 
character, or purse, or Christian activity, has ever done more 
to extend and sustain the Presbyterian cause in the city of 
Wheeling. 

William B. Quarrier was born at Richmond, Va., in 1800, 
and united with the Presbyterian Church in Norfolk, Va. He 
removed to Wheeling in 1835, and connected himself with the 
First Church ; was elected an elder in this church and ordained 
January 7, 1843. In the organization of the Second Church of 
Wheeling, he was a conspicuous and efficient agent. Was one 
of the fifteen original members, and was elected and installed an 
elder in its organization, February 18, 1848. He died April 2, 
1862; and his memory is still precious in Wheeling, for he was 
a sincere Christian and a faithful officer of the church ; true to 
all interests committed to his trust ; a kind, genial gentleman, 
and had hosts of friends. 

Robert Crangle was born in county Down, Ireland, June 4, 
1 8 16, and united in his youth with the Presbyterian Church at 
Porta-Ferry. He came to America in 1834, and settled in Pitts- 
burgh ; his residence in Wheeling dates from 1836. He 
joined the First Church here by letter, and remained in connec- 
tion with it for several years, when he was received by cer- 
tificate into membership in the Second Church ; and was 
ordained an elder February 25, 1849. He was soon appointed 
Superintendent of the Sabbath-school, and held this office for 



DECEASED RULING EI.DERS. 243 

thirty-three years. During almost the whole time of his con- 
nection with this church, he was a leading member of the Board 
of Trustees. He was always prominent in the affairs of the con- 
gregation, taking a great interest in its welfare ; contributing 
liberally to its support, and identifying himself with all its inter- 
ests ; he was attentive to his duties in every official position 
which he occupied in the church, and as a worshiper he was 
always in his place. He died at his home in Wheeling Feb- 
ruary 22, 1888. 

William M. Berryhill was ordained an elder October 5, 
185 1. After rendering valuable services as the leader of the 
singing in the Sabbath-school and prayer-meeting for twenty 
years, he was dismissed to Martinsburgh, Ohio, where he died 
June 10, 1872. 

Alexander Hadden was ordained an elder October 5, 185 1. 
He was born in Tyrone County, Ireland; July 12, 1801 ; and 
came to America in 1825, his first residence in this country 
being in Philadelphia, Pa. Came to Wheeling in 1832, and 
united with the Associate-Reformed Presbyterian Church in 
1 84 1. Became by letter a member of the Second Presbyterian 
Church October 31, 1849. Dismissed to join the Presbyterian 
Church at Parkersburgh, Va., March 30, 1856 ; he died in Par- 
kersburgh. He was a useful man of business, with an unsullied 
reputation for integrity. 

James Dalzell was born in Rochester, N. Y., May 22, 1822. 
Was a son of Robert M. Dalzell, for many years an elder in the 
First Church of that city. He came to Wheeling when twenty- 
one years of age, and resided here until his death. Became a 
member of the Second Presbyterian Church by profession of his 
faith in Christ, January 17, 1849, ^^^ was ordained an elder 
June I, 1856. He died at Wheeling August 15, 1882. He was 
a man of sterling character, honest and fearless in expressing his 
opinions ; orthodox, but not bigoted ; an intense hater of shams 
and pretense of all sorts. In his active life he always showed 
himself worthy of the trusts reposed in him. 

A. S. Todd, M.D., was born April 10, 1798. He came to 
Wheeling in 18 19. He was ordained an elder in the Second 
Church November 24, 1872. He was dismissed March 22, 1882. 



244 '^H^ PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

He studied medicine at Transylvania University, Lexington, 
Ky. Practiced medicine in partnership with his brother Dr. 
Martin L. Todd, who soon resigned the entire practice to him. 
He continued in the active and successful practice of his profes- 
sion so long as his strength permitted. He died May i, 1883. 
He was highly respected as a citizen, and widely and favorably 
known as a physician. One of his sons, Martin Luther, now 
deceased, entered the ministry of the Presbyterian Church. 

WHEELING THIRD. 

Andrew Hill was born in Roxboroshire, Scotland, May 6, 
1805. He came to this country, settled in Wheeling, connected 
himself with this church, and was elected a ruling elder in July 
1850. He served in this office with great acceptance until his 
death April 3, 1864. 

Samuel Ott was installed a ruling elder in this church Janu- 
ary 14, 1854, and served in this capacity the remainder of his 
life. He died August 2, 1868. {Vide Wheeling Second.) 

BURGETTSTOWN. 

Robert Patterson was a son of Josiah Patterson who emigra- 
ted in 1 806, from Path Valley, Cumberland County, and settled 
near Burgettstown, Washington County, Pa. Robert, who suc- 
ceeded to the paternal estate, was ordained an elder in Cross 
Roads Church in August, 1831. He was mainly instrumental 
in founding the church at Burgettstown, and was one of its first 
elders and its strong support until his death January 1861, aged 
seventy-six years. 

He was a practical surveyor, and acting Justice of the Peace 
from 1 8 18 to 1834. Was of exemplary character, and lived 
an eminently useful life. His liberality in contributing to church 
objects was proverbial, and at his death he bequeathed to each 
of the Church Boards two hundred dollars, and a like sum each, 
to the Bible, Tract and Colonization Societies. A son, James 
L. Patterson, who was graduated from Washington College in 
1842, is an elder in the Burgettstown Church. A daughter, 
Mary, became the wife of Rev. J. T. Fredericks. 

Thomas Thompson was one of the first bench of elders. He 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 245 

had been previously ordained an elder at Cross Roads in 1820. 
He was installed March 29, 1850, and served until his death 
June 23, 1850. He was a very devout man, much given to 
secret prayer and noted for his fluency in public prayer. 

William Cunningham was received from Cross Creek Church, 
where he had confessed Christ in his sixteenth year, and at 
thirty-three (33) years of age was made Sabbath-school Superin- 
tendent. He was active in preparing the way for the organization 
at Burgettstown, and was ordained an elder there March, 
1850, and excepting five years of absence from the congre- 
gation, continued to serve until his death in 1878, aged sev- 
enty-eight. Mr. Cunningham was a zealous worker in the 
church and Sabbath-school, finding his chief joy in the house of 
God, faithful in visiting the sick, and much gifted in prayer. 

In his earlier years it was his habit to regularly attend the 
mid-week prayer-meeting, though it oftentimes required him to 
lay aside pressing secular engagements and travel three miles at 
the close of a hard day's labor. The memory of his exemplary 
zeal still abides in the congregstion. 

John Moore was ordained and installed an elder March, 1850. 
His service was interrupted by some periods of absence, but 
he was in office when he died June 21, 1872, aged sixty-nine. 
He was a quiet, unassuming Christian gentleman, always found in 
the line of duty, exerting a wholesome influence upon those 
with whom he was associated. 

Hon. John Farrar was the oldest son of Samuel and Jane 
(Simonton) Farrar, and was born in Mt. Pleasant Township, 
Washington County, Pa., January 7, 18 18, and died at his resi- 
dence near Burgettstown, January 6, 1875. When twenty-three 
years of age he confessed Christ in the church at Raccoon, where 
he subsequently served as Sabbath-school Superintendent. Re- 
moving in 1853, to Rock Island County, III., he resumed Sab- 
bath-school work, and aided in establishing a church at Beulah 
of which he was ordained an elder. 

After returning to Pennsylvania in 1857, he served as elder in 
the church of Burgettstown, and then in Raccoon Church until 
his death. In 1866 was elected an Associate Judge of Wash- 
ington County, in which position his influence was uniformly ex- 



246 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ercised against the licensing of drinking saloons or bar-rooms. 
In 1874 he was elected to the State Legislature, but did not live 
to take his seat. In all his adult Christian life of more than the 
third of a century he was universally esteemed as a gentleman 
of rare excellence, and a faithful and zealous worker in the 
Lord's vineyard. Mr. Farrar was married in 1840, to Miss 
Phebe White. Several children survive, filling places of trust 
and usefulness. ( Vide " History of Washington County," page 
929.) 

John L. Proudfit was a son of John Proudfit, one of the 
early elders at Cross Roads. He was born in Smith Township, 
Washington County, Pa., September 3, 18 12, and died Septem- 
ber 22, 1882, aged seventy. He possessed in a high degree en- 
ergetic and industrious habits and large business capacity, and 
combined with these unbending integrity, and a Christian con- 
sistency that commanded the respect of his fellow-men. He was 
commissioned Justice of the Peace in 1855. He was a member 
for over thirty years of the Burgettstown Church, during 
eighteen of which he served as an elder, to which office he had 
been ordained in 1864. A short time before his death he con- 
nected himself with the United Presbyterian Church of Burgetts- 
town, in which communion he died. 

Mr. Proudfit was twice married, June 9, 1840, to Miss Eleanor 
Campbell, and December 24, 1867, to Mrs. Nancy Byers, nee 
Duncan. Some of his descendants by his former marriage are 
residents of various places in Western Pennsylvania. [Vide 
" History of Washington County," page 930.) 

NEW CUMBERLAND. 

John Wylie was born in 1805, and died October 15, 1873. 
He spent his whole life on a part of the original tract of land 
owned by his father in what is now Hancock County, West Va. 
His parents emigrated from Scotland, and their children were 
well instructed in the doctrines and order of the Presbyterian 
Church. He united with the church of " Three Springs," (of 
which his father, John Wylie, Sr., was one of the first elders), 
under the ministry of Rev. Elisha McCurdy, and for a number 
of years held the office of elder in that church. He was one of 



DECEASED RULING ELDERS. 347 

the original members of the church of New Cumberland, and 
was one of its first elders, being elected to that office at the time 
of its organization in May, 185 1. He was a good man, firm and 
decided in his opinion, a wise counsellor, and always manifested 
a deep interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of the 
Church. 

William L. Bingham was born in Fayette County, Pa., and 
lived for many years in Fairview, West Virginia, and was con- 
nected with that church. In 1853 he removed to New Cumber- 
land, and united with the church there. In 1866 he was elected 
to the eldership, and held that office until his death in 1873. 
He was naturally diffident, and this want of confidence in him- 
self hindered his activity and usefulness in the church. But he 
was a sincere Christian, faithful in duty, a wise counsellor, a good 
citizen, and died lamented of all. 

Mrs. Maria Irvine (Bingham) Campbell, who with her hus- 
band, Rev. David Elliott Campbell and their two children, Willie 
and Fannie, suffered martyrdom at Cawnpore, India, June 13, 
1857, in the Sepoy rebellion, was a niece of Wm. L. Bingham, 
and for a number of years made her home with her uncle at 
Fairview. While residing here she made profession of her faith 
in Christ, uniting with the church of Fairview. 

Alexander H. Edie was born October i, 1841, and died 
September 9, 1885. He united with the church on profession 
of his faith, in 1858, and was elected to the eldership in 1866, 
which office he held until his death. He was the youngest 
member of this session, but was always faithful in the discharge 
of all his official duties. 

HOOKSTOWN. 

David Kerr was born in Beaver County, Pa., in 1811. His 
parents were members of the Presbyterian Church, and by them 
he was dedicated to God in baptism, and faithfully instructed in 
the doctrines and polity of that church. 

In 1834 he was united in marriage with Miss Mary Swaney, 
and the same year, in connection with his wife, he made a pub- 
lic profession of his faith in Christ, and united with the church 
o{ Mill Creek, under the ministry of Rev. Geo. M. Scott. He 



248 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

remained in connection with this church until 1853, when he 
transferred his membership to the church of Hookstown, which 
had just been organized. Here he was immediately elected to 
the office of ruling elder, which office he held until his death. 
He was also a teacher in the Sabbath-school for thirty-three 
years, and its superintendent for twenty years. He was always 
deeply interested in everything connected with the welfare of 
the church, and his influence on the side of truth and righteous- 
ness was always felt in the community where he lived. He was 
naturally timid and fearful of himself, and yet he was always 
willing to bear any burden, or discharge any duty to which he 
might be called. Of him it might be said in truth : " Behold 
an Israelite indeed, in whom is no guile." 

He was permitted to see all his children, as the result of his 
instructions and prayers brought into the church. One of 
them, Mrs. Rachel J. Johnson, wife of Rev. W. F. Johnson, D.D., 
now president of Biddle University, was for many years a mis- 
sionary in India ; and another, Frank D. Kerr, M.D., is an elder 
in the church of Hookstown. Mr. Kerr died November 25, 
1887, in the seventy-sixth year of his age. 



VII. 
SKETCHES OF' CHURCHES. 

Prefatory Note. — It is due to the writers of the following papers to state that 
the plan of the volume, as fixed by Presbytery, admitted of but brief historical 
sketches of the several churches, — and these largely statistical. This accounts for 
the omission of biographical facts relating to pastors and elders which, under the 
plan adopted, find their place elsewhere in the volume. — Com. of Pub. 

PIGEON CREEK.* 

The church of Pigeon Creek whose house of worship is in 
Somerset Township, Washington County, Pa., ten miles east ot 
the town of Washington, constituted part of the first pastoral 
charge estabHshed west of the Allegheny Mountains. Rev. John 
McMillan preached the first sermon within its bounds, on Tues- 
day after the 4th Sabbath of August, 1775. The year following 
he accepted a call to become pastor of the united congregations 
of Pigeon Creek and Chartiers, but was prevented from perma- 
nent settlement until 1778. Meanwhile " he visited the churches 
as frequently as he could, and ordained elders," which fixes the 
date of organization previous to 1778, — most probably 1776. 
In 1793 Mr. McMillan resigned the charge of Pigeon Creek, 
thenceforth giving all his time to Chartiers. 

Pastors. — The full list of pastors is as follows : 

Dr. John McMillan, pastor from 1776 to 1793. 

Rev. Boyd Mercer, pastor from 1795 to 1799. 

Rev. Andrew Gwinn, pastor from 1800 to 18 17. 

Dr. Andrew Wylie, stated supply from 1822 to 1829. 

Dr. William P. Alrich, stated supply from 1829 to 1830. 

Dr. William C. Anderson, pastor from 1832 to 1836. 

Rev. Ebenezer S. Graham, pastor from 1837 to 1842. 

Dr. James Sloan, pastor from 1844 to 1862. 

* By Prof. J. C. Messenger. 

249 



250 THE PRESBYTERY OV WASHINGTON. 

Rev. Samuel Henderson, pastor from 1863 to 1867. 
Rev. John S. Marquis, pastor from 1868 to 1884. 
Rev. H. O. Gilson, present pastor, installed June 7, i 

Ruling Elders. — The first bench of elders was elected and 
ordained in 1776, and consisted of the following persons: Hugh 
Cotton, Hugh Scott, John Stevenson, Sr., Patrick McCullough, 
and Patrick Scott. The last two are buried in the cemetery of 
this church. During the pastorate of Rev. Gwinn the following 
persons were elected and ordained ruling elders : James Smith, 
John Hosack, James Kerr, Joseph Vaughn, John Stevenson, Jr., 
William Ferguson, Aaron Kerr, Robert Moore and John Atkin- 
son. Date of election and ordination unknown. 

During Dr. Anderson's pastorate John Vance, Samuel Gamble, 
Samuel Ritchey, Dr. Boyd Emery, William Kerr and David 
Riddle were chosen and ordained elders. This addition was 
made July 17, 1836. During the period of Dr. Sloan's labors 
there were additions at three different times : ist. Andrew Smith, 
James Vance, John Leyda, John Scott and Greer Mcllvaine, 
elected February 13, 1849; ordained April 8, 1849. 2d. William 
Ramsey, William Smith and Edward Paden, elected March 3, 
1856; ordained April 14, 1856. 3d. Alexander Hamilton, 
Zachariah Pees, James Rankin and John C. Messenger, elected 
March 5, i860; ordained April 8, i860. During the pastorate 
of Rev. John S. Marquis, Andrew Wylie Smith, Robert Camp- 
bell Mcllvaine, James Jones and H. Fulton Power were 
elected September 3, 1883 ; ordained November 11, 1883. The 
present session are Greer Mcllvaine, Alexander Hamilton, H. 
Fulton Power, Edward Paden, Andrew Wylie Smith, James 
Jones, Robert Campbell Mcllvaine, John C. Messenger. 

Deacons. — William Barkley, William Davis, Isaac V. Riddle, 
and James Jones were chosen deacons, and were ordained March 
7, 1864, Barkley is dead, Davis united to First Presbyterian 
Church of Washington, Riddle and Jones are the present Board. 
It is believed that these persons constituted the first Board of 
Deacons in this church, although clearly a scriptural office. 

Houses of Worship. — The first church building was erected 
near the centre of the present graveyard. The date of erection 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 25 1 

is not certainly known, probably about 1778. The first winter 
it was used for worship it was neither chunked nor daubed, and 
was without fire. It was built of round logs ; roof and door 
clapboard. The lady-worshipers came from homes where the 
luxury of a "dish of coffee'' was only enjoyed on Sabbath 
morning. The Sabbath dress of both sexes was the plain " home- 
spun.'' They came to church to hear the Gospel. 

The second building was of stone. Preparations were com- 
menced in 1797, and the house was finished in 1800. The 
structure was plain and unimposing ; aisles earthen. The pew- 
holders made their own seats, and these seats were as varied as 
the fancy of the makers. This building stood at the southeast 
corner of the present cemetery. During the summer, when the 
weather was favorable, the preaching services were conducted in 
a grove, a few rods southwest of the church building. 

The present church edifice was built in .1829. It is seventy 
by fifty-six feet. The cost, including plastering, painting, pews, 
etc., was ^2714. It is worthy of note that the cost was promptly 
met, and no debt, with its depressing influences, was left hanging 
over the congregation for years afterwards. Persons subscribed 
what they intended to pay and paid it. The building has been 
repaired four times: ist, 1854, cost ^280; 2d. 1858, cost ;^298 ; 
3d, 1875, cost ^363; 4th, cost ;^I495. The last repairing was 
quite an advancement upon the former ones. The windows 
were enlarged, the walls and ceiling frescoed, and a modernized 
pulpit took the place of the curtained sheep-rack, and subse- 
quently the mantel-piece, as they were sometimes termed. 

In 1 87 1 the congregation erected a parsonage and other 
necessary outbuildings, at a cost of ^4000. Three and one-half 
acres of pasture-land are attached to the parsonage. This is used 
by the minister exclusively and free of rent. 

In 1832 a sexton-house was built and a well dug, costing in 
the aggregate ;^I30. In 1882 another house of like character 
was erected, costing ;^590. An acre of land, for the use of the 
occupant, is around and near this building. 

The Cemetery is among the oldest, if not the very oldest, in 
this section. The first burials were about 1777, and it was used 
for this purpose, many years afterwards, by the citizens of an 



252 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

extensive territory around it, as well as the families of other 
Christian denominations. Besides the ones appropriately desig- 
nated, there are nearly four hundred unmarked and unknown 
graves in it. 

The first meeting of the Presbytery of Redstone, west of the 
Allegheny mountains, was held within the bounds of Pigeon 
Creek, September 19, 1781. Members present: Rev. John 
McMillan, Moderator ; Ministers, James Power, Thaddeus Todd ; 
Elders, John Neil, Demas Lindley, Patrick Scott. 

Spiritual History. — The first revival commenced near the 
close of the year 1781, and continued with little interruption till 
the close of 1787. The second, during the pastorate of Rev. 
Mr. Gwinn. known as the " Falling work," commenced at the 
beginning of 1800, and continued till the close of 1802. During 
almost the entire ministry of the Rev. William C. Anderson, the 
church was in a revived state, and in five years and six months, 
the term of his pastorate, two hundred and thirty-two persons 
cast in their lot with God's people. 

Whilst during the ministerial labors of Rev. E. S. Graham, 
there was no marked manifestation of the work of grace in the 
church, yet there was a regular growth in additions to its mem- 
bership. At the beginning of the year 1857, Dr. Sloan pastor, 
the Spirit's converting power was specially displayed, and at 
the following March communion seventy-eight publicly re- 
nounced the world and came out on the Lord's side. The 
whole number added to the church that year was one hundred 
and two. His pastoral work, covering a period of eighteen 
years, was blessed by the addition of three hundred and six to 
the household of faith. About the ist of November, 1867, the 
church being vacant, a precious season of grace was experi- 
enced, and on the following December communion, sixty-eight 
made an open profession of religion. The work began in a 
prayer-meeting, few in number, and in a private dwelling. It 
was transferred to the church building, and in a few evenings a 
crowded house, impressive solemnity, and an earnest congrega- 
tion, proved unquestionably that the Holy Ghost was present by 
an influence that brightened every Christian joy and melted the 
hardest heart. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 353 

During this revival ministers of neighboring churches were 
frequently present to preach and exhort. In this connection 
Rev. J. P. Irwin, then a young licentiate, now of the Presby- 
tery of Erie, was made chiefly instrumental in doing a good 
work for his Master. At the first of the year 1877, the hearts 
of God's people were made to rejoice by the special presence of 
the Divine Spirit, and at the next communion eighty-one per- 
sons publicly professed their faith in Christ. The last season 
of spiritual refreshing, and regenerating work, occurred at the 
beginning of the year 1886, and was chiefly noticeable during 
the month of March. As a result, forty persons took their 
stand for the Saviour and his cause. It is worthy of note that 
a large majority of the additions, especially at the last revivals, 
came from the Sabbath-school, and the interest, in a measure, 
began during the week of prayer. 

Sabbath-School. — In the year 18 14 a class of young men 
convened in the church on Sabbath morning, for the purpose of 
studying the Scriptures, catechism and holding religious confer- 
ence. Some of the members of session or older members of 
the church were always present as instructors. The class num- 
bered ten, and Thomas Vaughn, James Vaughn, Andrew Pees, 
Zachariah Pees, were in that number. The first Sabbath-school 
proper was organized the 17th of May, 1822. The first super- 
intendent was Aaron Kerr; David Hart, Sr., teacher of male 
Bible class ; Sarah Smith, teacher of female Bible class. The 
other teachers were Joseph Kerr, John Stevenson, Robert 
Moore, Ralph Atkinson, James Mercer, Robert Mercer, Andrew 
Smith, James Smith (afterward Rev.), Aaron Gamble, Flora 
Ferguson, Elizabeth Stevenson, Elizabeth Vaneman, Sarah Fer- 
guson, Sarah Dawson, Margaret Stevenson, Phoebe Kerr, Ruth 
Gamble. In 1824 a class of colored ladies and gentlemen was 
organized, Joseph Kerr teacher. He is the father of Rev. B. 
M. Kerr, now pastor of the Presbyterian Church in Browns- 
ville. The superintendents that followed in the different con- 
secutive periods were James Smith, Robert Moore, Dr. Boyd 
Emery, assistant, Samuel Hamilton, David Riddle, John C. 
Messenger, James Jones, assistant, Alvy Leyda. 

The school is kept open the entire year. A large adult Bi- 



254 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ble class is a prominent feature. The total membership of the 
school is two hundred and twenty-two. The church member- 
ship is two hundred and seventy-five. The average congrega- 
tion on Sabbath is two hundred and seventy-five. 

During the pastorate of Dr. Sloan the church of Fairview, 
Munntown, was organized, and a few years afterward the church 
of Mount Pleasant, South Strabane Township. Both these 
churches were composed largely of families connected with 
Pigeon Creek, thus considerably reducing her membership and 
territory. There are two working mission bands, one composed 
of the young, the other of the older ladies of the congregation. 

Ministers. — The names of some of the sons of this church 
who have entered the ministry are as follows : Deceased — 
James Stevenson, John Hattery, James Smith, George Vane- 
man, Thos. R. Wilson, Wm. Kerr. Now living — M. Parkinson, 
John G. Riheldaffer, Boyd M. Kerr, Wm, Paden, Ross Paden, 
James Leyda, Craig Vaneman, William A. Jones. 

Missionaries. — Two daughters of the church are on the mis- 
sion field, Mrs. J. C. Mechlin, of Persia, formerly Miss Ella F. 
Mcllvaine, and Miss Catharine Fingal, of Alaska. 

Contributions to all benevolent objects ^225.20; congrega- 
tional, including minister's salary, ^1500. 

Centennial. — On the 24th of August, 1875, the congrega- 
tion held a centennial commemoration of the preaching of the 
first sermon within its bounds by Dr. McMillan. The as- 
semblage was immense. Children, grandchildren and great- 
grandchildren of the first worshipers came long distances to 
the spot, around which clustered so many hallowed associations 
and impressive reminiscences. 

Educational. — The first regular educational meeting in the 
interest of common schools ever held, it is believed, in our 
State, was in this church, Dr. Sloan pastor. Robert Milligan, 
professor in Washington College, addressed the meeting. Re- 
sults — county conventions, superintendents and institutes. 

UPPER TEN-MILE.* 
This church, having its house of worship at Prosperity, in 
Morris township, Washington county. Pa., was at the first a 
* By Rev. Geo. McDonald. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 



255 



constituent part of the Ten-Mile Church, organized August 15, 
1 78 1, and for a considerable period existing as one organization, 
having two houses of worship. In the spring of 18 17 the two 
branches became two distinct bodies. 

The founder of Ten-Mile Church was the Rev. Thaddeus 
Dodd, who had first visited the field in 1777, and had settled in 
it with his family in 1779, some two years before the organi- 
zation. 

The most authentic list of members at its organization is as 
follows : 

Thaddeus Dodd (V.D.M.) and Phebe, his wife; Demas Lind- 
ley and Joanna, his wife ; William Hays and Anna, his wife ; 
Jabez Baldwin, William Leonard and Mary, his wife ; David 
Dille and Elizabeth, his wife ; Jacob Cook and Phebe, his wife ; 
Daniel Axtell and Ruth, his wife ; John Eady and Mary, his 
daughter; Joseph Coe and Abigail, his wife; Daniel Dodd and 
Charity, his wife; Abner Brown, James Milliken and Sarah Mc- 
Farland, wife of Daniel. 

Previous to its separation into two parts, Ten-Mile Church 
had three pastors. — The Rev. Thaddeus Dodd, 1779-93; Rev. 
Thomas Moore, 1794-1803; Rev. Cephas Dodd, 1805-17. 

During this period, its elders, with the dates of their installa- 
tion, are as follows : 1781 — Demas Lindley, Jacob Cook, Joseph 
Coe, and Daniel Axtell ; 1784 — William McFarland and Stephen 
Cook; 1795 — Stephen Sanders, Joseph Lindley, John Car- 
michael, John Smiley, William Logan, and Abel McFarland ; 
1805 — Israel Dille, Jonas Condit, Ziba Casterline, John Headly, 
and Abijah Loveridge. 

Following the separation. Rev. Thomas Hoge was stated sup- 
ply 1817-19; Rev. Andrew Wylie, D.D., stated supply 1819-21; 
Rev. Boyd Mercer stated supply 1821-23; Rev. Ludovicus Rob- 
bins stated supply 1823-24. During the period from 1824-27 the 
church was vacant. The Rev. Cornelius Laughran was pastor 
1827-29. Rev. Jacob Lindley stated snpply 1830-32. Again 
followed a period of vacancy from 1832-38. The Rev. James 
Smith was pastor 1838-44. Various supplies from 1844-45. 
The Rev. Nicholas Murray, D.D., stated supply 1846-53 ; Rev. 
Cyrus Braddock stated supply 1853-54; Rev. E. C. Wines stated 



256 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

supply 1854-58; Rev. N. B. Lyons stated supply 1859-68; Rev. 
Henry Woods stated supply 1868-70; Rev. William Ewing 
stated supply 1870-71. Rev. Samuel M. Glenn pastor 1871-78 ; 
Rev. John H. Sherrard pastor 1878-82; Rev. George McDonald 
pastor 1883 — 

Under its separate existence the church has had the following 
elders : 

Daniel Tuttle, John Lindley, Aaron Kerr, Jacob Hathaway, 
James Reed, Reuben Sanders, and Zenas Condit. Of the above 
the time of their installation is not known. Installed 1831 — 
Lewis Dille, Sylvanus Cooper, Thomas Axtell, Samuel Day, 
John Wolf, and Jacob McVay. Of these, the five last mentioned 
withdrew to the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. James Reed 
died 1845. Thos. B. Ringland installed 1841 ; John Reed installed 
1852; dismissed 1856. John Wilson installed 1852; died 1872. 
Harvey Gamble installed 1852; dismissed 1855. S. L. Blachley 
installed 1857. Thomas Hanna installed 1857; dismissed 1887. 
Nathan Axtell installed 1857; dismissed 1865. Isaac N. Day 
installed 1857. John McFarland installed 1870; died 1878; 
Stephen Post installed 1875. John Black installed 1875; died 
1880; John Hazlett installed 1875; dismissed 1877. Phillip A". 
Minton and Albert O. Wilson installed 1882. 

Demas Lindley served in his office sixty-two years, and Lewis 
DiUe fifty-four years. All have proven themselves worthy ot 
their office, and have been efficient helpers of their pastors. The 
present session consists of Dr. S. L. Blachley, Isaac N. Day, 
Stephen Post, Phillip A. Minton and Albert O. Wilson. 

Deacons. — In 1838 the congregation resolved to introduce 
the order of deacons, and the following persons were elected : 
Milton Lindley, J. Miller Day, William V. Day, William San- 
ders and Matthias Minton. 

Mr. Lindley declined serving. William Sanders died 1875. 
William V. Day died 1883. The present board consists of J. 
Miller Day, Matthias Minton and D. L. McVay, elected 1875. 
Time and experience have proven the office to be highly bene- 
ficial to the congregation. 

Sabbath-school. — The Sabbath-school was organized as 
early as 1825 ; probably as early as 1823, during the ministerial 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 257 

services of Rev, L. Robbins. The following persons have, with 
great faithfulness and efficiency, served successively as superin- 
tendents : Aaron Kerr, Luther Day, Sr., Mr, Colburn, Thos, 
Hanna, Luther Day, Jr., Jackson Hazlett, Ira Dille, William San- 
ders, Matthias Minton, Bayard McVay, and Johnston Fleniken. 

Luther Day, Sr., served as superintendent for more than 
thirty years. Through its whole history the school has been a 
success, and has wielded a mighty influence for good. The in- 
gatherings of the Church have been largely from this precious 
nursery. 

It is in possession of a good library. The Westminster Helps 
are used, the Shorter Catechism is regularly taught, weekly col- 
lections are lifted, and much interest is taken in the music. 

Houses of Worship. — The first house of worship, a log 
structure on the site donated by Demas Lindley, near the village 
of Prosperity, was built about 1790. 

The second was a commodious frame building on the site of 
the firsthand built 1817, This house served the congregation 
about thirty-six years. In 1854 it was removed and a third one 
of more modern style was built on the same site. In January, 
i860, this beautiful house was burned. The spring following 
the congregation resolved to rebuild, and acting with commend- 
able zeal and a generous liberality, before the winter came they 
had a fine brick edifice completed on the site of the three former 
houses, and in which a happy people are still permitted to wor- 
ship the God of their fathers. 

Manse. — The question of a manse had been frequently con- 
sidered without success till 1871, when a committee consisting 
of Thomas Worrel, Thomas Hanna, and Hyman Andrew, was 
appointed to see what could be done. Through the zeal and 
perseverance of the chairman, Mr. Worrel, the committee met 
with a generous response from the people, encouraged by the 
very liberal offer of Dr. S. L. Blachley to give one-seventh of 
the entire cost. As a result, in the spring of 1872, a suitable 
house and grounds was in readiness for the occupancy of the 
pastor and his family. This was at a cost of ^^2900. 

Music. — This congregation has always taken a deep interest 
both in the matter and manner of its praise. From its organi- 
17 



258 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

zation it has been noted for the excellency of its music. The 
spirit infused by the first pastor, that much depended on the 
music, has been preserved ; and now in the fifth generation we 
are favored with sweet melody from voice and instrument to 
tune our hearts for blissful intercourse with God in the other 
parts of worship. God forbid that this department of worship 
should ever be neglected. 

Long may God's praises here be sung, 
And higher strains to him ascend ; 
From generations yet to come. 
Till work and worship here shall end. 

Ministers. — Among those who entered the ministry at an 
early date from this part of the old Ten-Mile Church, may be 
named Stephen Lindsley, Jacob Lindsley and Jacob Cozard. At 
a later date William Reed, Charles Cooper, Charles P. French, 
Alanson R. Day and Henry Minton. 

LOWER TEN-MILE. * 

This church having its house of worship at Amity, in Amwell 
Township, Washington County, Pa., was at first a constituent 
part of the Ten-Mile Church organized August 15, 1781, and 
for a considerable period existing as one organization having 
two houses of worship. In the spring of 1817, the two branches 
became two distinct bodies. ( Vide Upper Ten-Mile.) 

Under its separate existence, Lower Ten-Mile had the follow- 
ing pastors and stated supplies : The Rev. Cephas Dodd, who 
was pastor of the united charge of Upper and Lower Ten-Mile 
previous to the separation having been released as pastor con 
tinued as stated supply of Lower Ten-Mile from 1817-56. Rev. 
James W. McKennan, D.D., was associated with Mr. Dodd, as 
stated supply during 1851-54. Rev. Wm. P. Harvison was pas- 
tor during 1856-61 ; Rev. James Black, stated supply, 1861-64; 
Rev. Wm. B. Paris, stated supply, during the winter of 1863- 
•64; Rev. Wm. L Brugh, D.D., stated supply, 1864-65; Rev. 
Jesse W. Hamilton, stated supply, 1865-70; Rev. J. C. Hench, 
pastor, 1871-73 ; Rev. John S. Atkinson, pastor, 1874-81 ; Rev. 
Ross Stevenson, D.D., pastor, December, 1882-86 ; Rev. John 
S. Marquis, stated supply, 1886 — . 

* By Rev. A. B. Lowes. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 259 

Ruling Elders. — Under its separate existence the elders, 
with the dates of their installation, are as follows : 

William McFarland, installed 1787; died 1823. 

John Smiley, installed 1790; dismissed . 

Jonas Condit, installed 1805 ; died 1850. 
Samuel Anderson, installed 1824; dismissed 1832. 
Ephraim Cooper, installed 1826; withdrew to the Cumber- 
land Church. 

Nathan Axtell, installed 1826; died 1852. 

William Patterson, installed 1837; died 1856. 

James McFarland, installed 1837; died 1863. 

Luther Axtell, installed 1837; died 1868. 

John Buckingham, installed 1837; died 1882. 

James Braden, installed 1837; died 1871. 

Thomas McFarland, installed 1838; died 1871. 

John McFarland, installed 1857; dismissed 1870. 

Thomas J. Patterson, installed 1858; dismissed i860, 

Robert Boyd, installed 1858; dismissed 1868. 

Daniel Condit, installed 1858; died 1887. 

Dr. Thaddeus Dodd, installed 1868; died 1877. 

Elias McCollum, installed 1868; died 1887. 

Samuel Braden, installed 1872; dismissed 1877. 

Andrew P. Van Dyke, installed 1872. 

J. Newton Horn, installed 1872. 

David B Baker, installed 1882; dismissed 1887. 

Zachariah Sharp, installed 1882; dismissed 1887. 

Henry W. Horn, installed 1882. 

Jabez Condit, installed 1887. 

D. Edson McCollum, installed 1887. 

Houses of Worship. — The first house of worship was of hewn 
logs and was built on the premises of Mr. Cook in 1785. 

The second house was of brick on the farm of Jonas Condit, 
five miles northwest of Amity. This house was sold in 1871 for 
$213.70. 

In 183 1 the congregation built a brick house near the site of 
the first. It was 55x50 feet and cost about $1000. In 1842 
this house was blown down. A meeting of the congregation 



26o THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

was called, and arrangements were made for erecting their fourth 
house of worship in the village of Amity. This was a frame 
structure and cost about ^1300. 

The present house of worship was erected in 1875. It is a 
brick edifice, fifty-seven by forty-five feet, and cost five thousand 
three hundred dollars. 

Sabbath-School. — There is some uncertainty as to the exact 
time when the Sabbath-school was organized. It is believed, 
however, to have been in 1826. Very little is known of its 
early history. Special attention was given in the school to the 
memorizing of Scripture. " The International Course of Les- 
sons " was adopted in 1872. A few months later the secretary 
wrote : " The school seems to have new life." The next five 
years succeeding, the average daily attendance was nearly sev- 
enty-four. The number enrolled in 1879 was one hundred and 
thirty-four, embracing the young as well as the old, parents as 
well as children. For want of records a complete list of officers 
and teachers in the school from the beginning cannot be given. 

On February 18, 1875, a goodly number of the women of 
the church met, and organized the " Women's Foreign Mission- 
sionary Society of Lower Ten Mile." This society, at its first 
meeting, adopted a native Chinese woman as a Bible reader, in 
Canton, and their representative in the foreign field ; and 
pledged fifty dollars annually for her support. 

Thus far, though sometimes with considerable effort, the so- 
ciety has been able to keep its pledge. 

Entered the Ministry. — At an early date, before Upper and 
Lower Ten Mile became separate organizations, several sons of 
Ten Mile Church became ministers. Those who most prob- 
ably lived in the Lower Ten Mile settlement were William 
Wick, Cephas Dodd, Cyrus Riggs and Ira Condit. Thos. Hunt 
belonged to Ten Mile in early life, but was dismissed to Three 
Springs before he began to study for the ministry. 

CROSS CREEK.* 
Organization. — Prior to 1775 no religious interest is known 
to have existed in the region now known as Cross Creek. In 

" By Rev. J. P. Anderson, 




^'^''B VANCE' ' 




aiT'^^ 



"■".tIA.M !.**•■ 







''^^■n, Giti-^ 



'"'■"^■•£1. D. WH^'^*' 



■"ES DM>t«'^ 



Ruling Elders, Cross Creek, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 26l 

1775-77 meetings for social worship were held. Two societies 
were soon organized, one at Richard Well's Fort, in West Vir- 
ginia, about three and one-half miles from Eldersville, on the 
Eldersville and Steubenville road; the other at Vance's Fort, 
on the farm now owned by Mr. Allison Vance. The leading 
members of the former were John Morrison, Robert McCready, 
William McCandless and Samuel Strain ; of the latter. Major 
William Vance, John Campbell, John Stone, Robert Barr and 
William Wilson. 

As a result of these meetings considerable interest was awak- 
ened, and at Vance's Fort seven or eight persons were con- 
verted. The report of this work was carried back to the set- 
tlements, and Rev. James Power, to test its genuineness, visited 
this region and preached the first sermon ever heard in it, under 
an oak tree, just outside the gate of Vance's Fort, September 

14, 1778. 

After the sermon twenty-one children were baptized, the first 
in this region, and the first of which was William,* the eldest 
son of Mr. and Mrs. Thos. Marquis. 

In April, 1779, Rev. Joseph Smith, from York County, Pa., 
preached within the bounds of Cross Creek, and shortly after- 
ward Dr. John McMillan preached a few sermons. These ser- 
mons led the people to put forth an effort to obtain the stated 
ministrations of the gospel. 

Accordingly, in May, 1779, the church of Cross Creek was 
organized, and on the 21st of June they met with the people of 
Upper Buffalo at the house of James Marshall (now the resi- 
dence of Thos. McCorkle), midway between the two places, 
and made out a joint call for Rev. Joseph Smith. 

Judge Jas. Edgar prosecuted this call before the Presbytery 
of New Castle, in session at Carlisle, Pa., and Rev. Smith ac- 
cepted it October 27, 1779. 

The following were among its first members: Wm. Campbell, 
Wm. Patterson, Judge Jas. Edgar, Wm. Park, Hugh Newell, 

* Genealogy of Marquis' family — William was born December 22, 1776; JameS) 
March 17, 1779; Sarah (believed by many to be the child baptized), September 6, 
1780; Thomas, January 27, 1782; Susannah, November 20, 1783; Mary, Septem- 
ber 28, 17S6; Jane, May 9, 1788; and Anne, March 28, 1791. 



262 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

John Morrison, Robert McCready, Jas. Newell, Joseph Vance, 
Joseph Patterson, Thos. Marquis, Miles Wilson, Wm. Rannells, 
Henry Graham, Wm. McCandless, Wm. Vance, Saml. Johnston, 
John Marquis, Saml. Patterson, Geo. Marquis, Lettice Griffeth 
and Thos. Bay. 

The church was not chartered until 1825. 

Pastors — P.ev. Joseph Smith 1779 until his death, April 19, 
1792. 

In the fall of 1779 he accepted the call from Cross Creek 
and Upper Buffalo, and he and his family were brought on 
pack horses by John Smith, in December. 

Col. James Marshall offered two hundred acres of land (that 
now owned by J. M. K. and J. C. Reed), to any one who would 
move Rev. Smith to Buffalo, 

The offer was accepted by Col. Joseph Reed, of York County, 
and he sent his team and son-in-law, Joseph Reed, with Mr. 
Smith's effects. The Buffalo people met him at Washington, 
and cut a road to Buffalo. 

Rev. Thos. Marquis was pastor from April 23, 1794, to Octo- 
ber 3, 1826. Rev. John Stockton, D.D., from June, 1827, to 
June 20, 1877, and as pastor emeritus until his death. May 5, 
1882. After his retirement his last public act was to bury, in 
February, 1882, Mrs. Hannah Lee (the last member, who was a 
communing member, when he took charge). * 

The fourth pastor was the Rev. Wm. H. McCaughey, from 
October 31, 1877, to June 30, 1885. Unknown to himself he 
came to serve the church in which his great-grandfather, Hugh 
Edgar, had served as an elder. 

The fifth pastor is the Rev. J. P. Anderson, from April i, 
1 886-. 

Supplies. — Cross Creek never had a stated supply. From 
October 16, 1826, to June, 1827, Rev. Richard Campbell 
preached seven Sabbaths, for each of which he received ;^5, as 
receipts show. 

*.Dr. Stockton said that it was Mrs. Lee's tears that led him to accept the call to 
Cross Creek. When told that Rev. Stockton had decided to go to Congruity, she 
could not restrain her tears. When told of this Rev. Stockton said he would have 
one faithful woman to pray for him, if he came, and he accepted the call.. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 



263 



ELDERS, 
John Morrison, . . 
George Marquis, . 
Judge James Edgar 
*Thomas Marquis, 
*Joseph Patterson, 
Joseph Vance, . . 

Robert McCready, 
William Rea, . 
Henry Graham, 
Robert Lyle, . 
Hugh Newell, . 
Thomas Marshall 
John Colville, . 
John Wilkin, . 
Thomas Smith, 
John Marquis, , 
Hugh Edgar, , 
Samuel McKibben, 
John Henry, . 
James Fleming, 
George Newell, 
Hugh Lee, . . 
George Miller, 
Andrew Farrar, 
Joseph Smith, . 
Hon. Walter Crai 
William Cowen, 
Ebenezer Smith, 
John Amspoker, 
General James Lee, 
Abraham Barber, 
James Dinsmore, 
George Miller, Jr., 
John McKibben, 
Robert Lee, . . 
Thomas Wilkin, 
Joseph Graham, 
Joseph Vance, Jr 
Andrew Reed, 
Major William Lee 
•j-Russell T. Johnson 
Samuel Cowen, 
James Walker, 



(Th 



DATE OF ORDINATION. 

1779 or 1780. 
1779 or 1780. 
(York County.) 
1782 or 1783. 
1782 or 1783. 
1782 or 1783. 
three were appointed by the 

1792. 

1792. 

1792. 

1792. 

1792. 

1792. 

1792. 

1807. 

1807. 

1807. 

1807. 

1807. 

1818. 
' 1818. 

1818. 

1818. 

i8i8. 

1818. 

1818. 
February 27, 1831. 
February 27, 183 1. 
February 27, 1831. 
(Lower Buffalo.) 
June 16, 1843. 
June 16, 1843. 
June 16, 1843. 
June 16, 1843. 
June 16, 1843. 
June 16, 1843. 
June 16, 1843. 
June 23, 1854. 
June 23, 1854. 
June 23, 1854. 
March 18, 1858. 
March 18, 1858. 
March 18, 1858. 
April 19, 1866. 



DEATH OR DISMISSED. 

Dismissed. 
Dismissed. 
June 8, 1 814. 



May 6, 1832. 
Session.) 
August 10, 1846. 
September 28, 1835. 
January 31, 1827. 
November 25, 1843. 
September 13, 1810. 

Dismissed (1827). 

January 3, 1 81 8. 

February 28, 1821-22. 

Dismissed. 
September 27, 1836. 



March, 1840. 
April 24, 1837. 
December 4, 1839. 

Dis'd (Mt. Prospect). 
(Died) 1822, 
February 16, 1875. 
April 28, 1857. 

Dis. 1835 (Cross Roads). 

Dis. 1835 (Kittanning). 

Dis. (Mt. Prospect). 
October 20, 1858. 
April 3, 1870. 

Dis. 1849 (Pine Grove). 

Dis. 1857 (Hookstown). 
January 16, 1853. 
October 24, 1S53. 
March 9, 1855. 
March 26, 1866. 
July 30, 1868. 
August 17, 1888. 

Dis. 1869 (Kentucky). 
April 29, 1883. 



* Afterward Revs. Marquis and Patterson. 
I Present member. 



264 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 



ELDERS. DATE OF ORDINATION. DEATH OR DISMISSED. 

William M. Campbell, . . (At Prospect, and returned . . 
1869.) 

April 16, 1870. 

April 16, 1370. 

April 16, 1870. Dis. 1883 (P. Mills). 

April 16, 1870. June 16, 1873. 

March 14, 1880. 

March 14, 1880. Dismissed, 1883. 

September 14, 1883 

(1869, at Mount Prospect.) . . 



*Samuel D. White, 
*David Gault, . . , 
Richard Wells, , , 
James Donehoo, . . 
*James T. Marquis, 
John M. Boice, . , 
*Wallace W. Jackson, 
*Alexander E. Walker 



" The Life of McCurdy" says Robert Barr and Samuel Flem- 
ing were elders here, but no record shows it. 
•Houses of Worship and Parsonage. ^ In the summer of 
1779, Major William Vance, Robert McCready and Henry Gra- 
ham selected a site, on or near the present one, on which an un- 
hewed log house, twenty-six by twenty-two feet, was erected. 

The second, of hewed logs, sixty by thirty feet, was erected in 
1784; afterwards adding another -story and a gallery. This 
house was burned (by an incendiary), on the morning of April 
20, 1803 ; "And on the twenty-first of the same month the con- 
gregation met and opened a subscription for building a new 
house." This was of stone, fifty-six feet square, and was com- 
pleted by November 17, 1804, on which day they met, adopted 
rules and regulations, " and appointed Aaron Lyle, Thomas 
Smith, Samuel Fleming, William Wallace, John Wilkin, Hugh 
Edgar and William McKibben a Board of Trustees." 

Help was received from different quarters. From Philadel- 
phia, ;^320.77 ; from Virginia, ;^70 ; from Pittsburgh, ;^I3.70, and 
from different persons sufficient to make a total of ;^456.47. A 
subscription list of one hundred and thirty-two names amounts 
to ^2,303.89. 

It is also stated that the amount of linen " collected amongst 
the females for the purchasing of stoves, glass, paint, etc., was 
;^48 y. 4^/." Judge Edgar says eight or ten webs. 

In 1830 a brick house, seventy-six by fifty-six feet, with a gal- 
lery on three sides, was erected, costing from ^3,000 to $3,500. 

In 1864 the fifth house was erected. It is of brick, eighty-two 
by fifty-four feet, with a lecture, session and library rooms on 
the first floor, and cost over $12,000. 

* Present members. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 265 

The trees in the church-yard were set out in 1834, and cost 
thirty- one and a quarter cents each. 

In T878, a lot, containing two and one-half acres, was pur- 
chased, and a house erected thereon, at a total cost of 1^2,500; 
the first and only parsonage. 

Spiritual History. — The first revival was at Vance's Fort, in 
1775-77, when eight or ten were converted. In the winter 
of 1781-82, the Lord revived His work in the congregations 
of Upper Buffalo and Cross Creek, and in the autumn of 1782, 
when the sacrament was observed for the first time at Cross 
Creek, about fifty persons from each congregation were received 
into full membership. This work continued with but little 
abatement for six or seven years. The most gracious season 
was in June, 1787, when fifty persons united with Cross Creek. 

God again revived His work in 1799, and thirty persons 
united. Then followed a season of great religious depression. 

" In the summer of 1802 there began to be increased interest 
among the people, and some additions were made. This feeling 
increased until 'The Great Revival' was ushered in, October 5, 
1802. This work was attended by extraordinary bodily exer- 
cises." This revival continued through the years 1 803-04, and 
brought about one hundred members into the church. 

Again, in the winter of 1827-28, God revived His work. This 
work began in a sick chamber, that of Miss Susanna Curry, and 
spread through the village and entire congregation, and con- 
tinued for four or five years. " So powerful was it, that at one time 
one hundred and twenty persons were admitted into the church." 

Again, in 1835-37, God revived His people, and over one 
hundred and forty members were added. Another followed in 
1840-42, when about one hundred publicly professed faith in 
Christ. In 1853-54 God graciously visited this church, and 
about ninety united. Again, in 1857-59, "gentle showers 
of heavenly grace have distilled on this hill of Zion." 

From this time there was no special revival until the winter 
of 1886-87, when the people were awakened, and forty-seven 
were added to the roll. 

There has scarcely been a communion season but some have 
been added to the church. 



266 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Missionary Societies. — The Woman's Foreign Missionary 
Society was organized March 6, 1872, with a membership 
of fifty-seven. There has been a gradual decHne, and in 1887 
but twenty-eight members were reported. Quite a number 
of ladies contribute who are not enrolled. Since its organization 
;^237i.36 have been contributed. At present they pay ^100 an- 
nually for the support of Mrs. J. C. R. Ewing, of India. 

The "Annie Graham" Band, a home mission society, was 
organized April 16, 1879. Since that time they have paid $$0 
annually for the support of a girl in the Home at Fort Wrangel, 
Alaska. 

The Loring Band was organized June li, 1 882, by Miss Sophia 
Loring (now Mrs. Dr. Taylor, of Mount Jackson, Pa.). It has 
a membership of over sixty. They meet semi-annually, and 
bring their offerings. They have contributed over 1^328 (^30 
annually) to a scholarship at Yokohama, Japan, and the balance 
to Medical Missions. 

Entered the Ministry. — Deceased — Jos. Patterson, Thos. 
Marquis, Jas. Satterfield, John Hattery, George Marshall, D.D., 
Jas. Fleming, John Caruthers, Ebenezer S. Graham, Thomas F. 
Magill, D.D., David Robinson, James Boggs, Thomas Marshall 
Boggs, Obadiah J. Campbell, Alfred Paull, Thomas Marquis 
Newell, James E. Marquis, Alexander McCarrell, D.D., David 
S. McCombs, John M. Boggs, John Boggs, David F. McFarland, 
Robert McMillen, William Carr Mason. 

John Cloud, Samuel McClain and A. W. McCartney were 
raised in the bounds of this church, and we believe properly 
belong to it, but have no record to show it. 

Living. — John Marquis, Los Angeles, Cal. ; James D. Mason, 
Davenport, Iowa; Geo. Bently Newell, Farmer City, 111. ; John S. 
Marquis, Washington, Pa. ; John P. P. Stockton, West Unity, O.; 
Samuel G. McFarland, D.D., Bangkok, Siam ; E. R. Donehoo, 
Pittsburgh, Pa.; J. F. Magill, D.D., Fairfield, Iowa; Benjamin 
F. Powelson, Lyons, Kans. ; Elgy V. Campbell, St. Cloud, 
Minn. ; James B. Stevenson, Burgettstown, Pa. ; Silas Cooke, 
Dunlap, 111. ; Perrin Baker, Belle Vernon, Pa. ; James P. Lyle, 
Taylor, Texas ; James B. Lyle, Hookstown, Pa. 

Three, Thos. Marquis, Jr., Henry M. Graham and Robert 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 267 

Campbell, candidates, died before entering the seminary. Two 
others were licensed but returned their licenses. 

Ministers' Wives. — Miss Sarah Marquis (Mrs. Joseph Steven- 
son) ; Miss Mary Lee (Mrs. Geo. Marshall, D.D.); Miss Eliza- 
beth Craig (Mrs. A. H. Kerr); Miss Susanna Lee (Mrs. 

Hughes) ; Miss Sarah Rea (Mrs. Joseph Vincent) ; Miss Maggie 
Patterson (Mrs. J. M. Smith) ; Miss Josephine Cook (Mrs. A. G. 
White) ; Miss Lizzie R. Marquis (Mrs. J. B. Lyle). 

Missionaries. — Miss Polly Pogue was a co-worker with Rev. 
Jos. Badger, 1804 to 18 10, among the Indians on the Western 
Reserve. 

Miss Mary Vance was sent out by our board in September, 
1859, and labored among the Indians in Indian Territory until 
July, 1861. 

John Cloud went to Liberia, West Africa, in 1833, and died 
in 1834. Samuel G. McFarland, D.D., vyent to Siam in i860, 
and still labors there as Superintendent of Education for the 
Government. 

Sabbath-School. — It was organized in April, 1821, by Wm. 
McClain, Hugh Lee, Sr., and Geo. Newell. They met with 
some opposition at first. It was conducted by a Board of Mana- 
gers composed of Wm. McClain, Hugh Lee, Sr., Geo. Newell 
and Alexander Mason, Sr. 

The first teachers were Rev. Thos. Marquis, James Fleming, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Mason and Mrs. Hannah Lee, assisted by the 
Board of Managers. It began with twenty scholars and reached 
one hundred by the end of the year. The exercises consisted in 
reading and reciting the Scriptures, the Shorter Catechism and 
exhortations. Proverbs was the first book studied. 

In 1827, when Dr. Stockton began his work, the school num- 
bered about two hundred and at one time during his pastorate 
three hundred were enrolled. The Doctor taught in the school 
from 1827 until near the time of his death in 1882. 

The last Board of Managers was James Donehoo, David 
Gault, Major Wm. Lee and Henry C. Anderson. 

The first superintendent was Col. Samuel Magill, elected in 
April, 1875, who served two years, with Henry C. Anderson as 
assistant, and J. S. Cummins, treasurer and librarian. 



268 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

The International Lessons were introduced on July 6, 1874, 
and were adopted by most of the classes. 

In 1879 the church membership was two hundred and thirty- 
one, and about eighty of these were in the Sunday-school. 

It is related by W. Cunningham that he taught a class of 
seven young men, four of whom became ministers, two elders 
and the other still a wanderer and he continued to follow him 
with his prayers. 

The young men's Bible class had just three teachers in fifty- 
two years, — Dr. Stockton, James Donehoo, Esq., and Henry C. 
Anderson. 

Superintendents. — Samuel Magill, 1875-77; H. C. Ander- 
son, 1877-80; W. W. Jackson, 1880-81; S. L. McCullough, 
1881-82 ; Jas. B. Lyle, 1882-83 ; W. W. Jackson, 1883-84; H. 
W. Donehoo, 1884-85 ; A. E. Walker, 1885-86; J. K. P. Magill, 
1886-88, and S. S. Dunbar, 1888— 

At present one hundred and fifty scholars are enrolled and 
twelve teachers. The school is kept up during the entire year. 

Collections are taken every Sabbath, on the first Sabbath of 
each month for foreign missions and on the third for home mis- 
sions, others for the use of the school. 

In 1879 the teachers were, — Dr. Stockton, H. C. Anderson, 
David Gault, H. W. Donehoo. S. L. McCullough, Misses Han- 
nah Lee, Elizabeth and Cora Simmons, Mrs. Sarah Anderson, 
Jane Lyle, and Elizabeth McCaughey. 

The present teachers are, — Rev. Anderson, David Gault, H. 
W. Donehoo, H. C. Anderson, W. C. Lee, J. S. Marquis, Jr., 
Misses Hannah Lee, Elizabeth Simmons, Nannie Anderson, 
Mrs. Lizzie Stevenson, H. W. Donehoo, and Teresa An- 
derson. 

Statistics of Membership, Contributions and Salary. — 
200 members were received during Rev. Smith's pastorate, and 
about 400 during Rev. Marquis'. 

Dr. Stockton received 1,545. In 1828 they reported 267 
members; the largest membership was reached in 1846, when it 
was 410. At the close of Dr. Stockton's pastorate in 1877, 232 
were reported. 

In 1878, 208, and in 1880, 230 were reported. During the 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 269 

fourth pastorate about 140 were added to the roll and at its 
close in 1885, 225 v/ere reported. 

At the beginning of the fifth pastorate 212 were reported, and 
since then no have been received and the present membership 
is 280. 

Contributions. — Since 1828, as near as can be learned, the con- 
gregation has contributed to benevolent objects alone over 
;^ 30.000. 

We find a subscription list for the benefit of Barnet, the In- 
dian, Rev. Geo. M. Scott left with Mr. McCurdy at Florence to 
be educated. It amounts to £"] , and is dated 1809. 

Salary. — With Buffalo they promised Rev. Smith ^^150 (75 
each); their subscription list amounted to £197. 

In 1794 they subscribed ^^104 for Rev. Marquis, " One-half 
in money and the other in good merchantable wheat at 4 shil- 
lings per bushel, to be delivered at any mill or place within the 
bounds of said congregation where said minister shall appoint." 
Dr. Stockton's call promised ;^500, and his salary was in- 
creased at different times until 1864, when it was made ^1000, 
which has been the amount paid since. 

Biographical Items. — Thomas Marquis was a soldier in 
Lord Dunmore's Indian War. 

The following, related by Rev. Richard Lea, is believed to 
have occurred while he was an elder : 

" Rev. Marquis the ' silver-tongued ' was lodging at the house 
of the late Samuel Ewalt, just above where the arsenal now is. 
(In Pittsburgh.) One night Ewalt said to his guest, I have ob- 
served that you go out early in the morning to the large syca- 
more to pray. Now to-morrow morning pray at your bedside ! 
Signs which I understand indicate the presence of Indians at 
Girty's run. They will cross the river in darkness and at day- 
light to-morrow your scalp would not be safe outside of the 
house. Marquis either forgot the warning or trusted implicitly 
in God and passed through the chamber of his host at early 
dawn to his trysting place. Even in sleep Ewalt could hear the 
passing step and seizing his rifle followed. Marquis was upon 
his knees, unconscious of the fact that the hand of a savage was 
raised to hurl the tomahawk. A ball clashed through the throat 



270 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

of the Indian, and the preacher was sav^ed." In relating this, 
Ewalt was accustomed to say. " After that Marquis did good 
service in the great revivals. Aint I entitled to half? I saved 
his life ? I know I am not good, but half of his good deeds 
added to all of mine will make one pretty safe." 

While Joseph Patterson was an elder he was unable either to 
lay by or to borrow four dollars, which he had either subscribed 
for repairing the church or as salary, and on the morning of the 
day for payment, he took his gun as he went for his cows and 
in a woods by the side of a log, he knelt and " appealed to 
God for the purity of his motive, and asked God either to pro- 
vide the money or to see to it that the church of God sustained 
no injury from his lack of payment.'' While thus praying he 
heard a noise in front of him, which at first he thought a device 
of Satan, but the sound approaching nearer, he opened his eyes 
and there on bended knee shot a wolf, and took its scalp to the 
meeting which more than paid his subscription. In the words 
of Dr. Stockton " As the fish brought the money to Peter, so 
the wolf brought the subscription money to Patterson." 

It is also said that Robert McCready was unable to pay his 
subscription at one time. And as he was on his way home 
from the church, he heard some one calling behind him and 
upon stopping he learned that Wm. Campbell thought he was 
about to die and wanted him to write his will. Sending the 
young man on to tell his family where he had gone, he hastened 
to Mr. Campbell's. After spending one day settling Mr. Camp- 
bell's business affairs and writing his will he was asked what he 
charged. He replied that he ought to have as much as a man 
would get for making rails or for grubbing. He received five 
dollars which paid his subscription. 

Judge Edgar in his autobiography says, " It is the wise im- 
prover of the Providences of God that is the growing Christian." 
He gives two of the more than fifty that he noted. It hap- 
pened just after he was ordained as an elder, when he was about 
twenty-three years of age. 

He was told that one of their elders had been drunk at a ferry 
house on a certain day and that the ferryman had helped him 
on his horse. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 27 1 

In conversation with Mr. Edgar the man acknowledged it, 
but when he came before the Session the ferryman had moved 
to CaroHna, and the elder denied it and had no recollection of 
admitting it to Mr. Edgar. Being an older man and longer con- 
nected with the church, he accused Mr. Edgar of malicious 
slander. The other elders were satisfied that Mr. Edgar was in- 
nocent but the fact could not be proven. Mr. Edgar was about 
to be excommunicated; he was filled with despair; the words of 
a friend that " if his cause was just, God would work a miracle 
to deliver him," did not comfort him much. Meeting with an 
accident and having made a narrow escape he saw that God had 
saved him in the time of danger, and his faith was increased so 
that he felt that he could trust his case in God's hand and felt no 
more concern about it. In a few days a friend came to visit him 
and informed him that if necessary he could testify to the truth 
of the charge for he rode home with the drunken elder from the 
ferry. Although bolder and stormier than ever at the opening 
of the next meeting of Session, yet when Mr. J. B. (Edgar's 
friend) was examined, then the elder confessed and was reproved. 

Sketches of Ruling Elders. — * William Cowen was born 
in Mount Pleasant Township, Washington County, in 1795. In 
1823 he married Miss Susan McMillan, of Cross Creek, who 
died June 5, 1825, and in 1830 he married Elizabeth Hughes. 
In early life he united with the church, and in 1831 was elected 
and ordained elder. He was a zealous Christian, and improved 
every opportunity of talking with the unconverted. Either day 
or night found him ready to visit, pray with and counsel the 
sick and troubled. He adorned his office, and was a cheerful 
and liberal giver. He died April 29, 1857. 

* Hon. Walter Craig (see sketch of " Deceased Elders "). 

* James Dinsmore (son of Elder John Dinsniore, of Upper 
Buffalo), was born May 20, 1803. In 1831 he moved to Cross 
Creek, and united with the church in 1835. "In 1837 he was 
ordained and installed a ruling elder, the functions of which of- 
fice he continued faithfully to discharge with great acceptance to 
the congregation till his decease," April 3, 1870. 

* Joseph Graham was born December 25, 181 1. He became 
a Christian in early life, and was called to the office of elder, 



272 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

and ordained June 23, 1854, serving only until March 19, 1855, 
when he was called to his reward. " He was greatly beloved by 
his brethren, and enjoyed, in a high degree, the confidence of 
the congregation." He was married February, 15, 1837, to 
Miss Jane Lee. 

* Joseph Vance, Jr., was born September 18, 1802, and when 
a young man united with the church. On June 23, 1854, he 
was inducted into the ofiice of elder, and on March 26th he 
died. " He was a brother highly esteemed by the session for 
his piety, wisdom and generous character." 

* Andrew Reed was born July 4, 1798, near Upper Buffalo. 
At the age of eighteen he united with the church under the 
pastorate of Dr. Anderson. In 1835 he came to Cross Creek, 
and was called to the eldership and ordained June 23, 1854. 
He died July 30, 1868, He rests with kindred dust at Upper Buf- 
falo. " He was well versed in Scripture, strongly attached to 
the Presbyterian .'iystem of doctrines, a man of ardent piety." 

* Major William Lee, son of Elder Hugh Lee, was born 
July 24, 1807. During the revival of 1827 he united with the 
church, and on March 18, 1858, was ordained an elder. He 
died August 17, 1888. He represented the church in all her' 
courts, was a thorough Presbyterian, both in order and doctrine 
and a conscientious, faithful officer. On a pleasant Sabbath 
evening in July, 1888, he was last permitted to enter the hou.se 
of God to hear the history of the church read. He was mar- 
ried September 21, 1836, to Miss Jane, daughter of Walter Craig. 

Russell T. Johnson was born in Newark, Vt., August 25, 
1 81 5. When fourteen, he united with the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church of that place. At the age of twenty-one he went 
to Wisconsin, and after visiting his parents, he came with a 
friend, within the bounds of Upper Buffalo, in 1840. In 1843 
he came to Cross Creek, and united with this church in De- 
cember, 1850. On March 18, 1858, he was ordained, and still 
serves the church. On April 3, 1845, he married Miss Eliza- 
beth Patterson. 

David Gault was born February 8, 181 5; when sixteen, he 
united with the church, and on April 16, 1870, was ordained, 
and is still in active service. 




Ruling Elders, Upper Buffalo, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 273 

Samuel D. White was born May 9, 1827. Married Miss 
Sarah A. Dinsmore December 20, 1855. Became a communi- 
cant June, 1856. Was ordained an elder April 16, 1870, and is 
now serving. 

* James Donehoo was born A.D., 1800, in Armagh, Ireland, 
and was brought to this country an infant. Became a commu- 
nicant very early in life. Was married in 1824, to Eliza Ram- 
sey, of Washington County. Ordained an elder April 16, 1870. 
Died June 16, 1873. Rev. E R. Donehoo, of Pittsburgh, is a 
son. Rev. J. D. Spriggs, of this presbytery, Rev G. P. Don- 
ehoo, of Redstone Presbytery and Rev. J. De Q. Donehoo, of 
the Protestant Episcopal Church, are grandsons. Another 
grandson is about to begin theological study. 

UPPER BUFFALO * 

This church having its house of worship in Hopewell Town- 
ship, Washington County, Pa., eight miles northwest of the 
town of Washington, was organized in May or June, 1779. It 
was incorporated March 29, 1804. The first trustees were Jas. 
Taggert, Sr., David Boyd, Alex. Hunter, Wm. McComb, John 
Flack, Matthew Morrow, James Dinsmore, John Gilchrist, Wm. 
Hughes. The Rev. Joseph Smith was its first pastor. He was 
called to Upper Buffalo and Cross Creek June 21, 1779. He 
accepted the call October 27, 1779, and in December of the next 
year took charge of the congregations. He continued as pas- 
tor until his death, April 19. 1792, having served eleven years 
and four months. 

The Rev. Thos. Marquis served as stated supply one-half the 
time, from June 13, 1794, to the beginning of the year 1798, a 
period of three years and six months. From 1798 to 1800 the 
church was dependent on presbyterial and transient supplies. 

In October, 1800, Rev. John Anderson, D.D., began work as 
stated supply. He was called to be pastor and installed in the 
spring of 1802, The pastoral relation was dissolved June 18, 
1833. His term of service was thirty-two years and eight 
months. He died January 31, 1835. 

The Rev. John Eagleson, D.D., preached his first sermon to 

*By Rev. Thos. A. Anderson. 
18 



274 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

this people January 19, 1834, and was regularly called June 2, 
1834. Was ordained and installed December 24, 1834. Died 
January 23, 1873. His ministry covered a period of thirty-nine 
years. 

The fourth pastor was the Rev. James D. Walkinshaw, May 
22, 1874, to October i, 1882. His term of service was seven 
years and four months. 

The fifth pastor was the Rev. W. W. Morton, who began 
work in the congregation November i, 1884. Was installed 
February 20, 1885, and continued as pastor to October i, 1887. 
He served the church two years and eleven months. 

The present pastor is the Rev. Thos. A. Anderson, called 
January 23, 1888. Began work in congregation February 8, 
1888. Was installed May 8, 1888. 

The ruling elders of Upper Buffalo congregation in all have 
numbered thirty-two. The names are — Wm. Smiley, Sr. (died 
November 21, 1813), John Johnson, William McCullough, Wil- 
liam Hughes, John Cowan, James Dinsmore (died April 20, 
1 817), Robert Lyle, James Brice, William Patterson, John Flack 
(died September 12, 1842), David Rannells (died September 24, 
1809), John Gilchrist, William Wallace (died November 23, 
1845), John Dinsmore (died July 7, 1858), John McWilliams 
(died October 8, 1837), James McConaughey (died November 
7, 1836), Robert Caldwell, William Smiley, Jr. (died January 
22, 1887), David McComb (ordained 1831, died December 18, 
1837), James Taggert (ordained January 9, 1840, died July 28, 
1863), Parker Reed (ordained January 9, 1840, died March 27, 
1 871), Andrew Herron (ordained January 9, 1840, died Novem- 
ber 20, 1869), Samuel Donahey (ordained January 9, 1840, died 
December 25, 1840), Ezekiel Davis (ordained September 25, 
1853, retired 1886), William R. Donahey (ordained September 
25, 1853, died August 14, 1884), Robert Sloan (ordained Sep- 
tember 25, 1853, died December 19, 1888), Anderson S. Cald- 
well (ordaiued January 7, 1872, ceased to act June 12, 1882), 
W. W. Hunter (ordained January 7, 1872), David C. Ross (or- 
dained January 7, 1872), Joseph R. Rankin (ordained May 10, 
1885), Samuel D. Blaney (ordained May 10, 1885), J. Luther 
Davis (ordained May 10, 1885). 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 275 

The first house of worship was erected in 1779. The site 
was chosen by Wm, Smiley and Robert Caldwell, acting as a 
committee for the congregation. The first building was situated 
in the northwest corner of what is now the graveyard. It was 
built of logs, and used as a place of worship until 1798. 

The second house was mostly built in 1797, but not entered 
until 1798. It was on the site of the present church. It was a 
hewed log house, 70 feet by 40. It was finished with a gallery 
on the ends and on one side, with the pulpit on the other side. 
The entire work of putting it up, closing it in, and roofing it 
was done by the voluntary labor of the men of the church. 
Stoves were first used in 1806. Weather-boarding was put 
on in 1808. It was furnished with communion tables in 18 10, 
and with pews in 1812. It was afterward plastered and the 
pulpit painted. This was all the paint ever used on that church. 
It was used for 47 years, until 1845. 

The third hou§e was of brick, and was built in 1845, on the 
same ground as the second house. It was 65 feet by 53, and 
one story high. The building committee consisted of Wallace 
McWilliams, John Reed and John Lowry. The contractor was 
Henry Shearer, of Washington, Pa. The house cost about 
;$3300. It was dedicated October 26, 1845 ; the sermon being 
preached by the pastor from 2 Chron. 7 : i. A lecture-room 
was also built during the years 1845-46. It was first entered, 
though in an unfinished state. May 11, 1846. The house was 
completed before the following winter. This church was occu- 
pied 27 years. 

The fourth and present house was commenced in 1872. It is 
built of brick and two stories high. It is 80 feet by 54, The 
basement story is twelve feet high, and contains a Sabbath-school 
room, an infant class room, and a session room. The audience 
room is twenty-two feet at the eaves and twenty-seven in the 
centre ; has stained-glass windows, and was built by Nelson 
Vankirk, of Washington, Pa., from designs furnished by Barr & 
Hosier, architects, Pittsburgh, Pa. The building committee 
consisted of William Dinsmore, James McConaughey, Robert 
Hamilton, Robert Sloan, Anderson S. Caldwell. The total cost, 
when finished, was ;^20,597. The cost of the building proper 



276 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

was i^ 1 8,985, which was raised by popular subscription and sale 
of pews. The church was dedicated May 22, 1874. The dedi- 
catory sermon was preached by Rev. J. T. Fredericks, from Ps. 
122 : 7. The dedicatory prayer was made by Rev. John Stock- 
ton, of Cross Creek, Pa. 

A parsonage was built in 1875 — William Dinsmore, James 
McConaughey and James France acting as building committee. 
It cost v^253o, and was paid for by voluntary subscriptions. 

Upper Buffalo has been the scene of several remarkable 
revivals. In the latter part of 1781 special meetings were held, 
week day and night. There was a deep conviction of sin on the 
part of unbelievers and great travail for souls on the part of 
Christians. Much prayer was offered, and in 1783 the fruits ap- 
peared, about 100 persons being added to the church. The 
revival continued with great power for three or four years, and 
there was not much visible decline for six or seven years. 

The year 1802 witnessed another remarkable revival. Then 
occurred at the fall communion what is known as the falling- 
work. There was a great concourse of people assembled for the 
communion. As many as ten thousand persons were estimated 
to be present. The public exercises began on Saturday, Novem- 
ber 13th, 2 o'clock, and continued with short intermissions until 
Tuesday evening. Fifteen ministers were present, all members 
of the Synod of Pittsburgh. There was an extraordinary effu- 
sion of the Holy Spirit on the hearts of the hearers. Hundreds 
were convinced of their sin and misery. Many sunk down and 
cried bitterly; some fell suddenly; some lost their strength 
gradually ; others lay quiet and silent, while many were violently 
agitated. The whole of Saturday night was spent in preaching, 
exhortations and prayer. On the Sabbath 960 communicants 
partook of the Lord's Supper. The meetings were continued 
throughout Sabbath night, Monday, Monday night, and Tuesday 
until late in the evening. So greatly was God's power manifested, 
that it was with difficulty the people were persuaded to return 
home. Fifty-five persons were the fruits of that revival in this 
church. There were other seasons of special revival during the 
pastorate of Dr. Anderson, but of these we are unable to speak. 

In 1835 thirty-one persons were added to the church at the 
June communion. 




Ruling Elders, West Alexander. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 2/7 

In 1853, after special meetings arranged for by Presbytery, 
there were received into the fellowship of the church, at the ad- 
ministration of the Lord's Supper, May 15th, twenty-nine per- 
sons. Again, on March 9, 1857, nineteen were received. The 
years 1858 and 1859 were also marked by reviving influences. 
Marked religious interest was visible during the years 1841, 1843, 
1847, 1853, 1854, 1865, 1867, 1868, 1871, 1872. From the year 
1841 up to the time of Dr. Eagleson's death, the church enjoyed 
an almost uninterrupted revival. Since its organization God has 
blessed it abundantly. 

Twenty-nine ministers have gone out from this congregation, 
viz : William Wylie, Joseph Anderson, David Smith, Andrew 
Wylie, James Cunningham, William Reed, John Reed, Samuel 
Reed, Jacob Wolf, William C. Anderson, James Sloan, Robert 
Herron, James H. Dinsmore, Alex. Hamilton, John M. Smith, 
Fred. R. Wotring, John McClintock, David McCombs, John 
Bowman, Robert B. Farrar, John W. Dinsmore, J. Brice Reed, 
William S. Eagleson, Samuel T. Davis, James D. Reed, Alex. 
G. Eagleson, M. Luther Donahey, Joseph A. Donahey, Charles 
P. Blaney. 

The Sabbath-school in connection with this church has been 
in existence since 18 15. Patrick Miller was the first superin- 
tendent. Some of his successors have been Robert Caldwell, Jr., 
John Dinsmore, Parker Reed, William Donahey, Thomas Stew- 
art, W. W. Hunter, S. A. Caldwell, John Blaney, William Ross, 
James M. Dinsmore. 

At present the school has fourteen teachers and one hundred 
and ninety-two scholars. 

The membership of the church is two hundred and eighty- 
nine. Contributions are made to all the boards of the Church. 
The church is well organized : It has three mission societies, a 
W. C. T. U., and a Young People's Meeting. Prayer-meetings 
are held in all the districts. 

WEST ALEXANDER.* 
This church was first called " The Three Ridges." The name 
came from three ridges converging and meeting near the place. 

By Rev. W. H. Lester, D.D. 



278 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

The time of its organization cannot be precisely given, as there 
are no existing records of the event. The first mention of it is 
found in the minutes of the Redstone Presbytery, as follows, at 
its fall meeting in 1785 : " Supplication for supplies was made by 
Three Ridges." " The supplication " was renewed in the fall 
meeting in 1786. From this time supplies were sent till 1790. 
Whether it was only a preaching point or organized church can- 
not be determined. The early members were of Scotch-Irish 
origin, and of the Old Presbyterian faith. 

Pastors, — Of the successive pastors of the church mention 
can here be made in only the briefest terms. The fuller por- 
traiture of their life and character has devolved on others. The 
first pastor was Rev. John Brice. He preached his first sermon 
in this church the second Sabbath of the year 1788, In April, 
1789, he received a call from this and the neighboring church of 
" the Forks of Wheeling," and was appointed by Presbytery to 
preach to them until its next meeting. Having accepted the 
call to the united charge, he was ordained and installed over the 
church April 22d, 1790. 

The following is the minute of Presbytery : 

" April ye 220, 1790. 

" Three Ridges, one O'' clock, P. M. — The P.b.y, according to appointment, pro- 
ceeded to the ordination of Mr. John Brice, and did, by fasting, prayer and imposi- 
tion of the hands of P.b.y, set him apart to the holy office of the gospel ministry. Mr. 
Dodd preached the ordaining sermon from Gal. I : lo. Mr. McMillan presided, and 
Mr. James Finley gave the charge. Mr. Brice now takes his seat as a member." 

There is no record of the election of the first elders of the 
church. It was probably about 1790. 

The Forks of Wheeling and Three Ridges continued one pas- 
toral charge until 181 2, when each field, through increase of 
members and means, was able to sustain a minister the full time. 
This pastorate continued till 1807, when, from infirmities of age, 
Mr. Brice resigned the charge. He was beloved by his people, 
and is said to have been a solemn, fervent, instructive preacher 
of the Word, and faithful pastor. His labors were abundantly 
blessed. 

The successor of Mr. Brice was Rev. Joseph Stevenson. 
Having received a call to become pastor of the united charge 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 279 

of this church, and of the Forks of Wheeling, he was or- 
dained and installed June, 1809. He was released from Forks 
of Wheeling in 18 12, and thenceforth gave all his time to 
Three Ridges. The relation continued until 1825, when, at 
Mr. Stevenson's request, it was dissolved. The union between 
the pastor and people was harmonious to the end. Under his 
ministry the church increased in numbers and strength. In an 
eminent sense, he was a peace-maker. In the disturbances that 
come into neighborhoods, churches and families, the common 
resort was to send for Father Stevenson. The oil of peace 
calmed the troubled waters. Over all, and controlling all, he 
was a devout, humble, prayerful and cheerful Christian. 

From 1825 until 1828 the church was without a pastor. The 
pulpit, during this interval, was supplied by appointments from 
the presbytery and other ministers, who were candidates for the 
pastorate. 

The third pastor was Rev. John McCluskey, D.D. He was 
ordained and installed in October, 1828. On account of in- 
creasing infirmities he resigned the charge in April, 1854. 
For further particulars concerning this great and good man we 
must be content to refer to sketch by our brother, Dr. Brown- 
son. 

The fourth pastor is the Rev. William H. Lester. He was 
ordained and installed October, 1854. This relation, which has 
continued now nearly thirty-five years, has been harmonious, 
and blessed of God. The church will soon have completed its 
one hundred years. It has had only four pastors to break to 
the people the bread of life. 

The first church building was a log-house, made of timber 
that grew near to where the church stood. Here all the people 
originally worshipped as one congregation. Between 1793 and 
1795 there was a division, which resulted in the "Associate Re- 
formed Church of Three Ridges." The cause of this division 
was the matter of Psalmody. The book of praise in use was 
" Rouse's version of the Psalms." On one occasion Mr. Brice 
gave out to be sung one of "Watts' Psalms." Those opposed 
to this innovation at once left the house, and organized into 
what is now the U. P. Church in the place. 



28o THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

In 1849 there was another division — those going out forming 
the " Free Presbyterian Church of West Alexander." Being 
situated on the border of a free and slave State, the question 
of slavery was, almost from the first, one of great interest. It 
passed from the arena of politics into that of religion. A paper 
adopted by the General Assembly of the church to the effect that 
slaveholders, professing Christians, were not to be debarred 
from communion and fellowship, was the cause of the rupture. 
After the close of the war, which ended in the emancipation of 
the slaves, the organization was disbanded, and many of the 
members returned to the old church. Revs. J. S. Poage, Rob- 
ert Burgess, J. B. Dawson and Samuel McLain were pastors or 
supplies to this people. 

This church has always cultivated the revival spirit. Many 
precious works of grace have come to revive and strengthen. 
When the great revival, about the year 1800, came to this entire 
region of country, this people were especially blessed. It was 
known as " the falling work." Under the solemn and alarming 
preaching of the " terrors of the law," the hearers were violently 
agitated in body and mind — fell to the floor, and for a consid- 
erable time remained unconscious. The most hardened would" 
often be most affected. Whatever may be said of the bodily 
movements, the fruit of the work was a deep and abiding 
piety. 

There is no known record of persons received into church 
membership during the pastorates of Revs. Brice and Stevenson. 
Under Dr. McCluskey there were received, in 1829, sixty-three 
members, in 1835, one hundred and one, and in 1853, fifty-three. 
Under the present pastor there have been several precious sea- 
sons of the outpouring of the Spirit. In 1858 fifty-one mem- 
bers were received, in 1861 thirty-four, in 1869 sixty-two per- 
sons and in 1875 sixty-four became members of the church. 

While large numbers have been enrolled, yet, owing to re- 
movals, the strength of the church remains about the same. 
Sometimes the membership is somewhat above, and sometimes 
a little under three hundred. 

The Sabbath-school was organized during Mr. Stevenson's 
labors here, probably about 1820. It has continued without 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 28 1 

interruption ; is one of the oldest schools in the presbytery ; 
and is now in a flourishing condition. A large number of those 
who have confessed Christ in the church have come through 
the Sabbath-school, A scholarship in one of the schools in 
India has, for more than twenty-five years, been supported by 
its benefactions. 

Many of the youth of this church have become ministers. At 
least twenty-five from families directly connected with the con- 
gregation have entered the sacred office. They are in home 
and foreign fields, preaching "the unsearchable riches of Christ." 
Besides these, twenty-six at least, who were members while 
prosecuting their studies, have gone into the ministry. Surely 
her " line has gone out into all the earth." 

One of the first endowment gifts to Jefferson College was made 
by John McPherrin, one of the first elders of the church, near 
the year 1800. It was about ^2,000 — a magnificent donation, for 
those times, to Christian education. This stream of benevolence, 
beginning in the infancy of the congregation, has flowed on in 
an increasing volume. The Boards of the church have been 
repeatedly remembered in the wills of the departed members, 
and some of the living count it " more blessed to give than to 
receive." Collections are regularly taken for the Boards. The 
Woman's Foreign Missionary Society was organized in 1871, 
and from that time has, in part, supported a missionary in China, 
and also contributed largely to the destitute in this land. A 
" Band" of children, a " Circle" of young ladies, and the Sabbath- 
school are contributors. Beside the support of the church 
at home, the amount of offerings to the Lord in 1888 was 
;^i,68o. 

The living will soon have passed away, but the promise will 
not fail— there shall be "a seed" here who "shall fear Him as 
long as the sun and moon endure throughout all generations." 

A List of the Officers of the Church. 

Pastors. — Rev. John Brice, ordained and installed April, 1790 ; 
dismissed April, 1807. Rev. Joseph Stevenson, ordained and 
installed June, 1809; dismissed 1825. Rev. John McCluskey, 
D.D., ordained and installed October, 1828; dismissed April, 



282 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

1854. Rev. William H. Lester, ordained and installed October, 
1854; pastoral relation still continues. 

Elders. — There is no record of the first election of Elders. It 
was probably about 1790. 

So far as known the full list is as follows . About 1790 : John 
McPherrin, John Maxwell, John Waits, John Faris. 1800: John 
Henry, George Sutherland, Silas Coe, William Scott, George 
Lee, Moses Hull. 1813: James McCammon, William Gaston, 
John Miller, Thomas Byers. 1819: Thomas Yates. 1828: 
John Pollock, John McDonald, Samuel Oldham, Andrew Yates, 
George Sutherland, 2d, Thomas Maxwell. 1847 : Barnet Bonar, 
James Gaston, James Todd, Henry Hervey. 1853 : Hugh Arm- 
strong, Joseph Carson, Byers T. Yates, John Reed, 1858 : John 
C. Hervey. 1869 : William Armstrong, Joel Truesdell, William 
Reed. 1880: John Reed, 2d, Alexander McCleery, James F. 
Blayney, R. Milton Maxwell, Thomas G. Yates, David S. Eagle- 
son, M.D. Of these all are deceased except Byers T. Yates, who 
is an acting elder in the West Liberty Church ; and James 
Todd, John Reed, William Armstrong, Joel Truesdell, John 
Reed 2d, Alex. McCleery, James F. Blayney, R. Milton 
Maxwell and Thomas G. Yates, who compose the existing ses- 
sion. 

Sons of the Church who Entered the Ministry. — i. Those 
whose families were directly connected with the congregation, 
viz. : William G. Bell, Samuel Templeton, Milo Templeton, J. 
Brice McCoy, Andrew B. Frazier, Irwin Carson, Nicholas Mur- 
ray, Joseph Whitham,John Whitham, William Bonar, Hamilton 
Byers, D.D., John V. Miller, Joseph Todd, George McDonald, 
Richard Carson, J. McCluskey Blayney, D.D., Henry G. Blay- 
ney, James H. Smith, Chester P. Murray, William G. Pollock, 
William H. Lester, Jr., Thomas A. Anderson, Frank E. Arm- 
strong. (This list does not include those whose early life was 
spent in this church, but who were connected elsewhere before 
they became candidates. Rev. J. M. Stevenson, D.D., Rev. 
George W. Pollock and some others were of this class.) 2, Those 
who united with the church while in a course of study at West 
Alexander Academy, viz. : John M. Dinsmore, Francis B. Dins- 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 283 

more, James H. Dinsmore, Robert Dinsmore, Thomas N. Dins- 
more, J. S. Braddock, Francis Braddock, Samuel Mahafify, John 
M. Hastings, John Marquis, William M. Ferguson, Robert J. 
Fulton, Robert Criswell, George M. Spargrove, Charles P. 
French, C. C, B. Duncan, Samuel Ramsay, Jonah Lupton, D.D., 
Joseph Waugh, Ph.D., John W. Hagen, Joseph Coe, William H. 

McCuskey. 

FORKS OF WHEELING-* 

Authorities differ as to the date of the organization, varying 
from 1787 to 1790, and from the fact that all the records prior to 
1849 were consumed in the burning of the dwelling of Dr. 
Hervey, very little can be known of its history up to that time. 
We have depended in a great measure on a few items left on a 
loose scrap of paper found in the sessional records in the hand- 
writing of Dr. James Hervey and a sketch from the pen of Mr. 
John C. Hervey, published in the WJieeliiig .Intelligencer, March 
29, 1876. 

At the formation of the church the Session consisted of the 
following persons : John Wait, Robert Stewart, and Jas. Mc- 
Connell. Subsequently John Baird and William Maxwell are 
recorded; but there is no account of their election. In 1836 
the Session seems to have been composed as follows : John Faris, 
Richard Campbell, Adam Faris, Hugh Milligan, John Thorn- 
burgh, and Thomas Buchanan. 

Additions have since been made as follows : December i o, 1 838. 
David Faris, James Wherry, Josiah Brown, and Samuel D. Faris. 

October, 1859, David Thornburgh, William Maxwell, Hugh 
McConnell, and Findly Lowry. 

August 15, 1867, Archibald Waddell, Henry Reed, John W 
Brown, and David B, Boggs. 

November 13, 1873, John C. Hervey, Daniel S. Thornburgh, 
and James Baird. 

November 3, 1881, Thomas Y. Hervey and Alfred Davis, 

All the above have either died or have removed, with the fol- 
lowing exceptions, who now, August, 1888, constitute the Ses- 
sion: John W. Brown, Daniel S. Thornburgh, James Baird, 
Thomas Y. Hervey, and Alfred Davis. 

* By Rev. L. Grier. 



284 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Soon after the organization, Rev. John Brice was installed 
pastor of Forks of Wheeling (then called Wheeling,) and Three 
Ridges (now West Alexander), and continued to divide equally 
his labors between them, until his death. Mr. Brice was suc- 
ceeded in this double pastorate by Rev. Joseph Stevenson, who 
remained about six years, when he resigned that he might de- 
vote all his labors to West Alexander. 

In 181 1 a call was given to Rev. William Johnston, which, for 
some reason, he did not accept. 

In 181 2 Mr. James Hervey commenced, and continued as 
stated supply until 18 13, when a call was given him, which he 
accepted ; and in the records of the Presbytery of Ohio we find 
the following minute : 

" The Pres. of Ohio being met at the Forks of Wheeling, on the 20th of April, 
" 1814, did, with fasting and prayer, and the laying on of the hands of the Pres., 
" ordain Mr. James Hervey to the office of the Gospel Ministry, and installed him 
" pastor of the united congregations of Wheeling Town & Forks of Wheeling. 

" John Anderson, Clerk." 

This arrangement continued until 1828, when Mr. Hervey 
resigned the charge of the church at Wheeling, and the Forks 
asked and obtained his services for three-fourths of his time, 
the remainder being given to a new organization called West 
Union. 

This pastorate continued until 1839, when the Forks, at a 
congregational meeting presided over by Dr. McCluskey, made 
out a call for the ministerial services of their pastor for the 
whole of his time, which was accepted by him and consummated 
by Presbytery. The relation thus formed continued until the 
death of Dr. Hervey, September 13, 1859, making a continued 
pastorate of more than forty-seven years. 

After a vacancy of fourteen months, the congregation held a 
meeting November 12, i860, under the moderatorship of Rev. 
David Hervey, and a call was made out for the ministerial 
services of Rev. Laverty Grier, of East Springfield, Ohio, which 
he accepted, and commenced his labors on the first Sabbath of 
January, 1861, and was regularly installed in the following June 
by a committee of Presbytery, Rev. R. V. Dodge preaching the 
sermon and Rev. James Alexander delivering the respective 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 285 

charges. The relation thus formed continues to the present 
time, August, 1888, the two pastorates covering a period of more 
than seventy-six years. 

The membership in 1820 numbered 128; in i860, 134; in 
1888, 180. It must be remembered, that in 1820 the bounds were 
much greater, embracing the City of Wheeling, the territory of 
what are now West Union, Wolf Run, Allen Grove and Lime- 
stone; so that from the parent stem have grown seven branches. 

Of the statistics of the church little can be given. It has 
been blessed with great harmony, and a gradual, regular, though 
not rapid, growth ; and has always been above the average 
in contributions to objects of benevolence. There have been 
comparatively few communion seasons in which there have not 
been some accessions, and there have been revivals of great 
power. In the years 1849, i^53> 1866, 1869, and 1871 there were 
very large additions. 

Ministers. — The following sons of this church entered the 
ministry: John M. Faris, Josiah Milligan, John Kelly, William 
Faris, Faris Brown, Alfred Jones, W. W. Faris, and J. V. Mil- 
ligan. 

Two others died before completing their theological studies. 
These were McKinley Hervey, son of Rev. Dr. James Hervey, 
pastor of the church, and David Brown, son of Josiah Brown, 
an elder in the same. 

LOWER BUFFALO CHURCH (INDEPENDENCE, PA.).* 

The date of the organization of this church is not certainly 
known, as all the records of the church, before the year 1835, 
are lost. But it was probably organized between 1785 -1790. 

The number uniting in the organization is unknown, as also 
their names ; and the names of the first elders are lost. 

It is thought that Arthur Scott, (afterwards a member of Ses- 
sion) and his wife, Ann Scott, were among the first members. 

Pastors. — Rev. James Hughes, 1790 to 1814; Rev. Jacob 

Cozad, 1 8 18 to 1828; Rev. James W. McKennan, 1829 to 

1835; Rev. David Hervey, April, 1835 to 1849; Rev. James 

Fleming, 1858 to 1869; Rev. S. L. Davis, M.D., November 

* By Rev. HENRy G. Blayney. 



286 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

15, 1870 to 1872 ; Rev. Wm. McCrea, 1873 to 1874; Rev. J. L. 
Reed, 1875 to 1883 ; Rev. Henry G. Blayney, June 10, 1884, to 
the present time. 

The church was suppHed from 1 849-1 854, by Revs. Andrew 

Virtue, E. Quillin and Stewart; and by Rev. James W. 

McKennan as stated supply, 1854-1857. During the pastorates 
of Rev. James Hughes and Rev. James W. McKennan, this 
church was united with West Liberty (Short Creek). 

Ruling Elders. — The names of the first ruHng elders are 
unknown. The names of those who are known to have held 
this office in the church, are as follows, viz.: 

Samuel Green,* ruling elder in 18 18; died about 1820. 

Arthur Scott,* ruling elder in 181 8 ; died 1843. 

John Amspoker, ruling elder in 181 8; dismissed about 1825. 

Lewis Kerr, an elder from Pigeon Creek Church, elected and 
installed about 1828; dismissed to West Liberty, Va., Decem- 
ber 20, 1855. 

Jacob White, elected 1828; removed to Wellsburg, Va., 

Steven Caldwell, ordained June 21, 1838; dismissed to Wells- 
burg, Va., 1839. 

Joseph Scott, ordained June 21, 1838. 

William Hair, ordained June 21, 1838; dismissed to State of 
Indiana, 1839. 

Samuel C. Meaks, ordained or installed ruling elder in 1835 ; 
time of death unknown. 

David Campbell, from Cross Creek Church, installed Septem- 
ber 15, 1848; served until death, November 15, 1858. 

John Lamb, ordained and installed September 15, 1844; re- 
moved west. 

Prof. A. F. Ross, of Bethany College, Va., ordained and in- 
stalled September 15, 1844; dismissed to West Liberty, Va., 
December 20, 1855. 

David B. Waugh, 1851-53; removed to Iowa, 1863. 

Lyle Patterson, 1851-53; removed to East Buffalo Church 
1860-61. 



* These two brethren were probably ruling elders a number of years before this 
date (1818). 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 287 

Alexander Adams, installed 1851-53. 

Samuel B. Campbell, installed May 20, 1858. 

Jas. K. McConaughy, installed May 20, 1858; died May 21, 
1883. 

William Liggett, installed December 29, 1867. 

James Boyd, installed December 29, 1867; died October 
8, 1880. 

James T. Craighead, installed December 29, 1867; dismissed 
to Cannonsburg, Pa., 1870. 

David Buchanan, installed June 6, 1874. 

Cyrus S. Wells, installed June 6, 1874; dismissed to Iowa 

1877. 

Wm. J. Patterson, installed between December i, 1877 and 
April 14, 1878. 

David A. Scott, installed June 12, 1887. 

David B. Mulholland, installed June 12, 1887. 

John Wells, installed June 12, 1887. 

Houses of Worship. — Four churches have been erected and 
dedicated to the worship of Almighty God by this congrega- 
tion. 

The first cJmrcJi was built of logs — such a church as the 
fathers were accustomed to erect in this region of country in 
the early days. It is said that it would seat about three hun- 
dred. It stood in the southwest corner of what is now Lower 
Buffalo graveyard, one mile and one-quarter west of the village 
of Independence, Pa. But it was in Brooke County, Va. (now 
West Virginia). 

Here the attendance was good. The people came from long 
distances, as much as six and seven miles — from over on 
Short Creek, from up and down Buffalo Creek, from all the 
surrounding country and even from Wellsburg. This log church 
stood for thirty years or more. 

The second church was built of sandstone, in 1822. It was 
about the size of the first. It was also in Virginia. It stood 
about one-fourth of a mile east of the old church, or one mile 
west of Independence. 



288 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

" It was a good, solid building ; the walls were plastered, and 
it was ceiled overhead. It had a nice pulpit, and was seated 
with pews." This building was occupied for twenty-eight 
years. 

The t/iird cliiirch was built in 1850. The citizens of Inde- 
pendence, many of them, not having a convenient way of get- 
ting to church, were anxious to have a new church built " in 
town," and one of their number, Richard Carter, whose wife 
was a member, to secure this end, generously presented to the 
church a large, nice lot, well suited to the needs of the congre- 
gation for all purposes. This was thankfully accepted. On this 
a new church was built. It was a frame building, neat, plain 
and comfortable — well painted and seated. Here they wor- 
shipped for thirty-two years. 

In the summer of 1882 this church was so completely recon- 
structed that it might be, a7id is called, a new churcli ; and this 
is the fourth they have built. It is the last and best of all. It 
was built during the pastorate of Rev. J. L. Reed, to whom 
great credit is due. This church gives general satisfaction. It 
is modern in style, and is well adapted, in all its appointments 
and arrangements, to the taste and needs of the congregation." 
It is heated from beneath. It has a tower and bell, a lecture- 
room extension and pulpit recess. And will seat comfortably 
(when the folding doors connecting the lecture-room with the 
audience-room are thrown open) three hundred and fifty 
or more. It was dedicated free of debt, amidst great re- 
joicing. 

The church of Lower Buffalo has been blessed with the out- 
pouring of God's Spirit at different times in its history. Spe- 
cial mention should be made of those times of refreshing en- 
joyed by so many of our churches in this region of country in 
the early days, when this church was refreshed also ; and in 
the year 1858 the first of the labors of Rev. James Fleming, 
the Spirit was poured out; and again in 1885, when God vis- 
ited this people by his Spirit, when over thirty souls confessed 
Christ, and were added unto the church. 

A Women's Foreign Missionary Society has been kept up 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 389 

for many years. It has added very materially to the contribu- 
tions ; besides, has been useful, in developing a deeper love for 
the great work of converting this world to Christ, in the hearts 
of some. 

Joseph Waugh and D. B. Fleming (this last a son of one of 
the pastors) have entered the ministry. 

One of our members, Miss Lucy Crouch (now Mrs. Lehman), 
is laboring in the foreign mission field in China. 

The Sabbath-school in its present organization has been con- 
ducted in the church for more than forty years. But before 
this, for a number of years, without special organization, effec- 
tive work was done for the young similar to that which is now 
accomplished by the Sabbath-school. It has been, and is still, a 
most useful arm of the church. The school is now fairly up to 
the average school, considering the membership of the church, 
which has never been so large as some of the neighboring 
churches, that have a much larger territory. 

The lowest number of members was thirty-seven, in the year 
1858, when Rev. James Fleming began his labors with this peo- 
ple. There was soon a very encouraging increase in the num- 
ber. The highest number was one hundred and seventy-two, 
in 1885, the first of the present pastorate. 

To God be all the glory for all the good, both pastors and 
people have, by His Spirit, been enabled to accomplish. 

The present session is — Henry G. Blayney, pastor, Joseph 
Scott, Alexander Adams, Wm. Liggett, Samuel B. Campbell, 
David Buchanan, Wm. J. Patterson, David A. Scott, David B. 
Mulholland, John J. Wells, ruling elders. 

WEST LIBERTY (SHORT CREEK).* 

It is impossible to determine with absolute certainty the date 
of the organization of this church. As nearly as can be deter- 
mined it was in June, 1788. 

Among those connected with the church at its organization 
were William McKinley, Nathaniel Coleman, John Waite, Wil- 
liam Fan's, William Brown, William McCulloch, Moses Chap- 
lain and their families. 

* By Rev. A. B, Lowes. 
19 



290 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Pastors and Supplies. — The Rev. James Hughes, who was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Redstone, April 15, 1788, was 
ordained by the same presbytery, and installed the first pastor 
of Short Creek, in connection with Lower Buffalo, April 21, 
1790. This pastoral relation was dissolved June 29, 1814. 
During an interval of fourteen years following, in which the 
church was dependent upon the presbytery for supplies, the 
names of the Rev. Messrs. John Anderson, Matthew Brown, 
Elisha McCurdy, Thomas Marquis, Obadiah Jennings, and Wil- 
liam and Andrew Wylie, appear as supplies. The Rev. James 
W. McKennan was pastor from 1829 to 1834; the Rev. William 
D. McCartney, stated supply from 1836 to 1837; the Rev. Na- 
than Shotwell, pastor from 1840 to 1854; the Rev. James W. 
McKennan, stated supply from 1854 to 1858 ; the Rev. William 
Aiken, pastor from 1858 to 1859; the Rev. David Hervey, sup- 
ply from 1859 to 1864; the Rev. John A. Brown, pastor from 
1864 to 1875; the Rev. David B. Rogers, pastor from 1876 to 
1878 ; the Rev. Thomas F. Boyd, pastor from 1880 to 1882 ; the 
Rev. John J. Graham, supply from 1883 to 1886; the Rev. 
Abram B. Lowes, supply from 1886 to 1888. 

Ruling Elders. — The original session consisted of Williarh 
McKinley, Nathaniel Coleman, William Brown, John Waite and 
William Paris. William McKinley died May 20, 1838, aged 
seventy-five years ; Nathaniel Coleman died June 2, 18 10, aged 
sixty years ; William Brown died July 3, 1S32, aged seventy-nine 
years; John Waite died 1822; William Paris died 181 8. Suc- 
ceeding the above were : David and Henry Hervey, John Max- 
well, Robert McParlain, Henry Giles, John Sharp, Prof Andrew 
Ross, Andrew Yates and James Waite. Of these, John Sharp 
died 1846; John Maxwell died August 11, 1855, aged fifty-three 
years; Robert McParlain died August ii, 1858, aged sixty-four 
years ; Andrew Yates, dismissed to West Alexander, Pa., died 
December 18, 1876; Arthur Boggs, dismissed to Princeton, 111., 
June, 1876; Prof. Andrew Ross, dismissed to New Athens, O., 
died 1876; James Waite died 1884, aged seventy-two years; 
James P. Smith was, at his own request, released from acting, 
1880; Montgomery Walker, elected 1866, was dismissed to 
Wellsburgh, W. Va., 1868; John C. Paris, elected 1868, was 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 29I 

dismissed to West Alexander, Pa., 1880; Thomas C. Hammond, 
elected 1868, was dismissed to Bellair, O., 1870. The present 
session consists of A. Ridgely Jacob, James Rogers and J. Brown 
Atkinson, elected 1881 ; Byers Yates, Henry Spear and William 
North, elected 1885. 

Places of Worship, — Before the erection of a house of wor- 
ship, meetings were held on the flat some distance southwest ot 
the town. Here, it is said, were witnessed some thrilling scenes 
in connection with what was known as ** the falling exercises," 
in the remarkable revivals in the beginning of the present cen- 
tury. In 1 79 1 Providence Mounts, and Hannah his wife, "in 
consideration of the love and affection they had for the congre- 
gation on Short Creek under the care of the Rev. James Hughes, 
and for the further consideration of five shillings to them paid, 
bargained, granted, sold, released, aliened, and confirmed two 
lots of land in the Town of West Liberty, for the use of said 
congregations, and for all Christian people of all denominations 
to bury their dead in." 

Upon these lots the first meeting-house was built as early as 
1793. It was a two-story frame building, with the pulpit in the 
south side, and having a gallery around the two ends and north 
side. The pulpit was of the elevated kind, being as high as the 
second story of the house, and was reached by a narrow winding 
stairs. The clerk's desk was also elevated, and in front of the 
pulpit. The second house was of brick, 56x36 feet, with a four- 
teen-foot ceiling, and was erected in 1855. The contract price 
was ;^I400 and the material of the old building. The third and 
present house was built in 1873, and was dedicated December 
II, 1873. The cost was ;^io,ooo. The parsonage was par- 
chased in 1880, at a cost of ;^I450. Of this sum ;^500 was given 
by Mrs. Lavinia Taylor, and ;^300 by Mrs. Sarah Standiford. 
Mrs. Standiford also left ^500 to be permanently invested for the 
support of the church. 

Sabbath-School. — No full and accurate record of the history 
and work of the Sabbath-school is at hand. It was organized as 
early as 1826, perhaps earlier. William McKinley, Sr., was for 
many years superintendent of the male department, and Mrs. 
Hester Walker, of the female department. In 1826 the school 



292 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

reported six teachers and more than one hundred scholars. It 
has been maintained, with more or less interest, from that early 
period. 

An interest in missionary work was early manifested by the 
church, begotten, no doubt, by the missionary spirit and zeal of 
the first pastor. Rev. James Hughes. In 1809 the united charge 
of Short Creek and Lower Buffalo is reported as giving ^20 for 
missions, and in 18 10, ^40 for the same. At a meeting of the 
women in 1827, $60 were contributed for missions. The 
Women's Foreign Missionary Society and the Cunningham 
Band were organized in 1876. 

Four of the sons of this church have entered the ministry, as 
follows : Edward Grafton McKinley, John H. Trussel, Lewis 
W. Barr and Andrew C Brown. 

To this list might be added the names of Smiley Hughes, a 
brother of the first pastor, and who died soon after his licensure; 
and the eminent Nicholas Murray, both of whom spent a part of 
their early youth here. 

The above are the prominent points of the church's history as 
gathered from meagre church records, and traditions from the 
descendants of the early fathers of the church. 

CROSS ROADS— (KING'S CREEK.)* 

The organization of this church took place about the year 
1785, on King's Creek, Washington County, Pa. Messrs. 
Philip Jackson, Miles Wilson and John McMillen constituted 
the first session. From November, 1785, until April, 1788, the 
Revs. Thos. Marquis, Thaddeus Dod, Joseph Smith and Joseph 
Patterson supplied the church with preaching. April 22, 1788, 
this body, in connection with the newly organized church of 
Mill Creek, presented a call to Rev. John Brice, which was de- 
clined. The first recorded observance of the Lord's Supper 
was on the fourth Sabbath of August, 1788, when Revs. Joseph 
Smith and John McMillen conducted the service. During the 
next four years calls were extended successively to Revs. 
George Hill, Robert Finley and William Swan, which were not 
accepted, so that the church of King's Creek never had a set- 
* By Mrs. Elizabeth Stevenson Potts. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 393 

tied pastor. When the Presbytery of Ohio was formed, in 
1793, this church was included in it, so that we have been un- 
able to find any record of its work during the next five years. 
Although much good was done here, yet the location was not 
considered central enough, and accordingly a change was pro- 
posed, to a point three miles to the south, where the Pittsburgh 
pike crosses the Washington road, and where the village of 
Florence now stands. A new house of worship was here 
erected, and in 1798 the organization was transferred to this 
place. Since then it has borne the name of Cross Roads. 

Pastors. — In November, 1799, this people united with the 
congregation of Three Springs in giving a call to Rev. Elisha 
McCurdy. In June, 1800, he was ordained and installed as the 
first pastor. His ministry lasted till the fall of 1835, but he 
supplied the pulpit till the spring of 1836. 

Rev. Daniel Deruelle was stated supply from 1836-37; Rev. 
William Burton was pastor from November, 1839-41; Rev. 
Joel Stoneroad, was pastor from 1842-50; Rev. J. S. Wylie 
was stated supply from the fall of 1850-51, when he received 
a call, but was never installed, as he died, February 10, 1852, 
in Florence, Pa. ; Rev. O, M. Todd was pastor from Novem- 
ber 9, 1852, to January, 1858; Rev. J. P. Caldwell was pas- 
tor from 1860-64; Rev. Andrew Boyd was pastor from 1864- 
65 ; Rev. D. M. Miller was pastor from September 25, 1867, to 
October i, 1871 ; Rev. S. F. Forbes was pastor from Febru- 
ary, 1873, to April, 1876; Rev. Ross Stevenson, D.D., was pas- 
tor from 1877 to September, 1882. Rev. A. F. Alexander, the 
present pastor, was installed June, 1883. The first ruling elders, 
as already stated, were Messrs. Philip Jackson, Miles Wilson 
and John McMillen, who were ordained and installed in 1785. 
Philip Jackson died February 10, 1803 ; Miles Wilson was dis- 
missed 1814. Since then, with the date of their ordination or 
installation affixed, there have been — John Travis, 1800, dis- 
missed 1809; John Riddle, 1800, withdrew 1804; Samuel 
Fulton, 1803, died 1819; James Proudfoot, Sr., 1803, died May 
2, 1856; John Duncan, Sr., 1803, died March, 1850; Joseph 
Jackson, Sr., 1807, died 1824; James Allison, 1807, died 1814; 
James Kerr, 18 15, died 1847; George Anderson, 18 15, dis- 



294 ^^^ PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

missed 1819; Robert Withrow, 1820, dismissed 1845; James 
Wallace, 1820, died October, 1863 ; Thomas Thompson, 
1820; and Robert Patterson, 1831 ; were transferred to 
Burgettstown October 18, 1849, with sixty other members, to 
form the church there ; Hon. James McFerran, 1831, died No- 
vember 3, 1866; John Duncan, Jr., 1831, died 1876; Norris 
Duncan, Sr., 1853, died 1855 ; John McConnell, Sr., February 
20, 1853, died April 11, 1879; William Mercer, Sr., February 
20, 1853, died June 13, 1876; John Amspoker, December 27, 

1855, dismissed , ; William J. Cool, December 27, 

1855, died September 28,1880; David Van Eman, December 
27, 1855, dismissed 1867; Peter Teel, December 27, 1855, died 
September 13, 1871 ; David Culbertson, September, 1867, died 
December 29, 1878; Daniel Crane, July 10, 1870, dismissed 

, ; James Magill, November 30, 1879, dismissed in 

the fall of 1885; Marion Jackson, , 1875, died June 

24, 1888. The present session consists of Messrs. S. M. Mc- 
Connell, who was elected July 10, 1870, Josiah Scott, Septem- 
ber, 1872, Finley Scott, September, 1882, W. A. P. Linn, 1884. 

Houses of Worship. — The first church building was a log 
structure, built in 1786, on what is now known as the McCas- 
lin farm. King's Creek. The second, or the first building on the 
new location, was also of hewn logs, seventy feet long and 
thirty feet wide, cruciform in shape; built in 1798. A new 
house, of brick, was finished in 1831. At the dedication Rev. 
C. C. Beatty, of Steubenville, O., preached the sermon. This 
structure was five rods north of the old one, and from some 
unknown cause, was burned to the ground the night of Sep- 
tember 25, 1845. The present building, also of brick, was then 
erected, and dedicated June, 1847. Rev. Joel Stoneroad 
preached the sermon. The congregation own the four acres 
surrounding this building. May 14, 1 864, they purchased, for 
the use of a parsonage, four and one-half acres of ground, on 
which is erected a two-story frame house, with all necessary 
buildings adjoining. This purchase was made for the sum of 
one thousand dollars. 

Pastor's Salary. — The salary of Rev. Elisha Macurdy was 
iJ"i20, one-half payable in money, the balance in "good mer- 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 295 

charitable wheat." As the church progressed, the salary of the 
pastors was sHghtly increased, until the sum of ;^ 1,000, besides 
the use of a parsonage, has been reached. 

Spiritual History. — Sabbath- ScJiool Work. — This school was 
organized by Rev. E. McCurdy, in 1818, with Mr. George An- 
derson as Superintendent, and James Justice as Secretary. The 
teachers elected were Archie Barton, Samuel Fulton, James and 
John Proudfoot, George Anderson and John Duncan, Sr. The 
second Superintendent was Hon. James McFerran, who served 
from 1820 till i860; W. J. Cool, i86oto November, 1879; J- P- 
Magill, November, 1879, ^^ December, 1882; Finley Scott, De- 
cember, 1882, to December, 1886. Since then the pastor has 
acted in that capacity. The school now has twelve teachers, 
with an average attendance of eighty pupils. The young men 
who have gone from this school to preach the Gospel, number 
thirteen, viz : Revs. Francis McFarland, D.D., Ezekiel Glasgow, 
John Kerr, J. C. Caldwell, D.D., W. R. Vincent, Jesse Bruce, 
John McFarland, J. M. Fulton, Thomas J. Stevenson, W. P. 
Fulton, and G. A. Duncan, a candidate who died January 
II, 1882. 

Messrs. W. F. Plumer and J. Ross Stevenson, licentiates, and 
G. W. Fulton, expect to complete their seminary studies next 
year. This church has furnished but one missionary. Rev. John 
McFarland, of Alaska. 

We have no record of the number or the names of the first 
members of this church, but the present membership is over 
two hundred and sixty. 

We have a general prayer-meeting, and a young people's 
meeting, held each week, and once a month the Woman's Mis- 
sionary Society and Home Mission Circle meet. 

The church, during this its first century, has many times been 
refreshed by the manifest presence of the Lord. During the first 
pastorate, in 1801-02, the whole community was aroused, and 
hundreds were brought to bow before King Jesus. This was 
truly a work of God's Spirit, as was clearly shown by the fruit 
that was produced. A train of spiritual influences followed that 
has been felt the world over. The people longed to know more 
of higher and belter things ; so schools, Bible readings and 



296 THE PRESB-YTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

meetings for prayer were established throughout the community. 
Not only by the Session was the pastor aided in this good work, 
but the majority of the members were active also. This state 
of feeling continued for several years, and, although one hundred 
and thirty united with this church and Three Springs, yet but 
few cases of apostasy occurred. 

During some of the pastorates of the succeeding years, up to 
the present time, the laborers have been rewarded by seeing 
many " turn from darkness to light." Other pastors have sowed 
bountifully the seeds of truth, but have not witnessed any great 
religious awakening during their ministry. "One soweth and 
another reapeth, and both shall receive their reward." 

While we are glad that we enjoy the privileges of a church so 
fraught with historic memories, yet we remember that " unto 
whom much is given shall much be required." 

THREE SPRINGS.* 

As early as 1790 an appointment was made by the Presbytery 
of Redstone for one of its members to preach at Three Springs, 
on the third Sabbath of November of said year. It is not known 
how much occasional preaching there was in the years follow-, 
ing, nor in what year the first elders were elected. The history 
of the church begins practically in 1799, when Elisha Macurdy, 
a licentiate of the Presbytery of Ohio was called to become pastor 
of the two churches of Cross Roads and Three Springs. Mr. Ma- 
curdy was ordained and installed the year following. He was re- 
leased from Three Springs in 1 824, and from Cross Roads in 1835. 

His successors at Three Springs have been the following : 
Rev. Samuel Reed, Three Springs and The Flats, 1826-29; Rev. 
Richard Brown, 1832-35; Rev. R. M. White, Three Springs 
and The Flats, 1837-42; Rev. George Gordon, Three Springs 
and Frankfort, 1846-50; Rev. John Y. Calhoun, 1854-61 ; Rev. 
D. H. Lave rty, Three Springs and Frankfort, 1863-65; Rev. 
John B. Graham, Three Springs and Cove, 1866-78 ; Rev. Wm. 
I. Brugh, D.D., stated supply, 1879-87; Rev. A. B. Lowes," 
stated supply, 1889. 

Rev. J. Work Scott, D.D., while conducting an academy at 

* By Rev. W. F. Hamilton. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 297 

Steubenville, was stated supply at Three Springs in 1836, and 
also in 1844. J. F. Magill, licentiate, was stated supply for a 
short time after his licensure in 1861. 

Ruling Elders. — At the time of Mr. Macurdy's settlement 
the elders were, John Goodman Young, William Lee, John Wy- 
lie, and John Orr. (Vide Life of Macurdy, page 35.) Mr. 
Young's name does not appear in the presbyterial records. The 
other names occur frequently. 

Owing to loss of sessional records, a complete list of elders is 
lacking. It is believed the following is nearly, if not altogether, 
full : Andrew Henderson, Samuel Maxwell, Thomas Orr, Robert 
Wylie, James Campbell, James Kincade, Samuel Archer, Joseph 
Ralston, James Finley, James Ralston, John Wylie, Joseph Lyons, 
Jerome L Hopkins, George W. Campbell, John Cochran, Joseph 
Ralston, Enoch Hays, William Buchanan, William McCabe, S. 
D. Lockhart, David A. Lyons. 

The existing session consists of Joseph Lyons, G. W. Camp- 
bell, S. D. Lockhart, and D. A. Lyons. 

Houses of Worship. — The old Three Springs Church build- 
ing was on the Campbell tract in Brooke county, Va., four miles 
from the Ohio river. About 1804 the site was changed to a 
point two miles southeast from this, where a stone building was 
erected. 

The organization of the Cove Church, in 1846, divided the 
territory ; and not many years thereafter the stone church was 
abandoned and a new site chosen, at the neighboring village of 
Paris, Washington county. Pa. 

Rev. James M. Maxwell, D.D., of Monongahela City, Pa., 
Rev. Josiah Welch, late of Salt Lake City, Utah, and Rev. How- 
ard N. Campbell, of Martin's Ferry, Ohio, entered the ministry 
from this church. 

Miss Nellie S. McCabe, a daughter of one of its elders, is the 
wife of Rev. J. F. Magill, D.D., of Fairfield, Iowa 

MIIvIv CREEK (BEAVER COUNTY, PA.).* 

This church had an existence, more or less fully organized, as 
early as 1784 or 1785. In the latter year, an application was 

* By Rev. James B. Lyle. 



298 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

made by it to the Presbytery of Redstone for supplies. This 
was at the April meeting, and at the October meeting Rev. Jo- 
seph Smith was appointed to preach at Mill Creek the first Sab- 
bath of December, and one other Sabbath at discretion. In 1787 
request was made for administration of the Lord's Supper. In 
1789 a call from Mill Creek and King's Creek was presented to 
John Brice, licentiate. In the years following, appointments to 
preach and administer the Lord's Supper continued to be made, 
and calls were presented successively to Rev. Robert Finley and 
licentiates George Hill and William Swan, none of which were 
accepted. In April, 1793, the church was first represented in 
Presbytery, by George McCullough. 

Pastors and Supplies. — Previous to the formation of any pas- 
toral relation, John Brice, William Swan and Thomas E. Hughes, 
licentiates, had each preached at Mill Creek, as stated supply, 
while Rev. Messrs. Joseph Smith, John McMillan, John Clark, 
Robert Finley, James Hughes and Thomas Moore, together 
with licentiates John McPherrin, Robert Marshall, George Hill, 
David Smith and Thomas Marquis, had fulfilled appointments 
by Presbytery. 

In the summer of 1798, the church was visited by George M.' 
Scott, a licentiate of the Presbytery of New Brunswick, and in 
the spring of 1799 a call was forwarded to him by the united 
congregations of Mill Creek and The Flats (now Fairview), which 
he accepted ; and having meanwhile been ordained sine titulo, by 
his Presbytery, he took his dismission to the Presbytery of Ohio, 
by which he was received on August 29, 1799, and installed 
September 14th following. In 1826 he was released from charge 
of The Flats, and thenceforth gave his whole time to Mill Creek 
until December 26, 1837, when, at his request, the relation was 
dissolved, though much of the year following he continued to 
supply the pulpit, making almost forty years of ministerial labor 
in this church. 

Subsequent pastors and supplies were as follows : Rev. David 
Polk, stated supply, 1839-40; Rev. J. B. McCoy, pastor, 1840- 
41 ; Rev. David Robinson, pastor, 1842-54; Rev. R. S. Morton, 
pastor, 1855-65; Rev. Samuel Graham, pastor, 1865-66; Rev. 
J. L. Fulton, pastor, 1868-73 ; Rev. David McFie, stated supply, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 299 

1873-74; Rev. W. H. Hunter, pastor, Mill Ceeek and Mount 
Olivet, 1877-85 ; Rev. James B. Lyle, pastor, Mill Creek and 
Mount Olivet, 1888-. 

RuLiNG Elders. — The first Bench of Elders, chosen certainly 
not later than 1793 — possiby much earlier — consisted of George 
McCullough, who died in 1812; Alexander McCullough, who 
died about the year 1830; and David Kerr, who died at an ad- 
vanced age in 1824. Following these closely were James Ewing 
and John Thompson, chosen together, and the latter of whom 
represented the church in the Presbytery in 1801. James Ewing 
died in 1 831, aged seventy-seven years; John Thompson died 
June 26, 1836, aged seventy-seven years. To these may be 
added the following : 

John McCullough, ordained September, 18 13; removed to 
Harrison County, Ohio, in 18 18. 

Joseph McCready, ordained in 18 13. 

Thomas Harsha, ordained in 18 13. 

John Harsha, first mentioned in 1820; both Harshas joined 
Associate Reformed Church in the year 1835. 

Robert Ramsey, first mentioned February, 1 820; in his 
younger years he was an elder in Associate Reformed Church ; 
died in 1862, age seventy-six. 

Wm. Ewing, first mentioned February, 1829; died, 1863, age 
seventy-seven. 

Wm. McCullough, first mentioned in 1829; removed to 
Bucyrus, Ohio. 

John Mitchel, first mentioned in 1829; removed from this 
congregation. 

Nathaniel Douglass, elected in 1833 ; after a few years of ser- 
vice removed to Meigs County, Ohio. 

James Moody, elected in 1833. 

Samuel Reed, elected in 1840. 

Matthew Glass, elected in 1840; died 185 i. 

James McKinley, elected in 1840; died 1856. 

Thomas Moore, elected in 1840; removed to Ohio. 

Israel Bebout, elected in 1854; removed to Cross Creek. 

Wm. Moore, elected in 1854; removed to Ohio. 

Robert W. Stewart, ordained in 1864. 



300 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

John T. Temple, ordained in 1864. 

Eli Ramsey, ordained in 1864. 

Alexander Pugh, elected in 1870; previously ordained. 

Robert G. Stewart, ordained 1873. 

Samuel McHenry, ordained 1873. 

Jesse Mercer, ordained 1882. 

Samuel Ramsey, ordained 1882. 

Houses of Worship. — The first house of worship was a log 
cabin 18x20 feet, located on a spot now covered by the old 
burying ground. It was without doors or windows, being 
lighted from the roof, and entered by an underground passage, 
to secure protection from the Indians. 

This was succeeded by a double log house 30x60 feet, with- 
out floor or door ; afterwards these were added, along with pews, 
stoves and pulpit. 

In 1832 this house was replaced by a brick edifice 50x60 feet 
with a gallery. Cost, ^2,250. 

In 1869 a large brick edifice took the place of this one, 70x48 
feet. Aggregate cost, ;$8,I9I. 

In 1882 the present beautiful and comfortable house was built, 
seating about 400 ; size 70x38. Estimated cost about ;^400o. 

Spiritual History. — In common with most of the early 
churches, Mill Creek has been subject to constant and severe 
depletion by the establishment of additional churches within its 
original territory. The bounds of the congregation at first in- 
cluded an area equal to that of some counties. On this terri- 
tory have been organized, at various dates, the churches of 
Bethlehem, Frankfort, Liverpool, Glasgow, Hookstown and 
Pine Grove. Besides these six Presbyterian Churches, three 
United Presbyterian and five Methodist Episcopal Churches 
have also been established. With all this. Mill Creek, though 
greatly reduced in its roll of membership, still retains its place 
among the active working churches of the presbytery, and 
looks forward hopefully to new experiences of growth and use- 
fulness. 

There have been many marked revivals in the church at 
various times. The first was before the church had succeeded 
in obtaining a pastor, at some time between 1781 and 1787. In 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 3OI 

a letter written by Rev. Joseph Stephenson, this revival is de- 
scribed as " a most extraordinary work of grace." About the 
close of the century under the preaching of the Rev. Thomas 
E. Hughes, a licentiate, many were added to the church of 
those being saved. In 1802, under the preaching of the pastor, 
Rev. Geo. M. Scott, what is known as the great revival of 1802 
reached Mill Creek. 

It was a time of great awakening in this church, and as else- 
where, so here, many were the subjects of the " bodily exer- 
cise." 

Concerning this singular phenomenon, Mr. Scott, then pastor 
at Mill Creek, records his experience as follows : " When the 
bodily exercise first appeared, I considered the whole to be a 
delusion. I supposed these excitements were produced by 
preachers thundering the terrors of the law, and I thought I 
could check it by preaching the invitations of the gospel and 
the way of salvation through Christ, but I soon found, instead 
of stopping the work, this kind of preaching only increased it." 

In 18 16 this congregation was again visited with the reviving 
influences of the Spirit of God, in connection with the church 
at the Flats,, and over a hundred were brought into the com- 
munion in the two churches. Again, in 1822, the work of God 
was revived, and continued with little or no intermission for 
about five years. The fruits of this revival were an accession 
to ihe church of more than two hundred persons in the two 
congregations. And, it has been noted as a striking fact, that 
of thirteen young lads under eighteen years of age, who were re- 
ceived into the church on a certain communion season, dur- 
ing one of these revivals, twelve afterwards became ruling el- 
ders in different churches. In a historical sketch of the church 
of Mill Creek, Mr. Scott himself has indicated the kind of 
preaching which was employed in connection with these revi- 
vals. He says : " The subjects of preaching have been uni- 
formly the old orthodox doctrines of the fall of man — our 
apostasy in Adam — the total depravity of the whole human 
family — their absolute need of regenerating grace — the way of 
recovery through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus — justi- 
fication by faith, etc." The next period of revival began in 



302 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

January, 1853, under the preaching of the pastor, Rev. David 
Robinson, assisted by Dr. Stockton, and continued for two 
months, with the further assistance of Revs. J. S. Pomeroy 
Wells, Jennings, Grier, and Murray. Ninety-nine persons were 
added to the church on one occasion; the pastor baptized 
twenty-two adults. The lamented Murray has said that this 
season was worth crossing the ocean to witness." 

Eleven have entered the ministry from this church, viz. : — 
John W. Scott, Samuel Moody, Robt. Rutherford, Mr. McFerran, 
Wm. Harsha, Capt. Murray, Samuel Jeffery, Robt. Bunting, 
Jno. Y. Calhoun, Moore Buchanan, Marion Moore. 

The salaries given by this church to their pastors have 
varied with the times. The salary of Mr. Scott was ;^320, a 
part to be paid in grain at a fixed price. Mr. McCoy's salary 
in the call was fixed at ^400, and was afterward raised to j^SOO. 
David Robinson's salary was $SOO. Mr. Morton's salary was 
fixed at ^600, and house rent ^60, from the united churches ot 
Mill Creek and Hookstown. Mr. Graham's salary in the call 
was fixed at ;^650, with an understanding that an additional 1^50 
should be added to it. Mr. Fulton's salary was ;^iooo for all of 
his time. Mr. Hunter's salary was $800, from the united con- 
gregations of Mill Creek and Mount Olivet. Mr. Lyle's salary 
is ;^iooo, from the united congregations of Mill Creek and 
Mount Olivet. 

Sabbath-school in log-house prior to 1832. 

FAIRVIEW— (THE FLATS.*) 

The region of country embracing the Fairview Church was 
originally settled by emigrants from Eastern Pennsylvania, New 
Jersey and Connecticut, between the years 1780 and 1790. They 
were mostly Presbyterians, either by profession or education, 
and from the first scrupulously observed the Sabbath and main- 
tained public or social worship. During this early period, it was 
their custom to invite, at irregular intervals, some Presbyterian 
minister resident this side of the Allegheny mountains, to visit 
them and preach a series of sermons, administer the Lord's 
Supper, and baptize their children. Among those who visited 
* By Rev. Winfield E. Hill. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 303 

them and ministered to them, during these early years, were 
Revs. Joseph Smith, John Brice, and Thomas Marquis. Soon 
after the organization of the Presbytery of Ohio, in 1793, per- 
haps the following year, they were formally taken under the 
care of that Presbytery, under the name of the " Flats Church," 
when Messrs. Henry Pittinger, John McMillan and John Edie 
were ordained and installed elders. They were supplied at 
intervals by the foregoing Presbytery until the summer of 1798, 
when they were visited by the Rev. George Scott, of the Pres- 
bytery of New Brunswick, who preached to them and the church 
of Mill Creek until the following spring, as a stated supply. In 
the spring of 1799 they united with Mill Creek in a call for the 
pastoral services of Mr. Scott, and sent a Mr. Doak as commis- 
sioner to prosecute the call before the New Brunswick Presby- 
tery. 

This call was accepted, and he was installed as the pastor of 
these churches in the autumn of 1799, being the first settled 
pastor.* 

In October, 1826, Mr. Samuel Reed became pastor for the 
one-half of his time, in connection with the church of Three 
Springs. This pastorate was dissolved July i, 1829, on account 
of the mental derangement of Mr. Reed. 

During the summer of the following year, they were visited 
by Rev. John Hales, who remained with them as stated supply 
until the winter of 1830-31, when he was installed pastor by the 
Presbytery of Washington. This pastorate continued until 
April, 1837, and was dissolved on account of the declining 
health of Mr. Hales. 

In the fall of 1837 a call was presented from this church, in 
connection with the church of Three Springs, for the pastoral 
services of Mr, Robert M. White, a licentiate from the Presby- 
tery of New Castle. This call was accepted, and Mr. White was 
ordained and installed on the 28th of December, 1837. This 

* Mr. Scott's pastorate covered a period of more than a quarter of a century, being 
dissolved April, 1826, to enable him to give full time to the church of Mill Creek. 
The most powerful revival that ever visited this church occurred during his ministry, 
beginning in the year 1822, and continuing for two or three years, during which time 
over one hundred were received into the communion of the Church, increasing the 
membership to over two hundred. 



304 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

pastorate continued eleven years, being dissolved October i, 1848. 
During this time over three hundred persons were received into 
the Church — two hundred and forty being on profession of 
their faith. 

Mr. J. S. Pomeroy, a Hcentiate from the Presbytery of Beaver, 
began his ministry in this church July i, 1849, and was ordained 
and installed pastor in the spring of 1850. This pastorate term- 
inated in April, 1 871, including a period of nearly twenty-two 
years. Several memorable revivals of religion occurred during 
Mr. Pomeroy's ministry, notably in the winter of 1852-53, when 
one hundred persons were received into the communion of the 
Church on profession of their faith. 

Rev. J. H. Stevenson succeeded to the pastorate from May, 
1873 to June, 1875 inclusive. 

Rev. R. B. Porter was pastor from April i, 1876, to April I, 
1879. 

Rev. Winfield E. Hill, the present pastor, began his ministry 
in this church the first Sabbath of October, 1879, and was in- 
stalled in May, 1 880. It may be mentioned as a curious coinci- 
dence, that Mr. Hill is a son of Sanford C. Hill, who was born 
within the pale of this church and a baptized member thereof, 
and a grandson of Roger Hill, one of the original members and 
one of the original elders-elect, but who declined to accept the 
office. 

The present membership of the church is 245. At different 
periods in its history it has exceeded 300. 

The Sabbath-school was organized the first Sabbath in Octo- 
ber, 1 8 19. According to a published report in the Pittsburgh 
Recorder o{ October 18, 1823, " With seventy scholars and seven 
teachers, but during the four years following increased at times 
to 150 or 160." We quote further from the foregoing report: 
" During these four years the total number of Scriptural verses, 
and psalm and hymn verses committed and recited is 81,746; 
Shorter Catechism questions, 5,639." From the time of its or- 
ganization until the present, it has never ceased to meet regularly 
throughout the year. The present enrollment is 170, with an 
average attendance of about one hundred. 

Three houses of worship have served this congregation dur- 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 



305 



ing its history. The first was a log structure built sometime 
before the present century ; the second was a frame erected . 
about the year 1808 ; the third, a large and substantial brick, with 
a seating capacity of between five and six hundred, first occu- 
pied in the fall of 1839, ^^'^ which has served the congregation 
until the present. It may be added, the initiatory steps have 
been taken towards the building of a new house of worship, an 
object, it is confidently expected, that will in due time be ac- 
complished. 

The following is a list of the elders from the organization of 
the church until the present so far as they could be ascertained, 
arranged as nearly as possible chronologically, or in the order 
of their installation : Henry Pittinger, John McMillan, John 
Edie, John Pittinger, Hugh Sproule, Sr., Thomas Cameron, Abra- 
ham Prosser, Robert Moore, Thomas Elder, Andrew Henderson, 
Thomas Atkinson, John Scott, Samuel McLane, William Flane- 
gin, James H. Pugh, Joseph W. Silverthorn, A. J, Moore, J. H. 
Harper, Joseph W. Allison, A. McC. Planegin, Hugh Pugh, 
Abraham Pittinger, Robert W. Pugh, David M. Wylie, Samuel 
Allison, Joseph Moore, Harper M. Ralston, Morgan H. Miller, 
Morgan Headley, Ebenezer Langfitt, R. Anderson Shay, and 
William Devers. 

The present board of ruling elders is as follows : A. McC, 
Flanegin, Joseph Moore, Robert W. Pugh, Abraham Pittinger, 
Morgan H. Miller, Ebenezer Langfit, R. Anderson Shay, Wil- 
liam Devers. 

The following are the acting deacons : Jason Hart, Peter A. 
Pugh, Samuel Swearingen, John Pittinger, J. Smiley Stewart, 
Van. B. Bernard, Joseph Miller. 

For more than twenty years Mr. Samuel Moore has been 
treasurer and congregational clerk, filling these positions most 
acceptably for the church. 

The following is a complete list of Sabbath school superintend- 
ents — in the order of succession, together with the years of ser- 
vice as nearly as could be determined: Robert Mylar, 1819; 

Wm. Murray, 1820; Jno. McMillan, 1821; Robert Mylar, ; 

Thomas Elder, ; Robert Moore, ; Thomas Elder, 

; Wm. Flanegin, 1847-50; Thomas Elder, 185 1 — ; John 

20 



3o6 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

M. Todd, 1858; A. McC. Flanegin, ;J. H. Harper, 1867-70; 

A. McC. Flanegin, 1871 ; J. H. Harper, 1872-73; A. McC. 
Flanegin, 1874; J. W. Allison, 1875-76; A. McC. Flanegin, 
1877; J. W. Allison, 1878; A. McC. Flanegin, 1879-82; A. 
Pittinger, 1883; W. C. Tolton, 1884; M. H. Miller, 1885 ; W. 
E. Hill, 1886; V. B. Bernard, 1887-88. 

This church has given at least ten of her sons to the ministry 
of Christ, all occupying Presbyterian pulpits, namely: Nicholas 
Pittinger, licensed 1803; John Moore, D.D , licensed 1845; 
Moses Coulter, missionary to China, licensed 1850; Robert 
Johnston, licensed 1848 ; Mervin Johnston, licensed 1848; George 
Scott, licensed 1859; (^^^ foregoing all deceased); James M. 
Newell, pastor Presbyterian Church of Santa Clara, Cal., licensed 
1867; Joseph H. Ralston, pastor Presbyterian Church of Wor- 
cester, Mass., licensed 1878; John B Pomeroy, Synodical Mis- 
sionary, Synod South Dakota, licensed 1879; Obadiah T. Lang- 
fitt, pastor Presbyterian Church of West Liberty, Iowa, licensed 

1883. 

WASHINGTON, FIRST.* 

This church was formally organized in the winter of 1793-94, 
following shortly the organization of the Presbytery of Ohio, and 
the erection of the " Stone Academy," still the central structure 
of the " Old College." Both of these events took place in the 
previous summer, and doubtless operated as incentives. Until 
then, the Presbyterians of the town and vicinity held their mem- 
bership in the church of Chartiers, under the pastoral care of the 
Rev. John McMillan, D.D. By a temporary arrangement, how- 
ever, S(irvices were conducted, as opportunity offered, in the 
court-house, by occasional supplies. The first historical recog- 
nition of constant preaching appears in the application to the 
Presbytery of Redstone, December 30, 1785, for the stated ser- 
vices of Alexander Addison, then a licentiate of the Presbytery 
of Aberlow, Scotland, and afterwards a distinguished judge. At 
the organization of the church in 1793, Messrs. Andrew Swear- 
ingen, Joseph Wherry, Robert Stockton and William McCombs 
were chosen and ordained as ruling elders, and Mr. James 
Welsh, a licentiate of the Presbytery of Transylvania, was secured 
* By Rev. James I. Brownson, D.D. 




"■■"C-KL Vfc*'^ 



"SORGE B*!'''-^^ 



*"« HENDS»* 




''JffK wii.e'' ■ 






^''O.,,, M'K^^'- 




^•^Ks o, ACtt*-*^'^ 



'■"•'■UH DAV^ 



Ruling Elders, Washington 1st. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 307 

as stated supply for one year. After this, the church was obliged 
to depend upon the temporary services of members of Presbytery 
and other ministers not settled, until the spring of 1805, when 
the Rev. Matthew Brown began his labors as the first elected 
pastor, and also as principal of the Washington Academy. He 
was installed by the Presbytery, October i6th following. A 
sketch of the life and labors of this distinguished preacher and 
educator, as well as of his several successors, may be found else- 
where in this volume. During his effective service, the church 
was enlarged to a membership of two hundred, the average 
of yearly additions, including several seasons of revival, being 
fifteen. During this pastorate of seventeen years, Messrs. James 
Brice, Josiah Scott, William Sherrard, Hugh Wylie, Thomas 
Stockton, Thomas Officer, Robert Johnston, Thomas Fergus, 
Obadiah Jennings, James Orr and Dr. John Wishart were at 
different times added to the Session. 

By unanimous election, the Rev. Obadiah Jennings, formerly 
a ruling elder, as above stated, succeeded Dr. Brown in the pas- 
torate, in October, 1823, and continued until 1828, when he 
accepted a call to Nashville, Tennessee, and there died in 1832. 
The harvest of Dr. Jennings' earnest labors began at the very 
time of his departure, and continued through the year following. 
A few yet linger among us of the many who were then born into 
the kingdom. During his pastorate, Messrs. Charles Hawkins, 
Robert Colmery, Jacob Slagle, Robert Officer, Adam Weir and 
Alexander Ramsey were added to the Session by election and 
ordination. 

In the autumn of 1829, the Rev. David Elliott, D.D., became 
the pastor, from which relation scarcely any appeal could have 
separated him, short of the call of the General Assembly, which, 
at the end of seven happy and prosperous years, transferred him 
to a Professor's chair in the Western Theological Seminary. He 
left three hundred communicants on the roll, having received an 
annual average of twenty members on examination and sixteen 
on certificate. Messrs. Hugh Fergus and Samuel Vance were 
set apart to the ruling eldership by his hands. 

For a period of twelve years following Dr. Elliott's retirement, 
the church continued to maintain its ground, though with un- 



308 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

usual change in the pastorate. The service of the Rev. Daniel 
Deruelle extended from November, 1837, to October, 1840; that 
of the Rev. James Smith, D.D., from December, 1840, to April, 
1844; that of the Rev. William C. Anderson, D.D., from the 
early winter following to January 9, 1846; and that of the Rev. 
John B. Pinney, LL.D., from January, 1847, to April, 1848. Each 
of these brethren did good service for Christ in his turn, and 
received tokens of divine blessing upon his labors. The inter- 
vals of vacancy were ably filled by that eminent servant of God, 
the Rev. David McConaughey, D.D., LL.D., then President 
of Washington College. 

It was under Dr. Pinney's pastorate that Messrs. George 
Baird, Joseph Henderson, James Boon and the Hon. Robert R. 
Reed, M.D., were set apart as rulers in the Lord's house. At 
the same time, Messrs. John Wilson, Isaac Hewitt, John K. 
Wilson and John Grayson, Jr., were made deacons. 

The pastorate of the Rev. James I. Brownson, D.D., dates, in 
fact, from January i, 1849, though his formal installation, by a 
committee of the Presbytery of Washington, did not occur until 
the first day of May following. Its fortieth anniversary was 
duly celebrated, at the opening of the present year, by appro- 
priate exercises, in commemoration of the divine goodness and 
grace, and of the mutual good will of the pastor and people, and 
their cordial co-operation, through this whole period. Its con- 
tinuance is heartily committed to the sovereignty of the Head 
of the Church. Its history can be best given in sections, ac- 
cording to subjects. 

The Growth and Membership of the Church, of course, 
claims the first place. The pastor at his coming found a con- 
stituency of 125 families and 277 communicants. The additions 
during these forty years have been 749 by original profession, 
and 694 by certificate, making an aggregate of 1,443, ^"^^ an an- 
nual average of 36. This number added to the membership at 
the beginning gives a roll of 1,720 communicants, who have been 
under the present pastor's care. Subtracting now our present 
number, 439, it appears that 1,281 have gone from us by death, 
or removal to other places, within the same period, or an annual 
average of about 32. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 309 

Within these two-score years, the rite of baptism has been ad- 
ministered to 562 infants and 155 adults; 354 couples have, 
within the same period, been united in marriage by the pastor ; 
42 young men (about one-third of whom have come from families 
of our own church and the rest from the college) have confessed 
Christ among us in the Holy Supper, and afterwards entered 
the ministry; and 32 young ladies of our communion have in 
these years, as appears from the pastor's record, been called to 
be wives of ministers. 

Sabbath-School. — Our Sabbath-school was organized June 
15, 1 8 16, and has continued without suspension until now. It 
has a very gratifying record of faithful work for Christ, with 
many tokens of usefulness, not the least of which is seen in the 
fact that immediately from its classes, 271 pupils have gone to 
the communion-table under the present pastorate. It now has 
an enrollment, in its different departments, of 440 scholars and 
23 teachers, besides six officers. James C. Acheson, Esq., has 
entered his twenty-fifth year as the successful Superintendent, 
having followed the lamented Dr. Robert R. Reed, whose death, 
December 14, 1864, terminated a like most faithful service 
of twenty-six years. 

Church Accommodations have a fair place in this history. 
The first church building was erected just after the settlement 
of the first pastor, in 1805. With a capacity of from five to 
six hundred sittings, it fulfilled its purpose until September 11, 
185 1, when the first structure on the present site, fully one- 
third larger, or ninety by sixty-three feet in dimensions, was 
dedicated to divine service. It was taken down and rebuilt, ex- 
cept the basement, in 1868 ; and the new building was set apart 
in like manner, March 27, 1869, the cost of the reconstruction, 
furniture, etc., being about ^22,000. A handsome and com- 
modious chapel was added, at a cost of ^^ 10,500, in 1886, 
and dedicated March 19, 1887. An extension of the main 
building, at the southern end, followed the next year, at a cost 
of ^1250, which now contains a fine new church organ and ac- 
commodations for the choir, immediately behind the pulpit ; 
and also a neat " study " for the pastor in its lower story. These 
advancements have given us a church property with excel- 



3IO THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

lent facilities, worth, at the present valuation, not less than 
;^5o,ooo. 

The Religious Benefactions claim a leading place among 
the church activities. Beside all that has been necessary for 
self-support, the church has steadily advanced in gifts to the 
various agencies of evangelization established from time to 
time by the General Assembly, and to such other causes as 
commended themselves. For some years past the system of a 
collection for Christian beneficence, every Lord's day, with pro- 
portionate distribution under a fixed scale, among the several 
sanctioned objects, has been satisfactorily practiced. For some 
years prior to 1849 the average of gifts per member for such 
purposes was ^2.50. At the quarter-century celebration of the 
present pastorate, at the opening of 1874, with an increased 
membership, the average was ^4.25 for that period. For the 
past fifteen years the like average has been ^5.68. For the 
year ending April i, 1888, it amounted to ^11.67, which was 
due in part to the special appeals of the " Centennial Year." 

The sources of these beneficent funds, besides moderate, spe- 
cial and occasional personal gifts, have been chiefly three, viz. : 
church collections, contributions from missionary organizations 
(especially of females) and contributions from the Sabbath- 
school. Tlie aggregate of gifts to the Lord, though far from 
what it should be, has been steadily increasing, as the general 
work of evangelization has advanced, with new fields, new 
methods and new light, ever opening to the church. Imper- 
fectly yet, but more and more, has our call been felt to go in 
spirit and work with our brethren in the Lord, who have gone 
into the vast destitutions of our own land, including the needs 
of our savage tribes and the freedmen of the South, and with 
not a (ew of them — also " into all the world " to " preach the 
gospel to every creature." 

Precious names, both of the dead and the living, link us to this 
sacred cause. Those of Mr. and Mrs. William McCombs, and Mr, 
and Mrs. John McClintock, carry us back to their devotion to 
the work in Smyrna, in 1836, though unforeseen difficulties 
suspended the mission, and held them to consecrated service in 
the field at home. Our Mrs. Julia McGififin Hamilton, Mrs. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 3II 

Theressa Dennis McKinney, Miss Mary H. McKean and Miss 
Flora Lee are gratefully recalled as having gone from our com- 
munion table to expend the strength of their lives for Christ, in 
behalf of the Western Indians. The like devotion led Misses 
Mary Garrett and Flora Bausman to the emancipated slaves. 
Nor have we forgotten that Mrs. Elizabeth Ewing Speer, now 
again among us, went with her husband, Dr. W. Speer, after 
their marriage, in 1852, when, in view of his previous service in 
China, he was appointed by the board to carry the same gospel 
to the incoming Chinese on our Pacific Coast. We may not 
claim space to name the home missionaries, male and female, 
who have nobly represented us in the Western States and ter- 
ritories. Mr. and Mrs. Cornes, who went to instant death by 
the explosion of a steamer in the harbor of Yokohama ; Miss 
Lucinda Crouch (now Mrs. Leaman), who went as a teacher to 
China in 1873; Mr. and Mrs. Clemens in Africa; Dr. and Mrs. 
A. G. McFarland in Siam ; the three Newtons, Joseph P. Gra- 
ham, James M. Alexander, James I. Hull and Dr. J. C. R. and 
Mrs. Ewing in India; Dr. A. L. Blackford in Brazil ; and Ander- 
son O. Forbes in the Sandwich Islands, all were identified with 
us in church fellowship, in the course of their education, and at 
least four of them first confessed Christ in our company. And 
now our latest offering has been made in the persons of the 
Rev. William B. and Clara Linton Hamilton,* both spiritual 
children of our church, who are just about to sail for Chinanfu, 
China, the place of their destination, as witnesses for Christ 
and for us to the perishing heathen. 

Some of these dear brethren and sisters have gone up to 
their glorious reward from lands of idolatry, and some are toil- 
ing and enduring still, but they all have held our warmest 
sympathies and prayers. 

A desire from outside the church itself is hesitatingly ful- 
filled in appending to this history the list of young men who 

* Since the above was written, and before its publication, the sad news lias come 
to us with crushing power, that our beloved young Mrs. Hamilton was called in death 
to meet her Lord and receive her crown, just six weeks after the arrival of her hus- 
band and herself at Chinanfu. This event occurred January 10, 1889, following a 
confinement to bed of five days. The Lord chose her song in glory, rather than the 
earthly service to which she had devoted herself with an undivided heart, J. I. B. 



312 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

first confessed Christ in our fellowship and then devoted them- 
selves to the ministry. The following have thus gone from the 
families of the church, viz. : John L. Hawkins, John Stockton, 
D.D., Hugh A. Koontz, James W. McKennan, D.D., Abner 
Leonard, George Gordon, John McClintock, Joseph Gordon, 
William Evving, Ph.D., Hugh O. Rosborough, Samuel J. Wil- 
son, D.D. LL.D., Alexander Reed, D.D., George K. Scott, 
Bernard W. Slagle, Marcus Wishart, Joseph Vance, D.D., Wil- 
liam H. Hartsell, Samuel T. Davis. Edward P. Hawes, Edward 
P, Lewis, George W. Riggle, William B. Reed, George P. Wil- 
son, Marcus A. Brownson and Wm. B. Hamilton. The follow- 
ing, also, have come from other places as students of the col- 
lege, have been received into our church on profession of their 
faith, and here realized their call into the ministry, viz. : John 
W. Scott, D.D., James Anderson, D.D., Wm. H. McGuffey, 
D.D., LL.D., David Chesnut, Thomas Cratty, Wm. D. Mc- 
Cartney, William McCombs, James Smith, John D. Whitham, 
James H. Dinsmore, D.D., Andrew M. Hershey, Clement V. 
McKaig, D D., Obadiah H. Miller, Thomas M. Newell, Samuel 
M. Templeton, John M. Faris, David McCombs, John M. Bon- 
nell, Andrew Barr, John Y. Calhoun, Edgar Woods, Robert P.- 
Bunting, D.D., William V. Milligan, D.D., Wm. E. Ijams, 
James F. Craig,* R. Boyd Jack,* John Watson Hughes,* 
Richard Carson, Wm. W. Anderson, Wm. A. Ramsey, David 
W. Clark, John P. P. Stockton, Henry G. Blayney, J. McC. 
Blayney, Robert B. Farrar, George Newell, William B. Faris, 
Daniel W. Townsend, Alexander H. Marshall, D.D., David H. 
Sloan, D.D., James S. Ramsey, D.D., C. Morris Wines, Silas 
Cook, Joseph P. Graham, Joseph A. Donahey, Martin L. E. 
Donahey, Robert Smith, John C. Ely. Of this whole number 
ten of the first class and twenty-one of the second belonged to 
the period before the commencement of the present pastorate. 

To this list quite a number could be added of dear brethren 
who went home from revival scenes here to confess Christ 
among their friends, and also laid their lives upon the altar of 
the ministry. A still larger list than that given above would 
contain the precious names of those who came to us by letter 

* Died before completion of studies. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 313 

and bore away our deepest interest into their work in the gos- 
pel. 

Organization. — The church was organized in 1793, and its 
present officers are as follows, viz. : 

Rev. James I. Brownson, D.D., pastor, settled Jan. i, 1849. 

Riding Elders. — Thos. McKennan, M.D., ordained 1859; 
Jas. C. Acheson (clerk of session), ordained 1864; Thomas Mc- 
Kean, ordained 1864; William Davis, ordained 1869; William 
Paul, ordained 1869; M. Wilson McClane, ordained 1869 
John Vance, ordained 1878; Dunning Hart, ordained 1883 
John Aiken, ordained 1883; Jos. F. McFarland, ordained 1883 
James K. Mitchell, ordained 1883. 

Deacons. — Geo. Davis, ordained 1868; Saml. M. Charlton 
(treasurer benevolent funds), 1871 ; Jonathan Allison, installed 
1887; Joseph L. Thistle, M.D., ordained 1887; Edward Cul- 
bertson, ordained 1887. 

Trustees. — Colin M. Reed, Jr., president; Jas. W. McDow- 
ell, secretary ; Alex. M. Brown, treasurer ; Nelson Vankirk, 
A. G. Happen 

The organizations for church work are as follows, viz. : 

Foreign Missions. — Sewing Society, Ladies' Foreign Mis- 
sionary Society, Cornes Band, Young Ladies' Band, Seminary 
Band, Boys' Missionary Society (" Standard Bearers ") and 
Girls' Missionary Society ("June Rose Buds.") 

Home Missions — Woman's Home Mission Society and 
Young People's Home Missionary Society. 

Society of Christian Endeavor. — Organized in 1888, and 
growing in number and usefulness. 

* UNITY (GREENE COUNTY, PA.) 

This church was organized August 27, 18 14, by a committee 
of the Presbytery of Ohio, consisting of Rev. John Anderson, 
D.D., and Rev. Joseph Stevenson. It was one of the churches 
included in the Presbytery of Washington at its erection in 1819. 

Pastors and Stated Supplies.— From the time of organiza- 
tion to 1828 the church had only occasional supplies appointed 
by Presbytery. From 1828 until about 1844, or later, the 

* By Rev. W. F. Hamilton. 



314 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

churches of Unity and Wolf Run were united in the support of 
a minister, each receiving one-half time. During this period the 
succession was as follows : Rev. Abner Leonard, stated supply, one 
year; Rev. W. D. Smith, 1831-33; Rev. Samuel Moody, 1834; 
Rev. John Knox, 1835 ; Rev. James Fleming, stated supply ; Rev. 
John D. Whitham, 1841-43 ; Rev. Alex. McCarrell, 1844. About 
this time Unity and Claysville united in supporting Mr. McCarrell. 
When he ceased preaching at Unity, it united with the newly- 
organized church of Waynesburg, and they were supplied suc- 
cessively by Rev. Messrs. H. O. Rosborough, J. Y. Calhoun and 
John Miller. In 1854 Rev. Samuel Jeffery began labor in these 
churches, and continued to supply them with great acceptance 
and success until his death in 1859. Subsequently Rev. James 
A. Ewing and Rev. William Jeffery each served as stated supply 
one year. Rev. William Hanna preached from 1862 to 1864, 
and was succeeded by William S. Vancleve, a licentiate of Pres- 
byter)', 1865-67. The union with Waynesburg having ter- 
minated. Unity was supplied by Rev. Samuel Graham from 1 869 
to 1872, and by Rev. J. B. Stevenson from 1873 to 1875. From 
1876 to 1 88 1 Unity was united with Cameron as one pastoral 
charge under Rev. R. B. Farrar. Since that time it has been' 
supplied partly by appointment of Presbytery. Rev. William 
Hanna served for a few years as stated supply. Rev. Samuel 
Graham is now serving in that capacity. 

Ruling Elders. — David Gray, installed 18 14, died April 5, 
1822; Jacob Rickey, installed 1814, died December i, 1822; 
Moses Dinsmore, installed 18 14, died April 3, 1836, aged fifty- 
three; Francis Braddock, installed 1814, died March 25, 1856, 
aged seventy-seven; Abraham C. Rickey, installed 1837, died 
July 28, 1880; Francis Braddock, Jr., installed 1837, entered the 
ministry 1845 ; Obadiah Vancleve, installed 1837, removed soon 
after to Waynesburg ; Thomas Dinsmore, installed 1837, died 
March 3, 1862, aged eighty-six; William Loughridge, installed 
1856, died April 16, 1867, aged ninety-five; David Braddock, 
installed 1856; John Carter, installed 1856; John Reed, installed 
1856, removed in 1872 to West Alexander; J. H. Braddock, in- 
stalled 1873; Hamilton Teagarden, installed 1873; Daniel Clut- 
ter, installed 1873; died July i, 1881 ; Thomas Henderson, in- 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 315 

stalled 1878; had been an elder previously in the State of 
Iowa. 

Houses of Worship. — The congregation first worshipped in 
a log school-house. In 1840 a frame structure, 45x50 feet, 
costing about ;^700, was built. It was burned in 1879, and the 
same year a new building was erected in Graysville. Its cost 
was ^2250, of which the Board of Church Erection gave ;^350. 
It is 34x54 feet, and seats three hundred persons. It was dedi- 
cated June 20, 1880. 

Sabbath-school was first conducted by Francis Braddock, 
Sr., in the old log school-house. It has been sustained to the 
present time with a considerable measure of interest and success. 

Spiritual History. — The general condition of this church 
has been unfavorably affected by the frequent change of minis- 
ters. But several seasons of marked interest have occurred. 
During the ministry of Rev. Samuel Jeffery, and subsequently 
in 1869, 1876 and 1880, seasons of revival came, bringing in, on 
some occasions, as many as twenty converts. 

Candidates. — Nine persons from this church have studied for 
the ministry, viz. : Francis, Cyrus and Joseph Braddock, sons of 
Francis Braddock, Sr., ruling elder; Robert S., Francis B., 
Thomas H., John, Moses and William Dinsmore, sons of Moses 
Dinsmore, ruling elder; and James Lynn Reed, son of John 
Reed, ruling elder. 

EAST BUFFALO.* 

The time when this church was formally organized cannot be 
definitely ascertained. The sessional records prior to 1864 have 
been lost. The earliest mention of this church, ecclesiastically, 
is in the minutes of the Synod of Pittsburgh, where the Presby- 
tery of Ohio reports Rev. Thomas Hoge as stated supply at 
Upper Ten-mile and East Buffalo in the year 181 8, one year 
previous to the formation of the Presbytery of Washington It 
must have had some kind of existence prior to that time, and 
cotemporary with a German Lutheran organization that wor- 
shipped at the same place till near 1840, and both occupying to 
some extent the same house of worship. It was, doubtless, to 

* By A. S. Eagleson. 



3l6 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

accommodate both these elements that existed in the neighbor- 
hood, that induced Hardman Horn, Lawrence Streker and 
Michael Ely to make a joint deed, which is recorded in Book S, 
Vol. I, pages 402 and 403, Records of Washington County, Pa., 
to the " German Societies of this neighborhood being of the 
Presbyterian and [?] Church persuasion," for the sum of five 
shillings, conveying certain boundaries containing three acres 
(one acre from each), " for the use of school-house, meeting- 
house and burying-ground, forever." This deed was made 
March 5, 1802. 

In the above-mentioned deed the word "Lutheran" must 
have been omitted by the person who wrote it, for vv'e find in 
the deed of Lawrence Streker's executors to William Brownlee, 
and dated June 12, 1820, the following: "excepting and reserv- 
ing at all times one acre of said land for the Presbyterian and 
Lutheran meeting-house, best known as Wolf's meeting-house." 
This last name, no doubt, came from Wolf's Fort, and people of 
that name, which were in the immediate vicinity of this Church. 
Both organizations existed within the memory of some yet living 
and members of this church. 

This church was granted a charter of incorporation by the 
Court of Washington County, Pa., on the 17th of August, 
A. D. 1869, as "East Buffalo Presbyterian Church (Old 
School)." 

Ministers. — Thomas Hoge was received as a licentiate from 
the Presbytery of Tyrone, Ireland, by the Presbytery of Ohio, 
on the 17th of April, 1816; was ordained on the 21st of Janu- 
ary, 1 8 17; and in 18 18 was reported as stated supply at Upper 
Ten-mile and East Buffalo. 

By Presbytery of Washington, in 18 19, he is reported as stated 
supply at East Buffalo alone ; and in 1820, stated supply at East 
Buffalo and Claysville. Presbytery of Washington met at East 
Buffalo, June 26, 1821, and on the 27th Mr. Hoge was installed 
pastor of the united churches of East Buffalo and Claysville, 
and the relation as pastor continued till October 6, 1825, and 
Mr. Hoge was dismissed to the Presbytery of Baltimore. 

He was again received from the Presbytery of Ohio, and be- 
came stated supply at Claysville, and preached at East Buffalo, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 317 

until about 1832, and was dismissed to the Presbytery of Phila- 
delphia in 1835. 

Rev. W. P. Alrich was received as a licentiate from the Pres- 
bytery of New Castle, December 20, 1831, and was ordained 
April 17, 1832, and appears on the records of Presbytery as 
stated supply that year at East Buffalo — reporting the member- 
ship of the church as twenty-five at that time. He continued to 
minister to this church until the early part of 1864. There was 
quite a revival under his ministry about the years 1856-57. He 
was, during all this time. Professor in Washington College. 

Dr. Alrich was succeeded by the Rev. James Black, D.D., also 
a professor in the Washington College, about October i, 1864, 
and continued in that relation until August 2, 1868, when he 
accepted the presidency of the Iowa State University. 

Rev. W. J. Alexander began his ministrations to this church 
about the ist of October, 1868, and was elected pastor on the 
1 2th, and labored faithfully, intending to accept the call, until 
his death, January 20, 1869. An interesting revival and an ad- 
dition of sixteen was the result of his three months service. 

On the loth of April, 1869, a call was made for the Rev. R. 
S. Morton, who began his ministrations May 23d, and was in- 
stalled pastor June 28, 1869. He continued pastor until Janu- 
ary, 1 87 1, when he resigned. 

Rev. Henry Woods, D.D., then and still a professor in Wash- 
ington and Jefferson College, succeeded Rev. Morton in January, 
1 87 1, and still continues his ministrations to this church. Two 
interesting revivals have occurred during his ministry, the first 
during the winter of 1878 and 1879, when nearly seventy were 
added to the church, increasing its membership to about one 
hundred and forty-five, and the other during the winter of 1886 
and 1887, when eighteen were added to the church roll. The 
present membership is one hundred and forty-one. 

The following persons served this church as elders, and have 
gone to their reward : Joseph Donahey, Sr., Archibald Brownlee, 
Martin Ely, James Mitchel, James Thompson, Joseph Donahey, 
Jr., Joseph Clark and Joseph Vankirk. John G. Clark and 
James Rankin are living and connected with other churches. 
The present members of session are Elisha Ely and Joseph C. 



3l8 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Johnson, who were elected in 1855 ; Israel Weirich and Andrew 
S. Eagleson, installed September 15, 1867; William C. Ramsey 
and John H. Vankirk, inducted into office November 29, 1885. 

The present Sabbath-school officers are, Superintendent, A. 
S. Eagleson ; Assistant Superintendent, Joseph C. Johnson. 

A Woman's Foreign Missionary Society was organized Sep- 
tember, 1877, with twenty-one members. It has been kept up 
with very few changes in the membership until the present time. 
In the first years of its existence the amount raised annually for 
the work was about forty dollars. For several years past the 
contributions have reached an average of double that sum. The 
society is now organized for both home and foreign missionary 
work, and is gaining in interest and usefulness. 

The first house of worship was a log building, and was occu- 
pied jointly by the Lutherans and Presbyterians. The second 
was of brick, built by the Presbyterians about 1836. The third 
house, also of brick, was erected in 1880, and dedicated March 
27, 1881. 

Rev. John C. Ely, of Xenia, Ohio, Rev. Robert W. Ely, of 

Neosho, Missouri, and Licentiate Edwin S Brownlee, are sons 

of this church. 

CLAYSVILLE.* 

The Claysville Church was organized September 20, 1820, by 
Rev. Thomas Hoge. The two original elders were Joseph 
Donahey, Sr., and Archibald Brownlee. The original members 
were Barnett Bonar and his wife Jane, Joseph Henderson and 
his wife Mary, Widow McGuffin, Thomas Stewart and his wife 
Mary, Catherine Gemmell, Martha Morrow, Martha Gamble, 
Margaret Miller, Andrew Bell and his wife Mary Ann, Samuel 
Gilmore and his wife Anne. 

The pastors and stated supplies have been as follows : Thomas 
Hoge, stated supply, 1820-22; pastor, 1822-26; stated supply, 
1826-28; Appointments by Presbytery, 1828-30; Thos. Hoge, 
pastor, 1830-35; Peter Hassinger, pastor, 1836-39; John Knox, 
stated supply, 1840-41; Wm. Wright, stated supply, 1841-42; 
David McConaughy, D.D., stated supply, Joseph Gordon, stated 
supply, John Miller, stated supply, 1842-46; Alexander McCar- 
* By Rev. Frank Fish. 




Ruling Elders, Claysville. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 319 

rell, D.D., stated supply, 1846-52 ; pastor, 1852-81 ; Jas. L. Lee- 
per, pastor, 1882-86; Frank Fish, pastor, 1886 — . 

Ruling Elders. — Joseph Donahey, Sr., September 20, 1820; 
Archibald Brownlee, September 20, 1820; Thomas Stewart, 
November 26, 1820; Barnett Bonar, November 26, 1820-35, 
withdrew from the church ; Dr. John Hair, November 28, 1824, 
died April 15, 1841. (All these above, except Mr. Bonar, were 
active in 1835, when there is a break in the record, and were all 
gone in 1845, when the record begins again.) Wm. McLain, 
February 5, 1832 to March 2, 1872, deceased ; George McCona- 
hey, ordained, 1841 to January 19, 1866, deceased; Robert 
Woods, ordained, 1841 to December 26, 1857, dismissed; Hugh 
Craig, March 17, 1850 to November 18, 1854, deceased ; Nicho- 
las Bearly, March 17, 1850 to 1862, withdrew 1862; John Hoon, 
March 17, 1850 to April 23, 1864, dismissed; Alex. K. Craig, 
April 19, 1857, still serving (1889): Joseph Donahey, Jr., June 
21, 1857 to March 28, 1859, deceased; John McLain, June i, 
1863, still serving; Thomas S. Irwin, June i, 1863 to July 13, 
1888, deceased; John Sawhill, June 27, 1869 to August 30, 1887, 
deceased; Thomas Henderson, June 27, 1869 to November 21, 
1883, deceased; Franklin P. Scott, M.D , June 27, 1869 to De- 
cember 4, 1873, dismissed; Hugh McClelland, June 27, 1869 to 
January 5, 1885, deceased; Thomas Ritezel, December 23, 1883, 
still serving ; John A. Dickey, December 23, 1883, still serving; 
joirR. McLain, December 23, 1883, still serving; Dr. George 
Inglis, December 23, 1883, still serving; Andrew W.Hender- 
son, December 23, 1883, still serving; James McKee, Decem- 
ber 23, 1883, still serving. 

The first place of preaching was a wooden tent erected in the 
summer of 1820, in which the gospel was preached to congrega- 
tions of one hundred and fifty, two hundred and fifty, and some- 
times many more. 

The first building was a frame church on the site of the present 
school-house. The next building was the one still used, which 
was built in 1830, at a cost of two thousand dollars, one-third of 
which was raised by Rev. Thomas Hoge, the pastor. This 
building was repaired in 1876. The present and only parsonage 
was built in 1882, at a cost of twenty-five hundred dollars. 



320 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

The most prominent revivals, judging from the number of 
accessions, were those ot 1830, when fifteen were received into 
the Church at one time, on profession of faith, and eight by let- 
ter; 1856, when twenty were received on profession, and two by 
letter ; 1 867, when thirty were received on profession, and one 
by letter; 1883, when eighteen were received at one time on 
profession, and one by letter, and 1889, with about a score of 
accessions. In two years, between February, 1876, and February, 
1878, forty-five were received on profession, and six by letter. 
In the one year of 1883 forty-four were received on profession, 
and five by letter. 

The missionary spirit, at least within the last ten years, has 
been considerable. There are now in active and fruitful opera- 
tion a Woman's Foreign Missionary Society, a Woman's Home 
Missionary Society, a Young Ladies' Foreign Missionaiy So- 
ciety, and a Girls' Home Missionary Society. 

The Claysville Church has given eight of her sons to the 
ministry, namely, Rev. Hugh K. Craig, whose ideas on baptism 
led him to join the Baptist Church, which he served in several 
congregations, and also as president of the Baptist Monongahela 
College of Jefferson, Greene county. Pa., where he did his last- 
work, as he died March 23, 1884; Rev. George W. Birch, D.D., 
now pastor of Bethany Church, New York; Rev. John M. 
Mealy, D.D., now pastor of the Neshannock Church, New Wil- 
mington, Pa. ; Rev. William A. McCarrell, now pastor of the 
church of Shippensburg, Pa. ; Rev. Jos. Jas. McCarrell, now 
pastor of the church of McKeesport, Pa. ; Rev. Thomas C. 
McCarrell, now pastor of the church of Waynesboro, Pa, ; Rev. 
Anthony A. Mealy, now pastor of the Central Church, Pitts- 
burgh, Pa. ; and Rev. Eldon O. Sawhill, now pastor of the church 
of Enon, Pa. 

Four of the daughters of the Claysville Church have married 
ministers, namely, Mrs. Alex. McCarrell, nee Miss Martha Mc- 
Lain, daughter of elder William McLain and sister of John and 
Jos. R. McLain, at present active elders of this church, and the 
devoted and helpful wife of Rev. Alex. McCarrell, D.D., for thirty- 
five years the faithful pastor of this church ; she died June, 1880. 
Mrs. Jos. Jas. McCarrell, nee Miss Elizabeth Birch, daughter of 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 32I 

Hon. John Birch, and wife of Rev. Jos. Jas. McCarrell, of Mc- 
Keesport, Pa.; Mrs. O. T. Langfit, nee Miss Ella V. King, daugh- 
ter of W. C King, Esq., and wife of Rev. O. T. Langfit, of West 
Liberty, Iowa ; and Mrs. Wm. H. Lester, nee Miss Sarah M. 
Anderson, daughter of W. C. Anderson, Esq., and wife of Rev. 
Wm. H. Lester, missionary to Chih, S. A., where she died July 
30, 1884. 

Another daughter of the Claysville Church, Miss Kate G. 
Patterson, has just gone forth (January, 1889,) as a teacher in 
the Nuyaka School for Indians, in Indian Territory. 

The Sabbath-school was organized at an early date in the 
history of the church, though for many years as a union school, 
under the superintendency of 'Squire James Noble. The later 
superintendents have been as follows: Alex. K. Craig, 1862-76; 
Thaddeus C. Noble, 1877-82; Hon. Jos. R. McLain, 1883-84; 
George Y. Holmes, 1885-87; William A. Irwin, 1888-. 

Number of officers in 1888, 6; teachers, 13 ; scholars, 167. — 
Total enrollment in school, 186. 

The membership in 1820 was 17; in 1833, 133; in 1846,62- 
in 1881, 250; in 1884, 228, and in 1888, 242. 

The contributions were, in 1884, missionary ^608, and congre- 
gational 1^1756; in 1888, missionary ;^852, and congregational 
^1376. 

The salary paid Rev. Alex, McCarrell, D.D., was small at first, 
but gradually advanced to ^800, as the congregation increased 
in strength. 

The salary offered Rev. James L. Leeper, in his call, 1882, was 
twelve hundred dollars, payable monthly, with the use of the 
parsonage. 

The same salary was given to Rev. Frank Fish, in his call, 
1886. 

Biographical. — John McLain, a son of William McLain, was 
born December 21, 1806. Has been an elder for twenty-six 
years. 

Alex. K. Craig, a son of Hugh Craig, and son-in-law of Wm. 
McLain, was born February, 1828. Has been an elder thirty- 
two years. For forty years has been leader of the choir. Was 
superintendent of Sabbath-school fifteen years — 1862-77, 
21 



32 2 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 



MOUNT PROSPECT* 

This church, having its house of worship in Washington 
County, Pa., ten miles north of the town of Washington, was 
organized about the year 1825. It originated in the desire of 
the people living in that neighborhood to have a church nearer 
their homes. Some of the leading families that were interested 
in the new enterprise were those of William Hughes, John 
Cowen, William Simpson, Robert Marshall, Robert Wallace, 
Saml. Moore, Chas. Campbell, David McGugin, Simeon 
Haynes, Archy Stewart, Hugh McConaughey, David Lyle, 
George Campbell, John White and Samuel Jewell, all of whom 
were long distances from the already established churches of 
Upper Buffalo, Cross Creek, Raccoon and Miller's Run. These 
persons, whose names are given above, and their families, along 
with others no doubt, of whom no certain knowledge can be 
obtained now, constituted the first membership of the church. 
More than three years elapsed before the congregation saw its 
way clear to call a pastor, but in the fall of 1828 it called Rev, 
David Hervey, who was installed December 3, 1828, and was 
the first pastor of the congregation. His pastorate in that 
church continued a little more than six years, and was dissolved 
by presbytery April 23, 1835. The next pastoral settlement 
was that of Rev. John Moore, beginning April i, 1837, and con- 
tinuing till the third Wednesday of April, 1845, a little more 
than eight years. His successor in the pastoral office was one 
of the church's own sons. Rev. David R. Campbell, who was 
installed soon after the fall meeting of presbytery, in 1849, and 
released about November i, 1855. The next pastor was Rev. 
W. B. Keeling, who was installed in December, 1858, and re- 
leased in September, 1863. Then followed Rev. J. C. Caldwell, 
in a pastorate of one month less than four years, commencing 
September, 1864, and ending August i, 1868. In December 
1868, Rev. R. T. Price became pastor. He was released from 
the charge in January, 1873, and succeeded in the same year 
by the present pastor. Rev. T. R. Alexander, who was elected 

* By Rev. T. R. Alexander. 




Ruling Elders, Mt. Prospect, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 323 

by the congregation in April, took pastoral charge June ist and 
was installed October 10, 1873. 

It will be noticed that there were a number of long vacancies 
in the congregation. During these vacancies the pulpit was 
filled by such ministers as could be secured for one or a few 
days, but not by stated supply, except in one instance, when 
Prof Snyder, of the college at Cannonsburg, supplied the church 
for more than a year. In the list of supplies before the settle- 
ment of the first pastor, we find the names of Revs. McCluskey, 
Mercer, Anderson, Elisha McCurdy, Nesbit, William Smith, 
John Hamilton, Vincent, Hoge, Stockton, Hervey, to which, no 
doubt, others should be added whose names have been lost. 
During the vacancy between 1835 and 1837 occur the 
names of Revs. Knox, Sloan, Weed, Elliot, McCartney, Boggs, 
Kennedy, Moore and Stockton. From 1845 till 1849 were 
Newell, Miller, Moore, Hastings, Nesbitt, Hare, Todd and 
Snyder, whose term as stated supply occurred in this vacancy. 
From 1855 till 1858 occur the names of Revs. Stockton, J. P. 
Fulton, J. S. Pomeroy, Alexander McCarrell, Loyal Young, 
James Fleming, Todd and Dr. R. Campbell. From 1863 till 
1864 occur the names of Stockton, McCaig and Eagleson. In 
1868 mention is made only of Frederick Wotring and D. M. 
Miller. In 1873 there were only two supplies, Revs. R. L. 
Stewart and T. R. Alexander. 

Eldership. — At the organization of the church three elders 
were chosen, all of whom had been acting elders in the churches 
from which they came. These were William Simpson, from 
Miller's Run, and William Hughes and John Cowen from Up- 
per Buffalo. All these men continued to be ruling elders in 
this church till their death. William Hughes died April 17, 
i83i,John Cowen died August 11, 1833 and Wm. Simpson 
died March 20, 1848. In 1828 the session was increased, by the 
election of Charles Campbell, Hugh McConaughey and Andrew 
Farrar. Chas. Campbell died June 4, 1832, and Andrew Far- 
rar November 5th of the same year. Hugh McConaughey 
died November 14, 1874, after having faithfully served as a rul- 
ing elder in his church for forty-six years. In 1834 Robert 
Lyle, who had been an elder at Cross Creek, was elected, and 



324 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

served till his death, in 1843. Probably at the same time with 
Mr. Lyle, Samuel Moore was made an elder, and served till 
his death, in 1848. In the fall of 1848 Wm. M. Campbell and 
Saml. Cowen were added to the session, and in February, 1851, 
James Lee, who had been an elder in the church of Cross 
Creek. Saml. Cowen resigned 1857. James Lee died June 12, 
1867, James Hughes became an elder in 1842, and died March 
12, 1872. March 9, 1859, James Rankin, James F. Hill and 
James McElroy were added to the session. Mr. McElroy and 
Wm. M. Campbell removed in 1861. January 25, 1867, An- 
drew Donaldson and A. V. McGugin were installed. Jas. F. 
Hill removed from the congregation in January, 1869, and re- 
turned, and was re-elected to the eldership in 1877. On the 
17th of December, 1869, J. R. Lyle, A. E. Walker and Wm. 
M. Campbell, who had returned to the congregation, were 
added to the session. The next and last addition up till this 
time was John H. Miller, November 6, 1875. Andrew Donald- 
son died July 12, 1880. A. E. Walker removed from the con- 
gregation in 1876, and James Rankin in 1883, leaving the ses- 
sion to consist at present of Wm. M. Campbell, A. V. McGu- 
gin, J. R. Lyle, Jas. F. Hill and John H. Miller. 

The congregation has had three houses of worship. The 
first was a frame building, erected immediately after the organi- 
zation of the church, in 1825. The value of the building, as 
we would estimate it now, was about ;^2000, though its actual 
cost was much less than that, owing to the large amount of ma- 
terial given and voluntary work performed. The house was 
built by two members of the congregation ; and when the 
Building Committee settled with Hugh McConaughy, who was 
one of the two workmen, his bill was ;^ 13.08, That building, 
with some additions, served the congregation till 1861. In 186 1 
the second building, a brick one, was erected, at a cost of about 
^8000. On the 23d of March, 1871, it was destroyed by fire, 
and the third or present house built, at a cost of about ;^ 10,000. 
A parsonage was built about 1866, at a cost of about ^^1600, to 
which additions have since been made, costing about ;^700. 

The church has never been blessed with any very great re- 
vivals, and yet it has been much blessed by God's reviving 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 325 

grace. Often there have been special quickenings among 
God's people that were marked, and on a few occasions fairly 
large accessions have followed as a result of such revival. But 
more to be noted than all such occasions is the almost con- 
tinuous evidence of the Spirit's presence in the church and 
blessing upon its life and work. Reviving grace has been given 
to the church, not only a few times, but nearly all the time. 
Many years of its history are marked by its presence. 

The congregation has always taken an interest in the cause of 
missions, and has contributed to it. No special missionary 
work has been done, except such as has been done in the last 
ten years, by the Women's Society. A notable part of their 
special zvork has been to double the contributions of the church 
to the cause of missions. 

Six ministers have gone from the congregation, viz. — D. R. 
Campbell, James Allison, Wm, Fulton, Wm. R. Vincent, David 
Hughes and McNary Forsyth. 

Sabbath-School. — Organized in the spring of 1829. First 
superintendent James Hughes. Membership the first year 
109. Present membership 218 scholars and fifteen teachers. 
Superintendent, E. G. Emery. 

There have been about lOOO persons received into the mem- 
bership of the church. Present membership 225. Salary 
of the first pastor was 1^350 per annum. It has been worked 
up, through a long succession of steps, to ^lOOO, the present 
salary. Has paid in salaries to settled pastors about ;^35,ooo. 
Contributions cannot be reported, because no record has been 
kept, except as it is kept in the Minutes of General Assembly, 
to which we do not have access. Such are the leading facts in 
the history of Mount Prospect Church. 

Biographical.-— Wm. Mason Campbell, son of Charles Camp- 
bell, a former elder, was born 18 16. Married, January 3, 1856, 
to A. E. Mcllvain. Ordained an elder 1848. 

A. V. McGugin, son of David McGugin, one of the pioneer 
members of the church, was born March 29, 1823. Married 
Esther Donaldson, September 25, 1866. Ordained an elder 
January 25, 1867. 

J. R. Lyle was born November 20, 1833. Married Sarah 



326 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Hartford, June 12, 1862. Ordained an elder December 17, 

1869. 

John H. Miller was born April 13, 1838. Married Elizabeth 

J. McCalment, May 18, 1865. Ordained an elder November 6, 

1875. 

WHEELING FIRST.* 

So far as can be ascertained, the first regular preaching by 
any Christian denomination in Wheeling, then a small village, 
was commenced by the Rev. James Hervey, a Presbyterian 
minister about the close of the year 181 2. In that year he was 
licensed to preach the Gospel, and soon afterward began to labor 
in the Forks of Wheeling Church, and in the town of Wheeling 
six miles distant. 

It is said, that when he began preaching in Wheeling, there 
were but three members of the Presbyterian Church in the place. 
He continued to preach for a number of years, on alternate Sab- 
baths, in these two places. Having no house of worship in the 
village, a small house on the corner of Market alley, and some- 
times the Court House, was occupied as the place of meeting, 
But in the meanwhile the population of the town was increasing, 
and then first the Methodists, and next the Episcopalians began 
to arrive, and each to provide for services according to their 
own order. In this state of things it became apparent to the 
Presbyterians that they ought not to remain satisfied without a 
more complete organization, for thus far they had preaching 
only every alternate Sabbath. 

The Rev. William Wylie, then preaching at West Liberty, 
was engaged to supply them the other half of the time in con- 
nection with the Rev. James Hervey. This arrangement seemed 
for the time being to meet the wants of the people, but in the 
end, it brought trouble ; for, as in the Church at Corinth, one 
began to say, " / am of Paul,'' and another, "/ am of Apollos." 
So here, one said, " I am of Hervey," and another, " I am of 
Wylie." 

The Organization of the Church. — In the old Session book 
is the following record: 

" The Presbyterian Congregation in the town of Wheeling was first organized at a 
* By Rev. D. A. CuNNiNnHAM, D.D. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 327 

public meeting held on Thursday evening, September 4, 1823; Col. Archibald 
Woods, chairman, and James H. Forsyth, secretary. The meeting was opened and 
closed with prayer by the Rev. James Hervey." 

" Original trustees, Charles D. Knott, Alexander Caldwell, D. B. Bayless, John 
Laughlin, James H. Forsyth; Thomas Woods, treasurer ; Redick McKee, secretary." 

The congregation was thus organized under a Board of Trus- 
tees, but it was nearly three years afterwards before ruHng elders 
were elected ; for the next record we have is this, — 

" The Presbyterian Church in the town of Wheeling, under the pastoral care of 
the Rev. James Hervey and the Rev. William Wylie, was first organized by the 
Rev. Elisha McCurdy, agreeably to an order of Presbytery, on Friday, the 26th day 
of May, 1826." 

" Elders elected — Andrew Woods, senior, Peter W. Gale, Redick McKee." 

Names of the Members at the Organization of the 
Church. — Mrs. Mary Ralston, Mrs. Margaret Tod, Mrs. Mary 
McLure, John Gilchrist, Mrs. Sarah Gilchrist, James Gilchrist, 
Daniel Gilchrist, Mrs. Jane Latimore, Mrs.. Ann Mathers, Mrs. 
Eleanor Clemens, Mrs. Jane Reed, Mrs. Mary Woods, Samuel 
McClellan, Mrs. Louisa McClellan, Mrs. Catharine Robinson, 
Mrs. Catharine Clemens, Mrs. Elizabeth Isett, George Calder, 
Mrs. H. Calder, Mrs. Gregory, John Grimes, Mrs. Jane Grimes, 
William J. D. Gear, William Mathers, Mrs. Elizabeth Irwin, Mrs. 
Sockman, Miss E. J. Reed, Joseph Mathers, Mrs. Eliza Mathers, 
Miss Sarah Ann Evans, Mrs. Sally A. Chapline, Mrs, Hilyard, 
Mrs. Elizabeth Paull, Mrs. Mary Moore, Mrs. Margaret For- 
sythe, Peter W. Gale, Redick McKee, Mrs. Eliza McKee, V/il- 
liam Templeton, Mrs. Templeton, Andrew Woods, Sr., Mrs. N. 
Steenrod, Miss Kitty S. Wylie, William Robinson. The origi- 
nal number of members ^2.?, forty -four, and at this date have all 
passed away. 

The first account we have of the administration of the Lord's 
Supper was on September 17, 1826, by the two ministers, who 
supplied the church alternately. Rev. James Hervey and the 
Rev. William Wylie. 

On April 15, 1829, a call was made by the congregation for 
the pastoral services of Rev. James Hervey, and is thus officially 
certified : — 

" I do hereby certify, that the above call, in all respects, was prepared in a consti- 
tutional manner ; that the vote was entirely unanimous, the congregation being gen- 



328 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

erally present, and that the persons who signed the call were appointed to do so by a 

public vote of the congregation. 

" John McCluskey, Moderator of Meeting." 

But evidently the call was not accepted, for the following 
record appears the next year, in the old Session book : 

" Saturday, May 15, 1830, at 3 P. M. 
" This day the Rev. William Wylie was installed pastor of the First Presbyterian 
Church, by Rev. Messrs. E. McCurdy and Thomas Hoge, a Committee of Presbytery. 
Mr. Hoge preached the sermon, and Mr. McCurdy delivered the charges." 

This pastorate, however, did not continue long for manifestly 
there was want of harmony and unity of action among the Pres- 
byterians of the town. They were evidently divided, for the 
next record that appears is in this language : 

" A meeting, composed of the First and Second Presbyterian congregations of the 
town of Wheeling, was held at the Presbyterian meeting-house, on Monday evenihg, 
26th of September, A. D., 183 1, agreeably to the recommendation of the joint com- 
mittee of the aforesaid congregations." 

There is no record to be found as to the time or by whom 
this second congregation was organized. But at this joint meet- 
ing of the two congregations action was taken requesting pres- 
bytery to dissolve the two congregations, and reorganize a new 
one. Hence the following action of presbytery is recorded : 

" The Washington Presbytery met and held its session in the Presbyterian meeting- 
house, in the town of Wheeling, Va., on the 5th day of October, A.D. 1831. Samuel 
Atkinson, Redick McKee and Archibald S. Todd, a committee of the First, and John 
Laughhn, Thomas Woods and James W. Clemens, a committee in behalf of the 
Second Presbyterian congregation, presented a joint memorial to Presbytery (agree- 
ably to the instructions of the bodies deputing them), asking the Presbjlery to dissolve 
the two congregations which now exist in this town, and to erect one de novo, to be 
styled the Presbj-terian congregation of Wheeling. The Presbytery did, on the day 
of holding its session aforesaid, formally dissolve the aforesaid congregations, and in 
their stead formally erect a new congregation, with the style and denomination of the 
Presbyterian congregation of Wheeling." 

The new Board of Trustees elected was composed of the 
following gentlemen: Thomas Woods, treasurer; James W. 
Clemens, secretary ; Samuel McClellan, James McConnell, H. 
French, Archibald S. Todd, Redick McKee and John Richie, 
and on February 4, 1832, John C. Bayless, Nathaniel Pep- 
pard and Redick McKee were elected and installed ruling 
elders. These, however, resigned or withdrew soon after, and 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 329 

in their places were chosen and installed, on the i ith of April, 
1832, N. W. Smith, John Laughlin and Sturley Cuthbert. On 
the 26th of January, 1834, John C. Bayless and N. Peppard were 
installed elders. 

On the i6th of November, 1832, Rev. Henry R. Weed, of the 
Presbytery of Albany. New York, who had been the pastor, for 
a time, of the First Church in the city of Albany, became the 
supply of the First Church of Wheeling. On February 5, 1833, 
at a meeting of the congregation, he was unanimously elected to 
be the pastor. For reasons which were satisfactory to himself 
he did not at once accept the call, but continued as stated sup- 
ply of the church for more than two years. He was installed by 
the presbytery as pastor of the church on June 16, 1835. The 
membership of the church numbered ninety-five when Dr. Weed 
commenced his work. Under his ministry the church soon 
began to take on new life, for he was eminently a spiritual, 
vigorous, scriptural preacher ; he was fearless in his declarations 
of the truth ; he proclaimed the whole counsel of God, whether 
men heeded or not. On January loth, i860, on account of thfe 
infirmities of age. Dr. Weed asked the session to take steps for 
securing a co-pastor. The result is set forth in the following 
extract from the Sessional records : 

" In January, 1 86 1, the Rev. John J. Baker, of Augusta County, Virginia, having 
accepted a call to the office of co-pastor of this church, placed in his hands by the 
Presbytery of Lexington, repaired to this city, and commenced and continued to dis- 
charge the duties of his office in a satisfactory manner from the first of March, 1861, 
until the first of July following, vs^hen, at a congregational meeting called at his re- 
quest, he tendered his resignation, from considerations connected with the political 
state of the country, which resignation was, by a resolution of the meeting expressing 
their confidence in Mr. Baker, that he had acted from honorable motives in the 
premises, duly accepted, and that his further relation to this church was terminated, 
he never having connected himself with the Presbytery of Washington." 

On the first Sabbath of January, 1862, Rev. D. W. Fisher, 
having accepted a call to the office of co-pastor, was installed in 
said office, Rev. H. R. Weed, D.D., preaching the sermon, the 
Rev. R. V. Dodge delivering the charge to the pastor, and the 
Rev. James I. Brownson, D.D., to the people. 

Soon afterwards the Rev. Dr. Weed removed to West Phila- 
delphia, where he spent the closing years of his life. On Decem- 



330 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ber 14, 1870, he "fell asleep in Jesus," and his remains were in- 
terred in the Stone Church Cemetery, Forks of Wheeling, West 
Virginia. 

The pastorate of Rev. D. W. Fisher, D.D., continued for four- 
teen years and four months, ending at his own request, April, 
1876. Dr. Fisher was an accurate scholar, a scriptural preacher, 
a conscientious Christian gentleman, a good presbyter, and 
highly esteemed by his brethren in the ministry. He is now the 
President of Hanover College, Indiana. 

The Present Pastorate. — The historical record is thus : 

" At a meeting of the congregation of this church, held on Wednesday evening, 
July 26, 1876, which was largely attended, Rev. David A. Cunningham, D.D., of 
Philadelphia, was elected pastor of this church with great unanimity. Dr. Cunning- 
ham accepted the call thus extended, and filled the pulpit for the first time on Sab- 
bath, September 17th. On the evening of October 6th, 1876, the installation took 
place by a committee of Presbytery, Rev. George P. Hays, D.D., President of Wash- 
ington and Tefiferson College, preaching the sermon, Rev. Alexander McCarrell, D.D., 
giving the charge to the people, and Rev. William H. Lester to the pastor." 

» During the present pastorate of twelve years, the additions to 
the church by certificate have been 322, and by profession of 
faith, 262, making in all 584. The present actual membership of 
the church, after deducting removals by death and otherwise, 
is a little over five hundred. 

Ruling Elders (from the beginning, with the date of their 
installation). — Andrew Woods, Sr., Peter W. Gale, and Redick 
McKee, ordained and installed May 26, 1826; John C. Bayless, 
September 26, 1829; Nathaniel Peppard, February 4, 1832; N. 
W. Smith, John Laughlin, and Sturley Cuthbert, April 1 1, 1832; 
Nathaniel Peppard and John C Bayless, re-elected January 26, 
1834; ^echariah Jacob, Samuel H. Davis, and David Agnew, 
October 10, 1835; Samuel Ott, May 22, 1842; William Tem- 
pleton, John Moore, William B. Quarrier, and Jacob Senseney, 
January 7, 1843; John Robertson, Thomas G. Culbertson, E. H. 
Fitzhugh, and James A. Fetzer, February 20, 1850; J. Gamble 
Baker, James Paull, Alexander Bone, John J. Hoge, and William 
Wing Nicoll, January, 1857; Joseph A. Metcalf, November, 1869; 
William Riheldaffer, Samuel L. Jepson, M.D., and Monroe A. 
Chandler, October 5, 1873; Gibson L. Cranmer and Robert 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 33 1 

White, December 28, 1879; James N. Vance, Frederick H. 
Williams, and Alfred Paull, March 20, 1887. 

Elders (now serving). — Samuel L. Jepson, M.D., Gibson L. 
Cranmer, Robert White, James N. Vance, Frederick H. Wil- 
liams and Alfred Paull. 

Deacons. — William Templeton, Neil McNaughton and Craig 
Ritchie, ordained October 10, 1835 ; John Knote and Samuel 
Neal, F'ebruary 20, 1850; Dr. A. S. Todd, January, 1857; Wil- 
liam Riheldaffer, November, 1869 (elected and ordained ruling 
elder, October 5, 1873); Oliver J. Crawford, Jacob M. Bickel, 
William H. Irwin, and George Robinson, October 5, 1873; Wil- 
liam F. Butler, Myron Hubbard, and Charles Henry Merkle, 
March 20, 1887. 

Trustees (present Board). — Henry M. Russell, Henry M. 
Harper, Charles J. Rawlings, William L. Glessner, William H. 
Hearne, and James B. Rhodes. Treasurer, John C. Riheldaffer ; 
Secretary, Joseph R. Paull. 

Seventeen Ministers have come out of families connected 
with the P'irst Church. Their names are : Revs. M. Hale Hous- 
ton, William W. Houston, David C. Irwin, Alfred Paull, John 
Riheldaffer, William Riheldaffer, William Clements, John H. 
Oxtoby, Charles H. McClellan, Martin Luther Todd, Edgar 
Woods, Prof. Henry Woods, Edward L. Belden, Joseph Math- 
ers, Joseph Wylie, and two brothers by the name of Templeton. 
Four of these were foreign missionaries: — one to China, one to 
Africa, one to India, and one to the Pacific Islands. Of these, 
some are still occupying fields of usefulness in the Master's 
vineyard, and others have gone home to receive the crown of 
glory. 

Two of the young ladies of the churclf became foreign mis- 
sionaries. — Miss Julia Dodge, afterward the wife of Rev. Mr. 
Carothers, labored successfully in Japan ; and Miss Belle Cald- 
well took charge of an important school in the City of Bangkok, 
Siam, where she was married to Rev. Mr. Culburtson. 

Mrs. D. A. Cunningham, the wife of the present pastor, has 
been the president of the Woman's Foreign Missionary Society 
of the Presbytery of Washington since its organization in 1877. 

The women of this church have always been among its most 



332 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

efficient workers. For example — there is a Woman's Foreign 
Missionary Society in the church; a Woman's Home Missionary 
Society ; the Cherith Band of Young Ladies ; the Sidney Ott 
Band of Children, and the Boys' Mission Club. 

A part of the ground on which the church edifice stands, 
was deeded by a liberal citizen, Noah Zane, October 5, 1816; 
two additions were made to the lot afterwards; and in 1831-32, 
the first house of worship was erected on the present ground, 
and the pews were sold or rented to the members of the con- 
gregation. 

The church edifice was enlarged at a cost of ;^ 15,000, and re- 
dedicated on the first Sabbath of June, 1856, the pastor, Dr. 
Weed, preaching the sermon, on Isaiah 60: 13 — "■ I will make 
the place of my feet glorious T 

In 1 87 1 the congregation again expended between ten and 
eleven thousand dollars in a thorough repair of the building and 
a remodeling of the audience-room, so far as to build a recess in 
the rear of the pulpit for the occupation of the organ. An organ 
was first introduced into the church in 1862, during the pastorate 
of Dr. Fisher.' At a meeting of the Session, November 24, 1862, 
the following action was taken : " Resolved, that the Session assent 
to the introduction of an organ into the Church, with the under- 
standing that its use is to be under the control of the Session." 

The church building was again thoroughly renovated, includ- 
ing the lecture and audience room together, with beautiful 
memorial windows, new pews and new heaters, at a cost of about 
;^ 1 3,3 1 2, and was re-dedicated on Sabbath, April 11, 1886, the 
pastor, Rev. D. A. Cunningham, D.D., preaching on the text, 
Psalm 84: I, 2. 

The Sabbath-Sch5ol was founded in the summer or the fall 
of the year 18 18, when Wheeling was a village containing a 
population of about one thousand people. 

The following are the superintendents from 18 18 to 1888: 
Redick McKee, John Knote, John J. Hoge, J. Gamble Baker, 
William Wing Nicoll, S. L. Jepson, M.D., Henry M. Russell, 
Alfred Paull, William A. List, Joseph M. Bellville, and Frederick 
H. Williams. 

About the year 1872 a Mission School, on Eighteenth street. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 333 

was organized, and has been successfully carried on by the 
church. The superintendents have been, Oscar Boyd, M. A. 
A. Chandler, H. M. Russell, Alexander Bone, William A. List, 
and, for the last nine years. Col. Robert White. The Sabbath 
schools are in a healthful condition, and have a membership of 
over five hundred. The weekly contributions of the church- 
school to the various Boards are unusual in their amounts. 

As the church has grown in numbers and financial strength, 
there has also been an increase in the offerings unto the Lord 
for the spread of the gospel in our own and foreign lands. 

During the three pastorates, beginning with the installation of 

Dr. Weed in 1835, and until the present date, there have been 

some marked seasons of refreshing from the presence of the 

Lord, when many souls were born into the Kingdom of Christ ; 

but for the most part the growth has come under the prayerful, 

earnest preaching of the Word, accompanied by diligent, faithful 

pastoral work. 

WOLF RUN.* 

This church, which has its house of worship in the western 
part of Marshall County, W. Va., was organized March 15, 
1829, by Rev. James Hervey. Eighteen members were en- 
rolled. At this time an old log church was standing. A 
Presbyterian congregation had been gathered here several years 
previously. 

In the first years of its existence it was united successively 
with Unity and with Elizabethtown (now Moundsville), sharing 
the labors of the same pastor or stated supply. ( Vide sketches 
of Unity and Moundsville Churches.) 

In later years it has had connection with Allen Grove and 
Limestone, and shared the labors of Rev* Messrs. Brown, Mor- 
ton and others. ( Vide sketches of Allen Grove and Limestone 
Churches.) 

Ruling Elders. — The elders at the time of organization 
were Wm. Archer and Robt. McConahey. 

In 1832 Wm. McCleary and John Thompson were ordained. 
In 1838 Andrew Mitcheltre. At an unknown date Emanuel 
Francis, John B. Taylor, Wm. Keyser. In 1863 Wm. Mc- 
* By Rev. W. F. Hamilton. 



334 "^HE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Conahey, Robt. Taylor, In 1871 Michael Crow, Berridge L. 
Crow. At an unknown date Isaiah Arnold was added. In 
1878 John T. Blake and Joseph T. McCombs were ordained. 
The two last named compose the existing session. 

Wm. Archer was " dismissed to join the Campbellite Baptist 

Church." Robt. McConahey, dismissed ; Wm. McCleary, 

died in office ; John Thompson, dismissed to Pittsburgh 

; A. Mitcheltre, removed to Ohio ; Emanuel Francis, 

dismissed to Limestone ; still living, very old and is blind ; 
John B. Taylor, dismissed to West Alexander, and died there, in 
1876; Wm. Keyser, dismissed in 1875, to Cameron, whence he 
removed to Winchester, Va., and died there in 1882 ; Wm. Mc- 
Conahey removed to Parkersburg; Robert Taylor died in of- 
fice, in 1868; Michael Crow, dismissed to West Union; B. L. 
Crow, dismissed, and is an elder at Cameron ; Isaiah Arnold; 
died in office, September, 1888. 

About the year i860 the site previously occupied was aban- 
doned, and a new building erected, about half a mile distant. 
This is still in use. 

WEST UNION.* 

This church, which has its house of worship in Dallas, Mar- 
shall County, W. Va., was organized September 23, 1831, by 
Rev. James Hervey and Mr. Samuel Oldham, ruling elder in 
the church of West Alexander. 

The following persons were received into the church at its 
organization : Alexander Gunn, David Stewart, Thomas Steele, 
Judith Spriggs, Elizabeth Baird, Sarah Chambers, John Mc- 
Cracken, Jane McCracken, Jane Parks, Helen Ritchie, Robert 
Galloway, Robert Wallace, Esther A. Wallace, Sarah Suther- 
land, Margaret Morris, John Baird and Elizabeth Baird. 

Messrs. Alexander Gunn, David Steward and Thomas Steele 
were elected and ordained elders in the new church. 

None of the original members are now living. 

The Rev. James Hervey, who had been preaching in this 
region since the fall of 1828, as occasional supply, was now 
given a call to become pastor of the church for one-half his 
time, at a salary of one hundred and sixty dollars per annum. 
*By Rev. A. J. Alexander. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 335 

He accepted the call April 17, 1832, and was shortly there- 
after installed. 

The people in this region were largely of Scot<;h-Irish ori- 
gin, and had a strong leaning toward the Presbyterian faith. 
There were, however, but few pious families in the community. 
The state of society in and around Dallas was wild and reck- 
less, to a deplorable degree. Drunkenness, Sabbath desecra- 
tion, gambling and other vices were the order of the day. His 
work, therefore, was hard pioneer work. He was a self-sacri- 
ficing, hard toiling minister of the gospel. He broke up much 
fallow ground in this region. He sowed much good seed in 
the hearts of this people, and was permitted to reap an encour- 
aging harvest of spiritual results. The state of society was 
much improved, and many precious souls were saved through 
his labors here. 

During his ministry in this place a house of worship was 
erected. It was finished in the spring of 1832. This was en- 
larged at an expense of six hundred and thirty-five dollars in 
the year 1836. He resigned his charge in April, of 1840. He 
died September 28, 1859, in the seventy-eighth year of his age. 
After the resignation of Rev. James Hervey a call was extended 
to Rev. James Fleming, for the whole of his time, at a salary 
of four hundred dollars a year. He accepted the call in the 
spring of 1840, and was soon thereafter installed pastor of the 
church. He did a good work in the congregation. He was an 
earnest temperance reformer. Through his influence and that 
of his predecessor, the use of spirituous liquors as a beverage 
was very generally put away from the households of the peo- 
ple. The cause of morals and religion was greatly advanced — 
the whole community, in all its best interests, was lifted up to 
a higher plane of social and religious life, and the church grew 
and prospered. An extensive revival took place in the winter 
of 1852-53. Fifty persons were received into the church at 
this time. 

Rev. Prof. Murray, of Washington College, Pa., assisted the 
pastor during these meetings. He resigned his pastorate in 
September, of 1856. He died at Dunlap, 111., November 16, 
1886, in the eightieth year of his age. After Rev. James 



•336 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Fleming's resignation the church was supplied for a short 
time by presbytery. 

Rev. T. B, Van Eman served the church as stated supply for 
six months, and then received a call to become its pastor, but 
declined to accept it. 

The Rev. William J. Alexander began his labors here, as 
stated supply, in the fall of 1857. 

During the winter of 1857-58, the church was greatly quick- 
ened, and about thirty persons were hopefully converted. 

In the spring of 1858 a call was given him to become pastor 
of the church. This call engaged to pay him ^600 a year. He 
accepted the call and was installed the June following. The first 
few years of this pastorate were years of great prosperity. A 
new house of worship 42 feet by 60 feet, with a 16 foot story, 
was erected at a cost of $4000 while he labored here. But upon 
the breaking out of the civil war, trouble and disaster overtook 
this church as so many others. Lying upon the dividing line 
between a slave state and a free state it could hardly be other- 
wise. To this cause and to the unsettled state of the finances of 
the church, may be traced nearly all these long years of bitter 
contention among this people. The latter part of his labors, for ■ 
this reason, fell upon troublous times. The cares and wounded 
feeling, growing out of these trials, injured his health, and he 
resigned his pastorate in the fall of 1868. He died in the midst 
of a glorious revival in progress in the East Buffalo Church, 
January 20 1869, in the forty-third year of his age. 

The Rev. Robert B. Farrar began to preach to this people 
February i, 1869. The church was in the midst of a revival. 
Rev. Jonathan Cross had been conducting a series of meetings 
and was having marked success. 

Rev. R. B. Farrar carried on the revival services from this time. 
One hundred and fifty persons, shortly thereafter, connected 
themselves with the church. He received a call from the church 
the following spring, and was installed pastor June 25, 1869. His 
salary was $800 per annum until in the latter part of 1872, it 
was increased by order of Presbytery to ^1000 a year. The 
church was heavily burdened with debt at the beginning of this 
pastorate. There were divisions and an evil spirit rife in the 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHEvS. 537 

congregation. But notwithstanding this embarrassing state of 
things, the church prospered to a fair degree. The indebted- 
ness was paid off. The old difficulties, however, only being par- 
tially healed, broke out afresh and new ones arose implicating 
the pastor. He felt that the best interests of the church re- 
quired his resignation. He resigned in the spring of 1876. 
He died at Beaver Creek, Minn., January 14, 1888, in the fifty- 
first year of his age. The Rev. Joseph S. Pomeroy supplied the 
church for six months during the summer of 1876. By this 
time the church was again plunged into debt. 

The Rev. John H. Aughey began his labors here December 
31, 1876, and was installed pastor May 22, 1877, at a salary ot 
^lOCXD a year. While he was a good preacher, his success as a 
minister seems more largely due to his eminently social quali- 
ties. He possessed to an uncommon degree the power to please 
the people, both in his visitations among the families and in his 
pulpit ministrations. He gathered and held a large congrega- 
tion of hearers. The high tide mark of the church's strength 
and prosperity was reached during this pastorate. The congre- 
gation paid off its indebtedness and grew in numbers and inter- 
est, and all the branches of church work went forward success- 
fully under his care. There were two seasons of precious 
revival during his pastorate, each bringing large accessions 
to the church. The storms of former years however had 
not altogether spent their force. Old feelings that had lain 
dormant but not forgotten, under new occasions were excited 
afresh and broke out into open complaint and opposition, toward 
the latter part of his pastorate. The smouldering sparks hidden 
in the recesses of the old nature, fanned by imprudent words 
and unwise acts, soon blazed into a flame and the whole congre- 
gation was in another conflagration. The pastor being involved 
directly in these difficulties, felt that both his usefulness and 
comfort were at an end here, consequently he resigned his charge 
July 5, 1 88 1. The church was left again with a debt resting on it. 

The Rev. Alexander G. Eagleson was the next pastor of the 

West Union Church. He began his work here in October of 

1 88 1, as a supply and was installed pastor January 17, 1882. 

He entered upon his work in this field when the people were 

22 



338 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

very much divided. It could only be with the greatest prudence 
and wisdom that any one would be able to escape censure in 
one direction or another. The same fate awaited him that befell 
those who preceded him. Financial difficulties arose and he 
became personally connected with these, to the great injury of 
his ministerial standing among the people. Up to this time, the 
church was in a fairly prosperous condition. But from this time 
the interest in the church waned — the attendance grew less and 
strife and bitterness increased. After a brief, and not pleasant, 
term of service Mr. Eagleson resigned his charge in October, 1884. 

Rev. Athelbert J. Alexander, the present pastor, began his 
labors here in May of 1885. He labored as stated supply until 
the following spring, when he received and accepted a call to 
become pastor of the church. He was installed in May of 1886. 
His call promises him $800 a year. When he began his 
labors here, the church was as usual burdened with a heavy 
debt. The people were very much discouraged about the con- 
dition of the church. The wound inflicted was deep and of long 
continuance. But there is balm in Gilead and a physician there. 
The Sun of righteousness arose with healing in his wings. Un- 
der the simple messages of the gospel of hope and love, the 
hurt of the daughter of my people is healed. There have been 
received into the church about one hundred and twenty persons 
during the present pastorate thus far. The public services are 
well attended. We have had a Young People's Christian Asso- 
ciation in successful operation for over two years. There is a 
commendable degree of interest taken in our weekly prayer 
meetings. The spirit of benevolence seems to be growing. 
Good will, kindly feelings and united earnest work, characterize 
our church life to-day. The large indebtedness has been liqui- 
dated, and the finances of the church put upon a sounder basis. 
" Behold how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell 
together in unity." 

The Sabbath-school. — From as early as 1835, during Rev. 
James Fleming's pastorate, a Sabbath -school has been in suc- 
cessful operation. The following is a partial list of its superin- 
tendents : David Stewart, J. B. Reed, M.D., James l^IcNeal, John 
Reed, John McCracken, Thomas Stewart, Samuel Oldham, Sr. , 



SKETCHES OE CHURCHES. 339 

George Hart, Franklin Henderson, George Eckles, Hugh Arm- 
strong, Berridge Lucas, James Henderson and J. C. McAfee. 

The school employs from eight to ten teachers, and has about 
one hundred scholars. It uses " The Westminster Lesson 
Helps " and the Assembly's '' Shorter Catechism." 

Missionary Societies. — A Woman's Missionary Society has 
been carried on in this church from about the year 1870. It was 
organized during Rev. R. B. Farrar's time of labor here. With 
some short intermissions it has been in good working condition 
ever since. 

There are also a " Young People's Missionary Society " and a 
" Children's Band of Willing Workers." Regular instruction is 
given in all the missionary meetings of the church, and an in- 
crease in the contributions of the people toward this cause is the 
best evidence of the growth of a missionary spirit among us. 

List of Ruling Elders, — Alex. Gunn^ David Stewart and 
Thomas Steel, Sr., elected September, 1831 ; John McCracken, 
James Jamison, Berridge Lucas and John M. Baird, elected July, 
1839; William Armstrong, David G. Fleming, John Wherry 
and John McConnell, September, 1854 ; Samuel Oldham, elected 
March, 1856; James Smith, Thomas Steel and James Atkinson, 
elected March, 1867 ; Samuel Oldham and George Eckles, elected 
December, 1869; Alfred Kimmins and John Reed, elected Jan- 
uary, 1873 ; Joseph Sutherland, Andrew W. Kimmins and James 
Atkinson (re-elected), elected March, 1879; William D. Teagar- 
den, M.D., Albert Mooney. George W. Rhoades, James Howard 
and Robert Fleming, elected June, 1887. 

*BETHI.EHEM (BEAVER COUNTY, PA.). 

This church was organized June 18, 1832, by Rev. John K. 
Cunningham, appointed for that purpose by the Presbytery of 
Ohio. On the 6th of October, 1868, it was transferred to the 
Presbytery of Washington. Previous to the organization of the 
church, irreligion and wickedness prevailed in the neighborhood. 
The church owes its existence largely to the efforts of one man 
— John Potter — who moved into the neighborhood in 1830. He 
had previously served as an elder in Mingo Church, and was 
* By Rev. W. F, Hamilton. 



340 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

unremitting in his efforts to secure a church organization in his 
new home. He was elected and installed its first elder on the 
day of the church's organization. William Rambo and Jonathan 
Cross, elected the same day, were ordained September 2d follow- 
ing. For nearly twelve years the church remained without a 
pastor, during which it was meagrely supplied by appointments 
of presbytery. Meanwhile the Sabbath-school was kept up, and 
on days when there was no preaching, a sermon — mostly one of 
Burder's — was read, or an exhortation given by one of the elders. 
The divine blessing accompanied these means, and many were 
received into the church. One hundred and fifty members 
were on the roll when the first pastor was installed. 

Pastors and Supplies. — Rev. Samuel Hair, pastor, 1844-47; 
Rev. John Hazlett, pastor, 1847-52; Rev. A. O. Rockwell, 
pastor, 1852-55; Rev. James M. Smith, pastor, 1855-65; Rev. 
W, M. White, stated supply, 1 866-70 ; Rev. J. S. Pomeroy, stated 
supply, one year and three months ; Rev. G. W. Schaiffer, pastor- 
elect, one year; Rev. D. L. Dickey, pastor, 1876-82; Rev. 
P. J. Cummings, pastor, 1882-87. 

Ruling Elders. — John Potter, installed June 18, 1832; dis- 
missed ; died August 28, 1878, aged seventy-five. Jona-' 

than Cross, ordained September 2, 1832; entered the ministry; 
died December 18, 1876, aged seventy-three. William Rambo, 
ordained September 2, 1832; removed late in life to Iowa; died 
at an advanced age, December 13, 1871. Samuel Thompson, 
previously ordained; installed September 8, 1841. Thomas 
Parkinson, ordained March 15, 1845; removed elsewhere, 1858; 
died November 6, 1870, aged seventy-five. James Kerr, ordained 
March 15, 1845 ; died January 12, 1867. William McClure, in- 
stalled September i, 1855; died 1863. Samuel Wilson, Jr., 
ordained September i, 1855; died 1862. John Jack, installed 
January 15, 1858; removed to Industry. Thomas P. Fleeson, 
ordained January 16, 1858. John Tucker, ordained January 16, 
1858; died 1863. John Engles, ordained 1863 ; removed to In- 
dustry. Robert Henderson, ordained December 19, 1863 ; joined 
the United Presbyterian Church. H. E. Wright, ordained De- 
cember 19, 1863. William Elliott, ordained about 1873 or 1874. 
William Cook, ordained about 1873 ^^ ^^74- Samuel Thomp- 



SKETCHES OP CHURCHES. 34 1 

son and Thomas Wilson installed , both removed elsewhere. 

William Hood, ordained about 1873 or 1874; died about 1885. 
George A. Christler, ordained 1880. Michael Hanley, ordained 
1880. James Christy, ordained December 19, 1886. James 
Henderson, ordained December 19, 1886. 

Ministers and Ministers' Wives. — The following sons of the 
church have devoted themselves to the ministry : Michael Par- 
kinson, Industry, Pa. ; James Wilson, deceased (Methodist Epis- 
copal) : Jonathan Wilson, missionary in Siam since 1858; James 
H. Potter, Eustis, Fla. ; John W. Potter, deceased; Gilbert M. 
Potter, Sharpsburg, Pa. ; Henry N. Potter, Darlington, Pa. ; James 
M. Smith, Pleasanton, Gal. Samuel Henderson died when nearly 
ready to be licensed. 

Three daughters of the Bethlehem Church became ministers* 
wives : Miss Kate McClure was the second wife of Rev. Jona- 
than Wilson, missionary in Siam ; Miss Jennie M. Smith was 
married to Rev. G. M. Potter (she died in 1873); Miss Retta 
Smith is the wife of Rev. Albert Dilworth. 

FRANKFORT.* 

" We, the undersigned (or part of us), being members of a 
society formed in Frankfort and its vicinity for the purpose of 
erecting a house for the accommodation of a Sabbath-school 
and other specified purposes, which house is now erected, but 
remains in an unfinished state for want of sufficient funds for 
its completion — We, therefore, in order to complete the house, 
as well as to render it of greater utility, agree for the future to 
be governed by our former constitution, altered or amended in 
the following manner : First — The house shall be for the ac- 
commodation of a Sabbath-school, a common day school, a 
singing school and for preaching in by regular preachers of the 
gospel of every denomination, and for other meetings of a pub- 
lic nature, &c., &c." 

The foregoing is the heading of a musty old subscription pa- 
per, which carries us back to the beginning of a movement 
which culminated in the organization of Frankfort Church. 

The above-mentioned log building was erected in 1824. It 
*By Rev. John C, Pickens. 



342 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

was used as directed above, and after the formal organization of 
the church was used as their place of stated worship until the 
erection of their new house. 

The formal organization occurred July 7, 1835, Revs. Thos. 
Hoge and Elisha McCurdy constituting the committee ap- 
pointed by presbytery to effect the organization. 

The following named persons, thirty-two in all, were admit- 
ted as members : 

From the Cross Roads Church. — William Carothers, Eliza- 
beth Carothers, Alice Carothers, Samuel Thompson, Nancy Pat- 
terson, Peter Farrar, Jane Farrar, Nancy Gonsallus, Eleanor 
Stephens, Josiah Stevens, James Carothers, Josiah Campbell, 
Rosannah Campbell, Thomas Stephens, Joannah Stephens, 
Frederick Teel, Sarah Teel, Elizabeth Briarly, Mary McMillan, 
Jane Beck, William Maclean, Nancy Stephens, Solomon C. 
Waid, Elizabeth Warnock, David D. Dungan, Henry Cowen, 
Sarah Cowen. William Ewing, Sarah Ewing. 

From the Flatts Church. — James Cross, Eleanor Cross, 
of whom James Cross, Samuel Thompson and William Caroth- 
ers were elected and ordained as ruling elders. 

During the first year the membership was increased by the 
addition of seventeen by letter and twelve on examination, and 
two were dismissed, leaving a membership of fifty-nine. 

For more than a year the church remained without a pastor. 
Meanwhile Elder James Cross was removed by death, and Wil- 
liam R. Hammond, formerly a ruling elder in Hopewell 
Church, was received and elected to fill the vacancy. 

The first pastorate was that of Rev. J. M. Sloan, continuing 
from early in 1837 to April i, 1844. During this pastorate 
the eldership was increased by the addition of Henry Cowan 
and Russel Moore. Also the first house of worship was 
erected. 

Rev. Geo. Gordon succeeded to the pastorate in the fall of 
1844, and continued until the summer of 1849. 

November 5, 1845, Samuel Thompson, Samuel Moore and 
James Duncan were elected to the eldership. Samuel Thomp- 
son had formerly served in this capacity, but had removed to 
Bethlehem Church and returned. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 343 

From 1849 to the spring of 1852 the church was without a 
pastor, Rev. Wm. R. Fulton laboring as stated supply. 

Rev. Smith F. Grier was then called to the joint pastorate of 
Frankfort and New Cumberland, and served in this capacity 
until September 7, 1857, when New Cumberland demanded 
his service all the time, and Frankfort was again left vacant. 
Elders elected during this period were James Duncan and 
Thomas Moore. 

January 18, 1858, Rev. J. W. McKennan was elected pastor, 
and continued in that capacity until April, 1861. 

Then followed a vacancy of two years, when, in 1863, a con- 
nection was established between Frankfort and Three Springs, 
and for two years the labors of Rev. D. H. Laverty were di- 
vided between the two places. 

Another vacancy of two years intervenes from 1865 to 1867, 
when, on May 20, 1867, Rev. William S. Vancleve was elected 
pastor, and served less than two years. 

Elders elected during this period were — April 17, 1858, John 
Stevenson, Dr. Jas. M. Dungan. From 1861-63, Dr. A. G. 
Bigham, Wm. Torrence, David Carothers. May 24, 1868, 
David Beal, Jacob Keifer, James Cooley. 

April 20, 1869, Rev. A. O. Rockwell was elected pastor, and 
continued to serve until November, 1875. 

During this pastorate the present house of worship was 
erected, at a cost of five thousand five hundred dollars, and 
dedicated October 12, 1871. 

March 23, 1879, Henry Cowan, William McCullough and 
David Nickle were ordained to the office of ruling elder. 

Rev. S. E. Elliott became pastor October, 1876, and filled 
this position a little over two years. 

The next pastor was Rev. H. S. Childs, from 1880 to April, 
1 88 1, less than two years. 

April 23, 1882, Rev. S. C. Faris succeeded to the pastorate, 
and continued his labors until April 23, 1885. 

Meanwhile the eldership was again increased, by the addition 
of Silas Aten and Robert Cooley. 

The present pastorate, that of Rev. Jno. C. Pickens, began 
June I, 1888. 



344 '"'^^ PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

The present members of session are Jacob Keifer, William 
McCollough, Henry Cowan, David Nickle, Robert Cooley. 

In the early spring of 1888 the church enjoyed a precious 
season of revival. As a result, the membership has been con- 
siderably increased, the whole number of accessions at that 
time and since being fifty-three, making a membership at pres- 
ent of two hundred and fifteen. 

The church is well organized, with Sabbath-school, Wednes- 
day evening prayer-meeting, two Ladies' Missionary Societies 
and a very promising organization of the Young Peoples' So- 
ciety of Christian Endeavor. 

*MOUNDSVILLE (GRAVE CREEK, GRAVE CREEK FLATS, ELIZA- 

BETHTOWN). 

This church, though not formally organized until 1835, had 
under other names an existence of some sort from a very early 
period. In 1796 supplies were asked for by Grave Creek from 
Ohio Presbytery. Grave Creek was reported to Synod by Ohio 
Presbytery as one of its vacant congregations in 1802, and for 
several years subsequently; and was then dropped from the roll. 
" Grave Creek and Wolf Run" were reported to Synod by Pres- 
bytery of Washington in 1828, and for a few years subsequently. 
In April, 1835, in compliance with memorial from persons con- 
cerned. Presbytery appointed a committee, consisting of Rev. 
John McCluskey and Rev. Henry R. Weed, to organize a church 
at Elizabethtown. In October, 1835, committee appointed to re- 
organize a church at Elizabethtown, reported that duty per- 
formed. In April, 1836, Presbytery recommended to the churches 
to " take collections for aid in building new meeting-house at 
Elizabethtown." The records show that several hundred dollars 
were contributed for this purpose by the churches of Presbytery. 
In April, 1 866, Presbytery, by request of the congregation, changed 
the name of the church from Elizabethtown to Moundsville. 

Pastors and Stated Supplies. — In October, 1837, a call was 
presented in Presbytery by churches of Elizabethtown and Wolf 
Run for labors of Rev. John Knox. He was installed pastor of 
same in January, 1838, and released in October of same year. 
Following this were, Rev. J. Brice McCoy, 1839-40; Rev. Irwin 

* By Rev. W. F. Hamilton. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 345 

Carson, 1845-47; Rev. James W. McKennan, stated supply 
185 I ; Rev. J. R. Duncan, with Allen Grove also, in charge 1853- 
57; Rev. James Alexander, D.D., stated supply and pastor 1866- 
JT, Rev. Jos. S. Pomeroy, 1877-86. In its earlier history the 
church had considerable periods of vacancy. It has had among 
its stated supplies, Revs. N. Murray, M. Wishart, M. L. Todd, 
John Gilmore, R. Stevenson, B. F. Myers. Two of them, Gilmore 
and Myers, were pastors elect. 

Ruling Elders and Deacons. — A complete list is lacking. 
Among the earlier elders were William Cochran, Elijah Clegg, 
James Keady and Isaiah Arnold. Amo^g those of subsequent 
date have been Thomas Stewart, J. Clegg, C. Barron, John 
Wherry, N. K. Shadduck, R. C. Holiday, William D. Walker, 
Thomas J. Collins, Robert McConnell, Esq., A. Z. White, John 
R. Kyle, William Calhoun, James Whittingham, Vanleer Arnold, 
J. A. Schwab, John R. Logan, James A. Dagg. 

The existing session is composed of Messrs. Kyle, Calhoun, 
Vanleer Arnold, Logan and Dagg. With few exceptions, the 
others named are deceased. 

The following persons are deacons: S. A. Walton, R. H. 
Holiday, B. F. Clegg, R. H. Whittingham, Samuel Sawyers, 
John Simpson. 

A brick meeting-house was erected in 1837; re-built in 1871, 
and again in 1887. 

The first trustees were Isaiah Arnold and James Keady. The 
present trustees are Henry Thompson, Robert McConnell and 
D, L. Logan. 

The membership of the church is loi ; and of the Sabbath- 
School 150. Elder Logan is superintendent. 

Two sons of Rev. Dr. Alexander and one son of Rev. J. S. 
Pomeroy, former pastors, entered the ministry. 

The wives of Rev. J. C. Garver and Rev. L. W. Barr, were 
daughters of this church. 

WEI.I.SBURG.* 

Rev. David Hervey, having been installed pastor of the 
Lower Buffalo Church in June, 1835, an arrangement was made 
*By Rev. R. M. Brown, D.D. 



346 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

with this pastor that he should give to the Presbyterians of 
Wellsburg, W. Va., one-third of his time. This arrangement 
continued until 1840. About this time a petition was presented 
to presbytery for a church organization, and Revs. David Her- 
vey and Daniel Deruelle were appointed a committee to visit 
this field and organize a church. This committee met in 
Wellsburg, on the 29th of November, 1839, and organized the 
Presbyterian Church of Wellsburg, W. Va., consisting of 
twenty members. Stephen Caldwell and Smiley Johnston were 
elected and installed ruling elders. 

The first communion service was held in the new church 
building, before its completion, and, although the house was 
seatless, it was a precious occasion, and twelve were added to 
the membership. 

Rev. Samuel Fulton was the first stated supply, serving the 
church from June, 1840, to October, 1842. A call was pre- 
sented to Rev. G. M. Hair in the spring of 1843, who labored 
here until September, 1845, but was not installed. In 1847 
this church, in connection with Holiday's Cove, united in ex- 
tending a call to Rev. Thomas M. Newell, at an annual salary 
of four hundred dollars, the Wellsburg Church agreeing to pay 
of this amount two hundred and sixty-six dollars. He was or- 
dained and installed April 19, 1848. A call for the whole of 
his time was extended him April 12, 185 I, at a salary of four 
hundred and fifty per annum. The pastoral relation was dis- 
solved in October, 185 i. 

Rev. E. Quillan was stated supply from the spring of 1852 
until 1859. 

Rev. J. M. Smith was ordained and installed pastor April 18, 
i860. This relation was dissolved in October, i860. 

Rev. Nathaniel W. Conklin supplied the pulpit during the 
summer of 1861. 

Rev. W. M. Robinson became stated supply June 28, 1862, at 
which time the church had sixty- nine members. He gave up 
the field April 26, 1864, and was followed by Rev. M. A. Park- 
inson, who remained as stated supply only for a short time. 

Rev. R. T. Price became pastor April i, 1866, at which time 
the church members numbered seventy-four, and the elders 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 347 

were Smiley Johnston, James Waugh and A. Paris Hervey. 
This pastorate was dissolved in the spring of 1869. 

Rev. R. R. Moore was the pastor from 1869 until April, 1873. 
Then Rev. Mr. Cross, who was sent by presbytery to declare 
the pulpit vacant, remained as stated supply one year. In the 
spring of 1875 Rev. M, Wright came as stated supply, but re- 
mained only a few months. From that time until June 26, 
1876, the church was without preaching, when Rev. Wm. A. 
Mackey became pastor, remaining until April, 1882. 

Rev. J, D, Walkinshaw was installed pastor in December, 
1882. The pastoral relation was dissolved September 14, 1886- 

The great flood which swept down the Ohio valley in 1884, 
so damaged the old church building, that necessity was laid 
upon the congregation to rebuild. This work was begun in 
1885, and completed in 1887, at the cost of eighteen thousand 
five hundred dollars. 

Rev. R. M. Brown, D.D., was called as pastor and installed 
June, 1887. The present membership is two hundred and 
twenty. The Sabbath-school numbers two hundred. The 
present session numbers six. — Smiley Johnston, A. Faris Her- 
vey, James Carmichael, Henry Hammond, James Paull and J. 

M. Cooper, M.D. 

WAYNESBURG.* 

The Presbyterian Church of Waynesburg, Greene County, Pa., 
was organized on the nth day of June, 1842, by a committee 
of the Presbytery of Washington, consisting of Revs. David 
Hervey and John D. Whitham. 

The original members were John Keigly, Sr., Rachel Keigly, 
George Keigly, John Keigly, Jr., Martha Blatchley, Mary Alli- 
son, Catharine Inghram, Margaret Cook, Emaline M. Inghram, 
Nancy Rees, Wm. Braden, Nancy Braden, Obadiah Vancleve, 
Charity Vancleve, Rebecca Flenniken, Hannah Brooks, Wm. 
M. Reed, Margaretta Reed. 

During the summer of 1842 Prof. Nicholas Murray, of 

Washington College, preached to this congregation probably 

one Sabbath each month. Rev. Alfred Paull was stated supply 

from October, 1843, to April, 1844, giving one-third of his 

* By Rev. Joseph A. Donahey. 



348 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

time. From April, 1844, to April, 1849, there was no regular 
preaching. Rev. John Y. Calhoun was stated supply from 
April, 1849, to April, 1852, giving one-third of his time. From 
April, 1852, to October, 1854, there was no regular preaching. 
Rev. Samuel H. Jeffery was stated supply and pastor from Oc- 
tober, 1854, to November, 1859, giving one-half of his time 
He died November 12, 1859. Rev. James A. Ewing was stated 
supply from i860 to 1861. Rev. A. R. Day was stated supply 
from 1 86 1 to 1862. Rev. James Sloan, D.D., was stated supply 
from 1862 to 1868. From 1868 to 1873 there was occasional 
preaching by Rev. J. W. Scott, D.D., Rev. Asahel Bronson, D.D., 
Rev. Joseph P. Graham and others. Rev. E. P. Lewis was 
pastor from 1873 to 1875, the first minister giving all of his 
time to this congregation. Rev. George Fraser, D.D., was 
stated supply from 1875 to 188 1. Rev. Joseph A. Donahey, 
stated supply from 1882 to the present time. 

Ruling Elders. — Obadiah Vancleve was installed as an elder 
at the organization of the church, having been an elder pre- 
viously at Unity, and served until his death, in 1873 He was 
clerk of the session for twenty-six years, Wm. Braden was or- 
dained at the organization, and is still in active service, the only- 
one of the original members now with us. Matthew Dill was 
ordained 1857, died 1865. John More was installed 1857, 
dismissed 1870. R. A. McConnell was ordained 1870, still in 
active service. M. W. Denny ordained 1870, died 1874. J. W. 
Crow, ordained 1877, dismissed 1877. D. H, Hainer, ordained 
1878, still in active service. John N. Hays, ordained 1878, 

dismissed . George W. Crow, ordained 1878, dismissed 

1885. 

The first house of worship was built in the year 1850. It 
was a frame building, and was completed at a cost of ;^ii 12.50. 

The present house of worship was erected in 1880. It is a 
brick building, and cost, with lot, ;^7436. 

The parsonage was erected in 1887, on lots bequeathed for 
that purpose, by Mrs. Margaret Bradford. It is a brick build- 
ing, and was constructed at a cost of ^4623. The nucleus for 
this fund was found in the will of Mrs. Mary Hook, by which 
she left the church twenty shares of bank stock, one-half of 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 349 

which was to be used in procuring a parsonage when the 
church should decide to do so. 

While this church has been blessed with a number of revi- 
vals, yet its growth has not been rapid at any period of its his- 
tory. During much of the time it has been a struggle for ex- 
istence. The church has three missionary societies, viz. — " The 
Woman's Society," " The Young Ladies' Society " and " The 
Alaska Band." 

The Sabbath-school was organized in 1855. It now enrolls 
three officers, thirteen teachers and 155 scholars. 

The church has now a membership of 117. 

COVE.* 

Cove Church at Hollidays Cove, Hancock County., W. Va., 
was organized in May, 1846. Among those connected with the 
church at its organization were Thomas Orr and Mary, his wife ; 
George G. Orr and Elizabeth, his wife ; Samuel N. Orr and 
Elizabeth, his wife ; James Adams and Jane, his wife; Samuel 
Archer and Mary, his wife ; James M. Campbell and Nancy, his 
wife; Mrs. Martha Brown, Mrs. Mary Lyons, Miss Margaret 
Orr, Miss Julia Brown, Mrs. Margaret Knox, Miss Isabella 
Knox, Miss Mary J. Knox, and others. 

After its organization the church was first supplied by the 
Rev. Marquis Newell, from 1847 ^o 185 1, one-third of his time 
in connection with the church of Wellsburg. 

For an interval of about three years, from 1851 to 1854, the 
names of Revs. Messrs. W. Mason, J. P. Moore, Wm. Forest, 
D. F. McFarland, G. S. Crow, J. B. Stewart, A. Billingsley and 
James Young, appear as occasional supplies. 

The Rev. J. Y. Calhoun was installed and served as pastor 
from 1854 to 1858. The Rev. Wm. D. McCartney w^s stated 

supply from 1858 to 1859, and Rev. Agnew from 1859 to 

i860. Rev. A. M. Reed and Rev. Joseph Waugh, associate 
Principals of Steubenville Female Seminary, supplied the church 
from i860 to 1866. The Rev. John B. Graham was installed and 
served as pastor of the united charge of Holliday's Cove and 
Three Springs, from 1866 to 1878. Mr. Graham having been 
* By Rev. A. B. Lowes. 



350 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

released from the Three Springs Church in 1878, continued pas- 
tor of the Cove Church till 1883. During the summer of 1884, 
Mr. C. E. McCune, a licentiate, supplied the church with great 
acceptance during the summer vacation of his second year in 
the Western Theological Seminary. The Rev. J. D. Spriggs was 
stated supply one-half of his time from 1886 to 1888. 

Ruling Elders. — The elders elected at the organization of the 
church were, — James M. Campbell, Thomas Orr and Samuel 
Archer. George G. Orr, was elected in 1852; William Brown, 
Thomas Hudson and Samuel N. Orr, were elected in 1861 ; 

John Crawford was elected in ; Wm. M. Lee and Benjamin 

Griffith, were elected in 1882, and Thomas C. Carothers and 
Wm. A. Crawford, were elected in 1886. Of the above Thomas 
Orr, died 1852; James M. Campbell, died May, 1882; Samuel 
N. Orr, died February, 1882, George G. Orr, died June, 1882; 
John C. Crawford, died 1885; Thomas Hudson was dismissed 
to Toronto, Ohio. 

Places of Meeting. — At first the congregation met for wor- 
ship in the Academy building. At a congregational meeting in 
February, i860, it was determined to build a house of worship. 
Ewing Turner, James M. Campbell, George G. Orr, were ap- 
pointed a building committee. This committee were instructed 
" to build a house not less than 40x34 feet, according to their 
own judgment, skill, and taste." A lot was donated by the 
heirs of J. N. D. Brown, deceased, and a plain but neat and 
comfortable brick structure was erected at a cost of ^2500. It 
was dedicated January, 1861. Rev. C. C. Beatty, D.D., preached 
the dedication sermon. 

Sabbath-School. — The Sabbath-school was in existence as 
early as 1835. It was then held in the Union Church or 
Academy, and was conducted as a union school. Mr. Thomas 
Orr, an elder in the Three Springs Church, was the superintend- 
ent. After the organization of the Cove Church in 1846, the 
school came under the control of the church. Mr. Orr con- 
tinued the superintendency till his death in 1852. He was suc- 
ceeded in the office by his son, Geo. G. Orr, who continued in 
office till 1872. Mr. John C. Crawford was then elected, and 
continued in office till his death in 1885. His successors have 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 35I 

been Wm. F. Purdy, Jos. R. Orr, and D. M. Griffith. Samuel 
N. Orr, A. G. Lee, Wm. F. Purdy, Jos. R. Orr- and Wm. A. 
Crawford, have been successively secretaries and assistant super- 
intendents. Robert McWha and Benjamin Griffith, treasurers. 
The school has always been well sustained by the church, 
more than one-third of those attending it being adults above 
twenty-one years of age. Its annual contributions have aver- 
aged about one hundred dollars (^100). The greater part of 
which has been given to Home and Foreign Missions. 

Mission Work. — The Woman's Foreign Missionary Society 
was organized June 1st, 1876, with six members and the follow- 
ing officers : President, Mrs. S. N. Orr ; Vice-President, Mrs. J. 

B. Graham ; Secretary, Miss C. L. Graham ; Treasurer, Mrs. N. L. 
Carothers. At the beginning of the second year Mrs. J. P. Orr 
was elected president, and has been continued each year since. 
Mrs. Carothers has been continued as treasurer from the organi- 
zation of the society. In 1878 Miss M. K. Purdy was elected 
secretary, and the present secretary. Miss M. P. Carothers, in 
1880. The present membership is fourteen (14). The largest 
amount contributed by the society in a single year was ^103.50 
in 1887. 

The Graham Band was organized in 1888, with the following 
officers : President, Mrs. J. R. Orr ; Vice-President, Miss J. A. 
Carothers ; Secretary, Miss Nannie Orr; Corresponding Secretary, 
Miss Carrie V. Lee; Treasurer, Miss Mary Purdy; Superinten- 
dent, Miss Mary Brown. 

Of those connected with the church there have entered the 
ministry: Joseph P. Graham, Gerrard B. F. Hallock and Robert 

C. Hallock. Married to ministers : Miss Samantha D. Knox and 

Miss Effie V. Hallock. Of these the Rev. Jos. P. Graham is a 

foreign missionary at Sangli, India, and Miss Knox is the wife 

of Rev. Ira M. Condit, missionary among the Chinese at Los 

Angeles, Cal. Miss Hallock is the wife of the Rev, Wm. P. 

Braddock. 

,; WHEELING SECOND.* 

This is one of the more modern churches of the Presbytery. 
In 1847 the Presbyterian Church of Wheeling, under the able 
* By Rev. W. H. Cooke, D.D. 



352 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ministry of Rev. Henry R. Weed, D.D., had become strong 
enough to require the organization of a new church. The pro- 
ject of forming a Second Church originated with Dr. Weed. 

A meeting of persons interested in such an organization was 
held in the office of Messrs. R. Crangle Sl Co., on Twelfth Street. 
There were present Dr. Weed, Zechariah Jacobs, John Knote, 
Redick McKee, Robert Crangle, Jacob Senseney and Samuel 
Neil. 

Dr. Weed was requested to take such steps as he deemed 
wise toward the formation of a second church in the city. 
He invited Rev. Cyrus Dickson, then pastor of the Presbyterian 
Church at Franklin, Pa., to visit Wheeling. His preaching was 
so acceptable that the success of the enterprise was at once 
assured. 

The third story over Ott & Greer's store-room, corner of 
Market and Twelfth Streets, was rented, and fitted up as a tem- 
porary place of worship. 

A building committee was appointed consisting of Messrs. E. 

W. Stevens, Samuel Ott, Edgar Woods, Stockton and W. 

Fleming. Also a committee to solicit subscriptions consisting 

of Messrs. William B. Quarrier, Thomas Hornbrook, 

Stockton, H. Echols, S. Clemens, J. C. Harborn, W. M. Berry- 
hill, John Goshorn, James Todd and A. Woods. 

The meeting for the formal organization of the church was 
held in the room over Ott & Grier's store on February i8, 1848, 
with Dr. Weed as chairman, and Mr. Edgar Woods as secretary. 

The following persons were dismissed from the First Church, 
to constitute the original membership of the Second, viz : Sam'l 
Ott, his wife, Sidney L. Ott, their daughter, Ann M. Ott; Wm. 
B. Quarrier, James G. Ellison, Edward L. Pratt, Robert Pratt 
and his wife, Phoebe Pratt ; James H. Forsyth, Edgar Woods, 
Redick McKee, and his wife Eliza McKee ; Daniel Harkens and 
his wife, Jane Harkens ; and William B. Clark. 

Messrs. Samuel Ott and William B. Quarrier, elders of the 
First Church, were elected and installed elders of the new church. 

Rev. Cyrus Dickson was unanimously elected pastor, and was 
installed May 12, 1848. 

The Sabbath-school was organized May 26, 1848, with Mr. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 353 

Redick McKee as superintendent. January, 1849, Mr. Ott was 
elected to this office, with Mr. Robert Crangle as vice-superin- 
tendent. Mr. Ott soon retired ; Mr. Crangle succeeded, and was 
superintendent from 1849 until he resigned, December 6, 1882. 
Since that time, Mr. William B, Simpson has filled the position. 

The building committee bought the residence and grounds of 
Mr. Wm. Chapline, occupying the half-square extending from 
Market street to the alley, and from Twentieth to Twenty-first 
streets. 

Church services were held in the residence from September 3, 
1848, until the spring of 1850. 

The first Communion was held in the new church building, 
March 24, 1850. 

The cost of this structure was nearly $12,000. Unfortunately, 
the ground not covered by it was sold. 

In 1856 Dr. Dickson resigned, to accept a call to the West- 
minster Church of Baltimore. During the eight and one-half 
years of his pastorate the church grew rapidly. 

The vacated pulpit was supplied for six months by Rev. Sam'l 
J. Wilson, when a call was offered to him ; but receiving at the 
same time an appointment from the General Assembly to a pro- 
fessorship in the Western Theological Seminary, he accepted 
the latter. 

Rev, R. V. Dodge, of Springfield, 111., was called August 24, 
1857. He was installed October 19, 1857. During his pastorate 
the late Civil War occurred, engendering its deep and bitter 
feelings. But although the members were not of one mind 
politically, they were harmonious in all church matters. 

Mr. Dodge resigned in October, 1862, and was succeeded by 
Rev. John Moffat, of Bellaire, Ohio. He began his work here 
in 1863. In February, 1871, he was compelled to desist from 
preaching by an attack of facial paralysis. In the spring follow- 
ing his eldest son, James D., was licensed to preach; and was 
invited to occupy the pulpit until the fall of that year. This 
arrangement was continued until April 21, 1873, when the son 
was called to be co-pastor with his father. He was installed 
May 8th following. At the death of Mr. John Moffat, Decem- 
ber 27, 1875, Mr. James D. Moffat became sole pastor. 
21 



354 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

He resigned January i, 1882, to become President of Washing- 
ton and Jefferson College. 

Rev. William H. Cooke was elected pastor the same month, 
and still holds that office. 

During the existence of this church more than one thousand 
persons have been connected with it. The present membership 
is 250. The growth has been gradual and healthful, unmarked 
by periods of excitement followed by deadness. 

In the summer of 1872 the building was remodeled and re- 
paired at a cost of some ;$io,ooo; and an organ purchased and 
put in its place for ^2,500. 

Two thousand dollars were spent upon the house in 1888, It 
is now in a thorough state of repair. 

The following persons have served as elders : The original 
elders were, Samuel Ott and William B. Quarrier. Mr. Ott was, 
after six years of faithful service, dismissed to the Third Church 
of this city. Mr. Quarrier died suddenly, April 2, 1862. He 
was greatly loved both in church and Sabbath-school. 

Mr. Robert Crangle was made an elder February 25, 1849, 
and continued in office until his death, February 22, 1888. In 
continued liberality and service he stood first. 

Mr. Edgar Woods was elected elder February 25, 1849. He 
was licensed to preach, June 6, 1852. 

Messrs. William M. Berryhill, Alexander Bone and Alexander 
Hadden were ordained October 5, 185 1. They are all dead. 

Messrs. John H. Thompson, James Dalzell, James C. Orr and 
John C. Hervey were ordained June i, 1856. Of these, only 
Mr. James C. Orr is now with us. Mr. Thompson lives in Du- 
buque, Iowa ; and Messrs. Dalzell and Hervey are dead. 

A. S. Todd, M.D., and William B. Simpson were ordained 
November 24, 1872. Dr. Todd is deceased. 

Messrs. George Carnahan, Robert C. Dalzell (son of James 
Dalzell, mentioned above), and Walter H. Rinehart, were or- 
dained January i, 1888. They, with Messrs. James C. Orr and 
William B. Simpson, constitute the present session of the 
church. 

The following is the list of deacons: Francis M. Bassett, from 
.1849 to 1871 ; Robert Pratt, from 1849 ^^ ^^7^> John French, 



, SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 355 

from 1872 to 1879; George Carnahan, from 1872 to 1888; George 
Hubbard, from 188 1 to 1887; Peter Phillips, John McKee, Chas. 
B. Reed, and Wm. C. Carnahan, from 1888, 

Messrs. Pratt and French died while in office; Messrs. Bassett 
and Hubbard removed from the city, and were dismissed by 
letter. 

Mr. George Carnahan was promoted to the office of elder, and 
Mr. Wm. C. Carnahan, his son, elected in his place. 

The deacons of the church now are : Peter Phillips, John Mc- 
Kee, Charles B. Reed, and William C. Carnahan. 

The Board of Trustees consist of Hon. Wm. L. Hearne, 
president; Joseph Lawson, secretary; Thomas C. Moffat (son 
of Rev. John Moffat), treasurer; William B. Simpson, T. T. 
Hutchison, and George Hannan. 

The usual societies, co-operating with the boards of the church, 
are in existence. They do a good work in the way of present 
helpfulness; and, by training their junior members in beneficence, 
this church is doing a good, steady work in Wheeling. In its 
past history it has had some serious disasters ; but, notwith- 
standing these, and in the face of certain disadvantages of local- 
ity, and the fluctuation of population incident to manufacturing 
cities, there is abundant reason to thank God and take courage. 

WHEELING THIRD. * 

On Friday, November 2, 1849, a committee of the Presby- 
tery of Washington, consisting of Revs. H. R. Weed and Cy- 
rus Dickson, met in the Bogg's Run School-house for the pur- 
pose of organizing a church, to be located in Richietown, a 
suburb of Wheeling. 

The organization was effected, and consisted of the following 
members: From the first Presbyterian Church of Wheeling, 
Duncan Campbell, Margaret Campbell, Andrew Hall, Hiram 
Martin, Elizabeth Martin, Mary Gariston. From the Re- 
formed Presbyterian Church of Three Ridges, Pa., Rosanna 
Harris. From the Forks of Wheeling Church, Thomas Mc- 
Combs and Elizabeth McCombs, his wife. On examination 
George Blake, Grace Blake, William Little, Delilah Little and 
Sarah Hilsman. 

*By Rev. L. W. Barr. 



356 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Thomas McCombs and Andrew Hall were chosen, and set 
apart to the ofifice of ruling elder. Hiram Martin and George 
Blake were elected trustees. 

Rev. Alfred Paull served the congregation as stated supply, 
beginning early in the year 1850, and continued until the fall of 
1852. During his time here the congregation secured a house 
of worship, a small frame building, located on the lot of ground 
where the present church stands. The roll of membership 
increased during his ministry to forty-three members. 

In the winter of 1852 Rev. Edgar Woods, a licentiate, began 
preaching for this people. His services were very acceptable, 
and the congregation made out a call for Mr. Woods to become 
their pastor. The call was accepted, and Mr. Woods was or- 
dained by the Presbytery of Washington, October 5, 1853. 
His installation followed soon after. Rev. Woods continued as 
pastor until June 9, 1857, After severing his connection with 
this church, he labored for a time in central Ohio. Then going 
South, has spent the remainder of his life in Virginia. 

The first regular supply after Rev. Woods was Rev. J. V. 
Dodge, 1859-60. He was followed by Rev. Marcus Wishart 
1861-62, and Rev. R. V. Dodge 1863-64. 

In the fall of 1866 Rev. Jonathan Cross began to labor in 
this field; was installed pastor December 16, 1866, and contin- 
ued their honored and highly esteemed pastor until February 
4. 1873, when the pastoral relation was dissolved. 

Rev. Cross' labors were greatly blessed in the Third Church. 
On different occasions the Holy Spirit was given in great 
measure, and many souls were converted to Christ. 

May, 1873, Rev. A. G. Eagleson became pastor, and served in 
that capacity until April, 1875. He was followed by Rev. 
Daniel Williams, stated supply 1876-79. 

Rev. Joseph G. Lyle began to labor as pastor November 9, 
1879, and continued until his death, April 1 1, 1884. 

Rev. Lyle was a man greatly loved by all who knew him. He 
was most earnest in his labors, active in ministering to every 
good work. During his ministiy the church passed through 
seasons of great revival, when large numbers were enrolled as 
servants of Christ. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 357 

The congregation also had its trials. In February, 1884, the 
time of the great flood in the Ohio Valley, this congregation 
suffered severely — scarcely a home in which the floods did not 
enter and cause damage. 

At this time the trials and anxiety of the people were great. 
Brother Lyle did what he could to relieve the suffering and 
protect the property which seemed in danger. 

Exposure, no doubt, hastened on the end, for disease had 
already fastened itself in his system, and at 3 o'clock, April 11, 
1884, he passed to his reward. 

Rev, Samuel G. Hair served the church as pastor from Oc- 
tober I, 1884, to February 24, 1886. He was followed by Rev. 
W. M. Eaton as stated supply until October i, 1886, when the 
present pastor, Rev. L, W. Barr, began to labor in this field. 

Elders. — The following members have held the office of 
ruling elder in this congregation : 

Mr. Thomas McCombs, 1849-55; Mr. Andrew Hall, 1849- 
64; Samuel Ott, 1854-68; James Cowen, 1866-76; William 
Morrow, 1866-84; Edward Steele, 1868-84; Joseph Dudley, 
1 868-; James Brown, 1874-86; Isaac F, Stewart, 1883- ; Isa- 
dore Fulton, 1883; Anthony Christian, 1885-; John R, Rob- 
inson, 1 887-. 

Mr. Thomas McCombs and Andrew Hall were the original 
elders chosen at the organization of the church. Shortly after- 
ward Mr. McCombs moved to Allen Grove, severing his con- 
nection with the church in 1855. 

Mr. Hall continued one of its earnest, active supporters until 
his death. He was always faithful in performing the duties of 
his office to the best of his ability, making many sacrifices for 
the church's welfare. 

Mr. Samuel Ott came to this church from the Second Pres- 
byterian Church, Wheeling, and was a very warm friend of the 
church. 

He organized the Sabbath-school, out of which grew the 
church. 

On the minutes of the " Session Book " we find this record : 

" In the death of Bro. Ott this church has lost one of its 
most useful officers and members ; South Wheeling, one of 



358 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

its most honored and upright citizens, the poor one of their 
greatest benefactors, and society one of its brightest ornaments." 

Mr. Edward Steele was another true friend and supporter of 
the church. A man of strong Christian convictions. The 
church was foremost in his thoughts, and often he has sacrificed 
personal interests for her welfare. 

The present efficient members of the session are Joseph Dud- 
ley, John R. Robinson, Isaac F. Stewart, Anthony Christian and 
Isadore Fulton. 

Houses of Worship. — The congregation was organized in 
Boo-cr's Run School-house, and it would seem that for a short 
time the people met for worship either in the school-house or in 
some dwelling. Their first church home was a little frame 
building, a gift from Rev. Alfred Paull. It was located on the 
lot where the present church building stands, 3804 Jacob St. 

In a few years this building was taken away, and a brick 
structure erected, which was replaced by a still larger and more 
commodious building in 1884, our present house of worship. 

The seating capacity of the present auditorium is about 500. 

The first floor is arranged for the Sabbath-school and other 
. church meetings. 

Sabbath-School. — The Sabbath-school was organized by 
Mr. Samuel Ott, in 1848, when he was still a member of the 
First Presbyterian Church. 

At first he would have the children gather in the basement 
room of his house, now the residence of Mr. Joseph Seybold, 
and instruct them from God's word. 

Later they went to the school-house, until the congregation 
had a building, and after that the Sabbath-school was a factor of 
the church. 

The following persons have acted as superintendent of the 
Sabbath-school : Mr. Samuel Ott, Mr. Edward Steele, Isaac F. 
Stewart, Isadore Fulton, Henry Kunkle and others. 

At the present time the Sabbath-school officers and teachers 
number thirty-eight, with a large enrollment of pupils inter- 
ested in the study of God's word. From the Sabbath-school 
many souls have come to the church seeking to find Christ, 
their Saviour, their hope of eternal life. 




'"" t. PKOurf^^ 



'^A. „,„^ f^jiti- 



First Pastor, Ruling Elders, Burgettstown, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 359 

The ladies of the church do efficient work through their 
missionary organizations. 

The Woman's Society meets monthly, the Children's Bands 
meet once or twice a month In these bands much good is 
done for the church in advancing the knowledge of Christ 
abroad and engaging the hearts of the children for Christ. 

. BURGETTSTOWN.* 

In the year 1845 a church building was erected in the village 
of Burgettstown, Washington County, Pa., by Presbyterians re- 
siding in or near that place, being mostly members of Cross 
Roads Church at Florence, the pastor of which frequently held 
service at Burgettstown on Sabbath afternoons and evenings. 
In 1849 application was made to the Presbytery of Washington 
for an organization, which in the first instance was refused, but 
an appeal having been taken to Synod, which met two weeks 
later, the action of presbytery was overruled, whereupon pres- 
bytery appointed Rev. J. Stoneroad to organize said congrega- 
tion. The organization was effected October 18, 1849, under 
the name of the First Presbyterian Church of Burgettstown. 
The following names appear in the list of original members : 
Robert Patterson, Mary Patterson, Samuel Riddle, Sr., Margaret 
Riddle, Mary McFarland, Ann Covert, Ann Hays, Thomas 
Thompson, Rebecca Thompson, Mary Ann Boyd, Mary Jane 
Scott, William Melvin, Margaret Melvin, Elizabeth Melvin, Miss 
Mary Patterson, John Lamb, Elizabeth Lamb, Samuel Riddle, 
Jr., Elizabeth Riddle, John Melvin, Jane Whittaker, John Ray- 
buch, James L. Patterson, James Cunningham, Josiah Scott, Ann 
Crawford, Elizabeth Proudfit, William Blair, Ann Stewart and 
Jane Stevenson. On the 26th of the same month elders were 
elected as follows : Robert Patterson, Thomas Thompson, John 
S. Lamb, William Cunningham and John Moore. 

Pastors. — On the 4th of April, 1850, an unanimous call was 
extended to James P. Fulton, a licentiate of the Presbytery of 
Ohio, which was put into his hands in October following, and 
the same having been accepted by him, he was ordained and in- 
stalled pastor by the Presbytery of Washington, October 2, 1850. 
* By Rev. Joseph L. Weaver. 



360 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

In this service Rev. Alfred Paull preached, Rev. James W. 
McKcnnan presided. Rev. David Robinson gave the charge to 
the pastor, and Rev. J. W. Scott gave the charge to the congre- 
gation. 

This pastoral relation was dissolved April 22, 1857. After 
less than a year's vacancy a call was presented to James T. 
Fredericks, a licentiate of the Presbytery of Richland, who, 
having accepted the same, was ordained and installed pastor by 
the Presbytery of Washington, October 26, 1858. In this ser- 
vice Rev. David Hervey preached, Rev. J. Y. Calhoun presided, 
and Rev. Dr. Stockton delivered the charges to both pastor and 
people. 

This pastoral relation was dissolved by Mr. Frederick's death, 
July 21, 1886. 

Rev. Joseph L. Weaver, present pastor, was installed May 10, 
1887. Rev. J. P. Anderson preached, and Rev. Dr. Henry 
Woods delivered the charges to both pastor and people. 

Ruling Elders. — Fuller notices of some of these will be 
found in sketches of deceased elders. The following takes in 
the whole list from 1849-89: Robert Patterson, previously 
ordained, elected 1849, died January, 1861 ; Thomas Thompson, 
previously ordained, elected 1849, died June 23, 1850; John S. 
Lamb, previously ordained, elected 1849; William Cunningham, 
elected 1849, ordained March, 1850, died 1878; John Moore, 
elected 1849, ordained March, 1850, died 1872; Samuel P. Rid- 
dle, ordained 1854, dismissed by certificate 1881 ; W. W. Van 
Eman, ordained 1854, dismissed by certificate 1879 ; John Farrar» 
previously ordained, installed about 1858, died 1875 ; John L. 
Proudfit, ordained 1864, dismissed by certificate 1881, died 1882; 
Finly Scott, ordained 1864, dismissed by certificate 1881 ; James 
L. Patterson, ordained 1864; John L. Rankin, ordained 1868; 
David M. Pry, ordained 1874; W. V. Riddle, M.D., ordained 
1874, dismissed by certificate 1881 ; W. V. McFarland, ordained 
1874, dismissed by certificate 1881 ; Alex. Walker, installed 1880, 
dismissed by certificate 1881 ; William M. McElhany. ordained 
1 881; George M. Miller, ordained 1881: L. C. Botkin, M.D., 
ordained 1885 ; Albert G. Lee, ordained 1886. 

Houses of Worship. — The first house of worship, built in 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 36 1 

1845, gave place to the present more commodious structure, 
which was erected in 1874 at a cost of ;^20,ooo. 

Spiritual History. — The church has been mainly indebted 
for its growth to gradual accessions steadily maintained. There 
have also been times of special awakening, and of most precious 
and encouraging refreshings from the Lord's presence. The 
number of communicants has never been less than at the time 
of organization. The largest enrollment at any time has been 
445. Her spiritual life has probably never been higher than at 
the present time, with a membership of 350. 

Missionary Societies. — The Woman's Home and Foreign 
Missionary Society, organized early in the history of the church; 
The Young Ladies' Home and Foreign Missionary Society, 
organized somewhat later ; The Golden Chain Band for Home 
and Foreign Mission Work ; and The Ten Per Cent. Band for Home 
and Foreign Missions, have done and are doing efficient service. 

Sabbath-school. — Robert Patterson, Esq., and William Cun- 
ningham established a Sabbath-school here in 1833. Under the 
superintendency of these, and others of like devoted spirit who 
followed them, the school has flourished continuously, and from 
its feeble beginning has grown to a present membership of 250. 
Among its more recent superintendents have been David M. Pry, 
James L. Patterson and Dr. J. C. Nesbit. 

Ministers' Wives. — Two of the daughters of this church 
have been married to ministers : Miss Mary Patterson to Rev. 
J. T. Fredericks, and Miss Sarah Fredericks to Rev. S. F. Marks, 
of Tidioute, Pa. 

Ministers. — Three sons of the church have entered the 
gospel ministry : Rev. Samuel G. McFarland, D.D., Bangkok, 
Siam ; Rev. John W. McFarland, Juneau, Alaska, and Rev. 
Zechariah B. Taylor, Scottdale, Pa. 

George A. Duncan, who died January 11, 1882, while pur- 
suing his theological course at the Allegheny Seminary, was also 
a member of this church. 

The loss of a volume of " Congregational Records " has 
prevented that full exhibit which might otherwise have been 
made of the church's home work, and also its outreaching efforts 
in the various lines of benevolent contribution. 



363 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

NEW CUMBERLAND.* 

The Church of New Cumberland, Hancock County, West 
Virginia, was organized May 7, 1851, by a committee of the 
Presbytery of Washington, consisting of Revs. David Robinson 
and Thomas M. Newell. At the time of its organization it con- 
sisted of twenty-eight members, most of whom had been con- 
nected with the Church of Fairview, three miles distant. For 
the first eighteen months this church was supplied by Presby- 
tery, and in November, 1852, Rev. S. F. Grier became its pastor, 
dividing his labors between this church and Frankfort, Pa. This 
relation with Frankfort continued until October, 1857; since 
which time, Mr. Grier has given his entire labors to the Church 
of New Cumberland. 

Names of first members : John H. Atkinson, Melissa G. At- 
kinson, Melinda Atkinson, Eliza A. Atkinson, Thomas Lyons, 
Eliza J. Lyons, Mary V. Stewart, Julia Ann McCarty, Susannah 
Troup, William Montery, Josiah A. Adams, Elizabeth Adams, 
Margaret Repham, James R. M. Stewart, Cordelia Stewart, Jane 
Prosser, Isaac Flowers, Catharine Flowers, Elizabeth Stewart, 
Nancy A. Stewart, Wallace Haney, Samuel F. Marquis, Sarah 
Jane Marquis, William Lindsay, Jane Lindsay, John Wylie, Eliza 
Wylie, Matilda Reed. 

Pastors. — This church has had but one pastor since its organ- 
ization. Rev. S. F. Grier has held that relation since November, 
1852, until the present time. 

Elders. — At the time of the organization of this church, four 
ruling elders were elected, viz : John Wylie, J. R. M. Stewart, 
Wallace Haney and J. H. Atkinson. 

John Wylie died October 15, 1873. J. R. M, Stewart retired 
from office in 1867, and died about 1875. Wallace Haney re- 
moved in 1888. In August, 1866, William L. Bigham, John 
Francy, Alexander N. Edie and Thomas Peterson were elected 
to this office. Mr. Bigham died April 10, 1873; Mr. Edie died 
September 9, 1885. Mr. Francy removed from the bounds of 
the church, February 26, 1883. Dr. P. C. McLane, Hugh L. 
Irvin and R E. Lindsay were chosen elders, and D. S. Carothers 
* By Rev. S. F. Grier. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 363 

had been elected some time before — having come as a ruling 
elder from the Church of Frankfort. 

The present session are, Thomas Peterson, D. S. Carothers, 
P. C. McLane, Hugh L. Irwin, and Robert E. Lindsay. 

Church Buildings. — The first house of worship erected by 
this church cost about ^6,000. It was not completed until some 
three years after the present pastorate commenced. A new 
edifice, 92 by 62 feet, of white sandstone, and costing about 
^17,000, was dedicated February 10, 1889, to the worship and 
service of God. It is a beautiful structure and most convenient 
in all its appointments. 

Revivals. — This church has enjoyed frequent seasons of 
revival of greater or less power. Some years as high as sixty 
or seventy have been received into the Church. 

Missionary Work. — The missionary spirit and contributions 
to the boards have steadily increased, and a " Woman's Foreign 
Missionary Society" has been in existence for several years, by 
which much has been done. 

Candidates for the Ministry. — William E. McRea and 
Joseph E. Andrews, sons of this church, have entered the min- 
istry and have been successful in their work. 

Sabbath-School — organized and conducted as a union school 
until the church building was completed in 1855; since which 
time it has been strictly Presbyterian, and numbers about 250 
scholars and teachers. J. H. Atkinson was superintendent for 
many years. Since 1883 Robert E Lindsay has been its super- 
intendent. 

Membership, nearly 300; contributions increasing every year; 
salary, ^1000. 

ALLEN GROVE.* 

The history of this church is meager both in incident and 
record. It was organized by a committee of Presbytery con- 
sisting of Revs, Alfred Paull and John R. Duncan, on June 28, 
1852. 

The following original members were received on certificate 
from the surrounding churches of Forks of Wheeling — Eliza- 
bethtown, Rock-Hill and Wolf-Run : William Haliday, Mary 
* By Rev. A. B, Lowes, 



364 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Haliday, Joanna Haliday, Joseph McCombs, Nancy McCombs, 
Hannah Kiger, Nancy Fleming, John McCombs, Rachel Mc- 
Combs, John Hilsman, Sarah Hilsman, Lucinda Harris, William 
Kyzer, Mary R. Kyzer, James Standiford, and Sarah Standiford. 

Pastors and Stated Supplies. — The first pastor was Rev. 
John R. Duncan, fi-om 1853-57; Rev. Alfred Paull, stated supply 
from 1858-59; Rev. James Alexander, D.D., pastor from 1859- 
66; Rev. Samuel Graham, stated supply from 1867-68; Rev. 
D. H. Laverty, stated supply from 1869-70. From 1870-74 the 
pulpit was filled by supplies appointed by Presbytery. Rev. W. 
C. Smith, stated supply from 1874-76; Rev. J. F. Curtis, stated 
supply from 1876-77; Rev. John A. Brown, pastor from 1877- 
80; Rev. W. W. Morton, stated supply from 1881-84; Rev. A. 
B. Lowes, occasional supply, 1886-88; Rev. Jacob Ruble, stated 
supply, 1888. 

Ruling Elders. — William Kyzer and John McCombs were 
elected and installed as elders at the organization of the church, 
June 28, 1852. Noah Harris and William L. Kennedy were 
installed October 30, 1854. John Allen and Thomas McCombs 
were installed November 23, 1856. James Standiford, Lemuel 
T. Gardiner and William T. Grindstaff were installed July 2i,- 
1867. Alexander D. Hood and Edgar McCombs were installed 
December 2, 1881. John McCombs died October 6, 1866, aged 
80. Noah Harris was dismissed, having removed West. John 
Allen died September i, 1876. Thomas McCombs died July 
23, 1882. James Standiford was dismissed to Limestone, 1871. 
Messrs. Gardiner and Grindstaff were both dismissed, having 
removed. 

William L. Kennedy, Alexander D. Hood, and Edgar Mc- 
Combs, constitute the existing session. 

House of Worship. — The present house of worship was built 
in 1852. The contract was let for ;^500 — the material to be de- 
livered free of charge. 

There is no parsonage connected with the church. There has 
never been any notable revival of religion in this church, neither 
has it had to encounter special difficulties. Its growth has been 
gradual, and its future prospects are very encouraging. 

Sabbath-School. — The Sabbath-school was organized in 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 365 

1854. John McCombs was the first superintendent, succeeded 
by WilHam L. Kennedy, Dr. I. V. Lucas, Joseph McCombs, 
John Hood, and the present one, Edgar McCombs. 

The membership has not varied greatly, and is at present — 
teachers, 10; scholars, 60. 

HOOKSTOWN (BEAVER COUNTY, PA.)* 

The church at Hookstown is an offspring from the old Mill 
Creek organization. After a religious awakening among the 
people of Mill Creek Valley in 1853, in which more than ten 
score of souls were converted to God under the preaching of 
Rev. David Robinson, pastor, and assistants Revs. Dr. Stockton, 
S. F. Grier, J. S. Pomeroy, Wells, Jennings, Murray and others, 
there being an addition of one hundred and twelve converts to 
Mill Creek Church, thus making a very large congregation, it 
was thought well by members in and near Hookstown to form a 
new organization at that place. In 1854 the new church was 
organized. The original members were the following, viz. : 
David Kerr, Mary Kerr, John S. McCoy, Nancy McCoy, James 
S. Walker, Margaret Walker, Milton Lawrence, Sarah Law- 
rence, Joseph McFerran, Sarah E. McFerran, Mary McFerran, 
John McFerran, Martha J. McGinnis, Nancy Stewart, Eliza 
McGahan, Mary Blackmore, Mary Patterson, Almira and Jane 
Witherspoon, Stephen and Margaret Whitehill, Wm. Thomp- 
son, Ruth Thompson, Rachel Kerr, Wm. Ridgely, Thomas J. 
Laughlin, Mary Moody, John Moody, Margaret Moody, Benoni 
Reed, Joseph , Moody, Joseph Cain, Nancy Cain, Wm. Miller, 
Milo Thompson, Thos. H. Moore, A. R. McClure, Kaleb 
Whim, Rachel Whim, John and Mary Galbraith, Sarah Black- 
more, Jane Miller, Nancy Chapman, Nancy Goshorn, Thos. and 
M. A. Calhoon, S. W. Miller and others. 

The first church erected was in 1854, at a cost of two thou- 
sand five hundred dollars. The basement was used for worship 
before the audience room was finished. Slabs, with wooden 
pins for legs, supplied the seats and a common table the pulpit. 
After a time the church was comfortably and neatly furnished 
for religious services. The Sabbath-school room was in the 
*By Frank D. Kerr, M.D. 



366 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

basement, where were the heaters for the whole building. In 
1884 the church was repaired at considerable expense, but on 
the 30th of January, 1885, took fire from a defective flue, and 
was burned. In 1886 a new church was built, at an expense of 
three thousand dollars, and was dedicated on October 29, 1886. 
This service was conducted by Rev. Dr. Ross Stevenson. 

The first pastor of the Hookstown Church was the late Rev. 
R. S. Morton. A minute of the session record reads : " On 
the 1 2th day of June, 1855, Rev. R. S. Morton was installed 
pastor of the united congregations of Mill Creek and Hooks- 
town by a committee of the Presbytery of Washington, in which 
service Rev. Smith F. Grier preached the sermon and proposed 
the constitutional questions. Rev. Joseph S. Pomeroy deliv- 
ered the charge to the pastor and Rev. O. M. Todd the charge 
to the people." We enjoyed the services of Rev. R. S. Morton 
(pastor), 1854-63; Rev. J. S. Pomeroy and others (supply), 
1863-66; Rev. W. M. White (pastor), 1866-70; Rev. David 
Hervey and others (supply), 1870-73; Rev. George Shaeffer 
(pastor), 1873-74; Rev. B. O. Junkin and others (supply), 1874 
-'j^i; Rev. D. L. Dickey (pastor), 1876-81; Rev. Childs and 
others (supply), 1881-82; Rev. R. S. Morton (pastor), 1882^ 
85, who died January 13, 1885; Rev. Robert Cochran and 
others, 1885-89. Rev. Cochran now holds the call of this 
church and that of Bethlehem, but has not yet accepted, March 
I, 1889. 

The elders of Hookstown Church, at first elected, were John 
S. McCoy, 1854-62, dismissed on certificate; James S. Walker, 
1854-62, dismissed on certificate; David Kerr, 1854-87, died 
November 25th. Afterwards were elected the following: James 
McCready, 1857-72, died September 9th; William Snowden, 
1857-65, dismissed on certificate; Robt. W. Stewart, 1873; 
Joseph Moody, 1873-75, dismissed on certificate; Watson 
Ramsey, 1873-79, died; John B. McCready, 1883-88, dismissed 
on certificate; Franklin D. Kerr, 1883. 

The Sabbath-school in this village was started in Goshorns' 
shoe-shop, by Rev. Geo. M. Scott, pastor of Mill Creek, about 
1826. It was looked after in an irregular way until about 1840, 
when Rev. David Polk, who supplied preaching at Mill Creek, 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 367 

organized the school permanently, and became its first superin- 
tendent. He was followed by Rev. J. Brice McCoy, who was 
accidentally killed near Wheeling, while on his way to presby- 
tery. Matthew Glass was superintendent from 1841-48, Sannuel 
Jeffrey from 1848-54, James S. Walker from 1854-62, David 
Kerr from 1862-82, John B. McCready from 1882-88, J. 
Marion Blackmore from 1888-. 

In its spiritual condition the church of Hookstown has ex- 
perienced more, probably, than the usual degree of vicissitude 
to which churches are subject. It has passed through some 
seasons of fiery trial. Its changes of pastorate have been fre- 
quent, and much of the time it has been dependent on stated 
and occasional supplies. There have, accordingly, been seasons 
of serious depression. Even when ordinances were regularly 
enjoyed, they seemed at times to be barren. A " Narrative " 
prepared by the pastor, Rev, G. Shaeffer, in 1874, records his 
great discouragement. The only hope was that " foundation 
work was being done," and that God would not suffer " his 
word to return unto him void." This hope was joyously ful- 
filled the year following, when the Spirit was poured out, and 
Iialf a hundred souls were added to the Lord. Other refresh- 
ings from the Lord's presence have also been realized, so that 
abundant reason is had '' to thank God and take courage." 

More than a score of years ago, one of the daughters of this 
church, Miss Rachel Kerr, gave herself to missionary work in 
India, as the wife of Rev. W. F. Johnston. After many years 
of service she was compelled to return to this country, and but 
recently entered into rest. The missionary spirit of the church 
is still manifested in keeping up somewhat feebly a Woman's 
Missionary Society. It were greatly to be desired that more of 
this spirit prevailed in the church. 

WASHINGTON SECOND.* 

The Second Presbyterian Church of Washington was organ- 
ized by the Presbytery of Washington, in the First Church of 
Washington, on March 12, 186 1. It had its origin in the inade- 
quacy of the First Church building to accommodate the grow- 
* By Rev. James H. Snowden. 



368 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

ing congregation, and its separation from the First Church was 
attended with expressions of the best Christian feehng. It is a 
blessing and an honor to Presbyterianism in Washington that it 
never has been a house divided against itself, and its two churches 
have grown out of prosperity and not out of strife. The lead- 
ing spirit in the movement for a second church was Mr. Colin 
M. Reed, and at its organization thirty-seven members were en- 
rolled, of whom thirty-six came from the First Church and one 
from the Church of Martinsville, O. Of these original members 
only two, Mr. and Mrs. H. H. Clark, now remain in the church. 
The Civil War came on, however, before the church began 
active work, and, as a consequence, the members continued to 
worship with the First Church, and the whole project was held 
in abeyance for three years. During this time Mr. Reed and 
nine others returned to the First Church. In the spring of 1864 
the dormant organization was called into activity. On April 7, 
1864, a congregational meeting was held in the lecture-room of 
the First Church at which it was resolved to go forward imme- 
diately with the work of the church. Harvey H. Clark, Andrew 
Brady and William Blair were appointed a committee on sup- 
plies, and the trustees were instructed to secure a place of wor- 
ship. Smith's Hall, on the third floor of the Smith store build- 
ing, was obtained, and on May 15, 1864, the first service was 
held, and the Rev. R. V. Dodge, of Wheeling, preached. A 
call was made out for him at an annual salary of ;^I200. He 
accepted the call, was installed October 4, 1864, and served as 
pastor till May 3, 1868. Mr. Dodge, a biographical sketch of 
whom appears elsewhere, was a man of noble character and 
genial, winning disposition. The church was fortunate in having 
him for its first pastor, and owes much to him. His memory is 
still dear to many in the church. On June 19, 1864, Harvey H. 
Clark, William B. Cundall and John Grayson, Jr., were installed 
elders, and Harvey J. Vankirk and William Blair were installed 
deacons. In April, 1867, Freeman Brady, Jr., and Morgan 
Hayes were installed deacons. 

Mr. Dodge was succeeded by the Rev. John C. Caldwell, who 
was installed pastor August 2, 1868, and served the church suc- 
cessfully till December 28, 1869. In his pastorate, on February 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 369 

14, 1869, Robert Boyd, Hugh McClelland, Freeman Brady, Jr., 
and John B. Vowell were installed elders. From January to 
August, 1870, the church was served acceptably by Prof. Henry 
Woods, and he was called to the pastorate on April 20, 1870, 
but owing to his duties in Washington and Jefferson College, 
was constrained to decline. 

In the winter of 1870 the Rev. George P. Hays, D.D., having 
been called to the presidency of the college, began to serve the 
church as stated supply, not being willing to accept the pastoral 
office. With the exception of two years, from September, 1872, 
till September, 1874, during which his place was taken by Prof 
George Fraser, D.D., Dr. Hays served the church with marked 
success till September i, 1881, when he retired from the college 
and went to the Central Church of Denver, Col. On April 14, 
1872, James Rankin, Morgan Hayes and James Houston were 
installed elders, and Robert S. Winters and Hiram Warne were 
installed deacons. The Smith Hall becoming unsatisfactory as 
a place of worship during the pastorate of Dr. Hays, the church 
building belonging to the M. P. congregation on West Beau 
Street was leased for fifteen years, and was repaired and re- 
furnished at an expense of ^3437. It was opened for service on 
January 5th, 1874, and was used by the congregation till March 
4, 1887. On December 9, 1877, Dr. William R. Thompson, 
Robert S. Winters and William G. Pollock were installed elders, 
and John Addison Mcllvaine, D. M. Donehoo and R. J. S. 
Thompson were installed deacons. 

The Rev. John G. Cowden succeeded Dr. Hays, and served 
the church as pastor elect from February, 1882, till January, 
1883. The Rev. John F. Magill, D.D., was installed pastor 
October 7, 1883, and ably served the church till March 14, 1886. 
The present pastor, the Rev. James H, Snowden, was called 
September 11, 1886, at an annual salary of ^1800, began work 
the 1 6th of October following, and was installed March 6, 1887. 
On April 17, 1887, the Hon. John Addison Mcllvaine and 
Hiram Warne were installed elders, and James V. Boyd, Andrew 
J. Montgomery, Jr., Frank B. McKinley, Augustus L. Smith, 
Louis S. Vowell and H. Frank Ward were installed deacons. 

The hope of a church building of its own had long been 
24 



370 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

entertained by the congregation, and as its membership grew 
and the expiration of the lease approached, the necessity for 
action became pressing. On August 23, 1884, a congregational 
meeting was held at which it was resolved to build a church to 
cost $25,000. At a meeting on August 31 the first subscriptions 
were taken, amounting to $10,484. A lot was now purchased 
on East Beau Street, between Main and College Streets, at a 
cost of $3500. In January, 1885, a Building Committee was 
appointed consisting of John Addison Mcllvaine, chairman, H. 
H. Clark, Freeman Brady, Jr., William R. Thompson, Hiram 
Warne, H. J. Vankirk and James Prigg ; and on June 29th the 
committee awarded the contract. The building was dedicated 
on March 6, 1887, Dr. George P. Hays preaching the dedicatory 
sermon. It contains an auditorium with a groined ceiling and 
bowled floor; a lecture-room separated from the auditorium by 
curtains which can be drawn aside, throwing both rooms into 
one ; Bible and infant-class rooms ; a library room, session room, 
ladies' parlor, dining-room and kitchen. The auditorium seats 
450, and, with the lecture-room, the seating capacity is 800. The 
church is remarkable for its convenience in arrangement, and for 
its taste and beauty. The cost of the lot and building was" 
$24,840'. In January, 1888, a Johnson Pipe Organ was placed 
in the choir-gallery back of the pulpit at a cost of $2535. The 
whole cost of the property has been $28,040. 

The Sabbath-school of the church was organized July 17, 
1864. Its first superintendent was John Grayson, Jr., and his 
successor is Robert S. Winters, who still serves with great ac- 
ceptance. 

Three memorable revivals of religion have visited the church. 
The first in 1867, under Mr. Dodge, when seventy-two persons 
were added on confession; the second in 1876, under Dr. Hays, 
when seventy were added; and the third in 1884, under Dr. 
Magill, when there were seventy-two such additions. During 
its active history, since 1S64, the church has received an aver- 
age of forty-two additions a year ; and the whole number of 
members that have been on its roll is 1050, of whom 500 were 
received by letter and 550 on confession. At present it has 
seven elders, eight deacons, 337 Sabbath-school scholars and 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 371 

464 members. During its history it has raised for all purposes 
;^86,oo6. Of this, 1^72,426 were for congregational objects and 
;$ 1 3,5 80 were for the boards of the church. Its contributions to 
the boards for the last two years (^i 165 for the year just closed) 
have been double its average contribution, and it expects to 
grow in this direction in the future. 

In connection with the church are the Pastors' Aid Commit- 
tee, the Ladies' Aid Society, the Young People's Society of 
Christian Endeavor, the Woman's Missionary Society, the 
Young Ladies' Society, the Pansy Band and the Gleaners, the 
last three being missionary societies for young people and chil- 
dren. 

The Pastors* Aid Committee consists of twenty-two mem- 
bers, two in each of the eleven districts into which the town is 
divided. It is their duty to note any changes among the fami- 
lies in their respective districts, call upon new families, visit the 
sick and report any cases needing attention to the pastor. A 
general meeting of the committee is held twice a year, at which 
the whole field is carefully gone over. 

The Wednesday evening prayer-meeting has always been 
one of the best services of the church. The attendance is 
large, and often fills the lecture room. After the opening ex- 
ercises of song and prayer, and remarks on the printed topic, 
not usually exceeding five minutes, by the pastor, the meeting 
is conducted voluntarily. Remarks, hymns, prayers and Scrip- 
ture quotations follow each other in rapid succession, throwing 
side-lights upon the topic from many points of view, until the 
expiration of the hour when the meeting is promptly closed. 

The prayer-meeting of the Society of Christian Endeavor, 
held on Sabbath evening, one hour before service, is a growing 
power for good among the young people. The society has 
seventy-six members, of whom fifty-six are active members, 
pledged to attend and take some part, other than singing, in 
every prayer-meeting of the society, except when prevented by 
conscientious reasons. 

Students of the college have been a great help to the Second 
Church. A number of them attend and take part in the Wed- 
nesday evening and young people's prayer-meetings ; some of 



372 THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

them teach in the Sabbath-sehool ; a Bible class of students is 
taught by the pastor; and from seventy-five to lOO of their 
number attend the preaching services. A large number of 
students who attended and worked in the Second Church dur- 
ing their college course are now ministers and foreign mission- 
aries. 

Nine young men who were members of the church have be- 
come ministers. They are Charles M. Fraser, George M. 
Hickman, Robert A. Hunter, J. V. Milligan, William G. Pol- 
lock, Benjamin G. Van Cleve, Mark Austin Denman, Andrew 
J. Montgomery and David M. Skilling. 

Seven members have gone out as foreign missionaries. They 
are — William C. Gault, Africa; George W. Pollock and Minnie 
Ewing Pollock, his wife, India (now in Colorado) ; Mrs. Lillie 
White Touzeau, South America; George S. Hays, China; Miss 
Kate A. Rankin, Alaska ; and George W. Fulton, now under 
appointment of the board to Japan. 

The church has been marked throughout its history by a 
spirit of unity. No trouble has ever imperilled or divided it. 
Few people have ever left it on account of dissatisfaction. In 
the days of its weakness and struggles it could not afford to 
fight, and now, in its strength and prosperity, it does not want 
to. To this unity and harmony its growth is largely due. 

These years have also been marked by faithful work on the 
part of the members. The making of this church has been no 
easy task ; it did not grow up itself, but has cost twenty-five 
years' hard work. It has been a self-reliant church from the 
beginning. For almost half its history under Dr. Hays it had 
little pastoral care. Dr. Hays did the preaching, and did it 
faithfully, and with remarkable acceptance and success. But he 
could not give much attention to the general interests of the 
church. As a consequence, it learned to take care of itself, and 
can, with divine help, do so still. It has efficient, enterprising 
men, who have given largely of their time and means to its in- 
terests ; and its women have worked with remarkable energy 
and devotion in its service. 

But the main feature of these twenty-five years has been their 
spiritual fruitfulness. The gospel has been preached and the 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 373 

ordinances administered with unbroken regularity. The chil- 
dren have been taught in the Sabbath-school. The prayer- 
meeting has been a live service, full of interest and refresh- 
ment. The Holy Spirit has descended in frequent rains of 
grace, and in three seasons of Pentecostal power. More than 
500 conversions have occurred within its walls. One hun- 
dred communion seasons have been enjoyed. Thousands here 
have been helped in the Christian life. Hundreds have been 
turned from the error of their ways. Out of this communion 
scores of redeemed spirits have gone up to glory. For all 
these manifold blessings, material and spiritual, not unto us, not 
unto us do we ascribe praise, b.ut unto the Lord God Almighty, 
the Lord gracious and merciful, slow to anger and full of good- 
ness and grace, the Father, Son and Holy Ghost. He has 
done these things for us, and not we ourselves. Often have we 
been unfaithful, but never has He forsaken us. All our way He 
has led us. The Lord hath done great things for us, whereof 
we are glad : to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen. 

CAMERON— (WEST VA.).* 

This church was organized September 23, 1867, by Rev. 
Messrs. J. S. Pomeroy, J. W. Alexander, D.D., and Samuel 
Graham, acting under authority of the Presbytery of Washing- 
ton. The following persons presented certificates of Church 
membership, and were enrolled, viz : William Hosack, Sr., Mrs. 
Nancy Hosack, Mrs. Mary Martin, Mrs. Sarah Grey, Gustavius 
Bowers, Mrs. Mary E. Bowers, Mrs. Minerva E. Davis, Milton 
McCuskey, John B. Kilpatrick, Mrs. Mary Kilpatrick, Miss Re- 
becca Fisher, Martin B. Cummins, Mrs. Clarinda Cummins, 
John Fry, Mrs. Rebecca Fry, George McCuskey, and Miss 
Mattie McConaughey. 

Of these, William Hosack, Sr., Gustavius Bowers, and George 
McCuskey were ordained elders. 

The meetings were continued for a week, and twenty-three 
were added to the church on profession of faith. 

A church building was commenced in the spring of 1868, 
and was completed and dedicated in the fall of the same year. 

* By B, L. Crow. 



374 'THE PRESBYTERY OF WASHINGTON. 

Mr. George McCuskey, member of Session, was removed by 
death. John B. Kilpatrick and Milton McCuskey were ordained 
ruHng elders. 

The church building was destroyed by fire, October 26, 1879. 
It was re-built in 1880, and was used for church and Sabbath- 
school — but was not dedicated till February 6, 1881. The 
dedication sermon was preached by Rev. George D. Buchanan. 

Preaching has been by stated and occasional supplies — there 
never having been an installed pastor. Rev. Messrs. D. H. 
Laverty, Robert B. Farrar, J. S. Pomeroy, and James Garver 
have served successively as stated supplies. 

The present members of Sessiqn are, Milton McCuskey, J. K. 
Francis, Isaac Moose, and B. L. Crow. 

Sabbath-school has been kept up all the time, except while 
the congregation was without a house of worship. Its member- 
ship is about one hundred and twenty. Average attendance 
about 75. 

M. McCuskey was superintendent for several years following 

the organization. For the last eight years B. L. Crow has been 

superintendent. 

LIMESTONE* 

The Limestone Church was formed originally from the con- 
tiguous parts of Allen Grove and Wolf Run churches. It was 
organized May 24, 1871, by a committee of Presbytery consist- 
ing of Revs. Jonathan Cross and R. B. Farrar. 

The original members were, Emanuel Francis and Jane, his 
wife; Samuel Francis and Martha A., his wife; Miss Martha M. 
Francis, Edward B. Francis and Nancy, his wife ; John K. Fran- 
cis, James Standiford and Sarah, his wife ; Daniel Wilson and 
Mary, his wife. — All these on certificate. Also, John Allen and 
Cornelia, his wife, and Mrs. Melinda Winters, on profession of 
their faith. 

Pastors and Stated Supplies. — Rev. W. C. Smith was stated 

supply from 1873-75 ; Rev. J. F. Curtis was stated supply from 

1876-77; Rev. J. A. Brown was pastor from 1877-80; Rev. W. 

W. Morton was stated supply 1881-84; Rev. A. B. Lowes was 

occasional supply 1 886-88; Rev. Jacob Ruble, stated supply, 

1889. . 

* By Rev. A. B. Lowes. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 375 

Ruling Elders. — Emanuel Francis, John K. Francis, James 
Standiford, Daniel Wilson, and John Allen were elected May 24, 
1 87 1. Samuel Wilson and William Coffield were elected June 
23, 1883. James Standiford died January 17, 1877. John K. 
Francis dismissed to Cameron, November 11, 1884. William 
Coffield died 1888. 

House of Worship. — A lot had been procured and a house 
of worship erected in 1870, at a cost of ^3000, before the Pres- 
bytery was asked to organize the church. 

The Sabbath-school was organized June 4, 1871. The iirst 
superintendent was John K. Francis, succeeded by Daniel Wil- 
son, William Coffield, A. W. Pence. Number of teachers, 9 ; num- 
ber of scholars, 60. 

MOUNT PLEASANT.* 

This church, having its house of worship in South Strabane 
Township, Washington County, Pa., five miles east of the town 
of Washington, was organized by a committee of Presbytery, 
July 2, 1872. 

Stated Supplies. — For the first few years of its existence it 
was supplied successively by Rev. William Ewing and Rev. 
George Eraser, D.D. From April, 1875, to May, 1887, by Rev. 
W. F. Hamilton. Subsequently by appointments of presbytery, 
and since June, 1888, by Rev. R. Stevenson, D.D., stated supply. 

Ruling Elders and Deacons. — Its ruling elders have been 
Isaac Dager, William Pees and Robert Munnell, ordained at the 
time of its organization, and John B. Herron and John Herron 
ordained February 12, 1877. Isaac Dager died December 4, 
1876. John Herron continues to act. All the others have re- 
moved out of the bounds. 

At the organization Nicholas Pees and Josiah L. Smith were 
ordained deacons. Mr. Pees died January 3, 1877. 

Original Members. — At the time of the organization twenty- 
eight names were enrolled, nine males and nineteen females. 
Those continuing at this date are four : Mrs. Martha Darling- 
ton, Mrs. Nancy Myers, Mrs. Sarah E. Hallams and Mrs. 
Martha E. Doak. The total membership reported in 1 888 is forty. 

Church Edifice. — A neat frame building was erected previ- 
ous to the organization at a cost of over $2000. It has been 
* By Rev. W. F. Hamilton, D.D. 



376 THE PRESBYTERY OV WASHINGTON. 

improved and furnished in later years, and fully meets the wants 
of the congregation. 

Sabbath- SCHOOL. — A flourishing Sabbath-school, with an 
average attendance of sixty, has been maintained since before 
the organization of the church. In its earlier history Dr. John 
McKean, of Washington, superintended it. Its present super- 
intendent is David A. Hootman. 

Revivals. — Two seasons of special awakening have occurred, 
the first in 1879, with an accession of eighteen on profession; 
the second in 1886, when ten were thus received. 

Missionary Society. — The Woman's Foreign Missionary 
Society has made an annual average contribution of $2$ since 
its organization in 1876. 

Bequests. — Mr. John Dill Wilson, who died January 22, 1887, 
made bequests to the principal of the church's Boards amount- 
ing to ^4950. He was a son of one of the active workers in the 
establishment of Mount Pleasant Church, the venerable Mrs. 
Jane Dill Wilson, who died June 20, 1877, at an advanced age. 
She was the mother of Rev. Thomas Wilson, deceased, and 
Rev. Samuel J. Wilson, D.D., LL.D., Professor in Western 
Theological Seminary, also lately deceased. Among her grand- 
children are Rev. Maurice E. Wilson, D.D., and Rev. Calvin D. 
Wilson, both of the Presbytery of Baltimore, and Rev. John R. 
Paxton, D.D., of the Presbytery of New York. She was 
a person of remarkable force of character and most devoted 

piety. 

MOUNT OLIVET.* 

This church, having its house of worship in Hanover Town- 
ship, Beaver County, Pa., was organized January i, 1876, by a 
committee from the Presbytery of Washington, consisting of 
Rev. J. T. Fredericks, Rev. S. Forbes and Ruling Elder D. M. 
Pry. About sixty members were enrolled. Four elders were 
elected, three of whom were ordained and installed the next day. 

First Members. — Maria Beatty, Thomas M , Sarah A. and 

Sarah Butler, Lizzie J. Cain, Isaac and Millie Green, Tacy J., 

William A., David B., Mary J. and Nancy A. Hutchinson, 

Michael, Mary E., Elizabeth and Ida Kronk, Lizzie O. Kennedy, 

* By Rev. James B. Lyle. 



SKETCHES OF CHURCHES. 377 

Dianah and Ida J. Lutton, Mary L. Lance, David, Elizabeth, 
William L., Sarah J., George L., Sarah, Levi F., John R. and 
James A. Morris, Hugh, Mary, James and Eliza A. Miller, John, 
Nancy and Mary Mixter, Cyrus and Margaret McConnell, Mary 
McCoy, William, Elizabeth and Elvira McCally, John and Mary 
McCormick, Elizabeth McMurtrie, Martha McCoy, Catharine 
Obany, Thomas Plunkett, James and Martha C. Russell, Anna 
M. Reed, David, Mary and Emily Strauss, Wellington W. 
Smith, Thomas and Emma E. Torrence, Elizabeth and Saman- 
tha Toland and Mary A. Wilson. 

Pastors.— W. H. Hunter, 1878-85 ; James B. Lyle, 1888. 

Ruling Elders. — Cyrus McConnell, M.D., ordained January 
I, 1876; Michael Kronk, ordained January i, 1876; David 
Morris, ordained January i, 1876; William McCally, ordained 
1882; Samuel Gorsuch, ordained 1882; William McCague, or- 
dained 1882. 

House OF Worship. — Built in 1876. Cost, ^2,500. 

Revivals. — Rev. S. A. Hunter, now a missionary in China, 
began evangelistic labors in the vicinity while yet in the Semi- 
nary (1875), preaching in the groves and school-houses of the 
vicinity. This work was greatly blessed in the conversion of 
many, and for bringing together in one body those who were 
already disciples of our Master. This work continued with such 
power and to such a degree that soon it was deemed advisable 
to effect an organization, which was mainly brought about 
through the untiring efforts of Mr. Hunter. The church since 
has had a steady and permanent growth, a blessing to the people 
and to the neighborhood, liberally supported by the whole com- 
munity. 

Sabbath school. — Organized 1 876. 

Names of Superintendents. — Cyrus McConnell at two dif- 
ferent times, Samuel Gorsuch, William McCally, Thomas Butler, 
Robert Moore and David Strauss conjointly. 

Nine classes and teachers, with an attendance of one hundred. 

Statistics. — The membership of the church is about one 
hundred and five. An effort is made each year to take a collec- 
tion for all the boards, with a liberal response to most of them. 
The salary paid is ^500 for half time. 



VIII. 
STATISTICS AND BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 



APPENDIX No. I. 

[ Statistics gathered from Presbyterial and Synodical Records. '] 



Presbytery of Redstone — 1781-93. 

"At a meeting of the Synod of New York and Philadelphia, held at Phil- 
adelphia ye i6th of May, 178 1, 

The Rev'd Messrs. Joseph Smith, John McMillan, James Power, & Thad- 
deus Dodd, having requested to be erected into a separate P.b.y, to be 
known by the name of the P.b.y of Redstone, the Synod grant their request, 
and appoint their first meeting to be held at Laurel Hill Church, the third 
wednesdy of September next, at 1 1 o'clock a.m." 

First Meeting. 

"Wednesdy, Septembr ye 19th, 1781. 
The P.b.y met according to the appointment of the Revd. Synod of New 
York and Philadelphia, at Pidgeon Creek, as the circumstances of some 
of the members, by reason of the incursions of the Savages, rendered it 
impracticable for them to attend at Laurel Hill. U. P. P. S.,* the Rev'd. 
Messrs. John McMillan, James Power and Thaddeus Dodd ; Elders John 
Neil, Demas Lindley and Patrick Scott. Absent, The Rev'd Joseph Smith. 

The P.b.y. was opened by Mr. Dodd, with a sermon from Job xlii — 5,6. 

The P.b.y. then proceeded to the choice of a Moderator and Clerk ; 
whereupon, Mr. McMillan was chosen Moderator, and Mr. Power Clerk for 
the ensuing year. 

Application was made in behalf of Muddy Creek and the S.-fork of Ten 
Mile, in conjunction, for supplies, and also for liberty to apply to the P.b.y 
of Donegal. Adjourned to meet to-morrow morning at 8 o'clock. Con- 
cluded with Prayer." 

* The initials of four Latin words, which signify that "After Prayers" — the per- 
sons whose names follow — " Took Seats." 



STATISTICS. 



379 



Oct. 15, 1782, 
March 11, 1783. 
June 21, 1785. 
April 17, 1787. 
Nov. II, 1789. 
April 17, 1792. 

Nov. 14, 1792. 



April 16, 1788. 
August 13, 1788. 
August 20, 1789. 
Nov. 12, 1789. 
April 23, 1790. 
Dec. 22, 1791. 
Nov. 14, 1792. 
April 19, 1793. 



Nov. II, 1789. 
April 21, 1790. 

April 22, 1790. 

Sept. 22, 1790. 
Sept. 22, 1790. 



April 17, 1788. 
April 22, 1789. 

June 12, 1789. 



Sept. 30, 1790. 
April 20, 1791. 
June 29, 1791. 
Oct. 17, 1792. 

Oct. 17, 1793. 



April 19, 1792. 
May 20, 1793. 



Ministers and Licentiates Received. 
Rev. James Dunlap, from Presbytery of Newcastle. 
Rev. John Clark, from Presbytery of Newcastle. 
Rev. James Finley, from Presbytery of Newcastle. 
Rev. Sam'l Barr, from Presbytery of Newcastle. 
Rev. Robert Finley, from Presbytery of S. Carolina. 
Rev. Jacob Jennings, from Reformed Dutch Church of 

N. Y. & N. J. 
Sam'l Mahon (Licentiate), from Presbytery of Carlisle. 

Licensures. 
John Brice, James Hughes. 
Joseph Patterson, James McGready. 
John McPherrin. 
Samuel Porter. 
Robert Marshall. 

George Hill, William Swan. , 

David Smith. 
Thomas Marquis, Boyd Mercer. 

Ordinations. 
Joseph Patterson, to be pastor of Raccoon & Montours. 
James Hughes, to be pastor of Short Creek, Va., and 

Upper Buffalo. 
John Brice, to be pastor of Three Ridges and Forks 

of Wheeling, Va. 
John McPherrin, to be pastor of Salem and Unity. 
Samuel Porter, to be pastor of Congruity and Poke Run. 

Relations Dissolved. 
Between Rev. John Clark and Church of Lebanon. 
Between Rev. James Dunlap and Church of Dunlap's 

Creek. 
Between Rev, Samuel Barr and Church of Pittsburgh. 

Dismissals. 
Rev. Samuel Barr, to Presbytery of Newcastle. 
James McGready (Licentiate), to Presb'ry of Orange. 
Rev. Robert Finley, to go to the State of Kentucky. 
Robert Marshall (Licentiate), to Presbytery of Tran- 
sylvania. 
Samuel Mahon (Licentiate). 

Deaths. 

Rev. Joseph Smith. 
Rev. Thaddeus Dodd. 



38o , APPENDIX NO. I. 

Ruling Elders. 
In the twelve years during which Presbytery remained undivided, 41 
meetings were held, of which 22 were west of the Monongahela River. The 
total of elders enrolled was 108. Five others are incidentally named. Of 
the whole number, nearly one-half belonged west of the river. Twenty- 
three are identified as belonging to churches now in Presbytery of Wash- 
ington. During the first six years, thirty-six per cent, of attendance was by 
these 23. During the whole twelve years, thirty-three per cent. The names 
of these 23 have already been given. In the interest of general history, 
the names of all the others are subjoined, together with the churches to 
which they belonged, as far as ascertained. The names arranged in order 
of time : 

Mt. Pleasant. — John Neil, Moses Latta, WiUiam Latta, Hugh Martin, John 
Giffin, John Jack, John Baird. 

Sewickly. — John Perry, John Robertson, John Fulton, William Baird. 

Chartiers. — John McDowell, James Bradford, Josiah Scott, Thomas Brac- 
ken, James Foster, Moses Coe, James Allison. 

Bethel. — James Dinsmore, James Brice, James Kirkpatrick, John Vance. 

Lebanon. — Aeneas McCallister, Alex. McClure, William Wightman, John 
Shields. 

Dunlap's Creek. — Robert Adams, Charles McClain, Daniel Reeder, An- 
drew Frazer, John Parker. 

Laurel Hill. — John Allen, Samuel Finley, James Wilken, Joseph Morrison, 
Samuel McClane, James Finley, James McClane, John Travis, 

Rehoboth. — Edward Cook, John Wright, John Power, Robert Moore. 

Round Hill. — George Shields, Thomas Wilson, Joseph Pierce, Andrew 
Howell. 

Pittsburgh. — Robert Galbraith, John Wilkins, William Dunning. 

Pitts Township (Beulah). — James Milligan, Thomas Sands. 

Raccoon. — William McCandless, Alex. Bailey, Alex. Wright. . 

Montours. — James Ewing, Alex. McCandless, Samuel Riddle. 

Unity. — James Parr, William Waddell, John Donaughey. 

Salem. — Peter Wallace. 

Congruity. — James McKee, John Shields, Thomas Armstrong. 

Poke Run. — John Hamilton, Joseph Thorn. 

Fairfield. — James Wilson, Daniel Hendricks. 

George's Creek. — Joseph Caldwell. 

Church connection not ascertained. — John Rob, Alex. Mitchell, Samuel 
Sorrels, John Gaston, John Hopkins, James Moore, John Thompson, 
John Shannon, William Steel, Robert McCombs, Samuel HoUiday, 
James Barr, William Sloan, John Guthrie, Thomas Hall, William 
Gordon, John Steel, John Moore. 



STATISTICS. 381 



Presbytery oe Ohio — 1793-1819. 

"At a meeting of Synod of Virginia, held at Winchester, the 25 of Sep- 
tember, 1793, the Rev. Messrs. John Clark, John McMillan, Joseph Patter- 
son, James Hughes and John Brice having requested to be erected into a 
separate Presbytery, to be known by the name of the Presbytery of Ohio, 
the Synod granted their request and appointed their first meeting to be 
held at Buffalo, on the fourth Tuesday of October next, at 12 o'clock. The 
Rev. John Clark was appointed to open the Presbytery with a sermon, and 
preside until a new Moderator should be chosen." 

First Meeting. 
Buffalo, Tuesday, the 22d of Oct., 1793. 

The Presbytery of Ohio met according to the appointment of the Synod 
of Virginia, U. P. P. S. the Rev. Messrs. John Clark, John McMillan, 
Joseph Patterson, James Hughes and John Brice. Elders: John Miller, 
Josiah Scott, John Riddle, William McCullough, John McWilliams, Robert 
Lisle and Joseph Coe. 

The Presbytery was opened by the Rev. John McMillan, with a Sermon 
on Micah 2: 13. The Presbytery proceeded to the choice of a Moderator 
and Clerk for the ensuing year. Whereupon, Mr. McMillan was chosen 
Moderator and Mr. Brice Clerk. 

Applications for supplies were made from Mill Creek, King's Creek, 
White Oak Flats, and the Mouth of Raccoon. 

****** 

Synod having appointed the Presbytery of Ohio, in conjunction with the 
Redstone Presbytery, to superintend the Seminary of learning at Canons- 
burg, Presbytery ordered that the minutes of Synod respecting that institu- 
tion be transcribed into minutes, which are as follows : ( Vide, published 
Minutes of the Presbytery of Redstone, pp. 80, 81.) 

Presbytery appointed Mr. McMillan to be their Stated Clerk. 

****** 

Presbytery, taking into consideration their great need of divine aid, et 
cetera. ( Vide ante, page 10.) 

****** 

Presbytery adjourned to meet to-morrow at 9 o'clock. Concluded with 
prayer." 



Ministers and Licentiates received. 
April 22, 1794. Thomas Marquis, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
August 21, 1794. Thomas Moore, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
Oct. 29, 1794. Boyd Mercer, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
Oct. 25, 1796. Samuel Ralston, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
April 26, 1797. William Woods, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 



382 



Oct. 26, 1797. 
August 27, 1799. 
April 15, 1800. 
Jan. 19, 1802. 
March 2, 1802. 
Oct. 5, 1803. 
June 26, 1805. 
Oct. 17, 1805. 
April 18, 1811. 
Jan. 3, 1815. 
Oct. 18, 181 5. 
Jan. 7, 1817. 
August 26, 1818. 
Oct. 20, 1818. 



APPENDIX NO. I. 

Rev. John Kennedy, from Presbytery of Newcastle. 
Rev. George Scott, from Presbytery of New Brunswick. 
Andrew Gwin, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
Rev. John Anderson, from Presbytery of Orange. 
William Wylie, Lie, from Presb'y of West Lexington. 
Rev. James Dunlap, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
Rev. Matthew Brown, from Presbytery of Huntingdon. 
John Wright, Lie, from Presbytery of Redstone. 
Thomas B. Clark, Lie, from Presbytery of Hartford. 
Rev. Alex. Cook, from Presbytery of Hartford. 
Thos. Hoge, Lie, from Presbytery of Tyrone, Ireland. 
Rev. Lyman Potter, from Muskingum Association. 
Orbin P. Hays, Lie, from Hampden Association. 
Rev. Thomas Hunt, from Presbytery of Redstone. 



Licensures. 

Oct. 25, 1797. Samuel Donnell. 

Oct. 17, 1798. John Watson, Joseph Anderson, Thomas E. Hughes. 

Dec. 20, 1798. Smilie Hughes. 

April 17, 1799. James Snodgrass. 

June 26, 1799. Elisha Macurdy, Joseph Stockton. 

August 28, 1799. John McClain, William Wick. 

June 25, 1800. Abraham Boyd, Samuel Tait, James Satterfield. 

Oct. 22, 1800. Robert Lee. 

May I, 1 801. Robert Patterson. 

Oct. 29, 1801. Cephas Dodd, Stephen Lindsley, William Woods, Jr. 

April 23, 1802. Robert Johnston, Alexander Cook. 

Oct. 19, 1802. Jacob Lindsley. 

Oct. 20, 1803. Nicholas Pittenger. 

June 27, 1804. William McMillan, John Rea. 

Aug. 22, 1805. Johnston Eaton. 

Oct. 17, 1805. Reed Bracken, Andrew McDonald, Cyrus Riggs, James 

Robinson, Samuel Woods. 

June 25, 1806. Abraham Scott, Clement Vallandigham. 

June 3, 1807. Jonathan Lesly. 

June 24, 1807. Moses Allen. 

Oct. 20, 1807. James Scott. 

June 30, 1808. James Cunningham, Thomas Hunt. 

Oct. 20, 1808. William Jones, Joseph Stevenson. 

Dec. 22, 1808. George Vaneman. 

June 22, 1809. John Matthews. 

Oct. 18, 1809. Joseph S. Hughes. 

April 19, 1810. Andrew K. Russell. 

Oct, 17, 1810. Ezekiel Glasgow, Michael Law. 

Oct. 17,1811. Ira Condit. 



STATISTICS. 383 

April 21, 1812. William Johnston. 

Oct. 21, 1812. James Hervey, Andrew Wylie. 

Oct. 20, 18 1 3. John Reed. 

June 29, 1814. James Smith. 

Oct. 20, 1814. James Wright. 

January 4, 181 5. Micaiah Fairfield. 

April 17, 1816. Obadiah Jennings. 

April 22, 1818. Archibald Hanna. 

January 15, 1819. Jacob Cozad. 

Ordained and Installed. 
June 12, 1794. Thomas Marquis, to be pastor of Cross Creek. 
August 21, 1794. Thomas Moore, to be pastor of Ten Mile. 
April 29, 1795. Boyd Mercer, to be pastor of Pigeon Creek and Pike 

Run. 
Nov. 29, 1796. Samuel Ralston, to be pastor of Mingo and Horse Shoe 

Bottom, 
June 27, 1797. William Woods, to be pastor of Bethel and Lebanon. 
August 28, 1799. Thomas E. Hughes, to be pastor of New Salem and 

Mount Pleasant. 
June 24, 1800. Andrew Given, to be pastor of Pigeon Creek and Pike 

Run. 
June 26, 1800. John Watson, to be pastor of Miller's Run. 
August 20, 1800. Joseph Anderson, to be pastor of Richland, Short 

Creek and Cross Roads, Western Territory. 
Ailgust 27, 1800. John McClain, to be pastor of Montours. 
August 28, 1800. Elisha Macurdy, to be pastor of Cross Roads and 

Three Springs. 
Sept. 3, 1800. WiUiam Wick, to be pastor of Hopewell and Neshan- 

nock. 
Nov. 19, 1800. Samuel Tate, to be pastor of Upper Salem and Cool 

Spring. 
Nov. 26, 1800. James Snodgrass, to be pastor of Steubenville and 

Island Creek, Western Territory. 
June 24, 1801. Joseph Stockton, to be pastor of Meadville and Sugar 

Creek. 
June 26, 1801. Robert Lee, to be pastor of Amity and Big Spring. 
March 2, 1802. James Satterfield, to be pastor of Moorefield and Upper 

Neshannock. 
March 5, 1802. William Wylie, to be pastor of Fairfield and Upper 

and Lower Sandy. 
Nov. 9, 1803. Jacob Lindley, to be pastor of Waterford, Ohio. 

August 22, 1805. John Rea, to be pastor of Crab Apple and Beech 

Springs, Ohio. 
June 19, 1806. John Wright, to be pastor of Hockhocking and Rush 

Creek, Ohio. 



384 APPENDIX NO. I. 

June 26, 1806. William McMillan, to be pastor of Two Ridges and 

Yellow Creek, Ohio. 
June 3, 1807. James Robinson, to be pastor of Crooked Creek, 

June 24, 1807. Clement Vallandigham, to be pastor of New Lisbon 

and Long's Run, Ohio. 
Dec. 2, 1807. Moses Allen, to be pastor of New Providence and 

Jefiferson. 
August 23, 1808. James Scott, to be pastor of Clinton, Frederick and 

Ebenezer, Ohio. 
June 21, 1809. Joseph Stevenson, to be pastor of Three Ridges and 

Forks of Wheeling, Virginia. 
August 22, 1 8 10. Andrew McDonald, to be pastor of White Oak Flats. 
June 20, 181 1. Thomas Clark, to be pastor of Crab Apple, Ohio. 
Jan. 15, 1 812. Michael Law, to be pastor of Montours. 
June 23, 1813. Andrew Wylie, to be pastor of Miller's Run. 
April 20, 1814. James Hervey, to be pastor of Wheelingtown and 

Forks of Wheeling, Virginia. 
June 25, 1817. Obadiah Jennings, to be pastor of Steubenville, Ohio. 

Ordained as Evangelists. 

August 28, 1799. Samuel Donnell, to go to State of Tennessee. 

April 26, 1803. Stephen Lindley, to go to Marietta, Ohio. 

Dec. 14, 1803. Cephas Dodd, to labor as stated supply at New Provi- 
dence, etc. 

July 12, 1808. Abraham Scott, to labor in New Connecticut. 

July 12, 1808. Jonathan Lesly, to labor in New Connecticut. 

Jan. 21, 1817. Thomas Hoge. 

Installed. 

Sept. 14, 1799. Rev. George Scott, to be pastor of Mill Creek and The 

Flats. 
April 20-23, 1802. Rev. John Anderson, to be pastor of Upper Buffalo. 
Oct. 16, 1805. Rev. Matthew Brown, to be pastor of Washington. 
March 28, 181 5. Rev. Alexander Cook, to be pastor of Bethany. 
May 27, 1817. Rev. Moses Allen, to be pastor of Raccoon. 
May 25, 1818. Rev. James Snodgrass, to be pastor of Island Creek, 

Ohio. 
May 20, 1819. Rev. Thomas Hunt, to be pastor of Two Ridges and 

Richmond, Ohio. 

Relations Dissolved. 

April 16, 1799. Between Rev. Boyd Mercer and churches of Pigeon 
Creek and Pike Run. 

April 16, 1799. Between Rev. Joseph Patterson and church of Mon- 
tours. 



STATISTICS. 385 

July I, 1801. Between Rev. Wm. Wick and church of Neshannock. 

Dec. 14, 1803. Between Rev. Thomas Moore and church of Ten Mile. 

April 20, 1808. Between Rev. James Robinson and church of Crooked 
Creek. 

June 29, 1808. Between Rev. Jacob Lindley and church of Waterford. 

June 29, 1808. Between Rev. John Brice and churches of Three 
Ridges and Forks of Wheeling. 

Dec. 22, 1808. Between Rev. John McClain and church of Montours, 

April 19, 1810. Between Rev. John Rea and church of Crab Apple. 

August 22, 1810. Between Rev. William McMillan and church of Rich- 
mond. 

June 23, 1812. Between Rev. Joseph Stevenson and church of Forks 
of Wheeling. 

Oct. 21, 1812. Between Rev. William McMillan and church of Two 
Ridges. 

April 21, 1812. Between Rev. Joseph Anderson and church of Short 
Creek, Ohio. 

June 29, 1814. Between Rev. James Hughes and churches of Short 
Creek and Lower Buffalo. 

Oct. 15, 1816. Between Rev. Joseph Patterson and church of Raccoon. 

Oct. 16, 1816. Between Rev. Moses Allen and churches of New Prov- 
idence and Jefferson. 

Oct. 16, 1816. Between Rev. James Snodgrass and churches of Steu- 
benville and Island Creek. 

April 16, 18 17. Between Rev. Cephas Dodd and churches of Upper 
and Lower Ten Mile. 

April 16, 1817. Between Rev. Andrew Given and church of Pigeon 
Creek. 

May 28, 1817. Between Rev. Andrew Wylie and church of Miller's 
Run. 

Oct. 21, 1818. Between Rev. Thomas B. Clark and church of Crab 
Apple. 

Dismissals. 

Oct. 21, 1800. Rev. Samuel Donnell to Presbytery of Transylvania. 

April 21, 1801. Abraham Boyd, Lie, to Presbytery of Redstone. 

March 5, 1802. Rev. Messrs. Thomas E. Hughes, William Wick, Sam- 
uel Tate, Joseph Stockton, Robert Lee. James Sat- 
terfield and William Wylie, by order of Synod, to 
constitute the Presbytery of Erie. 

April 20, 1802. William Wood, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

Sept. 30, 1802. Robert Patterson, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

Oct. 20, 1802. Alexander Cook, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

April 20, 1803. Robert Johnston, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

April 17, 1804. Nicholas Pittenger, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

June 27, 1804. Rev. Thomas Moore to Presbytery of Redstone. 

25 



386 APPENDIX NO. I. 

August 20, 1806. Johnston Eaton, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

Dec. 24, 1806. Cyrus Riggs, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

June 23, 1807. Reid Bracken, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 

Dec. 24, 1807. Samuel Woods, Lie, to Presbytery of Washington 

(ChiUicothe). 
Oct. 21, 1808. Rev. Messrs. Stephen Lindley, Jacob Lindley, John 

Weight, James Robinson and James Scott, by order 

of Synod, to constitute the Presbytery of Lancaster 

(Ohio). 
Oct. 21, 1808. Rev. Clement Vallandigham, by order of Synod, to 

Presbytery of Hartford (Beaver), (Shenango). 
April 18, 1809. Thomas Hunt, Lie, to Presbytery of Redstone. 
April 19, 1809. James Cunningham, Lie, to Presbytery of Lancaster. 
April 21, 1809. Rev. Jonathan Lesly to Presbytery of Hartford. 
August I, 1809. George Vaneman, Lie, to Presbytery of Lancaster. 
Oct. 4, 1809. William Jones, Lie, to Presbytery of Lancaster. 

April 18, 1810. John Matthews, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 
Oct. 3, 1810. Joseph S. Hughes, Lie, to Presbytery of Lancaster. 

April 17, 181 1. Andrew K. Russell to Presbytery of Newcastle. 
April 22, 1812. Rev. James Dunlap, D.D., to Presbytery of Redstone. 
Oct. 21, 1812. William Johnston, Lie, to Presbytery of Redstone. 
April 21, 1813. Ezekiel Glasgow, Lie, to Presbytery of Hartford. 
June 22, 1813. Ira Condit, Lie, to Presbytery of Erie. 
June 29, 1814. Rev. James Hughes to Presbytery of Miami. 
Oct. 19, 1814. James Smith, Lie, to Presbytery of Lancaster. 
Oct. 17, 181 5. James Wright, Lie, to Presbytery of Hartford. 
Nov. 27, 1817. John Reed, Lie, to Presbytery of Redstone. 
Jan. 15, 1819. Rev. Thomas Hoge to Presbytery of Redstone. 

Deaths. 
July 13, 1797. Rev, John Clark. 
Nov. 30, 1802. Rev. John Watson. 
August 26, 181 1. Rev. John Brice. 

Deposed. 
Oct. 17, 1810. Rev. John McClain. 

License Withdrawn. 
June 19, 1816. Michaiah Fairfield. 

Ruling Elders. 
In the twenty-six years during which the Presbytery of Ohio included 
in its bounds the field now belonging to Washington Presbytery, it held 
139 meetings. More than a score of these were at outlying points north 
and west of the Ohio River, for the purpose of ordaining and installing a 
pastor on some new field ; a few were pro-re-nata, and a few were called 



STATISTICS. 387 

during the sessions of Synod, or were otherwise special, all which were 
scantily attended. Excluding these, there were about 100 regular stated 
meetings, the Presbytery meeting usually four times in the year. 
Of these, about 70 were held in churches now belonging to Presbytery of 
Washington, and nearly all the remaining 30 in the two neighboring 
churches of Chartiers and Raccoon. 

The total of elders enrolled was about 250. The names of about 100 
of these, identified as belonging to churches now in Washington Presby- 
tery, have already been given. Others, not yet identified, belong of right 
to this list. To promote a fuller classification, and also in the interest of 
general history, the remaining names, excepting a very few not legible, 
are here subjoined, together with the churches to which they belonged as 
far as ascertained : 

Chartiers. — James Foster, 1793 ; John McDowell, Thos. Bracken, James 
AUison, John Neil, Geo. Craighead, Thos. Briceland, Saml. Logan, 
Richard Johnston, John Phillips, John Hair, Jacob Howey, Saml. 
Miller, 1817. 

Bethel.— leioht. Jewell, 1795; James Morrow, John Vance, James Kiddoo, 
Thos. Alexander, Wm. Fife, Samuel Wilson, 1814. 

Lebanon. — Samuel Cochran, 1800; John Snodgrass, 1817. 

Raccoon. — John Riddle, 1793; Alex. Wright, Wm. McCandless, Thomas 
Hays, Alex. Bailey, Thos. Miller, Benjamin Chestnut, 1816. 

Mingo. — Aaron Williams, 1796; Wm. Ramage, John Happer, John Pol- 
lock, Alex. Torrence, Benjamin Williams, 1813. 

Williamsport. — James Hair, 18 17. 

Miller s Run. — Wm. Brice, 1801 ; Nicholas Smith, 1802. 

New Providence. — John Flenniken, 1805 ; Andrew McClelland, James 
Flenniken, 1816. 

S. Fork Tentnile. — Abijah McClain, 1808; Wm. Cree, 1808. 

Pike Run, — Isaac Leonard, 1799 ; Caleb Leonard, 1802. 

Bethany. — George Herriott, 1816; Thos. Jeffrey, 18 17. 

White Oak Flats (Mt. Carmel).— Wm. McDonald, 1811. 

Forks of Beaver, etc. — Alex. Wright, 1800 ; John Montieth, 1801. 

Crab Apple. — Robt. McCuUough, 1801 ; Wm. McCullough, Thos. Marquis, 
1808. 

Beech Springs. — Samuel Dunlap, John Miller, Wm. Watt, 181 1. 

Indian Short Creek. — Richard McKibben, 1802 ; James Clark, 1802. 

Richland. — Wm. McWilliams, 1805 ; Arthur Erwin, 1807. 

Steubenville. — Thos. Vincent, 1804; John Milligan, David Hoge, James G. 
Henning, 1818. 

Two Ridges. — James Cellars, 1812; Geo. Day, 1817. 

Church connectioti not ascertained. — John Alexander, 1818; Joseph Alex- 
ander, 1819; Wm. Baird, 1796; Robt. Bovard, 1799; Wm. Bell, 
1801 ; Isaac Barnes, 1812; Robt. Brown, 1817 ; James Black, 1818; 



38S APPENDIX NO. I. 

Thos. Black, 1819; Wm. Coulter, 1798; Wm. Coultrough, 1799; 
Hugh Cunningham, 1802; John Cain, 1817 ; Robt. Campbell, 1807 ; 
Reuben Cary, 1818; Robert Dool, 1810; Andrew Dickson, 1811; 
Asa Emerson, 1805; Samuel Excell, 1819; John Fleming, 1805; 
John Glenn, 1793; Wm. Gordon, 1795; John Gaston, 1805: George 
Gunn, 1815; Nathl. Gordon, 1819; Manuel Hoover, 1802; John 
Hindman, 1813 ; Thos. Hoge, 1815; Henry Jennings, 1815; John 
Jones, 1816; Moses Lowther, 1800; John Lindley, 1801 ; Josiah 
Loury, 1807; Ziba Leonard, 1808; John Moore, 1794; William 
Matthews, 1800; James Mitchell, 1801 ; Andrew McClain, 1802; 
Daniel McGregor, 1804; John Maxfield, 1807; Samuel Meeks, 
1811; Robt. Morrison, 1813 ; Saml. McClain, 1818; Thomas Pryor, 
1799 ; Wm. Porter, 1802 ; John Reed, 1795 ; Samuel Ramsey, 1800 ; 
Thos. Robinson, 1803; John Rea, 1805; James Reed, 1810; Mat- 
thew Reed, 1816; Stephen Riggs, 1818; John Steel, 1794; James 
Stevenson, 1804; Thos. Stevenson, 1816; Samuel Thompson, 1807 ; 
Edward Vaughan, 1817 ; Andrew Vaneman, 1817 ; Horace Wol- 
cott, 1808; Thos. Wilson, 1812; Thos. White, 1813; William Wylie, 
1816. 

Of the foregoing but few attended more than once or twice. 
Many of them were from west of the river. Of those who 
attended more frequently, the following are conspicuous : Samuel 
Ramsey, 8 times ; Saml. Thompson, 6; John Moore, 6; Thos. Rob- 
inson, 5; John Gaston, 4; James Reed, 4; and Wm. Gordon, Hugh 
Cunningham, Andrew McClain and Saml. Meeks, each 3 times. 



Synod New York and Philadei^phia — 1781-88. 
Synod met annually in Philadelphia in the month of May. Presbytery 
of Redstone was represented as follows: In 1782, Rev. James Power; 
1783, Rev. John McMillan, Rev. Joseph Smith; Ruling Elder, Patrick 
Scott; 1784, Rev. James Dunlap ; 1787, Rev. Messrs. James Finley, John 
McMillan, James Power, Samuel Barr. In the years '85, '86 and '88, the 
Presbytery was not represented. 



Synod of Virginia — 1788-1801.* 
In the first fourteen years of its existence, Synod held its meetings annu- 
ally in the month of October, and with one exception in the valley of 
Virginia, mostly at Winchester. The Presbytery of Redstone, during all 
this time, and the Presbytery of Ohio, from its organization in 1793, were 
constituent parts of it, and considering distance and difficulty of travel, 

* Information under this head is supplied through the courtesy of Rev. James 
Power Smith, stated clerk of the Synod of Virginia. Mr. Smith, who is pastor of 
the Presbyterian church in Fredericksburg, Va., is a son of the late Rev. Joseph 
Smith, D.D., author of " Old Redstone," and is, consequently, a great-grandson of 
the two honored veterans, Rev. Messrs. Joseph Smith and James Power. 



STATISTICS. 389 

their members attended with exemplary diligence. The honor awarded 
them appears in the fact that in these fourteen years they were called to fill 
the Moderator's chair six times, viz. : In 1790, Joseph Smith; 1791, John 
McMillan; 1794 and '97, James Dunlap ; 1795 and '99, John McPherrin. 

Meeting at Washington, Pa. 
In 1800 Synod met at Washington, Pa. The names enrolled are these: 

Hanover Presbytery. — Rev. James Robinson. 

Redstone Presbytery. — Rev. Messrs. James Power, James Dunlap, Jacob 
Jennings, John McPherrin, Samuel Porter, George Hill, William 
Swan, David Smith. 
Ohio Presbytery. — Rev. Messrs. John McMillan, Joseph Patterson, James 
Hughes, John Brice, Thomas Marquis, Thomas Moore, Boyd Mercer, 
Samuel Ralston, William Woods, George Scott, Samuel Donnell, 
Andrew Gwin, Joseph Anderson, John McClain, Elisha McCurdy, 
William Wick. 
Winchester Presbytery. — Rev. Messrs. Moses Hoge, William Hill. 
Elders. — Joseph Morrison, Joseph Ogden, John Power, James Caldwell, 
Josiah Scott, William Brown, George Lee, James Edgar, Abel 
McFarland, James Riley, Patrick McCuUough, Robert McCullough, 
Philip Jackson, Aaron Williams, Charles McClain. 
Presbyteries of Lexington, Transylvania, Western Lexington and Wash- 
ington (Chillicothe) not represented. 

Rev. Robert Wilson, of Lexington Presbytery, afterward enrolled. 



Synod of Pittsburgh — 1802-19. 

During this period Synod met annually in the month of October thirteen 
times at Pittsburgh, in Presbytery of Redstone, and five times at Washing- 
ton, in Presbytery of Ohio. 

Of the Ruling Elders from Presbytery of Ohio in attendance at Synod 
within this time, a large majority are persons whose names have been 
given as found on the records of Presbytery. 

The following names, 7iot found on the records of Presbytery up to 18 19, 
are found on the records of Synod within this time, viz. : David McWilliams, 
John Edie, Thomas McCune, Robert Laughlin, William Allison, Samuel 
Harper, James McLaughlin, John McCullough, William May, Ezra Stevens, 
Hugh Wylie, John Flack, Joseph McCready, Archibald Brownlee, James 
Torrence. 

Some of these names appear on Presbyterial records subsequent to 1819. 



GENERAL ASSEMBLY.— LIST OF DELEGATES. 
Redstone Presbytery — 1789-93. 

1789. Hon. John Baird. 

1790. Rev. James Power. 



390 



APPENDIX NO. I. 



1791. Rev. Messrs. James Finley, John McMillan, James Dunlap. 

1792. Rev. Messrs. John 'McMillan, John McPherrin, Samuel Porter. 

1793. Rev. Messrs. James Hughes, Jacob Jennings, James Power. 



Ohio Presbytery— 1794-1819. 

1794. Rev. John McMillan and Hon. James Edgar. 

1795. Rev. Messrs. John McMillan, Joseph Patterson, and Ruling 

Elders, Patrick Scott, Wm. Smiley. 

1796. Rev. Messrs. Thomas Moore, Boyd Mercer. 

1797. Rev. Messrs. Samuel Ralston, James Hughes. 

1798. Rev. Messrs. John Brice, Boyd Mercer, and Ruling Elder, Nathan- 

iel Coleman. 

1799. Rev. Messrs. John McMillan, Thomas Marquis. 

1800. Rev. Messrs. Joseph Patterson, Sanmel Ralston. 

1 801. Rev. Messrs. John McMillan, John Brice, John Watson, William 

Woods. 

1802. Rev. Messrs. Thomas Marquis, John Watson, and Ruling Elder, 

Wm. McKinley. 

1803. Rev. Messrs. John McMillan, Thomas Marquis, James Hu'ghes. 

1804. Rev. Messrs. James Hughes, Stephen Lindley, Cephas Dodd. 

1805. Rev. Messrs. Thomas Marquis, Elisha Macurdy. 

1806. Rev. Messrs. Andrew Gwin, George Scott. 

1807. Rev. Messrs. William McMillan, Matthew Brown, and Ruling 

Elders, Wm. McKinly, Wm. Rea. 

1808. Rev. Messrs. John McMillan, Elisha Macurdy, James Hughes. 

1809. Rev. Messrs. Joseph Anderson, William Woods, and Ruling 

Elder, Robert Laughlin. 

1810. Rev. Messrs. Andrew Gwin, John Anderson. 

181 1. Rev. Messrs. Joseph Anderson, Joseph Patterson. 

1812. Rev. Messrs. James Hughes, Wm. McMillan, Joseph Patterson. 

1813. Rev. Messrs. Elisha Macurdy, Thomas Marquis, Matthew Brown, 

and Ruling Elder, Obadiah Jennings. 

1814. Rev. Messrs. Andrew Gwin, James Hughes. 

1815. Rev. Messrs. Joseph Patterson, Wm. McMillan, Andrew Wylie. 

1816. Rev. Messrs. James Hervey, Obadiah Jennings. 

1817. Rev. Messrs. Thomas Hoge, Thomas B. Clark, and Ruling Elder, 

Wm. Rea. 

1818. Rev. Messrs. M itthew Brown, Joseph Anderson, Lyman Potter, 

Obadiah Jennings. 

1819. Rev. Messrs. Moses Allen, Joseph Stevenson, Thomas Marquis, 

and Ruling Elder, Wm. Rea. 

All the meetings of General Assembly thus far were held at Philadelphia, 
except in 1792 and 1795 at Carlisle, Pa., and 1799 at Winchester, Va. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 39 1 

APPENDIX NO. 2. 

{^Biographical Sketches of Early JMinisters-l 

Prefatory Note. — On the preceding pages mention has been made of 
many familiar and endeared names which appear on the records of Red- 
stone and Ohio Presbyteries previous to 1819, a very large proportion of 
whom resided on the territory now included in the Presbytery of Wash- 
ington. It was at first intended to confine notice to those thus resident, 
but this intention has been changed for the following reasons: In not a 
few cases it is found impossible to fix with certainty the residence of a can- 
didate previous to his licensure. Furthermore, some of those licensed, 
while they may have had their chief residence outside this territory, were 
intimately connected with it, by temporary residence, marriage and in 
other ways — indeed, the whole Western Church was, at that early day, very 
much a single ecclesiastical unit. Somewhat of complication arises also 
from the fact that the pastoral charge of that chiefest of the pioneer minis- 
ters, John McMillan, was, at first, partly on this field and partly outside of 
it. Pigeon Creek was wholly on it, and at a very early date the town of 
Washington itself was in the bounds of Chartiers Church, while the church 
building and Mr. McMillan's residence were outside the present bounda- 
ries of Washington Presbytery. A like complication obtains with regard 
to McMillan's log-cabin school, and the academy and college growing out 
of it, a portion of whose students were residents within this territory, though 
the buildings were north of the geographical line. From these and other 
like causes it was found to be impracticable to draw such a line of distinc- 
tion as was proposed, without great risk of error. No such line could be 
known to be infallibly correct. And rather than incur the risk of histori- 
cal inaccuracy it was deemed best to avoid the difficulty by extending the 
list of sketches so as to reach to all these honored names, except in so far 
as sketches had already been given in the preceding part of the volume, 
by Drs. Brownson and Cunningham. Such increase in number will be 
atoned for by more rigid abbreviations in the contents of each. H. 

Rev. James Power, D.D., was born in Chester Co., Pa., in 1746, of 
parents who had emigrated from the north of Ireland. He graduated at 
Princeton College in 1766, and was licensed by Presbytery of Newcastle 
June 24, 1772. Having spent a few years in missionary labor, including a 
tour, in 1774, to the region west of the Alleghenies, he was ordained by 
same Presbytery in 1776, and in November following removed to Western 
Pennsylvania with his family, — himself and wife and four children and bag- 
gage being conveyed on three horses. He lived first at Dunlap's Creek, 
doing evangelistic work there and at George's Creek and other points. In 
1779 he settled permanently at Mt. Pleasant, having Sewickly also as 
part of his pastoral charge. In August, 1787, he resigned Sewickly, con- 
tinuing pastor of Mt. Pleasant until April 15, 1817. His death occurred 



392 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

August 5, 1830, in the eighty-fifth year of his age and the fifty-eighth of his 
ministry. 

In person Dr. Power was of medium height, slender and erect, 
and in manner at once dignified and affable. Dr. Carnahan says of 
him, " He was a polished, gentlemanly man ; remarkably neat in his dress 
— a very correct and graceful speaker." He was a member of the first 
Board of Trustees of Jefferson College, and in 1808 had conferred on him 
by that institution the degree of Doctor of Divinity. 

In early life Mr. Power was married to Mary, daughter of Philip Tan- 
ner, an elder in East Nottingham Church, of which Rev. James Finley was 
pastor. They had born to them eight children, all daughters. One was 
married, first, to Rev. David Smith, and after his death to Rev. Thomas 
Hunt; another to Rev. William Swan, and a third to Rev. Thomas Moore. 
Rev. Dr. Joseph Smith, author of "Old Redstone,'' was a grandson. 
Among Dr. Powers' descendants are many ministers and elders. Rev. 
James Power Smith, of Fredericksburg, Va.; Rev. James Power Fulton, 
first pastor of Burgettstown, Pa., now of Richfield, Kan., and his son. Rev. 
W. S. Fulton, of Lexington, Ky., are of this number. 

Rev. John McMillan, D.D., son of William and Margaret (Rea) 
McMillan, was born at Fagg's Manor, Chester Co., Pa., November 11, 
1752. He graduated at Princeton College in 1772, and studied theology 
with Rev. Robert Smith, D.D., of Pequea ; was licensed by Presbytery 
of Newcastle October 26, 1774. The two years following were spent in 
missionary work, including two several tours to Western Pennsylvania. 
Having received a call from the churches of Pigeon Creek and Chartiers, 
in what is now Washington County, he decided to accept it, and was 
dismissed to Presbytery of Donegal, by which he was ordained June 19, 
1776. For two years, however, he was hindered from doing more than to 
sojourn part of the time with his future parishioners, ordaining elders, bap- 
tizing children and taking such care of the flock as circumstances would per- 
mit; but in November, 1778, he came among them with his family and re- 
mained. About the year 1794 he was released from Pigeon Creek, continuing 
pastor of Chartiers until his death. He was one of the original members 
of the Presbytery of Redstone at its erection, in 1781, and also of the Pres- 
bytery of Ohio, in 1793. He was Moderator of the Synod of Virginia in 
11791 and of the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1803 and 1816. He was the princi- 
pal founder of Jefferson College, in which he was made Professor of Di- 
vinity in 1802 and Vice-Principal in 1805. He received the degree of 
Doctor of Divinity in 1807. His death occurred November 16, 1833, in the 
eighty-second year of his age and the sixtieth of his ministry. 

Dr. McMillan was a man of great strength of character. He was large 
in person, of swarthy complexion and strongly-marked features. His 
manner, both in the pulpit and out of it, was stern and often abrupt, but 
not unkind. His voice was very powerful and his sermons rich in gospel 
truth, pointedly addressed to the hearts and consciences of his hearers. 



EARIvY MINISTERS. 393 

Many were converted under his preaching. He was fitly styled " The 
Apostle of Presbyterianism in the West." As illustrating his extraordinary 
zeal even to the end of life, and also as possessing a special local interest, 
the following facts taken from authentic records may be cited. During 
the ten weeks preceding his decease, though over eighty-one years old, he 
assisted in communion services at least seven times, preaching thirty-five 
sermons, viz.: First Sabbath in September at Chartiers; second, Raccoon; 
third. Cross Roads and Frankfort ; fourth, Mill Creek ; first Sabbath in 
October, Miller's Run; second, Bethany; third, Pittsburgh (during ses- 
sions of Synod) ; fourth and fifth, at Wheeling, where he preached ten 
sermons, being the last he preached. During his whole ministry he 
preached about six thousand sermons. 

The wife of Dr. McMillan, to whom he was married August 6, 1776, was 
Catharine, daughter of William Brown, an elder in the Church of Upper 
Brandywine. Their home life on first coming to the West is graphically 
described by Dr. McMillan himself, in a letter to Dr. Carnahan : "When 
I came to this country, the cabin in which I was to live was raised, but 
there was no roof to it, nor any chimney, nor floor. The people, however, 
were very kind ; they assisted me in preparing my house, and on the i6th 
of December I removed into it. But we had neither bedstead, nor table, 
nor stool, nor chair, nor bucket. We could bring nothing with us but what 
was carried on pack-horses. We placed two boxes, one on the other, 
which served us for a table, and two kegs served us for seats ; and, having 
committed ourselves to God in family worship, we spread a bed on the 
floor and slept soundly till morning." 

Of the immediate family of Dr. McMillan, his eldest daughter, Jane, 
was married to Rev. W. Moorhead ; another, Margaret, to Rev. John Wat- 
son [q. v.), first President of Jefferson College. The youngest daughter, 
Catharine, became the wife of Rev. Moses Allen. Rev. Robert McMillan, 
deceased, was a worthy grandson. Several other of the descendants have 
been elders. 

Rev. Thaddeus Dodd was a son of Stephen Dodd, who was born in 
Guilford, Connecticut, in 1703, and whose father was Daniel Dodd (Dod). 
Thaddeus was born near Newark, N. J., March 7, 1740, but spent his boy- 
hood and youth at Mendham, Morris County, He was of weak constitu- 
tion, and suffered interruption in his studies from sickness, but graduated 
at Princeton in 1773; and having studied theology with Rev. Dr. Mc- 
Whorter and Rev. Timothy Johnes, was licensed by the Presbytery of New 
York, in 1775. In his evangelistic labors as a licentiate, he visited the Ten 
Mile settlement in Washington County, Pa., and accepting their invitation 
to settle among them, returned East, and was ordained by Presbytery of 
New York in 1777, and shortly afterward started to remove with his family, 
but found it necessary to leave them on the way. In 1779, bringing his 
family with him, he located permanently at Ten Mile, supplying also at 
South Fork, in what is now Greene County. His location, being on the 



394 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

south-western frontier, was at the first much exposed to Indian forays, but 
ere long the dangers of the tomahawk and scalping-knife were forgotten 
amid the cheering outpourings of God's Spirit. Within a short time, forty- 
souls were added to the Lord. 

Mr. Dodd had excellent musical taste and skill, and used Watts' Psalms 
and Hymns from the first. Having previously helped himself into the 
ministry by teaching, he now added this labor to that of preaching. A 
small building was erected within a few steps of his dwelling, and a clas- 
sical and mathematical school opened in it in the spring of 1782. When, 
under a charter granted in 1787, an Academy was opened in Washington 
in 1789, he consented to serve as its Principal, still retaining his pastoral 
charge at Ten Mile, but supplying at Washington one-third of the time 
during his incumbency as Principal of the Academy, His death occurred 
May 20, 1793, in the 54th year of his age, and the i8th of his ministry. 

Mr. Dodd was married soon after his graduation to Miss Phebe Baldwin, 
of Newark, N. J. Of his descendants, 121 were known to be living a few 
years ago. Several of these were ruling elders, as had also been several 
others not then living. One son, Rev. Cephas Dodd, became his succes- 
sor, after a time, to the pastorate of Ten Mile Church. 

In the Presbyterian Magazme for 1 854, an autobiography and memoir, edited 
by his son, Rev. Cephas Dodd, was published, covering some twenty pages. 
In the memoir it is mentioned, as illustrating his linguistic skill, that the 
Greek and Hebrew texts in their appropriate characters were prefixed to 
not a few of his written discourses. The autobiography, which is in the 
form of a diary, gives an insight into his spiritual experiences, such as is 
given only in rare cases. It appears from this that years before he began 
to study for the ministry, his religious experience was deep and thorough. 
A few extracts may fitly be added. 

"July 25, 1764. This being the day set apart to seek the eternal welfare 
of my soul, and for imploring divine assistance, retired into a solitary 
place on the mountain. Here I made my solemn engagements in writing, 
and in that solemn manner entered into covenant engagements to be the 
Lord's. Oh, my God, leave me not — help me daily to take up my cross 
and follow thee.'' 

"Feb. 19, 1765. Met with my friends at the session, and was examined 
by Mr. Peppard and the elders of the church as to my experimental 
knowledge of Jesus Christ and my fitness to approach to the sacrament of 
the Lord's Supper. We had a pleasant meeting. Nothing was heard in 
the company but heavenly things." 

"July 17, 1766. Had some freedom in commending myself to God in 
my studies and imploring his blessing on them. Oh, infinitely glorious 
God ! the secrets of my heart are naked and open before thee. I cast 
myself upon thy all-wise and holy Providence, and rejoice that through 
thine infinite wisdom, thou knowest what will be best for me. Oh, my 
God, I would unbosom my soul to thee. Thou knowest the end I propose 
in my studies, which I have no visible means of obtaining. Thou must 



EARIvY MINISTERS. 395 

bless me, both in the work of ihy hand and the labors of my mind, or I 
shallfail. I leave myself . . . with thee. Use me, oh Lord, as an instru- 
ment of thy glory, and grant that in whatever station it may be thy pleasure 
to appoint me to act, I may bring some glory to thee and good to the woild 
of mankind.'' 

'' Sep. I, 1766. I have long had great desires of the spreading of Christ's 
Gospel among the heathen, and have sometimes earnestly requested that 
God would employ me in that glorious work.'' 

These dates were some nine years previous to the date of his licensure. 

Rev. Joseph Smith was born of pious parents, in 1736, in Nottingham, 
Md., near to the Susquehanna River. He graduated at Princeton in 1764; 
was licensed by Presbytery of Newcastle August 5. 1767 ; was ordained by 
same Presbytery April 19, 1769, and installed pastor of Lower Brandywine. 
Here, and also for a time, conjointly at Wilmington, Del., he labored until 
1778. In the spring of 1779 he visited the West, and the next year, 1780, 
became pastor of the churches of Upper Buffalo and Cross Creek, residing 
in the bounds of the former. Here he labored with fidelity and success 
for twelve years, when he entered into rest, April 19, 1792, in the fifty-sixth 
year of his age and the twenty-fifth of his ministry. 

Mr. Smith had been married shortly after his licensure to Esther, daughter 
of Mr. Wm. Cummin, merchant, of Cecil Co., Md. She survived him 
twenty-eight years, dying October 7, 1820, in her seventy-eighth year. 

Mr. Smith was one of the four original members of the Presbytery of 
Redstone and was moderator of the Synod of Virginia in 1790. In per- 
sonal appearance he was tall and slender, of fair complexion, well-featured 
and had eyes that were fairly brilliant. In fidelity to his work, in depth 
and fervor of piety, and in zeal to promote religion and education, he was 
not inferior to any of his associates. His preaching was close and search- 
ing, and was made eloquent by the intensity of his desire for the conver- 
sion of souls. The following extract from his last will and testament 
evinces the spirit which actuated his life: "I give and bequeath to each 
of my beloved children a Bible ; and in so doing mean to intimate to 
them, as I am a dying man and in the sight of God, that it is ten thousand 
times more my will and desire that they should find and possess the pearl 
of great price hid in the Scriptures, than enjoy anything else which I can 
bequeath.'' 

At the same time each of his eight children received a respectable patri- 
mony. To David, who was preparing for the ministry, he left seventy 
pounds in gold " for y^ single purpose of supporting my said son David in 
his learning." Of the other two sons, one died while preparing for the 
ministry. Of the five daughters, one died in early womanhood; the other 
four became wives of ministers, namely, Rev. James Hughes, Rev. James 
Welsh, Rev. Wm. Wylie and Rev. Joseph Anderson. (For full biography 
of Mr. Smith see " Old Redstone," by his grandson, Rev. Joseph S.nith, 
D.D., published in 1854.) 



396 APPENDIX NO. a. 

Rev. James Duxlap, D.D., was born of pious parents in Chester Co., 
Pa , in 1744; graduated at Princeton in 1773; was tutor in the same 1775 
to 1777; studied theology with Rev. James Finley and was licensed by 
Presbytery of Donegal (record of date lost). He was ordained by Presby- 
tery of Newcastle August 21, 1781, and the year following was received by 
Presbytery of Redstone and settled as pastor of Laurel Hill and Dunlap's 
Creek, residing in the bounds of the former. Relinquishing Dunlap's 
Creek in 1789, he continued for fourteen years longer at Laurel Hill; was 
Moderator of the Synod of Virginia in 1794 and in 1797. In 1803 was 
made president of Jefferson College, and during his incumbency preached 
most of the time as stated supply at Miller's Run. In 1806 had conferred 
on him the degree of Doctor of Divinity. After his resignation from the 
college, which was in 181 1, he conducted a classical school, first at Geneva 
and then at Uniontown, Fayette Co., Pa. In 1816 removed to Abingdon, 
Pa., where he died, November 22, 1818, aged seventy-four, and having 
been in the ministry about forty years. 

Dr. Dunlap had not robust health and was subject to nervous despond- 
ency. His piety was most exemplary. His greatest success was as a 
teacher of the classics, in which his knowledge was remarkably full and 
exact. Many of his pupils became distinguished in Church and State. 
Two of these, Rev, Dr. Andrew Wylie and Rev. Dr. Robert Baird, have 
left very full testimony to his excellence, in published sketches of his life 
and character. The former, in piquant style, speaks of his successful 
career as college president. '' The students liked him. His sobriquet was 
Neptune, queller of the waves. His personal appearance and some of his " 
traits of character were alike remarkable — the one a symbol of the other. 
About 5 feet 8 or 10 inches in height, he appeared, as he walked along 
with slow and measured steps, to notice nothing; his figure straight as an 
arrow ; his gait regular and uniform ; his form perfect in its proportions ; 
his dress plain and neat. The most noticeable thing about him was his 
abstraction. He seemed generally lost in thought and to take no interest 
at all in the outward world. He was a fine classical scholar, and when a 
pupil did well his eye gleamed with delight. His preaching was clear, 
plain, rich in thought, and in some respects impressive. His spirit, in its 
sensibilities, was too delicate. He had no rugged strength. He was not 
a Luther, but a Melanchthon." 

Of Dr. Dunlap's family, one son, a graduate of the Jefferson class of 

1807, was Rev. Wm. Dunlap, of Abington, Pa. A daughter became the 
wife of Rev. Stephen Boyer, a graduate of Jefferson College in the class of 

1808. Rev. Samuel Fulton, licensed by the Presbytery of Washington in 
1839, ^s a grandson of Dr. Dunlap. 

Rev. John Clark was born in 1718; graduated at Princeton 1759 '< ^^^ 
licensed by Presbytery of New Brunswick May 9, 1760, and ordained by 
same April 29, 1761. The first twenty years of his ministry were spent in 
preaching to various churches in the East, chiefly Mt. Bethel and Aliens- 



EARLY MINISTERS. 397 

town, in Presbytery of Philadelphia, and Bethel, in Presbytery of Newcastle. 
In 1782 was dismissed to come to the West, and after supplying for a while 
the churches of Bethel and Lebanon, in Presbytery of Redstone, was re- 
ceived, March 11, 1783, into the same, and became settled pastor of said 
churches. Relinquishing charge of Lebanon in 1788, he continued pastor 
of Bethel until 1794, and after three years more of hopeful waiting, entered 
into rest July 13, 1797, in the eightieth year of his age and the thirty-eighth 
of his ministry. 

The most exciting incident of the Western Insurrection — the burning of 
Inspector Neville's house — took place in the bounds of Mr. Clark's charge, 
and in Findley's " History of the Insurrection " Mr. Clark is referred to as 
" a venerable clergyman who expostulated with the insurgents and en- 
deavored to dissuade them from their purpose." 

Though in order of time he was the sixth of the early ministers to come 
to the West, he was in age the senior of all. His venerable appearance 
was increased by the peruke, or large white wig, which he continued to 
wear until the end of life. Mr. Clark's churches shared in the great revi- 
val in 1787, as appears from an account in the Western Missionary Maga- 
zine, Sept., 1803. Tradition gives about nothing as to his personal charac- 
teristics or his qualities as a preacher. What manner of spirit he was of 
may, however, be inferred from the creditable fact that he and his wife, 
Margaret, conjointly, bequeathed several thousand dollars to assist in the 
education of candidates for the ministry and in maintaining Jefferson Col- 
lege in its infancy.* 

Rev. James Finley was born of pious parents in County Armagh, Ire- 
land, Feb., 1725 ; was a younger brother of Rev. Dr. Samuel Finley, Pres- 
ident of Princeton College. The family came to America about 1734. 
James Finley received his education chiefly under Rev. Samuel Blair, 
After receiving license from Presbytery of Newcastle (as is supposed) he 
was ordained by same in 1752 ; was pastor first at East Nottingham ; after- 
ward Elk was added. So attached were his people that he was compelled 
to appeal to Synod to get his relation dissolved, which was done in 1782, 
when he removed West and began preaching to the churches of Rehoboth 
and Round Hill, in the forks of the Youghiogheny, Westmoreland County, 
Pa. He attended a meeting of Presbytery of Redstone, in March, 1783, 
and was received as a member in 1785 ; continued pastor of these churches 
until Oct., 1794; died Jan. 6, 1795, in the seventieth year of his age and 
about the forty-fourth of his ministry. 

Mr. Finley, though his name comes seventh on the roll of Presbytery, 
has the distinction of being the first of them all to blow the gospel trumpet 

* Mr. Clark, in his last will and testament, provided that a mulatto servant whom 
he owned should be free on the death of his wife, Margaret, provided he behaved him- 
self. Dr. Smith, in " Old Redstone," p. 301, speaks of Mr. Clark's colored man, 
Dan, who was a famous bass singer. 



398 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



west of the mountains, having made a visit thither as early as 1765. He 
was the oldest man in the Presbytery, excepting Mr. Clark, was of low 
stature, heavy build, florid complexion and full round face, quick in word 
and act ; was appointed associate justice of Common Pleas for Westmore- 
land County by the Supreme Executive Council, but the office, if ever ac- 
cepted, was resigned in 1788. Three of his sons — Joseph, Michael and 
William — became elders at Rehoboth ; another — Ebenezer — at Dunlap's 
Creek. One son— John Evans — was graduated at Princeton in 1776, li- 
censed by Pesbytery of Newcastle, and went to Kentucky about 1795, and 
preached in Mason County at the time of the great revival ; resided in that 
State until his death. Rev. Robert M. Finley, late of Wooster, O., was a 
grandson of Rev. James Finley and a son of the Rehoboth elder, Joseph 
Finley. 

Rev, Samuel Barr was born Feb. 4, 1751, near Londonderry. Ireland ; 
was educated at the University of Glasgow, and, after licensure, came to 
America and was ordained by the Presbytery of Newcastle June 15, 1785, 
and in October of the same year was married to Mary, daughter of James 
McDowell, of New London, Chester County, Pa. In December of same 
year he met with the Presbytery of Redstone, and stated that he had re- 
ceived a call from the churches of Pittsburgh and Pitt township (Beulah), 
declaring his acceptance thereof, subject to Presbytery's approval. In 
April, 1787, he was received by Presbytery as a member. His pastoral re- 
lation was dissolved in June, 17S9, and in September, 1790, he was dis- 
missed to the Presbytery of Newcastle. His was the distinction of having- 
been the first pastor of the First Church of Pittsburgh, and although his 
term of service was brief and troubled, there is ground to believe that 
his work was in some respects fruitful of good. His preaching was evan- 
gelical and his scholarship and pulpit ability not below the average stand- 
ard. After his return to the East he preached at Newcastle, Del., where 
he died May 31, 1818, in the sixty-eighth year of his age and about the 
thirty-fifth of his ministry. Some of his descendants yet reside in those 
parts. 

Rev. John Brice. — The Brice family came to Washington County 
from Maryland among the first settlers. James Brice, a brother of 
John, was one of the early elders in Upper Buffalo. John was a pupil 
in Rev. Thaddeus Dodd's school at Ten Mile, in 1782, and after further 
studies with Rev. Joseph Smith, of Upper Buffalo, was licensed by 
Presbytery of Redstone April 15, 1788, at the same time with James 
Hughes. By the same Presbytery he was ordained pastor* of Three 
Ridges and Forks of Wheeling April 22, 1790. This relation was dissolved 
June 29, 1808, after which he performed missionary labor in the adjacent 

* Note. — The earlier records say nothing about installation. The facts of the call 

and the ordination are stated, and then follows the record, " Mr. now takes 

his seat as a member." 



EARLY MINISTERS. 399 

regions, and in 18 10 took a disnnission to Presbytery of Lancaster, but re- 
turned his certificate without using it. He died Aug. 26, 181 1, in his fifty- 
first year and the twenty-third year of his ministry. He was a man of 
nervous temperament, and subject to morbid exercises of mind and fits of 
despondency; nevertheless was of deep piety, and his preaching was "in 
demonstration of the Spirit and of power,'' and was followed with a rich 
fruitage. 

Mr, Brice was twice married. His first wife was Rebecca Kerr, sister of 
James Kerr, ruling elder in Pigeon Creek Church. The second was Jean, 
daughter of Robert Stockton, ruling elder of Washington, and sister of Rev. 
Joseph Stockton. The late Rev. John Brice McCoy, of the Presbytery of 
Washington, was a grandson. So also is Rev. J. Brice Reed, of Fairmount, 
West Virginia. 

Rev. James Hughes, son of Rowland and Elizabeth (Smiley) Hughes, 
was born in York County, Pa. His father dying in 1779, the mother 
removed soon after, with her family, to Washington County, Pa., and set- 
tled in the bounds of Upper Buffalo Church, of which one of her sons — 
William — became an elder as early as 1802. James attended the school 
of Rev. Thaddeus Dodd, at Ten Mile, in 1782, and after further studies 
with his pastor, Rev. Joseph Smith, he was licensed by the Presbytery of 
Redstone, April 15, 1788. Of three several calls presented to him, he 
accepted the one from Short Creek and Lower Buffalo, and was ordained 
pastor April 21, 1790. He was one of the original members of the 
Presbytery of Ohio, at its erection in 1793, and was its Stated Clerk from 
1803 to 1814. He was a zealous worker in the great revivals of that day, 
the fullest accounts of which extant are from his pen. He was conspicuous 
for his service in missionary work, being for many years a member of the 
Board of Trust, Corresponding Secretary of the Western Missionary Society 
and one of the managing editors of The Western Missionary Magazine, 
published at Washington, Pa. He made several missionary tours into the 
Western Territory. He was Moderator of the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1806. 
On the 29th of June, 1814, he resigned his pastoral charge and was dis- 
missed to the Presbytery of Miami. Residing in Urbanna, Ohio, he 
engaged, under appointment of General Assembly, in missionary labor 
among the Indians. He also served the church of Urbanna for some years 
as stated supply. In 1818 he became Principal of what was afterwards 
Miami University. In this office he continued until his death. May 21, 1821, 
at Oxford, Butler County, Ohio, in the thirty-third year of his ministry and 
something over sixty years of age. 

Mr. Hughes was married, about the time of his licensure, to Mary, 
daughter of Rev. Joseph Smith. Two of their sons — Joseph S. (vide in loco) 
and Thomas E. Hughes, Jr. — entered the ministry. 

Rev. Joseph Patterson, son of Robert and Jane Patterson, was born in 
County Down, Ireland, March 20, 1752. When but twenty years old, he 



400 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

was married to Jane Moak, and soon afterward they came to America. The 
Revolutionary War found him engaged as a school-teacher, which business 
he at once relinquished and enlisted as a soldier in the ranks. Retiring 
from the army in 1777, he spent two years in York County, Pa., and then 
came, in 1779, to what is now Washington County, Pa. He was one of the 
early members and a ruling elder in Cross Creek Church. In 1785 he began 
to study for the ministry, under his pastor, Rev. Joseph Smith, and on the 
13th of August, 1788, was licensed by the Presbytery of Redstone. On 
the nth of November, 1789, he was ordained pastor of the churches of 
Raccoon and Montour's Run. April 16, 1799, he resigned charge of the 
latter, continuing pastor of the former until October 16, 1816, when, on 
account of increasing bodily infirmity, he relinquished it also, and removed 
to the city of Pittsburgh. The remainder of his life was spent there, in 
various labors, less exacting, but scarcely less useful, than those of the pas- 
torate. He spent much time in visiting the poor and afflicted and in dis- 
tributing Bibles and tracts. His whole ministerial life was an eminently 
useful one. Canonsburg Academy, and its successor, Jefferson College, 
the Western Missionary Society, the Western Theological Seminary, the 
Bible Society, the Tract Society, and the Sabbath-school cause, all found in 
him a zealous and effective friend. 

His death occurred February 4, 1832, in his eightieth year and the forty- 
fourth of his ministry. 

In personal appearance Mr. Patterson was of middle height, with an 
athletic frame. He had a mild, clear eye, aquiline nose, and dark hair. 
His voice was low and tender in conversation, but often sonorous and 
commanding in the pulpit. His preaching was simple and plain, but it was 
always sensible, edifying and rich in evangelical truth. Many things are 
on record illustrating what were plainly the two salient features in his 
religious character, viz. : ist. A singular faith in God's providential care 
and in the efficacy of prayer. 2d, A most facile habit of introducing 
practical religion into his daily conversation. ( Vide Biographical Sketch 
by Rev. E. P. Swift, D.D., quoted in "Old Redstone." Also, Tribute by 
Rev. R. Lea, in " Centennial Volume of First Church of Pittsburgh.") 

Mr. Patterson was twice married. His second wife, whom he married 
May 9, 1 812, was Rebecca Leach, of Abingdon, Pa. Of eight children 
borne to him by his first wife, the eldest was Robert, an honored minister 
for many years in the Presbytery of Erie. A granddaughter became the 
wife of Rev. John B. Graham, formerly of the Presbytery of Washington. 
Rev. Joseph Patterson Graham, of Presbytery of Kolhapur, Synod of India, 
is a great-grandson. 

Rev. James McGready was born in Pennsylvania. The family moved 
to North Carolina while he was yet quite young. After a few years he was 
brought to West Pennsylvania by a relative, and about 1785 began a course 
of study under Rev. Joseph Smith, which was completed under Rev, John 
McMillan. He was licensed by Presbytery of Redstone, August 13, 17SS, 



EARLY MINISTERS. 4OI 

and soon after took a dismission to Orange Presbytery, and preached for a 
few years in Guilford County, N. C. In 1796 he removed to Logan County, 
Ky., and labored in the three congregations of Muddy, Red and Caspar 
Rivers. Here his preaching produced the most powerful impressions, and 
he became a conspicuous actor in the scenes of the great Kentucky revival. 
For a time he was brought into embarrassed relations to his Presbytery, 
but in the end his thorough uprightness, as well as orthodoxy, were made 
manifest. The latter part of his life he resided at Henderson, Ky., on the 
Ohio River. The minutes of the General Assembly show that during this 
time he was much engaged in missionary labors in Indiana and elsewhere, 
under commission from the General Assembly, He died in 1817, aged 
about sixty years. In 1831 two volumes of his sermons, edited by Rev. . 
JameS Smith, were published at Nashville, Tenn. They evince much 
rugged strength of intellect, and a tenacious grasp of fundamental Gospel 
truth. Rev. John Andrews, of Chillicothe, a contemporary of McGready, 
bears witness to " his fervent piety, his unaffected humility, his earnest, 
persevering supplications at the Throne of Grace, his resignation to the will 
of God under afflictions, bereavements and poverty, his cheerful reliance 
on God's providence, and his contempt of the vanities of this world, to 
which he seemed to be in a great degree crucified." 

Rev. John McPherrin was born November 17, 1757, in Adams County, 
Pa., in the bounds of Lower Marsh Creek Church, of which his father was 
an elder. He was fitted for college by Rev. Robert Smith, D.D., of Pequea, 
and was graduated at Dickinson in 1788; studied theology under Rev. 
John Clark, of the Presbytery of Redstone; was licensed by this Presbytery 
August 20, 1789, and was ordained by the same as pastor of Salem and 
Unity Churches, in Westmoreland County, September 22, 1790; resigned 
charge of Unity, June 25, 1800, and of Salem, April 20, 1805; removing to 
Butler County, he became pastor of Concord and Muddy Creek; preached 
also for a time at Harmony, and in 1813 was installed for part of his time 
at Butler, its first pastor. This and Concord thenceforth constituted his 
charge until he died, February 10, 1822, in the sixty-fifth year of his age 
and thirty-third of his ministry. He was a thorough classical scholar and 
an able theologian. He prepared several young men for the ministry ; 
was Moderator of the Synod of Virginia in 1795, and also in 1799, and of 
the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1805. His son-in-law, Hon. Walter Lowrie, 
former Secretary of the Board of Foreign Missions, writes concerning him : 
" He was tall in person, his hair quite gray, and his whole appearance the 
most venerable of any man I have ever seen. Decision and energy were 
the leading traits of his character. His zeal in his Master's cause never 
flagged. His eloquence was classically chaste, yet strong and nervous." 
Mr. McPherrin was married in early life to Mary, daughter of John Steven- 
son, of Cross Creek Church, Washington County, Pa. Rev. John C. 
Lowrie, D.D., of New York City, and Rev. Josiah McPherrin, of Nebraska, 
are grandsons. So also were Rev. Messrs. Walter M. and Reuben P. 
26 



402 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Lovvrie, missionaries to China, both now deceased. Rev. James Walter 
Lowrie, of Peking, China, is a great-grandson. 

Rev. Robert Finley was licensed by the Presbytery of Orange, and in 
June, 1785, ordained by the Presbytery of South Carolina, and became 
pastor of Waxhaw Church ; was received by the Presbytery of Redstone 
November 1 1, 1789, and the year following received a call from the churches 
of Mill Creek and King's Creek, which he did not accept. In June, 1791, 
upon the representation that he might wish to remove to Kentucky before 
the next meeting of Presbytery, Rev. James Finley was appointed " to 
write him a dismission and furnish him with proper credentials," and at the 
next meeting reported that he had done as appointed to do. 

Rev. Samuel Porter was born in Ireland June 11, 1760, of Covenanter 
parents. He was married in his early manhood, and with his wife and 
children came to America at the close of the Revolutionary War. About 
the year 1784 he settled in Washington County, Pa., in the bounds of what 
is now Raccoon Church. He attended the preaching of Rev. Joseph Smith, 
then pastor of Cross Creek and Buffalo, and occasionally heard Rev. Mr. 
McMillan at Chartiers. He was very poor in this world's goods, but found 
a helpful friend in Alex. Wright, Esq., one of the first bench of elders at 
Raccoon, who, with Messrs. Smith and McMillan, encouraged him to pre- 
pare for the ministry. After pursuing, under the two ministers named, a 
shorter course of study than was usually required, he was licensed by the 
Presbytery of Redstone November 12, 1789, and on the 22d of September, 
1790, was ordained by the same, and became pastor of the churches of 
Poke Run and Congruity, in Westmoreland County. From the former he 
was released April 11, 1798, continuing pastor of Congruity until his death, 
September 23, 1825, in the sixty-fifth year of his age and thirty-sixth of his 
ministry. 

Notwithstanding the defects of early education, Mr. Porter attained a 
high rank in the ministry. His natural abilities were good. He had great 
aptness both in acquiring and imparting knowledge. He was made Mod- 
erator of the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1804, being the third in succession. 
A volume of his sermons and other writings, with memoir by Rev. Dr. 
Elliott, was published in 1853. It proves him to have been an able dis- 
putant and defender of sound doctrine. In personal appearance he was 
slightly above the medium height, stout and heavy built, the muscles of his 
face full, his hair light brown. He had a rich vein of humor, and was an 
attractive companion. As a preacher and public speaker he was forcible 
and effective. His voice, though loud, was not harsh, and was well-modu- 
lated ; his sermons evangelical and didactic. 

Mr. Porter had a son Samuel, who was graduated at Jefferson College in 
1807, and licensed by the Presbytery of Redstone December 26, 1809. He 
died shortly after being settled at Cumberland, Md., in 181 1. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 403 

Rev. Robert Marshall was born in County Down, Ireland, November 
27, 1760 ; came with his family to Western Pennsylvania in his twelfth year ; 
was a soldier in the War of the Revolution, and was present in six general 
engagements ; was subsequently converted under the preaching of Rev. John 
McMillan. His preparatory studies were under Rev. Thaddeus Dodd at 
Ten Mile, and Rev. William Graham, Liberty Hall, Va. ; studied theology 
with Dr. McMillan, and was licensed by the Presbytery of Redstone April 
23, 1790; received an appointment to ride as missionary under commission 
of Synod of Virginia, and in October, 1792, was dismissed to the Presbytery 
of Transylvania, and on the 13th of June, 1793, was ordained pastor of 
Bethel and Blue Spring Churches in Kentucky ; also conducted a classical 
school in which were educated many who became prominent in Church and 
State. He was deeply stirred by the great revival of 1800, and in 1803 
allowed himself to be carried away for a time with the Stone heresy and 
schism, for which he was suspended from his ministry in the Presbyterian 
Church. In 181 1 he appeared at the bar of Synod declaring his penitence, 
and was restored. His subsequent life attested his sincerity. After a short 
period of missionary labor under Assembly's commission, he was reinstated 
in his old charge of Bethel, where he continued till his decease in 1833, 
aged seventy-three years. 

Rev. George Hill was born in York County, Pa., March 13, 1764. 
About 1783 he came with the family to Fayette County, in the bounds of 
George's Creek Church; studied theology with Rev. James Dunlap, and was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Redstone December 22, 1791 ; was ordained 
by the same November 13, 1792, becoming pastor of Fairfield, Donegal and 
Wheatfield Churches, in Westmoreland County, Pa. In 1798 he was re- 
leased from Wheatfield, and Ligonier was taken into his charge. In this 
field he labored until his death, June 9, 1822, in the fifty-eighth year of his 
age and the thirty-first of his ministry. He is represented as having been 
remarkable for modesty, sensibility, self-denial and devotedness to his 
Master's cause. Rev. George Hill, D.D., senior member of the Presbytery 
of Blairsville, is a grandson. George H. Hill, licentiate of the same Pres- 
bytery, is a great-grandson. 

Rev. William Swan was born in Cumberland, (now Franklin) County, 
Pa. He pursued his studies with Rev. John McMillan, in his " Log Cabin" 
school, and assisted in the same as teacher, succeeding James Ross (after- 
ward Hon. Jas. Ross, U. S. Senator). He was licensed by Presbytery of 
Redstone, December 22, 1791, and on the i6th of October, 1793, was 
ordained pastor of Long Run and Sewickly Churches, in Westmoreland 
County, Pa. Having labored here for twenty-five years, he was, at his 
request, released. The year following he was recalled to Long Run, where 
he labored until, at his request, the relation was dissolved, April 17, 1822, 
He died November 27, 1827, in the 63d year of his age, and the 36th of 
his ministry. 



404 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Rev. Jacob Jexnings was born in Somerset County, N. J., in 1744. After 
having been engaged in the practice of medicine until he was forty years 
old, he entered on the study of theology, and became a minister in the 
Reformed Dutch Church. He was received as a member of the Presby- 
tery of Redstone, April 17, 1792, and accepted a call from the churches of 
Dunlap's Creek and Muddy Creek (New Providence). From the latter he 
was released October 17, 1797, and from the former June 18, 181 1. He 
died February 17, 181 3, in the 69th year of his age. He was a man of 
great weight of character and much venerated. He was Moderator of the 
Synod of Pittsburgh at its first sessions, 1802. 

Mr. Jennings was the father of Rev. Obadiah Jennings, D.D. The late 
Rev. Samuel C. Jennings, D.D., of the Presbytery of Pittsburgh, was a 
grandson. Rev. P. S. Jennings, of the same Presbytery, is a great- 
grandson. 

Rev. David Smith, son of Rev. Joseph and Esther (Cummin) Smith, 
was born at Wilmington, Del., 1772. Coming West with his parents, when 
about eight years old, he soon after began classical studies with his father. 
He studied also with Rev. Thaddeus Dodd, at Ten Mile. He graduated at 
Hampden Sydney, and having read theology under his father, was licensed 
by Presbytery of Redstone, November 14, 1792, and was ordained pastor 
of George's Creek and Union (Tent) by same, August 20, 1794. In De- 
cember, 1797, accepted a call to Rehoboth and Round Hill, where he 
labored until his death, August 24, 1803, in the 32d year of his age, and the 
nth of his ministry. " He was a sound divine, a faithful and pathetic 
preacher." He was one of the editors of the JVcsteni Missionary Mag- 
azine. 

Soon after his ordination, Mr. Smith was married to Rebecca, daughter 
of Rev. Dr. James Power. They were the parents of Rev, Joseph Smith, 
D.D., author of " Old Redstone.'' Rev. James Power Smith, of Fredericks- 
burg, Va., is a grandson. The wives of Rev. William Brown, D.D. and 
Rev. J. C. Barr, D.D., of the Synod of Virginia, are granddaughters. 

Rev. Thomas Marquis. ( Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. Boyd Mercer, was born in 1766, near Winchester, Va., where he 
spent his boyhood. He received his education from Rev. Robert Smith, 
D.D., of Pequea, Pa.; was licensed by Presbytery of Redstone, April 19, 
1793; was ordained by Presbytery of Ohio, April 29, 1795, and from that 
date until April 16, 1799^ ^^'^s pastor of the churches of Pigeon Creek and 
Pike Run, in Washington County. In the years following he was stated 
supply successively at Charlestown (Wellsburg), Pitt Township, and Mc- 
Keesport, and at Muddy Creek and Jefferson. In 1806 he was commis- 
sioned Associate Judge of Washington County, which office he held as long 
as he lived. During this period he preached as opportunity offered. 

He was under medium height, of active temperament, and his sermons 
were instructive and evangelical. He died February 5, 1841, aged 75 years. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 405 

Some of his descendants live on the farm he owned near Pigeon Creek 
Church, and which was his homestead. Tiie greater part are in the West. 
His wife was a Miss Blackstone, of Fayette County, Pa. 

Rev. Thomas Moore came into the bounds of Presbytery of Redstone 
in 1793, as a licentiate of the Bristol Association, in the State of Massachu- 
setts, and the year following was dismissed to accept a call to the church 
of Ten Mile, in the Presbytery of Ohio, by which Presbytery he was or- 
dained at Ten Mile, August 21, 1794. This relation was dissolved Decem- 
ber 14, 1803. In July following, he accepted a call to Salem, in the Pres- 
bytery of Redstone, which relation was dissolved on the church's petition, 
April 19, 1809. In 1814 he removed to the State of Ohio, taking his dis- 
mission to Presbytery of Lancaster, of which he continued a memoer 
until his death. During- much of this period he was stated supply of the 
church of Unity, near which he lived on his farm. He also preached part 
of the time at Madison, and in the vacant churches of the Presbytery, and 
on missionary fields. He died August 24, 1840, in the 79th year of his age, 
and the 52d of his ministry. 

Mr. Moore is described as "a tall and rather fine-looking man, with 
smooth face and black hair well combed toward the back of his head.'' 
This was when he lived in Western Penna. He was a man of vigorous 
intellect and a good scholar ; was thought by some to be ultra-Calvinistic. 
His voice was loud and his preaching notably effective during the " falling 
exercise " revival both at Ten Mile and at Salem. He was a trustee of 
Canonsburg Academy and one of the editors of the Western' Missionary 
Magazine. Mr. Moore's wife was a daughter of Rev. James Power, D.D. 

Rev. Samuel Ralston, D.D., was born in Ireland, County Donegal, in 
1756; was educated at University of Glasgow, and after being licensed 
came to America in 1794, and was received under care of the Presbytery of 
Newcastle, from which he was transferred to Presbytery of Redstone and 
then to Presbytery of Ohio. He was ordained by this latter Nov. 29, 1796, 
becoming first pastor of the churches of Mingo Creek and Horseshoe Bot- 
tom, — afterwards merged into Williamsport, now Monongahela City. 
From the Williamsport part of his charge he was released in 1834 and 
from Mingo in 1836. After this long pastorate of over forty years, he 
survived another fifteen years, and died at his home near Ginger Hill, Sept. 
25, 1851, in the 95th year of his age and about the 58th of his ministry. 

He was a man of very large stature, strongly marked features, nose and 
eye-brows noticeably prominent, facial muscles full and irregular, and fore- 
head slightly receding. His demeanor was at once bland and dignified and 
his appearance in every respect extremely venerable. His familiarity with 
classical literature, his skill in argumentative writing, his established 
orthodoxy and his undisputed worth of character, moral and religious, 
gave him a prominent standing and extensive influence among his con- 
temporaries. He was a trustee of Jefferson College from its incorporation 



4o6 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

in 1802 until his death, and for forty consecutive years was president 
of its Board. Washington College conferred on him the degree of 
Doctor of Divinity in 1823. He was Moderator of the Synod of Pitts- 
burgh in 1809, and was rarely absent from an ecclesiastical meeting. He 
made several missionary tours into the Western Territory and was an 
editor and frequent contributor to the Western Missionary Magazine. 
More than any of his fellow-laborers in the West, Dr. Ralston sought to 
exert his influence through the press. His first published work was in 
1805 — a little volume which somehow gained for itself in Presbyterian cir- 
cles the title of " The Currycomb," the object of the volume being to 
defend the revival of 1800 from what were shown to be unjust animadver- 
sions. He also published a volume on Baptism, including an examination 
of the views of Alex. Campbell, " a work," says Rev. Dr. A. T. McGill, 
" of remarkable force and erudition." Following this was a volume on 
Prophecy, and then one on Psalmody, written when he was well-nigh 90 
years old, a remarkable case of active mental power in advanced age. 

Dr. Ralston was married, in 179S, to Rachel, daughter of William Fergu- 
son, a ruling elder in Pigeon Creek Church. One son, James, had just 
completed his course in the Western Theological Seminary in 1835, when 
he was removed by death. Other of his descendants still reside in the 
bounds of Mingo Church. ( Vide "Smith's History of Jefiferson College'' 
and " Sprague's Annals.") 

Rev. William Woods, son of Samuel and Elizabeth Woods, and 
elder brother of Rev. Samuel Woods, was born March 6, 1771, in Lancas- 
ter Co., Pa., and graduated at Dickinson College May 3, 1792. His theo- 
logical studies were partly under Rev. Robt. Smith, D.D., of Pequea, and 
partly under Rev. Dr. John Witherspoon ; was licensed by Presbytery of 
Newcastle June 17, 1794; was transferred to Presbytery of Redstone and 
then to Presbytery of Ohio, by which latter he was ordained June 27, 1797, 
and became pastor of the churches of Bethel and Lebanon, in Allegheny 
Co., Pa. From the latter he was released in 1820 and from Bethel in 
Oct., 1 83 1. 

The testimony of his immediate successor. Rev. Dr. Marshall, is that he 
was "a pious, judicious, orthodox and spiritual minister; grave in deport- 
ment, solemn in aspect, courteous and affable in manner." 

His churches participated largely in the blessings of the great revival at 
the beginning of the century. Nearly one thousand persons were received 
into communion during his pastorate of thirty-three years. 

He died October 17, 1834, in the sixty-fourth year of his age, and the 
forty-first of his ministry. 

Rev. Samuel Donnell was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, October 25, 
1797, being the first candidate licensed by this Presbytery. On the 28th of 
August, 1799, he was ordained, sine tiiulo, by same Presbytery, in compli- 
ance with "requests from remote parts of the State of Tennessee," and 



EARLY MINISTERS. 407 

" liberty granted by the General Assembly ; " was dismissed, October 21, 
1800, to Presbytery of Transylvania, and received by same October 6, 1801. 
In 1802 was one of three ministers who protested against the action of 
Presbytery in licensing "uneducated men of advanced age." When the 
Presbytery of Cumberland was erected by Synod of Kentucky in 1802, he 
was made one of its members. In 1804 he united with two others in a 
protest and complaint to the Synod against the irregular doings of the 
majority of that Presbytery in licensing seven candidates. In 1805 was 
one of the two members from Cumberland Presbytery present in Synod, 
and took part subsequently on the side of Synod's committee against the 
irregularides of his Presbytery; was present in Synod in 1806. The 
indications are that when the Presbytery of Shiloh was erected in 181 5, he 
was made a member of it, and that his subsequent life was spent in teaching 
and preaching in Tennessee. 

In " Sprague's Annals," vol. 3, p. 231, reference is made to a Rev. Samuel 
Donnell, who married a daughter of Rev. John Carmichael, and went to 
Tennessee. In a foot-note it is said that " Mr. D. joined the Cumberland 
Presbyterians." The error in this foot-note probably originated from the 
fact that one of the irregular licentiates of the Cumberland Presbytery was 
of the same name. The names of Samuel Donnell, Ruling Elder, Rev. 
Robert D. and Rev. George D., and Samuel Donnell, Jr., licentiate, all 
appear in the early records of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church. The 
Rev. Samuel Donnell's name does not appear, but is found continuously 
in the Presbyterial and Synodical records of the Presbyterian Church. 

Rev. John Kennedy was received, October 26, 1797, from Presbytery of 
New Castle. CcEtera desunt. 

Rev. John Watson was a native of Western Pennsylvania. He became 
an orphan when nine years old. From early boyhood he evinced an 
extreme avidity for learning, and, almost unaided by a teacher's instruction, 
made such proficiency that at the age of nineteen he was appointed tutor 
in Canonsburg Academy. In 1797 he graduated at Princeton College, 
and immediately after his return to the West was chosen principal of 
Canonsburg Academy. While filling this position, he studied theology 
with Dr. McMillan, and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, October 17, 
1798. The year following he received a call from the church in Washing- 
ton, Pa., and also one from the church of Miller's Run. This latter he 
accepted, and was ordained June 26, 1800. Meanwhile, a college charter 
having been secured, and the institudon having taken on this higher form, 
he was elected its first president. Only three months afterward he was 
removed by death, November 30, 1802. His early decease was greatly 
lamented. He seemed to possess every quality needed for his position. 
His scholarship was exceptional in that day, embracing a knowledge of 
the French, Spanish, Italian, Hebrew and Arabic, as well as Latin and 
Greek languages. His natural gifts were of a very high order. His piety 



4o8 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

was deep and sincere ; his whole character peculiarly lovely and attractive. 
The most explicit testimony on all these points has been put on record by 
President Carnahan, who was his pupil at the Canonsburg Academy. 
Also by Dr. Rea and others. 

Mr. Watson was married to Margaret, a daughter of Dr. McMillan. A 
romantic interest attaches to this event. Another daughter, Jane, was 
married to Rev. William Morehead. They were married by the father of 
the two brides on the same day. Not very long afterward Mr. Watson and 
Mr. Morehead died on the same day, and were buried at one time, side by 
side, in one grave. The double tablet covering their remains perpetuates 
the memory of this remarkable coincidence. 

Rev. Joseph Anderson was a member of the church of Upper Buffalo, 
and was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, October 17, 1798. Engaging 
at once in missionary labor in the Western Territory, he succeeded in 
gathering congregations at several points, and on August 20, 1800, he was 
ordained by the same Presbytery and installed pastor of the three churches 
of Richland (St. Clairsville), Short Creek (Mount Pleasant), and Cross 
Roads (Crab Apple). Within two years afterward, Cross Roads ceased to 
be a part of his charge. In April, 1813, his pastoral relation to Short Creek 
was dissolved; but in 1820 Short Creek is again coupled with Richland in 
Presbytery's Report to Synod. In 1827 Richland is first reported as St. 
Clairsville, and in 1829 is reported as his sole pastoral charge. From this 
he was released October 3, 1830. The years immediately following he 
spent as stated supply at various points in the Presbytery. In June, 1835, 
he was dismissed to the Presbytery of St. Charles. His death occurred at 
Monticello, Mo., in 1847, in the eightieth year of his age. 

Mr. Anderson's wife was a daughter of Rev. Joseph Smith, first pastor 
of Cross Creek and Upper Buffalo. 

He was a man of deep piety and abounding zeal, a faithful and devoted 
laborer, and in an eminent sense a pioneer. He was the first minister 
ordained and installed by this Presbytery in what is now the State of Ohio ; 
but not, as some have claimed, the first absolutely, Rev, James Kemper 
having been ordained and installed, at Cincinnati, by the Presbytery of 
Transylvania, as early as October 23, 1792. The indications are that, pre- 
vious to licensure, Mr. Anderson resided in the western part of Washington 
County, and that he pursued his studies, in part at least, at Canonsburg 
Academy. 

Rev. Thomas Edgar Hughes, son of Rowland and Elizabeth (Smiley) 
Hughes, and a younger brother of Rev. James Hughes [q.v.), was born in 
York County, Pa., April 7, 1769. Coming west with the family, after the 
father's decease, about the year 1780, and residing with them in the bounds 
of Upper Buffalo Church, until he had reached adult age, he then began 
his studies at Canonsburg Academy. In 1797 he graduated at Princeton 
College, New Jersey, and, after a course of reading in theology, under Dr. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 409 

McMillan, was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, October 17, 1798. By 
the same Presbytery he was ordained, August 28, 1799, and installed pastor 
of the churches of New Salem and Mount Pleasant, in what is now Beaver 
County, Pa., being the first pastor ordained by this Presbytery north of the 
Ohio River. His name headed the roll of the Presbytery of Erie at its 
erection, in 1802, and he was its first moderator. In 1808 he relinquished 
the New Salem part of his charge, and continued pastor of Mount Pleasant 
until November 19, 1830. After this he resided at Wellsville, Ohio, organ- 
izing the church there and preaching to it for about four years. He died 
May 2, 1838, in the seventieth year of his age and fortieth of his ministry. 
His church partook largely of the influences of the great revival of 1800. 
He had much of that missionary zeal for which his older brother was con- 
spicuous, and made several missionary tours into the Western Territory. 
He was Moderator of the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1822. He did great ser- 
vice to the cause of education and the training of men for the ministry, by 
the leading part which he took in the establishment and maintenance 
of the Greersburg Academy, and was considered a learned and judicious 
instructor. 

Mr. Hughes was married, May 6, 1799, to Mary Donahey. Four of their 
sons — William, John D., Watson, and James R. — became ministers, the 
last one of whom yet survives. Another son was a ruling elder widely 
known, and a daughter was the wife of Rev. Samuel A. McLean, formerly 
of Beaver Presbytery. Four grandsons — sons of William — also became 
ministers. It is stated, on competent authority, that of the descendants of 
Rowland Hughes, father of Rev. Messrs. James, Smilie and Thomas E., not 
less than twenty-four have been ministers, and more than that number 
have been ruling elders. 

Smilie Hughes, brother of Rev. James and Thomas E., was licensed 
December 20, 1798. He died soon after licensure. 

Rev. James Snodgrass was born November 27, 1764. His early life was 
spent in what is now Allegheny County,- Pa. He was one of the first stu- 
dents of Canonsburg Academy, and read theology under Dr. McMillan; 
was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, April 17, 1799; received a call the 
next year to churches of Steubenville and Island Creek, and on the 26th of 
November, 1800, was ordained and installed pastor of the same ; was mar- 
ried July I, 1802, to Ann White, of Washington County, Pa. While he 
held this pastorate attempts were made by some of the country churches 
of the neighborhood to form certain connections deemed desirable, and 
the matter was referred to Presbytery. It is amusingly suggestive that the 
Presbytery, as appears from the record, hypothecated its final action in the 
case, on the basis that a contrary course " might be at least the occasion 
of destroying Steubenville.'' 

Mr. Snodgrass' pastoral relation to Steubenville and Island Creek was 
dissolved October 16, 1816. The year following he received a call from 



4IO APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Island Creek, which was accepted, and he was installed there May 25, 1818. 
He was one of the original members of the Presbytery of Steubenville, at 
its erection in 18 19. In 1825 he was released from Island Creek, and dis- 
missed to Presbytery of Richland. His labors there were given to the 
churches of Pigeon Run, in Stark County, Ohio, and Sugar Creek, Wayne 
County, O. He died March 10, 1843, ^^ the 79th year of his age, and the 
44th of his ministry. 

Mr. Snodgrass was a zealous worker and a faithful expounder of Bible 
truth. Dr. Obadiah Jennings, in a letter published in Sprague's Annals, 
attributes his religious awakening to a sermon on Eternity, preached by 
his pastor, Rev. James Snodgrass. 

Rev. Elisha Macurdy. ( Vidt' sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. Joseph Stockton, son of Robert and^ Mary (Makemie) Stockton, 
was born near Chambersburg, Pa., February 25, 1779. The family re- 
moved to near Washington, Pa., in 1784, and the father was one of the 
first elders in that place. The studies of the son, both classical and theo- 
logical, were prosecuted mainly at Canonsburg Academy and under Dr. 
McMillan ; and he was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, June 26, 1799, being 
but a little over twenty years of age — a remarkable exception in this 
respect to ordinary experience in that day, when so many of those licensed 
were married men. On the 24th of June, 1801, he was ordained by same 
Presbytery, and installed pastor at Meadville and Sugar Creek. He was 
one of the seven dismissed in 1802 to constitute the Presbytery of Erie. 
After a pastorate of nine years, during which he had also charge of an 
Academy at Meadville, he removed to Pittsburgh, and was received into 
the Presbytery of Redstone. For the next ten years he was principal ot 
the Pittsburgh Academy, and while thus engaged published the once 
famous school-books, "Western Spelling Book'' and "Western Calcu- 
lator." Much of this time, and subsequently, he preached at Pine Creek 
and at Allegheny, where he was instrumental in founding the First Presby- 
terian Church. He also took an active part in securing the location of 
the Western Theological Seminary at Allegheny, in 1827, and was one of 
the first instructors in it. By act of Synod in 1822, he, in common with 
the other ministers residing at Pittsburgh, was transferred from Presbytery 
of Redstone to Presbytery of Ohio. He died of cholera, October 29, 1832, 
in Baltimore, whither he had gone to see a son who was ill of fever. His 
body was interred in the graveyard of the First Presbyterian Church of 
that city ; but in 1858 was removed to the cemetery of Allegheny. 

Mr. Stockton was married. May 8, 1800, to Esther, daughter of David 
Clark, Esq., of Washington County. She, with four sons and three daugh- 
ters, survived him. Two sisters of Mr. Stockton were married to minis- 
ters — Rev. John Brice and Rev. James Cunningham. Rev. John Stockton, 
D.D., of Cross Creek, was his nephew. 

Rev. George M. Scott. ( Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 



EARLY MINISTERS. 4II 

Rev. John McClain was educated at Canonsburg Academy ; was one 
of the founders of Philo Literary Society, in 1797; was licensed by Pres" 
bytery of Ohio, August 28, 1799; received calls the year following from 
Upper Buffalo, from Bull Creek and Middlesex, and from Montours. The 
latter he accepted, and was ordained and installed pastor, August 27, 1800, 
in which relation he continued until December, 1808, when, having been 
found guilty by the Presbytery of the sin of intemperance, he was deposed 
from the ministry. His fall caused deep and wide-spread sorrow — all the 
more because his early ministry had been so full of promise. 

Rev. William Wick, eldest son of Lemuel and Deborah (Lupton) 
Wick, was born on Long Island, N. Y., June 29th, 1768. The family re- 
moved to Ten Mile, Washington County, Pa., at an early date. He studied 
at Canonsburg Academy ; was one of the' founders of Franklin Literary 
Society in 1797 ; read theology under Dr. McMillan ; was licensed by 
Presbytery of Ohio August 28, 1799, and by the same Presbytery was, 
on the 3d of Sept., 1800, ordained and installed pastor of Hopewell and 
Neshannock Churches, in what is now Lawrence County, Pa. The year 
following he was released from Neshannock a.nd became pastor for half 
his time at Youngstown, O. He was one of the seven who were dismissed 
to constitute the Presbytery of Erie in 1802. He shared largely in the 
missionary zeal of the ministers of that day, and was the first permanent 
laborer on the Western Reserve. His ministry began in the times of the 
great revival, and through his labors many were added to the church. He 
was Moderator of the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1811. His death occurred at 
Hopewell, March 29th, 181 5, in the 47th year of his age and i6th of his 
ministry. Pursuant to his request he was buried at Youngstown, O. 

Like many other of the early ministers, Mr. Wick was a man with a 
family before he began studying for the ministry. He was married, April 
2ist, 1791, to Elizabeth, daughter of Col. Daniel McFarland, of Revolu- 
lutionary fame, and a sister of Wm. McFarland, Esq., one of the early 
Elders of Ten Mile Church. There were born to them eight sons and 
three daughters. One of the latter became the wife of Rev. Thomas An- 
derson, first pastor of the church of Franklin, Pa. Some of the sons were 
prominent in commercial and political spheres. 

Rev. Andrew Gwin was a native of Ireland ; was licensed by Presby- 
tery of Redstone Oct. i8th, 1798; was ordamed by Presbytery of Ohio 
June 24th, 1800, and installed pastor of the churches of Pigeon Creek and 
Pike Run. This relation was dissolved April i6th, 1817. In his earlier 
ministry Mr. Gwin was highly esteemed. He was a man of fine personal 
appearance, and was a fluent and interesting speaker. Toward the close 
of his pastorate at Pigeon Creek, facts were disclosed which impaired his 
standing as a minister. His subsequent life was clouded with adversity, 
and spent in comparative obscurity. 



412 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Rev. Abraham Boyd, son of John and Mary (Fulton) Boyd, was born 
in Ireland Dec, 1770. The Boyd family came to America in 1772, and 
settled in Westmoreland County, Pa., in the bounds of Salem Church, of 
which the father, John Boyd, became a ruling elder. Three other sons — 
John, James and Benjamin — also became ministers. These four, with 
Elisha McCurdy, Wm. Moorhead, John Thompson and Richard McNemar 
all sat down together for the first time at a Communion in Salem Church, 
and all subsequently became ministers of the gospel. ( Vide " Life of Ma- 
curdy," p. 21.) 

Abraham Boyd, the second son, was educated at Canonsburg Academy, 
and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio June 25th, 1800. Taking his dis- 
mission first to Redstone Presbytery and then to Erie, he was ordained by 
the latter June 17th, 1802, and installed pastor of the churches of Bull 
Creek and Middlesex, in what is now Armstrong County, Pa. He was re- 
leased from Middlesex in 1817, and from Bull Creek in 1833. From 1817 
to 1821 he supplied at Deer Creek. He died on his farm near Tarentum 
Aug. 14th, 1854, in the 84th year of his age, and the 55th of his ministry. 
He was a plain, practical, unambitious man, of devout habits and devoted 
to the work of preaching the gospel. 

Mr. Boyd was twice married. His first wife was Eleanor Hollis, of 
Washington County, Pa., to whom he was united March 29th, 1798. In 
1817 he was married to a Mrs. Scott. His descendants are numerous. 
Rev. A. F, Boyd, of Poland, O., and Rev. Theodore S. Negley, of Wilcox, 
Pa., are grandsons, as is also Rev. J. F. Boyd, of Steubenville, O., by mar- 
riage. The Boyd family is remarkable for the large number of ministers, 
and particularly the large number of Ruling Elders, which have been sup- 
plied to the Presbyterian Church by its several branches. 

Rev. Samuel Tate (Tait) was born near Shippensburg, Pa., Feb. 17th, 
1772. The family afterwards removed to Ligonier, Westmoreland County, 
Pa. In his early life he followed the business of his father, which was that 
of packing goods across the mountains on horseback. While yet careless, 
he was brought under the influence of Elisha McCurdy, then residing at 
Ligonier, and by God's blessing on that influence he became a Christian ; 
but it was not until a later period, after he had married and was settled on 
a farm, that he felt himself called of God to seek preparation to preach the 
gospel. He was educated at Canonsburg Academy, and was one of the 
founders of the Philo Literary Society in 1797; studied theology with Dr. 
McMillan and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio June 25, 1800, and by 
the same Presbytery was ordained and installed pastor of Upper Salem 
and Cool Spring, in Mercer County, Pa., on the 19th of Nov., 1800. In 
1806 he relinquished Upper Salem, and gave half his time to an infant 
church in the town of Mercer. In 1826 he relinquished Cool Spring, and 
gave all his time to Mercer until his death, which took place June 2d, 
1841, in the 70th year of his age and 41st of his ministry. 

He was a man of very commanding appearance, over six feet in height, 



EARLY MINISTERS. 413 

erect in his bearing, with firm, grave cast of countenance. The testimony 
of his Presbytery at the time of his death was that " as a preacher of the 
gospel he had few superiors.'' Several extensive revivals occurred during 
his ministry. In 1822-23 he served by appointment of Synod as Superin- 
tendent pro tejit. of Synod's Mission Family among the Ottawa Indians. 
The Pittsbiitgh Recorder of that date has columns filled with acknowledg- 
ments by Mr. Tate of the receipt of farming stock, utensils, etc., contributed 
by the churches for that object. He had much weight as an ecclesiastic ; 
was Stated Clerk of Presbytery after Mr. Wick's transfer to Presbytery of 
Hartford; was Moderator of the Synod of Pittsburgh in 1818. 

Mr. Tate's wife was a Miss Amelia Calvin. During his entire pastorate 
he resided on a farm, and wrought not a little with his own hands. 

Rev. James Satterfield, son of James and Margaret (Mead) Satter- 
field, was born in Queen Anne Co., Md., in August, 1767. He gave his heart 
to God in his fourteenth year, and from that time aspired to become a min- 
ister. Many difficulties stood in his way. In 1794 he is resident in the 
Cross Creek settlement, Washington Co., Pa., and is laboring on a farm. 
He finds a helpful friend in Robt. Lyle, a ruling elder in the church. At 
last he begins his studies at Canonsburg Academy ; was one of the 
founders of the Phil. L. Society in 1797 ; studied theology with Dr. 
McMillan; was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, Sept. 3, 1800, and was 
ordained by same Presbytery March 2, 1802, and installed pastor of 
Moorefield and Upper Neshannock churches in Mercer Co., Pa. In 1812 
he relinquished charge of Neshannock, but continued at Moorefield until 
1834, preaching also for a time at Hubbard, Trumbull Co., O. In his 
early ministry he was accustomed to ride horseback to one of his 
churches ten miles from his home on the coldest days, preach, and 
return home, without having seen fire. He was a remarkably large 
man, of strong and robust constitution. He died Nov. 20, 1857, in 
the 90th year of his age and the 58th of his ministry. The historian of 
the Presbytery of Erie, Rev. Dr. S. J. M. Eaton, writes: "The reputation 
he has left behind is that of sterling integrity, unvarnished truth and 
unblemished purity of heart and life.'' He was an original member of 
the Presbytery of Erie at its erection in 1802. 

Mr. Satterfield was thrice married. Rev. Mead Satterfield who died 
in 1855, was a son by his third wife, Sarah Mead, of Meadville, Pa. A 
grandson, Rev. D. J. Satterfield, is president of Scotia Seminary in N. 
Carolina. 

Rev. Robt. Lee, son of Thomas Lee, was born in Donegal, Ireland, in 
177 1 ; was brought with the family to Washington Co., Pa., about the 
year 1777. His boyhood was spent mostly in manual labor, but after 
arriving at adult life, he entered the Canonsburg Academy ; was an 
original member of the Phil. L. Society in 1797. After studying theology 
under Dr. McMillan, was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, Oct. 22, 1800 ; 



414 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



was ordained by the same, June 26, 1801, and installed pastor of Amity 
and Big Spring churches in Mercer Co., Pa. ; was one of the original 
members of Presbytery of Erie at its erection in 1802. He resigned his 
pastorate in 1807, and for several years labored as Stated Supply at various 
places in the Presbytery. From 1813 to 1819 was pastor of Salem Church, 
Westmoreland Co., then in Presbytery of Redstone. The remainder of 
his life was spent in the State of Ohio. He was pastor successively at 
Ashland, Bucyrus, and Leesville. At this latter place he died Feb. 9, 1842, 
in the 71st year of his age and the 41st of his ministry. In person Mr. Lee 
was tall, slender and of dignified mien. As a preacher he maintained 
firmly the doctrines enunciated in the creeds of the Presbyterian Church, 
and was a solemn and impressive speaker. His ministerial life in Ohio 
was that of a pioneer called to perform much hard labor, and not unfre- 
quently straitened for means to support himself and family. 

The same year in which Mr. Lee was licensed, he was married to Miss 
Sarah Swearingen, of Washington Co., Pa. They had eight children, 
some of whom are yet living. A grandson, J. Lloyd Lee, has recently 
completed his studies for the ministry under care of the Presbytery of 
Wooster. Another grandson, W. P. Lee, is in course of preparation for 
the same. 

Rev. Robert Patterson, son of Rev. Joseph and Jane (Moak) Patterson, 
was born at Stillwater, New York, April i, 1773. He was brought in 1779, 
with the family to the Cross Creek settlement, in what is now Washington 
Co., Pa. The father was licensed to preach in 1788, and in 1791, at the 
opening of Canonsburg Academy, Robert was enrolled there as one 
of its first students. He graduated at the University of Pennsylvania 
in 1795, and for some five years afterwards was tutor in that institution. 
His study of theology was begun with Rev. Dr. Ashbel Green, and com- 
pleted with Dr. McMillan. He was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio May 
I 1 801 ; was ordained by Presbytery of Erie Sept. i, 1803, and installed 
first pastor of Upper and Lower Greenfield (Northeast). This relation 
was dissolved in 1807, when he became principal of Pittsburgh Academy. 
For more than a quarter of a century he preached as Stated Supply to 
Hilands Church, near Pittsburgh, and was also engaged in the book and 
paper business. His death occurred at his home in the suburbs of Pitts- 
buro'h, Sept. 5, 1854, in the 82d year of his age and the 54th of his ministry. 
In both personal appearance and traits of character he somewhat resem- 
bled his honored father ; in stature rather low and heavy, of genial dis- 
position and an entertaining companion. Like his father, also, he had a 
remarkable faculty of making personal religion a theme of conversation. 
His advanced years were marked by growing spirituality and heavenly- 
mindedness. 

Mr. Patterson was married August, 1801, to Miss Jean, daughter of Col. 
John Canon, founder of Canonsburg. One of their sons is Prof. Robt. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 415 

Patterson, formerly of Jefferson College, and for many years past one of 
the editors and proprietors of The Presbyterian Banner. 

Rev. Cephas Dodd. (Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. Stephen Lindsley, was a son of Caleb Lindsley, who came from 
Mendham, N. J., at a very early date, and settled at Ten Mile in Washing- 
ton Co., Pa. He studied at Canonsburg Academy, and was an original 
member of the Franklin Literary Society in 1797 ; was licensed by Pres- 
bytery of Ohio Oct. 29, 1801. On the 26th of April, 1803, was ordained by 
the same, " to go to Marietta, O., agreeably to invitation of the Society 
there.'' On the 21st of October, 1808, was dismissed, with four others, to 
constitute the Presbytery of Lancaster. When the Synod of Ohio was 
erected, in 1814, he was reported as pastor at Marietta. Subsequently he 
was stricken with palsy, and rendered unable to preach. Being scant of 
means and helpless, he moved back about 1827 or '28 to Ten Mile, and 
made his home with a relative until his death, which occurred not long 
afterward. His wife was from one of the Eastern States, and after his 
death went back to her people in the East. They had no children. He 
was a cousin of Rev. Jacob Lindley, D.D. (g.'v.), and a grand-uncle of 
Dr. S. L. Blachley, ruling elder in the church of Upper Ten-Mile. 

Rev. William Woods, Jr. (Wood), son of Samuel and Isabella 
(Sankey) Woods, was born in York Co., Pa., March 27, 1776; was edu- 
cated at Canonsburg Academy and studied theology with Dr. McMillan ; 
was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 29, 1801 ; ordained by Presbytery 
of Erie Nov. 3, 1802, and installed at Plain Grove and Centre, Mercer Co., 
Pa. ; preached at Centre six years and al Plain Grove fourteen years ; was 
installed pastor of Hopewell and Neshannock by Hartford Presbytery Oct. 
22, 1817; released from Hopewell in 1828 and from Neshannock in 1837; 
dismissed to Presbytery of Richland Jan. 8, 1839; died at Utica, O., July 
31, 1839, ^^ ^^^ sixty-fourth year of his age, and the thirty-ninth of his 
ministry. 

Mr. Woods' wife was Margaret Donald, of Washington Co., Pa. They 
were married May 17, 1798. Their numerous descendants greatly revere 
their memory. 

Rev. John Anderson, D.D. ( Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. William Wylie, D.D., son of Adam and Elizabeth Wylie, was 
born in Washington Co., Pa., July 10, 1776. He was an older brother of 
Rev. Dr. Andrew Wylie. The father, Adam W., was patentee of a large 
tract of land within the bounds of Upper Buffalo congregation. He was a 
good man, and at his death made a bequest to the American Bible Society. 
He was a half-brother of Rev. Samuel Wylie, D.D., the eminent Reformed 
Presbyterian minister of Philadelphia. The mother, Elizabeth W., was a 



4l6 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

godly woman, whose memory was greatly revered by her two distinguished 
sons. 

Wm. Wylie received his education at Washington under Rev. Thaddeus 
Dodd and at the Canonsburg Academy. Having gone to Kentucky 
to teach, he there studied theology and was licensed by the Pres- 
bytery of West Lexington. Returning to his home in Western Penn- 
sylvania, he was received as a licentiate by Presbytery of Ohio March 2, 
1802, and on the 5th inst. following was ordained and installed, by same 
Presbytery, pastor of the churches of Upper and Lower Sandy and Fair- 
field. On the same day was dismissed, with six others, to constitute the 
Presbytery of Erie. His relation to these churches was dissolved in De- 
cember, 1804. His subsequent pastorates were Rehoboth and Round Hill, 
in Presbytery of Redstone, 1805-16; LIniontown, in same Presbytery, 
1816-23; Wheeling and Short Creek, in Presbytery of Washington, 1823- 
32; Newark, in Presbytery of Lancaster (O.), 1832-54. The degree of 
Doctor of Divinity was conferred on him, in 1850, by Muskingum College. 
In 1814 he was Moderator of the Synod of Pittsburgh.' 

In the fall of 1854 he went with his wife to Port Gibson, Miss. While 
there she was removed by death, and on the eve of starting North, the fol- 
lowing spring, he had the misfortune to have his thigh-bone fractured by a 
fall, which made him a cripple for the brief remainder of his life. He 
died at Wheeling, Va., May 9, 1858, in the eighty-second year of his age 
and the fifty-fourth of his ministry. 

Dr. Wylie was an eloquent preacher. He possessed great affluence of 
thought and language, and his voice was clear and musical. These gifts, 
together with his tall and dignified person, his expressive features, and his 
sympathetic tenderness and pathos, gave him singular power in the pulpit. 
He excelled also in social intercourse, possessing rare conversational 
ability. His piety was deep and fervent. Some of his letters written 
toward the close of life indicate an unusual intimacy of communion with 
God. Rev. Dr. Weed, who was much with him in his last illness, writes : 
'' He spoke little of his ailments, but much of the love of God. He was 
favored with most exalted views of the infinite perfections of God and the 
transcendent glory of the Lord Jesus Christ. These were the favorite and 
absorbing themes of his discourse." 

Mr. Wylie was twice married. His first wife was Esther, daughter of 
Rev. Joseph Smith, first pastor of Cross Creek and Upper Buffalo ; the 
second wife was a widow lady, Mrs. Moody, who had been a member of 
Dr. Payson's Church at Portland, Me. All his children were by his first 
marriage. An only son was Rev. Joseph S. Wylie, who died while pastor 
of church of Cross Roads, in Presbytery of Washington. 

Rev, Robert Johnston, son of Robert and Jane (Graham) Johnston, 
was born in Cumberland (now Perry) County, Pa., August 7, 1774. He 
was a lineal descendant of Oliver Cromwell, by Bridget, his eldest 
daughter. The family came West in 1792, and settled in Washington 



EARI.Y MINISTERS. 



417 



County, most probably that part of it now embraced in Beaver County. 
Robert was devoted to the ministry by his parents in his infancy, but in- 
separable obstacles closed the door for a time. He accordingly learned 
the trade of wagon-maker, and wrought at this. Later, under changed 
circumstances, the way was opened up and he entered upon prep- 
aratory studies. His teachers were Rev. John Watson, Rev. John 
McMillan and his own pastor. Rev. George M. Scott. He was licensed 
by Presbytery of Ohio April 22, 1802. After riding as a licentiate for one 
year, chiefly in Ohio and Kentucky, when that remarkable ministration of 
God's Spirit which has become historic was in progress, he returned to 
Pennsylvania and settled in the bounds of the Presbytery of Erie, being 
ordained by that Presbytery October 19, 1803, and installed pastor of the 
churches of Scrubgrass and Bear Greek, Here a great revival followed 
his ministry, resulting in the accession to his churches of more than a hun- 
dred souls. In 181 1 he took charge of Sugar Creek and Conneaut Lake in 
same Presbytery. Following this he was pastor of Rehoboth and Round 
Hill in Redstone Presbytery from 1818 to 1832, and of Bethel Church in 
Blairsville Presbytery for ten years ensuing, making altogether an active 
pastorate of nearly forty years. During the last few years of his life he 
was much disabled by infirmity and obliged to walk with crutches; never- 
theless, his old age was cheerful and bright with anticipations of heaven. 
His death occurred at Newcastle, Pa., May 20, 1861, in the eighty-seventh 
year of his age and sixtieth of his ministry. As a preacher he was able 
and impressive. His voice was loud and he spoke with positiveness and 
directness. He was a man whose habitual demeanor not only, but his 
strongly marked and rugged cast of countenance, betokened not untruly 
his more salient features of character, which were strength, fortitude, in- 
tolerance of wrong and unbending fidelity to duty. For forty-six years he 
was never absent from a meeting of Synod; was its Moderator in 1820. 
{Vide "Memorial Sermon," by Rev. E. P. Swift, D.D., 1861.) 

In his early manhood Mr. Johnston was married to Eleanor, daughter of 
Alex. Wright, Esq., ruling elder at Raccoon and afterward of a church in 
Presbytery of Erie (vide " Life of Macurdy," p. 32). Their oldest son was- 
Rev. J. Watson Johnston, of Presbytery of Beaver. A daughter was the 
wife of Rev. Loyal Young, D.D. Rev. J. Watson Young, of Ohio, and. 
Rev. S. Hall Young, of Alaska, are grandsons. Rev. James Wright, for 
many years pastor at Poland, O., was Mrs. Johnston's brother. Mr. John- 
ston had a brother Edward, who died on the day on which he was to be 
ordained and installed as a pastor by Presbytery of Hartford. 

Rev. Alexander Cook, son of Thomas and Isabella (Ogilvie) Cook, was 
born near Glasgow, Scotland, February 4, 1760. He learned the trade of 
a silversmith, and as early as 1796 was engaged in this employment at 
Canonsburg, Pa. While residing here he served several years as secretary 
of the Board of Trustees of Canonsburg Academy, and also of Jefferson 
College at its organization. During this period his mind was turned toward 
27 



4i8 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



the ministry, and after some years spent in academical and theological 
training he was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, September 30, 1802. 
Having taken his dismission to the Presbytery of Erie, he was ordained by 
the same June 22, 1803, and installed first pastor of the churches of Slip- 
pery Rock and Newcastle. This relation was dissolved in 1810, after 
which he performed missionary labor in the States of South Carolina and 
Georgia, and then preached as stated supply at Poland, O. ; was pastor of 
Bethany Church, in Presbytery of Ohio, 181 5-20 ; Ebenezer and Bear Creek, 
in Presbytery of Allegheny, 1821-27. While supplying the churches of 
Annapolis and Bloomfield, in Presbytery of Steubenville, his earthly labors 
ceased. He was called away very suddenly, being found dead in his bed, 
at the house of one whose hospitality he was enjoying for the night. His 
death occurred November 30, 1828, in the sixty-ninth year of his age and 
thirty-seventh of his ministry. 

In person Mr. Cook was of rather low stature, compactly built, dark com- 
plexion, dark-brown eyes and grave aspect. He had, at the same time, not 
a little Scotch humor, and was an agreeable companion. He was twice 
married; the first time to Miss Alizannah Adams, of Abington, Md., Jan. 
2d, 1787. His second wife was a Miss Clark, of Beaver County, Pa. 

Rev. Jacob Lindsley, D.D. (Lindley), a son of Demas Lindsley, one of 
the first bench of Elders in Ten Mile Church, was born June 13th, 1774; 
was a pupil in Mr. Dodd's school at Ten Mile when about ten years old. 
He afterwards attended Canonsburg Academy, and was one of the found- 
ers of the Franklin Literary Society in 1797. He graduated at Princeton 
College in 1800; was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, Oct. 19th, 1802; or- 
dained by the same Nov. 9th, 1803, and installed pastor at Waterford, O. 
This relation was dissolved June 29th, 1808, "that he might take charge of 
the Academy at Athens.'' Of this institution he was principal until 1822. 
It was the germ out of which grew Ohio University, and he was largely in- 
strumental in securing the charter and the erection of the college build- 
ings. When the college faculty was constituted, in 1822, with Rev. James 
Irwin as President, Mr. Lindsley was included in it, serving as Prof, of 
Moral Science, etc., 1822-24, and as Prof, of Mathematics, 1824-26. Dur- 
ing most of this period he was a member of the Presbytery of Lancaster, 
of which he was an original member at its erection, in 1808 ; was a mem- 
ber of the Presbytery of Athens from its erection, in 1822, until 1828, when 
he was received into the Presbytery of Cincinnati, by which he was dis- 
missed Oct. 5th, 1829, to join the Presbytery of Washington. While in the 
Presbytery of Cincinnati he served for one year as co-pastor of the First 
Church of Walnut Hills. Previously, while teaching in the college and 
academy, he had preached as supply to vacant churches, and was mainly 
instrumental in founding the Presbyterian Church of Athens. After his 
reception by Presbytery of Washington, Dec. 8th, 1829, he was for a short 
time Stated Supply of the Church of Upper Ten Mile until, having been led 



EARLY MINISTERS. 419 

to connect himself with the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, his name 
was dropped from the roll, June loth, 1832. 

In 1846 Prof. Lindsley published at Uniontown, Pa., a volume styled, 
" Infant Philosophy,'' being an analysis of the infant mind, with directions 
for mental and moral training — a little work containing much valuable and 
well-expressed truth. In 1853 the degreee of Doctor of Divinity was con- 
ferred upon him by Ohio University. 

Mr. Lindsley was married, in 1800, to Miss Hannah Dickey, of Washing- 
ton County, Pa. One son — their eldest child — was Rev. Daniel Lindsley 
D.D., who went to South Africa as a missionary, under the American Board, 
in 1834, and for thirty-five years labored among the Zulus. (See " Library of 
Universal Knowledge," Vol. IX. p. 53.) Two daughters were married to min^ 
isters in the Cumberland Presbyterian Church — Rev. Robert Donnell and 
Rev. Leroy Woods. A granddaughter is the wife of Rev. C. W. Smith, 
D.D., editor of the Pittsburgh Christiatt Advocate of the Methodist Episco- 
pal Church. 

Dr. Lindsley died Jan. 29th, 1857, at the residence of his son, Dr. Lutel- 
lus Lindsley, Connellsville, Pa., in the eighty-third year of his age and the 
fifty-fifth of his ministry. 

Rev. Nicholas Pittenger, son of Henry and Maria (Wycoff) Pitten- 
ger, was born in New Jersey, June i8th, 1766. The family came to the 
West in 1791, and settled in the Virginia Panhandle, within the bounds of 
the Flats Church — now Fairview — in which Henry Pittenger was one of the 
first bench of elders. Nicholas Pittenger was married and had a family of 
two or three children before he commenced his studies, which were pur- 
sued partly at Canonsburg and partly with his pastor, Rev. George M, 
Scott; was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 20th, 1803, and the 
year following was dismissed to the Presbytery of Erie. By this Presby- 
tery he was, on the 24th of Oct., 1804, ordained and installed pastor of the 
churches of Westfield and Poland, O. When the Presbytery of Hartford 
(Beaver) was erected, in 1808, he was included in that. In iSiohe took his 
dismission to Washington Presbytery, Synod of Kentucky, and preached 
to the churches of Rocky Spring, Nazareth, New Market and Pisgah, in 
Southern Ohio. In 182 1 removed to the State of Indiana and engaged in 
missionary labors for a few years, and then returned to Rocky Spring, 
where he died April i6th, 1831, in the sixty-fifth year of his age and the 
twenty-eighth of his ministry. 

Mr. Pittenger was twice married. His second wife was a Mrs. Apple- 
gate, ttee Taylor, of Rocky Spring, O. 

Rev. William McMillan, D.D., was a nephew of Rev. John McMillan, 
D.D. He received his preparatory education at Canonsburg Academy ; 
was an original member of the Philo Literary Society in 1797 ; graduated 
at Jefferson College in its first class — that of 1802 ; was licensed by Presby- 
tery of Ohio, June 27th, 1804, and by the same Presbytery was, on the 



420 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



26th of June, 1806, ordained and installed pastor of the churches of Two 
Ridges and Yellow Creek (Richmond), O. He was released from the lat" 
ter in i8io^ and from Two Ridges in 1812. In 1817 he succeeded Dr. An- 
drew Wylie as President of Jefferson College, which position he resigned 
in 1822. During this incumbency was Stated Supply of Miller's Run 
Church. He was dismissed April 21, 1824, to Presbytery of Steubenville, 
and received by same Oct. 6th, same year. From this time until his death, 
in April, 1832, he was Stated Supply of the church of Morristown, O. He 
was also, during this period, President of Franklin College, New Athens, ; 
was Moderator of Synod of Pittsburgh in 1830. He preached a discourse 
in 1820 on " The Necessity of Contending for the Faith once Delivered to 
the Saints,'' which was published by J. Grayson, Washington, Pa. It indi- 
cates vigor of intellect as well as soundness in Christian doctrine, and its 
style, though not ambitious, is perspicuous and forcible. 

Rev. John Rea, D.D. (Rhea), was born in Tully, Ireland, in 1772., He 
was the son of Joseph and Isabel Rea. He came to the United States at 
the age of 18, and was first known in the West as struggling under adverse 
circumstances to gain an education. He made his home for a time in the 
house of James Dinsmore, a ruling elder at Upper Buffalo, by whom he 
was encouraged and assisted. He was one of five who composed the 
first class graduated from Jefferson College — the class of 1802 ; studied 
theology with Dr. McMillan, and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, June 
27, 1804. On the 22d of August, 1805, was ordained by the same, and 
installed pastor of the churches of Crab Apple and Beech Springs, in what " 
is now Belmont and Harrison Counties, Ohio. In April, 1810, was released 
from Crab Apple, and thenceforth gave all his time to Beech Springs, of 
which he was the efficient and successful pastor for forty-five years. He 
died February 12, 185,5, ^^ ^^^ 83d year of his age, and the 52d of his 
ministry. 

Dr. Rea was, in an eminent sense, a pioneer minister. His early labors 
were largely evangelistic. Several churches now exist on the territory once 
wholly occupied by him. It may safely be said that no man exerted a 
greater influence than did he in forming the religious character of the 
early inhabitants of a large section of Eastern Ohio. 

Rev. Matthevt Brown, D.D., LL.D. {Vide sketches by Drs. Brown- 
son and Cunningham.) 

Rev. Johnston Eaton, son of John Eaton, was born in Franklin County, 
Pa., February 7, 1776. He pursued his literary studies chiefly in the East, 
but entered Jefferson College as a Senior, and graduated in its first class — 
that of 1802; studied theology under Dr. McMillan, and was licensed by 
Presbytery of Ohio, August 22, 1805; was dismissed August 20, 1806, to 
Presbytery of Erie, by which he was ordained June 30, 1808, and installed 
pastor of Fairview and Springfield churches on the south shore of Lake 
Erie. He was released from Springfield in 1814; after which, part of his 



EARLY MINISTERS. 421 

time was given for several years to Erie and North-East — his relation to 
Fairview continuing uninterrupted up to his death, which was on the 
17th of June, 1847, in the 72d year of his age, and the 43d of his ministry. 
In person he was below the ordinary stature, and also slender in form, with 
mild blue eyes, slightly aquiline nose, and thin brown hair. The recorded 
testimony of his Presbytery is, that "as a preacher he was clear, logical, 
instructive and evangelical, and eminently sound in the faith." 

Mr. Eaton was married, September 30, 1807, to Eliza Canon, of Fayette 
County, Pa., a niece of Col. Canon, of Canonsburg. One of their sons is 
Rev, S.J. M. Eaton, D.D., pastor from 1838 to 1881 of the Church of 
Franklin, Pa., and author of "The History of the Presbytery of Erie," with 
several other works, chiefly historical. 

Rev. John Wright was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., February 
17. '^lll- He was a son of John Wright, Esq., who was one of the first 
bench of elders in Rehoboth Church, and was a leading man of his day in 
civil affairs. The son was prepared for college at Canonsburg Academy, 
of which his father was a trustee ; graduated at Dickinson in 1798. Studied 
theology with his relatives. Rev. James Power, D.D. and Rev. David Smith, 
at that time pastor of Rehoboth Church. In 1806, owing to the death of a 
brother who had undertaken to build a vessel at Louisville, Ky., for the 
foreign carrying trade, he was put under the necessity of assuming charge 
of this undertaking, and conducting the vessel with its cargo across the 
Atlantic. It is said that on this occasion he accepted an invitation to speak 
in the pulpit of Rev. John Newton, in Liverpool, and that the inhabitants 
of that city, hearing that a preacher had come from the wilds of America, 
flocked to the place to hear one whose appearance and speech were ex- 
pected to minister to the gratification of their curiosity. After the success- 
ful completion of his undertaking, and his return home, he was licensed by 
the Presbytery of Redstone, October 21, 1802. In 1804 he obtained leave 
of Presbytery to itinerate four months, during which he made an extensive 
tour through several of the Southern States, and returning through Ohio, 
became acquainted with a little band of Presbyterians who had settled on 
the Hock-Hocking, in what was then an almost unbroken wilderness. The 
year following he accepted a call from these to become their pastor, and 
taking his dismission to the Presbytery of Ohio, was ordained by the same, 
June 19, 1806, and installed over the churches of Hock-Hocking (Lancas- 
ter) and Rush Creek. In October, 1808, was dismissed, with four others, 
to constitute the Presbytery of Lancaster. His pastorate at Lancaster con- 
tinued thirty years, when, on account of broken health, he was compelled 
to ask for a release. The relation was accordingly dissolved, April 7, 1836, 
and he was dismissed to the Presbytery of Logansport. On the occasion 
of his quitting Lancaster in 1837, a large company of his former parish- 
ioners and others, to the number of several hundred, accompanied him a 
considerable distance on his way, and then bade him an affectionate 
farewell. 



422 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



In personal appearance, Mr. Wright was of tall and commanding stature 
and benign countenance. In his advanced years a defect in his left eye 
first became noticeable, though its sight had long before been lost as the 
result of an accident, which happened to him when a student at Canons- 
burg Academy. In his early manhood he was of vigorous constitution, 
fitting him to endure hardships. These, numerous and severe as they were 
at that day, were cheerfully borne in every pathway of duty. In an emi- 
nent sense, he was a pioneer minister, building on no other man's founda- 
tion. Conjointly with Dr. Hoge and others, who followed a few years later, 
he laid the foundations of the Presbyterian Church in Central Ohio. He 
was instrumental in organizing over twenty churches in Ohio and several 
in Northern Indiana, most of them at commanding points and now among 
the strongest in thoie parts. 

He preached the gospel plainly and forcibly, and his weight of character 
gave him a large reach of influence. He was frequently called to act as 
moderator of presbyteries and synods. In a veritable sense, he was an 
apostle of Presbyterianism in the places where he labored, and is so desig- 
nated in the local histories. It was while on a visit to his son, Rev. Edward 
"Wright, D.D., at Delphi, Ind., that the veteran entered into rest. He died 
August 31, 1854, in his seventy-eighth year and the fifty-second of his min- 
istry. His remains were interred at Logansport, Ind. 

Mr. Wright was married, in 1808, to Miss Jane Weakly, of Cumberland 
County, Pa. Two sons, Hon. John W. Wright, of Washington, D. C, and 
Williamson Wright, Esq., of Logansport, are living. Rev. Edward Wright> 
D.D., who died in 1866, left two sons in the ministry — Rev. Williamson 
Wright, of Texas, and Rev. John Elliott Wright, D.D., of German- 
town, Pa. 

Rev. Reid Bracken, son of Thomas and Anne (Shannon) Bracken, was 
born in York County, Pa., in 1778. The same year the family removed to 
Washington County, Pa., within the bounds of Chartiers Church, of which 
the father became an elder, and he was also a Trustee of Canonsburg 
Academy. 

Reid Bracken was a member of the first class graduated from Jefferson 
College — that of 1802. He was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, October 
17, 1805, and ordained by the Presbytery of Erie, April 20, 1808, and 
installed pastor of the churches of Mount Nebo and Plain, now Butler and 
Allegheny Counties, Pa. From the latter he was released in 1819, giving 
part of his time thereafter to Middlesex and then to Portersville, but all the 
while giving half his time to Mount Nebo, of which he continued pastor 
thirty-seven years. He died July 29, 1849, ^^ ^^^ seventy-second year and 
the forty-fourth of his ministry. He was a man of stalwart frame, and not 
averse to " laboring with his own hands." He stood high as a sound and 
earnest preacher of the gospel. 

Mr, Bracken was married, May i , 1 806, to Mary, daughter of Rev. William 
Graham, a distinguished minister of the Valley of \'u-ginia. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 423 

Rev. Andrew McDonald, son of John and Martha (Noble) McDonald, 
was born May 10, 1779, in the Robinson's Run settlement, in what is now 
Washington County, Pa. The family were among the founders of Raccoon 
Church. He graduated at Jefferson College in 1803; studied theology with 
Dr. McMillan ; was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, October 17, 1805; 
ordained by the same August 22, 1810, and installed pastor of the church 
of White Oak Flats, now Mount Carmel. Afterwards was included in his 
charge Sewicklyville, and at a later date Flaherty's Run. For twelve years 
he cultivated this extensive field with great labor and hardship. From 1822 
to the end of his life he was debarred from active ministerial work by ten- 
dencies to mental disturbance. His death took place April 9, 1846, in his 
sixty-seventh year. 

Mr. McDonald was married, April 3, 18 10, to Katharine, daughter of John 
Riddle, Esq., a ruling elder in Raccoon Church. Two of their sons were, 
in 1840, ordained ruling elders in Mount Carmel Church, of which church 
Mr. McDonald's twin-brother, William McDonald, had been a ruling elder 
from its organization. Rev. H. Reed McDonald, of Sistersville, W. Va., is 
a grandson. 

Rev. Cyrus Riggs, son of Joseph and Hannah (Cook) Riggs, was born 
in Morris County, N. J., Oct. 15, 1774. Toward the close of the century 
the family removed to Western Pennsylvania, locating in the Ten Mile 
settlement in Washington County. Soon after this the son, Cyrus, began 
his studies at the Canonsburg Academy, which however he was compelled, 
to relinquish because of lack of means. Accordingly, having married, he 
removed to Mercer County and settled down to the life of a farmer. Sub- 
sequently, through encouragement extended to him by Dr. McMillan and 
others, he was led to resume his studies, and graduated at Jefferson College 
in its second class — that of 1803. Having completed his theological studies 
under Dr. McMillan, he was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 17, 1805. 
On the 2 1 St of Oct., 1807, the Presbytery of Erie, to which he had taken his 
dismission, ordained and installed him pastor of the churches of Fairfield 
and Mill Creek, in Mercer and Venango Counties, Pa. Resigning this 
charge in 1812, he was pastor of Scrub Grass and West Unity from 1814 to 
1834, meanwhile becoming a member of the Presbytery of Allegheny at its 
erection in 1821. In 1835 he removed to Illinois and preached at various 
points, chiefly at Elkhorn, where he died, Feb. 14, 1849, in the seventy- 
fifth year of his age and the forty-fourth of his ministry. 

The lady to whom Mr. Riggs had become united in marriage in early 
life was Mary, daughter of Edward Ross, of Washington County. The 
date of their marriage was July 25, 1797. They had eight children, one of 
whom was the late Rev. C. C. Riggs, D.D., of Beaver Presbytery. The 
eldest daughter, Hannah Riggs, was long a missionary to the Indians, 
laboring among the Ottawas on the Maumee. 

Rev. James Robinson, son of Robert and Rebecca (Wallace) Robinson, 



424 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

was born in York County, Pa., in 1769; was resident in Washington County 
as early as 1794; was married to Elizabeth Wilson, who with their only 
child, a babe, was killed by the falling of a tree one Sabbath morr ing 
when on their way to the Upper Buffalo Church. It is said that this dis- 
tressing bereavement was instrumental in leading him to consecrate his 
life to the Christian ministry. He pursued his studies at Canonsburg Acad- 
emy, and was a member of the Philo Literary Society in 1798 ; was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 17, 1805. Meanwhile he had been 
married to Mary Welsh. In June, 1806, received a call to church of 
Crooked Creek, and on June 3, 1807, was ordained and installed pastor of 
the same by Presbytery of Ohio. In June, 1808, received a call to Pick- 
away Plains and Mt. Pleasant, Ross County, O. ; was one of the original 
members of the Presbytery of Lancaster, and preached the opening ser- 
mon at its organization. Text Heb. 10: 19-20. Removed to Darby, in 
Union County, in 1820, and was pastor of Upper and Lower Liberty 
Churches until 1828. Preached at Tiffin until 18^4, Hopewell and Orange- 
dale until 1838, Olivesburg until 1845, ^rid on the 22d of April, 1847, at the 
house of his son, John W. Robinson, in Union County, O., he rested from 
his labors in the seventy-eighth year of his age and the forty-second of his 
ministry. 

The testimonies to the personal worth of Mr. Robinson, and his fidelity 
as a minister, are most full and explicit. His second wife, Mary Welsh, 
died in 1809, and a few years thereafter he was married to Mary Scott, of 
Washington County, Pa. One of his sons and the husbands of his three 
daughters held the the office of ruling elder. Four of his grandsons are 
elders. A grandson, the Rev. Horace S. Snodgrass, of the Presbyterian 
Church, preaches at Monterey, Cal. Another grandson, Rev. James Hus- 
ton, is a missionary in Brazil, under the Presbyterian Board. Of his nu- 
merous descendants, there are scarcely any who are not faithful adherents 
and professors in the church of their fathers. 

Father Robinson's remains lie interred side by side with those of his last 
wife in Mitchell Graveyard, on Big Darby, Union County, O. 

Rev. S.A.MUEL Woods, son of Samuel and Elizabeth Woods, of Cum- 
berland County, Pa., was born Jan. 1 5, 1799, and was a younger brother of 
Rev. Wm. Woods, Sr. (§'. 2/.). He graduated at Dickinson College 1802. 
Began his study of theology east of the mountains, and, completing it in 
the West, was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 17, 1805. In Oct., 
1807, calls were presented from Tygart's Valley, Va., and from Liberty, 
O., the latter of which he accepted, and was dismissed in Dec. following to 
the Presbytery of Washington (Chillicothe), by which he was received 
April, 1808. On the 14th of June following was ordained and installed 
pastor of Liberty Church. This relation continued until his death, which 
occurred at his home in Delaware — now Union — County, O., April 27th, 
1815, in the thirty-seventh year of his age, and the ninth of his ministry. 
His last sermon was preached on the i6th of April, and two days afterward 



EARLY MINISTERS. 425 

he was taken with pleurisy, which proved fatal. His funeral was attended 
by Rev. James Hughes, who in the year preceding had removed from the 
Panhandle of Virginia to Urbanna, O. 

Mr. Woods was married, January 21. 1806, to Margaret, daughter of John 
Power, ruling elder of Rehoboth Church, in Westmoreland County, Pa. 
She was a granddaughter of Rev. James Finley, and a niece of Rev. Dr. 
James Power. Of the children born to them the only one surviving is 
James Finley Woods, Esq., of Greensburg, Pa. Their only daughter, Eliza, 
became the wife of Rev. Benjamin Dolbear, who at a later date was pastor 
of Liberty Church. 

Rev. Abraham Scott, son of Josiah and Violet (Foster) Scott, was born 
June 19, 1765, in York, Pa. The family settled in 1773, in what is now 
Washington County. The father was an original member of Chartiers 
Church, and one of the first bench of elders. Abraham Scott was married 
June 18, 1793, to Rebecca, daughter of Hon. John McDowell. Several 
years after this he began his studies in Canonsburg Academy, and was 
graduated at Jefferson College in 1804. Studied theology with Dr. Mc- 
Millan, and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio June 25, 1806; was or- 
dained sine titulo by same Presbytery July 12, 1808. When the Presbytery 
of Steubenville was erected, in 18 19, he was one of the members constitu- 
ting it. From 1824 to 1829 he belonged to Presbytery of Lancaster. In 
1829 he returned to Presbytery of Steubenville. At a later date his name 
appears on the roll of the Presbytery of St. Clairsville. As far as known, 
he did not at any time assume a pastoral charge, but continued preaching 
as he had opportunity. He died March 19, 1841, in his seventy-sixth year. 
His wife survived until 1855. There were born to them twelve children; 
and their descendants are numerous in Eastern Ohio and elsewhere. To 
a very large extent they adhere to the faith of their fathers. Not a few of 
them have been men of position and influence in civil life. 

Rev. Clement Vallandigham was a son of Colonel George Vallan- 
digham, one of the earliest settlers in the West. His name appears in 
1774 as one of the justices of the Court of Augusta County, under com- 
mission of his majesty, George 111., and in the year following as one of a 
committee assembled at Pittsburgh to draft resolutions favoring resistance to 
British oppression. Colonel Vallandigham was also a conspicuous official 
in the early history of Washington County after the Virginia domination 
ceased. When Allegheny County was erected, in 1788, his place, which was 
near where Noblestown now is, fell v/ithin the limits of the new county. 
Here the son was born, March 7, 1778. He was graduated at Jefferson 
College in 1804; studied theology under Dr. McMillan; was licensed by 
Presbytery of Ohio, June 25, 1806; by the same Presbytery was ordained, 
June 24, 1807, and installed pastor of the united congregations of New 
Lisbon and Long's Run (O). The year following was annexed by Synod 
to the new Presbytery of Hartford (Beaver) ; was released from Long's ' 



426 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Run January 14, 1817. He continued pastor at New Lisbon until his death, 
which occurred October 21, 1839, ^" ^^^ sixty-second year of his age, and 
the thirty-fourth of his ministry. In personal appearance Mr. Vallandigham 
was of medium height, well built but not corpulent; his hair was dark 
brown, inclined to curl ; he had blue eyes and Roman nose — a strong, 
clear voice, and his manner of delivery was animated and earnest. He 
very seldom wrote his sermons in full, but used short notes or a skeleton 
and was a ready extemporaneous speaker. 

Mr. Vallandigham was married, May 14, 1807, to Miss Rebecca Laird, a 
member of Raccoon Church, Washington County, Pa. Of four sons who 
survived the father, all entered the learned professions. The oldest, who 
alone survives, is Rev. James L. Vallandigham, D.D., of Newark, Del., and 
pastor of Head of Christiana Church since 1854. George L. was a licentiate 
of Presbytery of New Lisbon, and afterwards a minister in the Protestant 
Episcopal Church. John L. was a lawyer and died early. Clement L. was 
also a lawyer, and prominent in State and National politics. 

Four brothers of Mrs. Vallandigham were graduates of Washington 
College — John Laird, who was a lawyer, and Rev. Messrs. James, Robert 
and Francis Laird. 

Rev. Jonathan Lesley graduated at Jefferson College 1806, licensed 
by Presbytery of Ohio June 3, 1807; ordained, shie tiiiilo, by the same, 
July 12, 1808; dismissed to Presbytery of Hartford, April 21, i8og; was 
pastor at Harpersfield until 1821 ; in 181 5 was detached, together with his 
charge, and annexed to Presbytery of Grand River; was engaged in mis- 
sionary labor many years ; died in 1840. 

Rev. Moses Allen was born September 5, 1780, in Westmoreland 
County, then including all of Southwestern Pennsylvania. His mother's 
name was Coe ; was educated at Canonsburg Academy ; studied theology 
with Dr. McMillan ; was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, June 24, 1807, and 
by the same Presbytery was ordained, December 2, 1807, and installed 
pastor of the churches of New Providence and Jefferson, in Greene County, 
Pa. This relation was dissolved October 16, 1816, and on the 27th of May, 
1817, he was installed pastor of church of Raccoon, in Washington County, 
where he continued until 1836. In 1839 was installed pastor of the church 
of Crab-apple, O., where he remained until his death. This took place 
January 16, 1846, in the sixty-sixth year of his age, and thirty-ninth of his 
ministry. The description which has been handed down of Mr. Allen's 
personal appearance in his later manhood is, that he was tall and heavy- 
shouldered, frame fully six feet high. He had a long, thin face, large nose, 
and gray hair combed straight down over his thin temples ; his cast of 
countenance grave and rather austere. His dress was the then fashionable 
spike-tailed coat, stove-pipe hat and regulation white neckerchief. He 
carried an ivory-headed cane, and his general mien was dignified and 
impressive. His preaching was very methodical and systematic, sometimes 



EARLY MINISTERS. 427 

very earnest also. He was abundant in labors. During his twenty-two 
years' pastorate at Raccoon, he preached two thousand six hundred and 
eighty-five sermons, and administered the Lord's Supper seventy-five times ; 
admitted to communion three hundred and twenty-seven ; baptized five 
hundred and fifty-seven infants, and solemnized one hundred and ninety- 
five marriages. Mr. Allen was married, June, 1805, to Catharine, youngest 
daughter of Rev. Dr. John McMillan. Their family was a large one, and 
their descendants are, to a large extent, members of the Presbyterian 
Church. 

Rev. James Scott, son of Josiah and Violet (Foster) Scott, was born in 
York County, Pa., February 22, 1772; was a younger brother of Rev. 
Abraham Scott (g'.i'.); graduated at Jefferson College, 1805; studied 
theology with Dr. McMillan ; licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, October 20, 
1807; ordained by same, August 23, 1808, and installed pastor of the 
churches of Clinton (Mt. Vernon), Frederick and Ebenezer, in State of 
Ohio; was one of the five members set off in 1808 to constitute the Pres- 
bytery of Lancaster ; was an original member of the Presbytery of Rich- 
land at its erection in 18 17. His pastoral relation to the churches of 
Frederick and Ebenezer was continued about twenty years, and to the 
Church of Mt. Vernon somewhat longer. After he had ceased to be a 
settled pastor he continued to reside at Mt. Vernon, preaching in the sur- 
rounding country and supplying vacant churches until a few weeks before 
his death, which took place at his residence in Mt. Vernon September 18, 
1850, in the seventy-ninth year of his age and the forty-third of his min- 
istry. 

Mr. Scott was married, July 10, 1810, to Jane, daughter of Captain Archi- 
bald Wilson, of Newark, O. 

According to the testimony of Rev. Henry Hervey, D.D., who knew 
him intimately, he was a man of great personal worth. Though he had 
above the common gifts, he was exceedingly modest and unassuming. 
His remembrance of Scripture texts was remarkable. He did not have 
great gifts of oratory, but his preaching was always edifying and impres- 
sive. He was an eminently devout man. For sixty years of his life, not 
a day was passed without secret prayer. 

Rev. James Cunningham was born in Eastern Pennsylvania Aug. 16, 
1772. He had been married and his wife (Elizabeth Hays) had died 
before he began to study for the ministry. His home was in the bounds 
of L^pper Buffalo Church, He graduated at Jefferson College 1805 ; was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio June 30, 1808. Dismissed to Presby- 
tery of Lancaster April ig, 1809, and ordained by same Nov. 10, 1809, and 
installed pastor of the churches of Salem and Fearing (Ohio) ; was set 
off to the Presbytery of Richland at its erection in 1817. After his resig- 
nation of the foregoing pastoral charge, he preached at Maryann, Utica, 
West Carlisle and other churches in those parts. In several instances, a 



428 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



special blessing followed his labors. He died at his home in Martinsburg, 
O, Sep., 1857, in the 85th year of his age and the 50th of his ministry. 
Like his fellow-laborers in Central Ohio, John Wright, James Scott, Wm. 
Jones and others, he won the veteran's crown of honor, Mr. Cunning- 
ham was thrice married. His last wife was Rebecca, daughter of Robert 
Stockton, ruling elder in the Church of Washington, Pa. 

Rev. Thomas Hunt, son of Jonathan and Christiana Hunt, was born 
near Princeton, N. J., Aug 12, 1769. The family came to Washington Co., 
Pa., in 1788. In May, 1797, Thomas received a certificate of dismission 
from Ten Mile Church to unite with Three Springs, he having removed to 
Holiday's Cove. When the churches of Cross Roads and Three Springs 
in 1799 made out a call for Mr. Elisha Macurdy, Mr. Hunt, " a young 
man'' was one of the commissioners to prosecute it before Presbytery. 
( Vide " Life of Macurdy.) At the time Mr. Macurdy preached his great 
"war sermon" at Upper Buffalo, Mr. Hunt was present and led the sing- 
ing. He graduated at Jefferson College in 1806; was licensed by Pres- 
bytery of Ohio June 30, 1808, and on the 27th of Dec, 1809, was ordained 
and installed pastor of the 2d Church of Pittsburgh by Presbytery of Red- 
stone. In this relation he continued eight and a half years, during the last 
two of which he served as Stated Clerk of Presbytery. After relmquishing 
his charge in Redstone Presbytery, he returned to Presbytery of Ohio, and 
May 20, 1819, was installed pastor of the churches of Two Ridges and 
Richmond, in Eastern Ohio. From the latter of these he was released in 
1826. He died at Two Ridges, Jefferson Co., O., January 14, 1850, in the 
8ist year of his age and the 42d of his ministry. 

Mr. Hunt was married, March 10, 1791, to Rhoda Pool, by whom he 
had 10 children. Seven of these were born previous to his licensure. 
Mrs. Hunt died Jan, 3, 1815, and was interred in the burying-ground of 
the 2d Presbyterian Church of Pittsburgh. A second wife was the widow of 
Rev. David Smith — a daughter of Rev. Dr. James Power. She died March 
14, 1839. '^he year following he married Elizabeth Colmery, of Washing- 
ton Co., Pa., who survived him but a short time. The only one of Mr. 
Hunt's children now living, is Thomas Hunt, of Toronto, O., a ruling 
elder, and over 80 years of age. Rev. W. B. Carr, of Latrobe, Pa., is a 
grandson. 

Rev. Wm. Jones was born of Welsh parents Dec. 25, 1774, in Mary- 
land. His father fell in battle at Stony Point, and his mother died soon 
afterwards. Thus orphaned in childhood, he was taken into the family of 
Rev. John Clark, who cared for him with fatherly affection. He was 
brought to the West by Mr. Clark on his removal thither to take charge of 
Bethel and Lebanon Churches, and in early manhood was married to 
Elizabeth, daughter of George Gilston, of Western Pennsylvania. At Mr. 
Clark's death he inherited by bequest, among other things, part or all of his 
library. He is believed to have been made an elder at Bethel early in Mr. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 429 

Wood's pastorate. His studies for the ministry were pursued chiefly at 
Canonsburg. He taught in Pittsburgh in 1804, and afterward moved back 
to Canonsburg ; was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 20, 1808, and in 
Oct., 1809, was dismissed to Presbytery of Lancaster, and was ordained by 
the same Dec. 26, 1809, and installed first pastor of the churches of Zanes- 
ville and Springfield (now a ward in the city of Zanesville). In 1812 this 
relation was dissolved and he accepted a call to the churches of Circle- 
ville and Walnut Plains. In his long ministry Mr. Jones preached either 
as pastor or stated supply at Truro, Adelpha, Tarlton, Amanda, Mt. Car- 
mel, South Bloomfield and other points in Central and Southern Ohio. 
At the time of his death, and for many years previously, he was a member 
of the Presbytery of Columbus. His last engagements, when he was far 
up in 80, were at Waynesburg and Caroline, in Northern Ohio. He died 
at Attica, O., Dec. 11, 1866, in the g2d year of his age and the 59th of his 
ministry. He died as he had lived — in favor with God and man — a labo- 
rious worker, a faithful and acceptable preacher. He had trained himself 
to considerable skill in sacred music and was fond of teaching it to his 
young people, and was revered and loved by them accordingly. 

Mr. Jones was twice married. His second , wife was Martha Keys, of 
Hillsboro', O. By his first wife nine, and by his last wife eleven children 
were born to him. Six of his sons became physicians. One son was a 
minister. Rev. Wm. Jones, Jr., late of the Presbytery of Bellefontaine. 

Rev. Joseph Stevenson. ( Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. George Vaneman, son of George and Rebecca (Scott) Vaneman, 
was born April 23, 1786, in Washington County, Pa., within the bounds of 
Pigeon Creek Church. He made profession of his faith while a student of 
Jefferson College, from which institution he graduated in 1806. He was 
licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio, December 22, 1808 ; and the year fol- 
lowing was dismissed to the Presbytery of Lancaster, by which he was 
ordained, December 22, 1809, and installed pastor of the church of Newark, 
Ohio. This relation was dissolved in 1813. His subsequent pastorates 
were Mansfield, Ohio, 1816-20; New Providence and Jefferson, Greene 
County, Pa., 1821-35; Findlay, Ohio, 1835-41. After resigning at Findlay, 
he preached as stated supply at Blanchard, McComb, West Union and 
other churches. He died at McComb, Hancock County, Ohio, March 12, 
1877, in the ninety-first year of his age and sixty-ninth of his ministry ; and 
was buried in the Findlay cemetery. 

Mr. Vaneman had honor as a pioneer minister. He was the first pastor 
of three now important churches — Newark, Mansfield and Findlay. His 
ministry was interrupted, for a short time, by a tendency to mental disturb- 
ance ; but in his old age he continued to bring forth fruit, and his last end 
was peace. 

He was married, September 3, 18 10, to Miss Maria Cooper, of Knox 
County, Ohio. Of their six children three are yet living. One son — J. C. 



430 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



Vaneman — is a ruling elder of West Union Church, Ohio. Three nephews 
are Presbyterian ministers — Rev. T. B. Vaneman, of Canonsburg, and 
Rev. Messrs. George and Craig R. Vaneman, of Texas. 

Rev. John Matthews, son of James and Prudence (Gordon) Matthews, 
was born in Franklin County, Pa., February 7, 1778. Early in the present 
century he was resident in Beaver County, Pa., and was a parishioner and 
pupil of Rev. George M. Scott, pastor of Mill Creek Church. He had a 
brother (William Matthews) who was employed by the Presbytery of Ohio 
to accompany Mr. Scott on a missionary tour to the Indians, and who after- 
ward became a minister, and was pastor of the church of Neshannock, in 
Hartford Presbytery. 

John Matthews graduated at Jefferson College in 1807. He was licensed 
by the Presbytery of Ohio, June 22, 1809; ordained by the Presbytery of 
Erie, October 17, 18 10; and installed pastor of the churches of Waterford 
and Gravel Run. In 1817 he removed to Missouri, and was one of three 
pioneer ministers who established the Presbyterian Church in that State. 
For many years he endured hardness as a good soldier of Jesus Christ, 
laboring to found and build up churches, chiefly in Missouri and Illinois. 

He preached the opening sermon of the first Presbytery formed west of 
the Mississippi River — the Presbytery of Missouri, formed in 1818; also 
of Centre and Kaskaskia Presbyteries in Illinois, and of the Synod of Illi- 
nois in 1831. His long and faithful service gave him a position of especial 
honor and filial affection among contemporaries, by whom he was usually 
spoken of as Father Matthews. He died at Georgetown, 111., May 12, 1861, 
in the eighty-fourth year of his age and the fifty-second of his ministry. 

Mr. Matthews was married, in early life, to Nancy, daughter of Thomas 
Bracken, a ruling elder of Chartiers Church, Washington County, Pa. A 
second wife was Anna Smith, of Missouri. He had no children. 

Rev. Joseph S. Hughes, born May 7, 1789, was a son of Rev. James 
Hughes, first pastor of Short Creek and Lower Buffalo churches. His 
mother was Mary, daughter of Rev. Joseph Smith, first pastor of the 
churches of Cross Creek and Upper Buffalo, from whom the grandson 
received his name. He graduated at Jefferson College in 1808; was 
licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, October 18, 1809; and the year following 
was dismissed to the Presbytery of Lancaster, by which he was ordained, 
November 11, 1810, and installed pastor of the churches of Delaware and 
Berkshire, in Ohio. The latter he relinquished within a couple of years. 
During the War of 1812 the church was so depleted by calls for troops that, 
at the joint request of pastor and people. Presbytery granted him leave to 
labor for a time at Detroit or elsewhere. At a subsequent period he served 
as Recorder for Delaware County. His pastoral relation continued until 
his death, which occurred at Delaware, September 24, 1823, in the thirty- 
fifth year of his age and the fourteenth of his ministry. 

Mr. Hughes was twice married. The first wife was Miss Lucy Byxbee, 



EARLY MINISTERS. 43 1 

of Delaware, Ohio, who died five years afterward, leaving no children. On 
the second of April, 1818, he was married to Miss Eliza Reynolds, a native 
of Dublin, Ireland. A son — Rev. Joseph E. Hughes, of Belle Point, 
Ohio — has been a minister for twenty-eight years in the United Brethren 
Church. 

Rev. Andrew K. Russell, son of Andrew and Isabella (Kerr) Russell, was 
born in 1780, near Warrior's Run, in Northumberland Co., Pa. Graduated 
at Dickinson College in 1806, and shortly afterward engaged in teaching the 
languages in Washington College, Pa., then under the Presidency of Rev, 
Matthew Brown. During this time he also studied theology, and April 19, 
1810, was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio. A year later he was dis- 
missed to the Presbytery of Newcastle, by which he was ordained April 7, 
1812, and installed pastor of the churches of White Clay Creek and Head 
of Christiana. During all his twenty-seven years' pastorate of these 
churches he was principal of the Academy at Newark, where he resided. 
His school was well patronized, and many of its pupils became men of 
distinction in the learned professions and in other walks of life. In addi- 
tion to his regular ministrations in the country churches, he frequently 
preached in Newark, and was mainly instrumental in establishing the First 
Presbyterian Church in that place. His preaching was earnest and attrac- 
tive, and he excelled in pastoral work. He was tall and erect in person, 
while his genial disposition, his polished and instructive conversation, his 
Christian courtesy and liberal hospitality made his home a favorite resort 
and the centre of an intelligent and refined circle. Having sustained for 
more than a quarter of a century the two-fold relation of pastor and teacher, 
he died Feb. 6, 1839, in the fifty-ninth year of his age and the twenty- 
ninth of his ministry. 

Mr. Russell was first married to Katharine, daughter of Col. Wm. 
Whitely, of Caroline County, Md. His second wife was Ann, daughter of 
Arthur Whitely, of Dorchester County, Md. A daughter, who is yet living, 
became the wife of Rev. Hugh Hamill, D.D., lately deceased. 

Rev. Ezekiel Glasgow resided in the pastoral charge of Rev. Elisha 
Macurdy. He was licensed by the Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 17, 1810. In 
1812 he received a call to the churches of Sparta and Danville, Ontario 
County, N. Y., and in 1813 a call to the churches of Beavertown and New 
Salem in Presbytery of Hartford (Beaver). This latter he accepted, and 
on the 31st of May, 18 13, was ordained and installed pastor of these 
churches. His labors, however, were soon ended, as he died April 23, 
1814. He was a man of many excellent qualities and his early death was 
much lamented. 

Rev. Michael Law was a native of Ireland. His early history is not 
known. Families of this name resided, toward the close of the last cen- 
tury, in the western part of Washington County, Pa. He graduated at 



432 



APPENDIX NO. 2. 



Washington College in 1808, and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 
17, 1 810; was ordained by the same Jan. 15, 181 2, and installed pastor of the 
church of Montours. This relation was dissolved by his death, Oct. 9, 
1821, near Uniontown, Richland County, O., while engaged, in company 
with Rev. E. P. Swift, in making a missionary tour among the destitute 
settlements in Western Ohio. In 1846 his remains were disinterred and 
placed beside those of his wife, in the grave-yard of Bethany Church, Alle- 
gheny County, Pa. His wife, whom he had married about the beginning 
of his ministerial life, was Mrs. Martha Cochran, a daughter of William 
Ferguson, ruling elder in church of Pigeon Creek. Such of their descend- 
ants as survive are of exemplary character, and, without exception, ad- 
here to the ancestral faith. 

Rev. Thomas B. Clark was born Jan. 28, 1779, in the State of Mary- 
land. Havmg pursued his studies under direction of the Rev. Thomas E. 
Hughes, at Greersburg Academy, he was licensed Aug. 30, 1809, by Pres- 
bytery of Hartford (Beaver). In April, 181 1, he was received as a licen- 
tiate into the Presbytery of Ohio, and on the 20th of June, 181 1, was or- 
dained by the same and installed pastor of the church of Crabapple (O.), 
preaching one-fourth his time at Nottingham mission station. This rela- 
tion was dissolved Oct. 21, 1818. From 1821 to 1831 he was pastor of the 
churches at Leatherwood (Washington), Senecaville and Little Buffalo, 
then in Presbytery of SteubenviUe. In 1832 removed to Logan County, O., 
where he supplied vacant churches for several years, and also organized 
new churches. He died a member of the Presbytery of Sydney, Jan. 13, 
1853, in the seventy-fifth year of his age and the forty-seventh of his 
ministry. 

Mr. Clark was married three times : Jan. i, 1807, to Miss Nancy Sample ; 
April 2, 1817, to Miss Martha Wiley; Sept. 10, 1832, to Miss Frances 
Stilwell. 

Rev. Ira Condit, son of Jabez Condit, was born near Morristown, 
N. J., March 6, 1772. Two of his brothers — David and Jonas — were early 
settlers at Ten Mile, Washington County, Pa., and the latter a ruling elder 
in Ten Mile Church. On a farm belonging to one of these Ira lived part of 
the time while studying for the ministry. After graduating at Jefferson 
College, in 1808, he read theology with Rev. George M. Scott and Dr. Mc- 
Millan, and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio Oct. 17, 181 1; was or- 
dained by Presbytery of Erie Nov. 8, 1814, and installed pastor of Fairfield 
and Big Sugar Creek Churches. Other churches which he served at vari- 
ous times were Upper Sandy (now Georgetown), Amity and Cool Spring. 
At the time of his death he was pastor ot Fairfield, Georgetown and Cool 
Spring. He died of fever Oct. 24, 1836, in the sixty-fifth year of his age 
ind the twenty-sixth of his ministry. A son, Samuel, who was studying 
for the ministry, died the same day, and they were buried in one grave. 

Mr. Condit was married before he began studying for the ministry. His 



EARLY MINISTERS. 433 

wife was Mary Miller, of Ten Mile, Washington County, Pa. Rev. Ira M. 
Condit, of California, and formerly missionary in China, is their grandson. 
Rev. Philip Condit, deceased, was a nephew. Rev. J. G. Condit, of Iowa, 
is of the same connection. The Condit family was established in America 
in 1678 by John Condit. It has produced a large Dumber of ministers and 
ruling elders. Some of each class have been distinguished men. The 
founder of the family provided in his last will and testament for Bibles to 
be given to all the several members of his family. 

Rev. William Johnston was born in Washington County, Pa., March 
7, 1783. His parents were William and Eliza (Laughlin) Johnston, who 
had emigrated from Antrim County, Ireland. The father was a soldier in 
the War of the Revolution. The son, a child of the covenant, was con- 
verted in the great revival at the close of the century. His education was 
gained with great difficulty through lack of means. At one time he 
hired at $S per month to pull the oar on a flat-boat, conveying pro- 
duce to New Orleans. At another time he went with a surveying 
party into the Ohio Wilderness. Graduated at Jefferson College in 1810. 
He studied theology with Dr. McMillan ; was licensed by Presbytery of 
Ohio, April 21, 1812; ordained by Presbytery of Redstone, October 20, 
1813, and installed pastor of Dunlap's Creek and Brownsville Churches. 
This relation continued until October, 1839. He died at his home in Fay- 
ette County, Pa., December 31, 1841, in the 59th year of his age, and the 
30th of his ministry; was buried at Dunlap's Creek. 

Mr. Johnston was of tall and dignified appearance ; he was fearless for 
the truth, and at the same time of benignant disposition and ardent attach- 
ments. 

He was married, September, 1814, to Martha, daughter of Thomas Gal- 
laher, of Dunlap's Creek, a sister of the wife of Rev. James Guthrie. 
James G. Johnston, Esq., of Washington. D. C, is a son. 

Rev. James Hervey, D.D. {Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. Andrew Wylie,D.D. ( Vide sketches by Drs. Brownson and Cun- 
ningham ; vide' also sketch of Dr. William Wylie.) 

Rev. John Reed was born in Adams County, Pa., in 1782. He was the 
oldest of three brothers who became ministers in the Presbyterian Church. 
The names of the others were Samuel and William. Their father's name 
was William. He was a justice of the peace and a man of sincere piety. 
He removed with his family in 1797 to Washington County, Pa., within the 
bounds of Upper Buffalo Church. John Reed graduated at Jefferson Col- 
lege, in 1810; was tutor in the College, and studied theology with Dr. Mc- 
Millan; was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, October 20, 1813; he went 
on a missionary tour to the State of Ohio ; was Professor of Languages in 
Washington College for several years. He was ordained by Presbytery of 
Redstone, October 21, 18 18, and installed pastor of the churches of Indiana 
and Gilgal, in Indiana County, Pa. He was an original member of the 
28 



434 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Presbytery of Blairsville at its erection by Synod in 1830. In 1838 he was 
released from charge of Gilgal ; thenceforth devoting all his time to the 
church of Indiana, which, under his care, grew to be strong and influen- 
tial. For many years also he was Principal and Teacher of Languages in 
Indiana Academy. He died at his home in Indiana, September 27, 1840, 
in the 59th year of his age, and the 27th of his ministry. 

Mr. Reed was of medium height and corpulent habit. He had thin, dark 
hair, with some baldness. His face was round and full, and his eye be* 
tokened kindness. A sense of humor also lurked in its merry twinkle. 
He was a very sincere man, also very humble. These were salient features 
in his character. His preaching was evangelical and instructive, but not 
enlivened by any of the arts of oratory. It was largely expository. He 
was greatly respected and loved. The Court of Quarter Sessions of the 
county adjourned its sessions to attend his funeral. 

Mr. Reed was married May 5, 1818, to Isabella, daughter of William 
Ferguson, of Washington County, Pa., a ruling elder in the church of 
Pigeon Creek. His wife and five children survived him. His oldest 
daughter is the wife of Rev. J. P. Lloyd, of Fort Wayne, Ind. 

Rev. James Smith graduated at Jefferson College, 1808; was licensed 
by Presbytery of Ohio, June 29, 1814; dismissed, October 19, 1814, to 
Presbytery of Lancaster; by which he was ordained, August 23, 18 15, and 
installed pastor of the churches of Seneca and Leatherwood (Washington). 
Here he labored until his death, which occurred April 19, 1819. 

Rev. James Wright, son of Alexander and Esther (Silcox) Wright, 
was born January i, 1785, in Washington County, Pa., in the bounds of 
Raccoon Church. The father was a ruling elder in this church, and was 
also a Justice of the Peace, and member of the State Legislature. The son 
graduated at Jefferson College, in 1811 ; was licensed by the Presbytery of 
Ohio, October 20, 1814; ordained by the Presbytery of Hartford, June 26, 
1816, and installed pastor of churches of Westfield, Pa., and Poland, Ohio ; 
was released from Poland in 1832, and from Westfield in 1842 ; died near 
Mount Jackson, Pa., March 30, 1843, in the fifty-ninth year of his age and 
the twenty-ninth of his ministry ; was buried in Westfield grave-yard. 

Mr. Wright was a laborious pastor, serving as he did for many years two 
churches ten miles apart. As a preacher, he was earnest and faithful, fol- 
lowing the custom of that time in dividing his sermons systematically, and 
drawing inferences and making applications. He was one of the first to 
espouse the cause of temperance reform ; was a judicious presbyter, and in 
1828 was made Moderator of the Synod of Pittsburgh. 

Mr. Wright was married three times, as follows : To Mary, daughter of 
John Riddle, Esq., ruling elder in Raccoon Church, September 3, 1812 ; to 
Mary Kidd, June 7, 1821. His third wife was Mrs. Ann W. Woods, widow 
of Rev. William Woods, second pastor of the churches of Bethel and Leb- 
anon, in the Presbytery of Ohio. 



EARLY MINISTERS. 435 

MiCAiAH Fairfield. Licensed Jan. 4, 181 5, by Presbytery of Ohio ; 
license withdrawn June 19, 1816, on account of his having adopted Unita- 
rian sentiments. 

Rev. Thomas Hoge. ( F/^^ sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. Obadiah Jennnings D.D. ( Vide sketch by Dr. Brownson.) 

Rev. Lyman Potter was received from Muskingum Association Jan. 
7, 1817. At this time he had reached his three score and ten, and thence- 
forth assumed no pastoral charge. " He was wont to take his horse and 
traverse the whole region of country and preach from neighborhood to 
neighborhood." " He was a man of great wisdom and evangelistic 
spirit.'' By appointment of Synod he preached the opening sermon at the 
organization of the Presbytery of Steubenville Oct. 27, 1819. He departed 
this life May 17, 1827, in the 80th year of his age. 

Rev. Archibald Hanna, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Duncan) 
Hanna, was born Feb. 12, 1790, in Washington Co., Pa., within the bounds 
of Upper Buffalo Church, of which his parents were members. In 1802 the 
family removed to Ohio, and were among the early members of Crabapple 
Church. After preparatory studies with Rev. John Rea and Rev. Wm. 
McMillan, Archibald entered Jefferson College and was graduated in 181 5, 
having meanwhile been received in 181 1 into the church of Chartiers on 
profession of faith. He studied theology and Hebrew under Rev. John 
Rea and Rev. John Walker, and was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio 
April 22,' 1818; was ordained by Presbytery of Richland in May, 1820, 
and installed pastor of the churches of Mt. Eaton, Pigeon Run and Fred- 
ericksburg, Wayne Co., O. ; was released from Pigeon Run in 1824, and 
from Mt. Eaton in 1831; continued to be pastor at Fredericksburg until 
1838. His last charge was Dalton, in same county, which he resigned in 
1857. His whole term of service in Wayne Co. was not much short of 40 
years. In this time he received into church membership 557 persons, of 
whom 352 were on profession. His early ministry in Ohio was one of 
extreme hardship and self-denial. It was the time of log cabins for both 
dwellings and churches. A meagre salary, paid mostly in farm products, 
and such wedding fees as a reel, or churn, or a wheelbarrow, or some 
hickory brooms, constituted the income of his office. But as the years 
rolled on, his means of living were suitably increased, and to these were 
added the esteem and affection which are but rarely withheld from faithful 
service. Father Hanna, as he was reverently called, beside being a kind 
and affable Christian gentleman, was a good preacher, a model pastor and 
a wise and skillful presbyter. He was twice chosen Moderator of the 
Synod of Ohio. In Wayne Co., where he lived nearly 60 years, his name 
became a household word. He died at Dalton, O., June 9, 1875, in the 
86th year of his age and the 58th of his ministry. 

Mr, Hanna was married in 1816, to Mary, daughter of Wm. and Mary 



436 APPENDIX NO. 2. 

Ramage, who had been born in Washington Co. Pa., but was taken with 
her parents to Belmont Co., O. Twelve children were born to them, of 
whom nine were sons. The youngest of them died in the army, a pious 
boy. Three of the sons, Samuel, Joseph A. and James W., became Presby- 
terian ministers. One daughter became the wife of Rev. David Colmery. 
The remaining five sons and the husbands of the other two daughters, be- 
came ruling elders, so that in all the eleven households, the husband and 
father was either a minister or elder in the Presbyterian Church. So re- 
markable a fact is an eloquent tribute to the piety of the parents. It was, 
in fulfillment of God's Covenant promises, the gracious result of faithful 
parental training, including Sabbath observance, Bible and catechetical in- 
struction, family and secret prayer and an exemplary life. The mother 
was an exceptionally devout woman. One of the sons, who is a minister, 
recalls her taking him in his early childhood to a secret place, and having 
him kneel down with her, while, with her hands upon his head, she dedica- 
ted him to God, and with fervent prayer besought God to make him a min- 
ister of the Gospel. 

Orbin p. Hays, Licentiate. Received Aug. 26, 1818, from Hampden 
Association. Catera desunt. 

Rev. Jacob Cozad was born in New Jersey about the year 1780. His 
residence, after coming West, was in the Ten Mile neighborhood, in Wash- 
ington County, Pa. He was married in 1806 to Miss Rosana Brownlee, of 
the same county, and shortly afterward settled at Cleveland, O., on what 
is now known as Euclid Avenue. When the War of 1812 broke out, this 
locality became unsafe because of its exposure to Indian hostilities, and 
Mr. Cozad returned with his family to Washington County. The trip back 
was made on horseback, the parents each taking two children with them 
on the horse. Resuming studies, which had been suspended for a time, 
Mr. Cozad graduated at Washington College in 1813. Having studied the- 
ology under Dr. McMillan, he was licensed by Presbytery of Ohio, January 
15, 1819; was ordained by Presbytery of Washington, January 5, 1820, 
and installed pastor of Lower Buffalo Church. In 1823 was installed pastor 
of Centre Church (O.) for part of his time. In 1827 was dismissed to 
Presbytery of Steubenville, having received a call to the churches of Feed 
Spring, New Hagerstown and Big Spring in that Presbytery. ... In 1839 
he removed to Warren County, Ind., and became a member of the Pres- 
bytery of Crawfordsville, where he labored in various churches until his 
death, in March, 1850, aged about seventy years. 

A son of Mr. Cozad became a minister in the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
and labored therein until his death. 

A daughter, Elizabeth, became the wife of Colonel Joseph Scott, ruling 
elder in the church of Lower Buffalo, Presbytery of Washington. 



INDEX I. 



437 



INDEX I 



CHURCHES. 



Allen Grove 67, 73 

Sketch of 363 

Bethlehem 88, 238 

Sketch of 339 

Burgettstown 64, 244 

Sketch of 359 

Cameron 73 

Sketch of 373 

Claysville 42, 233 

Sketch of 318 

Cove 8, 241 

Sketch of 349 

Cross Creek 7, 10, 207 

Sketch of 260 

Cross Roads 8, 12, 218 

Sketch of 292 

East Buffalo 8, 42, 232 

Sketch of 315 

Fairview 12, 42, 226 

Sketch of 302 

Frankfort 239 

Sketch of 341 

Forks of Wheeling . . . 8, 9, 143, 215 

Sketch of 283 

Hookstown 68, 247 

Sketch of 365 

Limestone 85 

Sketch of 374 

Lower Buffalo 8,9,218 

Sketch of 285 

Lower Ten Mile 7, 42, 206 

Sketch of 258 

Mill Creek ........ 8, 12,224 

Sketch of 297 

Moundsville 54, 73 

Sketch of 344 

Mount Olivet 90 

Sketch of 376 



Mount Pleasant 100 

Sketch of ... 375 

Mount Prospect 139, 234 

Sketch of 322 

New Cumberland 98, 246 

Sketch of 362 

Pigeon Creek 6, 7, 201 

Sketch of 249 

Three Springs S, lo, 222 

Sketch of 296 

Unity . • 17, 42, 231 

Sketch of 313 

Upper Buffalo 7, lo, 210 

Sketch of 273 

Upper Ten Mile 7, 42, 207 

Sketch of • ... 254 

Washington, First . . . 17, 21, 42,227 

Sketch of 306 

Washington, Second 70, 54 

Sketch of 367 

Waynesburg 42, 1 60, 240 

Sketch of 347 

Wellsburg 8, 42, 139, 240 

Sketch of 345 

West Alexander 8, 9, 214 

Sketch of 277 

West Liberty 8, 9, 216 

Sketch of 289 

West Union 128,238 

Sketch of 334 

WTieeling, First 42, 128,236 

Sketch of 326 

Wheeling, Second 144, 241 

Sketch of 351 

Wheeling, Third .... 144, 157,. 244 

Sketch of 355 

Wolf Run 42, 73 

Sketch of ^^2 



438 



INDEX II. 



INDKX II 



RULING EIvDERS. 



For additional ttaines, see Sketches of Churches, pp. 249-377. 



y^IKENJohn 117 

Allison, Hon, James 18 

Allison, Joseph W., sketch of . . . 226 

Anderson, George 17 

Sketch of 221 

Anderson, Matthew 16 

Sketch of 216 

Atkinson, John H 1 16 

T3AIRD, George 115 

Sketch of 228 

Baird, Hon. John 16, 31 

Baker, J. Gamble 237 

Berryhill, W. M., sketch of . . . . 243 
Bingham, William L., sketch of. . 247 

Blatchley, Dr. S. L 115,257 

Black, John A 207 

Bonar, Bamet 117 

Bone, Alex 116,237,238 

Braddock, Francis, Sen 17 

Sketch of . 231 

Braddock, Francis, Jr 1 14 

Braddock, James H 116 

Braden, Samuel 1 16 

Brice, James 16 

Brown, John W 1 16 

PAMPBELL, Charles, sketch of, 234 

Campbell, Geo. W 116 

Campbell, James 115,241 

Campbell, W. M 116, 325 

Clark, H. H., Esq 116, 368 

Coleman, Nathaniel 16, 1 8 

Condit, Jonas, Esq 15, 18 

Sketch of ........ . 206 

Cool, Wm. Joy 116,368 



Cotton, Hugh 15 

Sketch of 202 

Cowan, John 234 

Craig, A. K 115,321 

Craig, Hugh, Esq., sketch of . , . 233 
Craig, Hon. Walter 1 14 

Sketch of 210 

Craighead, Col. George 18 

Crangle, Robert II5 

Sketch of 242 

Cranmer, Hon. G. I^ 1 16 

Crawford, John C, sketch of , . . 24I 

Cross, Jonathan 239 

Crow, Berridge L 1 17 

Culbertson, David 222 

Cunningham, Wm 1 1 5 

Sketch of 245 

Cuthbert, Sterling C 1 14 

"T^ALZELL, James, sketch of . . 243 

Dill, Matthew 115 

Dille, Lewis 118 

Sketch of 207 

Dinsmore, James, Sen 16, 18 

Sketch of 211 

Dinsmore, James, Jr 1 1 5, 271 

Dinsmore, John 16 

Sketch of 213 

Dinsmore, Moses 17 

Sketch of 231 

Dodd, Thaddeus, M.D., sketch of, 206 
Donahey, Joseph, Sen., . . 17, 41, 117 
Donahey, Jos., Jr., sketch of, . 232, 233 
Donahey, Samuel, sketch of . . .212 
Donahey, William 1 16 

Sketch of 213 



INDEX 11. 



439 



Donaldson, Andrew, sketch of . . 236 

Donahoo, James, Esq 273 

Duncan, John, Sen 17, 34, 118 

Sketch of 221 

Duncan, John, Jr 115 

J7AGLES0N, And. S., Esq. . . 116 
Edgar, Judge James, 16, iS, 27, 34, 
37, 270. 

Sketch of 207 

Edie, Alex. H., sketch of ... . 247 

Edie, John 17 

Elder, Thos 115 

Elliott, John 114 

Ely, Martin 1 18 

Sketch of 232 

Emery, Boyd, M.D 1 18 

Ewing, James 1 6 

Ewing, William 115 

pARIS, Adam 16, 117 

Sketch of 215 

Faris, John 16,117 

Sketch of ....... . 215 

Faris, Wm 16 

Sketch of 216 

Farrar, Hon. John, sketch of . . . 245 
Ferguson, Wm 15 

Sketch of 202 

Fitzhugh, E. H 115 

Flanegin, A. Mc 117 

Flaniken, Hon. John 1 8 

Fleming, Daniel G 238 

Francis, Emanuel 334 

Fulton, Samuel 17 

Sketch of 220 

r" AULT, David 272 

Giles, Henry 117 

Glass, Matthew 114, 226 

Graham, Henry, Esq 16, 18 

Sketch of 208 

Graham, Joseph 271 

Gunn, Alex 238 

■LJADDEN, Alex., sketch of . . 243 
Hanna, Thos., Esq 116 



Hawkins, Charles 118 

Sketch of 229 

Hays, Enoch, sketch of 224 

Henderson, Joseph, Esq 115 

Sketch of 230 

Herron, Andrew, sketch of . . . .213 

Hervey, A. Faris 116 

Hervey, John C 1 16 

Hill, Andrew 244 

Hill, James F 324 

Hughes, James, Esq., sketch of . . 235 

Hughes, Wm., Esq 16 

Sketch of 211, 234 

JRWIN, Thos. S., Esq 116 

Sketch of 234 

JACKSON, Joseph 17 

■^ Jackson, Phihp 16,36 

Sketch of 218 

Jacobs, A. Ridgely 116 

Jacobs, Zachariah . . . 1 15, 118, 237 

Jamieson, James 1 15 

Johnston, Russell 272 

T/^ERR, Hon. Aaron . . . . 15, 117 

Sketch of 204 

Kerr, David, Sen 16 

Sketch of 224 

Kerr, David, Jr 116 

Sketch of 247 

Kerr, James 15, 18, 117 

Sketch of 203 

Kerr, James . 221 

Kirker, W. C, M.D., sketch of . . 240 

J^AIRD, Thos. R 116 

Laughlin, John 237 

Laughlin, Robert 15 

Lee, George 16, 117 

Sketch of 214 

Lee, Hugh 117 

Sketch of 209 

Lee, Gen. James 115,119 

Sketch of 235 

Lee, William, Sen. . . . . 17, 18, 34 

Sketch of 222 



440 



INDEX II. 



Lee, William, Jr 116,272 

Lindsley, Demas 15, iS 

Sketch of 205 

Lockhart, S. D 1 16 

Lyle, J. R 325 

Lyle, Robert I5> "7 

Sketch of 209 

]y[CQLAIN, Samuel 115 

McClane, M.Wilson . .116 
McClelland, Hugh, sketch of . . . 233 
McCombs, William 15 

Sketch of 227 

McConahey, George 233 

McConaughey, Hugh 118 

Sketch of 234 

McConnell, John 222 

McConnell, R. A 116 

McCracken, John 238 

McCready, Joseph 16, 118 

Sketch of 225 

McCready, Robert, Esq. . . . 16, 118 

Sketch of 208 

McCullough, Alex 16, 118 

Sketch of 224 

McCullough, George 16 

Sketch of 224 

McCullough, Patrick, Esq. ... 15, 18 

Sketch of 202 

McDonald, John 1 15 

Sketch of 214 

McDowell, Hon. John 31 

McFarland, Hon. Abel . . . . 15, 18 
McFarland, James, sketch of . . . 2o5 

McFarland, John 207 

McFarland, William, Esq. . . . 15, iS 

Sketch of 205 

McFarren, James, Esq 114 

Sketch of 221 

McGugin, A. V 325 

Mcllvaine, Greer 115 

McKean, Thomas 1 1 5 

McKee, Redick 114, 118 

Sketch of 236 

McKennan, Thomas, M.D. . . .115 

McKinley, James 226 

McKinley, Wm., Esq., 16, 18, 34, 1 17 



Sketch of 217 

McLain, John 321 

McLain, Hon. J. R 116 

McLain, William 118 

Sketch of 233 

McMillan, John 17 

McPherrin, John 16,32 

Sketch of 214 

McWilliams, John 16, 1 17 

Sketch of 211 

Maxwell, Samuel 117 

Sketch of 223 

Mercer, William 115, 222 

Messenger, Prof. J. C 1 16 

Miller, J. H 326 

Moody, James 1 14, 119 

Sketch of 225 

Moore, John, sketch of 245 

Moore, Russell 114, 119 

Sketch of 239 

Moore, Samuel, sketch of ... . 240 

■[\TEWELL, George . . . .118, 209 

Newell, Hugh 16 

Sketch of 209 

Niccoll, William Ming 115 

QLDHAM, Samuel 118 

Orr, George G 116, 241 

Orr, James 17, 118 

Sketch of 228 

Orr, John 17, 1 18 

Sketch of 222 

Orr, S. N 115, 241 

Orr, Thomas, Esq. . . .114, 1 18, 222 

Sketch of ......... 241 

Ott, Samuel 115 

Sketch of 241, 244 

pATTERSON, James L., Esq. .116 
Patterson, Robert, Esq., 1 14, 118 

Sketch of 244 

Paull, Hon. James 116 

Sketch of 237 

Pittenger, Henry, sketch of . . . . 226 

Pittenger, John 17, 1 18, 226 

Potter, John, sketch of 238 



INDEX II. 



441 



Proudfit, James, Esq 17, 117 

Sketch of 220 

Proudfit,* John L., Esq., sketch of, 246 
Pry, D. M 116 

QUARRIER, Wm. B., sketch of, 242 

"D AMBO, William, sketch of . . 239 
Rankin, James 324 

Sketch of 235 

Rankin, James 115, 250, 369 

Rankin, John L 360 

Rea, William, Esq. . .16, 18, 34, 117 

Sketch of 209 

Reed, Andrew 272 

Reed, John 1 1 6 

Reed, Parker 115 

Sketch of 213 

Reed, Hon. R. R 115 

Sketch of 228 

Rickey, Abraham, sketch of. . . .231 

Rickey, Jacob 117 

Riddle, David 1 14 

Riddle, John, Esq 17 

Riheldaffer, William 238 

Robertson, John 237 

C AWHILL, John 234 

Scott, Arthur 16, 117 

Sketch of 218 

Scott, Hugh, Esq 5, 18 

Sketch of 201 

Scott, Joseph 116, 119 

Scott, Josiah 17 

Scott, Patrick 15, 18 

Sketch of 201 

Senseney, Jacob 237 

Sherrard, William 17,227 

Simpson, William 1 18, 234 

Slagle, Hon. Jacob 114, 118 

Sketch of 230 

Smiley, William, Sen., Esq. . . 15, 18 

Sketch of 210 

Smiley, William, Jr 119 

Smith, William, sketch of ... . 204 

* A misstatement occurs on page 246. John 
Proudfit, father of John L., was not an elder, 
but an active member of Cross Roads Church. 



Steele, Thomas, Sen 238 

Steele, Thomas, Jr 238 

Stevenson, John 15 

Sketch of 203 

Stevenson, John, sketch of ... . 240 

Stewart, David 238 

Stockton, Robert 17 

Sketch of 227 

Stockton, Thomas 17, 118 

Sketch of 228 

Sutherland, George 16, 1 18 

Sketch of 214 

Swearingen, Andrew, Esq 18 

Sketch of 227 

"pAGGART, James, sketch of . .213 
Thompson, Thomas . . 114, 118 

Sketch of 244 

Todd, A. S., M.D 243 

Todd, James 1 16 

Travis, John 16 

Sketch of 219 

"YANCE, Joseph, Sen. . . .18,118 

Vance, Joseph, Jr. . . . 115, 271 

Vance,' Samuel 115 

Sketch of 230 

Van Cleve, Obadiah 1 19 

Sketch of 240 

Vy'ALLACE, James 222 

Wallace, William . , .16, 1 18 

Sketch of 212 

Walker, James n6 

Walker, Montgomery 1 16 

Wayt, John 16 

Sketch of 216 

Wherry, Joseph 17, 227 

White, Jacob 1 18 

White, Hon. Robert 117 

White, S. D "6, 273 

Woods, Andrew, sketch of ... . 236 
Wright, Alex., Esq. . . .18, 402, 417 

Wylie, John 17, "8 

Wylie, John, sketch of 246 

YATES, Andrew 118 

Vates, Thomas 16,117 

Sketch of 217 



442 



INDEX III. 



INDKX III 



MINISTERS AND LICENTIATES. 



For additional names see Index, page log. 



^GNEW, J. Holmes, D.D. . 53, 176 

Alexander, A. F 103 

Alexander, A. J 104 

Alexander, James, D.D 73 

Sketch of 151 

Alexander, T. R 99 

Alexander, W. J "Ji 

Sketch of 157 

Allen, Moses 13 

Sketch of 426 

Alrich, W. P., D.D 44, 53 

Sketch of 171 

Anderson, John, D.D. . . 13, 34, 41, 48 

Sketch of 125 

Anderson, Joseph 12 

Sketch of 408 

Anderson, J. P 104 

Anderson, T. A 107 

Anderson, W. C, D.D. . . 44, 52, 142 

Sketch of 147 

Atkinson, John S 87 

Aughey, John H 89 

jgARR, L. W 105 

Barr, Samuel ........ 8 

Sketch of 398 

Bausman, J. H 92 

Beatty, C. C, D.D., LL.D 176 

Bell, William G 282 

Birch, G. W. F., D.D 72 

Black, James, D.D., LL.D 76 

Blackford, A. L., D.D 66 

Sketch of 187 

Blackford, R. A 69 

Blayney, C. P 88 



Blayney, H. G 103 

Blayney, J. McC., D D 76 

Bonar, William 60 

Boyd, Abraham 12 

Sketch of 412 

Bracken, Reid 13 

Sketch of 422 

Braddock, Cyrus G 65 

Braddock, Francis 62 

Brice, John 10, 14, 278 

Sketch of 398 

Brown, A. B., D.D 133 

Brown, Faris 75 

Brown, Matthew, D.D., LL.D. . . 13 

Sketch of 131, 167 

Brown, Richard, D.D 50 

Brown, R. M., D.D 106 

Brownson, James I., D.D., 44, 97, 178 

Brownson, M. A 91 

Bruce, J. C 83 

Brugh, W. I., D.D 79 

Bryan, A. V 91 

Sketch of 192 

Buchanan, A. M 92 

Bunting, R. F., D.D 67, 302 

Byers, Hamilton, D.D 282 

QALDWELL, J. C, D.D 75 

Caldwell, J. P 74 

Calhoun, J. Y 64 

Callen, J. H., D.D 63 

Campbell, D. R., D.D 65 

Sketch of 156 

Campbell, H. N 95 

Carothers, John 55 



INDEX III. 



443 



Clark, James, D.D 65,178 

Clark, John 7, 10, 12, 27, 32 

Sketch of 396 

Clark, Thomas B 14 

Sketch of 432 

Clemens, William 67 

Sketch of 186 

Cloud, John 186 

Condit, Ira 14 

Sketch of 432 

Cook, Alexander 13 

Sketch of 417 

Cooke, W. H., D.D 102 

Coulter, Moses 306 

Cozad, Jacob 45, 49 

Sketch of 131, 436 

Crane, N. M 54 

Cross, Jonathan 81 

Sketch of 157 

Cunningham, D. A., D.D 100 

Cunningham, James 14 

Sketch of 427 

r)AY, A. R 70 

Day, E. W 93 

Deruelle, Daniel 55, 141 

Dickson, Cyrus, D.D 44, 62 

Sketch of 144 

Dinsmore, J. H., D.D 59 

Dinsmore, J. M 65 

Dinsmore, J. W., D.D 75 

Dodd, Cephas, M.D. ... 13, 41, 48 

Sketch of 127 

Dodd, Thaddeus 6,164 

Sketch of 393 

Dodge, R. v., D.D 70 

Sketch of 145 

Donahey, J. A 102 

Donahey, M. L 83 

Donehoo, E. R 73 

Donnell, Samuel 12 

Sketch of 406 

Duncan, J. R. . 67 

Dunlap, James, D.D 7 

Sketch of 396 

■pAGLESON, A. G 85 

Eagleson, John, D.D. . . . 44, 54 



Sketch of 139 

Eagleson, W. S 77 

Eaton, Johnston 13 

Sketch of 420 

Eaton, S. J. M., D.D I45,4I3 

Eaton, W. M 94 

EUiott, David, D.D., LL.D. . . 44, 54 

Sketch of 14' 

Elliott, S. E 88 

Ely, J. C 87 

Ely, R.W 94 

Ewing, William, Ph.D 62 

pARIS,JohnM 57 

Faris, S. C 94 

Faris, W. B 72 

Farrar, R. B 73 

Finley, James 7 

Sketch of 397 

Finley, Robert 8 

Sketch of 402 

Fish, Frank 104 

Fisher, D. W., D.D., 76, 143, 237, 330 

Fisher, George M 94 

Fleming, James 56 

Sketch of 150 

Fleming, J. S I02 

Fraser, George, D.D. ...... 86 

Fredericks, J. T 71 

Sketch of 154 

French, C. P 66 

Fulton, G. W 96 

Fulton, James P 64, 359 

Fulton, J. L., D.D 82 

Fulton, Robert 55 

Fulton, R. PL, D.D 76 

Fulton, R. J 65 

Fulton, Samuel 57, 346 

Fulton, W. R 65 

QARVER, J. C 107 

Gilson, H. 108 

Glassgow, Ezekiel 14 

Sketch of 431 

Glenn, S. M 84 

Gordon, George 61 

Graham, E. S 56 

Sketch of 147 



444 



INDEX III. 



Graham, J. B 80 

Graham, J. P 81 

Sketch of 189 

Graham, Samuel 107 

Grier, Laverty 98 

Grier, S. F 97 

Gwinn, Andrew 12 

Sketch of 411 

J^AIR, S. G 95 

Hamilton, J. W 80 

Hamilton, W. B 95 

Sketch of 193 

Hamilton, W. F., D.D. . . 44, 100, 179 
Hanna, Archibald, sketch of . . . 435 

Hastings, J. M., D.D 60 

Hattery, John, D.D 55 

Hawkins, John 50 

Hays, George P., D.D., LL.D.,84, I79 
Hays, George S 94 

Sketch of 193 

Henderson, S. M 78 

Sketch of 149 

Herron, Robert, D.D 62 

Hervey, David 51 

Sketch of 138 

Hervey, Henry, D.D 51 

Hervey, James, D.D. . . . 14, 41, 49 

Sketch of 128 

Hickman, G. M 92 

Hill, George 9 

Sketch of 403 

Hill, Winfield E loi, 304 

Hoge, Thomas 14, 41, 43, 48 

Sketch of 129 

Hughes, James 9, 10, 34 

.Sketch of 399 

Hughes, Joseph S 14 

Sketch of 430 

Hughes, Smilie 12, 409 

Hughes, Thomas E 12 

Sketch of 408 

Hunt, Thomas 36 

Sketch of 428 

Hunter, R. A 93 

Hunter, S. A 377 

Hunter, W. H 90 



TEFFERY, S. H 65 

-^ Sketch of 159 

Jennings, Jacob . 8 

Sketch of 404 

Jennings, Obadiah, D.D., 14, 17, 18,49 
114. 

Sketch of 133 

Jennings, S. C., D.D. . . 50, 134, 404 
Jones, William 14 

Sketch of 428 

Johnston, Mervin 306 

Johnston, Robert 13 

Sketch of 416 

Johnston, Robert, Jr 306 

Johnston, William 14 

Sketch of . 433 

J^EELING, W. B 71 

Sketch of 156 

Kelly, John 64, 187 

Kerr, John 55 

Knox, John 54 

T AIRD, Francis 426 

Langfit, O. T 91 

Laverty, D. H 70 

Law, Michael 14 

Sketch of 431 

Lee, Robert 12 

SKetch of 413 

Leeper, J. L 93 

Lesley, Jonathan 13 

Sketch of 426 

Lester, W. H., D.D 98 

Lester, W. H., jr., sketch of . . . 192 

Lewis, E. P 86 

Leyda, James E 87 

Lindley, Daniel, D.D 419 

Lindley, Jacob, D.U 13. 51 

Sketch of 418 

Lindley, Stephen 13 

Sketch of 415 

Linn, Alonzo, LL.D 84 

Lowes, A. B 105 

Lowrie, J. C, D.D 401 

Lupton, Jonah, D.D 283 

Lyle, James B 108 



INDEX III. 



445 



Lyle, James P 91 

Lyle, Joseph G 91 

Sketch of 158 

Lyon, N. B 72 

Sketch of 154 

JYJCQARRELL, Alex., D.D., 44, 62 

Sketch of 152 

McCarrell, J. J 85 

McCarrell, T. C 90 

McCarrell, W. A 82 

McCartney, W. D 54 

McCaughey, W. H 89 

McClain, John 12,14 

Sketch of 41 1 

McClintock, John 55, 185 

McCluskey, John, D.D. . . ... 51 

Sketch of 136 

McCombs, William 55- i §5 

McConaughey, David, D.D., LL.D., 53 

Sketch of 168 

McCoy, J. B 56 

McCrea, W. E 83 

McDonald, Andrew 14 

Sketch of 423 

McDonald, George 103 

McFarland, D. F 16, 190 

McFarland, Francis, D.D 295 

McFarland, S. G., D.D 69 

Sketch of 188 

McFarren, Samuel, D.D 50 

McGill, A. T., D.D 406 

McGready, James 9 

Sketch of 400 

McGuffey, W. H., D.D., LL.D. . . 312 
McKennan, J. W., D.D 52 

Sketch of 137 

McMillan, John, D.D. ... 6, 10, 165 

Sketch of 392 

McMillan, WilHam, D.D 13 

Sketch of 419 

Mackey, W. A 88 

Macurdy, Elisha ... 12, 34, 41, 183 

Sketch of 124 

Magill, John F., D.D 73 

Magill, Thomas 53 

Mahafiy, Samuel 283 



Marshall, George, D.D. ... 53, 406 
Marshall, Robert 9 

Sketch of 403 

Marquis, J. S 98 

Marquis, Thomas, 9, i6, 34, 41, 48, 269 

Sketch of 121 

Mason, James D 58 

Matthews, John 14 

Sketch of 430 

Maxwell, James, D.D 224 

Mealy, J. M., D.D 79 

Mercer, Boyd 9, 12, 26 

Sketch of 404 

Miller, D. M 82 

Milligan, J. V 89 

Minton, H. C 91 

Moffat, J. D., D.D 99,146 

Moffat, John 77 

Sketch of 146 

Moody, Samuel 53 

Moore, J. R 66 

Moore, John, D.D 59 

Moore, John 55 

Moore, Thomas 12, 34 

Sketch of 405 

Morton, R. S 68 

Sketch of 155 

Morton, W. W 93 

Murray, Nicholas 61 

Sketch of 169 

Myers, B. F 106 

jS^EWELL, George B 67 

Newell, Thomas M 63 

QLLER, W. E 89 

Oxtoby, J. T.,D.D 77 

pADEN, W. M 93 

Patterson, A. O., D.D. . . 46, 49 
Patterson, Joseph . . 9, 10, 16, 31, 270 

Sketch of 399 

Patterson, Robert 13 

Sketch of 414 

Paull, Alfred 63 

Sketch of 144 

Paxton,J. R., D.D 376 



446 



INDEX III. 



Pickens, J. C loS 

Finney, J. B., D.D 62, 142 

Pittenger, Nicholas 13 

Sketch of 419 

Pollock, G. W 91, 192 

Pomeroy, J. B 89 

Pomeroy, J. S 97 

Porter, R. B 88 

Porter, Samuel, sketch of ... . 402 

Potter, Lyman 435 

Power, James, D.D 5,122 

Sketch of 391 

Price, R. T 81 



QUILLAN, Ezekiel 



67 



58 



J^ALSTON, J. G., D.D. . . . 

Ralston, J. H so 

Ralston, Samuel, D.D 12 

Sketch of 405 

Ramsay, J. S., D.D 71 

Rea, John, D.D 13 

Sketch of 420 

Reed, Alexander, D.D 69 

Reed, J. L 84 

Reed, John I4, 175 

Siietch of 433 

Reed, J. B 75 

Reed, Samuel 50 

Riddle, D. H., D.D 133 

Riddle, M. B., D.D 133 

Riggle, G. W 79 

Riggs, Cyrus 13 

Sketch of 423 

Riheldaffer, J. G., D.U 59 

Robinson, David 59 

Sketch of 153 

Robinson, James 13 

Sketch of 423 

Rockwell, A. O 108 

Roseborough, H. 64 

Russell, Andrew K 14, 176 

Sketch of 431 

CATTERFIELD, James 12 

Sketch of 413 

Sawhill, E. 95 



Scott, Abraham 13 

Sketch of 425 

Scott, George K 69 

Scott, George M . ,12, 34, 41,48, 182 

Sketch of 122 

.Scott, James 13 

Sketch of 427 

Scott, J. W., D.D 52, 124, 177 

Scott, John Work, D.D 63 

Sketch of 172 

Shaiffer, G. W 58 

Sherrard, J. H 90 

Shotwell, Nathan 57 

Slagle, B. W 70 

Sloan, James, D.D. 55 

Sketch of 148 

Smith, David 9 

Sketch of 404 

Smith, James 14 

Sketch of 434 

Smith, James, D.D. . 59 

Smith, James M 56 

Smith, John M 74 

Smith, Joseph 7, 165 

Sketch of 395 

Snodgi-ass, James 12 

Sketch of 409 

Snowden, J. H 105 

Spargrove, G. M 283 

Speer, William, D.D loi 

Spriggs, J. D 106 

Stevenson, J. B 100 

Stevenson, J. M., D.D. . . . 122, 127 
Stevenson, Joseph . . . 14,41,48,278 

Sketch of 126 

Stevenson, J. H 86 

Stevenson, Ross, D.D loi 

Stewart, J. B., D.D 64 

Stockton, John, D.D 44, 50 

Sketch of 135 

Stockton, Joseph 12 

Sketch of 410 

Stockton, J. P. P 71 

Stoneroad, Joel . 60 

Sketch of 151 

Swan, William 9 

Sketch of 403 



INDEX III. 



•447 



Swift, E. P., D.D. 



417,432 



'pAIT, Samuel 12 

Sketch of 412 

Todd, M. L 77 

Todd, O. M 67 

Torrance, Adam 92 

YALLANDIGHAM, Clement, 13, 
14. 

Sketch of 425 

Vance, Joseph, D.D 72 

Van Cleve, W. S 72 

Vaneman, George 14 

Sketch of 429 

■^ALKINSHAW, J. D. . . 87, 347 
Watson, John 12,13 

Sketch of 407 

Waugh, Joseph, Ph.D 71 

Weaver, J. L 106 

Weed, H. R.D.D 54,416 

Sketch of 142 

Welsh, Josiah 223 

White, Robert M 56 

Sketch of 149 

Whitham, J. D 59 

Wick, William 12 

Sketch of 411 

WiUiams, Daniel, M.D 85 

Sketch of 158 



Wilson, G. P., D.D 9° 

Wilson, Jonathan ....... 34' 

Wilson, S. J., D.D., LL.D 68 

Sketch of 173 

Wines, E. C., D.D 68 

Sketch of 172 

Wishart, Marcus 7° 

Woods, Edgar, Ph.D 44, 66 

Woods, Henry, D.D. . . .44, 99, 180 

Woods, Samuel 13 

Sketch of 424 

Woods, WiUiam 12 

Sketch of 406 

Woods, WilUam, Jr 13 

Sketch of 415 

Wotring, F. R 75 

Wright, James 14 

Sketch of 434 

Wright, John 1 3 

Sketch of 421 

Wylie, Andrew, D.D. , 14, 41, 43,48, 
114. 

Sketch of • . 130,167 

Wyhe, J. S 65 

Wylie, William, D.D . . . .12,49 
Sketch of 415 

yOUNG, Loyal, D.D. . . . 103, 417 



44S 



INDEX IV. 



INDE 



IV. 



GENERAL. 



ACADEMIES. 

Buffalo 165 

Canonsburg . . . 29, 31, 122, 127 

Cross Creek 181 

Florence 148 

Frankfort 148 

Greersburg 127 

Linsley Institute 181 

Ten Mile 165 

Washington .... 29, 132, 166 

^Yest Alexander 136 

West Liberty 181 

Addison, Hon. Alexander .... 306 
Amusements, Fashionable disap- 
proved 28 

Appendix No. i 378 

Appendix No. 2 391 

■DAIRD, Dr. Robert, Tribute of 

to Dr. Matthew Brown . . .167 

Baptism, Infant 261,309 

Bequests, To Education, 31, 281 ; to 
Church Boards, 244, 376; to West- 
ern Theological Seminary, 212 ; to 
Bible Society, 212, 244, 415; to 
Tract and Colonization Societies, 
212, 244. 

Board of Tract in 1802 34 

r^ALVINISM Leads to Education, 
^ 163. 

Candidates, Fii/e Index 109 

Carnahan, President, Pioneer Life h<y, 

4, 393- 
Catechism 6, 25, 181 



Cemetery, old 251 

Charlestown 8 

Church Buildings, 251, 259, 264, 275, 
287, 291, 294, 300, 309, 315, 324, 
332,358,361,363, 370, 374. 
Churches, The Early, 5, 9, 10-18, 21, 
42. 

Contributions by 20, 31 

Sketches of 249-377 

Colleges, Jefferson, 31, 131, 133, 144; 
Washington, 126, 129, 138; revi- 
vals in, 172; early trustees, 176; 
Washington and Jefferson, faculty 
of, 180. 
Commissioners to General Assembly, 
18, 114, 389. 

Cunningham, Mrs. D. A 331 

Currycomb 406 

J^EACONS, 250, 256, 305, 313, 331, 

345> 354- 

Deceased Elders 220 

Deceased Ministers 120 

Diary of Rev. Thaddeus Dodd . . 394 
Discipline in early times 25 

■pDUCATION, Zeal for . . . 29, 164 
Presbytery's relation to . . .162 

Bequests to 31, 2S1 

Society 46 

Elizabethtown 344 

II pALLING EXERCISES" . . 301 

Flats Church 302 

Fort Jackson 8 



INDEX IV. 



449 



QENERAL ASSEMBLY, Modera^ 
tors of, 135, 141, 173, 179; Dele- 
gates to, 18, 114, 389. 

Grave Creek 344 

Grave of Watson and Moorhead . . 408 

p^ARRISON, PRESIDENT . . 124 

Holliday's Cove 8 

Horse-racing censured 27 

INDEX to Lists of Ministers, Licen- 
tiates and Candidates. . . 109-II3 
Indian Tribes, Missions to ... . 182 

TONES, Prof. Samuel 174 

•^ Justices of the Peace i8 

J^ING'S CREEK 292 

J^AST WILL AND TESTAMENT 
of Rev. Joseph Smith, .... 396 

Rev. John Clark 397 

William Wallace 212 

Lemoyne, Dr. F. J 176 

Licensures, Early 379, 382 

Licentiates, First in the West, 9, 379, 
382 ; Vide Index, 109. 

Lindley's Fort 205 

Lowrie, Hon. Walter 401 

TV/TANSES, 251, 256, 265, 276, 291, 

295, 324, 348. 
Ministers, The Pioneer, 5-21 ; trained 
on the field, 9 ; list of, 109 ; de- 
ceased, 120. 

Ministry, Desire to Enter 169 

Missionaries, Female. 

Alexander, Mrs. Gertrude (Faris), 

193- 

Campbell, Mrs. Maria I. (Bing- 
ham), 247. 

Carothers, Mrs. Julia (Dodge), 
190. 

Condit, Mrs. Samantha (Knox), 

351- 

Comes, Mrs. Eliza (Dare) . . 190 
Culbertson, Mrs. Belle (Caldwell), 

191. 

Dennis, Miss Theresa . . . . 1S6 



Ewing, Mrs. Jennie (Shcrrard), 
191. 

Hamilton, Mrs. Clara (Linton), 
194, 3"- 

Hays, Mrs. Fannie (Corbett) . 193 
Johnston, Mrs. Rachel (Kerr), 189 
Leaman, Mrs. Lucinda (Crouch), 
191. 

Lee, Mi.ss Flora 187 

Lester, Mrs. Sarah M. (Anderson), 
192, 321. 

McFarland, Mrs. Jane (Hays), 188 
McGiffen, Miss Julia N . . .186 
McKean, Miss Mary .... 1S7 
Mechlin, Mrs. Ellen F. (Mcll- 
vaine), 193. 

Pollock, Mrs. Mary (Ewing) . 192 
Speer, Mrs. Ehzabeth (Ewing), 
188. 

Toilzeau, Mrs. Lillie (White), 193 
Wilson, Mrs. Kate (McClure), 341 

Missionary History and Missionaries, 
182, 54, 63, 64, 183, 194, 247, 254, 
306, 311, 351, 372,377. 

Missionary .Societies, Presbyterial, 195, 
197. 

Missionary Teachers. 

Hannah Riggs 423 

Polly Pogue 267 

Mary Vance ........ 267 

Mary Garrett 311 

Florence Bausman 311 

Anna Ralston 197 

Anna McKean 197 

Catharine Fingal 254 

Kate G. Patterson 321 

Missionary Zeal in Early Times, 32, 
124, 125, 399. 

Mt. Nebo Church 129 

Music 257, 279, 332, 394 

]\JARRATIVE ON STATE OF RE- 
ligion, how prepared, 45. 

QRDINATION.S, Early . , 379,383 
( )rthodoxy of Pioneer Ministers 
and Churches 24, 25 



450 



INDEX IV. 



PATRIOTISM OF PIONEERS . 22 
Pioneer Life in Western Pa., 4, 6 

Pittsburgh Recorder 3^4 

Planting of Presbyterian Church West 

of the Mountains 3, 4 

Prayer, in Presbytery 10,44 

Presbyterian Magazine 394 

Presbyterianism, Genius of . . . .162 
Presbytery of Erie, Erected .... 13 
Presbyteiy of Hartford Erected. . .14 
Presbytery of Lancaster Erected. . . 14 
Presbytery of Ohio Erected . . . .10 
Plrst Meeting, 381 ; statistics of. 
381-386; ruhng elders of, 386- 
388 ; Delegates to General Assem- 
bly, 390. 
Presbytery of Redstone Erected, 7 ; 
first meeting, 378 ; statistics of, 379 ; 
ruling elders of, 380; delegates to 
General Assembly, 389 ; licen- 
sures and ordinations by, 379. 
Presbytery of Washington Erected, 41 ; 
changes of boundaries, 42, 43 ; 
stated clerks, 43 ; Education So- 
ciety, 46 ; summaiy of history, 47 ; 
biographical register, 48 ; present 
members, 97 ; delegates to Gen- 
eral Assembly, 114; ruling elders, 
1819-1839, 117; missionary his- 
tory, 182. 
Princeton Seminary, contributions to, 20 

<t -O ELIGIOUS AGREEMENT," 37 

Revivals, 35, 252, 265, 276, 280, 

285, 288, 300, 315, 317, 320, 325, 

336, 344. 361, z^z^ 367. 370, 376. 

377- 
Ruling Elders, Lists of, 15, 19, 41, 1 17- 
119, 249-377, 380,386-388. 

CABBATH DESECRATKjN, Sin 

of, 28. 
Sabbath-schools, 253, 256, 260, 267, 

277, 280, 289, 295, 304, 309, 325, 

332, 338, 350. 358> 361, 363. 364. 

376, 377- 
Salaries of Early Ministers, 19, 269, 

302. 



Schoolmasters, Immoral and Heterodox 

condemned, 30. 

Scotch- Irish 3, 39 

Seminary, Washington Female . .181 
Settlement of Western Pennsylvania, I , 

2. 

Shen-ard, Miss N 181 

Slavery 27 

Spirituous Li(|uors, Use of Condemned, 

27. 
Statistics of Early Churches, 19, 21, 40, 

42, 47- 

Steubenvdlle, Town of, 14, 21, 134. 

Supplies, Supplications for, 8 ; sent by 
Presbytery of Ohio, 1 1. 

Synod of New York and Philadelphia, 
388. 

Synod of Pittsburgh Erected, 13; mis- 
sionary zeal, 33, 182; jurisdiction, 
43 ; sermons preached to, 183 ; 
meetings of, 389. 

Synod of Virginia 3S8 

Its Meeting at Washington . 389 

Synod of Wheeling 43 

Synod of Pennsylvania 43 

nrHEOLOGICAL LIBRARY . . 46 
Three Ridges 277 



ANCE'S FORT 261 



V 



^Y^I'I^ACE, WILLIAM, Bequests 

of 212 

War of 181 2 23 

\\'ar Sermon by Macurdy 36 

Washington, Town of, 8, 10, 13, 34, 41 

Well's Fort 261 

Western Insurrection 22, 397 

Western Missionary Magazine, 34, 35, 

397, 399- 
Western Missionai-y Society . . 33, 182 
Western Theological Seminary, 47, 141 

Westminster Confession 163 

Wheeling Intelligencer 283 

Wheeling, Town of . . . 8, 10, 14, 21 
Wilson, John Dill, Bequests of . . 376 



^ Library ^ 



^ 



^ No 



<^'^yJ 



^ 1^ > 






(f-^ 



-<^.v.* 






.• «" < 



/■i ', 



V«, A 



::^^^ ./ 



%' ^-^ 



:*^'^7'1l^.^'-.<^ 



•i..^:*?c 



V -^^ 



mlA 



^, .^ 






>.*-*5s. 



^l-^f 



.- ^: 






'3-^f<^r^